Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wellness Hotel Alpenhof 4 stars

Matterstrasse 43, 3920 Zermatt, Switzerland

#51 of 317 hotels in Zermatt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 661 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    The room was great and very stylish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no air con in our room but the booking had said there would be. Wasn't a major problem though as it was cool anyway.

    The room was great and very stylish. We were close to the train station and main street. The communal areas were well designed and comfortable. The breakfast was good and the choice was quite extensive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    The junior suite we reserved was spacious and wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad about the hotel. The hotel seems close to the train station but it was a long walk in reality. However, there is free hotel shuttle. We had dinner at the hotel but the serving was a little slow, maybe because it was kinda crowded.

    The junior suite we reserved was spacious and wonderful. Matterhorn can be seen in the balcony but some trees blocked the view a little bit. The room was clean and well decorated. Free drinks in the mini fridge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful structure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personal gave me the impression of forced politeness. The atmosphere was a little bit on the pompous side (but it may be matter of personal tastes). The room didn’t impress me despite being of higher category. The room temperature was too high.

    Beautiful structure. Rich breakfast. Many services (we didn’t take advantage of). The free transfer service to the train shuttle station was appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Definitely recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I will call them areas for improvements 1. The swimming pool water temperature was a little low 2. The swimming pool chlorine level was a little high 3. The house keeping work was not up to the standards

    1. The staff (all) 2. The free mini bar 3. The free transportation from and to the station 4. The afternoon tea 5. The wifi quality 6. The value for money 7. The breakfast despite its limited choices 7. The swimming pool facility On behalf of my family thank you all for the wonderful experience

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Perfect stay - everything was exceptionally good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent during our stay. Check in was smooth and quick, very kind and frindly staff. Sheherezade was very well informed, extremely kind and helpful. Also Ali at the bar was excellent, came over to our table at the end of the evening and gave us some tips about Zermatt and a few “funny facts” about the place. Very good breakfast, spotless room, great pool, sauna and jacuzzi. Absolutely amazing stay, will definitely come back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Our favorite place in Switzerland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautiful, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is excellent. The lift to hiking is steps from the front door of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Best hotel on our whole trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything.

    Everything was amazing! From the helpful staff, delish breakfast, robes and slippers, rain shower, balcony with a view of the Matterhorn, full mini fridge, coffee in room, and more! It was gorgeous and a perfect stay for my family of 4.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    The lobby area and bar/patio are fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms have AC and some don’t. We didn’t, but once we acclimated to the sounds of the river, we enjoyed sleeping with the windows open.

    The lobby area and bar/patio are fantastic. Very cozy and stylish fireside chat area. The staff is wonderful- very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful, comfortable hotel with great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is perhaps a really small thing, but given the carless-ness of the town and the use of the hotel taxi, it would have been nice if the hotel had helped plan our check-out and return to the train station, as they did with our arrival. We had to wait around for a bit for a taxi to be available, which ended up cutting our train station arrival a little short.

    This hotel was fantastic! The interiors were beautiful and the hotel overall felt very warm and welcoming. The staff was incredibly kind and helpful. I was unfortunately only here for one night and didn't have time to experience the spa, and am sad I didn't! The morning breakfast was great as well. Would definitely come back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a little walk from the main strip. Confusion at the restaurant as reception staff forgot to book half board. Restaurant staff kept offering other menu options even though we said we wanted half board and had dropped by to book early in the morning

    The hotel is clean, lots of room to move around. Half board meal was good. Friendly and helpful staff. Transfer service to/from station. Highly Recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    A great place with great people, but avoid 4th floor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a room on the 4th floor, where the rooms are shortened by the angle of the roof - therefore the window only came up to my waist and the maximum height of the shower head was also my waist. If you stay here, insist that your room is not on the 4th floor!

    Great staff and the restaurant is outstanding! All speak perfect English and are genuinely friendly people. Spa and pool were also great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful time in Alpenhof!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful time in Alpenhof! The entire staff was very friendly and attentive, the dinners were superb without exception (including accommodating our special dietary needs), the room and the overall ambience just perfect! We already booked our next stay for the summer :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Cannot find one fault - Best hotel in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing - faultless

    The friendly staff make the hotel and the rooms are modern and clean. Has fantastic facilities - jacuzzi, indoor pool, sauna & gym.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room didn't have air conditioning.

    Great staff. Always helpful. Rooms are big clean and well equipped. We would definitely recommend a half board option as you get to choose between two restaurants, both with different 5 course menu every day. Fantastic value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Perfect family hotel for a ski trip to Zermatt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Superior Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had an amazing stay at the Alpenhof. The room was nicely updated, the staff were wonderful, and the wellness exceeded our expectations. The breakfast was the nicest we had on our trip to Switzerland.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I'd suggest to change the schedule of the spa facilities. In the early morning the only working facility is the swimming pool (jacuzzi doesn’t' operate). The 4 pm complimentary tea and cakes could be a little more variable.

    Fantastic location and friendly staff. Nice to have complimentary fruits and drinks in the room every day! Small ice-skating rink for the visitors was also a pleasant surprise. So far, we just liked our stay in Alpenhof!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Amazing Hotel! Excellent Service and Awesome experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The only note I would have is that the rooms were too hot so we sometimes had to open the windows at night!

    I went there for a ski trip with my wife. The hotel was recommended to us by some friends but I did not expect it to be as good as it was. The service was amazing and the staff are very friendly. They even remembered what we drink in the morning! It is very close to the ski station and is equipped with ski room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    I loved the location and the decor of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The toilet with the glass door is simply not practical... anyone in the room can hear your business. Not ideal... and the shower is just tiny. Bathtub is exposed... so perhaps some might like this sort of thing. But, I am a very private person and prefer the bathtub to be in a bathroom. Shower was too small.

    I loved the location and the decor of the hotel. It's ever so cozy and their bar lounge area is simply beautiful with a charming wonderful Irish piano player. WE couldn't have asked for more. The food is also exceptionally delicious, highly recommend the veal. All in all a great experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent 4 nights stay!!! Friendly staff! Quality foods! Superb service! Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Superior Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Drain plastic grills around swimming pool need replacement otherwise it will become as a trip hazard very soon. Otherwise everything else was top level!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The twin beds are slightly too small, but not a major problem.

    The staff was the highlight of our trip. All of them were friendly and caring, always trying their best to accommodate our needs. We really enjoyed the outdoor hot tub after a long day of skiing. Free mini-bar and nespresso coffee every day as well! Overall, it was a hotel with a homey, cosy atmosphere and we really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Simply perfect, very well organized, beautifully decorated, and centrally located. Right across from
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps the heating in the bedrooms was a bit too high

    Simply perfect, very well organized, beautifully decorated, and centrally located. Right across from ski station and in town centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent base for skiing in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The exposed bath in the middle of the room was not useful and the space would have been better devoted to a larger shower cubicle

    Excellent, spacious room, very comfortably furnished with first class facilities. Great breakfast and dinner. Wonderful staff. Excellent location close to the lifts to the ski slopes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious two story family suite, like an apartment. Gorgeous view of Matterhorn from balconies. We loved the heated pool and spa. Had the half board package with excellent breakfasts and dinners. The restaurant staff were so friendly and accommodating. Ali made us feel like family. Everything was taken care of from train station transfers to lift tickets to packed lunches when we were leaving. Thankyou Wellness Hotel Alpenhof! We'd love to stay with you again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Magical fun Christmas and new year at this great hotel in beautiful zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms / sink areas in alpine chic rooms quite tight for space. Some steam areas of Spa not working during week.

    Very friendly staff. Family feel with a 5 star touch. Excellent new chef. Well appointed rooms - very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Like in a fairy tale
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    I went to Zermatt with my partner for ski holidays. Our stay was magical. Everything was perfect and we highly recommend the half pension. The 5 courses menu was amazing and different each day. The room was big with great view and a comfortable queen size bed. Definitely the best hotel in zermatt.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    Exclusive Holiday in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Opening hours of the SPA. Could be also available in the morning and longer in the evening.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Nice, confortable and clean room with the nice view from the balcony. Great food, rich breakfasts and delicious dinners with the proffesional service. The location of the hotel = very close to the cable car to skiing resort, and close to the centrum. Wonderful wellness with small refreshment. We can recommend it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location and facilities!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and facilities! Friendly staff, ready to go an extra mile for our every request. The first time that traveling in a group of friends with kids, skis, dogs seemed so effortless. Swiss hospitality at its best!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Exteremly happy that i ended up booking this place they set bench marks in terms of hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its Family Run Tradtional Julen Hotels in Swiss and really everyone there lives up to their tradition and staff is very friendly and super hospitality never seen better hospitality than this plus property is one of finest and posh propeties in Zermatt

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Everything was absolutely perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Superior Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was absolutely perfect! Staff was nice and friendly, they fulfilled everything what we have asked for. Special thanks to Ali and Margaux!! Food was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Its a verty good property, traditional and contemporary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5-10 mins walk to the railwaystation but still yu can take a taxi

    Its a verty good property, traditional and contemporary style mix.. very good location and breakfast was simply superb.. lots of choices on the menu

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    We would love to come back again in the winters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have an electric kettle and iron in the room.

    It was a very cozy and comfortable hotel. The staff was very polite and helpful, particularly Ali at the bar and Benno at the reception. It was lovely to meet the owner Paul-Marc and learn first-hand about their black-nosed sheep farm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing Zermatt stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, modern, and great location to Zermatt GGB train station. Luxury bath products and included breakfast and minibar items (juice, water, soda, beer) make this an incredible value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay friendly hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As with all hotels in Switzerland a duvet is provided. On a hot summer night these are not really practical.

    Fantastic find in Zermatt. Amongst the best we have stayed at in Switzerland. The half board option was extremely good value and the cuisine was great. They put on a free afternoon tea as well as including minu bar items and a hiking bag for use while you were at the hotel. A very cosy fire burned in the foyer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel with excellent service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Service minded, friendly and professional staff. Room was beautiful (Alpin Chic) and we had a view over Matterhorn! location is perfect! I loved everything about the hotel and will definitely get back there next time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wellness area (sauna, steam room, swimming pool) are nice, however not all equipment was working correctly (but not to the level, which would spoil the overall fun). Also I would personally appreciate a bigger selection of cheese and dry sausages during the breakfast (but again it's really just a minor remark).

    We booked one of the renovated design rooms. All room equipment was in a very good shape, clean and the room was really very modern and nice. Although the hotel is in the center of Zermatt (just few hundred meters away from the railway station) the room was very quiet and with a great view. We enjoyed a lot the 5 course dinners as well as breakfasts with great selection of meals.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Very close to perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was the small shower and bathroom set up in the chic room. I think they could make better use of the space from the comfortably sized bedroom.

    Take advantage of the free pickup from the train station, especially if you have large luggage. Great spa and swimming pool area, free to use with good opening times. Free stocked mini bar was a nice addition!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    New renovated room with view of the mattshorn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Superior Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel nothing bad.

    New renovated room with view of the mattshorn!!! Room was modern and beautiful. The breakfast was good. It's a 10 mins wax from the station.....but it's a good walk. Very safe and beautiful resort town. Great customer service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Alpenhof Hotel - The best hotel in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    I like everything in Alpenhof hotel. The staffs are very friendly and helpfull. The food is also gorgeous. Tradition Julen really maintain the quality. I can recommend you the lamb in their restaurant is the best. The location is good, with a nice offer of shuttle between train station and the hotel. The facilities, including spa and sauna are perfect!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel in an amazing and breathtaking city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The feeling of staying longer in Zermatt still lingers on us! And for sure the hotel is a great part of it! Everything was just perfect, the staff is really friendly and helpful and did all they could to please us, in our arrival the receptionist accompanied us to our room to explain us how to use the app on the TV that controls the room temperature and the lights of the room. It was our wedding anniversary and in our room as we arrived, our room was lovely decorated with some flowers and hearts and a bottle of pro seco with a very lovely card was waiting for us, congratulating us on our special day. The SPA is really great, and we really enjoyed the indoor pool, the different saunas (about 3 different ones!) and the outside jacuzzi with warm water was a must! The location of the hotel is just perfect, about 5 minutes walking from the Gornergrat Bahn, where you can take the train and go up to more than 3.000m and have an spectacular view from Matterhorn and also the highest mountain of Switzerland, the Dufourspitze (with more than 4.500m) - but prepare your pocket, the ticket for the train costs 94,00 francs per person! But it was worthy each cent! The hotel restaurant is also amazing, serving a 5 course menu really well prepared for a fair price. Also in the restaurant, our table was decorated with romantic theme and the restaurant staff also congratulated us for our wedding anniversary, the hotel maitre goes from table to table talking to the guests and checking if everything is good and if the clients have any spacial request.Everything was just amazing! Zermatt doen not allow cars, so you will have to let your car in Täsch and take a train (about 15 minutes) to Zermatt or go with one of the many taxi services. But arriving in the train station in Zermatt, the Hotel offers a great transfer service that takes you to the hotel in a very cute and charming electric mini van.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Beware of Car Free Zermatt's Policy !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Zermatt car free policy . It is not explained when making a reservation, so you have to leave your car at Tasch ( nearby village ) to profit the parking companies that only advertise the price of parking ( around 12 CHF / day ) which you may seem its not that much , but what they dont say is that the transfer ( 5 minute ride on a supposed electric vehicle - which is not ) is NOT included and they will charge an extra 50 CHF per person !!! That is a real rip off of the tourists ... my advice for further tourists. Since you cant take the car to Zermatt do rent the parking but then just simply take the train all the way up to Zermatt !!!

    Wonderful hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect: magnificent junior suite (that would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect: magnificent junior suite (that would qualify as a suite), excellent breakfast, great spa with many assets, perfect location and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea & coffee provide in the room

    Good wellness facility, excellence service & location, I need to thank you Mr. Ali provide the good service in the lounge .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Stayed one night after the marathon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel location is great and the complimentary ride to/from the station is welcome and easy, though it's not much of a walk either. I had a bar-meal in the evening and chat with very friendly staff. The Wellness area has slightly dated décor, but all works very well and is very comfortable. And the bed was great - best night's sleep for a long time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    A nice stay in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is not the hotel's fault; but the only thing which is missing is the Matterhorn sight. But this is really more than compensated by all the positive features of the hotel.

    Everything was very good. People in the hotel were very nice, and always tried to anticipate needs. The restaurant dinner (5 courses) was good, but only the first two courses were excellent. This is why I only rated it 3 on 4. The hotel is easy to reach from the railway station, and is also provides a shuttle service to it. The swimming pool space is really nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Family Trip to Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just a feedback - In our 4 bedroom Junior Suite we did have a coffee machine but in our other room there was none. May be a electric kettle and a tea bag accessories could be provided to help them make their early morning cuppa when they get up :)

    The Hotel interiors / aesthetic sense are very artistically done. The staff are very hospitable. Fabian, Tanelia, Boris, all at front desk and Evans at Restaurent are all so very professional with a personal touch which makes you feel very easy, comfortable and homely too. The food at restaurent is very tasty and presented very well which tempts you...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is conveniently located and breakfast was great -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Superior Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it is quite expensive. and in sauna, should be naked without separating females and males, so i think few people might use. at that time, nobody was using the sauna. it would be better to accept for customers to enjoy sauna with swimwear.

    The hotel is conveniently located and breakfast was great - various menus and delicious. The room is also clean and spacious. there is a sauna and swimming pool. it is pity that we didn't bring any swim wear.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    This is a very special hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a very special hotel. I have been coming here for over 20 years. The half board option is an amazing value, since the five-course dinner served in the restaurant is top level. The staff are extremely professional and amazingly helpful, whether you want spa treatments or help with organizing outside activities in Zermatt.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Best hotel in Zermatt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that my partner and I didn't like about this hotel. Everything was perfect and all the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

    The staff was very welcoming and friendly. They really managed to make us feel at home and comfortable. When we arrived at the hotel the receptionist told us that we got a free room update to the suite. That really made our trip so much more enjoyable!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    A hotel with a warm atmosphere off the main street, yet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A hotel with a warm atmosphere off the main street, yet conveniently located near to where all the action is. Loved seeing how the last rays of the setting sun cast its glow on the peak of the Matterhorn from the room I was given. The heart of Hotel Alpenhof is its staff. Wonderful Swiss hospitality and warm smiles abound, even when things get busy for its staff. I remember the lady who does the housekeeping in the mornings who bids a cheery greeting every time I see her and the staff serving at breakfast who move about in great efficiency; but ever so willing to accommodate requests like filling up my tumbler with hot water each morning. A special note of thanks to Boris, for always having a kind word to say and for your generosity in sharing your knowledge about some of the nicest hiking trails in this area. Danke für alles und ich komme nächstes Mal wieder mit meinen Freunden und meiner Familie!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Superb Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was excellent had WOW factor and the little extras free taxi to and from hotel coffee and cakes in afternoon Staff where brilliant one of the best hotels my wife and I have stayed in

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was great, lots to choose from, fresh oj.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't get the Matterhorn view room, but the room was still okay.

    Breakfast was great, lots to choose from, fresh oj. Not too far from the train station, free shuttle to the train station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel but no customer loyalty and greedy approach to late checkout
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My family is Swiss (from Geneva) and we have been visiting Zermatt for over 25 years (2 to 3 times per year), we've stayed at many different hotels however we have only recently started staying at this hotel. We travelled to Zermatt for a family celebration for the weekend. We were a group of 3 families covering 3 generations that took 3 rooms arriving on the Friday evening. On the Sunday morning we asked for a late check out so that we could do a good sized walk in the mountains but were told that we had to check out at 12 noon or otherwise they would have to charge us. At first we were told it was CHF50 per person up to 2pm (for group of 8 makes that CHF400) and then 50% charge for up to 4pm. After some difficult exchanges over 30/45 minutes this came down to CHF100 for one room until 4pm. Given that our stay was during an office peak time in May (many restaurants and hotels were closed and this hotel was half empty), we had taken 3 rooms at a cost of CHF 1,800 and that 1 of our 3 rooms was not being occupied by new guests that day, the hotel was still not willing to allow us to keep one room up until 4pm without charge. On the Saturday night our family group ate at the Schäferstube restaurant in the hotel Julen which cost us CHF600. The issue of the late checkout became a complete point of principal for us as the CHF100 was a small amount which was irrelevant compared to the CHF2,400 we had paid for the weekend at this hotel chain. This was a disgusting example of greed and a total lack of customer loyalty. My entire family left this hotel vowing never to return.

    Very nice facilities, good sized rooms and nice restaurant. Location is next to the river/road and close to 2 of the big lifts up the mountains.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    We can't wait to go back to the Alpenhof in Zermatt!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The ski locker was not big enough for 4 sets of skis, boots and helmets.

    The staff was very pleasant and the restaurant had delicious food. The room had an amazing view. The pool and hot tub were perfect for after skiing. It was centrally located in Zermatt and easy to get skiing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Briliant hotel-like home, more then that actually:-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Penthouse Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    kids facilities not present,swiming pool quite cold no kids pool.

    Everything really.best that you can have in terms of staff, hotel,lounge,fireplace......you name it. Thank you all

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    A very good hotel - a definite value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff in the restaurant could be more attentive. Last meal (01/04/17) was a total DISASTER when they brought pancakes for my 5-year old daughter powdered with BAKING SODA instead of sugar!!! I understand that it was a fools day...buuut - that was too much to take...:)

    rooms, location, views, the bar, most the staff, sheep on beds, overall cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    7.5
    Frukosten var fantastisk - rikligt med allt man kan vilja ha.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Personalen var inte väldigt hjälpsam och trevlig från början men det blev mycket bättre mot slutet.

    Frukosten var fantastisk - rikligt med allt man kan vilja ha. Man fick även en lite Toblerone varje kväll på kudden och de bäddade upp sängarna åt oss. Riktigt lyxigt! Perfekt att skidbussen till backen gick strax utanför hotellet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.6
    Very good ski hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    Good position near station and close to one of the main ski lifts. Food excellent, although expected more traditional swiss food (rosti or fondues) in the mix, having said that the restaurant food was very good. The heated ski boot holders in the ski lockers were very good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Live music in bar/lounge was lovely, but made the area rather too sedate. Food was always great, but a little fussy.

    Hotel is beautiful, location is fabulous, staff is wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    7.5
    We came across Ali;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Issues created by hotel´s bad organisation and lack of qualified night time personnel dealing with issue on first night prevented us from sleeping, with resulted in not being able to enjoy our first day skiing due to tiredness. Problem was solved the next day but we were disappointed with the way the management dealt with us. In whole it was a very nice short break filled with amazing skiing and great food, but an apology and a bottle of prosecco to make up for a sleepless night was just not enough. A discount for the first night because of the discomfort caused would have been the right thing to offer us. The small discount offered on our next visit is no good as we have already been left feeling like we don't want to return to Wellness Hotel Alpenhoff. Its a shame the management didn't know how to act in a more professional manner.

    We came across Ali; skiing instructor by day and metre by night. A super guy who is an asset to this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.8
    very nice location close to train stations , lifts, village...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    welcome drinks & mini bar need to improve. also some small problems with the cleaning of the room, the towels had a bad smell

    very nice location close to train stations , lifts, village centre e.t.c. confortable & warm room. Very polite & friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.6
    Great location, lovely food and excellent facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Sadly not everyone abided by the rules of no children under 16 in certain areas of the spa. This made it uncomfortable for the adults there.

    Great spa facilities. Comfortable room. Very good food. Lovely staff from the managers to the front desk, bar and restaurant teams - especially Justina!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    9.6
    Overall nice service, very good quality half-board food,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilator in bathrooms constantly running, too little towels, towel heater working only during certain hours

    Overall nice service, very good quality half-board food, personal service, staff at the bar and in the restaurant. exceptional service provided by Ali, Melanie in the restaurant and Manuel and Christoph from the bar. Lovely owners, personally involved. Given that Switzerland and Zermatt in particular are expensive, Alpenhof is still reasonable in their pricing when it comes to extras, drinks and so on. All over a relaxing, pleasant holiday and a very recommendable Hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    10
    Comfortable, great hospitality, relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful experience in this super hospitable, refined hotel owned by the julen family.nice pool and spa, and tasteful environment.We've been going to Zermatt for 20 years and this was our most enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    7.9
    The hotel is clean and will equipped, staff and management are very friendly and helpful. Facilitie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't comfortable and so was the pillows, house keeping tried to help but they couldn't get a firm ones.

    The location was reasonably good and the staff and management were very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.6
    They made my dog welcome.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They made my dog welcome. There is a lovely cigar / smoking lounge which my husband particularly appreciated. The staff were welcoming and very responsive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, very helpful and always smiling staff. Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely loved the hotel - lovely staff especially at the reception. Very helpful. Rooms are very close to the pics on website, newly renovated with stylish interior. The balcony opens to the river flowing by.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Amazing place and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place and staff. Fully recomended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Extraordinary!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was contemporary, unique, and very intimate! A perfect place to stay while in Zermatt.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    Very well furnished hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complicated digital room controls

    Very well furnished hotel Very comfortable with friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    SR
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The veiw from the room balconyu

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location and the staff tried to personalize the whole...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Alpine Chic Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and the staff tried to personalize the whole experience. Even the minibar was complimentary.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Very confortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Superior Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very confortable room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Staff was very courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Superior Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small as we were 3 adults staying on this property. Bathroom was also very small

    Staff was very courteous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Its wellness, especially the outdoor pool
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit small

    Its wellness, especially the outdoor pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Everything is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Superior Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is perfect!

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: