Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Zurich City West 4 stars

Schiffbaustraße 13, Escher Wyss, 8005 Zürich, Switzerland

#94 of 122 hotels in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1688 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    5.4
    Not comfortable as expected
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with 1 Queen Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning already set for winter on october heat , no cooling. Front desk suggested opening the windows! I had to ask for a fan instead. Swimming pool which claimed to be at28 oC was around 20. Couldn’t play with the kids.

    Kindness of staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Close to tram/ train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Close to tram/ train. The breakfast was great. Gym is sufficiently provided with essential equipment, in my case treadmill, weights and press bench.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.5
    Good quality Zurich hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hallway to our rooms was quite smelly, might have been smoking rooms, even though ours wasn't. Price of parking.

    Good hotel, very nice pool and friendly staff. Bar is suitable for a late drink as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Perfect for families and good location. Housekeeping below standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The cleaning/housekeeping staff at this hotel is below standards. They leave you with two sets of towels when a family of four is residing in the room. While cleaning, attention to details is lacking and you find corners in the room or bathroom not scrubbed or cleaned properly. After our first day in the room, we never received any replacement cups for drinking water. Basically, you will have to ask for everything you need. This hotel is general is fine, but must improve it's housekeeping services.

    Big buffet breakfast with plenty of choices. Adequate food quantities and beverages available. Dining area is not cramped with the possibility to sit outside. In terms of room sizes, they were decent with large windows. Air conditioners worked ok in the room (don't expect cooling in US standards). The pool is small but works and my kids loved it. Zurich is a small city and based on that hotel's location is fine. You can take the tram located a block away from the hotel or Uber (approx 9-12 CHF) to Central Train Station and Old Town area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.5
    To bad this time, it used to be a perfect hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room not clean dirty sheets and blankets, staff over asked, to many guests for the facility, breakfast not enough for the guests present. Although the hotel was not overbooked, it for sure looked lik that.

    Location, friendly staff, until now Swiss quality

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    The buffet breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool was disappointing. It was small and the water was too cold. For the price, I expected the room to be a little bigger and cleaner. Overall it was a very good stay.

    The buffet breakfast was excellent. They have fantastic expresso machines that make the perfect coffee of your choice. There were restaurants close by and Co-op grocery store is right across the street. Our family thoroughly enjoyed walking around the neighbourhood, including the viaduct and Freitag stores htat are 5-10 minutes from the property.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    4.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of attention to cleanliness of the room, extremely small room claiming to be a family room, lack of cooperation by reception to accommodate a 4 member family with toddlers.

    Location was good - close to stores and cafes.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast options were less, if they consider one in geneva and match same breakfast it will be better.

    Staff is too good and helpful. Rooms are good, big, clean and tidy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Really helpful staff, but rooms a bit tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It wasn't what we expected. The rooms were tired, worn carpets, that sort of thing, generally a bit dull. I'm told there is a major refurbishment planned. Also, depending which direction you went from the hotel, some of the surrounding area was rather bleak and run-down. To give credit where it is due, the staff were extremely helpful in finding us somewhere else to stay, and did what they could to make our short stay in Zurich as best as possible. So, great staff, but not a hotel I would return to. Maybe it will be better after the refurbishment.

    Modern reception area, basement car park (but expensive, like most places in Switzerland), very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Helpful reception .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less on trolly to carry luggages .. charge for breakfast even if you dont go down to take breakfast ..

    Helpful reception .. nice location.. near everything needed as a family..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Good place for short stay, but needs some better management
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell in the room, bath sink blocked so we had to wait for water to flush However we did not raised with management as stayed overnight in the middle of the road and were simply tired

    Convenient location to stop by with car, swimming pool, very nice and helpful staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    2.5
    NOTHING
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with 1 Queen Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is bad about this hotel. I have asked for an empty mug to drink a tea I have made and they told me: WE WILL CHARGE YOU FOR THAT. This is really cheap and sucks. The breakfast is awful and the WIFI service sucks. The smell of the carpet is really bad and I do not recommend this hotel at all. I have visited many hotels around the world and this one is the worst.

    NOTHING

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Very new hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couch bed springs were Poking through and kids were not comfortable. Several people posted this so the hotel should do something about it. Also the room Needs a shower curtain in the bathroom b/c water gets everywhere when you shower. Also for safety the need grab bar to get in shower was its high step up and kids could barely reach. Like others we also had problems with our key cards but it was resolved easily.

    Very new hotel. Bright and clean. Staff very nice and spoke English well. Pool was small but nice and had plenty of towels. Room was smaller for family but compared to others in Europe it was ok.. Location wise it’s about 15 tram ride outside of downtown. Nothing is open around there in Sunday’s so we Had dinner at hotel. It was very good but priced at hotel restaurant level. 24 hour tram pass is all you need to get around from hotel to anywhere else- very easy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Great experience overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the staff at the bar who came to deliver room service, got annoyed when I asked him about why the pizza size was different from last time we ordered. His frustration was quite obvious and response was just sort of rude "this is what I am given. See other dishes are the same" and hence we didnt bother asking any thing else. Could have managed it differently.

    Everything was quite good! Loved the staff at reception specially Tavi (hope i spelled it right) They were all very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    2.5
    Very bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not offered the room despite booked from booking.com. Two other families experience the same infront of our eyes. Very sad and offered a lessor standard hotel next to it, even that too with two double rooms where our family cldnt stay together.

    Not even offer any compensation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    We stayed here for a concert in the nearby Stadium in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the sofa bed for our children had very hard springs and would ideally need replacing.

    We stayed here for a concert in the nearby Stadium in walking distance. Great area and restaurants withing walking distance of the hotel and easy to get a tram into the centre too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    Good room size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with 1 Queen Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms security cards keeps on failing. They don't supply iron and ironing board which is very annoying.

    Good room size. Good location. There is supermarket and restaurants near by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel convenient for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with 1 Queen Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was far away from Zurich city. They didn’t provide public transportation tickets for free like in the rest of Switzerland. Swimming pool was very small and not very clean.

    Room was very nice. Soft drinks and water included.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    Pricey but easy access to trains and trams
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with 1 Queen Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting to check in - not enough staff. Went for a drink in bar, again not enough staff serving.

    Easy access from airport by train and to central area. Smart phone provided in room was great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    Decent stay, especially for Zurich prices
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast prices are outrageous!! 29fr per adult, not sure if it is worth it as we did not try it. The rooms are quite tiny, but workable with the pull out couch for the kids.

    This is in the newer West Zurich which is artsy and funky, the old industrial area. With this in mind it is a 20 minute tram ride to the old town, easy to do, but just to note. The rooms are silent despite being in the big bar scene area. This hotel is next door to Ibis and basically they are connected. The pool is decent and the facility is clean. The staff is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    I found the provision of a free local mobile as an excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found the provision of a free local mobile as an excellent addition to the room. This was very helpful to navigate in the city, find places to visit and eat. What a great idea!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.4
    Budget hotel in expensive city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was quite basic for the price.

    Price was quite ok for Zürich. Nice cool room to sleep. Parking area close. Pancake machine was great for kids at breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    would not stay here again unless they updated the rooms and had some control over the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The way there were so many men and boys in the pool jumping and running around and splashing and screaming it was crazy! It was not useable with small children. 14!! Men and boys jumping in to it constantly and splashing everybody it was crazy and so dangerous! We waited for a half hour and more and more kept coming they seem to be coming in through the car park. One guy banged his head in the pool while diving head first in to the baby pool. very dangerous and staff not bothered at all. The room was not very clean the carpet was filthy you have to wear shoes, the bed for the children was so uncomfortable only my daughter stuck it out. My son ended up with us in one double bed. (3 of us)

    There was nice pool although we couldn't use it as there were 14!! Men and boys jumping in to it constantly and splashing everybody it was crazy and so dangerous!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.6
    Need to improve on housekeeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping and Attention To Details ie. make a proper bed, ensure a right number of towers in the bathroom, proper refill of soap and shampoo etc.

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    unpleasant stay paid more money for nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with 1 Queen Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location is difficult to find by navigation. only one elevator is going to the car bark . one luggage trolley is available. My duaghter three years old they ask her to have europe’s swimming wear even she is wearing islamic swimming wear. the hotel location in industrial zone.

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is very good. Room was clean and had all amenities. Staff was friendly. The best part was that we got a free phone with unlimited national/ international calls and unlimited data. It was very useful as we used it while travelling. No personal phone/ data plan was required.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Clean and comfortable, good value. Easy access to anywhere in Zurich within minutes, or airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No negatives come to mind.

    Very clean and comfortable hotel. 5 minutes walk from Hardbrucke station, so all of Zurich is within very easy travel distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Good Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to Sixt car rental centre. Walking distance from tram and train station. Barely 10 minutes away from old town area by tram. Staff at reception is welcoming, helpful and informative.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Novotel standard provides good rooms and nice facilities,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area cleaning was very poor and the staff during breakfast was not very professional

    Novotel standard provides good rooms and nice facilities, with good access to the city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    An excellent stay and wonderful attention by all staff made me so comfort and feeling of homely atmo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is not providing pick up and drop service. This service should be included in your service

    Novotel is looking located in an ideal place access to different sight seeing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service charge was put on even delivering a spoon. There was no one help with luggage and guide us around the property. Staff was very casual. The brand Novotel is very distant from the experience we had. Please don't go to this property. It is a waste of money.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    2.9
    Uncomfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room with 1 Queen Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price three time the hotel next to it ibis, how come three nights I ibis 290 USD and I paid for the same 704 without breakfast I need clarifications, if no price adjustment I will never deal with Booking.com, I am valuable customer

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic fabulous fascinating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with 1 Queen Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no house boy to help the baggage to the room

    Location was marvellous staff very professional and co-operative .In breakfast omelettes were charged this was very strange .House keeping people looked less professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Spacious room.
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was expensive and we didn't take it.

    Spacious room. Comfortable beds. Really convenient the free usage of handy to avoid roaming cost. Firendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant short stay in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely good customer service when we arrived - a large business group were checking in and a member of staff took us aside and checked us in in the bar area so that we did not have to queue or wait. Nice swimming pool, with good facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    The toilet paper was not replaced from one day to the other.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet paper was not replaced from one day to the other. The toiletries the same. After 10.30pm you cannot eat a light meal in the hotel, like a piece of bread only, you only get heavy meals like chicken or lasagna.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Pretty convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The value for money

    The rooms are clean, the facilities are good. It is pretty convenient. It is 10-15 minutes away from the train station and you can use the tram to get there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    The overall stay was really good. The rooms were nice and clean and staff were helpful as well
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the fact that you had to show the card you made payment with. It doesn’t make sense as it should not matter to the hotel how the payment was made. As I did not have my card, they refunded what I had paid and charged me again which worked out to be more expensive. This is the first time I have been asked to show what card the payment was made with.

    As soon as you enter the hotel it smells really really good. The staff are helpful, the rooms are clean and the hotel is in a good location. The tram is literally a minutes walk away from the hotel. The hotel itself is very nice as it has a garden and a very big lobby area. The breakfast buffet was also good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.1
    ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    got a room on 2nd floor above the main entrance though I was king for a clam room, those are the worst rooms they have, no mineral water fro free as I have by booking with HRS, next time HRS again

    breakfast was ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast is really good except the staff, they are really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff. Heating: The aircondition is limited to 22C and when it is working on full power it is very noisy so you can not use.

    Breakfast is really good except the staff, they are really cold,prejudice and not helpfull.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    5.8
    I‘m surprised that this hotel is a four star hotel. Value for money seems low.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets were rough, as compared to other 4-star hotels, the room had cheap-looking art and needed some maintenance. The breakfast seemed prefabricated. Coffee was tasteless.

    The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    LocatIon is fine, close to a bus stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    LocatIon is fine, close to a bus stop. You can have a nice experience here with its GYM and convenient electronic devices such as home speaker and tourist guide phone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    This is a nice hotel with good rooms, helpful staff, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was way too cold to go in. The food was sub-par and incredibly expensive.

    This is a nice hotel with good rooms, helpful staff, and nicely located. It isn't downtown but it is close to parks and trails, and a short cab or tram to all good places. There is also a fun escape room in the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Space too little with three bed option. Towels not a great quality. Room is was not propperly serviced for three people coffee, tea, towels, shower jel etc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice no-surprises overnight family stay in downtown Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Recommend clearly advertising/mentioning that the nearest tram stop is No. 4 Technopark. We used No. 4 Schiffbau (because of the property's address). This meant we walked 200 extra meters in driving rain to get to front door.

    Easy access to public transportation system.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.8
    Excellent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with 1 Queen Bed and Armchair
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somebody was smoking in the bathroom before we arrived. Prices of food and drink were ridicolously high. The door card dodnt work. The parking garagebwas too small and tooo expensive.

    Excellent breakfast Spa center

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    Overall was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with 1 Queen Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I forgot to bring my debit card used for booking. But the hotel insist to cancel my booking and charged to my new card which i found it ridiculous as my stay was fully paid prior to my arrival. They can use my new card for deposit to cover any incidentals. Feel very disappointed. However, after i insisted to speak to the hotel manager, all problems solved. I managed to check-in.

    very convenient and near to the tram station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    Friendly, easily accessible from tram to train station and city, Beautiful variety breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    powder sachets of milk, paper cups in room (burn hazard for kids) would prefer milk pots that are in dining room and a couple of options of different tea bags. I believe we got charged 7.86 GBP for something from mini bar we did not have will discuss on 4th jan with management on return to hotel.

    Easy to get too by train (10 mins from station), thankfully didn't get hotel transfer that would have been rip off. Breakfast was great spread and vast variety.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    5.4
    Great pool, stained rugs, no coffee maching, no microwave, expensive breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed on the 5th floor the rugs where stained. The room really could have used a microwave and a coffee maker - only instant coffee with powered creamer was available in the room. YUK!!! The breakfast offered was too expensive for our budget.

    Loved the pool and the room size was good for a family of 3.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Outstanding hotel well located near the tram and supermarket. The Handy Phone helped us navigate the
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel supplied a Handy Phone with a Zurich city guide, maps etc with internet access which was excellent. We could take it with us around the city. An excellent idea! Great facilities. Lovely pool and gym. Great location with a tram two minutes walk around the corner. Coop supermarket was 200 m over the square. Could not ask for a better place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    good quality for ok price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    far from city center. nothing to eat in the restaurant before 18.00 (

    friendly and helpful staff, very attentive to children. amazing breakfast. comfortable bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Great. Thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Armchair or Sofa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfortable stay, our room was attended to every morning. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Train station is an easy walk to the hotel - roughly 10 minutes. Co-op close by.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful hotel and great staff. Breakfast was the best I have experienced at a hotel. Excellent buffet with great food choices to start the day and wonderful service overall. The hotel is very clean and has neat amenities for kids (pool downstairs and indoor activities near the free computer area). Also, has an interactive map for travelers to find things they would like to explore. There is a fair walk to the main Zurich downtown but we like to walk so it was a perfect location for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.3
    Perfect for business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant location (space) is small

    Breakfast was delicious. Reception staff is very professionnel. I was there two years ago and will be back again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    overall its satisfactory however a stranger in your room at 3am who will feel safe?
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At 3am somebody entered our room. Receptionist apologise by saying they provided the same room to an incoming guest as the receptionist who assisted us during our arrival did not update their system to occupied.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.0
    I will probably not come to this Novotel again, but the staff was very nice and comprehensive.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    stuff that was belonging to precedent customers found under the bed (plastic drinking bottle); Sofa bed totally uncomfortable with springs up in the mattress, so I changed the side to make it more comfortable and I discovered a very very dirty mattress ( black and zellowish stains every were) with no protection sheet...very disgusting...so I put a bath towel and let my kids sleep on it on the floor. I didn't call room service because we already had to call them earlier to give us some shampoo, and conditioners for the shower (there was nothing ready in the bath room), so the reception guy brought it to our room. So for the beds, it was also too late (21h00) and my kids were exhausted, I didn't have the energy to wait another time before puting them to bed.

    The staff did a reduction of the price because of the inconvenience detailed in the box under, that was commercial and very appreciated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Convenient reach from the airport, 15 min tram ride from the centre of the city, bad breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is really bad - rather dry croissants, obvisosly baked at least a week before, no eggs - one cracked hard boiled egg during the whole breakfast, noone even bother to bring new eggs or si, waffle dough - however, frying pan not enough hot to make it ready.

    Cleanliness, you can open the window

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed for such a well known brand. over priced and underwhelming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    we stayed a friday night and i had my family. when walking to the restaurant we were told it was closed for a private function and only bar meals. 'with a child'. food was awful. 30 days away and it was clearly the worst meal i had, and expensive.

    clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Swimming pool : loved it!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool : loved it! It was opened until 23h; In the evenings , there were no guests or very few guests at the pool therefore, was a perfect place for me to relax after a full day of seminars and workshops . Bedroom: was very clean, comfortable and practical .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    The ideal stay for the last night before flying back Home without the Airport Hotel feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was ideal for an early flight out on the next day with an easy airport shuttle arranged through the Hotel. Europcar Car hire drop off point in Hotel. Range of restaurants in surrounding Tech Park complex plus direct access to city centre by Tram. Rooms were spacious and well provisioned. Staff were very helpful at all times.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.0
    Decent overpriced room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very unfriendly, parking was expensive, food was overpriced, bathroom was a bit small, and the hotel is located near some bars so we heard people yelling and laughing and segueing outside our window early in the morning (2ish am)

    Room was decent and the kids loved the pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Clean. Modern. Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so hot, the a/c didn't seem to work well so I had to open the window which worked better but I heard all the street noise.

    The whole place looked really upscale/modern. The room was large. The staff was nice:) The room service food was great! And I love the breakfast buffet. There was variety and hot breakfast items.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.8
    Find somewhere better to stay, normally like Novotels bit not this one
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst evening meal but most expensive meal we have ever had, microwaved dey meals, tiny portions. Uninterested staff Quite far from centre of Zurich

    Has a swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    check beds an mattresses before paying ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if you need an extra bed, if you use the sofa-bed, will find a terrible surprise. You will sleep in a very old mattress full of ugly springs, meaning: ... no sleep. strange 'cos a well-know-multinacional-hotel-chain should take care of it. maybe next time will rent a room... private ??

    - Location - if you need an extra bed, if you use the sofa-bed, will find a terrible surprise. You will sleep in a very old mattress full of ugly springs, meaning: ... no sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    Great family hotel in Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    More options for eating in restaurant. Although proposed through email shuttle from airport it never appeared. Bed for children (opening couch) not so comfortable. Room could be slightly larger for a family.

    Very nice breakfast. Clean room. Good wifi in all areas. Nice facilities including pool and small kindergarden. Sharing same garden with ibis next door so 2 options for dine were available. Quiet area wit great transportation. Tram 4 directly to citycenter 3 minute walk. Day tickets for tram provided even in hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.7
    Good but need a lot of development.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is expensive, resturant staff two of the team during the breakfast time were truly bad servant and not so friendly at all. While speaking to her she ignored me and walked away then she came later to ask me if I still need what I asked for...... breakfast doesnt inculde an option to order your own omlet and if you want to do so they will charge you for 5 CHF !! Very strange. Room furniture were quite old and outdated I beleive they need to renovate their rooms

    The hotel is located nearby business area but also 10 minutes or less driving to city center and 20 minutes to airport. Breakfast variety was good. Receptionist was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Rate was reasnable but not so after adding parking fee
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think 29 Franks per night for parking for hotel tenants is too much. Further consideration should be given to tenants.

    The location was not so closed to town center but wasn't too bad since we had a car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely recommend this place to anyone else because I'm sure they'll enjoy it a lot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything so there is nothing to complain about!

    The breakfast was amazing! And the staff members were very friendly and nice :) They responded very quickly and provided top notch service! My kids also loved the facilities provided here including the swimming pool and the gym. I would say the place was kept nice and clean creating a good environment and making our stay even more enjoyable!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Would love to stay again if visiting Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just take care while coming out of the bath tub as it is a bit high. Not much restaurants (other than in the hotel) nearby as i guess this is more of a business district. However, there is a Coop near the train station, Migros take away is also available in the train station. Not much of an inconvenience.

    Easily reachable from Zurich Hardbrucke train station, tram no.4 stops just across the road. If travelling by train, get down at Zurich Hardbrucke station, come out of the station, walk 100m straight, turn left at the first cross road, walk 400m or so and you are at the hotel. The entrance is from the back which is a bit confusing as the Ibis hotel and Novotel share the same compound. Super breakfast, play area for kids, swimming pool was good but only cold water and was not heated (does not matter much). Very friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms and bathrooms. Room was sufficient for my family of 2 adults and 2 kids aged 9 and 4 including a sofa cum bed. I availed the buffet breakfast while checking in at the hotel and not while booking which was helpful indeed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Good Hotel, Good Location, Good staff - housekeeping processes need to be sorted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For some reason housekeeping kept leaving 2 towels and 1 tea bag for us, a party of 4 inspite of being told twice - and not to mention hotel records clearly showed us as party of 4. This was easily rectified by front desk staff - but it shouldnt come to that - waste of time and effort for all. The room size is small, so I would recommend getting 2 rooms if more than 2 people are staying

    Front desk was fab; good location; good pool & gym

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    its a good place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel had new computer system which took our check in late in the evening to a room that was pre occupied! so we opened the door to find people inside! our room with our child had no 3rd bed. but staff sorted it by giving comlimentary room.

    breakfast was outstanding. best ever! facilities gym pool garden area great. location of hotel is good can be accessed by tram 4 direct from train station. same tram to main attractions Belevue, Central etc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Great experience, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a little hard. Be warned Zurich is rather expensive, make sure you have plenty of Swiss francs. Some places accept euros.

    The hotel was based in the business district and is around 45 minutes walk to the centre. There are many restaurants near but advise booking a table as we had to wait a while for a table. The room was comfortable and spacious enough for a family of 4. Lovely modern hotel and facilities. You can use th number 4 tram to take you to the centre if you did not wish to walk. There is a tram station behind the hotel and is reasonably priced.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant staff seemed disconnected from the guests.....but then we are used to Asian hospitality levels! Grilled tomatoes with cheese on top - ugh - and 'solid' scrambled egg. Otherwise bfast was okay

    Very comfy bed - welcoming and helpful reception staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel and good price for Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Distance from city center

    Good accommodation and OK size room for 4 of us. Close to rail cart to get to city and great price. Breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    Novotel West Zurich Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their is no porter Reception for check out is too occupied Breakfast Room is small

    Breakfast is very good Room is extra ordinary clean and big size

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novotel Zurich City West traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: