Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Toscane

Rue du Lac 2/8, 1820 Montreux, Switzerland

#35 of 40 hotels in Montreux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 536 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room, the bathroom had old equipment, not broken but well used and needing reparation (mainly the sink which needed a lot of strength to turn on and off and the WC which was bent and displaced). The water in the shower also switched temperatures quickly and took time to adjust. As far as breakfast is concerned, we were disapppointed to see that in a 5* Hotel breakfast we couldn’t find any fruit, cheese and yogurt whatsoever. The only food served being bread, croissants, “viennoiseries” and hot beverages... Maybe an international breakfast just as complete as any other good Hotel would have seduced us more. A last thing my girlfriend noticed was that some parts of the spa we went to were dirty, which is also some kind of problem

    The facilities were clean and very charming. Staying only one night with my girlfriend, we weren’t disturbed by any noise whatsoever during the night. The bed was confortable and the hotel quite well situated for what we were in Montreux for (celebrating our aniversary at Montreux Jazz Café), and also not so far away from the city centre. We used only the swimming pool and Jacuzzi which are free for use, and both were ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little noisy, small bed and tiny bathroom

    Nice old villa serviced by the Royal Plaza just across the street. Plaza services offered just by crossing the street

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was not a negative thing that I could say about the accommodation.

    The accommodation was very well located and being across the road from a major up-market hotel, which I understand owns the property, was a bonus as this gave me access to that hotel's facilities e.g. pool etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the pool and Jacuzzi closed for 4 out of 7 days change of hotel from what was booked from villa toscane to royal plaza the 137 chf city tax expense

    Villa Toscane was picked because of the old Swiss architecture and grande rooms in the pictures on booking.com of the villa. Also the use of the spa facilities in the royal plaza were included which is just across the road. This gave a sense of a double win as we had the best of both worlds. On arrival we were told we had to stay in the Royal Plaza as the Villa Toscane was booked out. This is a grand hotel but when we were told that the pool and Jacuzzi was closed for 4 days of our 7 day stay that was a bitter disappointment. I enjoyed the Royal Plaza stay and its breath taking views especially from reception. Its kept very clean and service is good although the prices of food/ drink are expensive. I thoroughly enjoyed the week in the modern room and the hotel although i do feel like I've missed out not seeing the Villa Toscane.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Moreover we received an upgrade for our room at the same price. Will certainly recommend it for staying

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was facing the road and it can therefore be a bit noisy, especially when traffic picks up in the early morning. Try to get a room facing the lake...

    We booked the Villa Toscana but on check-in we were told that it was being renovated and we were given a room at the mother hotel Royal Plaza! The location is awesome, right by the lake and a few minute's walk to downtown and the Casino. There was a slight misunderstanding about breakfast opening times, so we arrived 15 mins after closing time, but the staff reopened the buffet just for us! Very friendly and helpful staff at all levels, providing great service!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast may be could be more abundant~

    We checked in at the Royal Plaza Montreux & Spa and were given an upgrade to stay in Royal Plaza Montreux & Spa. The hotel staff is really nice and the spa service is good. At the end of our stay, the hotel staff kindly ask us to leave our postcards for friends at the reception desk and they will post them for us as it is the Christmas vacation and nothing opens now. My boyfriend and I really like this hotel and feel at home~ Definitely gonna recommend it to our friends~

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Expensive parking.

    Actually, we booked Villa Toscane but we were upgraded to Royal Plaza Hotel opposite the street, which was a very nice surprise to us. My rating belongs to Royal Plaza Hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fairly tatty hotel but clean - staff ok, not great. Almost refused to serve us bar food because they said they were too busy.. but we were sitting at the table in an almost empty bar. Finally they did agree to serve us... but it was not so easy. The hotel is a bit tatty but clean and the facilities are ok. In the end you get what you pay for!!

    Good bed and linens.. nice room service... TINY bathroom, not enough room to swing a kitten let alone a cat. Great location... short walk to the Xmas market etc... good value for money when compared to other places...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet option very expensive

    We were moved or upgraded to hotel across the screen so didn't stay in the Villa Toscane Very nice hotel and nice outdoor space facing lake with big umbrellas so we could sit outside even though it was raining a bit

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is a little dated -the shower was over the bath and the bath side is very high, so care is needed when getting out.

    We had a lovely room on the third floor on a corner, hence we had 2 windows. Room was light, large and comfortable with a settee! All checking in and out was done across the road at the plush Royal Plaza, where staff were great. We hired our car through Avis as its drop off point was at this hotel, so it was super convenient to drop it off there and cross the road to the hotel. Parking costs are very expensive so chose not to keep the car any longer. Providing weather is good, walking the length of the promenade is a wonderful activity and the hotel starts at one end. Free public transport is included so you can always bus bus back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled of old carpet/mold , there is nobody at reception, not even a vendor machine, I was on the ground floor, it was very hot inside but I couldn't open the window because of noise from the road plus people walking outside can see you inside the room. It is more like a hostel but with a hotel price, no way is a 4* hotel, only the price. I won't go back and I won't recommend it.

    5 Minutes walk from the conference center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception locked up hotel and no parking . Having to book in across road . access to swimming pool was not on site needs updating and making sure people know there is on one on site over night terrible

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to drop the car keys at the reception but sometimes you wait 5-10 minutes just to pick it up if you want to leave for a trip, because there is such a queue at the front desk

    Super friendly staff, we made a booking mistake and arrived 1 day later (for a 1 night booking) so basically we should have had no room. They arranged us a perfect room in the other hotel in 10 minutes for a decent upgrade price, we were amazed by the helpfulness and kindness of the staff! The balcony is super child proof, no gap for the child or his toys to fall out, this was great. The room was very spacious and comfy and clean, no noise, adjustable air conditioning, big wardrobe, nice bath, everything in working order. It was great and we want to thank the staff again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking space very limited.

    Lovely interior and cosy environment. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Few steps away from the shores of lake Geneva. Lovely morning walk is a must. Breakfast options and halal food is found in very close proximity of the hotel. I went with my family of 6 and I would not mind stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislike but an add on- maybe add a clothes storage for the second bedroom in the apartment.

    Directly across from montreux jazz fest venue. Beautiful architecture.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More tea and coffee in the bedroom.

    The beds were brilliant and the location excellent. We were upgraded to the Royal Plaza. It was overpriced but we were staying during the Jazz Festival in July. Overall we had a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not issued with the Riviera card until my son (who studied and lived there) reminded me of the facility Rates can be a little expensive at times

    Position of the hotel Friendliness Cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One small disadvantage: no airconditioning in the room, although there was a fan

    Breakfast was fine, room was OK, maybe a bit small, but considering the price, it was worth it. Location of the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room big enough but no drawers for storage at all. Easily rectified. Leisure facilities disappointing-7 sun beds for 208 rooms-plenty space for another. pool area still being cleaned at 8.30am tho' opened at 7am. Steam room not working on any of 4 days and none knew when it would reopen and sauna not on by 9am one day. Storage and leisure easily rectified which would have improved my rating. Overall pleased.

    Good room with 2 balconies and use of main hotel leisure facilities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to check in across the main road which took 30 minutes. Nobody showed us to our rooms. The safe didn't work despite the best efforts of the staff. The toilet was blocked for a short while but cleared. The bathroom extractor fan didn't work. An impersonal experience on the whole.

    The room was clean and the bed comfy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is dishonest. After we paid city taxes and giving us a receipt with a zero balance owed they persisted in charging an additional 30Euros on our credit card. When Booking .com queried on our behalf they said the charge was for city tax. We had paid 30Euros in cash and had a receipt for proof.When informed about this they changed their story and accused us of taking their adaptor.The hotel room given to us had no airconditioner,we could not open the window as it opened on the street and hence was unsafe.There was a pathetic fan in the airless room. What 4 star hotel does not possess airconditioners in every room. Some rooms apparantly have one Never will we go to this hotel again

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    the room was good, the bed was very comfortable, and very clean also with a balcony overlooking the lake which was beautiful . Enjoyed the whole holiday .Had the facility's of the 5star royal plaza Monteux and spa when needed, and they all were very helpful. You do need extra money as Switzerland is quite pricey . On the whole doing this independently like I did it couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival I found that the hotel doesn't have a reception, and I was forwarded to near by Royal Plaza. And I got a free update for my room. So, all marks above they are not about Villa Toscana ;)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only inconvenient thing is that the hotel does not have a reception center, and check-in and check-out are done at the sister hotel located across the road. Although a short walk, it can be an inconvenience if you're lugging luggage in the cold rain, as we did.

    Although in an old building, the rooms have been renovated and are bright and airy. Location is quite good as it's about 10 mins walk to the train station and across the road from Lake Geneva. We also got a bus pass which allowed us to hop on & off the local bus to the town center from the bus stop outside the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small bathroom

    Good location. Cheap parking. Excellent price-quality, especially compared to the very high hotel rates in surrounding hotels. Good cooperation with Royal Plaza hotel where all the facilities are included

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Information that the Hotel was temporary closed.

    Due to building workments i was booked in the Crown Plaza Hotel on the other site. This was really excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked Villa Toscana expecting a "Belle Epoque" experience but we were "upgraded" to a tiny room in a modern hotel over the road. Villa Toscana was closed for renovations.

    Handy to central Montreux.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested milk for child from room service on arrival night as shops closed. It never arrived. The room next door to us was very noisy through the night Limited tv channels

    Easy to book Spacious room Location Wifi

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being accused !!!!

    We were absolutely thrilled with our stay until now - 1.5 days later. We are being accused of leaving marks on carpet. We are still on holiday travelling around France and Switzerland and receiving emails from the hotel accusing us of this is spoiling my holiday ! We had extra beds ( pullout type with metal wheels) . I'm thinking the stains were caused by these wheels as we didn't wear shoes on the carpet. !!! I am waiting to hear. The hotel have sent us 3 photos and to me I think they are wheel stains. The hotel mentioned a pet !!! We didn't have a pet. Also it had taken the hotel a day and half to accuse us ??? I am deeply offended. Apart from this it was fabulous and a treat for our family !! Tip !!! Take photos before I leave a hotel room. It's a bit like the hire car scenario being bkamed for scratches days later !!! take pics on return day !!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Villa Toscana is a lovely older building and would benefit from some tasteful modernisation. It was very clean and comfortable but could be really lovely with some basic improvements.

    Breakfast was wonderful, sitting outside close to the lakeside.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    to expensive breakfest

    Location, atmosphere of the hotel (the best times are over, some nostalgia in the air), possibility to use the spa of the ***** hotel close by

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our check in was in a different hotel so we to do all of our checking in and so on there also when we walked into the room we saw that the heater was on in and we were very suprised since it is august also the walls at the corridor were very old and dirty.our room was very hot because of the heater on and at the end we had to check into a different hotel

    Easy to reach Good staff Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was very small, bathroom even smaller, but ok for our short stay room gave onto a main road, so relatively noisy carpet with stains, same as in the Royal Plaza: they should be replaced. it's not a 4* star hotel

    nice old house with well sound-proofed rooms part of the five star Royal Plaza, could use their services, pool, etc

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had 2 double rooms and one single. One of the double rooms was quite small. A full length mirror would be nice. The other 2 rooms were fine. The swimming pool was too cold. Perhaps they could start warming up the pool sooner for the early risers. There was no assistance for luggage when checking in and out which had to be done across the road at the hotel Plaza.

    Great location and friendly helpful staff , everything done with a smile, particularly the lady in charge of breakfast and check in and out staff. Breakfast was good, everything you would wish for. However perhaps the quality of the bacon and sausages served for cooked breakfast could be improved. Also suggest that they have a few egg timers at hand for boiled egg bath.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Good location right on Lake Geneva. Older building with lots of charm that shared facilities with the newer more modern Royal Plaza Hotel right across the street. Excellent breakfast was included. Very friendly staff that spoke multiple languages fluently . Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered in time a twin room a got a tiny non air conditioned room in a fully booked siruation! In no way Villa Tosca e is a 4* hotel! Beding a tourism specialist & tour operator since 40 years, I wonder about a bit!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is like a poorer annex to the Plaza Hotel with no reception in the actual building. Old poky rooms in need of a major overhaul. Some rooms with no air conditioning (but with little table fans) so had to change rooms during the stay. Shower cubicles so small that one could not but bang into the walls.

    Quiet hotel in a quaint building conveniently located and close to the lake

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning.

    Breakfast food and venue were fabulous, right on the lake. Note though that Villa Toscana is managed by the Royal Plaza across the road, so all services come from there. This wasn't a problem. Very central, great for the jazz festival. Charming decor, though a little tired. Staff were attentive and responsive. We enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In fact they upgrade our reservation to 5 starts hotel just in front the hotel as they were fully booked.. The thing i did not like..yes they upgrade us but not only one inform us about the upgrading..i knew about when i callled to double check on our reservation The

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no hot water for a shower. There were hairs in the bath. No milk in the room for the coffee and electric lights on the landing was hanging off the wall exposing the wires.

    Close to the lake and the room was large

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is friendly and tries to compensate. Location is great, only 300 meters from the entrance of the Stravinsky Auditorium!

    Building is old and not well maintained. There was a/c in our room, but it did not work. They changed our room though, upgrading at the same time without additional payment. Daily room service was poor. One day Nescafe was not refilled, another day things in the fridge, and 2 of 5 days table and ashtray on the balcony was not cleaned.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was two singles pushed together with two seperate covers. Not great for a couple!

    The location is amazing, it is a short hop over the road and through the hotel to the lake and from there you can wander either direction and take in the amazing views. The breakfast is in the plaza across the road and is across the walking track from the lake, one of the most stunning places you can eat breakfast. The food was fantastic and all the staff were amazing!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning not working with a 33C degrees temperature! We could not open the windows as room was above the road and a rather noisy street.The whole hotel is old and needs renovation.It does not qualify for 4-stars rating!

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had room 303 -a standard double room--which is at best would be regarded as a small single room if it had a single bed. The double bed gave no more than 300mm of space on each side. It was noisy at night due to the traffic, there was no air conditioning, and the room was in poor decorative order with rotten door jambs etc. On the basis this room is typical throughout the hotel it is definately not a 4* hotel and even with the input of the Royal Plaza amenity it would be struggling to reach 3*. It is grossly overpriced and needs a total refurbishment to restore the property to its former beauty and therefore not contravene the trades description act!.

    Due to the lack of amenity or staff at this hotel the fact that everything is serviced from the Royal Plaza hotel makes the experience bearable. Being able to use the Royal Plaza Hotels amenity and breakfast facility is fantastic and overall the only positive comment.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor was hugely out of sync with the genteel art nouveau building - think late 1980s bulky furnishing - felt i should be wearing shoulder pads with my leopard skin thong and mullet haircut; bathroom needs some refurbishment - missing floor tiles and ill fitting toilet seat. whilst there was a huge (redundant) desk, there were no drawers to store clothes just a hanging cupboard. reception staff whilst mostly friendly were inefficient - slow in moving guests along, not recognising who was in the queue , taking luggage when this might have been better served by a bellboy or concierge. the late 80s decor of the main building offers great views and could well do with a well thought out use of architecture and interior design - 80s can be tasteful if well thought out - think about using traditional swiss woodwork in creating sleek warm 80s interiors. the spa was nice but my experience was marred by the unfriendly and officious spa attendant who rather enjoyed barking orders than welcoming guests.

    Lovely fin de siecle mansion converted into a hotel. it feels really private and being managed by the Royal Plaza meant that you had access to its facilities - Royal Plaza lobby provides a wonderful view of Lake Geneva towards France on the otherside of the shores. Our room had a calm and tranquil terrace. the back facing rooms are more quiet. The Hotel is next to the Parc de Vernet which is where the free outdoor concerts are held during the montreux jazz festival. whilst not directly on the lake the hotel offers easy access to various swimming areas where you can refresh your tired muscles in the same waters that flows into the bottles of evian. Cleaning staff were excellent and were super helpful ; As were the staff at breakfast - especially the maitraisse D'hote , whose welcoming smile and gentle reminder for last orders , made it a joy to linger over breakfast - good breakfast selection (delicious croissants) with outdoor seating available . nice spa - pool, sauna and sun terrace.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Villa was part of the bigger Royal Plaza across the road. Best of both worlds. It was a short walk to Montreux Jazz venues. The villa was cosy and the Royal Plaza had the lakeside location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While it is a nice hotel, it is in no way a 4-star hotel. The room was tiny and staff was located across the street at another hotel.

    It was very well located and very comfortable - the bed and sheets were soft and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TERRIBLE! I have stayed in youth hostels more comfortable but way cheaper than this ridiculously overpriced hotel which is a total rip-off. Rooms are very small and stuffy, when I complained about the broken air con, I was moved to another room with no air con at all. You can't sleep with open windows because of the very busy street right under the windows. So you're free to choose the reason why you won't be able to sleep: either noise or heat. This hotel deserves no star at all and NOTHING can ever justify the several hundred francs that a single room costs.

    There is NOTHING right about this hotel. Only the staff were alright, but then they are the Royal Plaza staff...

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our beautiful room at Villa Toscane and Curtis at the front desk who was wonderful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shuttle service to station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - was as had hoped

    Everything was good and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds, state of the rooms could be better

    Location is good, near convention center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi in the room & breakfast choice is very poor

    Swinging pool & location, bed is vey comfort as well

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and breakfast have been excellent, as usual over the last 10 years

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded to the plaza hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a nightmare!

    The room was warmer than I prefer but quite nice. But, oh, my! The shower was tiny!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the stairway and the narrow passage in the room

    Excellent Location and comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is like a haunted villa, no reception and rooms are creepy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpets in the hallways were not very clean and a step down in the room was dangerous at night !

    It was nice and in a lovely old building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Guest room is hot, very poor air-conditioner. Tiny bathroom, tiny shower.

    good breakfast buffet, clean room, nice staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all generally were good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception is too far and you have to cross the street to reach it. Also they are very slow for check in & out.

    The room is big

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything was O.K. - staff, parking, swimmingpool, view, location, bed, cleaning, free public transport

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bathroom in double room was really tiny, difficult to use. bathroom in triple room was fine,

    perfect location! nice clean rooms,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny bathroom which needed updating

    Comfy beds, good sized room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful older building in keeping with the city. Excellent location near the train station and the lakefront.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    non functioning air-conditioning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    stale air in one of the bathrooms !!

    We were shifted ? upgraded to Hotel Royal Plaza !! That is a good business hotel .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is in front of the lake.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room on the road. Too noisy, no double glass.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: