Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Plaza This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

José Nogueira 1116, 6200000 Punta Arenas, Chile

#24 of 38 hotels in Punta Arenas

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 562 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    9.5
    I booked this for my mother-in-law, and all of the comments...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked this for my mother-in-law, and all of the comments were great, but missed the information about only having stairs. This is clearly stated in the description, but I found this later. So it was a problem for her as she has difficulty walking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    9.6
    Very good choice:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price is a bit high for a place like punta arenas.

    Traditional hotel with generous, comfortable rooms. Has seen better days, but still a very good choice. Very friendly and competent staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    Homey and cozy and easy to walk everywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Zero to not like

    Location!!! And friendliness of staff. They even prepared a special early breakfast for us because our penguin tour left before their regular hours began. It is right on the square and is so much less expensive than the other properties with equally good locations. We even had a balcony to look out on the square. Perfect room and staff!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, in the very center of the town, next to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, in the very center of the town, next to the plaza with Magellan’s statue. A lot of restaurants within walking distance. Also very close to the office of Solo Expedition, where we booked our penguins excursuon. Wonderful staff was very friendly, they accommodated our late check in and also had a breakfast start at 6am so we could grab a quick bite before leaving for our excursions! Room was large enough for 4 people. Great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    9.2
    An old fashioned comfortable hotel, FFP
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit on the pricey side, and being an old style hotel the lobby is on the second floor. An offer to help carry up luggage would have been nice, although when asked, it was carried down. Small thing maybe, but after long flights or bus travel it helps.

    We arrived late at night at the hotel, but they had noted our email and had everything ready. The Night Porter was very helpful and arranged for a four am taxi to the airport for us. The room was very comfortable. We left too early for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    6.7
    Staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is tired, and in need of sprucing-up. The bathroom had cracked and mis-matched tile, the carpet was worn and in some places stained.

    Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    8.8
    Just what you would expect from a 3-star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just what you would expect from a 3-star hotel. The location is ideal, parking easy, staff friendly, nice breakfast, very old and charming house with its pros and cons. Unlike some other guests, we had no problems with showers. You definetely get your money's worth.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    5.8
    The location was great. It could be a really lovely hotel if money was spent on it to fix it up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked many months earlier but upon late arrival the first night were given a hideous tiny room with no windows, only an air shaft. After complaining we were given a better room but only on the second night.

    The location is superb, even though a bit noisy. The breakfast room was well located and sunny and the breakfast was fine. The daytime staff were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    6.7
    It was ok. But, quite expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was horrible. The breakfast was not good, specially for the type of the hotel as well as the price. Comparing to other places we have stayed in the Patagonia, this is a quite expensive one.

    The location is excellent. The room is ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    5.0
    The staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is located in an old villa/palace but the glory is long gone. The hotel is at the second floor

    The staff was friendly. The location couldn’t be better, right at the central park.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    6.7
    Conveniently located shabby hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was bad. The breakfast was not very good.

    The location was the main benefit of the hotel located just off the plaza and a couple blocks from lots of restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    9.2
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cost of laundry. Be sure to ask how much before you drop off. It cost us $58 US for limited amount.

    The location was great. Breakfast was good and had eggs. Rooms were decent for the price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2018

    7.9
    helpful staff but hotel needs a refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms need double glazing. It is right next to the church so you hear the bells every half an hour. Plus being on an intersection, the traffic noise is loud. Reception is on the second floor so when you enter the property, the first thing that greets you is smelly worn carpets. Bathroom tiles also need attention. In fact the prperty needs a refurbishment. Notecthere are lots of steps around even in the bedrooms which could be hazardous to some.

    Central location. Comfortable bed. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    4.6
    Very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Doesn't appear as if the place has had a proper clean in a long time. In need of a major refurbishment. All facilities are dated and poorly maintained. Very noisy, both from the street and other guests. Patchy WiFi at best. Poor breakfast. Not good value for money for US$100 /night

    Location and friendly receptionist

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was next to the lobby so it was very noisy and as the bedroom door had a window above it there was also a lot of light from the lobby. This made it difficult to sleep.

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    5.4
    Location on the Plaza is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was horrible. Breakfast was so-so...

    Location on the Plaza is great. We like the look of the hotel from the outside as it is in a historic building...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    7.1
    Central and warming but stairy and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel starts on the first floor and continues upwards. There is no elevator though... it is an historical building. The street can be quite noisy and the balcony and windows just have single glass. There is also sparse isolation from interior noise.

    As central as you can get in Punta Arenas! Comfortable, warm room. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    6.3
    Average with some good points but areas for development
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi was very poor indeed. Hardly worked in room only in reception. Windows need to be double glazed as you can hear all the traffic outside. Due to these factors I think the rate is overpriced but if this was reduced, the hotel would be fine.

    Bed was very comfy, rooms are dated but I liked that. Staff helpful and breakfast was the highlight! Very nice and big.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    10
    The architecture of the hotel was beautiful, the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The architecture of the hotel was beautiful, the location was within walking distance of everything (waterfront, restaurants, shopping and bus station).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    10
    We liked the large bathroom and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was some construction going on either in the hotel or on the floor below us and one night it continued until about 10 pm. Unfortunately that was the night when we wanted to retire early because we had to get up at 5 am the following morning.

    We liked the large bathroom and comfortable bed. The location was excellent. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2017

    9.6
    Magical place overlooking the town square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was fantastic. Charming old mansion owner has worked hard to renovate. A one of a kind property. I highly recommend this spot in Punta Arenas.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2017

    7.5
    Economical, convenient stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs to reception, but the staff helped with luggage. Breakfast mainly continental, but some scrambled eggs provided

    Location and access to the park. This enabled me to book tours and explore Punta Arenas. Managed to get on a tour to explore the prehistoric culture of the region which was very interesting

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2017

    6.7
    Somewhat disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is older and not as nice as pictured. After a month in Argentina/Chile-this was only hotel that disappointed in. You can probably do better.

    Location is great-right in center. Staff was somewhat helpful but certainly not over the top. Usually busy checking in others.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2017

    7.9
    the room was of a good size, the bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi was slow in the rooms, we had to go to the breakfast room to use it. The location is good as it is in the centre of the city.

    the room was of a good size, the bed was comfortable. The staff is very friendly although their knowledge of English is limited.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2017

    10
    Great hotel, comfortable and central
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing hotel for our short stay. Was perfect for what we needed, and what an amazing city at the bottom of Patagonia. It was a welcome luxury after being so remote. Food was amazing in the restaurant we tried (La Luna), and breakfast incredible at the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2017

    9.2
    Convenient hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an older hotel. There are other newer and more comfortable hotels in the area.

    The location of this hotel is great. It's right by the plaza. The staff members are very friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2017

    9.6
    A charming place in the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just be aware that there is no elevator. It didn't worry us, and the staff are happy to help with luggage if necessary.

    The olde worlde charm of the high ceilings and antique decor. The location was super. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2017

    5.0
    Only if you need the cental location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not very friendly. Facilities are run down/ haven't seen investment for a long time. It doesn't seem to be run with passion and ambition to make it a great place - just another mediocre hotel

    Central and convenient location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2017

    7.1
    Staff need to improve communication
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The man on the early morning shift needs to be replaced. Upon check-in the hotel helped us book a taxi for the next morning as we had an early flight. When we came down the man at the desk had read that we needed a taxi and called the taxi company to see if one was on the way. It wasn't and apparently had never been scheduled. At this point he asked for one without any sense of urgency or remorse for the mix-up and then told us one would be there in 10 minutes. At this pont aother family came down having also booked a taxi for that time. When he called for another taxi (as theirs hadn't been ordered either), he did not clarify with the company that they were sending two. At this point he took the family upstairs for coffee, again with no sense of urgency, leaving us in the lobby to wait for the taxi. When the doorbell rang (15 minutes after the original call) we had no way of checking if it was our taxi or not so we made our way down and hopped into the awaiting taxi. When we told our driver what time our flight was and what time it already was he put the pedal and the metal and rushed us to the airport.

    The location is perfect and the day staff were very attentive. We did not stay long enough to check out the facilities or breakfast as we had an early flight.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2017

    10
    Best Hotel in Punta Arenas - best value for your $
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking not available- need to park by roadside but police will give a ticket if you do park there in morning.

    Great looking hotel ; very cosy with wood panelling and excellent carpeting giving it a traditional old look yet clean and up to date facilities. Staff very helpful and friendly Excellent value for money and close proximity to shopping and sights

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2016

    9.2
    Great spot for a stopover to/from Torres Del Paine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms don't have individual heat control. Asked for heat to be turned off. It awoke with heat high and very hot room.

    Clean room, comfortable beds, wi dows that open, nice breakfast spread. Very helpful and warm staff. Secure in/out buzzer system.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2016

    7.1
    As expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price it was ok. An obviously older hotel is going to have some issues (no elevator) but helpful staff made it work.

    Breakfast same as all Chilean hotels-runny eggs from a mix but delicious pastries and the usual cereals with yogurt and fruit. Beds super comfortable and showers hot with good water pressure. Tired decor and very old furnishings (except for beds which were wonderful). Staff helped us find parking since the free parking was "under repair".

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2016

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Despite staff being friendly, they were sometimes not the best help. They told us renting a car for less than three days would be impossible (it was easy when we went to a car rental place) and had trouble giving us directions within town. Still, very pleasant to deal with.

    Great location and comfortable. Staff were very friendly, and arranged a tour for us.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2016

    6.3
    Great location, older hotel, friendly, but needs an update
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking for car. Room was very musty, bed was lumpy. A bit cramped for a quadruple room.

    Great location. Staff was helpful and kind. Awesome shower! Yummy homemade tarts for breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful building right in the square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet is a bit slow. But, this is Patagonia, after all.

    Beautiful building right in the square.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    10
    The place was relaxed with wonderful and helpful staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place was relaxed with wonderful and helpful staff, location great and breakfast great too

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    9.6
    Historical charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Historical charm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    8.8
    Good sized rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great, helpful staff

    Good sized rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    6.3
    Ok but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was tiny and not like on website. Wouldn't stay here again other better options

    Good location and nice looking from outside

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    7.9
    friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly staff hot shower

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    4.6
    Improve staff at frin desk, they were slow, without...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff at front desk

    Improve staff at frin desk, they were slow, without information about the area, and sturborn

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is right in the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was clean but a bit outdated.

    The hotel is right in the center. Our room had a huge balcony with a view on the main plaza.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    7.5
    Nice place with good location but overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was poor, 3 sets of stairs to main lobby.

    Great location but definitely overpriced. Service was good .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator

    Perfect location and good staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    8.3
    - Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Quite small rooms - WiFi basically not existing

    - Good breakfast - Great location - Nice public areas

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay for a night in Punta Arenas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was slow and hard to connect at the 2nd floor. Old bathroom

    Nice breakfast, perfect place to stay for a night and go to Puerto Natales and TdelP

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    7.9
    Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    parking for two cars only and one car goes in front of the other so can get trapped in.

    great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.6
    Old style hotel by the main square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great place to stay for a few nights, the church bell next door is quite loud during the night. Central location, staff very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    7.5
    Good short term stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise, our door was not well sound proof. We could hear anyone walking pass.

    Location is brilliant and the staff were wonderful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    10
    Warm and cosy - everything you would want after a long bus journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    A great atmosphere very comfortable and warm. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    7.9
    Cosy Hotel. Loud street Noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The street noise

    The location and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2017

    9.6
    Great place with old school charm and central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cathedral bells were a bit loud but added to the charm once you got use to them

    The central location with a room overlooking the plaza!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2017

    10
    Great location. Friendly staff with good English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely spacious room overlooking the Plaza. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2017

    10
    Great location for exploring the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The church bells across the treat were rather loud

    Great location for exploring the town

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2017

    10
    Beautiful and gracious, classic, old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful and gracious, classic, old hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2017

    10
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Better closing windows..wind whistled through and blew them open

    Great location..couple of the staff spoke good English...lovely old hotel...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2016

    5.8
    Functional and clean: nothing very special, but about what...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our shower had so little pressure that it was almost impossible to use.

    Functional and clean: nothing very special, but about what we expected.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2016

    9.2
    The location in unbeatable, but most importantly the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location in unbeatable, but most importantly the staff were exceptional. Our daughter was unwell and they couldn't be more helpful and considerate.we would definitely go back a thousand times and recommend it wholeheartedly. Bed was really comfortable, breakfast lovely, large room.very good indeed.

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2016

    7.9
    The staff were excellent and did everything they could to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They put on an early breakfast for us but the water was cold and there was no coffee. The hotel needed a bit of maintenance.

    The staff were excellent and did everything they could to help us. Great location

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2016

    5.8
    Staff were lovely and home made bread for breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    "historic" or old and tired - Window above hotel door from hallway was clear glass and blasted bright light from hall way all night. No plugs to recharge devices. No elevator. Very very old school

    Staff were lovely and home made bread for breakfast was delicious

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2016

    8.8
    Very cozy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Power from shower heads were a bit inconsistent.

    Very cozy hotel. Has a rustic, adventurers feels to it, with photos of the area and old explorers. Great location. Loretto and the rest of the staff were very friendly. Breakfast in the morning was filling.

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2016

    8.3
    Hotel Plaza's location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The entrance, lobby and stairs are old, should be renewed and the bathroom although it was big it also needs an upgrade.

    Hotel Plaza's location is great. The beds were really comfortable.

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2016

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staircases no elevator. Lights in hallways that dont turn off at Night, with glass Doors of the room, your bedroom is fully lit. Noisy, dusty, not clean.

    Location

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2016

    10
    This hotel was in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This hotel was in a great location. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the square. Great buffet breakfast with eggs, bread, juice, fruit, oatmeal. Staff could speak English, but were patient with me trying to speak Spanish.

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2015

    6.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Had to change rooms as bathroom wasn't functional. Carpets were wet and smelly. Whole hotel had bad smell. Windows didn't close properly. Breakfast had stale pastries. No elevator. There was a gal at the front desk who shouldn't be in front of guests.

    Great location. Old funky charm.

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2015

    5.8
    That it was central and accommodated a few hours for our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Floors are all over wonky No elevator had to tack up luggage with children.

    That it was central and accommodated a few hours for our connecting transfer

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2015

    8.3
    Nice hotel in the centre of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing to dislike really ... just it had better years ... but it gives it some character! Maybe a little bit pricey ... Some rooms do not have WiFi.

    Nice hotel in the centre of the town. Very convenient. The staff (looks like it is a family run business - at least in 50%) is very friendly.

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2015

    7.1
    The reception staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Reception is one floor up. There is no lift so all luggage has to be lugged up a long flight of stairs. The rooms are one more flight up. The room was to hot and very noisy. There is no way of controlling the heat. Double glazing might help the street noise. The breakfast cook needs an attitude change. Rude and not helpful. There were no restaurant facilities.

    The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable and the children loved it.

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2015

    7.5
    The room had a great view over the square/plaza, room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As soon as lights were out, it was so bright from street lights and light in passage which stayed on all night, which lit up the room, as we like to sleep in darkness this became a problem.

    The room had a great view over the square/plaza, room was big enough considering it was an old building.

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2015

    9.2
    Conversations with the owners and their daughter, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sometimes the hot water cut out during a shower, but as the weather was warm, it was not a burden.

    Conversations with the owners and their daughter, the peaceful, tropical setting, their art and art gallery, helpful suggestions, going the extra mile to help us who do not have cell phones or computers to use on vacation. Sitting on our lanai with a glass of wine enjoying the tropical garden.

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2015

    8.3
    pageon booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    pageon booking.com says it has a restaurant. it doesn't. I arrived after flying 24 hours wanting a hot meal and a drink and I had to go out on my own at 10 pm in Punta Arenas to find a restaurant. I booked this hotel because the information says it has a restaurant. Please remove this misleading detail.

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2015

    9.2
    I learned a lot from Mr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too many steps up and down in the main floor. I know it is hard to fix, but at least you need to make some signs to warn guests so that they won't fall.

    I learned a lot from Mr. Hardy regarding the culture and indigenous people in the area. His spoken English is understandable if not fluent. Most important, he is patient and willing to share his knowledge with me. Travel is not only for leisure. It is a good way learn and communicate with people worldwide.

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2015

    7.9
    Staff accommodated an early breakfast prior to excursion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked months ahead of time for 2 nights TWIN and yet were given a dingy DOUBLE room with a high window we could not see out of. Staff said no other available even though many rooms were not occupied at time. We later complained to the manager who was able to change our room then we were pleased with the accommodation.

    Staff accommodated an early breakfast prior to excursion.

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2015

    7.5
    The staff went above and beyond the call of duty to locate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is dated.

    The staff went above and beyond the call of duty to locate us a tour to see the penguins on Magdalene Island even though it was after business hours. They got us the tour and it was fantastic. The location of the hotel is also good, right on the plaza and close to shops and the port.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Plaza Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: