Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Walter Au Lac 3 stars

Piazza Rezzonico 7, 6900 Lugano, Switzerland

#27 of 102 hotels in Lugano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1075 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great - right across the street from the lake. It is very clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. It was clean and comfortable and the AC worked great. We liked it so much (at the hotel and in Lugano) ended up staying an extra night. We stayed in the family room - which was great for us (two bedrooms with a bathroom connected by a small vestibule - plenty of space).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to unload bags in front of hotel because of a busy road. Parking for the car was some distance from the hotel. The shower over the bath could be difficult for people with mobility issues.c

    Good coffee. Good location near the lake and the centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and pillows weren’t very comfortable

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Very nice continental breakfast. Really close to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was all good!

    The staff were brilliant, and showed genuine compassion and care following an unexpected family bereavement back home. The flowers were a lovely touch and were most appreciated.. Very considerate and caring. Our room faced the lake and busy promenade, but the double glazed windows stopped ALL the noise. Fantastic! Breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really except that the Room description given on Booking.com was incorrect

    Excellent location. V Good breakfast. Very warm, polite and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms with a lake view are noisy because of the busy road in front. Rooms rather small, but good value for an expensive city in an expensive country.

    Very friendly and multilingual staff at reception, great location right on the lake and steps from the old town. Bus stops and boat landings only a few steps away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel, great location. Wonderful breakfast room with view over the lake, marvelous selection of food. Excellent room with balcony and view. Staff great and most helpful. Cannot wait to return there!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff are helpful but cold. Toilet cum bathroom is small. No hot breakfast.

    Good location, in the centre of the city with good lake view. Restaurant staff are warm & make you feel welcomed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy traffic on the front road but no worries if you didn’t open windows.

    Sylvia on the front desk is absolutely amazing - she could not have been more helpful! She’s a standout from all our travels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terribletraffic Noise ...continous from 05.30 tomidnight.The populär 20 Minutes Paper dispenser belowour windows attracted every carborne Computer from 6 a.m.tostop Grab and Revup !!!!

    Good breakfast in a verypleasant room which early Season very relaxed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matress wasn't that comfortable

    The breathtaking view over the lake from the balcony , the room was clean and has coffee area, and there is nespresso coffee machine in the common area for free for the guests

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room fittings were pretty basic Quite small bathroom

    Perfect location in the city centre Comfortable and elegant furniture in common rooms The breakfast area had a magnificent view to the lake and very attentive personnel Good breakfast selection 24h reception Elevator

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the lake road at night :(( I couldn’t fall asleep. So if you prefer complete silence it could be challenging for you to rest well

    Perfect location, room with a view and on the lake and a small balcony. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Very clean and tidy place!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit too hot (consequently too dry); we just kept window and door open.

    Great location; wonderful view of lake; kind staff; room facility.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast not many choice. what do you expect for 3 star hotel. but is good to me.

    The location is superb! everything just within walking distance. Lake Front! my room is lake view. Staff very helpful even the hotel manager meet me during my breakfast. she is very kind and humble. 3star hotel but you get the best view in lugano. will stay here again in future.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crazy and strange noise in the room throughout the night, the phone in the room does not connect to the reception with the dial “reception” so I had to went downstairs twice in the middle of night to ask for help. The staff failed to solve the issue so I could not sleep for the entire night!!!

    Nice view from the hotel room and restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dated decor and furnishings (bed was extremely soft) in the hotel. Room could easily and inexpensively be refreshed to match the customer service.

    View from the room was amazing! Customer service experience was refreshing and impressive! I needed a hair dryer (the one attached to bathroom wall was not powerful enough) and someone ran it up to our room within minutes of the request and with a smile! Truly a gem of a hotel and management is doing a fine job making sure the customer service experience will bring people back... it will bring us back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very squeaky parquetry floors. Not good when people are sleeping

    Fantastic location. The family suite was large enough and allowed for privacy between parents and children.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    USB port didn’t work & shower in bath a bit awkward.

    Beautiful position.Lovely aspect in the breakfast room overlooking the lake . Clean & simple. No clutter .The staff let us check in early .Which was a relief after a long haul flight from Australia.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive! Not what your thinking when you pay that much!! Tight quarters, bed was extremely hard and just could not get comfortable. Could not reduce heat! Way too warm!

    Outstanding customer service! Receptive, accommodating and amazing!! From entrance, restaurant, housekeeping and support personnel! Wow! Location! View spectacular! Center a block away!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room With Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Excellent for leisure and business, easy access to public transport, train, bus. Many shops around the hotel, good lake view. The receptionist are the best, all of them are very helpful and patience on all our enquiries!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was located in the city center, with direct view of the beautiful lake. Taxi service was quick (couple of minutes from the ordering), Lugano airport was very close to hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk did not provide a Ticino transportation pass for the duration of my stay. The hotel should be initiative offering during check-in, instead of waiting until guests asking it. The breakfast was just average Continental breakfast and limited to cold items. There was no air-condition in the room and the doors/windows were kept open, it was very noisy on the road at night. Therefore, besides winter season, I do not recommend stay at the hotel in the other seasons.

    Comfortable room with good view of the lake. Convenient and great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much hassle for them. Balcony view overlooking the lake was stunning. Room was clean and fresh. Perfect location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money quite honestly and service very professional.

    Lake view unbelievable; the whole team loved it! We had a seminar to give and it was perfectly located in the centre of town!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel with views of the lake. We took the option and paid extra for a balcony overlooking the lake, well worth it. Breakfast was only continental even though it was included in the room rate. Could have paid extra for cooked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only small picky complaint was the hair dryer, which was old with very little blowing air. Took a long time to dry my short hair.

    Our lake view with balcony was lovely. The hotel was conveniently located, friendly and helpful staff, clean and quiet. The breakfast was very adequate. We enjoyed looking at the old photos from the early years.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Twin Room With Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice placed hotel with a friendly and smiling staff. Breakfast nothing special, very basic in fact I bit worn down in some places, but charming, clean and I would stay again if possible

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath,shower very very dangerous!!!bath/shower most dangerous EVER encountered in30 years of international travel...Advised staff it needed urgent modification...please note!!!

    Position ,most of staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the balcony was breathtaking, the whole staff was very friendly with very good English, oh and the bed.... Best sleep I had during my whole trip! Definitely recommend!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Switzerland is expensive. For Asians like us its steep pricing. I spent INR 45000/- for three nights. Rooms are small but we adjusted.

    Location is superb. Bus no 4 take you to the rail station and back.all rooms face the lake.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of street noise but not too bad Shower was a disappointing

    Beautiful view from balcony Close to everything and easy to get too from train station. Value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathtubs were too narrow. The staff should be more knowledgeable on the Swiss pass since a lot of tourist use this to travel within Switzerland.

    The views from the balcony were great and the staff were nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything perfect

    The room had a balcony with one if the most beautiful views I've ever seen with lakes and mountains. The bed comfortable the pillows soft. Bonus jacuzzi on roof top staff wonderful. Perfect stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room With Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite far from the railway station and taxi's cost a fortune.

    All the rooms have a great view of the lake. Breakfast was great and there was even a coffee making machine in the room - which is unusual in Switzerland. Location is in the middle of town. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some drinks on the roof terrace would be nice (even a machine with drinks ok)

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff - room with balcony and fantastic view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Public Parking 250 meters from hotel (approx 20€ / night), No porter for baggage collection / drop off.

    Good breakfast. Good Location. Close to shops.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is terrible! The coffee taste water!!! Bread and croissant not fresh. I asked scrambled egg the first day, they gave it me but the second day the girl told me it's extra 8 euros. Nobody told me that I have to pay extra for that! There was nothing to eat when we arrive the first day! No hot sausages or ham. Fruits juices are the worst! You can taste the juice in can. It's very frustrating when breakfast is the most important! The decoration is old!

    Location!!! That's all the rest nothing special!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Europeans obviously have a higher tolerance for scents and perfumes than the typical North American. The smell of the air freshener when we entered the room was overpowering.

    A world class hotel - location, style, history, luxury.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not told that since we pay city tax, then we can ride a public bus for free

    Everything was perfect. The view from the balcony is magnificent. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel is in a prime position on the lake side at Lugano, but supprisingly amongst the hustle and bustle of this lively town the hotel room was very quiet and peacefull. A good breakfast was served in a pleasant breakfast room, staff were efficient and pleasant so all in all thumbs up! The funicular to the station was close by so no problems lugging cases!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be careful to reserve any other standard rooms because it's not renovated and very small!! only Junior Suite with Lake View .. There is no Parking in the Hotel , you need to park outside in the nearest city parking 5 min walk .. you'll get special price for the parking 25fr maxum for one night. The suit florre fro barket .. and it's very noisy especially if you want to move in the evening time and all your family sleeping.

    We Stayed for two nights with my wife and two kids in the only one in the hotel Junior Suite with Lake View .. The staff was helpful and friendly . it's just in the city center with a lots of restaurants, cafes and shops... the main shopping roar just 2 min walk The suit with two bedrooms queen size beds and two bathrooms one with shower only and the other one with shower and banio .. there is a seating area can convert it to sofa bed .. The suite enough for 6 persons but you need to pay for each persons more fee 22fr for child less than 3 years and 86 fr for any person more than 3 years. The suite comes with big terrace and balcony (one of the most amazing and charming view I stayed in) view of the lake, mountains and the city with 4 sun chairs and a dining table ..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of fresh vegetables and fried eggs at breakfast.

    Best location in Lugano, Very good room, friendly staff. The balcony is amazing, combined the city activities with the lake view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't know that the hotel is not acceible with car in the evening for summer festival. Such information should be shared with hotel guests at the time of reservation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location; just across the road from the lake, close to the funicular that drops you right at the train station, and right next to plenty of shops, restaurants, and cafes. The staff were very helpful and always available. Really enjoyed our time here and would definitely stay again if/when we visit Lugano again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The traditional Swiss breakfast was delicious and a treat after staying in our comfortable and clean room. We had an infant and the crib was set up with nice sheets and a cute bear. They also provided us a baby tub, something I wasn't expecting and very nice to use after many days traveling. Great location on the harbor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was beautiful with a view overlooking Lake Lugano. We had a balcony with a table and chairs. The staff were great as was the food. The hotel had great character. Would definitely recommend this hotel and can't wait to stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower is hard to stand in, because it's so narrow in width and a bit curved at the bottom.

    The BEST location if you want to stay in the center of Lugano and have a beautiful lake view. Loved our room's balcony!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first, they did not give the exact type of room we booked. But we accepted & were find with the room given, unless the AC was not cool enough. After very hard arguing about the AC, finally they upgraded our room with good working AC.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee.

    Superbly central location within easy walking distance of the station: we took excellent day trips out by train and bus. Our 4th floor room which had a magnificent lakeside view from the balcony was beautifully air conditioned in the heat. Excellent food and all amenities one needed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Liked everything.

    We liked everything about this hotel. The location on the lake, right across from a boat terminal, is fantastic. The little balcony with lake view is romantic and lets one participate in the life passing by on the lake promenade. I was traveling with my grandson and would love to come back with my husband. The restaurant attached to the hotel is ok as well. But there is also a small delicatessen right behind the hotel where one can buy delicious fruit, berries and Italian-Swiss specialties (dried beef, ham, cheeses, etc.) as well as a nice Swiss wine to enjoy on the little balcony. The breakfast room is nice and airy with view onto the lake, and the food itself was fine. I would stay at the Walter au Lac again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The first three nights of our stay the airconditioning wasn't working properly. It wasn't just our room - there was a problem with the main unit. The weather was hot. All good once aircon fixed.

    We had a room overlooking Lake Lugano. The views were great and we felt as thought we were part of the waterfront hustle and bustle. The street outside is noisy but the double glazing cuts out most of the noise at night. Lovely bright and airy breakfast room also with lake views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect. Bus stops outside and the lake is 20 metres across the road. Ferry and cruise boats fifty metres away. A series of beautiful shops right behind the hotel. There are free passes to local buses and discounts on other transport. Be sure to ask your concierge or the tourist office for access. This hotel is an older property but has lovely big rooms end a beautiful breakfast room overlooking the lake. Breakfast is very substantial.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all

    Loved everything. All rooms have beautiful lake view and mostly balconies. They are good size and beds are comfortable. Staff were great and friendly. Breakfast was good too. Nice selection of jams and cheeses. Great coffee and they provide plenty of that in the room as you ask. Location was unbeatable in front of the promanade and the lake. In the middle of the busy area with shopping and restaurants. The garage is public and about three blocks away. The rate is high, but you can get a CHF25 voucher from hotel for every time you exit. It's best to leave the car there and walk around or use public transportation. Hotel provides a card for free rides. Hotel is old but well kept. Loved it's charm. When arriving with a car it's okay to park under no stopping sign in front of hotel for loading and unloading.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    close to everything, our balcony can see the lake and the waterfront. Bus to the train station is just outside the hotel. Easy walk to old town and main square. Roof top jacuzzi is top !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room With Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very cramped and the bathroom was small and not modern. I am glad we only stayed there for one night.

    The location of the hotel was excellent. Our room had a fabulous view. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    fairly old hotel needs a bit of renovation. Wifi was not secure either..can log on from anywhere with no password.

    The location and the view from over Lugano Lake

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is not delicious. Room is too small and pillows are too soft.

    The location of the hotel is very excellent, just across the street from the lake. It is very near to many restaurants. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We splurged and had the balcony with the lake view, and it was so worth it! Just fantastic! Breakfast was very good. The breakfast room had an amazing view of the lake and main drag. Easy walking and quick bus service at hotel front door to the train station and the whole city. City squares and restaurants were very convenient. Staff was very helpful. If we are ever back to Lugano, we would definitely stay at the Walter!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    It was a clean and comfortable hotel with a nice lake view. I liked that they have a little office for the guest use, it is very convenient if you need to print something out or browse internet. The front desk lady was very helpful. The breakfast was delicious and generous.We enjoyed our stay there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath tub is very narrow and the bottom shaped like a canoe. We prefer to shower and trying to stand in this tub is a potential danger.

    This is a beautiful hotel with a fabulous lake view. Our room was small, but the view of the lake and small balcony made up for that. There is a lift, and breakfast was included.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was a little dated and the bathroom a little cramped and somewhat shabby

    Fabulous views worth paying for a room at the front with a balcony. The breakfast was good in a lovely dining room overlooking the lake. Comfy bed and room was clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and the breakfast restaurant.

    The location with lake view is incomparable. The breakfast restaurant is with excellent atmosphere. Easy to move around. Hotel is operating over 100 years.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Breakfast is kind of modest.

    - The location is just perfect, by the lake and very closed to the center. I had a room with balcony and lake view. I did enjoy the wonderful time. - Although the room is not as modern as it seems to be on the website (or maybe the Hotel has the modern section, but not my room), it was clean and well equipped. The room for single occupancy is quite small, especially the shower room, however, it was not a problem for me. - The wifi connection was good and stable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrific hotel, just in the center, directly at the sea, great view, great rooms with balcony, 5th floor was super sight over the sea, great stuff, all really great and recommendable We will come back

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carlo. Laura. Lorenzo. All fine hoteliers. Service was excellent. It just couldn't have been better. Viva la Lugano and Hotel Walter!!! Molto grazie!! Bill Smitrovich

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i have suggestion to make the arrangement to accept at least currency like USD side by side other local currency.

    i liked overall arrangement of my stay in the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was really cold with two badly insulated windows and one heater. The receptionist when we arrived was inappropriately dressed for a receptionist and could have been friendlier. Wifi: I couldn't send e-mails from the hotel room.

    The position of the hotel, the breakfast, the staff (with the exception of one!), the room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My single room was small, and I could hear the person next door watching TV late at night.

    Excellent location overlooking the lake at the edge of the historical centre.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel is a bit old and sad, in need of a complete refurb. The door to my bathroom was damaged, the pillows were either far to soft or hard and lumpy and I had to leave the air con on as the room was too warm.

    Gorgeous views overlooking the lake. A lovely old style breakfast room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive, rooms small. Check in staff and front desk staff not helpful or friendly.

    Location was great - views of lake magnificent. Women in the breakfast room and housekeeping staff very friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small. A little too noisy at night if you like to sleep with window open.

    Beautiful location with good size balcony overlooking Lake Lugano, close to everything. Ideal to stoll to resturants, fabulous shops just behind the main promenade. Ferry across the road.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking. Very annoying. The decor of the hotel could do a bit of improvement as it looks a bit faded and old.

    I was visiting a friend who lives in Lugano and hotel Walter had the best pricing. What surprised me the most is that it is spot on in the center of everything that's happening by the lake and it's just fantastic. The staff were friendly and always smiling. I would definitely recommend staying there.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi was good. Had problems sending email. After 3 days I found out that due to Hotel security policy you can only emails but you can NOT send emails. I have suggested to the manager that guests are informed of this on arrival. Other than that everything was great.

    We had 4 wonderful nights.The location excellent with bus and ferry stop almost in front of hotel, great views of the lake, could walk to shops, restaurants, everything so close, breakfast was plentiful and delicious, the rooms were spacious clean and very comfortable. Lorenzo the manager and staff were always friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast but no hot offerings which appears to be quite normal on my travels through Italy and Switzerland.

    Great location and view of lake from balcony room.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Walter Au Lac traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: