Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Magic Reef Bungalows 4 stars

Main Road, Arorangi, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

#1 of 27 hotels in Rarotonga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 111 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9

  • Paid WiFi

    5.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    I had a wonderful week staying at magic Reef Bungalows and would definitely recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beach is lovely but only suitable for swimming at high tide due to the coral bed.

    The staff at this property were exceptionally friendly and helpful, they really went out of their way to help. Its a lovely place to stay, the spacious bungalows feel very private surrounded by lovely gardens and with a view of the ocean. The bungalow had an private outside bathroom with a bath and shower. Handy to the Magic Reef Bungalows is an excellent restaurant called Waterline, the food is excellent there and the cocktails are FABULOUS-best Pina colada OF MY LIFE!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Best place to stay in Rarotonga by far
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, it was perfect

    Everything was beyond our expectations. Impeccably clean, quiet and private. Beautiful grounds and really relaxing environment. Amy and Gillian couldn't be more helpful. I am already planning our next trip :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Amazing location for watching whales from the room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Nothing, it was perfect!

    Absolutely amazing stay! The west coast is definitely the best place to stay, with less wind and sensational sunsets. We would sit and watch the whales swim by--that was spectacular!! Gillian and Amy were both great to work with, exceptionally helpful, they went out of their way to help every one of their guests, give advice, even baked a birthday cake for one of the guests! Location was great, right on the beach, lots of restaurants withing walking distance, town was a short ride. The first day breakfast lasted us 3 days, fantastic fruit, bread, jam. juice, and great coffee also. All of the fellow-guests were great to visit with; everyone would meet by the beach around sunset and visit and watch whales. The room was perfect, the kitchenette included all the dishes, gadgets, and pots/pans you'd need, a stovetop, and refrigerator; there was a microwave available on the property. I loved the wood-carved bed, front wall, and tables, they were works of art in themselves. The bed was comfortable, everything was really clean, and the shower outside was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Privacy-oceanfront-pool-gorgeous bungalows-awesome staff-what else do you need??
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rain...

    We loved this place. Amy was soooo super helpful with a few issues I had pre-arrival that had nothing to do with her! The maintenance guy was there almost daily tending to the gardens so of course everything was beautiful. A beauty therapist was starting up the day we left but I did manage to get a massage from someone they recommended who came to our room...fantastic. He was so wonderful, thank you Zeb! The dog, Magic, was a lovely visitor and friendly but wouldn't hang around you all day. Being an Adults Only resort this was a lovely place for me and my husband to get away to. The Bungalows were very island style in their décor which was great yet it had what was required - lovely bathroom - beautiful big King 4 poster bed - an outdoor style rain head shower and bath (nice touch) - kitchenette (microwave avail at office) - gorgeous deck to relax on and see both pool and sea yet be private. Oh ...take me back !!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    We were thrilled with every aspect of Magic Reef.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Absolute Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We were thrilled with every aspect of Magic Reef. The location was perfect. Beautiful coconut tree-lined, sun-set beach. Away from the big resorts and tourist traps. Authentic villas with great outlook - we had absolute beach front, worth the extra $. Self-contained, so we could do our own thing. Pristine but relaxed. Completely private. Great bed, outdoor shower and bath, lovely extra touches with fruit platter, muesli and home made jams. Close to fabulous restaurants. Yoga classes on the beach. Amy, Jilly and team went above and beyond to ensure we were well looked after. Thank you! It was great to meet you all. No question, we will be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I like that it is a small resort with not too many people. I like that you could walk along the beach in either direction to a bar and restaurant. Amy and Jill were really helpful when I needed help to change my flights thank you so much.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Had a great experience - would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Absolute Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The welcome fruit platter was unbelievably good. Facilities and location are amazing. And the owner went above and beyond to make us feel welcome (eg invited us for drinks and pizzas one evening with the other guests).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    The location of the Magic Reef is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Absolute Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The location of the Magic Reef is excellent. Right on the beach if you get a beach bungalow. Staff are incredibly helpful with everything possible. Fairly central and on the not so windy side of the island.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Great place and views, only spoiled by beach being unsuitable for swimming due to rocks everywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Odors in bathroom probably coming from outside, small ants on floor inside.

    We liked the air conditioning, fruit platter on arrival, outdoor shower, 4 post bed, available swimming equipment, glow in the dark pool, close proximity to nice restaurants and awesome views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Stunning location for sunsets and beach walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was not available from Magic Reef at the time of our stay. Office hours are limited. This property had changed owners between the time we booked and when we arrived. We were more pleased with Magic Reef 2 years ago on our first visit.

    Stunning location for sunsets and beach walks. Rooms are large and well-furnished. Gardens are gorgeous. Nice swimming pool. Loved the fresh fruit platter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    So Restful & Relaxing - just what were ordered & Magic Reef Bungalows delivered - thanks so much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Sorry Guys - Only one small dislike was the hardish mattress - But everything else made up for that so no biggie.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful. The Bungalow was clean and tidy with everything supplied ( hair dryer, iron etc ) and our linens and towels were changed ever 2nd day which was wonderful. All Body wash,shampoo & conditioner was supplied ) in large bottles not small sachets/bottles etc. The location is wonderfully quiet at night for easy sleeping. The Beach is 20 feet away - fabulous for sitting watching the sun go down with a glass of wine or coming up with a early morning coffee. The Pool is a major bonus especially with there only being 9 bungalows so no crowds to contend with . A shuttle service is provided for pick up from the airport and delivery back again on departure. Mitch the driver is terrific and being a local has all the knowledge you'll need for where to go for sightseeing,buying groceries, eating out etc. Amy & the girls in the office, plus all the wonderful cleaning staff/Gardeners could not have been more helpful and are a real credit to Magic Reef, we will definitely be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Paradise getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to fault

    The arrival day fresh fruit platter for breakfast, the outdoor shower, the vanilla/coconut body wash, safe inside the room, the style of accommodation

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.2
    Perfect boutique bungalows for a relaxing and quiet holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 13 nights

    There wasn't much to not like! The lagoon wasn't great for snoorkling though beautiful, clear and lovely from the lagoon hammock. Then again, the really good snorkelling areas are in busier locations and so close by that it was a worthwhile trade off. Mid to high tide swims were best. My only disappointment was that three messages to the office were not relayed to me.

    The Magic Reef Bungalows were the perfect relaxing quiet holiday destination for me. A small operation where I was known by all staff who were exceptionally helpful, friendly and forthcoming with great local advice. My bungalow was generously proportioned with a lovely outdoor shower and bath and deck which overlooked the lagoon and beautifully manicured tropical gardens. I could hear the sound of the waves day and night!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Our stay was a little slice of heaven for my 60th birthday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Absolute Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 12 nights

    No complaints but realize that the beach at the facility is not meant for swimming. For us this was not an issue and there were excellent swimming and snorkelling areas close by.

    Excellent accommodation with lots of privacy, nice pool which you often have all to yourself. 9 cabin units all close to the beach. Our unit was directly on the beach allowing us to whale watch and enjoy beautiful sunsets directly from our deck. Friendly and very helpful staff (Nancy). Attractive landscaping and well cared for property. Although you can get around by local bus I would suggest either scooters or renting a car as you will want to get to restaurants and beaches all around this beautiful small island. We like to cook and the barbecue came in handy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Extremely relaxing, comfortable & enjoyable stay & will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    On site buffet style breakfast would have been nice. Having said that there is a delicious modern cafe about 200 metres down the road. Also we did receive complimentary fruit, cereal & toast which lasted us 2 days & the tea & coffee facilities were very good.

    The location was great with spectacular views from the beach Cabana, which was ideal for relaxing afternoon drinks and nibbles. The whales also put on an awesome display while laying on the beach lounges. Staff were super friendly & knowledgable. Restaurants & snorkelling spots very close by. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, with local fruit on offer each day. The gardens were beautiful & very well kept, the pool was also clean & very relaxing. Kid free! Very enjoyable stay, will return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful, a great place to relax and unwind and enjoy the sunsets!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Loved it all!

    Excellent host, gardens beautiful and well maintained, fabulous area on the beach with lounges and bean bags a great place to watch the sunset. Polynesian style bungalows with everything you need to self cater or a short walk along beach to fabulous restaurant or bar

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Great. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was one of the best staying experience. The room was very clean and it provided everything we need. A big welcome plate (milk, fruit and muesli) solved two-day breakfast. There was a very nice open shower/tub in the back of the room which was a big surprise. Beach was in front of the hotel and easy to walk to two restaurants nearby and church. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    It was a great place to stay and a lovely island to visit, we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 14 nights

    There are no laundry facilities on the property but 2 min walk down the road they will do your laundry for you. For some a microwave might be helpful but didn't cause us any real issues.

    Outside shower and bath, still very private was a nice touch. Right on the beach, step out onto the sand, with a good walking beach. Pool is in the shape of a sailing boat, very clean. Bungalows are sufficiently separated from each other, grounds are lovely, very tropical look. Owners very helpful and friendly as were the staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Peace and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Absolute Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very peaceful, lovely beachfront bungalow, beautiful sunsets. Great place for couples (no children), easy walk to various eateries, hired a scooter. Perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location and accommodation;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and accommodation; with only a small number of bungalows this was the quiet and relaxing holiday we wanted. The friendly and helpful team ensured we had everything we needed. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.8
    Magical just like it's name
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having more time to spend in the Cook Islands 🌴

    Small complex only nine bungalows and each with a view of the ocean. Self catering but lots of lovely places to eat close by. Magic Reef the perfect name !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Absolutely marvelous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ange and Simon are looking at selling the resort in the near future and moving on to their next big adventure. I really hope that the new owners can live up to the wonderful service we received during our stay.

    Upon arrival we were greeted by Ange (co-owner), who is possibly the most enthusiastic and positive person I have ever met. She made us feel incredibly welcome. We were given a quick tour of the room and facilities which gave us all the information we needed without holding up our vacation. If there was anything we needed we were told that we would were more than welcome to get hold of Ange, Simon or Nancy at any time (including all day during Easter weekend). At the office they could provide free ice, cheap alcoholic beverages, and free filtered water. While there is not a restaurant on site, Ange, Simon and Nancy had an extensive knowledge of all that there was to eat, drink and do within walking distance, and if you want to go further there are push bikes (with helmets) available on site. In the room there was a fantastic tropical fruit platter provided free of charge upon check in. There was also interesting reading material about local history, things to do and even detailed descriptions of the various fruit included in the aforementioned platter. The shower was in a private outdoor area and had the option of an overhead shower or a detachable wand type. There was also a batch tub separate from this, but we did not try this out. The toilet and hand basin were in a separate indoor bathroom and this facility also great (the hand basin is amazing, I wish I had a picture). Within walking distance there are several very good restaurants (OTB was the best we tried after eating out every day over 13 days on the island), a small shop and scooter/car hire. Any activity or dining you were interested in could be organised at the office immediately and with a smile. The pool was large, clean and had a waterfall in it. There were loungers available. It was shaped like a pirate ship. What more could you ask for in a pool?

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were very helpful and welcoming. Rooms were a great size and well appointed.Outdoor shower and batg were amazing. There was a massive plate if fruit in the fridge on arrival as well as bread for toast in the morning. A great place to stay and if we go back to the Cooks we will stay here again

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    Gorgeous Beach bungalow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything!

    Beautiful viewing decks for watching the fabulous sunsets! Love listening to the waves on the beach at night. Nothing was too much trouble!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Absolute Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location on the island is excellent with beautiful sunsets. Our absolute beach front bungalow was steps from the beach and offered an amazing view from the front porch. The resort is small and we often enjoyed the pool by ourselves. Angela and Simon, the owners were wonderful , checking in daily to answer questions or just chat. We rented a car - and enjoyed touring the island and snorkeling at different beaches. Our favorite snorkeling spots were by Fruits of Rarotonga and the dive shop.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    9.2
    Highly Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I wish the TV had a USB port for hard drives (just a little thing, but felt I had to fill in this box).

    The AC was invaluable and that you could use the pool at night was awesome! The property was nice and quiet, not too far from town (10 minute scooter ride), but there were some great places to eat nearby. The staff were friendly and really helpful (especially Nancy). I look forward to going back to stay here when I'm next in Rarotonga.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    My third trip to the Island and my best experience by far!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 12 nights

    I missed having a microwave in the kitchen and more drawer space/storage for clothes in the bedroom area would have been nice. Oh, and a more powerful AC to keep the heat down or fan over the bed.

    Loved the bungalow, the layout, the ocean view, the owners and staff, the ice service, the towels, the outside shower,the top-drawer furnishings inside and out by the beach, sigh..... we'll come back!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    The Magic is Real
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beach on the property is very reefy and not great for swimming, but there are no private beaches so it's a short walk along the beach to find clearer shores. Their beach is great for lounging on and not crowded at all.

    Simon, Angela and Nancy were incredible helpful and accommodating even though I felt like I must have been annoying asking them questions about everything from good snorkeling places to making reservations for restaurants. They took care of everything and made everything easy and convenient.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.8
    Pool was great, too warm at time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have appreciated knowing the cost of airport transfers at time of booking. We would have liked a larger screen TV...could not read subtitles from seating area

    Pool was great, too warm at time. Cozy, welcoming atmosphere, with only 18 guests max there was lots of privacy but everyone greeted each other when meeting.relaxing, with pleasant owners and staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous location for a real chillout
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet access was expensive and a bit clunky to use.

    Very helpful and welcoming staff and the owners were welcoming and friendly too. Great bungalows with a traditional feel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    Perfect pacific island ambience and relaxation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchenette and bar fridge could be bigger but just worked with what was there, buying small amounts of food as we went. Good enough.

    We stayed here in November 2016 and couldn't have been happier. It was everything we wanted, pacific island bungalow style, comfortable bed, clean, on the beach and quiet. Relaxing on the verandah and having sunrise and sunset drinks on the beach deck was just delightful. Staff were relaxed, helpful and friendly. Kitchenette is only small but had access to a BBQ which we used only a couple of times. We ended up scootering around for meals which was fun. Recommend the Mooring Cafe for lunch in Muri. For dinner, Castaways has a beach bar just down the road which is excellent for skewers. A few restaurants close by but can be pricey. Not exactly flooded with outstanding food options but enough to suffice. The draw card is more the ambience and relaxation this place has to offer which was perfect. The bungalows are delightful and all have fabulous views over the beach. The sound of waves breaking in the distance on the outer reef is very calming. Would come back here in a heartbeat!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    Amazing...better than you expected
    • Couple
    • Absolute Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing, clear and well equipped place with a very helpful and friendly staff. You can compare it with best 5 stars resorts and still this one will be better. For sure don't miss the dinner from Jenny (120$) served at your door step. It was best dinner we ever had.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Best bungalows ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was great!

    Walking distance to beach bars and restaurants. used pool every day. BUNGALOW had everything we needed from crystal wine glasses to crisp sheets. Good snorkeling and swimming free snorkeling gear. Locasion 10/10 bungalows 10/10. fresh fruit platter on arrival. Great thanks for a wonderful week in Raro 😀 Karen and Keith

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    Two weeks in paradise at Magic Reef!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 14 nights

    There is a two element cook top and more than adequate fridge, the only thing missing was a microwave.

    Angela, Simon and Nancy were so helpful, they couldn't do enough to make our stay a fabulous one! Angela and Simon have been continuously improving the property over the last few years and it is beautiful. Each bungalow has aircon, a fantastic outdoor bathroom (with bath), continuous hot water, king beds that are firm and very comfortable. We will stay again!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    Didn't want to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only suggestion I can think of is to put a full length mirror into the cabins for those who are over for a special event, such as a wedding, and would like to check that their dress matches their shoes, but even then it's a pretty insignificant thing in the grand scheme of how truely great the place is!

    The bungalows are super cute and spacious, and give that tropical island feel. Location is amazing with beautiful sunsets overlooking white sand beaches, the perfect setting for a drink before dinner. The outdoor shower and bath are very romantic in the evening and ideal in the day when temperatures are high. Close to amenities such as small shops, a gas station and scooter hire, as well as a few good restaurants (we recommend Flambé). The staff are amazing; Nancy you're a legend! You were so lovely from the moment I got off the plane and I can't thank you enough for making my holiday the most special time. Thank you for everything you did for me x. Even the two cleaning ladies and the groundsman were super lovely and friendly! If I ever get the chance to visit Rarotonga again, I'd want to book into Magic Reef Bungalows.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Personalities were excellent and the staff very friendly, a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personalities were excellent and the staff very friendly, a most pleasant stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Just a great place for adults to relax no issues at all, we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    n/a

    Just a great place for adults to relax no issues at all, we will be back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    See you again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Absolute Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place. Staff, pool, grounds, rooms and Magic the dog were all fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing care free stay with friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Absolute Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location on the beach that also has a nice pool. Rooms well serviced and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Very relaxing, lovely facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sign of any staff on site.

    Well kitted out cottage. Bathroom is very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Delightful beach location, quiet, very helpful staff, ideal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Microwave and full-length mirror would have been helpful

    Delightful beach location, quiet, very helpful staff, ideal for a restful break

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Great view of the ocean very tidy and clean great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Absolute Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view of the ocean very tidy and clean great staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money with amazing staff who went the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money with amazing staff who went the extra mile. Will be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Clean, tidy, quiet, grounds well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, tidy, quiet, grounds well looked after. Awesome place to stay staff were friendly , beautiful location. 10/10

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault it

    Everything was more than we expected. Bath and shower were awesome, pool, ocean views, the bungalow itself was amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Magical Magic Reef - highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Villa was lovely and only metres from the beach. Amy, the owner was extremely friendly and went the extra mile to make sure we were happy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, comfortable, private, quiet R&R
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trip ending!

    Beautiful grounds, refreshing pool, comfy king bed, great views & friendly, helpful staff. Great private outdoor shower!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic . Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Absolute Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Should have stayed longer

    Solitude. Quiet. No Children or noisy people

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    High quality well maintained bungalows.
    • Group
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is expensive and unreliable.

    High quality well maintained bungalows. Good price. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful setting, quiet and tranquil with seaviews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful setting, quiet and tranquil with seaviews. Layout of bungalows and garden was superb.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    I would recommend Magic Reef to everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The weather

    Loved the open air bath and shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully well kept bures and gardens wtith direct beach access

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.7
    Excellent accomodation on a great little island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Absolute Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would be picky to answer...all good.

    No kids, very quiet and relaxing. A must if you want a kids free holiday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Love Raro and Magic Reef Bungalows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - 3rd stay

    Unique accommodation - bungalows. Great sunsets and hosts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    Bloody great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Absolute Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bed was a little hard . but who really cars when your on holiday

    Great location .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    The best place to stay on Rarotonga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was simply beautiful, nothing was ever a problem and the staff and owners were great!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    Great place for relaxed couple hangs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Peaceful, beautiful spot with very helpful staff and owners

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Our new favourite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Close to good restaurants - beautifully maintained property and gardens - lovely friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.6
    Island life at its
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great views and very relaxing. The owners are very helpful and make your stay even better.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Great made our holiday highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great made our holiday highly recommend

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.6
    Good location, excellent hosts ,quiet and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 28 nights

    Good location, excellent hosts ,quiet and relaxing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    Nice and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and quiet. Very relaxing! Great staff and people to deal with!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    10
    The property and its staff were well above expectations and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Absolute Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The property and its staff were well above expectations and we couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.6
    Amazing hosts and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Absolute Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hosts and location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    10
    Beachfront bliss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Absolute Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    9.2
    Relaxing time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Absolute Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit hard but still ok

    The location Staff were great

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.6
    Wonderfull vacations in paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet service... overall in the island is too expensive

    Location and room design...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    Can't wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Front Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff were super friendly and helpful, bungalows were amazing, great location, can't wait to go back

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    10
    Magic place and lovely staff!
    • Couple
    • Ocean View Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Magic place and lovely staff! for sure i will recommend!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.6
    The bungalows are bright and airy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't stay longer...

    The bungalows are bright and airy. We did enjoy little extras like the amazing fruit plate when we arrived. The staff took great care of us. The sunsets were amazing!!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    10
    Can not say enough good things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!!!

    Can not say enough good things. Your value for your money is amazing, and you will never want to leave...The owners Angela and Simon and the nicest, most honest and accommodating people you will ever meet. All the staff are the same, especially Nancy the manager who will spend all the time you want helping you to plan your adventures. The units are immaculate, gorgeous furniture that is comfy (including the King bed), and the outdoor shower/bath area is so incredible!! There is tons of great loungers for the pool and beach that are amazing to sit in (not hard plastic), and the grounds are stunning and impeccable. The beach out front is kept in pristine condition, and is basically your own. Very quiet, close to anything you need, and so beautiful. Don't hesitate, book it!!! It is truly a home away from home.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    10
    A small spacious resort in an outstanding location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we couldn't stay longer, a lot longer!

    A small spacious resort in an outstanding location. Superb service where we felt really cared for and we didn't really want for anything. Good restaurants within a short walking distance along the beach either way. Highly recommended. Do it!

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    10
    Beachfront views in a tropical setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave.

    Beachfront views in a tropical setting. Well presented accomodation. Friendly staff and owners, nothing to much for them to make ones stay enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    9.6
    Everything - location - accommodation awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just the one cockroach I found !! There was raid on hand so it is dead now but hey ho !! Your living on a beach on a south Pacific island so it's no biggy really :-)

    Everything - location - accommodation awesome.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    6.7
    Great view from bungalow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was only serviced every 3 days - for the price it should have been every day. Also woken up each night by neighbors dogs barking constantly throughout the night. Tranfers to airport expensive and not included due to not booking direct with them

    Great view from bungalow

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Magic Reef Bungalows traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: