Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Wildbach 2 stars

Wildbach 1149, 3855 Brienz, Switzerland

#21 of 27 hotels in Brienz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 124 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is on a main road with no local services. Room was small and not particularly comfortable and the hotel is generally very tired and in need of modernisation/refurbishment. Facilities were limited and the breakfast choice was not great. Staff were efficient, but not particularly welcoming or friendly. May be better in the summer, but in October the hotel was dull and depressing. We checked out early.

    Nice views of Lake Brienz. Hotel was generally clean and tidy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One thing is that we could have been provided with a fridge, just to keep water, beverages and snacks cool. This was the only negative we could think of for this room.

    This hotel completely made our holiday whilst staying in Switzerland. We also stayed in Zurich and Basel, yet this was by far the best. The staff were really friendly, the room was kept really clean, fresh glasses and towels were brought to us everyday. We requested a room with a balcony and lake view and it was INCREDIBLE. We couldn't have asked for a better view in the world. This hotel was totally worth the amount we payed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situation on the lakeside with wonderful mountain views from our balcony. The trains passing nearby didn't bother us -as we had at first feared. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually, the hotel itself is amazing. And the owner is so kind and helpful. But there is some little thing that I would love to suggest to the owner. So, he might improve it for the next arrival guests. - The heater in the room is very old and bad. It went on and off all night long. So, it was extremely cold that we couldn't sleep even the owner of the hotel already provided us lots of blankets. - The pillows are very very uncomfortable. It is too big and thin. - The breakfast is lack of various kinds of food. But I wouldn't blame the hotel because it was only around 8 guests. So, it would pointless to have lots of food.

    - The owner is very kind and helpful. :) - The view from the room is breathtaking. - The restaurant. Dinner is awesome. - The decoration of the room and entire building.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay and thought it was absolutely fine.

    Very helpful staff. Delicious dinner menu with good selection of wines available. Very comfy beds and window shutters that really shut out the light. Previous guests made negative comments about noise but we found it very quiet. The trains that pass by are not intrusive at all. Taxi to Brienz centre cost CHF15.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner is very arrogant! You don't feel welcome there at all. He complains about not having enough guest. Well, no wonder!

    The waitress was very kind and friendly. Beautiful lake few.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only improvement we could identify was providing fans in the rooms. We just happened to visit on a very hot part of the summer and having something to bring the cool air into the rooms would have been nice.

    Being right on the lake was great with the fantastic view. The food at the restaurant was delicious and the staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. Our family room was quite comfortable with a great balcony. The train does travel right next to the hotel, but we did not find the noise to be an issue.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The location is not exactly on the lake, but on the other side of the road, and there is also a railway above it (beware of the noise). - Double check the number of beds in advance, because if you order an extra bed and discover that you don't need it, you will still have to pay for it. - If you paid a deposit in advance, please check (during checkout) that it's subtracted from the total price, or you'll end up paying it again (this happened to us) and will need to ask for money back.

    - The lake is gorgeous in any kind of weather! - Local Swiss food is very good, although it's not for everyone to like.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It´s my third time here and it is one of the best places to be as a start point for exploration of the area, if you like hiking, high mountains, and don´t forget the lakes too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room they gave us which is very small and dose not have 2 floors level as mentioned in the booking.com website as family room. Even the stuff are not customer oriented at all! When I asked them to change the room with the one mentioned in my reservation, they said it is not available, and we don't have such a room .. They said this is just a pictures at booking.com website. It is so expensive for such a small room in 2 stars hotel.

    Only location is great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were really not happy with this hotel- the actual hotel and rooms looked different when compared with the pictures on booking.com the location is not set on the lake as it looks- it is above. There is also a train track right next to the hotel and trains run late into the evening.The rooms were outdated and the restaurant was overpriced and awful. Our main problem with this hotel was that the manager was the rudest man We have ever met. On checking into the hotel - he began talking about me and impersonating me to another member of staff in German where He took the p*** out of our surname. He also walked away half way through checking me in and passes me onto another member of staff!! (This member of staff was very nice and obviously knew that the manager was an arsehole) We decided to go for our evening meal in the restaurant - the food was terrible. The manager who we had met earlier on also turned out to be the chef(!)- he kept coming out to check on guests and there food and was very rude and quite intimidating if you did not finish your meal or if you did not like it. This hotel could be amazing- I think Gordon Ramsey needs to come in and sort it out.

    There was one waitress who was very nice and the view was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit further from Brienz than we had expected. Lighting in bedroom made reading in bed difficult.

    The staff were friendly. The room with balcony was lovely and the views from the hotel were stunning.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location. Friendly and very helpful staff. We would definitely recommend this property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner/general manager - he is rude and not customer service oriented.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not fault any aspect of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in the room position

    Swimming in the lake

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner of this hotel is very poor metality and the behavior was so bad

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very long walk from the train station- 35 mins pulling suitcases along the highway

    Lovely view

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly helpful staff, clean comfortable room with great view of lake and Alps from balcony . Although just outside of town still a good location on lake with small public beach across road from Hotel

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    breakfast was poor.not complete.i reserved a family room with lake view but they alocate me another room not pleasant.personel was rude.they charge me more than what was agreed with booking.com.

    the location was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very rude receptionist (the owner of the two star hotel) and surprisingly he is the chef. We were unwelcomed by him. My kids spent the first night with no electricity in the room. I called the night manager for help with no response. Certainly not recommended for families. Place is scary and not safe after 9PM. I Strongly recommend to remove this hotel from Booking.com

    Hotel was very close to the lake.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    hotel staff / owner unfriendly, not with welcoming attitude to guest, reminding us to return the key in a strange way. no info on wifi, towels very hard, and bed sheets a bit smelly. breakfast very minimum, not even serving croissant. for CHF280 per night serms over priced

    nice view

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The place was clean, historic and had a lot of wood carving that is typical of this area. The dining room was rustic and cozy.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A little bit far away from the village

    Tranquilo, vista bonita, buen desayuno, peaceful place, nice view, good breakfast, easy access to the lake

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic views from hotel balcony. Great food.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Access by car for the suitcases was not easy to find first; traffic infront

    the room, which was spacious and had a nice view

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    My short stay

    View

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: