Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Zunfthaus zu Wirthen 3 stars

Hauptgasse 41, 4500 Solothurn, Switzerland

#5 of 13 hotels in Solothurn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 274 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel/Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Solomon, who ran the front desk to waiting tables, spoke English and went out of his way to answer all our questions, helped with the parking, menu, and even loaned us a phone charger made our stay there an awesome one. Location was great and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Spacious room and large beds, clean, comfortable (slippers,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious room and large beds, clean, comfortable (slippers, toileteries), coffee machine in the room, welcome drink, very friendly and helpful personnel at reception and breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location, in the centre of the city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small room, the bed and pillow were uncomfortable. The reception and restaurant are closed on Sunday and Monday.

    Great location, in the centre of the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    I loved this hotel because it is very welcoming for a woman travelling alone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet connection wasn't working the first night and because it was Fastnacht, I couldn't get a table in the restaurant however I was recommended other restaurants nearby. Would have liked a kettle and teabags being English.

    I was upgraded to a double room with two double beds and bathroom with bath. The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. There was a high quality coffee machine which I didn't know how to use until shown. The manager's father worked for an hour to get me connected to the internet. His wife went to make me a cup of tea as I had missed dinner. The breakfast was delicious and beautifully set out. The hotel is very warm and cosy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    A warm, friendly family-run hotel with a lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done with an extra pillow and a kettle for tea. There was no tea and I am English! Internet wasn't working but the manager's father spent over an hour trying to connect me. He went out of his way to help.

    I was upgraded to a double room with bath but each bed was a double. Very comfortable, quiet and clean. Lots of hot water and attentive staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in the old part of Solothurn
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is situated in the old part of town, only 5 minutes away from the central train station. The room was comfy and clean, it had everything needed. The hotel does't have its own parking, but the big parking (with payment) is only 2 minutes away from hotel. The hotel staff was wonderful and the services they provided were outstanding as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    overall a very enjoyable stay.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nearby clock tower, which struck every 1/4 of the hour!!! Nearest parking facility quite a distance away and very expensive!!

    The croissants were very buttery, the breads like home made, the Bircher Muesli fantastic. Two queen size beds in the very big room, comfortable lounge set.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    It was beyond my expectations, everything was brilliant and will see you soon! Thank you!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I don't like about that Hotel!!!

    I love everything about it, It's welcoming and people are friendly and the hotel is very clean! I will be going back soon! All the staff were fantastic, but a guy called Solomon was brilliant and the hospitality he Showed Us made me love the Hotel More! Thank you all, keep it us!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Enjoyed my stay and will return there.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central in historical town. Front Desk A1. Room spacious & clean. Restaurant and service A1

    Central in a historical town, front desk A1, restaurant and servce A1

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly personnel , great location, beautiful hotel and restaurant , perfect for our getaway.Also Supplied a gluten free for breakfast on request.We can highly recommend !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.1
    Fantastic location. Don't book a front room unless prepared to sleep with windows closed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front side room was extremely noisy (church bell, deliveries and drunken people from midnight to 02.00 hours + start market traffic noise at 06.00hrs). Really can't sleep with open window. Narrow rooms (2m?); the 1.40 wide bed is hardly accessible from both sides. Parking in garage just outside old city is OK but access to garage was first denied and later solved.

    Location is fantastic. Middle of old town. The back room we changed to in de 2nd night was fantastic; spacious with two comfortable beds of 1.40m each. Very friendly reception.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice welcome drink was offered by Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice welcome drink was offered by Hotel. Very friendly staff at the desk and in the restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    Even on a business trip, you can travel back five centuries...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of the restaurant and the nice habit of a free welcome drink.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Coffee machine was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit warm and slightly noisy.

    Coffee machine was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.1
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise outside

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Good overall!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little bit small, bed against the wall.

    Love this place, central location in Solothurn, very friendly staff, very good restaurant!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel offered a parking space for our bikes.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    10
    Vey goo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vey goo

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    7.5
    La camera in centro e la grandezza
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    L'entrata e la reception

    La camera in centro e la grandezza

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect!!! Can't say anything more!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.8
    Really comfy, good value hotel right in the heart of the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really comfy, good value hotel right in the heart of the old town.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    10
    Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendly, clean room. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    8.8
    Great value in the heart of Solothurn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great position right in the heart of Solothurn. Fantastic breakfast with the most delicious bread I've ever tasted!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    8.3
    Location is very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Mattress and pillow firmness need to be improved Clock tower opposite of the hotel. Chimes every hour (7pm = 7 chime) and every quarter (730pm = 2 chime)

    Location is very good Right in the city center

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    9.2
    I love this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillow is too flat

    I love this hotel. The location is just the center of the old town - very convenience to walk around. The hotel's restaurant is nice too.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    10
    I arrived early and could get my room before 12.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I arrived early and could get my room before 12.00, that was great. the breakfast buffet is just marvellous. the service is very respectful and cares a lot.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. They upgraded our room because the hotel wasn't full. The room was small but attractive and clean, as was the bathroom. Very central location. It was perfect for what we wanted.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    7.9
    good service, like the coffee machine in room,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    bedrooms were not the most comfortable, especially with shared bathroom. appreciate they did try and move me. could benefit from a little more and better hotel shampoos

    good service, like the coffee machine in room,

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    9.2
    The staff were the most genuine, helpful, pleasant people...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were the most genuine, helpful, pleasant people I've met in a very long time. The breakfast was excellent and the room spotless. I recommend it as a home away from home.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    Were given an amazing apartment across street from hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast: While the dining room of hotel is full of historic charm, it would be lovely if the variety of food options would be expanded in the future.

    Were given an amazing apartment across street from hotel, with large historic private dining room with wood paneled walls facing the town's main cobbled pedestrian square; apartment included clothes washer and dryer and kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    5.4
    The decoration of the room and hotel is pretty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For breakfast they made me sit im the darkest corner when it was a beautiful sunny day so it would have been much nicer to sit in the part near the terrace. The staff at the restaurant was not very friendly. They kept walking across my table without greeting.

    The decoration of the room and hotel is pretty. Breakfast buffet was good. Staff at the reception was nice. There is a night entrance so you can come and go as you like.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    10
    location, nice comfortable clean and well equipped rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    location, nice comfortable clean and well equipped rooms. All the staff were super friendly all well informed. Resturant was very nice and the food was quick and of high quality

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    8.8
    Overall a great hotel right in the centre of Solothurn.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant downstairs, I found to be quite pricy - more than the restaurants surrounding the hotel.

    Overall a great hotel right in the centre of Solothurn. I faced the street and thought the noise would wake me (church and clock tower chimes every 15 mins), but with the shutters and drapes drawn, I didn't hear it much. However, the room had no air conditioning, so I expect in the summer time, with the windows open to let in air, the chimes could easily disturb sleep. This is definitely not a modern hotel, but it's clean and comfy and I would recommend.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    7.9
    Excellent central position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pillow was very flat and most uncomfortable, otherwise everything else including the bed, was very good.

    Excellent central position. good food, wide selection for breakfast. Good service by the waitresss. Well established system for night entry, particularly useful as the restaurant was closed for the whole day because of feuer tag carnival, and a large private function!

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    10
    I like the location, the city, the distance to airport and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing.

    I like the location, the city, the distance to airport and big cities. I feel me home in Solothurn. The atmosphere of the city, the history, the churches, the shops and so on. Das Bahnhof ist sehr gut und immer geöffent, auch when alle andere Tearooms and shops are closed, kan man auf das Bahnhof gute Kaffee trinken. Ich solle zurück kommen im Solothurn. Ich war hier auch im Adventszeit 2008.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    10
    The reception staff were extremely helpful and accomodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    size of the room

    The reception staff were extremely helpful and accomodating

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything!

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    9.2
    -
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    -

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    10
    it was quite delightful right in the heart of Solothurn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it was quite delightful right in the heart of Solothurn. our room was really good, our dog very welcome as were we.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.3
    Free welcome drink
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free welcome drink Amazing views

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    6.7
    TV was not working, very small room for 100 CHF/night,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV was not working, very small room for 100 CHF/night, view from the window into other people rooms.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    10
    The staff friendly and the room was nice and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff friendly and the room was nice and clean

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    9.2
    Location calme gentillesse personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Location calme gentillesse personnel

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: