Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel zum Spalenbrunnen 3 stars

Schützenmattstrasse 2, Vorstädte, 4051 Basel, Switzerland

#53 of 56 hotels in Basel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 720 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Basel was a great place to visit for a mid summer short break. Hotel met our requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location. Easy walking distance to the old town and the river. Pleasant room with a view of one of the old town gates. Good continental breakfast to start the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Basel is an exelent historic place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very close to the main tramline so you do not need an early morning call.

    The staff were helpful, the hotel location is good for transport links, the main sightseeing area is only a short walk away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Large room with spacious ensuite - much nicer than the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite old fashioned but everything worked OK.

    Large room with spacious ensuite - much nicer than the room we had last time. Proprietor was very helpful in finding us car parking. Plenty of choice for continental breakfast with healthy options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, good location close to centre and great public transport right outside the door. Good as a base to explore the city and surrounding area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    gentelman at the front desk was very nice and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The picture shown on the website is not an accurate representation. When we arrived, we found an unkept building, the sign didn't fully turn on at night. We were expecting a better kept front of the building. Also, there was a constant curry smell in the hotel.

    gentelman at the front desk was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location. Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would've liked a fridge in the room but the staff provided ice upon request, so can't really complain. Parking was two streets away so we didn't use it in the end, but if we had been staying for longer this would be been fine. Wish we'd had more time there.

    Perfect location. Walking distance to everything. Parking available at extra cost. Lovely Indian restaurant in the hotel. Really lovely area too, hotel building is interesting and lovely fountain right outside. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    We had an excellent stay, perfect for short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities basic and dated. No information in rooms re: breakfast, tv etc.

    Good value for money in very good location. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and beds comfy. Plenty of room in bedroom and bathroom. Quiet location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    No
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were cleaned every day. Linens changed, rugs vacuumed but the used glasses were never replaced. We has to wash out our glasses each day so we could us them. Never stayed anywhere before that they didn't replace the used glasses each day.

    Clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Location- easy to find and close to the Rhine river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had no light in the shower area. The furniture needs maintenance.

    Location- easy to find and close to the Rhine river. The host is very kind allowed us to store our bikes inside safely. The beds and room was nice but could be better in quality.stayed overnight so I didn't really bother a lot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Spacious rooms, friendly staff, comfy bed and the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom could be updated, but everything was clean and working so no real issue just in relation to how it looked.

    Spacious rooms, friendly staff, comfy bed and the location is fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing - left me feeling very chilled!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't eat at the hotel, so difficult to comment on anything other than the bedroom. The only comment I have is the lack of sockets near a mirror.

    Great friendly hosts - very helpful. Excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.0
    Would not recommend or stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far too hot, rooms very dated, no milk for a tea/coffee. Bathrooms are dark in the shower area. The hotel smelled of the restaurant attached. Nobody on reception when we first arrived so we were locked out for 5/10 minutes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Helpful staff, good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was comfortable and a good size, staff were very helpful, I left behind my make up case, the hotel called me to inform me and ask for my details so they could send it to me, excellent service 😁

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Terrific location and very good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The duvets are incredibly warm! Had to sleep with the window open which is fine but noisy when the traffic starts up, otherwise very quiet.

    The hotel is quite basic, but the location is excellent, and the value, at least at spring season's prices, is excellent too. I didn't have breakfast, but there are lots of cafés and restaurants in the area, including the hotel's Indian restaurant. The room was bright and spacious, as was the bathroom, with a lift, very comfortable time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    A favorable stay in Basel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Usually the staff was not at reception and you must wait until he/she came to the reception

    The staff was polite, room was clean and the worth its star rating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money very close to the Old City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no coffee in the room. No light in the shower.

    The room was warm and spacious, with a big window and plenty of illumination. There is an elevator, which you don't find in every old building. Early checkout did not cause any problem. There are two restaurants just downstairs, one in the hotel itself, and a small comfort store across the street. The receptionist explained us the way in detail and gave us a free public transport ticket (hotel card). Pay attention: if you plan to visit the famous Basel Zoo, this hotel card gives you 50% discount, which makes Fr.11 per person. Same goes for museums. The location is within the historic part of the town, couple of hundred yards from the Old City proper. The Old City of Basel is lively and has some really old buildings.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.8
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pictures on site were misleading. Basel is an expensive destination so the value for money issue is not entirely the hotels fault, but if I'm paying over £100/night I expect better than this

    Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    Location of the hotel and the building is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every morning, you wake up with Indian food scent :) There was no mini-fridge in the room.

    Location of the hotel and the building is very good. Also, they give you Basel card for all tram and bus transportation. It also makes 50% discount for -I think- all museums. Heat of the room was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    A short stay at an economic hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could be cleaner and lavatory faucet was not working properly... So it is ok for just a short trip...

    The hotel is quite close to the downtown and the heating system works very well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    5.8
    I expected a bit better conditions and a good internet connection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet connection was terrible, fungus was in the bathroom, mattress was noisy, so I woke up each time I started turning to other side, room window was without nice view (pointing inside the building, so I saw all my neighbors' windows)

    I liked good location, big room, teapot in the room, so we have hot tea whenever we wanted, big bathroom with a window, it was warm and I could change heating settings

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    Perfect place to see in the new year in Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and decor fairly basic but clean and comfortable.

    Helpful staff, very close to old city and tram stop. The Indian restaurant looked very interesting but we didn't have time to try it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    Given the price level in Basel, this was reasonable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given the price level in Basel, this was reasonable prive/value offer, thoug it was very simply equipped and small room. The distance to the center is convinient, in walking distance to all must-see places.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Really warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Thank you!

    Really warm. Nice spacious room with comfortable beds. It was really quiet. Close to restaurants and walking distance to the main shopping centre and some historical landmarks. Easy check in and good breakfast! Worth the money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.1
    Ok for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hair dryer Inadequate tea and coffee in room there was no milk or spoon and only one bottle of water for two of us The glass for coffee was not changed or cleaned over the two nights , And no more water was left for second night stay.

    Location was great Towels and room was clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    4.6
    Perfect location but too expensive for the offered conditions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was really expensive comparing to what you get. The room was really old and noisy, because you hear the neighbor from the other room. It was a little stinky as well. The double bed was actually not a double but two single beds.

    The best of this accommodation is the location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    6.3
    Functional value hotel in good location but with tired decor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor clearly hadn't been updated in decades. Breakfast was pre-added to the bill. It was optional and if I asked it would be removed, but to pre-add it is a little presumptuous.

    Great location. Close to university and the city. Basel is an expensive city so it was decent value given the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.0
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has a very strong 'aroma' of Indian cooking throughout - for this reason we decided not to take our breakfast there. Bedrooms overlooking the street very noisy in the mornings. Whilst pretty basic, the room and the bed were clean. Dodgy-looking wiring and inaccessible power points. Bathroom also clean but decor truly horrible.

    Hotel staff were willing and friendly although not particularly well-informed about local facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    Great value. Close to transportation and downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't much furniture in the room and the bathroom was older although it was clean. Some noise from public transit at night.

    The room was large and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Good location in Basel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little dated but functional, clean and spacious.

    Good basic facilities in a handy location. Very helpful staff. Supermarket just up the road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    5.4
    OK but left early to book into hotel with more facilities
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    No telephone in the room, no computer or printer for guest use, dim lights in room, low number of `TV channels, breakfast not very exciting

    Comfortable bed and pillows

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    A great location in Basel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was plain but functional.

    Helpful, friendly staff. Excellent location near Spalenbrunnen and Spalentor. Quick walk to old town and river. Supermarket close by. Lively university quarter.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the internet connection was a bit erratic but I got over that problem by sitting on the stairs near the router!!

    The location was excellent. I appreciated the transport pass.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Friendly staff, shower was very good, quiet room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not recommended for people with small children as the windows opened right out, which was great for me to let the room air, but would have been scarey if I had young family.

    Friendly staff, shower was very good, quiet room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    WiFi was very jumpy, kept losing connection and had low...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi was very jumpy, kept losing connection and had low bandwidth. Internet access was severely compromised in the afternoon/evening, but was working relatively well in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Good location for exploring old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one in reception when we arrived. Had to phone and follow instructions to get key from box. Rather disconcerting. Better to be greeted by a friendly face.

    Good Indian restaurant. Late check out allowed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    not a luxy hotel, and has the old style room, but really...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not a luxy hotel, and has the old style room, but really clean, comfortable and big space in the room. Staff in the reception really friendly! The price in Swiss is really cheap, and has this quality is enough to good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location and very friendly reception staff but the hotel leaves much to be desired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room (room 6) was badly in need of updating. The lampshade was stained, a window catch was broken and the whole room looked tired. The water pressure was extremely low and the bathroom is dark - when having a shower it was difficult to see properly. Tea was provided but no milk and, unusually, no coffee.

    The location is superb, a three minute walk from the old town from where you can stroll down to the Rhein.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    for a simple overnight with no expectations it was a...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    for a simple overnight with no expectations it was a surprisingly nice, cosy, fabulously located hotel. We didn't know that all public transports at arrival an departure are free! Amazing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.1
    Centrally located but a bit outdated
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old-fashion, the rooms need some updating (old-fashioned furniture and wall paper), very old bathroom. Reception is only open at certain hours.

    Excellent location, central, and near lots of interesting things to see in Basel. Very quiet hotel, and rooms face a wall, so definitely no noise in rooms. Very spacious room and bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.7
    Very dated decor and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very dated decor and facilities. Looked like something out of the 1960s. Staff was friendly and helpful. Switzerland is incredibly expensive, prepare for sticker shock.....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.3
    Perfect for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con and noisy street when windows were open. A bit of a trek from the train station (20 min walk).

    Nice neighbourhood. Lots of restaurants nearby and not too far to Marktplatz and centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    4.2
    Location was great, free public-transport ticket was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioning, cleaning lady barging in before 9 o'clock, reception absent most of the time.

    Location was great, free public-transport ticket was outstanding, good shower, good bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.7
    Good enough. No AC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was tiny, and dark. The controls were dangerously located so that bumping into them would scald you. Temperature was poorly adjustable. The toilet seat was cheap and loose. Ugly tile.

    Excellent location and transportation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    3.8
    hotel needs interior updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms apparently have not been updated since 1950, everything was very, very old and dated. The room did not have enough lighting, the carpet was old, the hallways narrow, the entry had worn out couches and was dingy, and the staff was often hard to find. The man at reception desk was nice and very helpful with providing maps, arranging a taxi and printing our boarding passes. but everyone else was cordial but not friendly. The breakfast was a continental only, no warm food, and the restaurant served only food from India. Not what we expected. Also, there was only a fan in the room, no air conditioning, so it was hot in the room in June. And add to that it was way overpriced. We would not stay here again.

    The location was very close to the tram stops which provided easy access to everything in the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Overall we were happy with our stay at the hotel in Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff could have been more friendly and helpful

    We loved the facilities at the hotel and it's location. Walking distant to the old town and we enjoyed walking to the market in the old town for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.9
    Good location next to the medieval town, easily accessible...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel and the room are quite basic, however, it is OK for this price in Switzerland

    Good location next to the medieval town, easily accessible from railway station by tram or walking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.2
    A charming stay in Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom had a light but the shower part didn't, so the showers somewht dark.

    Charming and historic both in the bulding and the surroundings, good location, comfortable and clean room, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and first rate service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses in our room were a little bit soft, which made for uncomfortable sleeping.

    This was a solid three star property. Service and staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Couldn't have asked for more there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    7.9
    No issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception was only manned from 08:00 for check-out - would have preferred it being available earlier.

    No issues. Didn't take the breakfast option as was a bit dear. Free public transport ticket was a bonus and very useful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    6.3
    Very practical location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was weak-unstable. Also, and probably before of location and my cell phone provider, connection to cell phone network was bad. This second is NOT the hotel's fault of course

    Very practical location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    Excellent stay at this lovely establishment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to be really honest.

    Pretty much everything was great. I had an excellent stay at this lovely establishment and the owner/manager was really helpful. Was having some problems with the Internet connectivity which he promptly resolved within two hours time. The rooms itself was really nicely designed. The location is very close to some nice touristic attractions and the tram which runs close by is only very faintly perceptible in the background. The room was also well heated.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.1
    Not bad, but not worth the high price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - when my friend and i checked in, we were told by the man at the desk we could pay for breakfast separately in the morning. That morning, another staff memberwas behind it and she said we had to pay in advance. Put simply: two different staff members told us contradictory things, and as a result we had to grab a small breakfast elsewhere having planned to have it at the hotel. Unnecessary inconvenience - the "free wifi" was awful. constantly cut out for extended periods - very thin walls. I could hear other guests in the small hours. struggled to get any sleep

    - very good location on a nice and fairly quiet street. Proximal to a tram stop and not far from foot from the main attractions - vending machine was very helpful - the free transport pass is definitely a welcome addition

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    6.7
    Great location in the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was unconfortable and noisy. The staff was really nice and polite. The second day of our reservation the room was not cleaned. At a hotel in this price range daily maid service is expected.

    Great location in the old city.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    6.7
    Friendly staff, good continental breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very poor lighting in the bedroom, especially the shower which was in darkness. Soft, lumpy and rather uncomfortable mattress.

    Friendly staff, good continental breakfast. Convenient for the tram line and the university, a short walk to the city center.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    A good place in Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place doesn't have a glossy foyer, so get over that bit and you will find a clean, friendly place to stay. Very close to some really good museums and shopping. We loved it! Had dinner in the downstairs Madir Indian restaurant where the locals turned up in numbers to experience fresh spices in abundance. Great value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.2
    Nice place to see Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reseption wasnt working from early hour so we couldnt get a texi from the hotel for the airport.

    Located close to the central district. The room was very big and we got upgraded to king size bad.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Not to expensive ( to Swiss standards) average quality hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise no climatisation

    Very kind staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    Staff were very friendly. The hotel was a little 'tired' but we still came back for a second visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were a little small but probably what you would expect in a large city. It was handy for the bus to the station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no plug in in bathroom. No air conditioning. No hair dryer.

    Breakfast was good. Towels were nice. Staff was nice and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outdated facilities - some lights did not work

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Resonable price.Comfortable stay.Very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They have to change some beds,doors etc because they are realy old....

    Spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.0
    The room and bathroom were spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were spacious. Good location on edge of old town. Quite quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Would stay again due to cleanliness and location! A good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t figure out where the offer was in the morning. But i’m sure it was there-i just didn’t ask.

    Location was the best.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location & very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location & very helpful staff. Room perfectly good for a budget price hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Great location for very good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular.

    Customer service. Staff very friendly. View from the room to old town. Location is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    very good location and very quiet at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet tank top cracked and no electric outlet in washroom for electric razor.

    Good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.8
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom, windows no air, smell

    Dated needs upgrade

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Good choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, very comfortable and clean room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Property said rooms have irons and they didn't.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Cute style hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    Not worth 3 stars nor CHF98 for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, ruined bathroom.

    Staff was super nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    Great stay!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi signal is not strong

    Very friendly staffs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    short but very nice stay in a great and beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great location and friendly staff!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Good value good location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Excellent in every way .
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    Excellent in every way . 2 minutes walk from the station and 1 minute from an good restaurant .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is nice, close to city centre and staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: