Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Swiss Star Tower

Friesstrasse 8, Oerlikon, 8050 Zürich, Switzerland

#71 of 76 Holiday rentals in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1848 apartment reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    6.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    Good place; a shame about the lack of internet and curtains and the train noise
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free wireless internet was offered, but I could not connect to it at any time. My room had no proper curtains, just a net curtain that only covered part of the window, so I was woken up each morning at dawn. My room faced the railway through Oerlikon station. The balcony door had to be kept shut due to the noise made by passing trains, which made the room very stuffy.

    The location is great for travel around Zurich - adjoins Bahnhof Oerlikon Ost tram and bus stop and two minutes walk from Zurich Oerlikon railway station. Frequent services to Zurich city centre by tram (journey takes ~25 minutes) and by train (journey takes ~5 minutes). The locality is also accessible by both train and tram from Zurich Airport, being bdtween the airport and the city centre. The studio was clean and the procedure for collecting the key worked well. Restaurants and take-away food shops present nearby. Despite my criticisms, the accommodation was good value for money, given that Zurich is such an expensive city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Good clean money saving option, as eating/drinking out is very dear in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe a kettle would have been better than using microwave for a cuppa......Remember a plug adapter if you have foreign appliances. Couldn't seem to get TV to show much

    Bed comfy, but only a single sized quilt for the double bed and 2 people...But as warm, didnt matter. Very good value, but noisy with windows open, close to trains. Good location to keep costs down, with fridge and microwave and hobb, and a Lidl supermarket nearby, interesting balcony view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Provided a bed for a night near to the airport at a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    As it was hot, we needed to sleep with the window open. It was very noisy. If this is a problem, I'd recommend earplugs!

    The apartment was clean and functional, providing us with a bed near to the airport prior to travel. There were basic toiletries, clean bed linen and towels and it was minutes from three types of transport to the airport and into Zurich. The hall and entry lobby were scruffy but the room was fine. It was inexpensive, offered no luxury but provided with us with what we needed for a one night stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    3.8
    Bad Experience- Would Not Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a 2nd visit within a week and extremely disappointed. 1. Sink and shower area in the shower area was constantly getting blocked out and was unable to take a shower 2. No toaster and Microwave was provided this time but it was provided on the last booking (12.09.2018) 3. Photos do not match with the actual room setting.

    Only location!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.2
    Would Not Recommend At All
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointing. 1. Smell from the toilet was circulating inside the room as the extract system did not work. 2.No double quilt. 3. Host is not helpful at all with the changes of the booking even with the charges.

    Only the location!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.3
    It was easy to get back to main station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This apartment was really mousey. It is located above the train and tram line. Because we stayed when the weather was warmer than normal we had to have windows open.

    It was easy to get back to main station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.8
    Average, the host could do just few bits to make the experience so much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Iron in a bad state, not usable at all. Kitchen cutlery set missing items. Pillows were not comfortable at all.

    It was confusing as both boxes are saying the same thing, so you don't know which one is drop off box for keys and which one is collection box for keys. Also it was not clear which code to use to retrieve the keys.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Public transportation is very close and despite the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately, the shower did not yield more than a little dribbling, so it was rather difficult to shower and the bathroom smelled terribly (probably because the toilet was fixed with some tape...)

    Public transportation is very close and despite the buildings appearance on the outside, the rooms are really nice and equipped with everything one would need. It was definitely the best comfort/price ratio Zurich could offer

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.9
    Good location. Clean apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was confusing. We did not have any access to the internet and we arrived at almost 10pm. Luckily the restaurant nearby provided me wifi so i could call up the customer service. After almost 1 hour getting a hold on them, finally we got 1 key ( I booked 2 rooms) I got my room key past midnight as the password-key they gave me was wrong. Had to call up the customer service almost 5 times.

    We had a good stay here. Clean house, perfect location. House facilities were as what we needed exactly while travelling. There are a few restaurants/cafe nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    The room was much more than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were not that comfortable

    The room was much more than expected. It was roomier, it had plenty of light and the location is very close tu public transport.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Public transport tram and bus opposite the apartment...
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place close to the airport shops and restaurants are around

    Public transport tram and bus opposite the apartment which takes 15minutes to the airport

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.8
    Not good, only location fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony Derty , Bed is very bad, nothing in kitchen to use, very small room, electrical plugs,

    When I fone they reply, bath water block ,I fone they come to repair, thanks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.5
    Thanks for the kettle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was clean, but absolutely smoky room with the sign on the door - stop smoking. Is it a joke? ... plus tobacco smoke you can add Indian curry and etc. don’t forget that this location near railway, be ready for noise!!!

    Thanks for the kettle! You can find in the room all what you need.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Uncomfortable due to train and traffic noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Deluxe Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no fan or a/c in the room which really caused us lot of discomfort when sleeping at night. The hotel was right next to train station and the noise from the trains meant we couldn't open the windows to let some fresh air in. Loud train and traffic noise and no fan or a/c meant our night sleep was not that great. Also, we had good number of plates and spoons and a full bottle of dishwasher...but there was no sponge or scrub to clean the dishes once we used them. We were also under the impression that it was a serviced apartment. But no one serviced it for the 3 days we were there. The rooms weren't cleaned everyday and the sheets weren't changed for the three days we were there.

    Close to station. Comfortable bed. Easy to use kitchen.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    4.2
    Hellishly noisy... Avoid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot stress enough how noisy it was. The trains ran all night, and were loud enough to stop me sleeping with all the doors and windows closed. The noise literally made the floor shake (on the 6th floor), and kept me awake even using earplugs. Whoever build the tower in that location and without any proper soundproofing was stupid. The price was OK, but I feel ripped off given the terrible night's sleep I had. very small apartment, cooking equipment wasn't great.

    clean apartment

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Good location and budget stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is extremely noisy due to the nearby train station. There was no air conditioning or fan or heating system in the room I stayed. The days I stayed in zürich were extremely warm , around 29 - 30 degrees without a fan in the room it was difficult to sleep. Opening the windows doesn't help as it was noisy throughout the night.

    Location, cleanliness of the apartment , connectivity to the public transport (tram , train and bus, super markets nearby (coop)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    2.9
    Wouldn't recommend, very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely noisy with the railway just next to the place, noise isolation very bad, couldn't sleep. Neighbors very noisy too. Poorly furnished for an apartment. Very hard to park around. Cleanliness ok..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Their telephonic service guys will promise to do as per your requests but wont send people. I have asked for garbage removal from the room which they agreed to but never did. No way to cool the room down on warm days and nights.

    Everything. It is a very nice apartment near bus stop and railway station with lots of shops and restaurants nearby. facilities are very good and so was the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.8
    Bad, horrible and smelly experience! Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt like people who have been smoking in for 10years, bed linen, bathroom and the whole room smell. There's a lot of kitchen equipment indeed, but no detergent or soap to wash the dishes ?? I would suggest people who really have low budget to choose this place, otherwise avoid if you can.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    3.8
    Not much, except for the Electrician who tried help with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was Lucky to Checkin, as the process was not communicated. Continuous noise from the Station near by. Bed was not cofortable. Light in the bathroom was not working for the first day.

    Not much, except for the Electrician who tried help with a temporary light set up in the toilet the following day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    4.6
    Location was good near tram and railway statuon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not clean. Cook ware was not sufficient enough. Microwave was somewhat in not good condition. Balcony was dirty. No dusting of window panes were done before our arrival

    Location was good near tram and railway statuon. easy access to everywhere

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    4.6
    Awful-spend more money go somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking at hotel no instructions in English room very very small balcony was a dirty area and you have to have an adapter for Switzerland as Euro plugs don’t work

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.0
    Good if you want to save some money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning ladies were super rude, they came one morning trying to open the rooms door and then knocking and screaming "YOU NEED TO GO OUT RIGHT KNOW!" like if the building was on fire..they made a mistake with another check out, I can't believe they treat customers like this, like criminals. They only said "sorry for disturbing" .... Besides the horrible cleaning ladies, the room was poorly clean, the pan/pots in a really bad condition and dirty, the fridge wasn't working the second day of my 4th day stay. The room was noisy. Even tho, Zurich is a really expensive place, so if you are going to be outside all the time, and you just need a place to boil some pasta , shower and sleep. There you go. But I wouldn't recommend this place.

    Good if you want to save some money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    The apartment is well- equipped and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no fan or air con, so it is really hot these days. In addition, the noise from the trains is terribly big and frequent, making it difficult to have a good sleep.

    The apartment is well- equipped and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    We are not satisfy to collect the property key due to waiting 3 hours and paying a lot of money for
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked 3 rooms and they made us 3 hours waiting to collect the property key for two rooms on our arrivals. We paid a lot of money to contact them to get the keys

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.0
    Very near to the train station, very accessible
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is so hot. No fan or aircon provided. You have to open the window for air to come in otherwise you will die because of heat. Because you need to open the window and the place is very near to the train station, it can get very noisy at anytime of the day

    Very near to the train station, very accessible

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Apartment with good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The apartments do not have a kettle and air conditioning.

    Apartment with good location. 2-3 minutes walk to railway station Zürich Oerlikon. To the main train station Zurich 10 minutes by train. After registration staff sent us a code which gave us access to key box with our key to apartment. There were no staff on hand to assist but everything was pretty self-explanatory. There are cookware (not new, needs repair or replacement), towels, hair dryer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The apartment is very close to the train lines, so it is very noisy especially at night.

    The location was great, very close to the train and tram station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    2.5
    Awful booking experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunate instance of having made a booking at these guys. So rigid policy that after our flights cancellation, 75 days before arrival, they refused to cancel & refund.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    2.5
    No one must stay in this stay in this property. Pathetic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This property is never recommend for any one, no reception, no keys , no cleanliness, no one help you for anything. You are lucky if find Ms. Elizabeth ( Cleaner ) for any help. It s hard to get keys at the Check in. One night my room light out of order and I had to slept without light. This is pathetic place to stay in.

    I liked nothing there

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next to rail track, hence a bit noisy

    Strategic location, easily reach by tram, 2 mins walk from stop. Room was equipped with kitchen and all utensils are good to use. Easy check in and out. Clean place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.4
    Sleeping? ha!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was very noisy and very hot.. impossible for sleeping Indeed, we should leave the windows close during the day cause there is not security and it is very easy to go into the room through the balcony.

    The room was mostly clean and there were some cokewares (glasses, microwave,..)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    3.8
    Very very uncomfortable wont recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really uncomfortable. There was no fan in the room and it was really hot and we had to open the window but the noise of trains were so loud we couldn’t sleep. Toilet was pathetic. The entrance place was pathetic. The system of check in was really I actually requested for early check in 2 months back and they didn’t do that and because of this we wasted half of our day.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Nice for train lovers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    It looks like that it was just renovated, very clean. I like the view ---train and aircraft--- it may depend on people, if you don't like 'sound' of train, it's better to look for different one.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    we will always consider staying there again if we ever go to zurich!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 nd day 3/4 th floor room was not overwhelming compared to the 12 th floor...it was bit smaller. and we did not found a proper utensil as u did get on 1 st day...so...every room doesnt have the same quality facility...but still this hotel is worthy to stay.and again no dishwashing soap!

    we stayed there for 2 days... it was homely. it had a front facing balcony

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    it was ovelwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    only missing thing was the dishwashing soap !

    We like everything about the 12th floor apartment, it's view, it's coziness...... we felt like comfortable home. Nearmost station can not be nearer than that! superb location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a fan, rooms get very hot.

    No issues with check-in, quite self explanatory via the email they send you before your arrival date. Pleasant stay and clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Value for money - make informed decision.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The studio apartments are very tiny and for the price we paid we had very low expectations from this property. The property however still managed to disappoint us in some ways. There was no remote for our TV and had to watch the World Cup 2018 finals on my tiny phone. There were 3 chairs in 2 apartments and all were wobbly. There were some pots and pans in one apartment and one measly pan in the other. The idea of a kitchenette is to be able to prepare some basic meals while travelling. We booked an apartment with a kitchenette specifically since we had dietary restrictions but this was defeated by not even having the basic pots and pans to cook with. No cleaning products in the kitchen, even for doing the dishes. The apartment we had faced the train station. If you close the door to the balcony you feel hot and stuffy. If you open the door, the noise that cars and bikes make on the road just outside is bound to keep you up at all times. Make an informed decision.

    We were a group of 5 adults and we stayed at this property for 2 nights. The apartment building is located a 2 minute walk away from Zurich Oerlikon train station. We could see the apartment building as soon as we exited the train station. It is very conveniently located in my opinion. Zurich Flughafen (Zurich Airport) station is the very next stop to Oerlikon. The tram station and the bus station is just outside and has connections going to the airport as well. The wifi was good. We arrived 20 minutes before our check-in time and we were allowed to go in the 2 studios that we had booked. One was clean and the other was being cleaned and since we were early, we did not mind waiting a bit. I thought this was rather nice of the management. The cleaning staff was all smiles and friendly and we had requested for an extra bed which came promptly even though it did require one reminder - which I personally found acceptable. There are various supermarkets around and even though most of them close early and on Sundays, there is one Coop Pronto for your basic requirements open till 11.45 PM all 7 days on the other side of the Oerlikon Station from the apartment. It is inside the station and not outside. Hope this helps.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Good option in budget Hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Balcony was there but entry to the balcony was closed. kitchen soap was not provided to clean the utensils.

    Bed was comfortable, kitchenette was provided with utensils.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.2
    I travel a lot and i think that is the worst room ever... Avoid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in very loudy area.. with people downstairs to talk all the night.. The room in the first night has no hot water for bath.. it was very very cold. And the room it was very very dirty.. and smelly. We pay 69 euros per day and we take absolutely nothing... Very dissappoiting room. Avoid.

    the room it was big.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Good location and good price in Zurich.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The apartment stays near the railway that is noisy. In the toilet, the soap provided to us is too small.

    The location to anywhere in Zurich. The facility is ready to be used especially the kitchen stuff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Location was perfect, hassle free check in which only...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect, hassle free check in which only involved putting a number into a machine to get our key, beds were comfortable and room was clean and well maintained. So pleased with the quality that we got for the price we paid, particularly in the notoriously expensive Zurich! Had a great stay and would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Good for an overnight stay near the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan or air condition and we didn’t feel safe opening the window/door to the balcony cause it was a shared balcony.

    Keys were dispensed from a vending machine in the lobby. There’s a lift. Super near to the airport so this place is good if you have a flight to catch the next morning. It’s in the middle of the airport and Zurich city centre. Toilet and room were clean. Comes with mini fridge, stove, cutlery and utensils

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    4.2
    Nik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rigid procedure does not allow to check in early nor check out late. The floor was extremely dusty and dirty. Television has non English channel.

    Nik

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Noisy Environment but Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was super noisy when every time a train passed by... so that's the pros and cons when it's close to the transport.

    Although this apartment is not in the city centre, the location is excellent. It only takes us a minute to the closest tram stops. The room was clean but there was no air conditioner so it was quite hot in the summer. We didn't cook but the kitchen facilities seems perfect and new.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    The location, next to the Metro- train station and all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is worn out and if you don’t like the smell of curry food don’t book here! The check in was a bit complicated due to the previous person who put the key in the mail box so I had to call the management and complain, but they were cooperative and fast.

    The location, next to the Metro- train station and all accommodations are close by. The chick in and out is so easy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location at great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next to the Oerlikon train station, so noisy. Rail traffic until 1:00 a.m. Not a problem in winter (the windows were high quality with double panes). But in the summer you need to keep those windows open. Room had a fan, but no air-conditioning.

    Next to the Oerlikon train station. Oerlikon is NOT the main Zurich train station, but Oerlikon has several trains per hour to the Zurich airport (a 5 minute trip). For a neighborhood train station, it is pretty well equipped, with bakeries and fast food available from 6:00 a.m. to midnight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.0
    Clean and modern place to stay a bit outside the center of Zurich in Orelikon by the tran station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Deluxe Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could have been better stocked with domestic supplies there was a single skillet and no pots no sharp knifes no salt pepper sugar containers. No small spoons only big soup spoons. There was a flat screen tv but no instructions and the channels seemed to be all blocked. There was instruction that said do not leave your trash in the hall but did not tell you where to put it.No instructions on using the laundry If you open the windows the trains are really loud. A fan would be a nice addition.

    Modern and clean wifi was great there was a guest laundry that was free. There was a fridge and microwave . Shower was fine and bed was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    It was very comfortable staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is almost nobody around that you can ask for your essential questions about your stay and traveling. One may also need some German to communicate beside English.

    Breakfast, calmness, smiling and helpful restaurant staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    This studio apartment is really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is abit farther from the city but nearer to the airport(hardly 15 min on tram). And top of it, its noisy as the trains passing through creates lots of noise.

    This studio apartment is really good. Its nearby tram and train station. All the basic amenities were there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Very clean room, all basic kitchen entities, near to railway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is budget property so they not provided AC but they not provided fan also. In 25 celcious very hard to manage. Even bad thing is its near to railway station so you can't open window.

    Very clean room, all basic kitchen entities, near to railway station, very near India restaurant, value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Next to a metro station, convenience to travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All satisfied. Good price.

    Next to a metro station, convenience to travellers. Big room with all equipment required, I.e. refrigerator, self kitchen with equipment, clean bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    Swiss Star Tower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't clean by the time of check in so cleaning personnel cleans with me in the flat and they just smudged the surface not really making it clean, but making it to look clean. I suggest flip flora at all time lol..

    It's relatevly new furniture and fresh painted, great location, decent price and awesome view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Pretty great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was broken, so it felt like there was a hole on one side of the bed. My boyfriend and I had to sleep in and inclined angle.

    There was a kitchen and a balcony, towels and shampoo and soap were also included.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    there was a problem with the power outlet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pillow very simple/cheap

    there was a problem with the power outlet. i informed the company and they send within an hour an electrician. great service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Well-connected, next to the train station/tram/bus...
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy, because the hotel is next to the train station, but at some point they stop working from 1 till 5 am more or less)

    Well-connected, next to the train station/tram/bus stop, easy to get to the center and to the airport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    I am happy with my overall experience of staying for a couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment had no AC or fans, so it tends to get very warm during summers.

    It is close to the Oerlikon Bahnhof as well as to the tram/bus stop, so it's easily accessible. The apartment is well equipped with a kitchen if you like to cook for yourself. The apartment is clean and tidy. The locality has a lot of Asian restaurants, cafe's and bars. There is a small COOP take away to pick up breakfast and snacks. The apartment is a good value for money and I would recommend it for short stays for singles or couples.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Over all experience is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room is not cleaned even once during the stay of 4 nights. At least once in two days cleaning would have been better

    easy accessibility from metro station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    Room was very clean,bed comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey,with traffic and very,very close to train station.with constant train noise. To shower, had to step over over bathtub which was 2 and half deep.Had to be very careful.Upon arriving general appearance of building was a turn off. Entrance not very clean. No air conditioning,would not stay in summer.

    Room was very clean,bed comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    Near to public transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is slightly small. No heater or aircon provided. We had to open the window but the trains are passing by from time to time and hence the noise is even louder.

    Near to public transportation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    2.5
    Avoid this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dust everywhere. Not clean. No heating. Broken Window panel. Place looks shady when you enter.

    Connection, buses and trains nearby. Avoid if possible. Not recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Confortabl and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it had a kitchenette, it didn't have frying pans nor pots or pans to cook. We were very disapointed with that. Everything else were fine.

    Confortabl and warm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    All in all, it was a good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you’re a light sleeper, this isn’t the place for you. You could hear the cars driving by. It gets quite hot at noon and in the mid afternoon, the ventilation isn’t quite enough.

    Location was so easy to find and very close to both the tram and train station, within 1-2min distance. There are grocery stores located nearby. It’s only two train stops to Zurich main station and the Old town. It’s clean and the bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was clean and had all the stuff we needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.0
    Okay for a very short stay, if you don't mind train noise
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Deluxe Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I had was above the train tracks, and it was very noisy - had to use earplugs to sleep. Facilities were not great - two fridges (for no apparent reason), but no kettle and no spoons! Also, the bed was badly broken on one side. When I was there the main door to the building was constantly left wide open, meaning anyone could gain access - I kept closing it, but every time I went back it was open again - very annoying.

    Reasonable location, close to Oerlikon station, restaurants and supermarkets. Had a 1-bedroom apartment, so it was nice to have a separate room with a sofa.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.4
    The 3 mins walk from Orelikon OST station
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t found our key. We press the pin for our rooms key, it only come out 1 key for 1 room. We’d no choice but to use overseas roaming calls. The call went thru but was directed to an answering machine when we’d to listen to all the instruction & going thru all the steps b4 we are connected to a human. The lady informed me the others 2 keys are inside the room which I’m holding. We hang up & go up to the room & search all the cabinets but still couldn’t find the key. No choice had to call again. Again had to go thru the same auto answering machine b4 we k connect to a human. This time another guy answer & had to repeat the situation to him again. Then he say it could be the Cleaners took away the keys on the table. He say will call me back to check w the Cleaners. We waited another 5 mins & was inform that the Cleaners is on the way to pass us the other 2 rooms keys. We waited another 10 mins for the keys. Total 3 phone calls, the phone bill I not sure how much I’d incurred just because of their silly mistakes. Should had install a land line to connect direct to the apartment management for those who had trouble with their check in. A guy behind us also had trouble in his check in for the key collection. The apartment is too noisy during the night till 3am. A lot of noise from the motorcycle speeding & late night shouting.

    The 3 mins walk from Orelikon OST station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    4.6
    Okay but we wouldn't book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location noisy & not pleasant, balcony accessible by other tenants & dirty, bathroom basin blocked & unusable, had to unplug fridge to use microwave, poor kitchen utensils etc for food preparation, building & our room had stale smell, wifi patchy, passable for short time but we wouldn't book again. Maybe alright for younger people - we're an older couple. Laundry available but few machines for number of rooms.

    Close to trams and train. Maybe reasonable value as Switzerland very expensive place in other things but much less value than for same price elsewhere in Europe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    This place could easily score a 9.5 or 10 only of it improved it's bed and beddings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small and uncomfortable bed for 2 people.

    Easy access, excellent location. Clean, well supplied with utensils, microwave and fridge. Food, shops restaurant all very close.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Commute to this place is very convenient, compared to any...
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are here for 1 complete week, there was no room cleaning service on any of the day we stayed

    Commute to this place is very convenient, compared to any other property, this is surely value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    It was really nice. Location of the hotel is superb,but no one is there to guide you for check-in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There should be a box room or a luggage room and one person sitting at the reception to guide the guests.

    Actually, I was expecting someone to take my luggage and let me go. But there was no one. and because of that I had to carry all of my luggage till 4pm :(.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.4
    1.Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The washroom has improper draining facilities. 2. There were no enough lights in the room. 3. The washroom was quite small.

    1.Good location. 2. Good staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Ideal location and easy check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Deluxe Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment was far too warm. And the train station beside meant it was too loud to open a window while sleeping

    The location was great, right beside a tram station that took us into the centre of Zurich. Room was good enough for what we needed which was an overnight stay while we waited on a connecting flight

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    A lovely surprise in Zurich for such a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first walked into the lobby we were a little hesitant because the building looked a little outdated. But as soon as we walked into the room, I was more than happy. The room was extremely clean and very modern with a comfortable bed and a nice balcony.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    After reading all negative comments I was concerned what to expect. But collection of keys was very easy. And studio was small and basic, but it was clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    Decent price, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had concerns about the security of the building since the doors downstairs were somehow always kept opened by some people. Besides, the interior of the building (lobby, lift, public corridor on our floor) was filled with the smell of curry for the whole duration of our stay (5 days)....It was also way too warm inside the room despite the cold weather outside, and we often had to leave the balcony door open for some fresh cool air.

    Excellent location. We enjoyed having a kitchenette during our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Cheap accommodation option - ultimately you get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Luggage storage facility should be provided. Separate duvets per person instead of one/person are expected. Rooms should be sound-proofed so as to avoid loud noise from passing trains at night. Electric kettle should be in all rooms.

    It was simple enough to get the keys before check in and to drop the keys before check out. It was very close to the public transport. The room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Swiss Star Tower traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: