Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Swiss Star Aussersihl

Morgartenstrasse 15, Aussersihl, 8004 Zürich, Switzerland

#48 of 76 Holiday rentals in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1361 apartment reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    6.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Very nice location and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only less positive point was bed linen, as the only duvet available was too small for two persons.

    Very nice location and good value for money. The system to collect the keys is very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.8
    Handy for Langstrasse but not Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very plain, location was quiet though a 15 min walk to old town, kitchenette wasn't well equipped (no pots)

    Having a kitchen was a bonus, iron also provided

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was noise conditioning or even fan, there was no phone and there was no concierge or staff to help you. You can’t open the windows because it too noisy but it was too hot (30 + degrees on that weekend) to keep it closed. Wouldn’t recommend for summer.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Decent apartment close to train and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in was a little tricky for me. I had to call the after hours number to get the key. When I got to the property at night I was unable to get Wifi or call on my phone with German sim card. The guy at La Peria Pizza place downstairs helped me out and let me use his phone and wifi. My apt was directly above 2 restaurants so it was noisy until midnight (but the smells were heavenly) when things closed up it was quiet.

    I only stayed 1 night, but the apartment had all the basic essentials. It was clean. Bed was comfy. I did not use the kitchen but it has what you would need for simple meals. Convenient to Selnau train station and bus lines. Neighborhood vibe with several restaurants and breakfast place (bubbles).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice location, easy to get keys at ANY time (automatic box),...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The iron was in terrible condition, no drinking water, no tea, nothing...

    Nice location, easy to get keys at ANY time (automatic box), comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basically the worst hotel in all Switzerland for my experience.if you reserve in the same day basically the auto check in doesn't work, you don't have any code. You have to call a guy pretty annoyed and rude while you are paying for roaming. Room pretty dirty Downstairs there were renovation so a lot of noise.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Lication is nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a cafe on the ground floor. It has the door inside the building. The guy there was banging that door hard every evening from 8p.m. till midnight every 10 minutes or so. The whole building shaked. It was impossible to sleep. When I asked him to close it quiter he refused sharply. He said he is at work there and will continue banging his door. So I could not sleep till midnight for two weeks even with ear plugs. This was nightmare :(

    Lication is nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.2
    Easy 10 minute walk along river to central city and “old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The top floor apartments are very difficult to access with the bedroom and bathroom up very steep and narrow stairs! No windows or ventilation upstairs other than a roof skylight that can’t be opened other than fine weather. Older or disabled people could not use this room. Don’t know about the first 4 floors but I would not recommend the 5th floor apartments! Would never go back here!!!

    Easy 10 minute walk along river to central city and “old town”

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    Quaint little apartment with plenty of restaurants closeby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room with basic facilities. Hardly any power plugs. Inflexible for luggage storage as check out is at 11am.

    Clean room with small kitchenette. Hot showers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hand soap in bathroom, shower water pressure was very low. The curtain was just a thin cloth, it didn’t block light or provide privacy. I had to close the storm shutters to get some darkness and privacy. No ventilation or AC in the room other than the window. TV remote had no battery and there was no other way to turn the TV on. This on the evening of Switzerland in a World Cup match no less.

    Location. Cheaper than other plain Zurich.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Had a good stay in the property and will recommend it to others for future trip in.Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Onlly one barh towel was provided, no bath soap and hair shampoo,anw, we managed to do well.

    The availability of amenities needed by the travellers, like the utensils for eating foods, etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Location is convenient with all the things u need
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is construction just right next to the building. It’s quite noisy after 7am due to the construction noise.

    Location is convenient with all the things u need

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    Good budget stay in centre of the city...ideal for family stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I faced few issues with television and dishwasher... Cleaning is done on weekly basis and someone hoping for daily cleaning will be disappointed You need to ask help desk everytime for your small needs...

    Location wise it is excellent...4 stations (bus/tram/train) nearby...good connectivity Cleanliness and basic amenities are proper. Rooms are sufficiently big and all kitchen utensils were provided... excellent for someone with family and kids...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Decent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit costly. Outside view was not great. No reception so if you reach the apartment early then you need to wait at the door or nearby park area.

    It's decent. Near to central station. it's clean and having kitchen was helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location, walk distance to tram or subway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was easy to get flood in bathroom since no drain. Shower head was poor maintained and there’s no ventilation fan. Loud noise from the road since there are some restaurants near by and the church bell rings since 7am and every hour which cannot avoid. Maid came make other rooms since 9am -.-“ that’s got some noise too.

    Good location, walk distance to tram or subway station. It was easy to check in and check out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.4
    No difficultry for entry & walk-out with no problem personally, but may be probleto the aliens with
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Person to person especially for the entry & checkout time would be desirable.

    In general, I would rate "Good" for the budget, particularly being convenient to reach the City centre. Extra power point, at least one more, is required.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    Overall a great stay, suited us well for exploring the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the noise from the cafe/ bar opposite. A lack of brush/ dustpan and brush. the smell of dampness in the bathroom

    the location suited us with easy access to walk to places, catch the tram and to the supermarket

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    It was a short stay but the location of the hotel made it easy and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Church close by with loud bells, rather thin walls / or simply loud neighbors and lack of washing sponge in the kitchen.

    Locaction, easy chec -in and -out. Clean, small but ok kitchen for ad hoc and not too complicated cooking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice location, small but clean, valuelable for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It doesn't look like the pictures of the rooms and also you can here your neighbors.

    I like the bed, it was super comfortable also the bathroom was really clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very small for a couple, 1.2 m, there was only 1 pillow and 1 towel. We stay two nights, after the first night we asked for another towel and pillow and they gave us. The bathroom doesn't smell good, we slept we the bathroom closed.

    Nice and quiet place. Good building. And near to the tramway and the downtown. Kitchen was good and the check in was easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    I would recommend this as a good value for money place to stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Curtains were not adapted for sleeping, too much light in the morning. Flooring needs a bit of tlc, did not bother me.

    Basic but comfortable, quiet, convenient for public transport. Good shower, comfy bed and a lift which was most welcome as I was on the 5th floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Good basic accommodation, perfect for a short stay, and very close walk to the Center of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff or concierge on site but the collection of keys was very easy! It was quite a basic room but had all the essentials, including a Kitchenette. Location was also very good - short walk to city centre and had a tram stop nearby too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    It’s very nearby to the Gare de lyon station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was way too small.

    It’s very nearby to the Gare de lyon station. The lady on the reception was nice and helpful and knew quite well about the city to guide me about different metro stations and nearby locations. And yes the other review posted by booking.com under my name is not about this hotel. It’s wrongly posted here. I already asked booking.com to remove it since it does not belong here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    Good place to sleep for a train traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a single city map in a room. I travel several times every year but this is the first time I experience this. Just a tiny shower gel could not be enough for 3-nights stay.

    Location both seemed to be quite and close enough to the railway station. Checking-in and checking-out was quick and easy. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was okay. Internet was quite stable. View of a church tower with a clock from the window was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    It was a good place to stay, but not the best. We booked last minute so it was nice for that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The had amenities but the soap and shampoo was in the same bottle. For two people it is a little difficult having enough soap and shampoo for showers and washing hands. The place was a little tight as well.

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Auto check in and checkout was very comfirtable and easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee could have been added advantage for short or one day trippers.

    Auto check in and checkout was very comfirtable and easy than we thought. Little far from the train station to walk but by tram it was just few minutes. Stay was very comfirtable and it alao has lift which is an added advantage carying luggage to the rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    The location is great, close to Selnau train station and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a problem with the wifi, because we couldn't connect our phones to it. The instructions in the room only gave to steps to follow when connecting from a laptop. As there is no reception, we had to call by phone and even following the instructions we got, we didn't manage it to solve the problem. It was pretty dissapointing.

    The location is great, close to Selnau train station and the centre of Zurich. The flat was pretty small, but confortable enough for two people during a short stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great value for money. Really friendly people and the rooms are excellent. Plus the travel card that is included is a real bonus. I definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.8
    Good for a short stay in Zurich. Not very far from all the major attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness of the room could be looked into.

    The location was good not very far from the bahn hoff. The check-in check-out process was very easy with good directions given. Kitchen was well equipped.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    The location is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't work. But it wasn't a big deal for us, however it might be for others. The elevator wasn't working as it was being repaired, but our apt was on the first floor so we didn't mind.

    The location is amazing! Within minutes of the city center. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Our room was a one queen size room for two people, it was a good size room. great value for the money. I read in previous reviews that someone had something stolen and I was very nervous about that, but nothing happened during our stay and we felt safe in our room. We loved the apt, it's good for its value and we will definitely stay here again in the summer. The communication with the host was smooth and they answered my questions through email promptly. Thank you! We will be back :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.0
    Clean, calm and but not exceptionally confy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in: we had to wait until the canonical check in time to get the keys without the possibility to drop our bags in a locker. Once entering the apartment we found out that the cleaning service was still working and they needed more time. There is no soap for the dishwasher so it is impossible to use it unless you buy a full package of cleaning tabs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    3.3
    Very bad experience
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    1- Lift is not working, i have taken my bag to 4th floor via stairs. 2- Outside cleaning was not done. Construction is going on within the premises of apartment 3- it is far from ZURICH HB STATION

    bed is comfortable and cleaniness is also good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stay!! Very safe neighbourhood, 10 minute walk from the trainstation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfectly clean and it had all the appliances you need to have a pleasant stay, dishwasher/oven/fridge/microwave, plis dishes and cutlery! Didnt get to meet the staff but we did have to reach them by phone because the pin for the keys didnt work at first, so they gave us an emergency code as quick fix, but i had booked the place 2 hours earlier so that might have been the issue, anyeays they were more than happy to help!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.4
    good location, convenient access by train;
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor sound insulation. no lighting in the kitchenette. no electrical outlet in the kitchenette. badly washed dishes, traces of lipstick on the mug - and if the previous guest would be sick with tuberculosis or hepatitis C??

    good location, convenient access by train; well-equipped apartment, affordable price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Great affordable and clean stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much- a little bit of noise from the floor above but that was all!

    Lovely place - extremely clean and you have the benefit of a small kitchen to cook to keep the cost of your stay down! Very comfortable mattress and great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    4.6
    very central anc convenient location. They should have informed that the lift was out of use.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They were carrying out renovation works, which we weren't informed of. The lift was out of use so we had to climb the stairs every time to reach our room. The room was smelling of curry dishes, the mattress was uncomfortable and the pillows were yellow from age, use and dirtiness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.8
    The room was very smelly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very smelly. The sink in the small kitchen has strains of food remains attached to the tap, I couldn't clean it properly because it needs a proper tool to change the tap filter probably...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    I enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was not working. I had 3rd floor. Also sound insulation not best.

    I liked the process of getting the apartment without anyone. So I just came, entered code and got the key. Very convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and good value stay close to the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The web application for picking up the key is a bit confusing and doesn't seem to work properly on mobile browsers.

    Roomy and comfortable apartment very close to the financial district. Amazing value for money given the location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.7
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet did not work out and there was nobody to ask. (It was not possible to call the number mentioned on the instruction table) There was not hot water in the shower and the shower pressure was really low.

    The location was good - a nice and quiet suburb. Easily reached on foot both from the station Wiedikon (5mins) and Hauptbanhof. The kitchenette was well equipped so we could prepare a meal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.4
    If there is any complication to get the keys for example, you waste half day there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was for my parents that didn't have a phone to make calls in Switzerland. The machine to get the keys was not working and there was no way to get in touch with reception from there, so they had to wait until I could go there. Once I got there I called and first they told me a technician was coming in 5 minutes. After 15 minutes I called again and they told me in 15 minutes. After 40 minutes I called again and they told me he will arrive in 30 minutes more... In total, we expend almost 2 hours since I called, and this without including the time they had to wait because there was no way to get in touch with anyone there. And there was no reason and no apologies...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Great value for money: good location and facilities, amazing mattress!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator at the time was out of service for maintenance and I had to walk up 4 flights of stairs with my suitcase, but that was the only downside

    The mattress was amazing. I had to force myself out of bed to sightsee. The place was a 20 min taxi ride from the airport, a 25 min walk to the old town and had good facilities. Great value for money!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.0
    Totally forgettable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room. Only one electrical receptacle for the whole room, including the kitchenette. The elevators are under a long repair procedure. We had to climb to the fourth floor with our luggage. We are both 78 years old. Management knew about the elevator repair, but nevertheless rented the space without warning. These people are simply not trustworthy and should be avoided.

    The beds were comfortable. Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Well located reasonable accommodation with poor service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The heater was not working one night and I had to call the emergency number. But soon it worked. One hour later the technitian arrived at the apartment and treated me as I was stupid and didn't know how to open the heater valve. Later he understood that it was not that the point. The washing machine was in the basement and I expected t be in the apartment, as per the description. The cleaning needed some improvement as well as the light. The light in the bedroom was insuficient and there was absolutely no light on the "kitchen part" of the apartment. The light over the shower didn't work.

    The location of the apartment was superb, walking distance to the center and to several public transport. It was easy to get the keys through a password.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    3.3
    Poor experience and even worse staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -It is not an apartment by any measure, but a simple room -The room stank like chicken when I arrived. That smell remained for two days. -A rude employee woke me up by ringing the bell at 8am, saying I hadn’t paid (in fact, I had) and then left without even apologizing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.0
    My privacy.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was placed on the 5th floor , I had 2 large suitcases and NO elevator to access my room. They do not tell you . No kettle ,( replaced late on my second last day) oven stove was locked , a very bad odour througout my room . One towel and no house keeping until I check out. Very difficult location to find . The good thing- I cooked my own meals.

    My privacy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.8
    Stains in bathroom on wall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stains in bathroom on wall. The oven had lost the lever so you had to stick your finger into it to turn on the extraction fan. Just didn't feel very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    Good and quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Awful pillows. The shower had no pressure at all. No wi-fi.

    Good and quiet location. Clean room and with good size. The mattress was comfortable. Easy check-in and check-out, without fuss.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.8
    Very centrally located, safe, comfortable room with great price/quality ratio.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wall isolation is quite thin so you can hear other customers talking in rooms next door.

    Easy check-in at key-delivery machine. Clean/comfortable pleasant room. Able to open window for fresh air. Waterboiler and cups available in kitchenette.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.3
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom with a lot of mildew between the tiles and a very dirty box curtain, it smells musty. One liter of bleach solved and eliminating the bad smell of the bathroom.

    Easy way to checking and get the key. Good localization and room size. Clean. Having laundry is a greate plus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    2.5
    I was robbed in the apartment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had all my money stolen from our apartment no 43 at Hallwylstrasse probably by cleaners because no one else have a key. It was our last day in Zurich and during packing I noticed that all my money are missing, I left them in my wallet inside my rucksack the day before. My boyfriend called Swiss apartments but they didn't bother to help us at all, they said that cleaning company belongs to someone else and they don't take any responsibility. We reported that to the Police and apparently they contacted the owner and asked for amount of key copies to that apartment - "They didn't have a clue" Just to advise everyone who is thinking about staying in Swiss apartments, about risk of losing money or anything else what is valuable. We learn our lesson and we will never stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is almost no restaurant around the apartment, but not a big deal.

    It was really easy to find the apartment. We took train S2 from the airport(flughafen) to Zurich Weidikon station and it took us 5 minutes by walking from the station to the apartment, super fast and super easy to find. It takes 10 minutes to get to Bahnhofstrasse by walking, which is really fast too, or you can take trams to get to the center. Room was very clean, getting keys was really easy and all other basic needs are provided in the room. Neighborhood was not noisy and not dangerous at all.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.5
    The room and location, close to Wiedikon train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator dis not work all 4 days. Not a pleasent experience to pull suitcases up to 4th floor!!! They should have been fixed!!!

    The room and location, close to Wiedikon train station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    3.3
    I wish I have chosen another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, the elevator doesn‘t work. If you have a room at 5th floor and have big bags and luggage like us, you need to carry them all the way up. The second thing is, they covered all the hotel ground with white nylon coverages I don‘t know why! It looks really cheap. The last but not the least, the walls are thin. You can hear every other rooms sounds whenever they use the bathroom-toilet, open or close door, take a shower or wash their hands. If you have any other options, go for it. Also there is no reception in this hotel. If you wish to plan leaving your luggages and enjoy the city after your check-out, no chance. Do yourself a favor and find a real hotel. By the way, I attached a photo below to show you how beautiful the elevator looks like on the 5th floor.

    It was clean, that‘s all.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    That there was a little kitchenette which was useful to make...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no reception, and at one point in the evening a random man came knocking on the door. Also we could hear the neighbours.

    That there was a little kitchenette which was useful to make food since Zürich is quite an expensive city. Also location, location, location!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    3.8
    Would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was old. Bathroom tiles were chipped. There was a hole in the toilet door where the front door handle opens into it. Bed sheets were very thin. The elevator was not working. Carpeting was covered with plastic for what we believe is renovations. All without informing us.

    Easy check in and out

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    Good, central, affordable accommodation in Zurich.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My gripes are that there was not enough toilet paper: only the end of the roll when I arrived and I was there for three days (how could anyone possibly think that would be enough?). I had to go and buy my own on the first day there. The other thing is the noise level: I could esaily hear people next door and above. Both nights someone above me was banging around until midnight. With ear plugs it's not too bad, if you're not so easily disturbed. Overall, however, I recommend this place as affordable, well located accommodation in Zurich.

    This is good, central, value for money accommodation in Zurich. I was able to make simple meals and was pretty comfprtable, for a price that is very competitive in Zurich (a very expensive city!). The bed was comfortable, the shower was good and the radiator kept the place cosy. The key retrieval and return via the box at entry is very convenient. The tram stop of Staufaccher is nearby and it's only 1-3 stops to the central railway station, so very convenient. It's also walking distance to the Old Town, or you can take the tram a few stops along.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    Really comfortable bed, nice kitchen. Elevator out of service, had to carry a 23 kg bag to the 3rd..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was on the 3rd floor. Elevator was out of service, had to carry up a 23 kg luggage, was not comfortable at all...Altough I did not have problem getting out the key, I met other guests whose code was not working.

    Small kitchen in the room and really comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.5
    The room was clean and its was perfect for single travellers...
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was bad and elevator was not out of order so i gad to climb on stairs with my huge luggages.The corridors was cigarettes smelling always.

    The room was clean and its was perfect for single travellers and for short business trips..they provide with iron with table and everything was there as mentioned. They dont have reception and have a key box for Checkin and you can throw your keys in the same box for Check out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.9
    Very good price/quality ratio close to city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very clean inside, no light and mold in shower.

    This is great apartment hotel. No real person communication during check in - just grab your keys from special machine at entrance. Small but functional kitchen. Overall good, especially for this price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    the room was very nice and confortable for the price that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the pillows were unconfortable

    the room was very nice and confortable for the price that you must pay. Thus there were all items (Forks, knives, towel, soap, tv, ecc.) that need for a holiday

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location for a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good.

    The apartment was comfortable and clean. It had everything you need for a short stay in Zurich. The price was really affordable for the location and I was positively surprised with the quality of the place. Check in is easy, you type the last digits of your booking code at the entrance and get the key. We had no problems.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.8
    Nice place with all basic necessary
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst check-in ever...they gave us the worst code that didn’t work and nobody took the phone when we was calling so we had to wait almost one hour until the Pizzeria downstairs contacted with the manager of the appartments

    Nice place with all basic necessary

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Check-in and check-out are very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no hot water in the bathroom the first day and the second day they sent a technician to fix it. But there is no heating system in the second floor all the two days so we felt a little cold in the evening.

    Check-in and check-out are very convenient. The room is cozy. The position is perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Perfect and recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to point out.

    Good room, clean, simple and comfort. Got all instructions by email and was really easy to get the keys and get access to internet. Recommend!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.0
    Great value for the price considering Zurich prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small and old, particularly staircase. Bed and particularly pillows quite uncomfortable. Our apartment was on the 5th floor - accesible with lift till 4th floor and then stairs - that should be indicated for people with reduced mobility. Very inconvenient washing dishes facilities (dish washer but no soap or otherwise tiny sink, no wiper).

    Price (considering Zurich prices). Location - walking distance to main train station and old town. Tiny apartment, but better than only a hotel room - fridge, microwave...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    One of the best choice in town for short stays
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    *Location was awesome! Close to bus & train staitons. Event though, if you would like to prefer walk to everywhere like me to see any details in city, it is also close to city centre between 15-20 mins by walk * If you fill short register form after you got confirmation email. It is so easy to get keys from entrance of hotel. You just digit numbers you got and there your keys! *Even i didn't use them, room was full of kitchen stufss like table, spoon, knife etc. It is easy to cook if you would like to.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    The bed was super comfortable and the doona was like a cloud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was super comfortable and the doona was like a cloud. The size of the room was good. Close to public transport. Pasta station right downstairs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.5
    Great location and very lively area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With today's standard of accommodation, this place is bit dated. Some tiles in the shower came off leaving some sharp edges of the concrete which can impose a hazard.

    The apartment is very close to the city, lots of restaurants and shops around. Very easy instruction on how to collect the key with the code that was sent after the booking. You don't see any staff here, very private. It has a small kitchenette so if you like to do some cooking, you are allowed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    Good but noisy and no one to turn to for help!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people in the flat next door were extremely noisy and I could hear them talk, laugh, move things in their kitchen. I could hear their music.. I think that the isolation between flats/rooms is very bad and that made everything worse. The fact that there is no one on the property to talk to is, on these occasions, a weakness.

    I only stayed one night but for longer stays, the fact that there is a kitchen in the room is good. It means one can cook their own meals. As Zurich is an extremely expensive city, this is great to be able to do that!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.0
    Basic but completely adequate and comfortable. Would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing much to fault it.

    Great place for a one night stay or longer. Good facilities for preparing your own meals, as food from local supermarket very cheap ! Very easy to get key and deposit again. Would recommend this place as easy walk (1km) from main train station and just 2 mins to local train station for trips out of the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Very comfortable room and especially very good value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable room and especially very good value for money in Zurich. Quite good location. About 15min on foot from city center/lake/train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    2 days in Expensive city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a clean, comfortable and worth room. Everything was quite, arranged and perfect. The location is also in a great place. Close to St. Peter church and main center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    An ideal budget hotel for anyone where that matters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A local map in the room, with some area facilities - the station (3 - 4 blocks away), restaurants, drug store, etc.? A larger elevator!!! (Not a surprise - I've stayed in others with the same, in the U.K.!)

    After worrying at no concierge/reception, the actual entry was easy and obvious. The location was Ideal - for the train to the airport again, the local restaurant (Bubbles), sight-seeing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    Location was great, free laundry, easy key pick up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room photos did not match the room upon arrival so was a bit disappointing, it was more like a hotel room with small cooking facilities than an apartment. There was no seating area, or separate kitchen area. We were expecting something more like the photos.

    Location was great, free laundry, easy key pick up

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Swiss Star Aussersihl traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: