Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Victoria 4 stars

46 Av. de la Gare, Lausanne Centre, 1001 Lausanne, Switzerland

#19 of 50 hotels in Lausanne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 592 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed - its time to change to new matrices. Can easily feel the bed caved in and feel the spring on the back.

    location: basically next to the train station with easy access to the public transportation. And it was quiet. No concern of noise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel over all is a little dated and as is often the case the only place to plug anything in was by crawling under the desk and unplugging the table lamp. The air conditioning inadequite.

    The location is excellent, right by the station and metro. The staff are welcoming and helpful, the bathroom was new and the bed and linen very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    however the bed was smaller than described in your booking form-it was not an extragrosses Doppelbett(180-210cm) rather 160cm! It would be good to have a kettle in the room to be able to make hot drinks.

    We liked the hotel! The location in relation to station and buses was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1- Toilet very small 2- Wi-fi was not working properly for 3 days 3- No possibility to regulate the heating 4- Dirty moquettes in the floot 5- The floor is noising at the pressure of feet when walking in the room 6- No electric plug next to the bed Etc...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some people might not like the traditional feel of the hotel, lobby and central hall. The rooms were relatively compact by business standards but were quite acceptable. One must accept that it is a hotel in the middle of the city; my room looked directly across into the office windows of a building immediately behind the hotel.

    A perfectly adequate business hotel centrally located within a short walk from the railway station. The hotel has an an old world charm, but has been nicely updated to a level that would satisfy busy business travellers. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast room was nice and the fitness room was adequate. There are numerous restaurants in the immediate area within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Switzerland hotel prices are very steep and people need to be aware that "good value" is hard to find. This is not a criticism of the Hotel Victoria, but an observation of the Switzerland situation itself.

    The size of the room and bathroom was excellent. Location was also very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent location for business travellers, within 5 minutes of central railway station and main metro station. Old-fashioned hotel interior with many pretty paintings, antiques. 24h front-desk. Facilities to print without need for staff to support.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to get to reception, difficult with bags and finding the lift wasn't easy

    Comfortable bed, the room was a large size for European standards. Quite location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was extra and expensive at CHF 20 per day.

    Location adjacent to the railway station. Room had a great view over the railway station to the Lake. Interesting furnishings with African themes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not suitable for anyone arriving by car. One has to park in the busy street outside. No help is offered with that, or with carrying baggage up the steep staircase leading from street to reception.

    Very comfortable, traditional Swiss hotel once you are inside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maner of some staff could be so better but... safty of rooms was terible...we was in this hotel for 4 night. We left our room and forgot to lock our room security box, unfortunatly when we back to hotel we found part of our money (200€ and 200$) lost!!!!!!!! And we sure!!we sure that we never lost them by ourself.we call to polic but they said to us that your money never back to you. If you want go to this hotel BECARFULL!!!!!!

    Extra cleanliness, good facilities like tea station and...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking situation, only 6 parking spots and always full so you have to find a free parking spot on a very busy street

    Good location, big and nice room, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't by the Lake and it wasn't up in the happening old town.It was in between these two locations ,by the train station-which was ok for one night.

    Historic,grand hotel marred by modern buildings near it. If I were going to Lausanne for holiday I'd opt for a hotel down by the Lake.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and welcoming staff, we were told upon arrival that our room had been upgraded, which for last night our two week tour round Switzerland was lovely to hear! The room was HUGE and we had a fantastic stay, would totally recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I have to say against the hotel is that there is a public computer opposite reception, but no internet in the rooms.

    A really smart, comfortable hotel located just across the road from the station. The staff were charming and everything was impeccable. I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Across from train station-2 minute walk(facing Starbucks,it's to your right);pleasant front desk staff;mini bar in room;rooms have double -paned windows and automatic shutters-so it's quiet and pitch dark for sleeping.Air conditioner was ok. Bathroom fixtures look brand new.Plenty of hot water.Very comfortable bed. Hotel has been beautifully restored.Belle Epoch period hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    We love the hotel for its history, the color, the use of furniture from around of the world. We were sorry that we didn't make it for breakfast. Food is very expensive in Switzerland so we suggest to people staying here to have the breakfast in the hotel. The hotel is also close to the train station which makes our travel much easier.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The male member of staff was really unfriendly. I had 60kg of luggage and no one offered to help me. The room was dated, the floor boards creaked at every opportunity. It said it had AC which was terrible...a fan or even opening the window was better than that AC.

    It was really close to the train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon wasn't working, which I didn't discover until I was in bed (I suspect the batteries in the remote needed replacing). I only needed it because (as usual in Swiss hotels) there was a winter duvet which was way too hot.

    The bed was comfortable. The staff were friendly and accommodating. It was an easy walk to the station but very quiet location. My room had a view of the lake - and lovely sunset.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No coffee- or tea-machine in the room or on the floor.

    Very nice staff - as the telephone had a technical problem, they came to bang at the door to wake us up on our demand - at 5:20 so we didn't miss our train!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Non

    Staff is very Friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and confortable. Location of the property is excelent. Walking distance from many amenities and city centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Everything was great from the room to the really helpful friendly reception staff, recommended particulary for location with free use of metro, only a short walk away, to take you to the lake or old town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Central heating / air conditioning system sometimes leaves you without cooling during the transitional seasons (spring in this case)

    Very quiet interior, and windows greatly dampened any street noise. Not much street noise anyway. We had a "junior suite" which was very nice size, and intelligently laid out. Comfortable mattresses. Very good breakfast. Attractive interiors. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea and coffee facilities in the room would have been nice

    The hotel was very conveniently located less than 5 minutes walk from the main train station and metro station. There was a free transport card for unlimited transport in Lausanne for the duration of my stay. The room was well furnished and very comfortable, and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. I was lucky to have a room on the top floor with a pleasant view, The staff were vey helpful. There was a gym and sauna, but I didn't make use of them.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the rooms was totally inadequate. Had to wait til morning to pack b/c could not see the suitcase! Made for rushed departure. Breakfast $22/person-way over priced for selection.

    Excellent location, they give you a travel card for free. Very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was terrible. Short story, i booked a room for 2 people (my parents) and currently i am residing in Switzerland. However, due to some issues, i missed my last train to my home. So, i asked POLITELY if its possible to pay for extra bed. The receptionist told me no, and out of curiosity, i asked him why. He answered to me rudely saying "you can leave now by train. Its still there". Really dissappointed by the service.

    Great location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved the luxurious and spacious atmosphere of this unique hotel. Big rooms a wonderful stairwell and beautiful carpets everywhere . Good breakfast in a large light space.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none.

    Location is about 3 minutes across the train station. Very accommodating personnel. More than adequate room facilities, including English-language cable TV. Clean premises. Fast wifi. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In the evening using the WiFi became impossible for the entire week of my stay. The bandwidth reduced a lot and with an irregular pattern the Internet connection frequently stopped working. The electric plugs in the room are not always in the best place for using them.

    Perfect location if you arrive by train. Comfortable rooms and very kind staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite hot around the hotel. There were no coffee/tea facilities in the room.

    Staff were brilliant. Room and hotel was lovely. Tea in restaurant in the afternoon was a nice treat. Location was ideal.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little disappointed to discover that the Sauna had to be paid extra to initial cost of the room!

    Close to the train station, comfortable room, fitness room available, transport ticket included

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water, despite freezing temperatures outside. Staff did not handle this well, did not move me to a fully equipped room.. Microwave food and cheap wine.

    Good location and quaint hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is noisiest hotel I have stayed in. Our floor creaked at every step. The walls are very thin as you can easily hear conversations next door but from the floor above the walking around was very irritating & woke us a few times. I would not stay here again because of the noise issues. Also, the shower is rediculous as it cannot be positioned to stay in one place. It moves around due to the water pressure & the only way to get a decent shower is to use it as hand held.

    The location was great - very close to the train & the metro. The junior suite was large with plenty of windows that opened.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Windows overlooked offices and so curtains had to remain closed. No tea/coffee provided in room. Did not like the shampoo which did not come with conditioner separately and needed soap bar. Bedroom was only cleaned after us asking for it though we went out for several hours

    Bed was comfortable - Good shower.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water boiler in room but the staff gave us a hot water flask Abd we could get hot water from the restaurant at all times

    Great location near main train station and metro. Deco is nice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - There was a uphill before reaching the hotel, and there were one floor of stairs before reaching the lobby. These are not so convenient for older people. - The hotel is quite old, doesn't feel like a 4-star hotel.

    The location is good, about 2 mins from the train station.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room size, lack of coffee maker, poor lighting in bathroom, lack of real restaurant, too old fashion

    staff, location, bed comfortable, interesting art pieces in halways

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, the shower, the a/c upon arrival, noise level from the street, the check out, no clearly marked elevator for heavy bags/people with disabilities.

    Staff was pleasant but not friendly. We did not eat at the hotel. The room was clean but tiny and the shower was difficult to maneuver. It was crazy noisy with a room on the street, although Portugal had just won the EuroCup so that clearly affected the typical noise level.Overlall our stay was fine, but it was not 4 star whatsoever.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long waiting for check-in and check-out Better deals price - value in town

    Good location and big room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bar and room service

    Room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location decor service room

    Staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner shouldhave been on by this time of year, apart from that everything was excellent

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful! Lots of room, great bathroom, comfortable bed, close to train station. We loved it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old style - warm in the room as the A/C was not yet activated Small bed

    Great localization

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice style hotel, very close to the railway station. 24hr check.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable beds, nice big bathroom. Felt like home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    vers confortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fab location and fantastic views from all windows. Cannot wait to go back again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee in the rooms.

    Close to station.staff helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. No value for money

    Excellent location and friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room is big and comfortable, wifi speed is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    price

    location - staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was bad

    Very nice comfortable stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for a first-time visitor to Lausanne (easy walk from train station). Accomodating with checking bags

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High price No coffee or tea inside the toom Ironing not the room

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location close to the railway station and city centre is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent. Staff is very polite. Rooms are very clean. From some rooms you get get view to Geneva Lake.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice hotel, well situated, staff very helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decoration of the hotel. Superb paintings iand sculpures on display

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    travelling by train the proximity to the station was key. the free use of acard for the Metro is an excellent idea.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice interior decoration.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Excellent location and closed to train station. They have free travel pass for us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Perfect location, friendly staff, nice atmosphere in general.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee was watery Pastry felt like was not fresh

    Unfortunately not much

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast Definitely not 4 star

    Location good hotel clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The duvets were a bit thick and so it got quite warm at night.

    The room was immaculate and the staff were very attendant and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old-fashioned hotel, need a real refurbishment quickly !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast

    Excellent athmosphere

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kindness

    Location Staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy room. I woke up at 5:30 when someone in the room next to my one started to take a shower

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    tea served without teapot

    excellent beds, very good coffee

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not an electric pot in the room.

    The room is beautiful and comfortable. The location is good.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: