Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Waldhotel Doldenhorn 4 stars

Kandersteg, 3718 Kandersteg, Switzerland

#2 of 19 hotels in Kandersteg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 257 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower had no hot water at 8am due to too apparently many guests using it all at once. Not a massive issue, but I would expect a 4 star rated hotel should be able to cater for this.

    Lovely location and room. Very comfortable and the breakfasts were very good. Pool area was very relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant and its gourmet history should be the highlight of this hotel, while it was within the "average" for the dinner service (while the breakfast service was very good).

    Roomy and very practical accommodations. Pet-friendly. Natural surroundings. Fascinating. Old-fashioned. Versatile SPA (big, children-friendly but also quiet and relaxing). When available, upgrades are generous. Welcome cocktails and 5 p.m. tea-time are great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ambiance Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't enough hot water to fill the bath. This was especially disappointing, because it's a nice jacuzzi bath.

    Our room was huge, with plenty of comfortable seating and storage space. The bathroom was was also spacious, with two sinks, jacuzzi bath, and separate shower. The balcony was also a nice size, with a beautiful view of the mountains. Staff were always very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is such a welcoming and relaxing hotel. The spa facilities are lovely, the staff are very helpful, it has lots of little extra touches such as the afternoon tea, welcome drink, bottle of water for your onward journey.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place is amazing! It is one of the best places where I have stayed. I was travelling with my friend and we had a great time. The room, the breakfast, the five o'clock tea, the spa, the staff, the location, the view, everything was perferct and stunning. We will definitely come back soon!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Ambiance Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real bar or pool service. Only cardio machines in the Fitness area and nothing for muscle training.

    Friendly staff.good location close to the cross-country trails.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambiance Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was too hard for me but I am a little picky.

    We were upgraded to a junior suute and it was awesome. It was easy to go walking with the dog. All in all it was a great place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful rooms, amazing spa with a variety of different Saunas etc., great hiking in the region, good breakfast and free pick-up/drop-off from town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambiance Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant sitting in the "garden" area (covered) there were way too many flies and insects which could easily have been dealt with but were not, this impacted the dining experience. Staff were good but felt robotic instead of warm and welcoming.

    Very relaxing place, nice surroundings and views, rooms were nice too as well as spa area. Restaurant food was tasty (had the summer vegetarian menu)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambiance Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was big but old style, used old style and the bathroom could have been better. The shower had material curtain which would definitely need a change. There was only one type of shower gel for face, body and hair which wasn't that great either.In the minibar there only 2 bottles of water and 1 juice.

    The restaurant was great and the staff was very nice and helpful.Also the view from the balcony was wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front office staff do not smile at you, barely greet you when you are in front of them and you can feel that your questions are a hassle to them. Nobody asked me on check out how our stay was, nor did they say bye- they just gave us the invoice to pay. It's a shame for such a great hotel!

    The spa is fantastic, with a big pool and lots of different saunas and hammams. The room was cosy and very nicely designed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are looking for a place that is within walking distance to plenty of other restaurants and shopping you should stay somewhere else.

    This is the place to stay if you want pure relaxation. You have public transportation but is far enough off of the road that it is very quiet. I would definitely stay here again if I was there for a week or more.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff gives impression of being under pressure: - busy yet surprisingly unattentive staff in highly ranked restaurant (one exception: girl that also gives massages) - cleaning staff woke me up at 8:45 (I don't usually sleep in, but when I can during a wellness weekend...) - older receptionist had problems with agenda, called twice after reservation and ends up booking the massages on wrong day (our leaving day) - which may happen to anybody - but then she insists (!) that it was the customer's mistake even when he starts getting upset... not ideal for a wellness hotel.

    Wonderful location (Kandersteg), very nice wellness area, beautiful suite, good food (in particular in the neighboring Ruedis House).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints whatsoever; a dream stay.

    Amazingly lovely place, 'feel', and staff. We couldn't ask for a lovelier ending for our Glacier Express tour. After our Chur to Brig journey we hopped on a local train, alighted at Kandersteg, walked to the hotel (they also supply shuttle service!), and spent a fabulous 24 hours. Room lovely, view astounding, staff couldn't be friendlier, afternoon tea cosy, bed delightful, and spa well-equipped. Dinner at the Ruedihus restaurant, under same ownership, completed our 'Alps in a nutshell' weekend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambiance Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We received an upgrade to our room which was a wonderful surprise Reception organised us theatre tickets as our cell phone didn't have any power left, super service

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambiance Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the restaurant was slow and a little erratic, but, in their defence, a number of staff were absent because of illness

    Excellent gourmet evening menu, but also possibility of raclette or fondu at the simpler partner hotel if you don't want the five course meal; superb afternoon tea when you get back from your day out; superb spa facilities and pool - a lovely hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambiance Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Because we wanted the windows open for ventilation and cooling off the room, we had to keep the shades open and the lights from outside into our room were very bright. One of us found this interfered with sleeping.

    Room was large, bedding comfortable, view was lovely, cross ventilation by opening windows was great so sleeping temperature was fine. Spa wellness area was fantastic with more saunas than I have ever seen, including salt an hay in addition to finnish traditional and whirlpool, swimming pool, etc. Breakfast offerings were plentiful and evening meals were gourmet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds instead of one double.

    Staff super helpful and kind, scrumptious breakfast, excellent dinner (gastronomic level for a really fair price). Liked the design of our bathroom. The wellness area is large, clean and well-equiped.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant stay. The hotel staff really made an effort to make you feel welcome and spa facilities are excellent. The free cake and tea in the afternoon was also lovely

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambiance Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, beautiful views. Quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they excellent greeting when we arrived....most revealing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place. Great staff with attention to detail.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi quality. Interior decoration of the rooms

    Excellent food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transport to the cable car free of charge was something we had not expected and appreciated very much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an incredible time in Kandersteg. The food, the room and the spa were superb!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gipfelis were a bit hard at breakfast????

    Lovelly spa and indoor pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Excellent food and very comfortable. Beautiful setting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything about this hotel is amazing! The spa is out of this world.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Menus in english!

    Te dining room staff were great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ambiance Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff and pool/sauna areas

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got an upgrade which is always nice. All the staff were fantastic and made us feel very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - We ask a one bed, but got 2 splited bed - Spa closed before 10

    - The herbs Spa - Welcome drink - Tea-room - Style - Chalet like - Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ambiance Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good level family hotel, with cosy atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambiance Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Strange bedroom with the WC alongside the bed! No air-conditioning but understandable given location.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambiance Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive stay Inexperienced and slow bar service

    The local charm Warm welcome Quiet off - road location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambiance Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is excelent, the location and the facilities of the hotel are truly perfect!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Cooking odors in the hallways, motion activated night lights a bit of a pain, no towels in spa area

    Renovated spa and swimming pool, great breakfast buffet, fantastic location

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't think the extra money for a junior suite was really worth paying, since the extra space turned out to be mainly in the internal attic with its single bed, which is only of any use if there is a third guest.

    Really nice food at dinner and breakfast. Fantastic spa area with indoor/outdoor pool, great steam bath, three different types of sauna and other cool stuff!

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No complimentary tea/coffee in the room

    Thanks for the free upgrade, beautiful surroundings, tasty desserts during tea hour, spacious rooms and toilets

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I couldn't fault anything.

    The warmth and welcome from the staff. The spa facilities and dining facilities are excellent.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent wellness area, top notch food, very clean and well sized room, good Wifi, very nice setting in a beautiful environment

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff Perfect nature Wonderful views

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: