Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel 5 stars

Dorfstrasse 46, Schönried, 3778 Gstaad, Switzerland

#10 of 29 hotels in Gstaad

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 355 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.3
    A very disappointing stay and it was all down to the service we received.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Spa Bath - Wellness
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The customer service level was very poor at this hotel. I did not feel valued as a customer, we had paid for their top suite too. When we were checking in, the agent pointed us in the direction of the lifts to make our way to the room ourselves. I asked, could he not show us? He said he can't leave the reception. Eventually another member of staff walked past and they manned the desk whilst he took us to the room. We were given no information on any of the hotel facilities, i.e your lovely pools, gym, breakfast area etc. He took us to the room but quickly pointed out a few things but didn't even show us how to use the jacuzzi.He was nice about it but I think the hotel needed more staff to manage and we were also kept waiting as he was stuck on a phone call. Given that we had just come from a 5 star hotel Mont Cervin Palace in Zermatt, the service did not even compare. There they gave us personalised service, it didn't matter even matter that we had booked a basic room, they valued each of their customer. This is definitely what was missing from the Ermitage and I was really disappointed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Awesome location, awesome staff, the rooms are small and road side rooms should not be at a premium
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were definitely not what was expected given the cost. They were small, without ac in a hot day, there was little to no room to navigate with the exception of my daughter's room which was larger, although the road noise left them unable to open their window to get in air, as well as my son, both were hot during the night sleep.. You should also warn customers that water is expensive, we spent probably $400 to $500 dollars on water during meals.

    The staff was truly without question amazing. it is the big plus for this facility.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I upgraded the room booked through you, as it was facing the road, which is at times rather busy. I had to pay a bit more, but had a lot more comfort. Cheaper is not always better.

    Friendly staff, good food, hotel is well organised

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing and comfortable. Service is good, but could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Eggli
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we checked in and gave the keys to the bellman we were told to wait in the lobby area and they said they would come and pick us up when the luggage was in the room. We waited and waited and nobody came to pick us up. When we went to the reception desk, our key cards were at the bottom of a pile of about 5 other key cards. They were just lying there and nobody took action. We had dinner there two nights. The second night the service was very slow. We had to wait for 30-40 minutes for the starter (after we had had our salad from the salad bar). We arrived at 7 PM, had some salad from the salad bar and then a very long wait before the starter arrived. It was actually only when we complained and asked for the starter that it arrived. Tables around us, with people who arrived after us, got their second starter (soup) before we even got the first starter. They had probably just forgotten us. The starter arrived at 8 PM, i.e. one hour after we arrived. After that, the other dishes were served with record speed. The food is not bad, but I wouldn't give it 15 Gault & Millau points. The rack of lamb on the second evening was ok tender, but not juicy at all. I make better lamb myself at home. I thought 15 Gault & Millau was about equivalent to 1 Michelin star, but this is not a Michelin star restaurant.

    Nice welcome upon arrival. They took care of luggage and car. The hotel has nice facilities. The pool and spa area are great. Pool with salt water is very nice and refreshing. Nice view from the balcony of the room. The breakfast is very good. My better half got a coughing fit at dinner time the first evening. The waiter (he seemed to be somewhat of a senior among the waiters) brought her an infusion of honey and ginger, without us asking for it. Very sweet and kind. We were touched by this considerate and kind service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    The staff was brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Senior Suite - Saane
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was brilliant. Riccarda ( intern)who served us at dinner deserves a special mention - very attentive with a happy smiling face. We ordered coffee through room service the ne t morning and it came to us in record time - in a minute or two. The gentleman managing the breakfast outdoors kept the morning mood lively! Brilliant staff! The apple champagne 🍾 during breakfast was a winner!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Amazing stay for a romantic weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite - Saane
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was a little too hard for me, but alright. We were surprised to pay CHF 5.50 per bottle of tap water at the restaurant; don't get me wrong I am okay paying for water but tap at that price (not even a 1L) is way too expensive knowing that we had bottle of wine for each dinner or glass of wine for lunch...

    Amazing food and drinks, great staff, very helpful and all you need on site! We booked for the Saanen suite, that is gorgeous with an amazing view and enjoyed very much the fireplace in the room. I would highly recommend, we had a great stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    Amazing service, cheap Furniture
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lets start with their 5 stars. I would not give that hotel 5 stars for the quality of the rooms and furniture. Definitely service is 5 star but taking an example with brown spots on the edges of the pool and out dated machines in the gym. I was expecting more from the 5 star hotel. Also the cleanliness of the shower cabins in the pool area is not the best one. Poor safe and mini bar in the rooms. Poor quality furniture (cheap). If you want true luxury consider continuing your search.

    Excellent service and the level of attention you are getting from the stuff. Sometimes it is even too much I guess. Great property to spend some time skiing. We were not skiing so spa was our priority. Great pool with salted water and okay gym. Thank you so much for the Tesla Chargers in the covered parking (was surprised). Great all inclusive meals (breakfast & dinner). Great Swarovski Bar with amazing signature cocktails. Make sure you try one.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.3
    The spa facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    (1) Heater was not working and they brought us an electric radiator to heat the room. (2) We asked for two toothbrushes which were offered for free but where charged on checkout at CHF 18 without any notice. After negotiations such fee was deducted as a compromise due to the ugly radiator in our room. (3) The head waiter unreasonably obliged us to take the same table for all our meals during our stay (we booked the full board package). Also the same head waiter asked me to greet him with my "goodmorning" which I found intimidating.

    The spa facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Best time of my life spent at this hotel with my small family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, but maybe some people will be shocked that the spa is mixed and restrictedly nude area like all spas in Europe (but of course you can keep your towels on) so don't be surprised seeing people walking around completely nude :) if you are a lady there is ladies only spa if you prefer it

    I liked everything, Im sure Ill come back in the future. The spa is amazing and its the #1 reason we chose this hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    3.8
    Do not expect too much in terms of staff friendliness, amenities and food. Overrated and expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite - Saane
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Food was boring and heavy. Staff was unfriendly (with some exceptions). Pool showers were stinky and pool needs renovation.

    The room was very spacious and cozy, with a wonderful view of the mountains

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    This is luxus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Hugeli
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was all superb.

    The heated, year round salt water pools. Two outside, one inside with swim through to outside. The views of the mountains are stupendous. I was there over Easter, and each room had a basket of different eggs. There were even live bunnies in a grass-lined hutch near the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.6
    Excellent and pleasant hotel , with a suburb kitchen .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The staff of the wellness center was not up to par with the standard of the hotel and some were obviously below what could be expected in a Wellness & Spa resort !

    Great Service all around and excellent , frendly and kind staff members .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    10
    Awesome spa hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel with traditional swiss chalet decor, spacey lobby and piano bar with leather sofas and two fire places. Very comfortable and spacious rooms. The hotel facilities are great especially the two outdoor heated pools. The restaurant has very good food, beautiful decor and an awesome staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.1
    Yes but no
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The management has changed and the hotel is not the same anymore. The restaurant is bad, whereas it used to be great. The staff is not friendly at the restaurant, clearly stressed, maybe there is not enough staff, feels like some cuts have been done. A pity. I had a very bad night also, because the room was overheated and when I tried to call the reception for a lighter blanket oooops the phone doesn't work. Seriously, I can't call the reception from my room? bad.

    The breakfast iss great, the spa is gorgeous and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing, excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very kind and discreet and very professional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    It was a gorgeous setting, with amazing food, and a friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a gorgeous setting, with amazing food, and a friendly staff!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    The spa is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath - Wellness
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa is amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    Really great stay. Super nice staff. Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite - Saane
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the intra day buffets were full of cakes only. Some savoury snacks would have been better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Excellent spa and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Eggli
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent spa and facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    First rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - Hugeli
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little slow on the service for a 5 star hotel. Had issues with the TV. They were kind enough to move me.

    Staff was very nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    We stayed for honeymoon and all staff were incredible , helpful and kind made our stay wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were incredibly helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Super nice people and the property is gorgeous and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Hugeli
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super nice people and the property is gorgeous and conveniently located.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    The salt pool area looked like it needed attention, paint...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The salt pool area looked like it needed attention, paint was flaky and it looked a little tired

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    Just opposite Rellerli cablecar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mystery Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    10 mins drive from Gstaad proper

    Just opposite Rellerli cablecar

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Enjoyable and relaxing!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite - Saane
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Keep up the high standards, Pascal :-)))

    Salt water pool. Entertainment by the bar in the evenings. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Simply the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Hugeli
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just perfect hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.1
    Surrounding nature and scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite - Saane
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of the food

    Surrounding nature and scenery

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    The comfort and the friendliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The comfort and the friendliness This is a 6 * Hotel The spa is just amazing Lovely evening meal and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Friendly atmosphere excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room - Ried
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly atmosphere excellent location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.8
    A way expensive for what is it. Only senior ppl there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The naked ppl in the spa area and the receptionist

    The food and staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    Gorgeous hotel with lovely staff and superb food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - Hugeli
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slightly further walk to ski lift than expected

    Excellent, attentive & friendly staff. Elegant yet homely building, gorgeous furnishings

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.2
    Option for pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Option for pillows

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel near to ski lifts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a huge amount of nightlife nearby.

    The hotel was beautiful and very comfortable. Facilities were super and staff amazingly helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    9.6
    great Hotel
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    great Hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.6
    Super hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff and wonderful food in the restaurant

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    Organized walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Hugeli
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Evening meal didn't finish until 9 p.m.

    Organized walks. Salt water pool. Sauna room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.6
    Very nice quit location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee or teamaking machine in room

    The location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    Service is so personalized and courtious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect.

    Service is so personalized and courtious. Food is great and the hotel atmosphere is very relaxing. There were lots of little details in the way the crew of the hotel served us that will indeed make this hotel my first and only choice in my next trip to Gstaad.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    The staff made our stay very special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff made our stay very special. it was our 12 year anniversary and ithey made sure we celebrated it in style. They were so friendly , so chatty it felt like we are amongst family. We also brought our dog and she was well taken care off. Afternoon tea by piano was lovely. Very beautifully decorated, great spa and food was good too but to top it all it was the staff that made it for us!

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    8.8
    The spa facilities are superb and the staff are very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed in my original single room was of very poor quality, but I was offered a free upgrade after complaining. I believe that all the beds in the least expensive rooms are similar, so the hotel needs to address this issue, as they are not worthy of a 5 star establishment.

    The spa facilities are superb and the staff are very welcoming. The restaurant serves excellent food, with the most extensive and delicious range of cheeses.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    9.6
    Extremely friendly staff, made me feel "at home" ;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was excellent!

    Extremely friendly staff, made me feel "at home" ;-) The Hotel makes BIG efforts in sustainability (e.g., local products, heating from nearby waste wood plant, etc.)

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    8.3
    The view to one side of the hotel is stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spa area can be very crowded sometimes The room looked on the street Small menu (only 3 choices for entrances and 3 for main dish) with rather small portion Large choice for dessert buffet but low quality Dinner was included in the price, but very high price for drinks

    The view to one side of the hotel is stunning Lounge area, with live piano player Free cake in the afternoon

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    9.6
    Super service and friendly staff, amazing location and spa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was relatively small and noone likes a single bed even if they are single ;) other than that all great!

    Super service and friendly staff, amazing location and spa facilities

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    Amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms on northern side are very small and traffic passing under the window can be quite noisy.

    Amazing breakfast. Get the half-board deal, which includes superb salad and cheese buffet.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.2
    The staff was very kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I believe that the rooms should be provided by air conditions.

    The staff was very kind and helpful. They offered us an upgrade with same price when we requested an extend for our stay for more two days. All meals are included in the room rate. A special table is always reserved and signed by our names. The breakfast buffet was one of the best during our journey. The dinner are always good to very good.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    9.2
    The Staff could not be more caring, friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was a little small and the shower was over the bath. For me the room was too hot and the road was noisy when the window was open.

    The Staff could not be more caring, friendly and helpful. There are activities throughout the day with friendly, knowledgable people to join in with, also places to sit very quiet in. Hotel and Spa facilities well planned and top class.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    9.2
    The place is extremely comfortable, with great amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I thought it would be a bit closer to the center of Gstaad. Schonried, where the hotel is located, has great ski stations but at night it's a bit dead, so if you are looking for night entertainment it's better to stay in Gstaad itself.

    The place is extremely comfortable, with great amenities. After a day skiing you just end up staying in the hotel because it has everything you would need inside.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    8.8
    Proximity to skiing;
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Check in and check out process took excessively long time; surprisingly small room for 2 people (even by Swiss standards); cost was a bit high for a room overlooking the street;

    Proximity to skiing; lovely, delectable cake served in the afternoon; gracious, friendly, helpful staff; extremely clean room, spa area lobby / restaurants, and public facilities; fabulous therapeutic salt water pool (indoor / outdoor) and vastly diverse, beautiful spa area with a variety of steam rooms and saunas; phenomenally delicious restaurant!!!; Very best breakfast buffet in all of Switzerland!

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    5.8
    Excellent swimming pool with salty water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No towels and bathrobes in the swimming pool, guests have to bring their towels, bathrobes and slippers from the rooms. Breakfast was quite modest. Tiny rooms. Sauna does not work all day, but only in certain hours.

    Excellent swimming pool with salty water. Good location, close to train station.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    EVERYTHING
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    NOTHING

    EVERYTHING

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    8.8
    the spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    check-in was slow and inefficient

    the spa

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    10
    Everything was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing that we didnt like was that we had to leave..:-)

    Everything was excellent! We will come back for sure!

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    Excellent service, ideal ski location, fantastic food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent service, ideal ski location, fantastic food

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    9.2
    Great breakfast and interesting evening meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Cost of drinks

    Great breakfast and interesting evening meal. Well designed common areas, with an eye to design and detail.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    10
    The atmosphere and many sports activities one can join in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too hot in our room

    The atmosphere and many sports activities one can join in. Great food too!

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    10
    Beautiful hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Beautiful hotel. Fantastic service.Very impressed!

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    8.8
    excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Some decor a little tired

    excellent service. relaxed, confident, efficient

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.8
    Staff, breakfast and outdoor pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was hot and there was no air conditioning or fans in the room.

    Staff, breakfast and outdoor pool.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    10
    Avey think.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    When we arrived they told us they have not reserved the booking I did with you , why ?

    Avey think.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    10
    Everything, but the room size, it was too small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything, but the room size, it was too small.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    9.6
    Loved the hotel , staff amazing and delish food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the hotel , staff amazing and delish food!

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: