Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kimal

Domingo Atienza 452, 1410000 San Pedro de Atacama, Chile

#36 of 70 hotels in San Pedro de Atacama

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 271 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi is a little slow, what is normal in San Pedro

    The location is great. The staff is awesome and very kind. The breakfast is gorgeous. The hotel offers excursions to every place and the guides are very nice and prepared

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Great experience overall. Good room for a family of four.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found the steak at the restaurant to be below average, but the rest of the food was amazing. Having been to many hotels and hostals in San Pedro, everything was just like we expected it to be.

    Very good service , the Kimal staff is always willing to please. The family room was perfect for a couple with two kids. Clean but comfortable. Great location right in town, a few steps away from main streets, restaurants, stores and tour operators. Breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    The hotel is a haven right in the middle of San Pedro de Atacama and offers great excursions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes there was a bit too much salt in the meals made by the restaurant but that is my only complaint.

    The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. The room was very cosy. They decor and design of the hotel was gorgeous. I would highly recommend the private and semi-private excursions/ tours run by the hotel. They are 5 star.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Reception staff was very friendly: warm welcome at late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff was very friendly: warm welcome at late evening and kind help for my partner when he suffered from altitude sickness the next morning. Excellent location, loved the architecture of the cabanas, very good bar and breakfast, short walking distance to the centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful setting and great location. Parking included was a great feature. Would definitely recomme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was hard to access at times but you're in the desert, of course it is! The room was quite hot at times.

    Very accommodating staff. Lovely setting. Amazing location. The parking was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant indeed, good restaurant, easy to drive to and away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good position to walk into San Pedro - more importantly if driving you don't have to go through town to get anywhere. Excellent on site restaurant. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good massage too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay in the heat of Atacama
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great tours offered at a fair price. Very nice massages offered. Excellent restaurant with diverse menus at a good price. Excellent location: quiet and at the same time very close to the center of San Pedro.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    Good location in central San Pedro, quiet, comfortable, friendly staff, very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed 1night, went on trek (hotel kept luggage) and returned for further 2 nights. Excellent breakfast. Welcome drinks. Quiet location yet central. Decor in tune with the location. Hotel sent out an e-mail ahead of time of the tours they offered. They offered and organized a private transfer from and to airport - expensive but easy and welcome after long travel - 1hr+ drive, driver was friendly, stopped for views and was informative.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    5.4
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hot water barely available; heating could not be regulated (so room was either very hot or freezing cold); noone except one person in reception spoken any english; no TV, poor lighting, no safety deposit box in the room (although it was included in the room description)

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no shower box separataion, hence the whole bathroom gets wet during showering. Also, room didnt have a TV (not necesarry but nice to have). Also, room was too dark. price is higher than average.

    beautiful hotel, nice staff, good restaurant and breakfest. close to main street (peatonal). Excursions provided by hotel had very good quality.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.3
    Great excursions, terrible rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room. Dingy. Dark. Small. Bed was styrofoam. Pillows awful.

    The location was great in town. The excursions were amazing small groups and great guides do you could really experience the area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    Faulty Shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower kept falling off the wall when it was in use. This was annoying and potentially dangerous, especially if you are traveling with older people.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    6.3
    A good take away breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was poor Staff took my soap and when I asked for more, I was asked to go to the property next door( co-owned) and get it myself as reception had none A high probability I got diarrhea from the restaurant

    A good take away breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    9.6
    Great getaway in San Pedro de Atacama
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and room warm even with a fan but I knew that when booked. Room was a bit small but very cute.

    Architecture, convenience to town center, staff very friendly and very nice breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Charming property; perfect location in town; great staff; excellent tours
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm, friendly atmosphere; charming adobe accommodations

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    Great overall, would totally recommend. Staff super helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool, booking for hot tub

    Great staff, always helpful and engaged. Friendly to a fault.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    Hotel Kimal is an oasis in the Atacama Desert.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The efforts made by the hotel to be environmentally friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.5
    Overall an enjoyable experience helped by well trained obliging staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quite noisy alongside a busy road and no safe in room-only in central office

    Excellent location close to all facilities and amenities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Amazing week-end
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Clean very nice staff near to the center

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is expensive for what it offers, especially in our case that the jacuzzi wasn't working.

    Perfect location. Confort room and nice shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.9
    They serve very nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is a bit small. Shower room a bit run down.

    They serve very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Amazing staff, all tours were exceptionally guided and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing staff, all tours were exceptionally guided and thought out to every detail. The breakfasts are delicious!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in San Pedro!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great, staff was very accommodating and friendly! Great breakfast and restaurant! Loved our room!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable Kimal Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were hot, lighting poor. No TV, clock.

    Location, the restaurant, rooms, staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    7.5
    Good. Excellent loaction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was not very informed of the different trips available

    Excelent location. Breakfast was incredible.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    7.5
    Pretty expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No fan or air con in roomrs; pool and hot tub need resurfacing. Neighborhood is loud at night.

    Location and staff were good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.8
    Expensive, but a great choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive.

    Great restaurant for breakfast and diner as well, with fair prices. All was really good actually.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    3.8
    Mala
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi horrible I was without connectivity all the time I was there.

    Muy poco de gustar

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    7.5
    Great lication, friendly staff, good food, well organised...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi not working especially in rooms, limited space to sit outside in the shade- inside the restaurant was too hot during the day

    Great lication, friendly staff, good food, well organised excursions

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    7.9
    Convenient location, swimming pool, lovely gardens, spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough lighting in the entrance to the room; fridge was noisy, wifi was poor - very intermittent in the room, had to,go,outside to get it to work somewhat effectively

    Convenient location, swimming pool, lovely gardens, spacious rooms, good facilities

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    8.3
    Excellent location close to the main street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are quite small and very hot at night. Wi-fi is poor away if your room is far away from the exception area. Restaurant is overpriced.

    Excellent location close to the main street. Free tea/coffee available all day at reception area. Packed lunches provided when you have an early departure for an excursion.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    8.3
    Location is super quiet, but really close to great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was a bit warm for sleeping, but everything else was very comfortable.

    Location is super quiet, but really close to great restaurants and shopping. Lovely traditional style adobe room, spacious for a family with 2 young children but all together which we needed.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a beautiful oasis town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel in a beautiful oasis town. Our room was was attractively decorated, and the bed was very comfy. The outdoor seating by the our and the pool were great places to sit during the sunny, warm weather.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    3.3
    They were very keen for us to vacate the room and we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They were very keen for us to vacate the room and we had several hours before our flight we sat at one of the tables by the pool to get some shade and they came and set the table around us almost as if to say you are not welcome also we ordered 3 items on room service and they all came wrong we stayed here for a week and were given a family room which we were charged top rate when we clearly didn't require this room as there were just 2of us!!

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    6.7
    Facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff! Staff is polite, but useless. Even communicating in Spanish they were unable to give clear information. They would explain things like day trip prizes, late checkin, and early breakfast only to later give different info when requesting these. Extremely frustrating.

    Facilities.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    9.2
    Perfect location, right in town, and very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    As a solo traveller I was told on arrival I could not join the tours arranged by the hotel, instead had to book independently in town. Loved the agencies in town so it all worked out, but not impressed with the hotel's lack of customer service.

    Perfect location, right in town, and very quiet. Beautiful garden, pool area and small roof top terrace with stunning mountain / volcano views. They make a great Pisco Sour.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    4.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathrooms had a constant 'septic tank' smell. Front desk staff was seemed annoyed when we asked questions and generally, couldn't answer any of our basic questions - 'can we get a late check out?', 'do you know what agency might be able to help us try sand boarding?'. For one of our excursions, we requested a vegetarian breakfast to go, yet received a ham and cheese sandwich. At $220/night, I expect better. I've seen better customer services in backpacker hostels.

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    5.8
    Room has light coming in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room has light coming in. No AC. Breakfast. Staff was great. Issues in checkout, when we were given a wrong form from staff. This form needed to be returned to them. When we contacted the hotel in Spanish about an item we left at the hotel, they never replied.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    7.9
    Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No tv @ bedroom Bad wifi signal

    Comfy bed Kind staff

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    9.6
    The location was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was amazing! Very clean room, nice staff, breakfast was very good! Very good choice.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    The staff was amazingly warm, the food is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff was amazingly warm, the food is excellent. overall it was a great vacation!

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything!

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Hotel Kimal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: