Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria 3 stars

Äussere Dorfstrasse 2, 3718 Kandersteg, Switzerland

#8 of 22 hotels in Kandersteg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 527 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Location was great, very close to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great, very close to train station. Staff was wonderful, very friendly and helpful. Room was amazing! I had a corner room on the top floor so had beautiful views out of two windows. Included breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    We loved our stay!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom could do with some hooks. Very difficult to place clothes and towels in the limited space.

    The hotel is perfectly located in Kandersteg, close to the train station. The rooms are spacious and we had a room with a great view of the mountains. The staff are friendly and try to help with any request that you may have. And they provide a great, filling breakfast with hot and cold options. Would love to go back.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel except for above incident.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loud party, music into early morning hours involving young adults. They tried my door knob and left beer bottles and trash outside my door.

    Very good breakfast. Close to train station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no ventilation in the room, so we ended up having to keep the window open through the night. Then, I woke up from the cold to close it.

    The room was quite spacious, clean, and comfortable, with a nice view. There was a bidet in the bathroom (huge plus for us). The staff at the front desk were very helpful with information about the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Very kind staff, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really...loud. The floors squeaked a lot and the walls were thin. I was on the top floor, but felt bad for whoever was below me. I'm sure they heard every footstep.

    Very kind staff, great location! Pool was delightful after and long hike.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Luxury overnight stay in the Berner Oberland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't make the complex coffee machine in the room work. Promised dressing gown for visiting the swimming pool was missing but we soon obtained one. Minor points in an otherwise perfect stay

    Our room was perfectly appointed with a balcony and a wonderful mountain view of the Blumlisalp group. Staff were helpful and the restaurant was exceedingly good. It was a bonus that the Italian Ferrari club was visiting with 14 Ferraris in front of the hotel!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Charming hotel in the heart of Kandersteg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room corridor where the light automatically turn off when there is no movement.

    Hotel staff were so helpful. The manager upgraded me to a bigger room with a nice view of the mountain. I like the grandeur of the hotel's dining and breakfast room. The pool is a bit cold, but it's fine. The room was big and very comfy. The restaurant next to it serves aunthentic swiss food. Hotel location is very central. Just a few minutes walk from the train station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Value for money with helpful staff and good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Staff were very friendly and helpful and you can walk five minutes to train station and three minutes to Coop supermarket. The cable station to Oeschinensee is about 20 minuets with walking and very beautiful view near the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Good location hotel and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    The location is great. Walk from train station about five minutes and the Coop supermarket is three minutes away by walking. The Oeschinensee cable car also cal walk from the hotel. It took about 20 minuets.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Stunning location...great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely, but might be a bit pricey for the small room.

    Location was perfect! We went to Kandersteg to explore several hiking trails for a few days and this hotel was in the perfect location for exploring endless trails. The breakfast was delicious and a great start of fuel for the day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Great staff and style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi a little hit and miss at times, even when tried in different parts of the hotel.

    Great staff, good english spoken (as I'm lazy!) Lovely character to the hotel, it is old and a bit creaky in places, but much nicer than a modern hospital wing style hotel. Great dining room , and views from the bedroom. Will be going back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.4
    We had a comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a photo of a tennis court on booking.com site and tennis is listed as a facility. However, the two courts are a five-minute walk away near the train station and are part of a club where you need to book and pay 25 fr an hour. The wifi didnt work in the room. The reception called in workmen to repair it which was only done on our last day. The hotel needs some refurbishment.. carpet and curtain cleaning and bathroom modernisation.

    The room was comfortable and had a nice balcony. The breakfast buffet was excllent and we could sit outside with a lovely view of the mountains.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.0
    Not sure about the other rooms but our room was due for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure about the other rooms but our room was due for a refurbishment, especially the bath room. Neither the room nor the bathroom were particularly clean. The air in the lobby and corridors was sticky and had bad smell. Staff at breakfast was not very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in the middle of the village
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was simple but clean and had a lovely view direction Oeschinensee

    The hotel has a classic Swiss hotel chic. The excellent service by the team has made my stay very special!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    Beyond expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing . There are no loud tourists or many groups here.

    Friendly staff at reception . Wonderful location , beautiful structure with a rich history . Rooms facing the mountains have magnificent , unobstructed views . Breakfast is awesome . We had a very pleasant stay and kept wanting to come back again . The hotel is right at the bus stop to Blausee and not far away from the cable cars to the lake.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    my stay in Kandersteg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Had the feeling that the young waitresses in the restaurant made very long hours.

    Big hotel with personal attention from the staff , location in the village center! Consider to come back once in the future.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    Extremely clean with modern bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel could do with some updating. The lounge and bar areas felt very dated

    Extremely clean with modern bathrooms. Great location in the center of town with a delicious breakfast and good value food served in the restaurant. It was great to have the pool and sunbathing area. The views were also fantastic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Stunning views, great for a weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Location, charming hotel and lovely village for families or a romantic get away. Plenty of nice hikes and drives around the area. good value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    I felt very comfortable during my 7 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the dinner menu a tad expensive

    The property is well managed, in a great location and offers all what one would expect from a Swiss hotel in the mountains. I liked to interact with staff/manager and felt very comfortable during my one week in Kandersteg, and would definitely stay at the Victoria again. I also liked th4 breakfast selection.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    The hotel location and staff is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator or safe in the room. Quite pricey for what you get, considering chalets and home rentals in the area cost less.

    The hotel location and staff is great. The daily breakfast was fantastic. The room was spacious with a breathtaking view of the mountains.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Adorable...beautiful view...very close to train station...we enjoyed the mountain coaster and hike t
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Adorable...beautiful view...very close to train station...we enjoyed the mountain coaster and hike to Lake Oeschinensee...staff were very helpful/nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfy hotel in the centre of the city.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar and restaurant close at 9:00 PM. Its too early. May be 10:30 or 11:00 PM shall be better. The room toilets are little bit too small.

    We got a corner room with two balconies and excellent view. The facility had actually four star looks/maintenance instead of three star rating given by governmental agencies. The restaurant and breakfast hall well appointed and attended. The bar was big and cosy with many sofas.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Didn't sleep nearly at all the first night. And that rather defeats the purpose..!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main building's rooms were full, so we had to stay in the "ritter" portion of the building, a very quaint and very old building. As frequent travellers in Switzerland, we are well accustomed to the difficulties in retrofitting and maintaining such buildings to a modern standard (and the cost must be astronomical, too!). While it was very lovely to look at, neither of us could sleep the first night. At first we thought a fire alarm was sounding periodically on another floor. But presently, after much 3AM frantic scrabbling with room keys to unlock (& therefore OPEN) the door into the hallway to investigate, we realised it was the plumbing itself! We tried all the taps - it was an over-pressurized cold water supply. Hourly flushing of the toilet throughout the night regulated the pressure and stopped the shrill cry-of-a-banshee noise. My bed was old and wooden and while comfortable and pretty, it gave off such a strong odor of must / mildew (is it 'dry rot'? I'm not familiar - a pungent, fungal smell, not woody) that I tried to sleep with my head in the centre of the mattress and not near the head/foot boards, which helped. Then the shrieking pipes started again... We'd have asked for a change in rooms, but we knew they were already full.... :( The worst part, though, was the STREAK OF EXCREMENT that I found only on the last day on the lower half of the wall-mounted plastic tissue-box holder, which would have been obscured by the protruding tissue to a standing / upright cleaner... it is within reaching distance of the toilet, and I didn't actually FIND the toilet paper roll dispenser until we checked out (awkwardly in a narrow gap between toilet and bath, against the tank) having used the visible and accessible spare roll stored on top of the tank itself, so I have the horrible idea that the previous guest was using the tissues to wipe himself and was rather sloppy about the whole thing.

    The staff were by-and-large VERY friendly indeed, for example: by warning us at check-in that their WiFi was broken. Helpful, accomodating, keen to assist (mostly - a few grumps, but still better than average for Switzerland!). Location is phenomenal - it won't really matter which way you face, you'll get a gorgeous mountain view! Dog-friendly (though not the Speisesaal / interior restaurant which doubles as breakfast location), though we were permitted to sit out in the garden with her at breakfast, which was very nice. Great fields, doggie bag-dispenser-and-garbage-can right off the back of the property - brilliant views for a morning outing! Can't be beat! :) Close to the train station (convenient! No train noise issues, either), a church (bells stop after 10PM and don't start up again until 7AM), next door to a Volg grocery that's even open on Sundays (rare in Switzerland!). Charming location for sure. Restaurant Ritter (in the old section, entrance from the street or behind reception desk) was pricey BUT VERY WORTHWHILE! I cannot rave about this enough - entrees for dinner running at Zurich-prices (resort prices), from 29.- for a veg ravioli to 49.- for a steak based meal... TOTALLY WORTH IT! We went both nights! :D Staff very good, working very hard to be professional (and succeeding) but also friendly and accessible. Really appreciated the wait staff. BUT THE FOOD...! I don't know where they got their kitchen staff and chef from, but this level of excellence and creativity was most unexpected in a mountain town! Heck, even the teeny cookies accompanying the digestif-espresso were remarkably good! Best gerstensuppe we had ever had, rösti and "Swiss Tapas" very nice, everything beautifully presented and everything absolutely delicious (and remaining quite authentic, for those looking for the full Swiss-experience!).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Elegant upscale hotel at moderate prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We weren't expecting that much when we hiked into Kandersteg, relatively late in the day. When we first walked in, we were shocked at the elegance of the hotel and wondered if we'd mis-read the price. Nope. It was a bargain of the century. It felt like a 6-star hotel but it cost the amount of Comfort Inn. The lobby was old-Europe elegance. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The dinner in the restaurant was amazing-with a tasty vegetarian Rosti! The breakfast was in what looked like a ballroom with chandeliers and bay windows giving you views of the Alps. The hostess was friendly and it was altogether a wonderful experience. We wished we had arrived earlier to lounge around in this beautiful hotel, but we were off to our next destination.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel with great view, quiet, friendly staff,great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was much smaller than expected, and the WiFi was really poor in the room and sometimes we didn't have connection at all. (In the lobby there was a good connection)

    Beautiful hotel with great view, quiet, friendly staff,great breakfast buffet,nice swimming pool. Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Just an incredible place and hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just an incredible place and hotel. Lovely. Relaxing with lots to do. I took a shower in a waterfall and swam in a beautiful warm (nearn the surface) mountain lake

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in a beautiful place with very friendly staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The balcony furniture and the general look & feel could be improved.

    The lobby area is cosy, warm, & inviting. The rooms are large, spacious, spotlessly clean, and with a warm design. The hotel is well-located for the train station and with a very pretty view. A bit of a walk from the Oeschinensee cable car. The staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattresses were hard.

    The best location in Kandersteg, right in the heart of town. Fantastic view from our room, and a wonderful established vibe throughout the hotel. Christina at the front desk was the best, very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    We loved it. We will go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were a bit squeaky -- need some maintenance.

    Fabulous breakfast. Excellent and helpful professional staff. Tons of things to do with the kids if weather is bad. Great food all over the village. Our shower broke on one evening and had to wait until the next day to get fixed but they fixed it and gave us access to another room meanwhile to shower.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    The staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a family reunion (7p). The first evening we wanted to go to the hotel bar but it was reserved for a private group and we had to go to the Skibar which was very dark and loud. The wellness was a bit disappointing: the sauna is not openly accessible (need to be reserved in advance) and the air temperature in the pool is not high enough to enjoy to stay there after the swim and relax. The chalet room are definitively not worth the price of 260 CHF per night

    The staff was very friendly. Very nice breakfast buffer. The hotel is well located (walking distance from the station) The food by the Ritter restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During the belle Epoque week, there was no à la carte dinner served in the Dining room which was unfortunate because only that room fits the style

    We stayed at the Hotel during the Belle Epoque week - the very best place to stay at for the occasion. Great location. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect. 2mins walk from train station. 10mins walk from cablecar to Oeschinensee and bus to Blausee (Kandergrund) is right in front of the hotel on the same sidewalk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    The staff were really nice and the breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi did not work well in my room. The first room it wouldn’t work at all, but the staff was willing to work with me and they even moved me to another room.

    The proximity to everything in town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    Remarkable position - and potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast coffee weak, cool & awful! Also a bit petty charging for an Omelette then charging a few groschens for cheese or mushroom or onions....This sort of thing should all be INCLUDED

    beautiful dining room long opening hours for the excellent swimming pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    We throughly enjoyed our stay . We were up graded on arrival so had fantastic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps as we were late in the season the bar shut early . But that is due to when we stayed .

    The hotel was in a perfect position for walking and the views were amazing . Everyone was very friendly .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    We had a wonderful stay made all the more so by the friendly and helpful staff at the Victoria
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly, flexible and helpful. My growing son found that his hiking shoes had become a little tight - the staff helped arrange for him to temporarily borrow a pair. The restaurant was equally friendly with a creative menu - the Alpine Tapas were great! The area offers so many great hiking trips with options for all ages and abilities - and of course with Oschinensee out the backdoor, a UNESCO-recognized spectacular jewel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Spacious, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kandersteg was quiet as it was between hiking and ski season but I loved the hiking even though the clouds were low.

    Spacious, clean and comfortable. Bathroom was large and lovely. Breakfast was terrific.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    - The restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Breakfast - If breakfast is included in the rate, I cannot believe we are expected to pay extra for warm stuff like scrambled eggs - No hairdryer in the rooms , it has to be borrowed from the reception by paying a deposit. I find it very inconvenient; even cheap hotels have some hairdryer in the room.

    - The restaurant - Kid friendly ( We could get a baby cot for free and the room was spacious) - Great views from the room - Nice lounge area where we could sit comfortably and have drinks in the evening with our group of friends

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    It was amazing trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel restaurant staff are not friendly😠. They don't have a washing machine😟.

    The hotel reception staff are friendly😊. They have big swimming pool for adults and there is one for children.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.3
    We had a room in the old part of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could be friendlier, perhaps they are overworked.

    We had a room in the old part of the hotel. It was a nice experience and comfortable. Breakfasts were good. Staff were fine, but did not do anything extra. The Stubli (informal restaurant) had interesting food. The manager of restaurant was very hands on. One waitress was good but the one on the second night was not super customer friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    Excellent for travelling with children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative point is I find that paying a room CHF 360 for one night and not have access to wifi is a big drawback, especially as wifi was available on the ground floor.

    Excellent for travelling with children

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Tired old star with charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit of a tired old star. Slowly decaying, but still with a lot of charm.

    Beautiful location and scenery. Fantastic breakfast/dining room with view of the mountains.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff at breakfast is not very kind. The breakfast is quite monotonous without tomatoes/vegetables

    no nonsense hotel, good value for money. Big and nice family suites.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    I would definitely come back here! Good location, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the rooms are slightly out-dated, especially compared to the rest of the decoration of the hotel which is very pretty and tasteful! They could use juste a little renovation in some of the bedrooms. The staff was very polite but just so... Swiss. Not super friendly and not many smiles but again, extremely polite -- they just seemed quite cold as the Swiss are known to be (I am Swiss myself and live here).

    Beautiful building and nice decoration, located right in the middle of the town of Kandersteg and close to the lifts. Good, healthy, typical Swiss breakfast in a very nice dining area with a wonderful view. The hotel also has a beautiful patio outside! We didn't try the restaurant. The beds are very comfortable. Overall great value, especially for that area! We will definitely come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Greatly enjoyed by all the family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could have had more choice. If you wanted anything other than boiled eggs you had to pay extra.

    Very friendly. Kids Club was great and a surprise inclusion.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Delightful summer stay in Kandersteg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area was moldy.

    The man at reception had breakfasts prepared for us for our early morning departure. I think his name was Urs. That great service was our last memory of the hotel stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Family rooms are perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was quite expensive, but food was excellent !

    Large family suite with 2 separate rooms, nice swimming pool, pleasant personnel, nice breakfast buffet, close to cable car to go up to the mountains, central in the village- convenient! Restaurant has good food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Central location in Kandersteg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hair dryer has to be borrowed at the front desk. Water in the swimming pool too cold. No hot food for breakfast. You pay for scrambled eggs (boiled eggs are free of charge).

    Central location in Kandersteg. Easy access to cable car station. Good restaurant. Large terrace outside our room. Parking in front of hotel. Late check-out. Large swimming pool with nobody using it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Everything was wonderful and the view from out room was...
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was wonderful and the view from out room was spectacular! Breakfast was your usual European-style breakfast with cold cuts, cereal, boiled eggs, croissants, etc. Check in and check out was easy, rooms were spacious, and there was a historical charm to the hotel. We loved it!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff, good breakfast, good setting and swimming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a couple of minor irritations with the room - the bathroom sink was too small and couldn't fathom the coffee machine!

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, good setting and swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.1
    Generally happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture in the room and flooring in main area could benefit from modernisation

    Welcoming team, excellent location and views plus pleasant dining area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    A charming Victorian hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking and cranes outside our hotel A charming Victorian hotel. room view.

    Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Restaurant was a lovely surprise. Servuce was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.1
    Great location but a bit expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think this hotel is very expensive for what you get. The room was nice, as was breakfast, but both were very simple; I would have expected a little more for CHF 220 a night. We could also hear the people in the room above ours walking around, which was a bit annoying at 7:30 in the morning.

    The room was spacious and the location of the hotel is great. We also enjoyed the pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    The landscape around the hotel justifies the visit on its...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The landscape around the hotel justifies the visit on its own. The staff was super helpful and we felt really well looked after. The breakfast is good. The room was spacious. Thanks! The indoor pool was nice!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Great value for money!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They did have a problem with Wi-Fi but only for one day.

    Location, location a short walk from the train station. It is low season and not many people there but the service was great and so helpful in organising places to see and how to get there. The pool is amazing with views of snow capped mountains a good size for lap swimming. My room had a very comfortable bed with all facilities that I required. The view from my balcony (2nd floor) was breathtaking. I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At the Ritter restaurant we waited a lot for our dinner.

    Big room with a lovely view to the mountains and very clean. The staff was very friendly and extra helpful. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast, rooms, shuttle to the gondola, very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimmingpool is a little bit cold.

    Breakfast, rooms, shuttle to the gondola, very friendly owners. One night in the restaurant our grandson burned his hand and the owners reacted very friendly by giving him candies and take care of his hand.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    9.6
    Attractive hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only English language TV channel was BBC World which is not worth watching. The other Swiss Swiss hotel we stayed in had BBC and ITV.

    The hotel was well located in the centre of Kandersteg, as short walk from the station and 10 mins walk from the cable car. It has a large lounge and a swimming pool. Our room was in an old beamed part of the building and was very spacious. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No alternative meat products on buffet breakfast, only pork.

    Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    rooms spacious and comfortable, great breakfast with...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms spacious and comfortable, great breakfast with gluten-free options, helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice family room (with separate rooms for kids and adults).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice family room (with separate rooms for kids and adults)... great breakfast too...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    A wonderful and very pleasant stay with this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is spacious and clean. The staff are very helpful and patient with us. Good breakfast with wide variety

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.0
    A lovely characterful hotel in a beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I have stayed in the hotel Victoria several times in the past and always enjoyed it. It is always very special to come back. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.0
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The eggs were cold at the morning breakfast buffet.

    The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Very smart and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very smart and good food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Good location and great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy children running round at breakfast.

    Good location and great views. V good breakfast but could have been replenished quicker.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Great location for exploring the Berner Alps &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location for exploring the Berner Alps & Oeschenensee.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location with friendlt services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bathroom just too tiny, I had problem to take shower and washing up.

    Great location with friendlt services.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Evrey think there are wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel and wonderful staff

    Evrey think there are wonderful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minimal bathroom

    Good location, friendly staff Great breakfast buffet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    You will not be disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel in excellent central location. Beautifully restored and remodeled Kids playroom was very nice with great toys

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful old building in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old building in a beautiful location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable, historic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable, historic hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. Delicious buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Great staff and great hotel and location straight off the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff and great hotel and location straight off the train small easy walk to the hotel easy to find

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool needed to be cleaned

    Great location and nice breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: