Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Manuia Beach Resort 4 stars

Arorangi Beach, Arorangi, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

#15 of 27 hotels in Rarotonga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 55 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Paid WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Having to ask for information such as happy hour, trips, activities available and bus timetables etc provided by the resort, nobody seemed to know the tide changes, the best activities offered on the island and the times. Some clients got discount vouchers and champagne for their stay some received nothing. People talk to each other and compared packages offered. I felt we didn't get such a good package directly from you we should have used a travel agent as there were more discounts.

    We loved the way the staff interacted with all the clients. They were friendly and relaxed especially the restaurant staff. The cleanliness of all the facilities. The beach and pool access and comfort. There was always a space for sunbathing around the pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Dinner not so good when head chef was off (... the same prawn menu item was markedly different in preparation, presentation and taste)

    Enjoyed the fruit at breakfast, and the Sunday buffet particularly. The pool and 'On the Beach' restaurant set up was great. Rooms were good, beds comfortable. Car rental place across the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner drinking and telling staff off in front of guests. There is only 1 fork spoon and knife and glass. The room was for two . $40 pick up fee..

    The pool and loungers

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had an early departure but did not have breakfast delivered to room the day before as mentioned. only an outdoor shower, had to wait a long time for hot water to come through. No TV in room.

    The restaurant was amazing. Transfers were great. The room was spacious and clean. Very comfy bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    N/A

    Loved the gardens,privacy while sitting on deck, the room was light and clean. The bed was big and comfortable. In fact we loved everything about the place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cockerel awakening @ 5 am. Little to do if raining but umbrellas provided takes time to get things done it . Not sure about sand as base for restaurant. Impressive hotel pics do fade somewhat as reality checks in. Some elements would benefit from upgrade & refurnish..... shower head need de scaling ? Veranda table wobbly. Little things can make a difference!

    Casual dress code added to relaxing time at this hotel. No formalities. Cool breeze thr'out day. Small hotel so no fight over pool space or sun beds. A great way to get over jet lag from U.K 25 hours plane time before. On to N.Z. Can't get lost on island clockwise & anti clockwise bus takes care of travel. Like idea of coloured face cloth for eye makeup removal - less staining than using white ones

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Front Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Leaving

    Spacious clean rooms. Comfy beds. The outdoor shower is unique and a lovely experience still maintaining a privacy element. Beautiful views of the ocean (and whales), good snorkling right off the beach. Pool area was lovely, plenty of loungers and umbrellas. Restuarant served amazing food, starting with a good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lots. My room was OK though lacking any warmth. and why was it necessary to put the face flannels on the bedside tables in the shape of flowers. this is like something from the 70's! The pillows were awful - very hard and very high and the only other one they could offer me was a lumpy old one . The towels were a travisty - far from thick and luxurious as I would expect when paying this price and stained - horribly! There were several I simply could not use. The hooks were missing from the wall in the outdoor shower so nowhere to hang your towel. The shower needs upgrading - it felt a bit scungy and the shower head produced a dribble of water. The staff at reception were brusque and quite rude at times. The breakfast was very disappointing - did not include a cooked breakfast or good coffee - these had to be paid for. The bread was basic sandwich sliced ( I know there is good bread available on the island). This is not a cheap place - they can do better!

    The beach was lovely and there was always plenty of loungers available.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great situation amazing beach and pool super facilities amazing manager and staff very friendly welcoming, comfortable beds great relaxing outdoor seating with amazing views of the ocean with sitings of whales.Wonderful place for a holiday ,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit dribbly, the calamari was the pre-frozen processed type. WIFI only available right at reception (not that we really needed it).

    Really nice room, I love outdoor showers in tropical places! Good porch with gardens around it, we had a room in a private spot too. Pool was lovely, bar and restaurant were good (except for the calamari) and nice being right on the beach, although it was a bit too rocky for swimming and not a great spot for snorkelling.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Manuia greatly met my expectations. I would like to make a suggestion that the deck be tended to... It's weather beaten of course, but you want to make sure people are safe. The Restaurant at the hotel had AMAZING food and the Christmas lunch was EXCEPTIONAL... I have to say that the servers were kind, but SERVICE was SLOW... there was never anyone checking on us by the pool, which at least 10 of us could be found near for the bulk of my days there, and then dinners took a long time to come out - thought the meals were always worth it. Overall. I enjoyed my time there, and even came back to visit those remaining when I returned from 4 days a Aitutaki. I will return! Kia Ora

    Chris and Alex were great hosts as the managers and the bungalow was well tended. Great group of wonderful, kind, warm guests during my visit as well. People I will indeed be in touch with!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had to leave!

    Absolutely everything... our detached, single story, fale type room (down to the outside shower lol) and decor perfect. Staff (all) couldn't do enough for us. Location amazing! Food wonderful!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were seated promptly by a young man. This same young man set our table and gave us water. It then took over 25 minutes to get a menu and service. Horrible! When we checked out the next day there was a charge on our bill that didn't belong to us. They fixed the charge right away. The price of one night stay here was totally not worth the room. Room was clean but it Felt like staying in a very cheap hotel. Rooms were very close together and everything felt very cramped. Takes away the feeling that you are on a tropical island. Beds were super uncomfortable! So many other beautiful places to stay for this price. Stay somewhere else!

    We were flying off the island the same day we checked out, which meant we had over 12 hours before catching our plane. This was plenty of time to revisit favorite spots and more water sports. What made this resort stand out was they did provide a shower room to get cleaned up before you leave the islands. Having these facilities available to guests after checkout was awesome!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Barking dogs, crowing roosters, lunch menu could be more varied, to include things like toasted sandwiches ( not everyone wants a huge meal in the middle of the day ! ) , no microwave in rooms.

    Location, swimming pool, friendly staff, Mystery tour.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet I guess but it is an island in the middle of the Pacific so it's pretty good considering!

    Breakfast was pretty good, lovely fresh fruit. Comfy bed, and good cotton sheets. Outside shower was great and loved the shampoos and shower gels etc. provided. Nice big room and the hotel was a short stroll down the beach to a lovely restaurant called Waterline. Brilliant service & ambience. Internet wasn't amazing but adequate for checking emails. I would probably stay here again. Also little convenience store virtually opposite the hotel which was great. Definitely hire a car if visiting Rarotonga.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants and cockroaches in room, cups and cutlery put back unclean, expensive restaurant comparatively

    The lovely cat that lives under the tree at the back bungalows! We named her Narloo, everyone please keep feeding her :( great pillows in room and good location for the sun

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Front Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking area at the resort is rather small, not good to take car down and reverse if it's full as it, there's only about 5 car parks. Children playing on the hammocks and being their when its a adult only resort, but they may have been at the restaurant which is open for all.

    The bedroom we stayed in - beachfront was just divine. The outlay is beautiful, could have done with a kitchen sink though. The outdoor shower was bliss and the bed was the best I've slept on... we are now going to purchase those pillows for home. There was an abundance of seats available to rest and relax, weather it be by the infinity pool side, on the beach front or out on the private deck.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    very sandy

    Bed was really comfy. The pool area was absolutely beautiful. Staff at restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pancakes every morning for breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condition did not always work.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Front Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor of the units and restaurant getting a bit tired.

    Friendly helpful staff. Adults only, no children. Locality, swimming pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    quietness, no kids, setting, it's staff especially at the restaurant and bar On The Beach. pool area and beach setting just perfect,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean and well kept.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely welcome. The facilities are great. Always love the breakfast and the restaurant is unique with its sandy floor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very relaxed. No kids screaming in the pool! Outdoor private showers were cool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi connection wasnt throughout

    cannot fault much at all

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roosters at 3am

    It is quiet and very private

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chickens were noisy in the morning haha

    Amazing hospitality relaxed friendly beautiful room so lovely would highly recommend Manuia we will be back

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu could have been a bit more varied.

    Very spacious bedroom and bathroom. Easy access to beach and transport.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Amazing staff, great place to relax right by the beach.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, could not of asked for a better place to stay

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manuia is in the perfect setting and you are always treated excellently by the staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very comfortable attractive resort, loved the pool area. Very clean and well kept. Complimentary day trip around island a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited office open times

    Love the picturesque, relaxed and convenient setting; beachfront bar, pool & restaurant is great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not up to standard of photos on line , disappointed

    Bed comfy

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms could've been more comfortable, I missed having a rug of some sort inside, a blanket, more comfortable chairs, but I understand that there's sand everywhere and this is the tropics so those amenities aren't exactly practical. There was also an issue with ants, but they took care of that quickly.

    The Manuia estate was very beautiful, well-maintained, and welcoming. The staff was lovely, generous, and accommodating. The room was spacious, well-kept, the shower was big and a new, fun experience being outside. Plenty of hot water, too! The Sunday BBQ was delicious, and the breakfast orders were great too. The happy hour was well-priced, and the drinks/snacks delicious! The pool was beautiful, plenty of beach seating. The location is right near a car/scooter rental and a dairy. The airport and Avarua isn't far. I really loved this resort, I would love to return! Sue, Lotu, and everyone were so wonderful. They even gave me a birthday gift!

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a laid-back small beach resort which we would categorise as 3*+ rather than 4*. The guest lounge (room) is extremely small and unfortunately the internet does not work in the rooms as we understood it would so one has to use the guest room up near the reception which was an inconvenience. Due to recent storms the beach was strewn with rocks which didn´t make it so pleasant to walk along or bathe from.

    We had a beach front room which was lovely, spacious and well equipped. The management and staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Meals were pleasant although not gourmet. Although we felt it wasn´t 4* it was nevertheless very pleasant and cosy and we very much enjoyed our stay here.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The menu was good but not a lot to it. Especially if staying for longer than a week maybe switch up the menu?

    Staff were friendly and helpful. The place was smaller than other resorts which was nice as it didnt feel overcrowded. The facilities were great and the place was well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    BBQ night overpriced and not enough variety. Cutlery in room was very dirty with bits stuck on the spoons.

    Wonderful facilities, welcoming staff, nice location. Duo band on the saturday were amazing.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location. Great service and organisation. Everything went according to plan. Many thanks to the team that provided a platform for the best holiday ever:)

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ants in the rooms and all over bathroom BUT would get ants anywhere you stay just take fly spray

    Great venue, from the sand at your feet to the infinity pool overlooking the sea with the restaurant and bar right by the pool. Amazing small resort for adults and amazing staff

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    having to leave Manuia - it was perfect!

    Loved the Atiu Coffee in the room - enjoy a real early morning cup of Coffee whilst walking on the beach - it was truely bliss

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extra surcharge of $100 for cleaning, Not made aware of when booking for one night only.Thus added to room rate charge which made it expensive. Charged $80 for airport transfers when only a 5 min trip. Other resorts we have stayed in have always included these transfers in their packages.

    Friendly staff,clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Only missing a Jacuzzi and my husband would love it as well.

    The setting is spectacular and the helpfulness of the staff was great. Emma and Rangie, in particular, we're wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The beach is not good for swimming. For this you need to go to Muri.

    Excellent location in a relatively quite area of the Iceland close to the airport. Ideal for people looking for quiteness and nice sunsets

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Sue was lovely and always helpful! Handy having the scooters n car hire right across the road! Beautiful location! We had massage organised on beach, which was beautiful! Loved the free tour on the first day and the themed island nights!

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found the location to be lovely and quiet with limited tourists. However the beach is rather rocky and not amenable to snorkeling like it is at the lagoon near muri beach.

    Loved the relaxed atmosphere and limited number of tourists and children. Our bungalow esk room was large and airy - in contrast to the larger resorts on the island. Happy hour by the beach and pool was the perfect way to end each day.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A beautiful setting that instantly made you feel relaxed. The staff were very friendly and seemed to remember guests names which felt like a nice touch. Loved that it wasn't a big overcrowded resort. Even in high season i imagine it would still feel peaceful here and not overrun with people. The island bus tour with Alex was excellent. We also did the BBQ night, the scuba lesson in the pool and the managers drinks. The pool is amazing! So so beautiful!

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An amazing location is something you can see in the photos, what you can't see is the amazing personal and professional staff that make your stay much more than you expect. The room was clean and had everything you need for a couple with an outdoor shower for something a bit different and romantic. All staff knew our name and room number by the end of the trip and offered great tips for activities during our stay and always great chats while enjoying a few drinks poolside. Would highly recommend this place to any couple looking for an escape and something a bit more special than the big resorts. Big thanks to Alex and the team

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Resturant prices for food and lack of info on water sports

    The bed was soft and the views were good

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    longer happy hours

    staff were very friendly, loved the pool and happy hour

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything!!

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overall I thought it was very expensive for what we got. The restaurant was underwhelming.

    Great poolside area.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The peaceful and very beautiful surroundings. Fantastic and friendly staff. Delicious food.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No television in the room, self checkin, poor faculties

    The service saved this little patch of raro

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great, friendly & helpful staff in every way for every need...

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No phone, no TV in the room many ants in the bathroom reception as on a camping ground High Price (NZD 595 per night)

    Very nice beach and pool

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: