Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Selva 2 stars

Via Tesserete 36, 6900 Lugano, Switzerland

#23 of 102 hotels in Lugano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 240 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although Booking.com indicated that my reservation was not cancellable and I had given my credit card to that effect, when we arrived (9:00pm) we were informed that our room had been given to someone else. They said they thought that we were no longer coming (although I had called an hour earlier to let them know of our arrival time). We had to stay in another hotel for the first night, and then come back to check in to Villa Selva the next morning. My particular room was very small and basic, with few frills.

    The pool and garden are really the main stars here. You walk under grape vines to a tranquil terrace and to your right is a garden oasis in the middle of the city. You can walk barefoot through the plush green grass and explore the different fruit trees, before returning to the pool for a dip or to your lounger for some more sun. This was a perfect weekend getaway to relax and work on my tan.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is quite a walk into town, with many stairs. Fine for us, but may be challenging for some.

    Our room had a lovely view. Staff were very nice and helpful. Good car parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, several stories high, unfriendly staff, no hot water during the day, no in room phone or coffee pot, hot tub full of leaves, would not recommend this hotel

    Coffee

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It would have been great if they have provided shampoo for all the days I stayed there.

    - The breakfast was nice. - The room was very clean. - The room has a very big window that helps to get some fresh air in quickly. - Very friendly staff. - The place was quiet and it was easy to sleep. - The pressure of the hot water in the shower was perfect!!! Usually hotels suffer from this, but Hotel Villa Selva did not have this problem.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed at this hotel with my whole family for two nights and were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is old but our room was absolutely spotless clean. The staff is extremely helpful and speak five languages. The view from our family room on the top floor of the hotel was simply amazing, the small pool in the front yard was perfect for our kids and the food in the hotel's restaurant during breakfast and dinner was very good. I can warmly recommend Villa Selva.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very nice experience. The owner and the staff of the hotel were always very friendly. The location was great and we did not have any issues with parking (which is generally an issue everywhere in Switzerland)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Altogether it was a pricey stay in comparison to prices elsewhere in Europe, however that always seems to be the case with Switzerland.

    Nice family hotel with a restaurant, garden and a swimming pool. Sufficient breakfast at extra cost.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cannot think of anything. The staff always asked what more they could do for me and went out of their way to be accommodating.

    The staff were amazingly solicitous and kind, going out of their way to make my stay as comfortable and stress free as possible. They helped me with free train tickets from the internet and gave me helpful suggestions for touring the town and area throughout my stay. The food was fantastic! Delicious, fresh and prepared with much love. Way above the norm. Truly an excellent dining experience from beginning to end. The room was very comfortable and gave me a lovely view of he lake and mountains. Bed was firm but comfy and linens were delightfully fresh and new. Everything in the hotel was freshly cleaned or painted. It looks truly brand new although it is an older home from the 1940's. I absolutely loved the polished old wood and tiled floors. It has an old world feel to it. So wonderfully homey and elegant. The dining tables were set with fresh flowers and candles. Everything was perfect! I will definitely return to this hotel! Public transportation was just up the street and the train station only a mile or two away. Everything was truly convenient, close and manageable - even with suitcases!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like option of fruit for breakfast, something other than bread. Need do not disturb sign. Cleaner knocked once and walked in!!!

    Homemade jam, homemade pasta, food, friendliness. Lovely garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Takes 20 minutes walk downhill (uphill on the way back) to the lake. No elevator. Wifi only on the ground floor. The hotel rather needs some investment. Bathroom small. And it was rather cold in the room.

    Beds were very comfortable. View from the rooms very nice. The staff friendly and accommodating. We managed to book just 1 day before. The dinner at the restaurant pretty good too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast

    Quite, friendly personnel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out was slow, unfortunate as we were keen to leave before the traffic built up.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Interiour - Breakfast

    - View - Swimming Pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed are a bit low in height.

    Location, service, staff and the grapes from the vineyard

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was good and take a dinner at the hotel, it is home made and very tasty

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful garden to enjoy. Very close to bus into centre and to train station (about 3 stops).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't an elevator so if you're traveling with a large suitcase then you'll have a hard time getting it up to your room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very nice flower decoration; must be very nice in May-June with swimming pool open and flowering garden; Mrs Wanda is a nice host.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    Staff, food and location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, light breakfast

    Very clean, free parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    walking to the city center is a bit too long

    free parking on site; partial lake view from the windows

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Hotel very clean and comfortable. The garden and the pool were wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    if there is a friger. and a air condition.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location if you work at the hospital. Room has everything you need and is much more worth than only 2 stars.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Towels were too hard

    Hospitality

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The food was excellent: breakfast was served with home-made jam and a great cheese selection and the dinner was just great. Local products, original combinations - great food with a twist! I can highly recommend it! The garden of the hotel must be a dream in summer when the swimming pool is in use. The owner of the hotel also was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Internet only worked on lower floors and it was a 20 min walk to the center. The AC worked intermittently and not between 6 and 10 PM. Also, the person who manages hotel failed to respond to our request for an extra bed which resulted in our having to get an extra room.

    Rooms very clean and bright, garden was lovely

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi, wifi and wifi very slow even next to the router and only around reception area, the land lady doesn't get the important of the internet these days, rooms are very basics no facilities like tea and coffe maker, breakfast and drinks has to be paid separately and little over priced

    Very nice land lady and staff, Helpfull and very welcoming, good location only 5 mins from train station by bus or 15 mins walk , comfortable beds, swimming pool and lovely garden

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel was close to a road, with some noise. Not too bad, though.

    The hotel was very beautiful, with vines and flowers all around. The rooms were modern and well equipped.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Towels are really old, few tv channels, the location isn't that close to the city, on the other hand it's calm.

    Nice staff, clean room, nice surroundings, free parking, good wifi (paid extra)

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was ok, wish there were more options

    The staff were very friendly, the place was very clean

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Amazing food and atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very cozy place with a very good location

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Solo traveller

    All very clean and comfortable. Food in restaurant home cooked and wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Owner does not seem to like Booking.com customers - very small meal proportions compared to other clients.

    Nice area

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hospitality & Friedly Staff I ellt home from the first second

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No lift, tough on elderly.

    Nice clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were welcoming and helpful. The gardens and swimming pool were great and it was so quiet.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A little far from the center

    staff helpfully, excellent view

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel has a nice garden and swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A must visit for everyone

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Close to public transport

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    More of a home feel than a hotel feel. This can be a good thing though!

    Nice lady holding the place. Swimming pool.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Browse Hotel Villa Selva traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: