Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Chile hotel reviews
  3. Valparaíso Region B&B and inn reviews
  4. Valparaíso B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Pontoval B&B

Reviews of Pontoval B&B

Jorge Hunneus 221, Valparaíso, Chile

#2 of 113 B&Bs and inns in Valparaíso

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 377 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    9.6
    Lovely house, spotless, excellent breakfast, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not that close to everything, but Uber works!

    Lovely house, spotless, excellent breakfast, very comfortable room, good view of Valparaíso and the owners cannot do enough to help.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    10
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved everything about Pontoval ! We only wished we had stayed one month.

    Ernesto is very prompt and helpful with communication. He helped us immensely by personally providing transfers between Santiago and Valparaiso. En route he also gave us valuable information. The property is gorgeous and immaculate. Swiss standards! Our double room was spacious with spectacular sea views as promised. Breakfast is delightful! Service is perfect. The awesome swimming pool is great for laps and relaxing. The gardens are beautiful and tranquil. Ernesto and Sandra, we can't thank you enough for a stellar stay at Pontoval B&B. Danke vielmals! We can't wait to return to your paradise.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    10
    Really love the place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!!!

    The house is so beautiful! it's like living in a villa! The hosts are fantastic & breakfast are great! Room are very cozy & clean & the kitchen is so clean we were worried about dirtying it! Location is a short walk to the bus stop to go to city center. We drove & it's not an issue! The view on the terrace is amazing & the pool in the property is definitely very welcoming! We will for sure stay again!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    9.2
    Great! Would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Traffic noise + dogs barking at night, but that is the reality of the city no matter where you are.

    We loved our stay at Pontoval - as other reviews have said, quaint old house with lovey hosts that do their utmost to ensure you have everything you need. Pontoval is located well outside of the main area of Valparaíso. You can’t walk to the main area, but can easily take a bus/taxi/Uber - busses are cheapest and most fun! It was actually really lovely to leave the bussyness of down town and return to our little oasis, so we enjoyed the location immensely!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    9.6
    Wonderful experience, our home away from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing.

    Ernesto and Sandra were the best hosts one can imagine. When my husband was ill, Ernesto helped us go to the clinic and their lovely home was a wonderful place to rest in the gardens, by the pool, or comfortable rooms. We loved Valparaiso because of their introductions.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owners, Ernesto and Sandra, were fantastic and very helpful, as was Nicole. Situated in a non-touristy part of town, it was easy to get into the centre and local shops and eateries were very good. The beds are extremely comfy and the breakfast is amazing.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    9.6
    Good views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hairdryer would be nice.

    Owner family, they are great! It was nice to hear about life in Chile. We got good packet info what to do in valparaiso. Great view over Valparaiso, very nice pool, terrace and specially secret garden. Good breakfast. In addition we got lot of help from owner, our rental car had a flat tire and we got it fixed easily in 30min.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    10
    The best place to stay in Valparaiso by far .......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing really.........

    Everything was fantastic.....The B and B is on a hill overlooking all the bay and there is a bus stop nearby for the trip down into the town and Vinya del Mar which is much better than actually staying int he town center as the buses run every 10 minutes.... not only were was everfytbing fantastic the breakfast was even more than that and the owners Ernesto and his wife Sandra were exceptional....and speak all the languages you could ask for..... A fantastic place to stay

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    10
    Nice location with view of the town, you can enjoy it e.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice location with view of the town, you can enjoy it e.g. during the dinner on the terrace. Comfortable room and bed, very quick wi-fi. Rich breakfast with various kind of cheeses, fruits and Italian coffee.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    10
    Unfortunately I spent only one night in this delightful BnB...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Unfortunately I spent only one night in this delightful BnB because of shortage of time. But I loved everything about it: the location (in a quiet area in Valparaiso which is very well and easily linked by public transport to downtown), the room (spacious and with super comfortable bed), the breakfast (the BEST I had in Chile! The home-made bread and cakes are simply delicious!!!) and, especially, the owners (a lovely couple who is more than available, nice and very helpful). Highly recommended place to stay in Valparaiso!!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    10
    Best breakfast and best bed we have stayed in all Chile. The hosts Ernest and his wife are amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really clean rooms, amazing breakfast, easy access from the city but still, really silent. The pool is amazing! Every morning there was a little suorise for the breaksfast (next to the cheese and ham collection) - a little fuit skoothie, pencake, fresh strawberries etc. The kast night the neighbours were loud under our window, and me as a horrible sleeper told them my problem. We went through the house and i could sleep in the most silent room without extra charge.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    9.6
    - BREAKFAST is Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good!

    - BREAKFAST is Amazing! - Host family is Amazing! - The house is beautiful! - Location is on the hill, although it’s bit far from local central and tourist central, but buses are every few minutes take you to all major places, so I quite enjoyed staying this quiet and safe place, makes you feel like home.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    10
    Lovely B&B in Valparaiso!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Beautiful place with a fantastic breakfast - the best we had in Chile! Ernesto and wife were friendly and nice. Ernesto really helped to make our short stay in Valpariaso a wonderful experience. Very nice tips on guided walking tour, excursions/transports and very good restaurants!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    10
    Excellent customer service, comfortable bed, very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent customer service, comfortable bed, very clean and amazing breakfast. Everything went smooth plus the hosts are very nice and willing to help you in any matter. You can park your car on the street and the bus stops literally few steps away from the hotel. I really recommend this place.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    10
    The place to stay in Valparaiso
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The people are always the most important. When you first arrive to Valparaiso, you think that maybe it is a place too big and too real, a city that is not the most pristine. But then you meet Ernest and his wife and you enter their amazing house and gardens. You sit and relax in the gardens or on the terrace. You enjoy the wonderful house. You hear their stories and you look forward to go and visit Valparaiso. The short trip to the centre in itself is atmospheric, with the local buses and trolleybus, definitely worth it! And then you discover Valparaiso that is truly stunning. You do this following precious advice from Ernest of course. And then as a bonus you also meet other amazing tourists who have stopped at Pontoval. And you have the best breakfast in Chile.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    Beautiful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The family was very lovely and helpful. The room was very comfortable and beautiful. It had a great outdoor pool. The breakfast was absolutely amazing!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    Excellent accommodation in all respects, two things to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent accommodation in all respects, two things to emphasize specially: (i) Extremely friendly hosts, we got plenty of great advice about Valparaiso upon our arrival. (ii) Delicious breakfast with excellent home-baked bread, cakes, marmalade + variety of other good stuff. We were indeed stuffed :-)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    7.9
    Yellow house on the hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although owner gave us a very good briefing, it would have been helpful to have most of it written down so we could carry it with us. Wifi was poor in the room, OK downstairs.

    Excellent breakfast. Lovely view from our room. Secure garage (at extra cost).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    10
    The best accommodation I’ve stayed at in South America!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful and sunny guesthouse on the skirts of Valparaíso. Such warm hospitality, with exceptional attention to detail with everything. The room was spacious and homely and the breakfast was absolutely decadent! Home made breads, cereals, cold meats, fruit, pastries, coffee and cheeses. Really made my stay in Valparaíso wonderful!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    10
    Best option in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    All - Equipments in the house (beds, terrasse with view, shower, etc) - Location (quiet, safe and not far from the center and famous « cerros » with bus or Uber) - Very nice and helpful owner - Incredible breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    10
    Fantastic place to stay, lovely hosts who provided a warm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - was amazing

    Fantastic place to stay, lovely hosts who provided a warm welcome and best breakfast we have had in South America! Bed v comfortable and lots of helpful info provided on arrival.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed our stay. Wish I could’ve stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn’t stay long enough! Also the dogs barking at night which had nothing to do with the property but kept us awake through the night.

    Beautiful property. Large room. Very clean. The beds were really comfy. Great breakfast! Very good hosts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.2
    Very helpful and considerate family, good breakfast, good facilities and sitting areas to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner was extremely helpful. After reading about Valparaiso on Trip Advisor I was concerned about personal safety ( wish I'd never looked at Trip Advisor, I felt fine in the city and was travelling alone). Anyway he came to fetch me at the bus station and dropped me off when I left. His daughter showed me the local stores and the exact location of the bus stop. I was given a map and told which buses to take. The breakfast was good. I was able to use the kitchen. There is also a fridge and small food preparation area upstairs that is useful. Sitting by the pool at the end of each day was enjoyable. The location is a short distance outside of the town but the buses and collectivos are frequent, cheap, quick and easy to use. I was worried about the dogs in Valparaiso as I have a fear of dogs, but they weren't dangerous. They can be noisy but it is possible to walk passed them safely. The dogs in the area of the guest house mostly seem to be inside properties so it is ok to walk around without bother.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely home , great breakfast and helpful owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one thing ... the hot water in the shower was hit and miss

    Great room, lots of information provided by the owner, great breakfast with homemade bread .... divine after somewhat stale Chilean bread !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful stay at Pontoval B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a wonderful stay at Pontoval B&B. Ernesto picked us up at the bus station and gave us a very warm welcome. Our room (Double Room with Private Bathroom) was very clean, extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated. The views of Valparaíso and the Pacific Ocean from our room were stunning. We also spent a few days in the Double Room with Private External Bathroom. This room was also very clean and comfortable and had beautiful sea views. It was fantastic to be able to use Pontoval B&B ‘s beautifully equipped kitchen to prepare our meals. We also loved sitting on the terrace to eat our meals and share stories with the other guests. The delicious healthy breakfast served every morning was amazing and so beautifully presented – the perfect way to start the day. Sandra and Ernesto are very kind and extremely generous and hospitable. The whole Pontoval team were always there to help and answer our questions and made us feel very much at home. Thank you Sandra and Ernesto for sharing your beautiful home with us and making our stay so special!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Easter holiday !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The front room near the stairs had a great view but a little noisy at night with dog's barking in the street and other guests using the communal bathroom in the hallway.

    A very friendly, hospitable and enjoyable place to stay. We liked the delicious, healthy breakfast every morning especially the homemade treats. Catching the bus downtown was easy. Safe parking for our car in this suburban area. I recommend you do the tips tour of the city. Extremely informative and enthusiastic guide.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    10
    Breakfast is the best I have tasted in years of experience...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could have been better. I just wished I could have stayed longer.

    Breakfast is the best I have tasted in years of experience with booking.com. Hosts are great, very professional and extremely kind. They will help you with everything you need to get the most out of your trip. I only wished my stay was longer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    10
    The best accommodation we have stayed in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely Perfect!! This has been the best place we have stayed in whilst travelling South America. The room was fantastic, very clean and spacious, with a great sea view. The pool was lovely and we enjoyed spending the mornings having a swim before heading into town to enjoy the delights of Valparaiso. The highlight though was Ernest and his family who run the B&B, they were all very accommodating and went out of their way to help us during our stay. We loved it so much we extended our stay. I couldn't recommend the Pontoval enough and hopefully one day we will return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    9.2
    The property was a very clean home (bed and breakfast) in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The home is in a residential neighborhood, not a "hotel downtown" kind of situation. This made it more relaxing (downtown is very crowded) but not much you want to see is within walking distance. BUT you can walk to the bus stop, and there are busses all over town to take you where you want to go. They take pesos only, on US dollars or credit cards, and are reasonably priced. If you just want to retreat for awhile, this place is clean, has a pool, and was nice.

    The property was a very clean home (bed and breakfast) in Valparaiso. The owner, Ernesto, is amazing, speaks German, English, Spanish and (I think) some French. The owners were very helpful and accommodating. They had maps, did some laundry for us (for a small charge), gave us directions, and had answers to all our questions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous value for money at this great B&B an easy busride from the centre of Valparaiso
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely breakfast, swimming pool and a kitchenette to make early morning tea. It's out of the centre, so quiet and peaceful and the bus service into town is frequent, cheap and great fun!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    8.3
    Super friendly and warm environment, very accommodating. Room had a great view, but it’s an old home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super friendly and warm environment, very accommodating. Room had a great view, but it’s an old home so very small shower and doors that don’t open and close well and you’ll hear other guests coming & going loud and clear!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    9.2
    Great view of Valparaiso gulf! A little bit far from the city, but it's quiet and you can enjoy bus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ernst the owner and his family. He kindly welcome you in the hostel that is also his home, and also show you all the facilities and the points of interest in Valparaiso and Vina del Mar. He currently speak English and Italian, and I'm sure at least German and French (he is Swiss), and also spanish of course. His son helped me with my new Chilean sim card for mobile. Great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    10
    The best of the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing ! Everything is amazing here !

    Amazing place .. we didn't want to leave . Breakfast is incredible , the beds are very comfortable , the view is amazing. Ernesto and Sandra are just incredibly friendly and welcoming .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    10
    Great find. We felt welcomed like friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked it all.

    Great room with wonderful ocean/harbor/city view. Owners were very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Gave us a full and useful briefing on the area. Very delicious breakfast with homemade bread and pastries.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    10
    Experience Valparaiso like a local
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pontoval gave us a real taste of life in Valparaiso. The B&B is out in a quiet residential neighbourhood, but the frequent micros (take number 702 from Av. Argentina) got us from outside the door to the centre in 10 minutes. Ernesto and his family are wonderful hosts, giving travel tips, places to visit and eat, hidden corners to see in Valpo, and making us feel very much at home. The breakfast was the best we had in Chile, different each day. There are shops (and even a pizza place) in the neighbourhood and sitting on the terrace with a bottle of wine watching the sunset after a dip in the pool was a great way to spend an evening!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    10
    The perfect stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing .. everything is perfect

    The perfection does exist .. and you can find it here ! Amazing property ... the beds are super comfortable. Sandra and Ernesto are making sure your experience in Valpo is great , unique and unforgettable . The b&b is a bit out of town and is perfect to relax after a full day in the busy center. Breakfast is excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2018

    10
    Excellent breakfast buffet and super friendly host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent breakfast buffet and super friendly host!! Love the place and villa 😍 The owner is Swiss. Everything is clean, well organized and in top quality. I liked the shampoo, conditioner and soap they give you. The place is silent and you've a view to the town and sea. My motorbike I could park in the garage. Will definitely come back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    9.6
    We spent three weeks traveling around Chile and this was by far our best stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was a bit cold every night

    Super friendly and caring family running the place, amazing breakfast, 10 min to the center with colectivo that stops 100 m away from the house.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay over the roofs of Valpo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is absolutely amazing! And old building, refurbished in style and great quality, creates a nice and charismatic atmosphere. The rooms are furnished with attention to detail and super comfy beds, and the house has a nice terrace with great views over Valpo. Everything was absolutely perfect, and we especially LOVED the amazing breakfast! Freshly baked German style breads and cakes, fresh fruit juice and fruits, lots of cheese and cold cuts to choose from, homemade jam - best way to start the day! Also, the hosts are super friendly and helpful. Thanks for having us!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    10
    Best hosts ever, they speak many languages and provided...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Best hosts ever, they speak many languages and provided great information. The B&B can easily be reached by public transport. Room was very clean and nice. For breakfast real italien coffee, home made german bread, marmelade and fresh fruits. Definately made our days :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    9.2
    This is gem of a place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The neighborhood was residential and we assumed we would have to go a long way for lunch and dinner. But we only stayed one night so didn't test that theory.

    The owners were warm and friendly. The breakfast was superb. It would be a great refuge from the noise and bustle of the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    10
    Totally recommend, would stay no other place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As all neighborhoods in Valpariaso, over populated with dogs, and their baggage. i.e. barks & pooh

    Hosts, Sandra & Earnesto could not have been more accommodating, the best, breakfast superb, wonderful family, of which you felt very much a part of. Best stay ever. 11 on scale of 10

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    8.3
    great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The single room is extreme tiny and not worth the money but the double room with single use at just 3 $US more is a perfect deal. Loud and constantly barking dogs all night - but not the two dogs of the owners, the neighborhood's dogs

    Great house with pool and lovely staff. Excellent breakfast and many infos on what to do and where to go. Family atmosphere - just like staying with friends

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    9.6
    A lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The barking dogs in the neighbourhood... But absolutely no 'complaints' about the guesthouse itself.

    A lovely stay! The house is well maintained, cosy and everything is very clean. The owners are friendly and willing to help whenever they can. Breakfast is very good (self made brown bread and real coffee e.g )and with a lot of variety. Many buses closeby for going into the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    9.6
    The house was beautiful and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The house was beautiful and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The property is beautiful and the staff is kind and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The house is authentic and therefore it is sometimes possible to hear the neighbours, but this is normal and it did not bother us as the house was so impressive.

    Amazing staff, nice view, great rooms: very clean, comfortable bed and pillows. Breakfast was very nice with a variety of cheeses (something we were missing in South America), very good coffee too! Possibility to pay by credit card and to park the car. It was possible to get an Uber to the real center to enjoy a nice dinner (it was not expensive), and to come back with the local collectivo, which was very easy and cheap.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    9.2
    Outstanding homemade breakfast, pool and veranda with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's about 10-15 minutes bus-tour to the center of Valparaiso. Buses go frequently and stops by the house, though.

    Outstanding homemade breakfast, pool and veranda with stunning view! Great place to relax and recharge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    9.6
    Simply the best place to stay in Valpo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The friendly, welcome we received on arrival. Lots of information about what to see and do in Valparaiso. The rooms are bright and characterful with very comfortable beds. Lovely large swimming pool and sun terraces. Fabulous breakfast with fresh fruit and home made breads.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    8.8
    The property is wonderful, breakfast was great and the hosts...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    While the property is close to public transit some people may find it a little far from the attractions, restaurants and shops without a vehicle.

    The property is wonderful, breakfast was great and the hosts were very helpful in providing sight seeing suggestions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    9.2
    Valparaiso stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit far from the center but buses and colectivo are passing a right next to the house.

    Ernest and his wife are very kind and will help you with anything you need to prepare yohr trip.The place is clean and the view is great from the terrasse.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    10
    Wonderful hosts, amazing location and an interesting city to explore - with Ernst and Sandra's help.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our GPS had difficulty with the street address but was 'spot on' when we entered the co-ordinates. This is not a fault in any way with Pontoval B&B but a tale of caution to travellers.

    What a great place. Wonderful house, magic location and very obliging hosts. Ernst, with his fluency in English and Spanish, helped us out with several matters. Sandra was quietly efficient and caring in the background. We would have stayed longer but it was a holiday weekend and sadly 'No Vacancy' for our extra night. Excellent people and location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great terrace and family. The location is bit far off the center and need to take a bus to the attractions. Upbeat is that it's quiet neighborhood. Breakfast coffee is simply the best during my two weeks in Argentina and Chile

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I went for the weekend to Valparaiso from Santiago with my wife and staying at Pontoval for a day. The hosts are very friendly and eager to help you with anything. Breakfast was simply amazing with bread and jams made by the hosts, delicious coffee, fruits and a wide variety of cheese. The room and bed are very comfortable (we stayed in a room with view to the inner yard). The shower was a bit small but ok. We had fun with the tabletop games. Easy transportation from bus terminal and downtown through 701-706 buses (only 400 pesos). Weather was not good to try the pool but it looked really nice. Highly recommended and I would definitely stay here again next time I go to Valparaiso.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    10
    The breakfast was absolutely wonderful and Ernesto and his...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was absolutely wonderful and Ernesto and his family were so kind and helpful throughout our stay. It's slightly out of town but this is no problem - the buses could not be easier and it's nice to stay in a quieter part of town and use the pool etc. I hope to come back one day!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2017

    10
    Perfect place to be in Valparaiso
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sandra and Ernesto are very amiable hosts, we enjoyed staying in this beautiful house with modern high quality facilities, a wonderful terrace; great breakfast with homemade whole-grain bread and fresh fruits every day; the perfect place to stay if you have a couple of days for Valparaiso. It is not directly in the center but there are several bus lines that pass directly next to the house. Therefore, it is easy to go downtown with public transport and there is no need to use the car at all. We enjoyed going downtown for half a day, doing city tours, visiting restaurants and bars in the evening and then come back to this beautiful quiet place, sitting on the terrace or next to the pool, reading and enjoying the view. For us this was a perfect combination.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect B&B with an amazing view from the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much....you just have to ask if you can pay wirh credit card and you should love dogs ;)

    The owner family is just great - it is a little bit like home. They are so welcoming and try to answer every question. The house is very nice and the garden and pool area a perfect place for relaxing. Every morning they serve an amazing breakfast with homemade bread, fresh pressed juices, cheese, joghurt, coffee - a great start into the day!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2017

    8.8
    Super hospotality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coming from Santiago, follow the road into Valparaiso and then check your navigation system. Then it is easy to find.

    A fantastic service the owners and their family give you.Their hospitality was Perfect and hard to find. Very good breakfast. They also have the possibility for a Spanisch course!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2017

    8.8
    very nice place, nice character home, close to transport,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very loud neighbourhood dogs barking at night and we found two large spiders in our room.

    very nice place, nice character home, close to transport, yummy breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hosts, great breakfast and awesome terrace with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice hosts, great breakfast and awesome terrace with a pool! The view of the place is amazing!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable and relaxing. Amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owners of the B & B were very helpful with tourist advice and always attentive.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.6
    Nice and quiet.
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice and quiet. Ernst and Sandra are great hosts

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    8.8
    People are very welcoming - fresh juices - Very delicious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    People are very welcoming - fresh juices - Very delicious Cake - clean bed sheets. A perfect hosting family with an European flavor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    9.6
    Stafg was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    a little bit outside town. takes sometimes to get to down town

    Stafg was very friendly. yummi breakfast. Nice atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast, help of the owner with possibilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast, help of the owner with possibilities for sightseeing and where to eat, how to travel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    9.6
    Almost perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Barking 🐶

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    10
    A relaxing time at the end of our vacation in Chile
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good beds, wonderful home. Highly reccomend!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    9.6
    Delicious breakfast, really friendly host and swimming pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Delicious breakfast, really friendly host and swimming pool with perfect water temperature. We had a perfect stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    10
    Nice place and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff. Intersting advice for visit Valparaiso. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little further out of the town centre

    Friendly, helpful, clean, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    9.6
    Nice and peaceful retreat in bustling Valparaiso!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice and peaceful retreat in bustling Valparaiso!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    10
    It waswonderful! Planned to stay only one night but ended up staying three until we had to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Perfect and super helpful host! Fantastic breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    9.6
    Didn’t want to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was a little far to tourist areas

    Warm welcome, breakfast, strong wifi, clean room and private bathroom, friendly and knowledgeable hosts

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    9.6
    Great value for your money, clean and well maintained. Hosts were very attentive to your concerns.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great hospitality, made you feel at home. Very clean and well maintained, good breakfast. Transport very easy to get to city center

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    10
    It was a pleasure to stay at Pontoval - the hosts go above and beyond for their guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The whole stay was exceptional - beautiful house, beautiful family - excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful and entertain property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Common bathrooms where clean, but small.

    Excelent breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!