Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Walhalla 4 stars

Bahnhofplatz, 9001 St. Gallen, Switzerland

#18 of 26 hotels in St. Gallen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2101 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk staff could use a little more smile to make their guests feel welcomed. The hotel needs updated: it's a trip back to the 70s/80s.

    Couldn't ask for a better location as it is right across the street from the main train station. Rooms are very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Good location for walking to all the sights in town. The bahnhof was across the street but the noise was not noticeable in the room. Good restaurants within walking distance. We found a great Greek restaurant - Taverna El Greco.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and amenities were very basic and the decor in the room left a great deal to be desired. The bathroom was dark and gloomy. The tiles were what I can only describe as 1970s orange and the lighting was very poor. The shower was positioned in a kind of alcove which made it difficult to shower without adopting a backward lean which was difficult to sustain for the time it took to shampoo and condition my hair under the meagre trickle of water. I think a refurb is long overdue.

    The location was great - close to the train station and within walking distance of all local sights. The staff were friendly and helpful and luckily spoke excellent English.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really to say, It was just a basic hotel. Low price, easy location and clean rooms

    I needed a one night stay in St. Gallen that was conveniently located by the train station. The hotel is super simple, but that's all you need for a one night stay. The hotel was clean and easy to reach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel restaurant doesn’t open in the evening

    The hotel is situated just next to the train station. Very convenient to get food even on public holiday. The room is comfortable for short stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The adjacent bar closes at 22:00 during the week, and the bar tender doesn’t like to take orders after 21:40ish

    Got a nice room; not sure if all rooms are nice but 402 was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    Great breakfast buffet. Best bacon I've had in my life. Best pillows in Switzerland. Best coffee maker in the room. Maybe it was a Nespresso VertuoLine. The coffee cartridges were similar, but I cannot promise they were VertuoLine. The hotel was within easy walking distance of the train station. I do recommend the Hotel Walhalla in St. Gallen, Switzerland.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A basic property......no kettle - what about tea drinkers? A couple of coffee pods - really ? No wine glasses or cups.... Wifi was intermittant.

    Excellent location.....and spotlessly clean...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None of the basic stuff were in the room. I had to ask for them one by one. Robe,slippers, body lotion, tea. No paper or pen in the info pack in the room. All these should hv been in the room. I am an experienced traveller & know the ropes.For inexperienced travellers,it may be difficult to ask. Is this a deliberate economy drive of some kind?! The guests shouldn’t hv to ask for the basic things that should be in their rooms in the first place. WiFi password &mobility pass weren’t given automatically either & I had to ask for them as well. Poor lighting, out of the three bulbs on the ceiling only one was working. My Room was not cleaned after the departure of the last guest, dirty tissues and bits of paper were Under furniture?! These things matter. Sort it out and you will be a good 4 star hotel.

    Location. Spacious room. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They don't give water bottles in the room. You have to buy your own in the supermarket.

    The location was perfect! Right across the train station and right in the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast would've been better. They were serving the colored Easter Eggs for a week and it tasted old and awful. For health reasons, they should've thrown them away at least a day after Easter. I left Thursday (4 days) and they were still served. The shower head was broken. The hotel has to provide a rubber sticky mat in the tub to avoid slippage.

    The location which was across the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Certainly not a four star hotel. Breakfast was terrible, dry bread, crust on the cheese and bad coffee. No utilities in the room (if you want a robe you must ask for it, only one multipurpose soap in the bathroom, no real shampoo/conditioner, and the hairdryer seems to be older than me, only works for about 1 minute at the time), and if you want room service, the charge is 45chf, which is more than any item on the menu! All this would be okay for a cheap budget hostel, but not for a hotel that claims to be 4 stars. Good location though.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee machine in our room (despite the ad said every room is equipped with a Nespresso machine 😞), they had a coffee/tea facility at the 1st floor with cold water for tea, and unplugged coffee machine. Bathroom was fine, a bit outdated for a 4* hotel.

    Location was great, near the train station and bus station, the old city centre was at 5 min walk, many shops everywhere. Breakfast was great and the lady taking care of our breakfast was very kind! Room was spacious, with a beautiful view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have stayed here before and enjoyed dinner in the restaurant so were disappointed to find it shut on a Saturday evening as there's nothing on the website to says it's shut at the weekend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed not up against a wall so one of you had to climb over the other.

    It was fine for an overnight stay, double room with queen bed but one person had to climb over you to get in and out....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Mess after cleaning. A cleaning personal put my wet blouse on an expensive another blouse. Another day my toothbrush was in the basin. Someone put handkerchiefs on my pullover. I always felt hostility from the cleaning personnel. Is it a good hotel if you cannot trust its personnel? This is my first so terrible experience in Switzerland over two years. Never again in this hotel! Definetely, I do not recommend it.

    location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Was a bit disappointed that there was no ability to make tea in the room, even though it says in the description

    -Very close to the station -Even though it‘s close to the rails, the room is extremely quiet -The furniture is kinda old, but with the new carpet and bathroom it looks very good -The bed was SO comfortable, best sleep I‘ve ever had -Breakfast is amazing (continental)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very close to the railway station. A hotel room with all necessary amenities and basic equipment. Clean. Nice staff. We could come in before an officially check in time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked the room through booking.com and had a booking confirmation. When I arrived, they were overbooked. Only after a long discussion they finally arranged a room.

    Room was good. Close to the train station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I have to mention is that the towels supplied in the room this time were toooooo hard which made me a little bit uncomfortable.

    I've been in this hotel for several times. The super good location, good breakfast and very friendly staffs are all the reasons pushing me back again and again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old-fashioned interiors Windows overlook busy street and bus station

    Centrally located Good breakfast (for Swiss standards) Spacious room Ironing room on 6th floor

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I once again nearly missed my train due to a long queue at check-out. Furthermore the interior of the rooms I've stayed so far is somewhat dated (although still in good shape) and not quite up to what I would expect from a 4* hotel in Switzerland.

    My default choice in St. Gallen. It's centrally located next to the train station. The rooms facing the inner yard are very quiet and are equipped with a comfortable bed and a nespresso machine. The housekeeping staff is truly awesome. Not only are the rooms always super clean, the staff is also rather attentive. Room rates are sometimes very attractive for what this hotel provides.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head could not be used properly as it kept sliding down. Overall feeling of a 3 stars rather than 4 Staff did not inform that i could have a free bus pass for the lenght of my stay

    Next to the train station, convenient, price was ok

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a room that shared a door with another, I could hear everything happening in the other other room... also, my magnetic key rarely worked, one evening I even went down 3 times until it worked (the front desk clerk did not find t necessary to apologies or smile...)

    Amazing location, good price for switzerland. They give you a bus travel pass (which you pay for through the tourist tax...). Front desk staff in the morning was helpful correcting my error of putting 2 people on the resvervation and reimbursing the extra tourist tax of chf 12 for 3 nights.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That's definitely not a Four-stars hotel! Someone shall withdraw the star and not confuse the people. They shall definitely renovate their rooms. It's getting used and old. The windows can be better isolated, all the noise at the trainstation and the trams and drank people at the trainstation - you could hear everything in your room.

    Quick check out and check in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a very convenient location as it is just a few minutes on foot to either the railway station or the old town. Spacious and comfortable room. Generous breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was expecting much more for a 4 stars hotel.breakfast expensive. I strongly suggest to provide at least a bottle of water in the rooms.

    Close to train and bus station. Clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best fruit yoghurt mix I've eaten at breakfast, all in all great value compared to the price! The hotel is very close to the train station, yet rooms are nice and quiet. There's a store right on the opposite side of the road too. Would definitely recommend if you're here for a short stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a single bottle of water in the room. Only one glass in the room of my parents, I mean at least two glass for two pax. Very modest breakfast with the cheapest cheese

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hi quality matress, big room. Clean bathroom. Coffee inside the room. Not booking with breakfast option, the staff still helped me fill hot water in my thermos from the breakfast area. Free apples and drinks. With coffee and and an apple you get for free, you get a free breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise coming from the street disturbed my sleep. The bathroom would need updating. It was clean and large but would just need an update.

    Proximity to the trainstation and old town. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somewhat tricky to get there by car, given all the one-way and bus-only streets near the train station.

    Good location right in front of the railway station, excellent value for money. Room was fairly big for St. Gallen standards, good bathroom. They also had an escalator that takes you right to your room level.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to iron my shirt for the job interview I had the following day. The ironing room was not very appealing... a bit like standing in a closet.

    I had to work in my hotel room the entire day upon arrival and I truly enjoyed the atmosphere and my workspace in the room. Great place to stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No chsractrr to the property.

    Convenient down town location near the train station, buses, shopping and restaurants. I liked the large windows to let in air.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really close to the train station and public transportation. The room was big, clean and comfortable. The cost/benefit was very good: the cheapest option on booking.com at the time, turn out to be a really good hotel. Close to restaurantes and a short walk to the old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have provide more drinking cup for the coffee machine, only 1 was available at the time. Luckily only one of us drink coffee.

    Good and quiet room with all facilities traveller would want.. 5 stars from me!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They should put a fan in the bathroom because the shower was already starting to get black in between some of the tiles.

    Very close to the train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a bit of a facelift - the lobby is quite drab and not very inviting. The towels in our room had seen better days. The only "toiletries" in the bathroom/shower/toilet was a 3-in-1 hand, body, face wash. No body lotion, shower cap, laundry bag or vanity kit. You expect these at a four star hotel. We drank our coffee out of paper cups. No tea in the room. Drawback would be the dorma roof - if you are tall you have to bend over to get to the bed or sit at the table otherwise you bang your head! You'll only bang it once though!!

    The hotel is very close to the railway station and in a good location for exploring St. Gallen. We stayed for 4 nights in the suite/family room on the 6th floor which was quite spacious. The toilet was separate from the bathroom which was a nice bonus. The bed was very comfortable. Duvets and pillows very cosy. Breakfasts were very good - ample food to choose from. The Nespresso machine in the room worked very well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very rude and not friendly, the bed was tiny, I had to pay an extra 20 ch for a normal double bed. The entrance of the hotel was dark and to top up the darkness, the staff was not friendly and rude. Walhalla hotel is certainly not a 4 stars hotel standards! Not sure who give them those stars.... the table has a scratch, the room had only one glass for two guests, had a plastic toilette sit, this is not a 4 stars standards! I will give Walhalla hotel 2 stars MAX.

    I liked nothing (apart the comfortable mattress)! The staff at the reception were rude, the bed in a room was tiny and I had to add 20 CH to get a normal size bed, and table deteriorated. bathroom has a plastic toilet sit, and only one glass for two guest.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to criticise.

    Five minute walk from the station, and easy walk into main part of town. Close to supermarkets. Friendly and helpful reception staff. Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a Deluxe Queen for 2 persons and were shocked to see a bed that was only 130cm wide pushed up against the wall. Read the fine print about bed sizes! Other friends, over 80 years old, who were also staying at the hotel were greeted with the same surprise. Misleading....

    The location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy night... not due to guests. The ventilation, the noise from outdoors. But most of all "banging noises" indoors (possibliy lift ? or late working to prepare for a convetion - tables and chairs being moved around?)... I called reception at 11 pm and asked about it. The receptionist said he would come and see... no-one turned up although I got dressed again and waited...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was really nice however the furniture and decor is very dated and the wifi keep dropping off. I would stay here again.

    The location was really great. Next to the station and just a short walk to the town centre. The breakfast buffet was nice and the staff were really nice. The room was very comfortable. I really liked the coffee machine and the small fridge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not easy. Hotel owned parking slots are expensive.

    Hotel is near to main railway station and the old town. Breakfast very good. Room clean and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist Was very unfriendly, rude and unhelpful. The bed in our room was against the wall in the corner which is very unpleasant and not to be expected from a 4* hotel. Overall the hotel didn't live up to a four star hotel standard. The hotel parking is rather expensive (25 CHF for one night)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no air-conditionning. Noise from the street.

    Good location near railway station, short way to visit Sankt Gallen old town. Varied breakfast. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was somehow cold. Bathroom was in the same space with room but not well done. Sink useless, not possible to was face over it unless you don't want to get all wet. White night curtains didn't protect from the sun in the morning, room was too bright. Breakfast was various but some food was not at all tasty, like eggs and juice for example. One receptionist girl was kind of wierd, not very professional indeed. Talking to me first in German, then in English, after in Swiss German and asking me to repeat what I said etc. She was not professional not only with me but other guests had difficulties to communicate with her. I must say that I expected in Switzerland the best service and the best food, what this hotel didn't provide.

    Big room, in front of train station, modern and fair price. Funny enterior, good bed and coffee mashine in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel has good location nearby railway station. We are very happy to find electric fan in our room. Room is good and clean. 1st floor has a restaurant. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fan that they provided could not keep up with the heat - especially after showers. Our son's room faced the street and was very noisy due to construction.

    Clean rooms and modern furnishings. We really appreciated the bar fridge for keeping our drinks cool. The breakfast was good. The old part of the city, cafes, grocery stores, and transportation were all within easy walking distance. Our room faced the court yard. It was very quiet with a nice view of city rooftops and surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the stuff in the afternoon which gets a bit disappointed because they look like they are bit grumpy.

    I have choose the hotel because the morning stuff was super helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sheets could have bee better quality.

    Well located, comfortable. Very helpful staff, great breakfast. Easy walk from St Gallen's wonderful Old Town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located directly next to the train station, it was a very good place for our short-time stay in St. Gallen. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got an upgrade and was offered a better, so called designer's room, which I liked, but the design of the room turned out to be rather bizarre, to say the least. It is that the bathroom was not separated from the room, so you had a tranparent shower and a virtually open loo in a rusticalstyle... Oh my! The gustibus non disputandum est but we live in the XXI century, don't we? Breakfast disappointing.

    Located a few steps from the train station, in front of a mini supermarket and 10 minutes' walk from the city centre, who could ask for more? My room was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arriving at the hotel, we drove in the yards for parking, but due to the narrow space and disorder parking, it is hard to park my car on place, we have to give up to park inside the hotel. I prefer to checking first and give a room to my parents for an early rest(about 18:00 already). Unfortunately, I was asked to check in after driving my car outside the hotel, immediately, no matter how I explained to the receptionist. Then entering the room, I found the room so crowded with an extra bed, so I asked the receptionist whether it a deluxe room I booked, I was told that it is because I booked in a cheapest price! I am wondering why I could not enjoy the bonus from Booking.com. Is it a sales stunt? At 20:30, I wanted one more pillow(only two pillows for our three in the room), I found that nobody at the reception at all, even I called the number 888 at reception, which meant anyone could enter the hotel if he wanted. At first openning, the water of the shower splashed everywhere, and two towels of different size and poor quality in the bathroom! I doubt how it could be granted for 4 stars, with such poor service!

    people outside the hotel are friendly. Outside of the hotel, there are some parking place free of charge for weekend, supermarket and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very special, there was only a shower cubical in the room and next to it the toilet in the corner, there was a kind of a cow shed door behind which the toilet was. The sink was not very practical. There are aparently only a few rooms in the hotel which are set up this way.

    Close to the trainstation and next to the old town, breakfast offerred a big variety

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel signage directs travelers to an old entrance and should be revised. While there a blocked drain line made our room unusable for 8 hours and we were offered no compensation for the problem

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was pretty old and not properly renovated. The pictures in booking were a bit miss-leading. I think the pictures corresponded to some well-renovated rooms. Mine was not. The fridge had a horrible smell of not having been used (nor ventilated) in ages. The bathroom was really well below my expectations. Very old, and the shower was leaking water all around. I really don't think this is the quality expected from a 4-star hotel. It was way more like an average 3-star. The parking was absolutely awful. They gave us a parking slot (H7) right above the kitchen vents. We even asked if it was safe to park our car there, as the car was partly on the ground, partly on the vent.

    The best thing about this hotel was the breakfast was very good, specially the "salty" part of it. There was a fair amount of choices and the quality was very good. Maybe I missed some more sweet options (only croissants were available), but is was fairly good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was a bit sketchy

    We had breakfast daily and it was a good buffet selection. The location was good only a two minute walk from the train and similar time to town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smell a bit like an old smoking room. There were not many shampoo & gel products.

    Staff is supernice and helpfull. The hotel is right in front of the station and 5min walking from the center. Breakfast was excellent with lots of food and drinks.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good hotel for the price but the hotel is more like a three star than a four. The rooms on the side of the station are terribly noisy (window closed) with a lot of noise from people making parties on leaving the train late at night. Lunch is more than average as well as the desk team.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The housekeeping service always forget to do some kind of the refilling.

    The location is perfect, just opposite to the train station. The facility is good, the room space is enough for individual traveler, and the wifi speed is great. The breakfast is western style with fairly rich choices, but the coffee there is not quite impressive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I arrived in the middle of a spring snow storm so was pleased I had chosen this hotel as I only had to walk across the street from the train station. I was upgraded (many thanks ) and got a large room with Swiss theme that was quite unique. The Hotel enjoys a great location within easy walking distance of the Cathedral and all other main attractions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The interior looks dated and is rather underwhelming for a Swiss 4* Hotel. The breakfast is ok, although not as superb as at nearby Hotel Metropol. While the staff is normally highly efficient, check-out was very slow this time.

    Very conveniently located right next to the train station, this is one of my frequent choices while being in St. Gallen. The Comfort Single rooms are larger and more comfortable than the rooms at nearby Hotel Metropol. Also, those rooms are facing the inner yard and are therefore rather quiet. Housekeeping does a marvelous job - rooms are always spotless.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing for me

    Right outside St Gallen station it's a tidy hotel with friendly staff, nice cosy rooms with excellent showers, I always get a rear side room as its silent. Breakfast is fine as well. 6th time here!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very warm despite the window being open and the fan they provided being on.

    The location is near the station which was what we needed but it also was a little shady with some drunks around. The short walk to the old town though was great and the buildings there beautiful. The staff in the hotel were fantastic, so friendly and helpful, we dropped our bags off early in the day and went out to explore and nothing was too much trouble for the front desk staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel's interior looks rather dated and is somewhat underwhelming when compared to other Swiss 4* hotels. Worst was the Wi-Fi which was so extremely slow that it was basically unusable. The breakfast staff could be a bit more cheerful.

    Great location just opposite the train station. The hotel has well-sized, comfortable rooms that are spotlessly clean. The front-desk staff is very efficient. The room rates are often rather attractive.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is excellent! Close to the railway station. They offer a parking lot for an surcharge of CHF 25.00 / day. The old town (Klosterviertel) is just around the corner. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pre authorisation of my card is an ongoing issue, there are 2 charges held against my card for the same booking which I am still trying to resolve.

    Breakfast was excellent and room was excellent, very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi -- for some reason my computer could not see it, only the phone did. Connection is relatively slow, but workable.

    Location. Also the friendliness of staff. Very good beds.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    little dusty in some areas of the room but no big deal

    great value for money hotel, spacious room with very comfortable bed and a nice nespresso machine

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor breakfast. If I was to stay 8 days at this hotel, I would've eaten the same breakfast every single morning. Scary! Although, scrambled eggs and bacon were prepared fresh, in front of your eyes. The breakfast area needs some upgrade. Only some of the staff speaks English. The tone of (some of) the staff voice is high. A more friendlier approach would be be welcome. They expect you to speak German. The buffet lady wasn't speaking English at all. Wi-Fi is not that great. Hotel interior looks cheap, almost design less. The room was way too warm and there was no way to put the heat down. There is a standing fan (with a remote control) in the rooms for the summer time. :) In some of the rooms (not the ones facing the mountain) there is noise coming from outside (all the way to the 5h floor), from the people that go party on Friday and Saturday night. Two tiny elevators. Not a 4* hotel. Better look for something else.

    The room upgrade that I've asked for was, somehow, what I've expected to get for the money that I've paid. The first room was a 2* hotel room. There is a Nespresso coffee machine in rooms. Location is good. Very close to the train station and the city center. Some rooms have a nice mountain view.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed/mattress soft (medium/firm is a personal preference...), shower shows wear & tear of the room (however still comfy and clean)

    Central location (opposite the main station), large room, value for money, Swiss-standard breakfast selection (enough to start the day)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing once we were there, but the hotel was not easy to find because we didn't see the hotel name from a distance at all and really had to go inside & ask if it was the correct hotel. Would be good if there were instructions of how to drive up to hotel, it was very confusing with the one way system.

    Large, clean, nice rooms. Was good to have a coffee machine in the room. Breakfast was very good, staff in restaurant & reception were very polite & friendly. Free wifi & a safe garage for reasonable fee. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses are worn out. Breakfast was only OK for this level hotel. Lack of attention to details apparent at breakfast. Horrible coffee.

    Rooms have nice design accents even if older. Front desk staff was friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior of hotel is somewhat outdated. It is partially refurbished but the general feel of interior is cold. The breakfast is equivalent to standard of 3-star hotel.

    The location is perfect, near to city centre. Staff is mostly friendly. Bed was comfortable and the room clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: