Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Victoria 3 stars

Riva Paradiso 2b, 6902 Lugano, Switzerland

#59 of 102 hotels in Lugano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1535 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Smiley staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had better brake fasts and having paid the bill got hit for ten franc city tax cash and no receipt.

    Smiley staff very helpful. Location was good by the lake,right for an evening stroll

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice Lugano Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is served on a terrace overlooking the lake, which is wonderful; however, small birds have learned that this is a great scavenging environment. If eating on the terrace, be prepared to fend off the birds as the hotel doesn't have a barrier installed to stop them from picking up pieces of your breakfast off your plate.

    The hotel is charming with friendly staff and a great location. The breakfast is great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Stylish break in Lugano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff inreception upon arriving. Had to wait for any sign of life several minutes with 2 other arrivals. No shower but bath tub and complicated shower arrangements. Slippey floor in tub. Not recommendable for aged guests! Cigar smoking owner/manager in restauranr!. Outside but still disturbing smell. Horrible background music. Unfriendly waitress during breakfast service. Sad flower arrangements on balcony: dry snd dead flowers.

    Excellent products and service in pizzeria! Location. Interesting decor throughout hotel. Well maintained old building. Stylish. Polite and efficient staff at check out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, interesting old style hotel with good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t eat at restaurant for dinner... food was not that good.

    Great location, interesting old style hotel with good service and clean, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    I loved the location, the room, the air conditioning worked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t find anything I didn’t like and based on the reviews I had seen - I was looking for something to be wrong. There wasn’t anything.

    I loved the location, the room, the air conditioning worked wonderfully, the breakfast was fantastic- yes I heard the complaints about no fruit but really the bacon was great, the scrambled eggs perfect and the pastry and cheese and meats where great. Also the complaints about the breakfast room - there are inside and outside seating. Yes a sparrow flew in but the waitress kept up with shooing it outside. It just wanted some of the great food. It added to the ambiance of the place! The pillows where fine - if you wanted the pillow to be thicker all you have to do is fold it in half. No noise except for the road traffic which you will have in a city. It was a great place!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Don't use booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Be careful of alpanese apartment in Zeelamsee. They are cheating on prices. They ask customers to pay double the booking price. Booking.com will not help you if you complain Booking.com cares about their commission only So don't use booking.com at all Agoda is much better

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Location is fantastic, the room had character and the loo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lugano shuts on Sunday. Also parking is difficult.

    Location is fantastic, the room had character and the loo had the best view over the lake. The Victoria had wonderful charm and character.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Lakeside location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    V noisy air conditioner. Disco downstairs - can hear it in room. Steep walk up to railway station.

    Lovely staff. Right beside cruise starting point. Good WiFi. Nice big bright bathroom. Nice walk into town by the lake. Beautiful breakfast room. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice location, but a bit expensive considering what the hotel offers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was quite meager. Pillows weren't very comfortable. The bathroom could have had a more advanced amenities. Parking was not included, and considering how hard it is to find a parking spot in Lugano it would have been a welcome addition.

    The old-style building was vey nicely decorated. Friendly and accomadating staff. Loaction is great becuase it quite silent at night, near the lake and the highway. Rooms were very spacey with a large bed,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location but in dire need of a face lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entire facility and rooms are very old and dingy.

    The facility s located very well, right across from the lake and walk-able to the main part of town. The facility itself is in need of immediate renovation and refreshing. I would definitely recommend lake view rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    Lovely Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a grand hotel, which could do with a bit of a refresh. The bathroom and hair dryer need an update for sure.

    Hotel Victoria is located in Paradiso very close to the funicular to Monte San Salvatore. As we planned to go to the top of Monte San Salvatore, this worked well for us. It is about a 20 minute walk along the lakefront promenade to the town of Lugano. We stayed in a lakefront Jr. Suite with large bed and a couch. Our room had two small balconies with one chair each. The views were lovely and the room and bathroom were spacious. Breakfast was also included and served in the lakefront dining room or terrace. Selections were good and included eggs and bacon along with meats and cheeses, yogurts and pastries. We arrived by train and the taxi was 22CHF.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant stay in a quiet and stylish hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a bit cramped because of the large triangular table holding towels which makes use of the toilet somewhat of an acrobatic performance, and the absence of towel bars or hooks for shower towels. Also, please provide "Do not disturb" signs.

    The phenomenal view over the lake and the old style of the hotel. Please preserve that if you can.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    A Nice overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated, little bits could do with updating.

    Great location, friendly, helpful staff and the view from the room was lovely. Its in a great location overlooking the lake and local shops and restaurant not too far of a walk. The hotel offers parking if needed for 20chf a night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.0
    The facilities are too old, need some big renovations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are too old, need some big renovations! The breakfast should be much better, no fruit. The air conditioning makes noise, the bad room looks pretty old. I found the lighting in the bed room which I normally use it in my garden! No style at all! Ugly...🤮

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful old Victorian building, good breakfast fabulous view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although dated was true to its Victorian heritage and very clean. No tea or coffee making facilities..just as well 2.50 per tea bag in mini bar! The view however was to die for and it superseded everything. Loved our night here

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    It was lovely and the breakfast great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The directions of how to get to the hotel from Lugano train station on the hotel’s website state ‘take bus no. 2 and get off at Paradiso’. The bus stop however is referred to as Gerrata on bus no. 2. The hotel’s website needs to be amended as this detail can be quite confusing to a travelller unfamiliar with Lugano and the Italian language

    The hotel and room were lovely and had a great ambience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    4.6
    Put it in one word: Dreadful!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    First of all, the photos do not correspond to those found on booking.com. Regarding cleanliness, there were stains all over the carpet floor and dust over the bathroom cabinet. The room deco was dreadful and you could every noise coming from the night club (or whatever it is) on the ground floor of the hotel plus the bar across the street. During breakfast you could see small birds entering the room pecking the bread you would eat afterwords as well as pest control devices just next to the table you would be supposed to seat at and enjoy the view of the lake. Regarding cleaning the room I am almost certain they didn't do it as long I was there.

    The only thing positive that I can say about the hotel is it's location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Victoria Hotel est Belle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Birds in the breakfast room landing on and eating uncovered bread and patrons unattended breakfasts. The refrigerator in our did not work and spoiled some of our food.

    Location was excellent, staff were great, friendly and helpful. Lovely old, well kept building and choose to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    good location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we have a little problem with parking. if you will arrived by car no free parking place you can't find near the location, but for 20 FR per day near the hotel for you propose parking. its comfortable but not free of charge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    4.6
    The Victoria is an old tired hotel that was no doubt grand in its day but requires a major upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was hot which required us to open the window to let cool air in however this resulted in music coming in from the nightclub below all night. The plumbing in the bathroom has to be seen to believed. The hairdryer in the bathroom was being held together by clear stickytape. Breakfast was very ordinary. How many hotels do not include fruit in a breakfast buffet.?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.0
    Hallway and corridors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was old. Everything very run down. Bathroom sink was designed for midgets. Shower in bath. No carpark or at least special rates in nearby car parks.

    Hallway and corridors. Breakfast was adequate. Cable car station to san salvatore nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dated. The breakfast could have had some fruits. I would recommend soap dispenser for the sink and shower.

    Location and friendly staff. Wifi was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.0
    Beautiful location
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelled like smoke, noisy walking due to wooden floors and traffic noise. No aircon working. Very old and poorly maintained. A bit shabby.

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear loud music in my 4th floor room on 2/3 nights of my stay past midnight

    Good value for money Breakfast was good, with excellent views over the lake 24 hour check in

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floors were very creaky so you could not move about room without making a lot of noise. You could also hear people moving upstairs and down. Could also hear voices easily.

    Great location. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Hotel Victoria - for a room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all

    The amazing view of the snow covered mountains and lake. Woke to sun rising over the lake and reflecting onto water. Room was warm and cosy. A good hotel for a longer stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Good value for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is dated. Several lamps in the room didn't work. Pubilc parking was really expensive. Eggs and bacon on the breakfast buffet were almost cold.

    Beautiful view of the lake. Easily accessible. Good value for the location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    5.8
    nice area next to the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wierd smell is everywhere. No sound isolation. Fungus in the bathroom. Very old style.

    nice area next to the lake. Comfortable bed. Good internet access

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    4.6
    MESMERISING ...& very memorable !!! 😳
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    (OH! Where do I start!???) Everything ...apart from the view & terrace. ( I would need to write something the length of “War & Peace” to critique this quirky hotel adequately! ) So much potential for this place to be “absolutely fabulous,”( & a “gold mine”)...though sadly now, it is a disaster! Reeked of cigar-smoke, on entering reception. Terrible doona covers & plastic curtains! Hopeless WIFI. One(1) powerpoint only, in the room. Overall, a most austere & depressing place to stay ...due to the the drab & outdated (decrepit) & also mismatched decor . Breakfast offerings and presentation were dismal. Coffee, truly like mud! The place had the ambience of a (seaside) funeral home! GORDON, this place is a MUST for you to see & overhaul!

    Only redeeming feature is the outstanding view/position. I did have a terrace which was lovely. ( I thought of jumping!) Unfortunately the hotel fails in all other ways & the normal basic, “service needs” of hotel guests. GORDON RAMSAY where are you?! This hotel is desperately in need of your assistance!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Very good location, great view and fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can hear the other apartment next to you. The inside of the hotel is not that pretty or organised.

    Great location, fair price, decent breakfast and the view. The view was simply fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast was very good;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is part of a "cabaret" night club, which is open until 5 am. Therefore, there is loud music the entire night as it is audible within my room on the fourth floor.

    Breakfast was very good; it's a nice classy building.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is very nice, sweet old style, clean, rooms are beautiful and very comfortable, bathroom also, really quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have stupid parking system. If you put in filters free parking, the app show you the hotel. Okej, the hotel have a parking garage but you have to pay (20 CHF for day), for me, this is stupid.

    The hotel is very nice, sweet old style, big rooms, nice breakfast ;)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    On the whole, very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above, pillows, carpets. I could only access News in English on TV. Would have liked more channels.

    Mattress very comfortable. Needed firmer pillows. Carpets, etc old but clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    4.6
    Quality - poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quality - poor. This Hotel is very old and tired and needs a full renovation. It was clean but all furniture and appliances were old. Location was perfect , but it's time for a full reno!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.8
    The only thing we liked about this hotel was the views of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was very dated. No top sheet on the bed ( Yuk ). Bed was uncomfortable. Floorboards made a hell of a noise when walked on. There is also a niteclub attached to this hotel which is fine if you don't want to go to sleep until 4am Would not return here again.

    The only thing we liked about this hotel was the views of the lake.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    the hotel has a good location and it is with pretty romantic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room we have is actually very small. even though the material of the bedding is very comfortable and with good quality, but the color and pattern makes it look cheesy espeically in the night.

    the hotel has a good location and it is with pretty romantic view. the hotel interior design is old school yet it is with it's very unique tasteful style.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    3.8
    Stay away from this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would not recommend this hotel for families. There is an adult singles dancing night club downstairs attached to the hotel that we were uncomfortable with in terms of the type of crowd coming in there and the noise from there was disturbing our sleep at night. The bathroom was in poor condition and the sink and shower drains were almost non-functional. There were a number of adult rated photos and painting on the wall of the hotel that were inappropriate. The quality of the breakfast (include) was poor.

    The view from the balcony was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    4.2
    Some how decayed hotel, but in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the whole hotel a persistent smell of cigarette: Very annoying. Very obsolete hotel and paper thin walls between the rooms. The interior design is of the kitchest I have ever seen: A mix of oldish decayed furniture and maroccan decor. The nice, stylish and elegant hotel it used to be back in 1885 and after, is no more. What a pity! The breakfast was okeish. Warm dishes such as scrambled eggs and sausages were cold. The automated music coming out from the digital baby grand piano was absolutely deadly boring.

    The location. Near the lake and walking distance (10 minutes) from the center of town along the lake promenade. Friendly staff at reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.7
    The location of the hotel was very nice;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were very thin, like they were halfway filled in; although maybe if I had asked for a replacement, they would have helped. The staff at the reception was not very friendly either; not bad, just not really nice. May have been that I just thought so because I had seen extremely friendly staff in other hotels the past few days.

    The location of the hotel was very nice; although not directly in Lugano, right along the lake shore. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    An enjoyable stay after a rocky start.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were shocked to arrive and be told that our credit card failed to process that morning and our booking had been cancelled. Although we were notified by email 6 hours earlier we had no wifi while travelling during the day to receive the message. After proving the credit card was valid the booking was reinstated. All worked out favourably though left a nasty taste of how supposedly secure bookings can be cancelled.

    Lake view room was great with the picture perfect weather

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    nice staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    disco club under the hotel building could be noisy a bit in the night. but the sound proof was good.

    bus station in front of the hotel. nice bathtub and view. the breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.4
    The location of the hotel is its only redeeming factor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was horrifically uncomfortable. The pillows were bizarre lumpy things and the bed linen suspect. Neither the fridge or the air conditioning worked and the room smelled stale. Coffee at breakfast was cold. And we had paid an upgrade to a junior suite!

    ....pretty much we only liked the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    The curly hair receptionist I don't remember her name...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curly hair receptionist I don't remember her name was not helpful when we asked about the hotel parking. We had to ask many questions to know that the hotel got free parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Great Location and lake view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can hear the sound of floor loudly if someone upstairs is walking in the room. Kind of annoying early in the morning or late at night.

    Great Location and lake view. Restaurant stuff was very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location to walk the boardwalk of the lake front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I prefer white bedding and this room came with different coloured sheets to the covers. Looked tacky.

    I had the most amazing view overlooking the lake.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Elegant hotel in beautiful location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I liked everything about this hotel.

    I liked its location beside the lake. I liked its elegance,its high standard of cleanliness, comfort, helpful friendly staff. Well maintaned elegant inerior. Mozart playing softly at breakfast with views over lake. It had a downstairs restaurant facing the lake and views. Friendly waiters

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    3.3
    Not going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheets and pillows nit white could not tell weather dirty or not charges for parking and non consistent policy No help from the staff No attention to detail We had two rooms and were given one first because the receptionist could only see two of us despite having a booking in front of him No help with luggage despite sending us to the wrong room Hotel had fee parking in front but he made us move our car to 18 euros to another facility and gave the other parking to a another Italian speaking guest Breakfast extremely poor quality for the charges

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.0
    Not satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner didn't work. I called the receptionist, she came and repaired. One hour later it stopped. I called receptionist, she said someone will come. Waited for 30 mins, no one came. Called receptionist again, she said 'no engineers left, the work can only be done the next morning'.... after I complained, she said she will find someone. Waited for another 20 mins, no one came.. called back the receptionist, same response that it can be repaired only tomorrow morning.. after another complain, they sent someone up to repair. The air con worked for 1 hour and stopped again. So I ended up with a full night without it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.4
    The staff at the restaurant were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms has very old wooden beds that looked like they belonged in a dormitory and the pillows were extremely uncomfortable - and the rooms I booked were business twin so it did not fit with the description.

    The staff at the restaurant were very friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.8
    You had a great view and the hotel is located directly at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs some serious maintenance. Everything looks old and a resfreshment of the place would do good.

    You had a great view and the hotel is located directly at the lake.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    In a good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a good location! Nice stroll along the lake to get you to main shopping areas. We booked a lake view and it was spectacular, had the biggest balcony too and that was wonderful. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Lugano at its best. View and Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old man who was cleaning the entrance and elevator was smoking a cigar leaving a trail of its unpleasantness.

    The view from the dining room is beautiful. The tables were dressed in well ironed table cloths and some utensils were solid silver.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    Charming Hotel in an excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a beautiful terrace to sit on for breakfast, overlooking the lake. Somewhat mediocre breakfast provided.

    This is rather a charming hotel, with character. So much nicer than a glass and steel creation. It has a great situation in Paradiso and a great view over the lake. I was very pleased with my choice for a one night stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.3
    Pounding music all night! Do NOT stay here if you want a quiet night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Dancing Cell POUNDING music until 5 AM! EVERY NIGHT! Which I could hear / feel on 3rd floor!!!! No people were dancing - & they refused to lower the music.

    The receptionist gave me a prime room on 3rd floor with view of Lake & jet d'eau!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.3
    Be prepared to pay double the prices in Lugano Switzerland compared to Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were old and the filling was all broken in pieces, NEED NEW pillows. Also we were not shown wine list in their restaurant , we asked for a litre of house wine, then were shocked to receive bill with wine costing 40 euros. This was over the top as we had been paying around 7 euros for house wine in Italy and Croatia.

    Location on lake.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    A better place than its rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The man at the front desk was fantastic. He gave me and my friend an extra cot for a third party we brought along, and even let us keep our bags at the hotel AFTER checkout until our train departure much later at night. The breakfast of croissants, salami, juice, and a variety of cooked eggs was better than reviewers gave the hotel credit for. Hotel Victoria was also very centrally located to the train station (from Lake Como) and the center of town. Easy walking to and from everything. The bottom line is that I would stay there again - and I didn't even mention that it was the least expensive hotel in the area!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    3.3
    Worst hotel... Unproffesional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst hotel. We reserved room with lake view (non refundable) and also parking place. We came in hotel in 8pm very tired and they told us that parking is full and that they do not have free place for us. We must park car in public garage and tomorrow were very rainy they did not have umbrella to get to the car with our luggage so we were totally wet and I get sick because of that. They did not give us room with lake even they get our money for that room at the same moment when we reserved the room. They told us that that room is not available and they give us another room and that totally destroyed my time in lugano. They told us we will refund you 50chf or to find another hotel. How to find another hotel in 9pm and we already parked the car. You can watch my review of hotel viu Milan day before to see that I am not person who is hard to be satisfied. This was unprofessional. I travel often and this is the worst experience I have ever get in one hotel and my first bad review on booking.

    Nothing - I have never been in worst hotel. Unprofessional.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.9
    View across the lake ja mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from street and from night club nearby. Attitude in reception. Stuff (3different persons) just answered what we asked, notning else. Not a single hint or advice about attractions and directions nearby. (Neither any feedback questions while we left the hotel).

    View across the lake ja mountains. Room very nice, old fashioned style building with "high roof". Possibility to hop in to boats and buses at Paradiso stop (just 100m away from hotel), Funicular to Mt. San Salvatore within 300 m.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.3
    The position was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room have old facilities. Plugs not adequate for all types of appliances (i.e. The flat two pin and the round two pin) bathrooms far too tiny. Rather get rid of the bath tub & put in great showers. Tiles we old and tired. Receptionist chap, at night was terrible.

    The position was great. Views really good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.8
    Romantic but very old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very old , floors are of wood and very noisy. Balcony very small and dirty table with rost. Next to hotel is a night club and till 6.00 am in the morning its very noisy with music. Parking is expensive , CH Franks 20.00 per day. Bath tube is very high , not easy to enter for older people.

    Staff is friendly and the restaurant serve nice food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Stunning lake view from a unique vintage hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi cut in and out - very inconsistent Would have been good to have extra pillows available in the room Shower seemed to spray onto bathroom floor and made it very slippery Room hot, aircon very noisy

    Beautiful lake view from our room Rooms were modernised but kept in fitting with the hotels vintage theme Bathroom was really nicely appointed Very friendly and helpful staff at reception, breakfast and the restaurant Parking facilities very nearby Public transport very accessible

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    5.0
    Expected more for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Window did not close properly and during the night the party was loud lasting until around 5 in the morning, not letting us sleep. Bathroom a bit outdated and no amenities.

    Location is super. with a clear view of the lake

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.8
    Location and the view is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not so good. Small selection of options and it was running out too fast. A little loud since they have night club under the hotel.

    Location and the view is amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were ants in the room.

    Good hotel to stay for a couple of days, the bed was comfortable, breakfast is OK with very tasty coffee. Very beautiful view to Lugano lake.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    5.0
    Expensive with no much services
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not value for money, very expensive . No parking. Reception was till 11 pm & then all doors were closed , it is like prison , i needed something from outside & i have to wait till 7 am to go out, there wad nobody to ask!!

    Location on the lake was very nice & center was nearby. Good wifi. Breakfast was modest.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.3
    We booked a lake view room and the view was stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We used the restaurant attached to the hotel. The service was very slow and the food was only all right

    We booked a lake view room and the view was stunning. The location was ideal. On a bus route from the train station and beside a stop over for the tourist boats on the lake.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    3.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worse hotel i have ever stayed at! Deserves maximum 2 stars. There was literally no breakfast until we forced staff to bring something at least. It is such a terrible combination of old style and indian design with no taste. It doesn't look anything like on pictures. It was not clean at all. Terrible!!!!

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Relaxing weekend in Hotel Victoria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could be better, I mean more varieties. We stayed for four days and everyday we were eating the same thing. It was ok, the quality but yes they could make better a variety. For example, every day was the same, one cake. It was a Easter so they could do better. coffee wasn't so good, I expected more because we were in the Italian part of Switzerland and coffee was like a water.

    I liked a lot staying in Hotel Victoria. First of all, the Hotel is in front of the lake so we could enjoy a perfect view for a lake, see the picture attached. Small balcony in the room was a paradise for me, I could enjoy a sunny morning. The staff were nice and helpful. When I asked for non lactose milk, they didn't have it but the nice waitress brought me a rise milk, plus for him. We could enjoy a breakfast in the terrace with the view on the lake, it was pleasant. The room is nice and comfortable. very clean! Easter morning we received a gift from the staff, they left a small cake in our room. It was very nice. Price is very good for a quality of the room. I recommend to stay there with a nice view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    5.4
    Great location and that's it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is not friendly, not available at night, not willing to help you to solve any problem you might have during your stay.

    Great location, lake view.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    5.4
    More like a hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs to choose a design style. It is old and a collection of brochenstube paintings, lamps, furniture , etc. and nothing goes together. The electric piano at breakfast was annoying. It could be a real gem if they modernized the place.

    Location on the lake was great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.6
    Hotel Victoria the best choice in Lugano! Great value for Money!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great staff!! At the reception Gaetano was very helpful and gave us a warm welcome!! Very professional and nice people! The view from the Hotel is amazing, our room view was directly on the lake!! Room warm and bed very comfortable! The hotel is located just 10 minutes walking to the city center.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    4.2
    If you arrive late at night, you can access this trashy hotel only via the strip club!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having booked two junior suites for a business-trip in this 3-star hotel with classy face of the building and its location right at the lake, we thought that it sounds quite promising. Unfortunately, the experience started to fall short of our expectations right as we entered the hotel in the late afternoon: The reception looks like in an old movie and it smells very musty. Happily, the check-in process is quick. In the elevator, they have hung up their restaurant’s menu in yellowed laminated sheets, which fits the cheap look of this hotel. The junior suites then are not bigger than normal double rooms in any other hotel. The bed has a very soft mattress, two pillows so soft that you could wonder if there is actually a filling in it and two duvets with – again – trashy covers. The bathroom looks like one in a run-down hospital and even the towels smell bad. Returning to the hotel after dinner we found the entrance door closed and yet another laminated sheet advising to either “ring the bell and wait up to 15minutes or accessing the hotel via the strip club”. We decided not to wait and check out that passage through Cecil Night Club. A completely empty strip club (on a Wednesday night) with about 6 to 8 bored girls sitting at the bar and glaring at you. The barkeeper then showed us the secret door to the hotel. Now we realized in what kind of hotel we have checked in. Even though the hotel is right at the street in front of the lake, you can sleep with open windows. Or rather: you should, as the room is muggy and the bed smells of old cigarette smoke (tho’ there are non-smoking signs everywhere!). Disgusting. The breakfast room is full of trashy decoration and they play loud piano music to distract from the desolate atmosphere. The breakfast itself costs CHF 14.- extra and it offers not much for the price. The coffee was undrinkable.

    for strip club visitors only

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    3.3
    Very bad Uncomfortable beds - not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the worst stay ever ! Hotel hasn't been renovated in past 30 years ! Old furniture, bathroom falling apart, hairdryer put together with sticky tape, shampoo in sachets ( cheaper then bottles ), shower pipe run across all bathtub while had shower ( very dangerous ) , pillows as thin as tea bags ( i had sore neck for 3 days ) , very uncomfortable bed. I do not recommend this hotel, it has great potential but management let it all down ...

    location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    8.8
    The Hotel is definitely different in terms of design and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is definitely different in terms of design and colours but very cozy with an excellent location at the lake. Staff is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is an experience.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    7.1
    Staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room floors were noisy / creaky and the room could use some updating including newer mattresses to make it more comfortable for guests staying.

    Staff was friendly and helpful. Nice views from the guest rooms.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Victoria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: