Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boutique Hotel Wellenberg 4 stars

Niederdorfstrasse 10, City Centre, 8001 Zürich, Switzerland

#84 of 121 hotels in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1222 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff gave me the wrong key for the type of room booked eventhough i double checked with her, and she was not very pleasant upon Checking in. Pillows were way too soft and flat.

    checkout staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one elevator is working, the shower in the room didn't work properly, it was very hard to adjust hot water just keep coming, had to ask to fix twice but still didn't work as intended. AC is very loud, could be a problem if very hot, we were opening windows at night.

    Location and breakfast are awesome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it’s a lil over priced and can make it more affordable.

    The amazing warm staff ! The room size is great and A++ for the location and the convenience around the hotel. All the restaurants were like a walk reach and the most happening huzz buzz in the eve! Perfect place to stay! The breakfast was amazing and the reception staff was amazingly warm and helpful! They helped us a lot for all the local info !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smell terrible we asked for the refreshner still did not work. Unable to open the window because they still have not finished the renovations. The lift temporary not working we have to walk thru the stair. Not value for the money at all even they gave me CHF 20 disc.

    Many restaurant around the hotel. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast menu was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Here is a list of things that were defective during our stay, and inspite of my request to fix it, it was not addressed. Shower head kept falling. USB ports all not working, fan in room not working, curtain not working. Elevator not working during our whole stay

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our first day our room was not serviced when we returned at 3pm. Upon asking we were told it would be cleaned immediately. When checking 30 minutes later, no-one had been to clean the room. After contacting the front desk again it was then cleaned. This was our only issue. The room was nice but a little small and tight in the hallway/ closet area, and the bathroom for 2 people at the same time

    Location is superb. Staff were (are) wonderful. For special mention are Ronato, Max and Mariella. Breakfast perfect. Great lounge on 1st floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easily accessible by car, and bathroom could do with some updating

    Staff very friendly. Rooms modern and tidy and relatively good value in comparison to other hotels I’ve stayed in Zurich

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini Bar was incomparably expensive!! Fits the very high Zurich prizes in general very good though 😊

    Cool hotel in the heart of Zurich. Perfectly situated for sightseeing, relaxing and overnight stays. Many cozy restaurants and bars around. (Also very affordable ones!) Has a very nice lobby and library for guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    A big thank to the hotel staff, we (2 families 7 in total) got there in the morning after 24hr flight, staff was very accommodating and let us an early check in and made us feel comfortable as much as they could. Hotel was clean well equipped and a pleasant place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the toilets need upgrading Even though the rooms have been done

    Location, food , comfortable beds Front office staff were very helpful overall very good stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only negative was that there were not robes in the room, but once I called, they brought them right away. I always book rooms with robes and slippers!

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our location was great. Easy to walk to many places, but my husband and I also used public transportation to get to a Tango dance club...the people are very welcoming. The hotel breakfast was excellent and they always made our cappuccino for us. The beds were very comfortable, and the shower was great. The room was clean and modern. I would highly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was just lovely we arrived 11am and our room was ready! It was so nice to be able to rest and freshen up so we did not lose our day as we were traveling at 4 am. Location superb quiet excellent breakfast friendly and helpful staff! Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not 4 stars for sure. Good 3. We have found some leftovers from previous guests in the bed. Smell in the bath.

    Location is top of the top. Price affordable, considering location and Zurich

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that wasn’t updated and fantastic was the bathroom, but that is the only thing I could think of. The library, breakfast room and room were gorgeous.

    Everyone who worked there was kind, informative and helpful. Location was such a plus, I would stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Rooms very spacious considering the central location. Great link to Tina’s Bar too. Also a brilliant library for business trips. Would recommend for both business and pleasure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is very conveniently located. Everything was perfect with the room. They have great room service and the staff was particularly helpful when it came to solving a personal situation. I really appreciate their efforts. I will totally come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom size - not much space to walk around Bathroom size - the door bashed against toilet Hairdryer - blew up when I switched it on. Had to get replacement. Plumbing - shower had weak water pressure - although water was hot Tea/Coffee facilities - no milk to go with complimentary tea bags, no complimentary coffee at all, Smoking room on the first floor - you could smell the smoke on the third floor. No smokeless bar to have a drink in.

    Staff - very helpful and friendly. Nice greeting on arrival. Bed - was large with crisp bed linen Location - very central in old town Complimentary bottle of water Facilities - secure bag storage post check out Coffee at breakfast was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    arrived early (10:30), room was not ready. It is according to the hotel standard check in policy - but still disturbing for a stay of less than 24 hours.

    location, room size, staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The central heater in the room and the air ventilator in shower room are broken.

    We reached the hotel unexpectedly early for checking in, and the staff tried their best effort to provide us comfort and relaxation while waiting for the room to be ready. The staff at the restaurant is super friendly and welcoming. She offers to make u coffee/tea every morning and always give u a big warming smile and totally make ur day. If u want to eat cheese fondue everyday, here is the right place to stay, Swiss chuchi just 1-2 steps from the hotel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are upgrading their rooms. We got one of the Unremodeled rooms. The carpet was matted and they did not have coffee or coffee maker in the room. I heard that the remodeled rooms are better.

    the location is great and staff very friendly and helpful. It is a small hotel in the heart of Old town Zurich it is a good place to Launch from your tours.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is great, everything was clean, staff was always very friendly, breakfast offered wonderful selection of choices and beds were very comfortable. The complimentary Nespresso in the room was also a nice touch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No coffee in the room. Dim lighting

    Really very good. Staff very helpful. Rooms very comfortable. Clean. You were able to extend our check-out time as our flight was not until the afternoon - all done with no fuss and very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was good. The hotal is located in the heart of the old city, and within walking distance from the main train station and the Lake Zurich. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows

    A very enjoyable stay. Staff were very polite and friendly and the location of the hotel was excellent. Will definitely stay there again and would recommend it to my friends

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel Wellenberg is located in the middle of the old city, walking distance to Zurich Tram Center and main train station which is very easy to reach any part of Zurich and also Switzerland. The staff was very helpful and warm. We had a great breakfast and comfortable stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although an expensive per night cost, we were in a superior queen room with a seperate seating area. ( and Zurich is an expensive city). Very good facilities and the staff were exceptional, both reception and breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for what it is Room was supposedly renovated but bathroom is old and in general the room didn’t feel renovated except for a chair that looked a bit modern. The breakfast was not great at all. Overall I feel like I paid too much for what I got in comparison to other hotels. The photos on the website are way better than reality....

    The location is great The people/hotel staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All staff were friendly and helpful. Big room for 3 people means we had room to move. Central location was close to restaurants and shops and was a 10-15 min walk from the train station. Breakfast was extensive with hot and cold options.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing much we can suggest here. Of course, Zurich is a very expensive town to visit...

    This hotel is very centrally located in the old city. You can easily walk there from the Zurich HB train station, and everything downtown is close by - Opera, restaurants, shopping, (Frungli's chocolate shop!), Grossmunster, etc., etc. The hotel is nicely decorated and very practical in layout of facilities. There is a good breakfast buffet and a comfortable 2nd floor lounge - a handy spot if you arrive in the morning before your room is ready. Staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was quite warm in the hotel, spent the nights sleeping with the window open to cool down the room. Didn't really see why central heating was up so high when there are heaters in the room but no a/c.

    Location was great to walk around Zurich close to most of the main attractions. The room was lovely and roomy, however we did request a quiet room due to travelling with an infant, instead we were put in a room in front of the elevator and next to the breakfast area. Lots of traffic noise and noise from the breakfast area in the mornings.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unlucky to find ourselves on a floor and in a room which had clearly not undergone the same redecoration as the remainder of the hotel. While we had specified a room with a roof view at the time of booking we obviously didn’t know this would mean being in a room which was not up to the same decorative standard as the remainder of the hotel. It meant that our room did not have an appearance anywhere close to the boutique style represented in the photos advertising the hotel. This was disappointing. While we found our room comfortable, the carpet was stained, old and dirty and the bathroom very old fashioned and tired. Generally speaking the decor was in very bad shape and not what we would have expected from a property styling itself as “boutique”.

    The location in the cobbled old town of Zurich was superb. The staff were very friendly and went the extra mile to give advice and help. The breakfast was good. We loved the first floor lounge which was very cosy and elegant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only remark we have is concerning the bathroom which needs a refurbishment quite soon.

    The service personal is excellent. Location is perfect in the city center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very warm and air conditioning facilities not the best.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. When they found out we were on Honeymoon, we received a bottle of Champagne to our room. Also helped myself & my wife with an adaptor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i entered my room in hotel there was smell of smoke in the room . But i didnt care and when i left the room they charged my credit 150CHF and when I called them ,they didn’t accept ,it is rubbery as my point of view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a bit dated, but was at least clean and functional. Breakfast choice limited.

    Room was quiet on the courtyard side. Very comfortable bed. Convenient location in the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was way too small for the superior category I booked, from the photos it shows much better rooms and when asked the hotel told me were all same size but it was not from the floor plan one can see the sizes well. It is expensive for what you get but its perfect location and overall comfortable experience would make it worth.

    The location of thhis hotel is just perfect. The library area is also nice to relax a little especially in the cold winter days between outings, room was clean and also the decor was modern. Staff friendly and overall would go back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was sparse each morning at 9am when we arrived, area was small. Very pricey for what we had. Hotel bar is tiny, enclosed and smoking allowed so unbearably uncomfortable. Tiny towels in the bathroom and noise from streets at night if a room at the front like we had.

    Central old town which is perfect. Staff very polite and helpful. Clean, comfortable if not small room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Maybe a later breakfast as the bed was too comfy so I ended up missing it.

    The bed was really comfy. Good size room and bathroom with nice bath. Hotel staff are always very pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dimension of the room is very small - this is not 4 STAR room. No FREE parking - as it was promised :-( They offered me to park myself my car in URANIA parking for EXTRA 48 SFR/day and 500m walk! I had to go in ZRH Airport and return a rent a car there. Hotel is VERY OLD! On the Breakfast there was NO free table! I have to wait on the BAR TABLE Breakfast was simple. Noisy on the street at night!

    PERFECT Location !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is just above a club in which there was a concert. Even if on 4th floor, we have been highly hearing the noise on the street (calling people to enter, etc) and also the music... not quiet evening at all.

    A great location in middle of old city - with interesting places to visits around. Nice breakfast and friendly service at any moment

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Didn't need to e as expensive as it is as I compare other options near by. Over priced by about 15%-20%.

    Really a nice, modern Hotel in a great OLD TOWN location. Staff was so helpful and pleasant in any language I wanted to speak to them in. Always a greeting and confirmation that everything was OK. Real great customer service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wellenberg is nestled right in the middle of old town, making all of the city’s sites within walking distance. The train is just blocks away. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Once again, a pleasant welcome and a delightful stay, decent bar, great location, lovely rooms, good breakfast....and great value compared with most of Zurich!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and not updated as I expected from the online pictures.

    Location was perfect, right in heart of Old Town. Enjoyed the breakfast. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a bit dated, but still very comfortable and clean. It would have been nice to have somewhere to plug in a USB near the bed.

    The location of the hotel is unbeatable, right in the heart of the old town part of the city. The staff was very friendly and nice. There is a nice library and lounge on the second floor. The room was very large compared to other similarly priced hotels I've stayed at in Zurich and other places in Switzerland.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since we were staying just one night during a flight layover, I chose the least expensive option rooms. Those rooms are on the top floor in the attic story with sloping ceilings which didn't bother me. The room size was adequate, but the old, ratty brown carpet from the 1970's made the room feel cheap and gross. I was afraid to even walk on it since several stains were apparent. The room would be greatly enhanced with new flooring. Not sure why this wasn't done since much of the hotel has been updated. A big oversight in my eyes and should be corrected in the near future.

    The location of the hotel is very convenient. I chose it as an overnight stopover lodging during a flight layover. It is a short train ride and walk from the airport. It is located within the old town on a well-trodden shopping and dining street. The breakfast is quite good and hardy. The scrambled eggs and excellent bacon were very welcome. And the help yourself expresso machines helped on the caffeine front.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very minor comment on the pillow.. Too soft for my liking.

    The staffs were just so friedly and accomodating. Feel very at home in a foreign country. Good wi-fi connection and quite a number of english programmes on TV.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has really interesting decor and the family room is large enough to cater to 4 people comfortably, with a king size bed and sofa bed in the room. Located in the town centre, there are lots of good restaurants nearby for dinner. Breakfast was really good, especially the fresh fruits. The hotel receptionist is very friendly and she helped us book airport transfer for the following morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lifts slow and small

    Excellent location with easy access to shops, restaurants and transport. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking building is on the opposite side of the river, so you have a 15 min walk in between. And if you need a taxi, better book it from the hotel itself because the taxi stand down the road is always deserted and picking up a taxi from the street will depend on your luck. We didn't have much...

    The location is excellent, right in the middle of the town center, with all dining and sightseeing facilities nearby. The surroundings make up for a fulfilling walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was really disappointing this time. Hot stations weren't re-filled on time and there was hardly someone to properly service the people at breakfast.

    Wifi connection was really good. The front desk staff were very helpful and cheerful. Especially liked the attention from a female receptionist who helped me with maps around town centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a bit disappointing by the breakfast... very impersonal.

    Friendly staff and good location Great library room Very nice terrasse under the Glycine: must be really nice during summer/ spring

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom maybe a little squishy for a more well proportioned person, but otherwise fine.

    Great Location. Great breakfast. Great takeaway baguette place downstairs. Nice to have English TV. Just wish we had more time to explore the area more

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely and helpful. Breakfast was great with a wide variety of hot and cold options. The rooms were nicely decorated and were very quiet. 10 mins walk from the train station. In the heart of Zurich so all the sights were only a short walk away. Lots of great restaurants and bars close by. Reliable free WiFi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is way overrated as a "boutique" hotel. Way overpriced. Our room was poorly furnished with sloping ceiling that I bumped my head on twice. Chair in corner with no lamp or table nearby. We asked for another room but it wasn't an improvement so just stayed where we were. If we had been staying more than one night, we would have changed hotels. Staff was pleasant and breakfast nice but that didn't make up for the excessive nightly rate. Very disappointed!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in s triple with our adult son. Very spacious with lots of storage and good size bathroom. Loved our room overlooking the square. Hotel is beautifully situated to ALL that one may want to see and easy walk from train. Staff was excellent. Hotel very clean. Loved the area to wait and relax if room not ready when arriving extremely early from the US

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    power of shower (water pressure)

    big room with nice view , beautiful green terrace on the second floor, excellent bed, great choice at breakfast buffet. Good lighting in the room Shower was not very powerful; tap in the bathroom should have been repaired.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super small room!! Old facilities with a new design!! Hard to find a parking slot without any direction!!

    Nice staff! Close to the main street~ walking distance -10mins!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning,but they had a fan all ready for us upon arrival. The room was a bit crowded with 3 suitcases glad it was for just one night stay.

    The desk staff were the friendliest we met in Switzerland! Very helpful and accommodating. The location is perfect for a base. We walked only a few yards to find many choices to eat, drink and shop! Breakfast was also very good with a great atmosphere! Beautiful decorating in the common room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel should have advised there was a festival on I. The old city right outside the hotel. The music was deafening and the bass music sound was shaking the room. We were lucky and got another room at the back in the courtyard. No other guest could have moved.

    Staff were fantastic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to get the money back from booking.com. There was a big party in the old town and the loudest discotheque in front of our room. We couldn't sleep at all!!! The windows were shaking!!! The hotel was nice, convenient and friendly but they only informed the guests who booked directly with them about the upcoming noise. So.....booking.com should have informed me and then I would have booked another hotel! This is a reason for not booking anymore through booking.com except they pay me the night back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning (it was hot when we stayed). Standard room was a bit cramped.

    Fantastic included breakfast buffet. Beautifully finished rooms. Great location right in the middle of old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double room, and mistakenly booked for 1 person. They charged 83 CHF for my nephew who was 18. Wow, that's quite a bit for a second person in the same room! Booking has that there is transportation to the airport, you pay 37 CHF for this. Internet access was poor. Definitely not worth the price and we enjoyed all other accommodations throughout Switzerland.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It rained but the hotel lent us umbrellas so we have no complaints.

    The location was perfect. it was so easy to get around and see both old and new towns.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything!

    Great location, lots of cafes and restaurants nearby. One block from the river. Very village feel in the heart of a city. Staff were lovely. Friendly, helpful. Couldn't have done more. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable and small room. Very small bathroom. Bed smells in the room and on the floor. No constant water temperature in the shower. Noisy. Poor breakfast.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning would have improved comfort of room. Complimentary coffee in the room would also have improved our stay.

    Breakfast was good, staff were very friendly and helpful on reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only caution I would add is that this hotel does not have air conditioned rooms. I was told that they are unable to install air conditioning units due to their location in Old Town. During our stay, it was very warm outside and the room also got quite warm. The windows open fully, and they do provide fans--and graciously gave us an extra--but for very warm weather stays, those who prefer a cool room might give this consideration. I should add that the reception area, lounge, and dining areas are air conditioned by individual standing a/c units and are very comfortable.

    This gem of a hotel is perfectly located in Old Town, ideally situated for shopping, dining and sightseeing. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was lovely, and the common areas, such as the 2nd floor lobby/lounge, the breakfast room, and the garden terrace were all wonderful. The hotel is thoughtfully decorated and furnished, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was modern and clean. We traveled with two teenagers who slept on the pull out couch, and it was big enough for them and comfortable, too. I highly recommend the Boutique Hotel Wellenberg for travelers visiting Zurich.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot when I visited and lack of AC was noticeable. The simple room fan wasn't much help.

    Good location quiet and comfortable hotel. Staff is very helpful and smiling.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was large spacious, beds were comfortable. It was my birthday when we had arrived and when we got to the room there were cupcakes left which was a lovely surprise. Breakfast was excellent with a lot of choice. There was a very comfortable lounge/library area to relax watch TV or play music. Right in the centre of the Old Town very close to numerous restaurants, bars & cafes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room with Kingsize Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With two kids, we had a pull-out sofa, which was extremely uncomfortable. Also, the bathrooms were outdated, but I believe the property will be undergoing a renovation soon.

    Excellent location! The room itself was very nice with ample storage. The library was beautiful, but we didn't have much use for it with two kids.The staff was incredibly attentive and friendly. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful boutique hotel right in the middle of old city Zurich. The location was perfect on a beautiful cobbled square filled with old buildings and restaurants. It was an easy 10 minutes walk from the main train station. Staff, the room and the breakfast were lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and rusty bathroom. Broken hose of the shower. Ventilation in the bathroom didn't work. Photos which I've seen at Booking.com were totaly different from the reality. Poor value for the money, since the price we payed was high (this hotel is more expensive than 5 star luxury hotel in Kuala Lumpur).

    Friendly stuff, good location, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were upgraded to a lovely large room plenty of space. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom facilities were excellent. Very close to all shopping and restaurants. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to others. A welcome cool drink at the end of the day was a nice touch. The hotel was a little pricey but compared favourably with others nearby. But then everything in Switzerland is pricey so you should allow for that when budgeting but you do get value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We requested a twin room and on check in were given a double. The staff did offer an inferior room (awaiting refurbishment) which did have twin beds. Although this room was smaller and on a lower floor we accepted this as we wished twin beds.

    Location, location, location - amazing!

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Boutique Hotel Wellenberg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: