Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Walhalla Hotel 3 stars

Limmatstrasse 5, City Centre, 8005 Zürich, Switzerland

#60 of 121 hotels in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1294 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay. Would definitely comeback again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet was very dusty on the fourth floor

    Excellent view from the windows. Great breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. Superb location - close to hbf and central

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Alright
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge bar in the room.

    Just alright although in my opinion it was still expensive. Maybe because of the July peak season. Close to the main train station. Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Loved this hotel, would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c...

    5-minute walk to train station. Very nice hotel, clean and renovated. Very well priced for weekend stays. The staff was extremely helpful. Fantastic breakfast which includes both scrambled eggs and fried eggs. Amazing chocolate chip cookies! They serve coffee free of charge in the lobby as well as candies and lemon water. The room and bathroom were clean and modern.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    We were very pleased with the Walhalla and would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are not air-conditioned but are equipped with circulating fans. So we were comfortable, even in July when daytime temperatures were in the 80s.

    Comfortable room with a roomy, well-equipped bathroom and a good breakfast. Excellent location next to the train station and public transportation, near the old town and an easy walk or tram ride to the lake.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, really close to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was confusion on booking. I booked a room for 2 adults and 2 children. The room was too small and we had to pay extra for a sofa bed. There was a mixup with the ages of the kids. They were able to accomodate us but should make sure you confirm ages of kids and room size on booking.

    Great location, really close to train station. Nice modern room and comfortable beds. Great buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location & Comfortable Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception is rood & not welcoming at the time of check in. They should be more customer friendly. Also I enquired about some information at reception, the person give me incorrect and false information.

    Perfect location & Comfortable Rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great. Location for us was fantastic as we arrived by train and left by train and it is only a few mins walk from Zurich BH Breakfast also got a great green tick from us. It was fresh with great range.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit polite reply by the breakfast staff ( male) would have done a lot of good. My wife requested for a well done omelette- this was done but with a remark that this request would not be acceded to next time. This was a bit shocker.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel in Zürich!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting time for the lift was very long. But considering the building, it is great to have one especially when you were assigned a room on 5th floor. Everything was good.

    The staff was very polite and willing to help out. I was traveling with a cooler and in need of my ice pack to be frozen. I asked the staff and they were able to put it in the freezer overnight. The bathroom was small but it was very clean and nice. The room was clean and quiet. The location of the hotel is very close to the main station. About 5 minutes walk. I had a pleasant stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.0
    Location next to the station is great, and staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The airconditioning was not working well, and was very noisy so we had to turn it off during the night despite the summer heat. Breakfast was also not that great.

    Location next to the station is great, and staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Walhalla Hotel is conveniently located right next to Zurich...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Walhalla Hotel is conveniently located right next to Zurich HB station. The location can't be any perfect! Our room was on the 4th level and facing the stream. We had a very good view from the room! The room was very spacious and clean. The best part was that we had an option to give up room service during the stay as a part of 'go-green' initiative. Breakfast was very good and there was good variety. Our overall stay was very pleasant and we would certainly recommend this to anyone who is planning to visit Zurich!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Good quality/price ratio. The room was modern and clean and the breakfast on the terrasse amazing!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning...

    The location is very convenient, 2 minute walk from the Zurich main train station and 5 minutes from the Old Town Area. There is also a grocery store (COOP) nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    The property is well maintained and clean plus the staff are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is well maintained and clean plus the staff are very pleasant. The breakfast is good and the location is great. On the downside, there is no airconditioning in the rooms, so when you open the windows to cool the room then is becomes quite noisy as it is a very active area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    convenient overnight stop-over in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bedroom overlooked a busy road, so noisy when we opened the window. To be expected in that location. Not very spacious, but still ok.

    Super breakfast, great location , very near the railway station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t air conditioning in the room. We left the window open, but there was loud music that was disruptive almost all night both nights were were there. Also the beds were very hard.

    We chose the hotel because it was located steps from the train station and across the street from where our all-day tour began. The room was spacious and very modern with a balcony. Food prices in Zurich were very expensive and we appreciated that breakfast was included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed with wifi, everything else fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi couldn't have been more terrible. Rating hotel lower for this alone.

    Room was decent size, breakfast was great. Right across from train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect central location and high quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not tell anything

    Very helpful and kind servicing staff. Immaculate cleanness and comfort at a very central location. The main train station is minutes away by foot and trams stop at the door. The breakfast buffet is included and has great vatiety and good quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Fridge in the room. We were woken by the cleaning staff at 6.50 am by mistake as they got the wrong room.

    If you go to breakfast about 7.30 - 8am some products for example cake and smoked salmon were not topped up.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Very near the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    Very close to the train station. Walking distance to the Old Town. Friendly hotel staff. We weren't able to avail of the free breakfast because we had an early train ride but they provided us with packed breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Very close the the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The toilet flush got stuck as soon as I pressed it. - The sink stopper wouldn't pop back up no matter what we did. - A little noisy

    Very close the the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very helpful. I was down with stomach flu the day I arrived, hence not having the appetite for breakfast the following day. My family proceeded to head down for breakfast and to my surprise they came back up with a bag of food! The staff was understanding and kind enough after hearing that I was unwell, to allow them to take away some food for me to have it later on. Overall, we had a pleasant stay at Walhalla Hotel, great location too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    This hotel was easy to find, suited our purpose, only the noise from outside disappointed us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dependant on which room you are allocated, external noise is either loud or cannot be heard at all.

    Comfortable beds, good breakfast. Very convenient for railway station and walking distance from city centre, river and lake.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    People at the reception are really helpful and decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't find at night any close by place to hang out in.

    People at the reception are really helpful and decent. Less than 5 mins away from Zurich main station. 10 to 15 mins away from the old town. Next time to be there. And I had a fantastic room this time (502).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    You cannot beat the convenience for train travel or bus tours!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cannot think of a thing to dislike.

    The Walhalla was perfect for our purposes, and we would definitely stay here again if we return to Zurich. It is one block (technically 2 very short blocks) from Zurich HB, the main train station for both local and long distance trains. There is a station entrance/exit even closer, just around the corner. Be aware that is a basic street entrance with stairs only which could be a challenge if you have large heavy bags. In that case you might prefer to use an escalator inside before exiting the station. Take the Sihlquai exit. The Walhalla is also immediately across the street from the main, and only, tour bus terminal. From the front door of Walhalla we walked about 15 meters, straight across the street, to the check in kiosk for our tour and about 25 meters to the bus itself. Believe me, this was especially wonderful when we returned at 8pm, exhausted after a 12-hour tour! The Walhalla is also conveniently located for exploring the old town area on foot. The room was immaculate and spacious. The bathroom was very nice, downright huge compared to other hotels at which we have stayed in Europe. A dispenser in the shower has hair/body wash. My wife, who usually prefers her own, even used it. The entire hotel is non-smoking, but there is a Starbucks next door with outside seating. Our rate included breakfast. There is a coffee machine that makes a fresh cup of coffee of your choice (if you like hot milk in your coffee choose the Milchcaffe button), a couple of juices, milk, cereal, eggs scrambled, sunny side up in little frying pans, and boiled, 2-3 meats, breads, yogurt, fruit, etc. Oh, and there is a Nespresso machine in the lobby where you can have coffee any time, even if you are like me and have the frustrating habit of often awakening at 4 am. The lobby is not huge, but there are several little tables to work or just have a coffee as well as some chairs just for sitting. The staff could not be nicer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Staff was very nice and helpful - you felt really welcome in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    soundproof - you could hear guests from other rooms

    Staff was very nice and helpful - you felt really welcome in the hotel. Excellent location - next to the main railway station. Room was clean and well equipped, wifi super fast. Breakfast was very rich. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.4
    Not pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced. No restaurant. We are supposed to check in at 2, but we were checked in only at 330 pm. During check out, there is too much confusion and they want us to pay 400+ chf eventhough i have already paid. Very poor service for an expensive property. I wonder if thats the swiss standard

    Its good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding breakfast, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Old and shabby looking room.

    Excellent location, the heart of the city. The tramstop of 3 trams could be found right at the door of the hotel. You dont need taxi to the airport. At the main train station you can get on tram 10 to the airport. Outstanding, rich breakfast. Very small bathroom, but the toilet was in a separate place, so it was good. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.7
    Convenient, clean with comfortable beds and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small for price and had a very awkward layout, even though it had been refurbished the layout didn’t work. Also floors squeeked so when other guests walked past the room you could hear them clearly. For the price this was below standard. Lift was also awkward. Checkin staff were helpful but they could of supplied better tourists information, for example how to find things. The overall friendliness vibe of Zurich in general (not the hotel staff) is a bit aloof to tourists I suggest that the tourism body addresses this.

    Perfect location 6 mins walk from station. Bed, pillows and doona super comfortable. Breakfast very good. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    Location is near of Main station and Bus station!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they don't accepted US$ in night and accept in the morning! I offer to give my Euro for deposit and back in the morning and they don't accepted! bathroom is not clean and a lot of hairs in shower!!!

    Location is near of Main station and Bus station!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent staff and location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Near the station. Very, very attentive staff who provided wine glasses and crockery in our room. Very much appreciated:) Big room with balcony.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    The location of this hotel almost makes it worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room No fridge Ice machine didn't work Overpriced

    Super comfy bed Modern bathroom, very clean 10/10 Location Friendly staff Great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.8
    The bed is very comfortable, the room is very clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant for the breakfast have limited table. We waited a while for the table coz very crowded in the morning.

    The bed is very comfortable, the room is very clean,fantastic location. We love the coffee machine in the room. Everything is so nice and comfortable. It value for it price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Very satisfactory. Would like to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately there was a slight problem with the bathroom; Zurich was experiencing extremely cold weather (and even snow overnight) whilst we were there. The only heating in the bathroom is provided by the heated towel rail, which has to be switched on and I think must go off automatically after a while. This particular bathroom has a french window and balcony, which meant that the bathroom floor was very cold, too!! However, when we called reception they immediately arranged for a small puffer heater to be provided, which at least warmed the air. Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Great little location, value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little stuffy in room.

    Location is excellent for traveling in & out of the train station. Also just a 10 minute walk from the restaurants in Zurich old town. We had 2 rooms booked - a double and a triple. Rooms were adequate size, bathrooms clean, beds comfortable and a good selection for breakfast, staff very good. Have stayed here twice, would definitely stay again. Good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.5
    great position, very comfortable bed, nice bathroom even if...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not really clean carpet everywhere, take it off will increase quality, price does not respect quality as nearly everywhere in swiss

    great position, very comfortable bed, nice bathroom even if small, nice and welcoming people at front desk

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    Overall, we really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is a bit pricey but this could be due to the expensive nature of cost of living in Switzerland.

    The staff was very helpful packing our take away breakfast early as we needed to leave early in the morning. Very friendly and good service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Bed was very comfy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, it is an old townhouse and so is the layout with all the charm, but also disadvantages.

    Bed was very comfy. Great room design. Proactive staff prepared a breakfast bag for my early morning train trip.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    3.8
    The service and employees are not well-mannered, especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service and employees are not well-mannered, especially the manager. Staying in this hotel was the decision I regretted the most in my whole trip to Europe!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    Was a very pleasant stay. I would recommend the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money, I'm used to larger and more luxurious rooms, but maybe this is normal for Zurich which i found to be an expensive city.

    The location was great. The self serve coffe in lobby was nice. The breakfast was tasty, fresh and plenty of options. Room was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Strategic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For you that quite sensitive of sound, tram passing sound is pass through to the room. But for me personaly no issue at all

    Very nice place for you looking for clean and strategic place. Just in front of flixbus parking, or central car parking, or zurich train station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    Hotel is located centrally close to the train station and very convenient for short stays in Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The central location near the train station was very helpful for a short stay in Zurich. The hotel is service oriented. The Starbucks on the ground floor was welcome. The breakfast provided was definitely sufficient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    strategic location, there is a tourist information across...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the price is quite expensive

    strategic location, there is a tourist information across the street from the hotel, great breakfast, helpful staff, within walking distance to the city center

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't have anything negative to state about this visit.

    The staff were wonderful and very helpful with directions and advise. They securely held our luggage so that we could explore until our room was available. Free breakfast was delicious and filling, the breakfast room clean. The hotel is walking distance from the train station making it easy to get to. There is a Starbucks right there if that is important to you; we never used it. We would definitely stay here on our next visit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Hotel staff are very accommodating, friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Hands down this is the BEST hotel we have stayed in.

    Hotel staff are very accommodating, friendly and helpful. Location is PERFECT. Close to the Zurich Main Station; so coming in from other European cities (Paris in our case) and going to the airport is a breeze and hassle-free. In addition they also sell at the hotel lobby train tickets which makes going around the city a lot easier. It's also near the bus tour station so there is no need to rush to catch your scheduled tour. The old town and shopping district is a 15 and 10 minute walk away, respectively. Breakfast is very good. Rooms are roomy and are very clean. They also have a tablet available to which you can order food and can be used to surf the internet (which my son loved). Wifi is strong and fast. Overall, my family and I enjoyed our stay and looking forward to coming back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    The location is very near to Zurich HB train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was 3rd time check in within 2 weeks. But the last one check in before flew back to my country ,the staff Tony little bit inconsiderate . The 1st and 2nd time we check in we had a marvellous hospitality from the staff.

    The location is very near to Zurich HB train station. There is tram also in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location and value for money ... highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing to complain about although sometimes at night the room was a bit too hot (one could not open the window for some fresh air as it was freezing outside ).

    The location and the service are very good .... area is excellent with easy reach with the train and coach station just across the road. Clean and tidy with an excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.5
    An excellent location, very clean and tidy room, was ideal for our one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one very thin pillow supplied making for a broken nights sleep, I felt the breakfast was fairly ordinary and a bit lacking in variety.

    Access to train station via underground pass made it very easy in the wet/snowy weather. Room was very clean and tidy, staff very helpful especially as we arrived early and were able to stow our bags till later in the day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.5
    Too expensive but no comparable alternative exists at the moment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was very small. Probably used to be a storage in the past with metal doors opening in a reverse way. The bathroom had the size of a closet. In breakfast there was not sufficient staff, room and food to accommodate all guests.

    Location next to main train station makes commuting from/to Zurich very easy. Interior design of the rooms easily competes 5 star hotels however emphasis has been given on the looks and not the important details.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    Location, 3 minutes walk from the main station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small beds with wheels and extremely soft pillows (although we asked for a tougher one and they gave it to us immediately).

    Location, 3 minutes walk from the main station. Good breakfast. Clean. Tram stop in front of the hotel. Renewed bathrooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    PERFECT CHOICE
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent choice especially if you are a business traveler, because it is located very close to railway station. In a few minutes you are in the old city. Clean room, polite and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Excellent & Easy Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast on the Saturday morning was terrible. I went to breakfast a 9am and all the food was gone I asked for it to be replaced and in 30 mins nothing was done. Breakfast during the week was good as it was properly staffed. Also the pillows need to be hollow fibre and not feather.

    The room was a great size and single bed was extra big. Bathroom was compact but newly renovated and very good. Loved how easy it was to get from the airport to the hotel and then into town. Also Starbucks located next door was a bonus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Would recommend this hotel for quality and also situation as in a short walk from the main line stat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast staff. Absolutely disgusted with the waiter we had on saturday morning - do I need a miserable face for breakfast? No I dont and he needs to be spoken too. Having asked him to clear the table for breakfast when we came in as in 3 people, he just ignored us completely. Second request was ignored as well so we had to clear the table of the used stuff ourselves. Not good and acceptable at all. I did mention this to reception upon checking out and trust something will be done about it. The lady on Sunday morning was a delight.

    bed very comfortable but could do with two pillows as the one we had was very fluffy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    Hotel is in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is in great location. Just few minutes walk from main Train station. We had stayed on the top floor (5) and couldn't hear any noise from outside. The room was good size. We have travelled with 5 years old child and was enough space for all of us. Also, I didn't gave higher rate for comfort as we had to ask to prepare an extra bed for our child however the staff knew that we travelling with child. As I believe this had to be done without asking. Breakfast was good, great variaty and fresh. Just a note that Breakfast Room is small and ensure that you have your table before selecting Breakfast as might need to wait until becomes available. Is very good value for money!!! Knoewing that Switzerland is expensive country to travel. But all the beauty of Luzern and pictures mountains pays back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.7
    Generally a good short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very warm. We had to open our windows and unfortunately had to endure the noise from outside.

    We like the fact that the location is very convenient for us. Easy access to the buses and also a large shopping area at the Zurich HB.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    A comfortable hotel, close to the main train station and city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Pillows, too soft and quite uncomfortable. Recommend to ask for extra pillow to deal with that.

    Breakfast was really good!, Bathroom was large, also liked that I could use the tablet to surf the internet. Room was quiet as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Stayed here for 4 nights with my family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is nothing to say which you will dislike in this hotel

    Stayed here for 4 nights with my family The hotel is very convenient with clean modern rooms, friendly staff, Easily accessible to Bus & Train station Had a very pleasant experience

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel, friendly english speaking staff, which we used as a jump-off point for our train excursi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived by air in the late am and were charged $25.00 for early check in. No big deal and certainly better than a Paris hotel, a few years ago, where we were forced to wait 3 hrs even though we knew the room was ready.

    If you are looking for a nice hotel near the train station, this is it. Literally a few steps away. Breakfast was dooable and the beds, comfortable. That's all you need for a night or two.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Best Location for Overnight to and from the Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of this hotel can't be beat. It was a very easy walk from the train station and we found it to be very quiet. We could walk to a pretty overlook of Zurich, the museum and many restaurants. It was a little more impersonal than some of the private lodgings we stayed in but it fit the bill to stay the night before we caught a plane home. It was a very quick train ride to the airport the next morning. Breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Recommended for those traveling by bus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is not too close to the shopping district (about 15mins walk). For the price of the hotel, i would have expected carpeted rooms.

    Location was very near the Silqhuai bus carpark (30secs walk) where I took a bus to munich after check out. Hotel is 2min walk from Zurich Hbf station Silqhuai exit. It was so close that I walked past it after exiting the train station without realizing it. Spacious bathroom with comparatively smaller room. Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location near to city center , 3 mins walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough space for breakfast. We had to wait for a table ( when you hurry for train it does metter) and staff at the dining room was a little bit nervouse

    Perfect location near to city center , 3 mins walk from railway station . Tablet in the room was great idea. Nice bath set for children.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Good for the budget traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not good unless you're just using the train.

    A decent location for those arriving by train (but still on opposite side of the station), 10-15 minutes walk to the river and old town. Immediate walking area is basic with more fast food or take away options than authentic Swiss eateries. Parking offsite. Staff friendly but not concierge service. Clean room but floors were sticky. Small rooms but efficiently laid out. Wifi worked well

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    The hotel was close to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was close to the train station. It seemed lots of business people stayed in the hotel and busy. The staff was kind and giving great service in the fast-pace situation. The room was quite, although it was faced to the big street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Included breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were on the fifth floor and a structural beam in our room was a concern but neither of us bumped our head or ran into it. The room was spacious otherwise.

    Included breakfast was very good. Good food and good variety. We were provided with a bag breakfast on the last morning of our stay due to catching a 5:45 bus. Very much appreciated. Staff changed our pillows to non allergenic from feather as we requested. Free coffee service in our room plus in lobby was greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice and love it but the bed gonna make me choose another hotel next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfortable at all The elevator was to small and slow

    Good Location just you need to cross the train station to be in the shopping area The staff were amazing and more than friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    Faire value and good location but crowded!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -old building so the wooden floor makes squeaking sounds -breakfast looked good but at 7:30am it was so busy there was nowhere to sit, so I took a croissant and left for work. You need to hit the breakfast room earlier to find sitting.

    +reasonably priced +close to the main train station +nice bathroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in ideal location for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some inaccurate information about event opening hours by reception staff.

    Free WiFi, great breakfast, modern, super clean room. I love it when you can open the windows!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely city and lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was old, but clean.

    Location couldn't have been better as near main train station and trams stop outside the hotel. Staff were fabulous and couldn't do enough for us especially Satira (?), Jessica and Ceu. Free Wi-Fi and tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was really good with lots of choice. Lastly, after we checked out reception held our cases for us until we had to leave for the airport. They also let us sit down in reception and have a cup of tea there before we left. One receptionist even helped us fix one of our cases when the handle stuck! She did a great job. Swiss efficiency! They were such lovely people. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.8
    Nothing like the advertisement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On this world trip we've booked five hotels through Booking.com and were extremely disappointed with two of them. In both cases the advertisement and expectations do not match the reality. This hotel in particular completely missed the advertised mark. Our room with a view (511) was actually a tiny interior room with a skylight! To top it off the blinds on the skylight were broken and it was impossible to close out what little natural light did seep in from 5am. It was supposed to be soundproof but the lift shaft ran right alongside! It really was a shocker and not at all like the blurb on Booking.com. Luckilly we were able to change to a room more in line with our expectations for the second night but really resent the fact it was necessary to complain at all. We expect to get what we paid for and would be very loath to use your booking agency in the future.

    The hotel is conveniently located next to the main station in Zurich. The staff responded to our complaint and moved us to a better room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    A royal or even epic stay at Ragnar Lodbrok's place :=)
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Pillows are uncomfortable. The first few days of our visit were considerably warm. The air conditioner (I had better not tell the brand name) was of no use, because we preferred to bear the heat than the terrible noise it makes. Thank God, it rained, and the pain did not last long.

    The staff was just great! Always friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious, rich, and fulfilling. The location was the best! There is a stop just in front of the hotel, and the hotel building is almost visible from the main station. Don't worry, you can sleep without any disturbance from the street. The name of the hotel is well-deserved: a place of glory, honour, and happiness.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant, comfortable and in just the right location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of carpet on room floor (minor point)

    Central location for railway station which is what I wanted. The staff were helpful and booking in and out was smooth

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Would stay there any time again and with family.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to climate change, rooms need to adapt for warmer weather.

    The closest proximity to main train station, bus station, tram station, main shopping areas and cultural tourist sites are the biggest advantage of this hotel. Of course, the hotel staff are very friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Best breakfast at a hotel, I've had in a while.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best breakfast at a hotel, I've had in a while. Very friendly and professional staff. The location is unbeatable, right next to the Zurich main train station, and lots of tramlines as well. Absolutely glad I made the choice to book this place!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    If you're traveling by train look no further, this is the hotel for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swiss and German hotels alike could benefit from a novel technology called air-conditioning.

    Spacious rooms, fluffy croissants, excellent location near Zurich's main train station. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    A good hotel for a short stay in Zürich
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit hot in summer. The breakfast choice is very limited.

    Location, very close to the train station, walking distance to the old town. Staffs are friendly. Room very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.8
    Just adequate
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room and bath room very small. You needed to walk around the furniture. Was not cozy not even comfortable. Location was good , the staff accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Walhalla Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: