Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ascott Guangzhou

73 Tianhe Dong Road, Tian He, 510630 Guangzhou, China

#14 of 215 Holiday rentals in Guangzhou

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 105 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment with Breakfast
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The Apart-Hotel is not 5 Starts level, the room is not well conserve as the pictures show, the breakfast is not Intercontinental, no one speak English in the Breakfast lunch, there is any room service, this Ascott is second level.... The Wi-fi doesn't work well. The Bed is terrible unconfortable. So sorry, I will not repeat.

    The Staff is soo helpfully, the situation near to the Metro is good. anything else!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment with Breakfasts
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first night stay was just poor... no hot water in the smaller bedroom bathroom. the team came up to amend it, after 20min, said cannot be fixed, asked us to use the big bedroom bathroom instead. then the engineer forgot his cell phone in the bathroom (in the ceiling), the phone was keep on ringing in the midnight, and we could not find where is it. then call the frontdesk, and the engineer came up in the midnight to get his phone back. the whole thing is just unprofessional!!! and we asked to add an extra bed, and need an extra quilt, the staff told us no extra quilt, can only give us blanket. no more extra quilt??? at all? can't believe it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment with Breakfasts
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not bad but I didn’t feel like I got the value for what I paid. Prices were five star prices but it felt like a 3.5 star quality place, but perhaps it is due to my booking during Christmas week that the prices were high

    Location was great next to Big mall and many eateries

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment with Breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The place should not be given a 5 star rating. The place is definitely showing it's age. Front the moment you enter the lobby , it is already a depressing place. It is already falling apart. The front desk is poorly staffed with only one person in attendance. There were several other people waiting to check in at the same time. With only one person in attendance, tempers could be short. The room is very poorly furnished. The shower cubicle leaked water onto the rest of the bathroom floor. The size of the apartment is very small and definitely not % star. I would not recommend this place to anyone .

    There is nothing to like about the place. Poorly maintained hotel. Facilities are falling apart

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment with Breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely well equipped and in a great shape for a very affordable price. Also room and bathroom were quite spacious. The bed was wide and very comfortable. So excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment with Breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was hard. The sofa and in the living room too small to relax on after a long day working.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Place is nice and clean and the breakfast was good..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Three-Bedroom Apartment with Three Breakfasts
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was mediocre compared to other hotels

    Amazing location right next to luxury shopping mall and in middle of best area of town. However hotel overall is quite dated, and definitely not at standard of ascot, having stayed at ascot Beijing, citadines Xian and just coming from Somerset Shanghai which is supposed to be hotel chain middle tier. The check in was painful. The staff did not seem to know what was going on, and took forever. I had two bookings for two rooms for our group under two names. I told them this repeatedly but they still seemed to think that our group of eight people were supposed to fit into one two bedroom suite and were trying to check in for this. it was only after they struggled for at least 30 to 45 minutes that I pulled up the paper copies of both bookings and put them in front of their faces that they said oh, you are booked for two rooms and realized. Not Five star service. This was now at least an hour, and my elderly father wasn't very happy. they offered nothing in compensation for the frustration and waste of our time. Even when I asked. Later when passing by, they did give me a few coupons for some extra breakfast vouchers.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment with Breakfasts
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Amazing location right next to luxury shopping mall and in middle of best area of town. However hotel overall is quite dated, and definitely not at standard of ascot, having stayed at ascot Beijing, citadines Xian and just coming from Somerset Shanghai which is supposed to be hotel chain middle tier. The check in was painful. The staff did not seem to know what was going on, and took forever. I had two bookings for two rooms for our group under two names. I told them this repeatedly but they still seemed to think that our group of eight people were supposed to fit into a two bedroom suite and were trying to check in for this. I gave them both reference numbers. it was only after they struggled for at least 30 to 45 minutes that I found the paper copies of both bookings and put them in front of their faces that they said oh, you are booked for two rooms and realized. Not Five star service. This was now at least an hour, and my elderly father wasn't very happy. they offered nothing in compensation for the frustration and waste of our time. Even when I asked. Later when passing by, they did give me a few coupons for some extra breakfast vouchers. breakfast was also small selection and not great compared to somerset Shanghai, Cordis HK or even a three star in Beijing that my in-laws had gone to.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment with Breakfasts
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no entertainment in hotel at all so you better just go and have some fun else where

    staff very helpful , very luxury rooms , variety of food in breakfast , calm area , close to all shopping malls

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment with Breakfasts
    • Stayed 3 nights

    actually reception staff was so helpful and cooperating to the maximum level , helping me get taxi , go to anywhere they help me write all directions in Chinese .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier One-Bedroom Apartment with Breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is just about average. Every day same menu and hence had breakfast only once in three days.

    1. The location is excellent 2. The staff always try to help 3. Quality of the room and the overall comfort of the room and Apartment is excellent 4. Modern interiors 5. The staff at the reception can speak reasonably good English so communication is very easy

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment with Breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights

    getting to the hotel, would have been helpful if we knew how easy the metro was

    Very helpful staff, the room was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment with Breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast variety is limited, TV remote stopped working.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment with Breakfasts
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms smelled and the bathrooms didn’t look clean.

    Great location and good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment with Breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full fledged service apartment facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment with Breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The facilities are rather old and worn compared to other Ascott hotels that we have visited.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier One-Bedroom Apartment with Breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The apartments needs a make over.

    Location. Very Central

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier One-Bedroom Apartment with Breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier One-Bedroom Apartment with Breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms environment is not clean enough! the facilities quote old.

    the room is big

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The water pressure is a bit low.

    Location is great, it's near at least 2 big malls Taikoo Hui and One Link Mall. There's two stations within walking distance nearby.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The entrance to the Hotel Lobby has no direct footpaths. A lot cars which drive to the garage. A little bit dangerous in my opinion for walkers.

    I was very close to the Guangzhou Metro.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    wifi is weak most of the times breakfast could be more variety

    location is just across the Taikoo Hui, a great high end mall Room is spacious and very clean

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too much noise from the street even in 19th floor. Breakfast was poor for a European person. Airconditioner was working with to much noise.

    Location, close to main Shopping Mallls. Personel was helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The overall cleanness is okay however the cleaner seems to be quite careless. We had twice the towels weren't replaced or even folded.

    The pool is great, very clean.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    The wifi did not work and we had the modem replaced twice. Also the breakfast could offer more variety, the ham tasted stale.

    We stayed at the Ascott Guangzhou during our visit to the Canton Fair. It was nice that the hotel provided shuttle to the Fair. Overall experience was nice with good service. Would recommend families to stay at Ascott because it is close to a department store and metro station.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The swimming pool was closed for a yearly renovation started in November, and we stayed at the hotel early April! For this category of hotel the minimum will be to precise it on Booking website and on the hotel website. The swimming pool is an important service and you must notice it, specially in hot countries

    The 3 bedrooms suite we got was perfect for 5 people, very big with 3 bathrooms, fully furnished, nothing was missing. The staff is also very professional, you can find at every moment someone able to speak english. The hotel is very well located, 10mn by taxi from the Guangzhou East rail station, 2 mn by walking from a very nice mall and plenty of restaurants. The Metro is just downstair. At the end Ascott Guangzhou remains a very good deal if you travel with your family or a group of friends

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No staffs are waiting at the gate. Maybe because it is apartment . No one help to take my luggage from the taxi. When I arrived there n checked in, they told me no more 2 rooms with lounge apartment. But I said I booked it for two nights n confirmed already. How come told me all full? I was angry about that. They said they could give me two single room with Lounge on the same floor. I said no. The first night for one room was fine. But the second night must be two rooms. At last, they arrange this to me. They gave discount for the first night to me as well. The tv control was not good. Maybe no battery. And I found that there was a computer part sitting on the floor at the Conor . Very strange. The next day, I moved to the two rooms apartment . Lots of things were broken!!! The toilets were dripping. The water stopper button was broken for the bath. Anyway, I don't think I will go there again. Even though it is good location. But the rest I don't like at all.

    Location is good

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All is good

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    1. Floor cleanliness can be improved

    1. Good room size and comfortable room 2. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Everything. The location, the service. The staffs were pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast menu and policy. Smell in rooms

    Location Cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was included, but we were told that each room covers one person only.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    There is another Ascott Hotel which the taxi drive us to the wrong address

    Location is good, near Taikohui Mall which easy us to shopping and dinning

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just one breakfast ticket for a double room

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor breakfast

    Spacious apartment

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    They do not accept any payment in US Dollar

    Cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the place is so nice but some staff wasn't. They shouldn't work in hospitality business, if they don't have a service mind.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to the metro station in a nice área. Bus to the fair and apartment style with big área to work, Not just a bed.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad WiFi in room

    Best location ever

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Bad wi-fi

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nil

    Spacious comfortable room. Good service

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very good and helpful front office staff....

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    sgfgd

    regfsd

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room setup, facilities and amenities. Everything of this hotel is great!

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing not to like

    The comfort of the room as well as the friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Perfect location, very close to the Taikoo mall, where you can find everything. Friendly staff and good facilities.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All good

    All really great, much better value than 5* Hotels I have always used in Gz. Location excellent for any type of restaurant / shopping.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Ascott Guangzhou traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: