Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Little Polynesian Resort 4 stars

Main Road, Titikaveka, Titikaveka, 000 Rarotonga, Cook Islands

#4 of 27 hotels in Rarotonga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 59 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Paid WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    A chance to pause in paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully appointed setting, amazing views out over the infinity pool, across the lagoon out to the waves crashing over the distant reef. Very well designed and fitted out beachfront villa with excellent privacy. Friendly and attentive staff with an excellent food and beverage service - we didn’t need to leave the property for the duration of our stay - so relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    4.6
    View from the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The main big reason for my 4,6/10 opinion is that... I left my luggage at the reception because I had transfer to the airport 3 hours after check-out and the personel didnt give me all my storaged bags. I went to the airport without my few jackets. It was awful. When I called to the Little Polynesian Resort from the airport, firstly they said (please take it from us). They didn't give me my things and they want me to pay for a taxi to them. I have no words... Finally they sent my jackets throught the another person (probably not from the hotel) to me at the airport. Of course not immidiately, but after 1 hour. !!!! I needed to go to the security check at the airport and I was still waiting for these things. Awful - it's my word for that situation. 2. Second big problem. A lot of bugs in the garden room. I know, it's tropical island. I visited a lot of tropical islands, also Aitutaki, but the accomodation for that price, shouldn't have 15 mosquitos in the room, 10 earthworms, one new per hour. Extra two lizards and a lot of ants. Totally no comfort to stay. 3. Gas stove didnt work in the room. 4. Very bad, poor breakfast included in the room price. If you want something better, of course you need to pay.

    View from the restaurant. Beach, localisation and the wifi was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful resort with excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Resort was more expensive than some others, however, service and facilities support the higher price. TV channels are limited, but you can borrow a USB with a few movies.

    The property was as beautiful as the pictures - infinity pool, ocean, central area, rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful. Dinner was lovely and our waiter remembered our names even the next day. We had a late night flight and were offered the opportunity to use the resort facilities after checkout as long as we wanted. We were able to use a room for a shower before we left for dinner and our flight home. Beach facilities (chairs, paddle boards, etc.) were enough for all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Just have!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe uniforms of waiting staff could be laundered more often. A small thing overall.

    The bed was superb!! Same as the food. ( high compliments to the chef!! Setting and resort. So so beautiful! Most of all. The Staff were brilliant! Light hearted and very attentive. They ALL were an absolute credit to the Hotel/ company. A big thank you to all of those concerned for our wellbeing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Small, boutique resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some communication issues between staff. We had a problem with our hot water which took long to resolve but the manager certainly made up for it with an offer of a complimentary dinner, but the staff weren’t aware of it so this then needed to be resolved

    Small, boutique resort. Very comfortable with lovely, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.2
    I was very pleased with my stay overall, and enjoyed my time at this resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Beachfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 16 nights

    I felt there could have been more options on the menu to make a bit more variety - not enough smaller dishes in the evenings, and more variety in the way of lighter lunch options. The French Fries were not genuine French Fries as they were thick.

    They were not the best scrambled eggs i have ever had but were adequate. They could have been creamier with a bit of chopped parsley through for example.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location. Ideal for a romantic get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The lighting in the room at night was still quite dim.

    Proximity to the beautiful beach was a big plus. The staff were fantastic, and the food excellent. We ate at several places in Rarotonga but Little Polynesian's food was the best.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.3
    Not quite up to standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room (garden room) felt very tired and quite small. The whole resort feels as though it needs some money spent bringing it up to scratch - considering that this is supposed to be a "luxury" resort. We were a little disappointed with our experience there, our room didn't get cleaned until we requested, and then we were just told that the cleaning staff had gone home and that was it. In the end they did clean the room but not until about 6pm that evening. Also our shower flooded out into the bathroom, and there was no way to clean your sandy feet before entering the room. Generally the staff were good but could have been a bit more cheery, especially compared to our experience at the Pacific resort (a sister resort to Little Poly) where the staff and facilities were outstanding. (Leilani however managed to redeem the rest by being very welcoming and chatty). Free transfers between the sister resorts would have been nice - instead we had to pay our own taxi between - which isn't a big deal, but considering they are sister resorts we expected that this could be organised.

    The location is great - fantastic snorkeling directly out the front of the resort on a lovely beach. Food was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Relaxing holiday in Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent -- so only suggestion would be to add variety to vary the dinner menu.

    Perfect location on beachfront with lovely lagoon for swimming and snorkelling. Great breakfast with superb views over horizon pool. Friendly and accommodating staff. Delicious food. Perfect for a relaxing holiday. Snorkelling equipment & kayaks supplied. We had a beachfront villa which was huge with attractive decor and well designed. Very comfortable with all amenities and wonderful views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    All of the staff at Little Poly were absolutely wonderful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the staff at Little Poly were absolutely wonderful, so kind and accommodating! Little Poly was the perfect accommodation for our honeymoon, we're already dreaming of going back for a wedding anniversary.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    10
    A fantastic experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the sink in the bathroom. Really not very user-friendly. Other than that, all good!

    The restaurant is superb and we almost dined there everyday. The staff members are incredibly helpful. They are totally customer-oriented. Can never find a better resort in this world.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Nothing, will stay here again

    We stayed on a beach front bungalow and it was wonderful. Beautiful lagoon with lots of fishes, ideal for snorkelling. Great food at restaurant, close to Muri. Staff were fabulous especially Judah (manager), very attentive

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.6
    Paradise found!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When it was time to leave :(

    We loved everything about this place, the location, the staff and the scenery were all fantastic. It was peaceful, private and picture perfect, just what we needed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.2
    The beach, staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden rooms were very comfortable and clean but a little tired. Would be good if the had an upgrade. Food for vegetarians needs to have a little more variety.

    The beach, staff and location. Everyone was very helpful and accomodating. We loved it

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    Almost perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was repetitive, have to pay extra every day for eggs, which seems a bit pathetic given the price. Not walking distance to any good restaurants and on-site restaurant is delicious but so limited in menu.

    Best beach on the island without doubt. Cool balance of luxury and boutique. Beachfront rooms are private and perfect. Great service, great swimming, good snorkelling, truly paradise.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    The staff and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and the location. Paradise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Staff on the hotel was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff on the hotel was amazing!!!;)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Awesome place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean, perfect position, great staff, great amenities....etc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Good small and exclusive facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Good small and exclusive facility. Very good staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower ran hot and cold. Last day had no water.

    Great friendly staff. Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    A very pleasant stay if you want to unwind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather - a bit too windy but that can’t be helped.

    Relaxed atmosphere, good food, friendly locals

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    We had a great stay, great staff, excellent food and great beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to have own cooking facilities

    The fresh fruit

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    lovely modern room. excellent food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous resort, breathtaking views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really.

    Beach front villas have amazing views over the lagoon to the edge of the coral reef. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    We like that it is small and quite, more intimate with not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We like that it is small and quite, more intimate with not many people. Staff are all lovely. Food is wonderful and delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Amazing experience incredible location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely stunning location. Great friendly staff. Some of the best food we had on the island!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Stunning Boutique Resort with private beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was fantastic and the staff very friendly and accomodating. Would highly recommend a stay at the Little Polynesian.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proberly the wind

    We loved everything about the resort, comfort, quiteness, tranquil, romantic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    pure perfaction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    EVERYTHING

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    8.3
    Honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't change anything

    Staff were lovely and dinner was fantastic

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    10
    Just what we needed, relaxation at its best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Service, location, atmosphere, food, cocktails, access to paddle boards/snorkeling equipment, beach front bungalow absolutely worth it

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    9.6
    Great memories with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great accommodation villas and great views ....very accommodating stuff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff Location was beautiful The bed was very comfortable The room was private and had all the facilities needed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ocean view, and beach was beautiful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    6.3
    Villas were spacious and nicely designed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only instant coffee in the villa. No plunger coffee. Very very windy. Pool in a weird location. Right in front of the dining area, therefore hardly ever used.

    Villas were spacious and nicely designed. View is awesome over the lagoon.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    10
    This was the most beautiful resort we've ever been to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Airport transfers were a bit pricey. Nothing else about the hotel was in any way bad or negative!

    This was the most beautiful resort we've ever been to and it was incredible! The staff went above and beyond to make every guest feel welcome. The villas felt private and were unbelievable in their detail. The views from each room looked out onto the best outlook of the entire island (not an exaggeration!). The tropical breakfast was fresh and delicious each morning and after looking around other resorts, the restaurant was easily the best (in terms of food and views) in Rarotonga. We would return in a heart beat!

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    10
    Superbly designed and built beech front villas with outdoor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You will ned some DEET for the mosquitoes and factor 50 for the tropical sun

    Superbly designed and built beech front villas with outdoor jacuzzu, private deck facing the ocean and access to deserted golden sands leading to a vast 5 foot deep lagoon teaming with tropical fish.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave !!

    Perfect.. best location on the Island and amazing little resort...casual but stylish - only 14 bungalows ( 10 right on the beach) and no children under 15 Incredibly friendly happy staff, so willing to make your stay perfect and memorable. Wonderful restaurant at Little Poly, delicious fresh interesting menu. Great Chef ! The accommodation is very comfortable, lots of space inside and out. Beach/ Lagoon is magic, very safe for snorkelling & kayaking. We stayed in Bungalow 9 for 9 nights and loved every minute we were there. Will definitely return

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    9.6
    Lovely view and beautiful accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely view and beautiful accommodation. Staff extremely accommodating and professional. Would visit this boutique hotel again. Only comment would be if there were more snacks available during day.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    10
    Isireli, Sala & Minimana on management team went above...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Isireli, Sala & Minimana on management team went above and beyond, we will definitely return not only to stay at the beautiful Little Poly but to see them! Brianna, Tanis, Set & Marilyn provided exceptional customer service & made our honeymoon extra special! The Little Poly is the best spot on Rarotonga by far, we can't wait to come back :)

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Even thought the food and drinks were great and the service was friendly, the service was also extremely slow.

    Location, location, location. The staff was willing to help with anything and everything and always had a smile.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    10
    The location and facilities were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location and facilities were excellent. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly especially Israeli who went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable. We had a fantastic time and would highly recommend this hotel as it is small and provided personalised service. We stayed in a garden villa which was very private and the spa bath outside was great.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    9.2
    I got a great deal for a beachfront are through booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I got a great deal for a beachfront are through booking.com. Rooms are lovely, some small maintenance issues but I found that to be applicable anywhere in Rarotonga. We had an early check in/ late check out which was much appreciated. Breakfast delivered to our room everyday was lovely. Best pork belly at the restaurant. Staff are friendly and will help with anything (yes, this may be on Cook Islands time, but just remember where you are!). We hired a scooter so getting out and about was easy. We may have found it a bit isolating with out our own transport. The bus stop is at the front of the hotel though. Charlie's cafe is a short walk up the beach- fantastic lunches. It was really windy during our trip so we found it was better to go to Muri or Black Rock for swimming and snorkeling.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    9.2
    Beachfront rooms with lagoon views, Rooms set up well for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    few ants so needed to keep clean, internet is pricey/difficult but it is same everywhere in Raro, coffee machine not working but nothing major

    Beachfront rooms with lagoon views, Rooms set up well for romantic holiday, Staff were excellent and friendly and went out of their way to help at times, romantic dinner set up at room for special occasion, food was great, place was picturesque

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    7.9
    The beach area was up there with the best on the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower drain was pretty much blocked so could only have a quick shower without flooding the bathroom and kitchen. Let the manager know and nothing seemed to get done. Toilet wasn't the cleanest.

    The beach area was up there with the best on the island. Apartments are big and private.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    8.3
    Location, breakfast, outdoor spa bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed 8 nights in a garden villa, very private and perfectly fine if you don't want to spend quite as much $ on the beach villas. Great little kitchenette and good breakfast with fresh fruit included. Dined in restaurant one night, good food but slow and overpriced, worth exploring other restaurants

    Location, breakfast, outdoor spa bath

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    6.3
    The staff were excellent from the moment we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom wasn't clean especially the shower, no bin in the kitchen so only had the one in the bathroom and the room was over priced as we stayed in a different hotel on the night we arrived and it was £100 cheaper, clean and with the same facilities.

    The staff were excellent from the moment we arrived. Modern look and feel of hotel. Right on the beach.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    7.9
    the beach bungalow was beautiful, the views fantastic (even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food in the restaurant was quite disappointing and generally not how it was described on the menu. This is fine we understand if some ingredients are out of stock on a small island, but it would have been nice to be told this when ordering instead of just having something completely different put in front of you. There is not much within walking distance so you do need transport

    the beach bungalow was beautiful, the views fantastic (even in cloudy, rainy weather), the bluetooth sound system was a bonus to the lovely room. lovely sandy beach and snorkelling right on the doorstep. Sure we would have appreciated it all the more had the sun made an appearance!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    7.5
    Had lunch and dinner at Little Poly last year (2013) and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had lunch and dinner at Little Poly last year (2013) and decided we should stay here when we visit Raro next so we did and it was a right decision. Staff was so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them :-) We stayed in a beachfront villa and paradise was right on our doorstep! Definitely recommend it!

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    9.2
    The room layout, being so close to the beach and service of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed and pillows were a bit uncomfortable

    The room layout, being so close to the beach and service of the staff

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    10
    It's right on the best beach on the island, nice sandy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's right on the best beach on the island, nice sandy beaches and amazing snorkelling at your doorstep

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful beach bungalows right on the lagoon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful beach bungalows right on the lagoon. Staff were very friendly and food was amazing. We will be back to little poly!

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.6
    Small and a very relaxing place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small and a very relaxing place to stay

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Great location staff food and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location staff food and facilities. We will return.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    Amazing beach front bungalows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beach was too windy

    Amazing beach front bungalows. Amazing facilities- shower, outdoor private tub, comfy bed

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: