Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Marita 2 stars

Via Lucino 49, 6932 Lugano, Switzerland

#87 of 102 hotels in Lugano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 405 hotel reviews

5.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.7

  • Comfort

    5.4

  • Location

    6.4

  • Facilities

    5.1

  • Staff

    6.3

  • Value for money

    5.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    If you’re looking for a quite place with charm and old look,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was too expensive for what it was 8.50 FCH and even though they had a nice yard and seats available outside, they wouldn’t allow sitting outside. All the doors and windows in the dinning room was closed and it was so stuffy. The person who was in charge of dinning room was unpleasant and seemed unhappy with serving the customers.

    If you’re looking for a quite place with charm and old look, this is the hotel for you. My sister & I stayed there for five days. The room was spacious with a large balcony with a good flow of air and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.0
    Bargain price for lugano, a good accommodation after all
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is not so rich as we generally find in Switzerland. For me it was OK, because I drink/eat in the morning just a tea and few biscuits, but an American from Texas or Oregon would feel to be starving, shocked by the scarce variety of the food served.

    The hotel, although in need of much refurbishment, had a nice atmosphere because of the curious furniture of the common areas and the many vintage items displayed on shelves and tables. The hotel manager is a very kind and helpful person and is a pleasure to chat with him during the breakfast. A wonderful point is the reserved parking area- in Switzerland parking is a nightmare and police is merciless. The location is very good to reach quickly the motorway and the town's center. Cleanliness is perfect. The price is rather unbelievable for a town when a single room is in general 150-200EUR per night. Obviously if one seeks luxury should go elsewhere.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    3.8
    Not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is smells, tv broken not working no elivator,no breakfast.

    Help for the baggage if there is no elivator. Inform us if there is a breakfast or not and what time. Its too expensive because the price on the website is not the same price at the hotel . Parking for the car is fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.8
    The room served its purpose, and the balcony that we had was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our windows did not open. The rooms are very outdated, and need to be renovated and redecorated.

    The room served its purpose, and the balcony that we had was terrific.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not reliable at all. Also location is partially a disadvantage. Without a car, you have to walk a about 5 mins even from the bus stops. Although from the hotel to city is downhill and hence a easy 10 mins walk. There isn't any food place nearby other than the hotel restaurant.

    Our room had one bedroom and one completely separate huge living room. View from the living room windows were amazing. We also had two balconies one with the bed room and one with the living. Although balconies were not much useful to us as the living room it self had a wonderful view and large windows. Hotel staff was nice and helpful. He helped us to get print out of one of our ticket which we misplaced. Although, the printer and computer were so old that final output wasn't helpful enough. We managed to continue our journey with soft copy but really appreciate his help to provide us the print out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    2.5
    I was confident that any hotel in ur web is good .This one below poor.I 'll chose other web n future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hounsly I did not like Every thing in this hotel.

    Nothing to be liked in this hotel and not worth to be put in your website. In fact I want my money back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    5.8
    Nothing fancy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service, no one present at the checkout, we simply had to leave the key and hope all was set and done About a 7-10 min walk to the nearest bus which was then an additional 2-3 min ride to the center

    Simple and easy check in, no extravagances

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    3.8
    Very quiet hotel. Rather shabby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got told off for putting the wrong kind of bread in toaster! Very hot in room . No way of getting to hotel easily from airport apart from taxis. A offer of an airport shuttle would help. They could have given directions. Very expensive for one night. We met the previous owner the day after and she said the hotel 'had deteriorated'. No one at reception when we arrived, only ever saw 1 member of staff!

    Very quiet, only saw one other guest! At least breakfast was included.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    2.5
    Do not stay here ever!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old old old, nothing like the pictures on booking.com Everything was dirty and the bathroom had mold all over it. The whole place smelt stale. When I complained I was told "I will tell the owner" If I had paid €30 for the room I would have been like ah well it's a €30 room but for over €160 I feel robbed.

    Nothing about this hotel was nice. It was filty, old and had mold in the bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    4.2
    The proprietor was friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    For an impromptu dinner, I was charged 20 francs for a chicken leg and some baked beans. The TV didn't work. The shower was cold. The rest room was so small that when sat on the lavatory one's head and knees touched a wall.

    The proprietor was friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing because pictures did not tell the real story.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little English spoken by staff and not always available. Room had no fan and windows did not open because they were broken. Balcony door was only source of air. It was hot the room. No shower soap. Garden overgrown with no view as advertised. Furnishings were tired. Ceiling needed to be be painted. Breakfast ok, not included. I would not stay here again.

    10 minutes from bus stop.You could walk to the train station.Balcony ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    4.6
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very weird, needs some refurbishment. Many weird and useless stuff everywhere full of dust. Toilet sit broken and room little dirty. Switzerland is expensive but for this price I expected better.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    5.4
    Nice and simple place on a ok location but not worth the price!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The night guard is very unpleasant. I called the hotel that I will be very early in Lugano despite of that information the hotel was closed at my arrival and the night guard was sleeping. The most negative thing about my stay at villa Marita is that the price was 100 franks more than the price on Booking.com. When I reserved the hotel trough your site the price was 333 franks + some fees of 89HRK (croatian kunas) per night but at the hotel they charged me 444 franks.

    The hotel is in a nice and calm part of Lugano near to thr bus stops and 10 minutes by bus to the city center. The day workers are nice and friendly and the maintenance is very good my room was perfectly cleaned every day. A big plus to the young receptionist who was friendly and helped my with some technical problems that i had on my travel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    3.3
    Was not feeling safe either I do not recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad service and had breakfast and smell and bad conditions

    The view from the balank

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    3.5
    This hotel needs for sure a renovation
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room !! A lot of stuff was broken , it was smelly dirty . Horrible for that price

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    It was easy to find and in walking distance from the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was easy to find and in walking distance from the train station with our baggage. Even though up hill. Was spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.8
    Tragic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s dated,smells old and smokey decor was dated back to the 70’s

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    4.2
    You‘re better off in any hostel in Switzerland
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was unfriendly and incompetent, minimal comfort, poor breakfast

    It‘s calm and if you travel by car, the location is ok, room was huge

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Basic accomodation. Good for stop over stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress needs replacing

    Very spacious room. Seventies time warp though.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    3.8
    View and balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything. This is a boarding house not a real hotel. Tired and dated

    View and balcony

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    3.8
    Poor hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned hotel. Give the impression of 60

    Poor hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    5.8
    Okay if on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was ok.

    Hotel was okay. Large room with balcony. Owner was sweet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.6
    The size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need remodel berry old carpet

    The size

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.3
    Great for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old fashioned, had some ants in the room

    Large room, nice view, comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    2.9
    Very old and uncared for
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and uncared for The garden was wild

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Bedt deal quality value
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My experience at hotel pallazzo in liverno italy

    Atonio was the best

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    6.3
    Staff quite helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult staff communication skills

    Staff quite helpful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    6.3
    Quiet, unommunicative stay, no english tv, no cnn or bbc makes of a dull stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    feather stuffed pillows. Am allergic and suffered an allergy attack

    not applicable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.5
    Nice view from my window and there is a balcony.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It s situated very high and first time was uncomfortable to go up. Also there aren't many shops near the hotel and there is opportunity to have a dinner only after 20.00.

    Nice view from my window and there is a balcony. There is a shower, TV in my room. The breakfast is not included in price but it's not expensive. The hotel was very calm.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    7.5
    Room was very big for a hotel room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was very big for a hotel room. They responded very quickly to all our e-mails. We came very late and that was no issue. In the last moment we decided that one more person goes with us and the hotel stuff accepted that if we could stay in existing beds. Family room with double bed and 2 smaller beds is perfect for 4 people. Parking available. Few minutes by car to city center.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.3
    The host was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was rather poor. The rooms interior/equipment was rather old.

    The host was very nice. I liked the interior in the main villa hall, very cozy.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    5.8
    Pretty cosy lobby, pretty big bed and two spare pillows in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Toilet is really cramped, no shower gel or shampoo, only hand soap. 13" old CRT TV. Most of the furniture is rather old, but this is typical for Swiss hotels. The place is really uphill and hard to get to unless you're by car.

    Pretty cosy lobby, pretty big bed and two spare pillows in a single room. Quiet. Really powerful shower, you can probably wash off all dirt without soap with such a water pressure ;)

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    6.7
    Beautiful view, very quiet and peaceful area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Furnishing daggy but comfortable. Didn't smell the greatest but it was clean. Wifi pretty lousy. Uphill walk from the train station about 1.5 - 2kms.

    Beautiful view, very quiet and peaceful area. Spacious accommodation had a full lounge room and separate bedroom with bathroom. Good price. Switzerland is expensive.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    7.1
    the fact i was able to stay with my dog and have ample...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi-connection was rather poor and the TV didn't work appropriately. Toilet space was minimal and it was a little disappointing not being able to buy a glass / or even bottle of wine.

    the fact i was able to stay with my dog and have ample parking space, free of charge. Also, access to the highway was very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    4.6
    The view was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed and pillows were very hard. The bathroom which was the toilet and sink was so small that your knees banged the wall when using the toilet. The shower was separate and in the bedroom.

    The view was nice. The staff was friendly.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    5.8
    The view is great and the location,though not near to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The toilet is so small you cannot sit on it straight. There was no soap,luckily we brought some ourselves. The bed squeeches heavily and is of poor quality. For 111 francs a nights without breakfast and having to be in at 00:00 on a saturday we were disappointed.

    The view is great and the location,though not near to the center is beautiful as well.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    4.6
    The room was clean, and there was a balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Shower is in the middle of the room. The bed is 50 inches wide, two adults can't sleep together, unless you're a couple who like to spoon

    The room was clean, and there was a balcony

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    5.8
    It was a compact room not too far from the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's just a villa converted into a guest house . No real luxury - the bathroom and shower are separate and very very tiny . Switzerland is quite expensive and hence not sure if this place is worth 100 CHF or not but overall not too bad and definitely not great at the same time.

    It was a compact room not too far from the station. The staff and especially the cool was quite friendly and even conjured up a chicken and a pizza late in the night on short notice at special request from us.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    6.3
    Manager / reception still available even though we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast food variety is limited to bread, muesli, spreads, coffee, juice. Room lights are dim, with old furniture, looks a bit like from a horror movie at night.

    Manager / reception still available even though we reached late at night (11pm+). Car park available. Didn't charge extra for a 5 year old child & a 9 month old baby (we didn't need an extra bed, we had a sleeping bag). Balcony is nice.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    3.8
    My mattress was curved in poor conditions, also stuck...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    My mattress was curved in poor conditions, also stuck between 2 walls, and was touching on both sides. we asked to have 2 rooms next to each other, and that wasn't obtained.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    5.0
    Good Bed.
    • Couple

    No Aircodition? We dont wont Steam Bath in the Room. We happy for the Swimming Pool,because very Hot Day after Milan Expoo. But the Swimming Pool is absolutely DRY....

    Good Bed. Nice Mountain View,. Short Way to Lugano Agno Airport

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    4.2
    Granted, it was basically the hottest day of the summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Granted, it was basically the hottest day of the summer. But the room was super far away (and super uphill) from the train station, extra far from the lake, unbearable hot, and there were little bugs everywhere. After almost having a panic attacked in the closet-sized shower, I got out of the room and found someone else to stay with. Maybe during cooler temperatures it would be bearable, but be prepared--two star really means two star. On the upside, the lobby and eating areas aren't terrible.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    7.5
    Location good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was very limited ( this is an understatement) and overpriced.

    Location good. Free parking, public transportation to city center nearby. Clean room, good bed. Interior (out)dated but not worn; let's call it vintage. Very reasonable priced for the city of Lugano. The staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    9.0
    View from balcony !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing !

    View from balcony !

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    6.7
    Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi is not working properly, room and bathroom a bit old

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    2.5
    Nothing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stupid staff. Dirty hotel, very bad location. Rooms shown in pictures are not the ones they provide you. Worst hotel I ever stayed in.

    Nothing!!!!!!!

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    8.3
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect!

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    6.0
    Personal touch to service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Personal touch to service

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    5.8
    Expensive for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive for what it is. In need of an update. Breakfast service finishes very early. No alternatives in area.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    3.8
    I don't recommend anyone to rent on this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I don't recommend anyone to rent on this hotel

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.2
    I stayed for one night.
    • Solo traveller

    Poor breakfast.

    I stayed for one night. Good location, not far from lake and Monte Bre if you go by car! Vintage hotel. Low price!

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    4.2
    ants on the ground, bathroom really really small, can't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ants on the ground, bathroom really really small, can't even sit down on the toilet.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: