Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Welschen 3 stars

Wiestistrasse 44, 3920 Zermatt, Switzerland

#17 of 317 hotels in Zermatt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 482 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Great place, great choice in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality at it's best, we were asked to be picked up from the train station even if the hotel is just 7 minutes away by foot. Very warm welcoming, we got everything as expected. The hotel is next to the base station of the cable car going to Sunnegga, just perfect for our plan, the 5 lakes hiking trail. The breakfast has a wide variety of choices, even though one could say it's not the best in class. The view over Zermatt and Matterhorn was simply amazing, see the attached picture.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Didn’t want to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was so good we stayed an extra night.

    The room was spotless and had a breathtaking view. Good location with a lift from the road up to the hotel. Breakfast was delicious & healthy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike about this stay

    1)Arranged pickup from train station although it was not listed as a perk. 2)room was very clean, and designed innovatively to be very comfortable. 3)the view from the balcony (Matterhorn) was breath taking. 4)the owner was very helpful and suggested activities, places etc. 5)they had water, tea etc in the room so you did not have to go around for them. 6)breakfast was buffet style, with helpful staff 7)beds were very comfortable. 8)wifi worked all over Almost a boutique hotel!! Thank you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Great experience staying in Hotel Welschen. Room is tidy. The mountain view is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi signal is weak

    Room cleaning service is good. The mountain view is amazing. You can enjoy the sunrise of Matterhorn with your tea in your room / balcony. Breakfast is good as well. Last but not least the hotel service is wonderful and provide free taxi service to train station after check out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    One of the best hotels I've stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very cozy. The Matterhorn view from my balcony was amazing. I wish I could have stayed longer! It's very close to the Zermatt city center and railway station but they pick you up and drop you off with the electric car if you want to.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Awesome experience. Never miss!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!!

    Mr Kirsten and his team are amazing hosts. This experience epitomized the famed Swiss Hospitality. From the caring welcome note offering to pick you up from the railway station (we unfortunately missed reading it in time!) to their dropping you off at the station it was an experience of a lifetime in quality hospitality. It's unobtrusive yet impeccable. Their care for the property and the guest itself shows in every facet of your stay there. Every little thing is taken care of. Not to mention the wonderful view of Matterhorn from the balcony, the cosy lounge and proximity to the railway station. Can't wait to get back again!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Great place for a short stay in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was not separated from the bedroom and the steam from the shower was spreading in the room.

    The host is very friendly and she does her best to make guests feel comfortable. The room was recently renovated, with a minimalist design, clean and very comfy bed. The breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend this accommodation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    The hotel owner is very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It will be good if there is more varieties on the breakfast such as sausages and scrambled eggs

    The hotel owner is very helpful. Our rooms has a nice view to the Mattehorn which is the most enjoyable part of our stay. While the hotel may be a bit far to walk, it is however located near the bus stop. Overall, excellent experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Wonderfully, cozy and beautiful view of the Matterhorn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Welschen was just fabulous! From the cozy decorations to a delicious breakfast and awesome view of the Matterhorn. The room was perfect! Everything within walking distance. We loved our stay here!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was like one of those cosy cottages straight out of a hallmark movie! Very cute and comfortable! Staff are extremely pleasant and lovely people!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel with very beautiful rooms and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa facilities were only available for private 2 hour reservation & a fee on the weekend days we were there. Wish they had a lunch & dinner menu, as it was difficult to find restaurants that were open in early May.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Good free breakfast. Beautifully renovated rooms. Phenomenal view of Matterhorn!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Hotel Welschen was perfect for our visit to attend Zermatt Unplugged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got upgraded on arrival to a room with a view of the Matterhorn which was an added bonus to our stay in this lovely hotel. The staff couldn’t have been kinder, happily taking us from and to the station and sourcing a lovely bouquet of flowers for my partner to give me for my birthday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Higly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -

    Very kindly staff from owners to cleaning staff. The view on Matterhorn from a hotel is one of the best you can get. If you come to Zermatt from Täsch with a train the owners pick you up with their electrical mini van (you can't drive your own car in Zermatt!) and back for free. Hotel is very cousy, you can easily access to Zermatt–Sunnegga Funicular by foot in just 2 min getting downstairs from the hotel. You have skis in digitally locked locker (no extra key need). Breakfast area with great view on Matterhorn.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Excellent place to relax after skiing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna is the best! The room was large and comfortable. Meal for breakfasts was very tasty and different. Personnel very nice and friendly. Thanks a lot!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Don't even think, just book!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything that I didn't like about this place. It was 100% excellent. We will be back.

    Superb location (5min walk to town and Sunnegga ski lift is directly accessible via steps from hotel) . Extremely comfortable and immaculately clean. Super friendly and helpful owners and staff who couldn't have done more to ensure our stay was amazing! The breakfast is fantastic as well and the lounge area with open fire is so cosy. We also made use of the beautiful spa facilities which are well worth a visit!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    (1) Free pickup from/to Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    (1) Free pickup from/to Station (2) Rich and tasty breakfast and nice receptionist (3) Lovely and elegant room with incredible Matterhorn mountain view and excellent modern style bath room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    (1) Free pickup from/to Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    (1) Free pickup from/to Station (2) Rich and tasty breakfast and nice receptionist (3) Lovely and elegant room with incredible Matterhorn mountain view and excellent modern style bath room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in great location with Matterhorn view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No internal elevator but we were on first floor so it didn't really matter to us.

    Good breakfast, clean and tidy rooms, we had Matterhorn view room which was great. Staff transported us to train station on departure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no view from Budget studio which located at a different building. There is a new hotel build directly in front of the studio units. But hotel main building still has the best Matterhorn view.

    Good location. Not very far from the train station. Their is fetching service. Just email them your arrival time before hand.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Perfect hotel in zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. A little bit far from railway station

    Very good hotel with stunning matterhorn view. Nice staff.perfect breakfast. Full facilities in your room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice stay with great view of the Matterhorn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is above town near the train station with a wonderful view of the Matterhorn from the breakfast room. There are rooms with that wonderful view as well. Breakfast area is very nice and there are lots of nice decorative touches to the place. We appreciated being picked up and delivered from/to the train station though the walk would not be a long one. Also it's immediately above and next door to the Sunegga/Blauherd/Rothorn rides which give you excellent views of the Matterhorn as well as the start of the 5 Lakes Hike.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Love this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Everthing. Very cozy hotel. The view of Matterhorn from the balcony of our room is amazing. The staff was nice and friendly. The location is great, in a silent place but not far from railway station and main street. The facility is new and complete. I will definitely stay in this hotel again if I go to Zermatt again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    A hotel that punches above its weight class!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wouldn't change a thing! There was construction happening next door but v. little noise and they didn't start working until late-morning.

    Matterhorn facing balcony is the real deal offering unobstructed views of the mountain! Staff is v. friendly and accommodating! Can't imagine hotel is more than a few yrs old (if that) so everything is new and works!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful clean modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom layout was unusual with a wall of glass between the bathroom and the bed with just a curtain on the bedroom side for privacy.

    Beautiful clean modern hotel. Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Great view of the Matterhorn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting is a bit dim - a few more lights in the room would be good.

    Great view of the Matterhorn! If you book a room with a Matterhorn view, that is exactly what you get. Worth paying the extra as it is right there outside the balcony. Friendly service, great staff especially the lady doing breakfasts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Good views and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We missed having a little bar inside of the hotel to have a drink before going to bed. The living room is very sweet so it could have been excellent to finish the night with a glass of wine right there.

    The view from the restaurant was excellent! We could see the Matterhorn while enjoying a nice healthy breakfast. The rooms were comfortable, it had some magazines for entertainment and a courtesy bottle of water. The hotel was well situated, not even 5 min walking to the main street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Very warm and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hardly can think of anything. I have only good things to share abt this hotel.

    Very warm and friendly staff. The man who I assumed was the owner, picked us up from the station to the hotel late at night. It was so kind of him. Also he answered our emails very quickly when we thought we would miss a train we were supposed to take. So communication with this hotel was beyond excellent! They have a very very cosy restaurant for breakfast which I loved, and also there was a lovey guest room. Our room faced Mt Matterhorn which I have no words to describe how amazing and breathtaking that was. My friend actually took shots of the galaxy at night which was a highlight of our trip! Definitely recommended, and I will stay here again if I visit Zermatt again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Nice small family hotel in walking distance to the center...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice small family hotel in walking distance to the center and train station. Very clean, large rooms, friendly staff. Rich breakfast buffet. Shuttle service to the train station. Gladly again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view of the Matterhorn from our room. Wonderful breakfast included. Transportation to and from train station. Staff was wonderful; we will definitely return!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Zermatt is a total delight and Hotel Welschen added to it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we didnt like

    The Breakfast Room had a great view of the Matterhorn. The Gentleman and Lady who own the Hotel were very helpful. (Forgot to ask their names) The lady has great taste and she had put such delightfully decorative touches in different corners, from candles, to dry flowers, to cuddly cushions and whatever is the Swiss equivalent of leprechauns! Our room had full glass french windows opening out onto a little lawn. Unfortunately a new building is coming up just in front. However if we moved 5 steps forward we could see the Matterhorn. The mountain is the most beautiful mountain in the world ( and we have seen MANY mountains) whether in full sunshine or after a storm, looking dark and mystical...ever present long after we will be gone!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Excellent, excellent, excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm not sure if this is a feature of the hairdryer or the bathroom, but the hairdryer switches off after being in use for a certain number of minutes and you'll need to wait a few minutes for it to 'power back up'.

    Hotel Welschen was hands down the best hotel we stayed in on our honeymoon. Breakfast was simple but very satisfying, location of the property was excellent (about a 6min walk from the train station), room was a good size, beds were very comfortable, bathroom was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    5.4
    Misleading description
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property located 500 meters from the train station, not 100 meters as advertised. Property advertises spa facilities that have to be paid for separately, and are unaccessible 5 days out of 7.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.5
    Hosts picked us up from the railway station and offered to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is good. However, initial photo of hotel location is deceptive, in that it is not surrounded by natural landscape but by other buildings.

    Hosts picked us up from the railway station and offered to transport us there on our departure. Breakfast excellent. Views from the dining room excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    The location was great, perfectly tucked away in the foot of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was great, perfectly tucked away in the foot of the Matterhorn, within walking distance from the railway station and the village centre. The owners, Christian and Marlene, are extremely warm and friendly people, they made sure our stay was comfortable. We loved the aesthetically done interiors of the hotel, the little garden, and how beautifully they have preserved the character of the old Valaisan house. Really liked the breakfast buffet as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    nice view, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got the room with a balcony facing directly to the Matterhorn. Our first day was a sunny day, and we really enjoyed the view. The staffs are very helpful, especially the senior gentleman who checked us in, who also offered us free ride to the train station the day we checked out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    The excellent standard of accommodation, extremely helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    The excellent standard of accommodation, extremely helpful Owners and staff and the position looking straight onto the Matterhorn from our bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cosy and nice; had a really good sleep. Staff were very welcoming. Great view of the Matterhorn from the front of the hotel. Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Perfect stay in Zermatt
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing what could be evalute negatively.

    Pleasant big room with quality furnishings, great view from window - Matterhorn, free hotel electrotaxi from and to railway station, nice public interiers with cosy atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Delicious breakfast, gorgeous mountain views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was really beautiful and the room comfortable and clean. It's in a great location. The breakfast in the morning was superb! I highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    Great location just above the Sunnega station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Construction in front of our apartment blocks the view to whatever was behind it (might be mountains) but no construction noise was noticeable. Room decoration is simple, nothing fancy yet comfortable.

    Great location just above the Sunnega station. Nice breakfast, clean warm and friendly staff. Room is very practical with what you need should you decide to cook something. Picked us up from the train station on arrival and dropped us off when we left.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.6
    Amazingly awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What i didn't like is we have to leave

    We were impressed by how warm we were welcomed by the owner. I informed him that we will just walk from the train station to the hotel but got surprised when he showed up. Although the owner said I chose a room without a view, for me our room was more than perfect.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    10
    The bed pillows and Duve were awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I wish TV was positioned more conveniently, but it's minor non important issue

    The Owner of the hotel is very efficient, friendly and generally a sound man

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    6.7
    Last minute booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic small single room. Felt like 2 stars. Highly overpriced ( approx. 150 €/night). In close proximity to other buildings. Unheated ski room/ garage. Average continental breakfast. Stairs no lift to rooms.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Location : close to ski lifts and ski rental service. Tea/ coffee facilities (electric kettle).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.1
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far away from train station, we arrived after 6pm and walked for about 15-20mins from train station. We booked a room with Matterhorn view, however, the view was partly blocked by construction work outside. A bit disappointed. No elevator inside, quite difficult to carry our luggages from lobby to our room on 3rd floor. But overall it is good.

    A very nice and warm wooden house with friendly staff. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    9.2
    It was a good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was ok, but not impressive.

    It was a good place to stay. As great as expected. The location is a little far from the main station, but they will drive you back and forth.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    9.6
    Well located not too far from main train station and station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well located not too far from main train station and station to geometry. Very nice breakfast. Room spotless and very comfortable. Room and Common areas very tastefully decorated. Nice to have water kettle and tea in the room. Friendly and welcoming staff. No hesitation to return to this hotel. I wish I knew about the convenient elevator to the side entrance of the hotel before I lugged my luggage up to the front entrance. There is a sign clearly marked..I just wasn't paying attention. Overall good value.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    A Charming Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing Not to like.

    The hosts, all three, were friendly and helpful, we were even given an early breakfast and lift to the train station. Our room was spacious and had a balcony view of the Matterhorn which was stunning. The breakfast was delicious with a good variety of food and we also liked the decor of the hotel. A charming place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    An Alpine feel in Zermatt!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great. The hotel had a real nice alpine feel to it. Breakfast was included and was delicious. I would definitely recommend it to family and friends. The owner was personable and helpful. Make sure you know to call the hotel when you get there because a van comes to pick you up!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    9.2
    I really liked cozy and beautiful decoration of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no minibar. The chair in the terrace was not clean.

    I really liked cozy and beautiful decoration of the hotel. My room was number 2 and it has great view of Mattehorn. Very kind reception.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    Loved the Welschen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being charged for water (even tap!!!) in every restaurant (other than the Welschen) you go to (but that is really an ongoing issue with Europe and Switzerland [with all their water] in particular)!

    This was the only accommodations we had, out of 8, on a 22 day trip that actually provided transportation from the train station, and, at no extra charge! The Welschen family & staff are beyond friendly, you feel like you are home. We stayed in the 'annex' building which directly connects to the main building via an almost private elevator. Our wood paneled room felt like a cottage in the woods. Despite construction next door we were not at all disturbed by noise or debris, security throughout the property was exemplary (especially the 'James Bond'ish entry from the lower level garage'. We found ourselves enjoying a slightly inclement morning in the living room like sitting area (lobby?) quietly reading until the sun came out in time for lunch (almost wished it had continued to rain!). There are little details throughout that keep catching your eye including family pictures of the Welschen's going back generations. They had by far one of the best breakfast assortments we had in a beautiful dinning room with a killer view of the Matterhorn. Zermot is easy to navigate on foot and the Matterhorn is viewable from town! This is a walker, hiker, runner, bicycling paradise! You can catch a cog train from town to Gornergrat to catch an awesome view of the Matterhorn up close & personal!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.2
    Lovely room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic view of the Matterhorn. Very friendly staff who are happy to help. Breakfast is quite good. Nice clean room that was fairly spacious for a double.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    8.8
    A very present stay at Zermatt and a lot for sight seeing and sport around the Matterhorn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far away from train station and we spent efforts to reach the hotel on foot with heavy luggages

    The direct view of the Matterhorn from the balcony of the room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    10
    A place I would gladly recommend as better than 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent room with a magnificent view. The view of Matterhorn from the balcony was breathtaking. What makes the place even more memorable is the exceptional service. They take customer care very seriously. With a whole hearted smile all through and help with even the smallest things such as moving your luggage. We stayed there for our honeymoon and my birthday was the next day. Coming back from the Matterhorn, we were welcomed with a lovely gift pack of pralines. Excellent room, service, breakfast and cleanliness. We would recommend this place without hesitation.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful time in zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little further from the main strip (which I loved) but I could see how some people wouldn't like walking so far. It's much quieter, i loved it!

    Excellent bed, excellent food- staff made you feel right at home. Very convenient to the train station.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    Friendly comfortable hotel with great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it.

    Family run hotel. Lovely view of the Matterhorn from the bedroom window. Very friendly staff and beautiful decor also the owner dropped us off at the station when we were leaving lovely service.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    The golden Matterhorn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel close to all the main attractions. We were contacted prior to arrival and collected from the train. Views from the room were magnificent. The owners were so friendly and helpful. A beautiful town. Loved everything

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.7
    View of the Matterhorn was fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger room, more amenities (like body lotion), ability to watch TV somewhere other than the bed.

    View of the Matterhorn was fabulous!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful little hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful little hotel .. great service very friendly staff , beautiful breakfast, lovely place to visit

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Staff is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool

    Staff is amazing!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Wow
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The Town, The Hotel, The People,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Hospitable staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitable staff. Modern and comfortable, family feel. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    They pick and drop frok the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little small. No kitchen for post breakfast requests.

    They pick and drop frok the station. Friendly staff. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic view of Matterhorn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was tops

    Staff and services were excellent Room and help getting aroundwere great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Have a great view to see Matterhorn, the room is super clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have a great view to see Matterhorn, the room is super clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Thanks for the Vegan breakfast, we love it very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thanks for the Vegan breakfast, we love it very much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    View from the rooms offering views of the Matterhorn are to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View from the rooms offering views of the Matterhorn are to die for!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had an alpine style the decor of the hotel was modern and cosy at the same time. Staff was super friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Excellent service
    • Group
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    5 star service, very happy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Room and breakfast very good but staff are exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints.

    This is one of my favourite hotels anywhere; the staff are outstanding, friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely family run hotel with all the amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be more comfortable to have a double bed rather than two singles pushed together

    Beautiful view great breakfast and very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    It was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs were a bit difficult with bags but staff helped

    Nice customer service, fantastic view!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    The staff was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. We felt very welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    matterhorn view, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    matterhorn view, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    9
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything and view 👌

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: