Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Asset Hotel Shanghai

No 590 South Wanping Road., Xuhui, 200030 Shanghai, China

#446 of 802 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 200 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    6.7

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    6.2

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I arrived at midnight, for the taxi driver was diffilcut to arrive. I called the reception and he could not explain the direction of the place (he does not speak english). Some taxi drivers dont like to take you there because it is too close from the airport ( they like to take long rides to gain more money). 15 min drive.

    Metro Station was close ( 10 min walk).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was terrible -only Chinese food; the breakfast room was noisy, dirty and very cold. The staff was quite rude and not helpful.

    The hotel was clean and the room was ok. The AC was working properly and the WiFi was fast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The position of the hotel

    You can easily reach out to this hotel but unfortunately, they do not have room service and the breakfast service is poor too. But you will find various kinds of restaurants outside. English is a big problem as obvious but at the same time, there are less helping hands in the hotel. You can only find them during morning time when they come to clean the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty rooms with stained carpets, unfinished and poor quality decor and a vague smell of urine from the bedding. No real means of heating the room, windows that sound and seem permanently open. Chambermaids absolutely hell bent on entering your room every morning ( there are no do not disturb signs on any doors) and of course, mysterious bites.

    This overpriced flophouse has few redeeming features. A nice glass and marble foyer tell the guest little of what is ahead.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The communication with the hotel manager was difficult. As I did not get good response when asked something. The hotel did not provide good blanket as the temperature was very cold.

    I like the nearby places of the property.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staf did not speak english, the breakfast menu is really bad and no variance, everyday is same. It was very difficulf to find taxi in busy time..

    Location is near bank, bus stop and subway

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    every thing is in bad condition we stay at business suite but the shower head is broken no shower curtain to prevent the water from coming out, the most horrified part is that they sealed the bath tub with cement as was told that the hotel management did not want to spend money to replace the leak bath tub. Initially they refused to let us change to another suite but after heated argument we were given a slightly better one still the condition remain poor.

    we like it because it is only 200 meter to my intended visit /destination only. We have no other choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I and my boyfriend stayed in was ok but the refrigerator wasn't working and after reporting this to the staff it took them days to change another one. The receptionist wasn't friendly at all

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Like everywhere I went in Shanghai, the attitude towards paying customers is absolutely terrible. Whatever the request, expect to be met by a completely blank facial expression, an absolute minimum limit of information and be expected to do/understand everything on your own. I had to force information out of the staff if I wanted it. This certainly leaves something to be desired. I have come to expect much more from similarly priced hotels. I don't personally care so much, but twice I notices several (not just a single) long black hairs (I have bright short hair) underneath my pillow. Some previous customers must have treated the walls quite poorly, because they had several seemingly permanent stains ranging from small to big.

    The staff put two new bottles of drinking water in my room every day, which I appreciated. The pillows were perfect. Not too hard, not too fat and not to slim. There were several convenience stores and places to eat nearby, and the hotel is a 8 minute walk from Dongan Rd. station, from which you can easily visit e.g. Jinan temple and Longhua temple.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - If you have young kids, you might see some reluctance in them to walk from Hotel to the metro / subway. - Restaurant / Kitchen smells bad. An overhaul would do good. - I wish they can keep a microwave outside the restaurant / kitchen. For Veg. families like me, it would help. We can heat up some food at our convenience. - Coffee served in the reading room is always cold. I would expect some coffee packets / sachets be kept in the room.

    - The location of the property is quite good. Feels safe in the locality when travelling with Family. - Staff are quite friendly. They helped me get to the Indian restaurant nearby. - Room size is quite big. Having a living room with a bed helps.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is scarce.

    10 minutes walk from a subway station (Dongan), which takes to the center in half of an hour. It's a little bit hard to find because it's located inside the compound. On the bright side, it's a very quiet place. The building itself is old and requires renovation but the service is good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting a little rough around the edges, after a few years - needs a refresh (but then it probably would't be quite so cheap, anymore). Dining room could be bigger - often arrived with no room to sit for breakfast. Ended up eating in the Reading Room a few times. Wouldn't call it a "restaurant", by any means, but I enjoyed the food.

    Comfortable and cheap - good for budget accommodation with a tasty, mostly Chinese-style breakfast. Surrounded by cheap food places and many shopping areas, and not far from several Metro stations. Always slept soundly, even facing towards a main street, and my room was cleaned well every day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From pictures looked more luxurious then it is, it is still fine but for that amount of money we could find something more.

    Close to metro, nice breakfast and coffee.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Th bathtub was so tiny, I am short but my legs still could stretch all the way out. Some maintance issues like broken tiles.

    The reading room is amazing. Staff have great english.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at 11:45 pm in drizzle because our flight was delayed. Reception told me they had sold on our rooms and none available - were very rude, aggressive and unhelpful. Had to walk around area in rain until 1:30am to find a hotel for my customers. Disgusting service. What will Booking.com do about this. Please contact me to confirm no monies deducted from my card and what action you will take against the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very dilapidated, paint fell off the walls. It seems last update of the room was a long time ago. I was really disappointed.

    Stuff on reception desk speaks english. Around 10 mins to Dongan road station or Shanghai stadium.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The family room had a very strong cigarette smell. The room was facing indoor with only one window (opening was very small as well). Ventilation was poor with no possibility of fresh air.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing to like or dislike this was our worst experience in hotels it was our big mistake we have book with asset hotel there is no wifi,no cleanes in room water liking bad also not good evenbrakfast is too bad....pls if any one planing for this hotel pls pls dont make booking ....third class hotel

    This is worst question there is nothing to like worst service worst location no wifi dirty rooms no cealenes......

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist weren't of great help. Any questions asked would be replied with a nod. Whether they were of genuine affirmation, well... I guess it was really all down to us to figure the answers out.

    I would say the greatest asset of this hotel would be it's price. It is pretty much in the centre of Shanghai and for the price I paid, I am not complaining.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the wifi in room is temporarily not working, but I'm sure they'll fix it soon

    location is perfect, takes some time to find though,within a neighborhood

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff doesn't really make an effort to be nice or helpful, but it's China. Breakfast is ok. Not very clean or comfy.

    The location is great. Really close to Dong'an Road subway station and there's a bank right in front of it, which makes it easier to exchange money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    internet access is terrible and very easily stay online all the time, always being asked to re login onto wifi.

    Nothing really like this place as very basic things

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water from the shower, the room had mold in corners of the walls and chipping paint was everywhere. Even though it was advertised about the subway being close, Dong an station was a mile away. Not good if your mobility is limited. The evening front desk staffer was rude and of no help at all. I was so unhappy with this property I left after one night. The only good thing was that I got the rest of my money returned to my card. Don't stay here if you are new to Shanghai.

    The beds were comfy. That's about it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is bit small and it is difficult to stretch yourself. However in such a city of Shanghai, it is understandable. Keep a competitive price is more important.

    price include the breakfast is great, even more with coffee!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air-conditioning for the room I was upgraded to was unsatisfactory, however with the internet booster the wireless internet worked well. Everything else was very good.

    My room was upgraded when I complained about the poor internet. The new room was nice. The accommodation offered included breakfast. The property felt secure. At least one person on the front desk spoke English.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location is away from main road, it is a quite place inside the building.

    The wifi is terrible, and the hallway between each room aren't flat, with different levels and with 3 stairs on different levels, which brought lots of inconvenience for the one with large luggages.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all right.but some time door lock was not working properly

    Every thing was good except door lock

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the building needs a face lift

    location ! close to subway and a lot of restaurants nearby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Taps and water pressure was dodgy.

    Quiet on a night

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    THIS IS TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very worn down hotel. Need improvement in breakfast spread

    Reasonable price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service is very Poor

    Quality is Not Good Its not a hotel, Just Guest House

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never ever stay at this hotel

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Close to public transit

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are worn out and sheets not bleached clean.

    The lobby area

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room seems a bit dirty and smelling

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff are poor to communicate in English

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    all it was OK..

    Nice place for this money...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    compact and comfortable place,easy to go eat and shopping。

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a convenient location. Very difficult to locate. 1hour drive from hongquio railway station

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom, no wifi connection in the room and the breakfast was the worst: poor, dirty cups, no variety in the food.

    the bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have more variety of dark bread ,and croissants. Also some fruit.

    My room the bed was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner system does work out of the rooms. Corridor carpet is very dirty. The breakfast is 95% Asian food.

    I liked the price

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Atmosphere was very good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    really good service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to change our room because the first room we walked into had dirt stains over the wall andand overall dirty

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendly and helpful, bed extremely comfortable, room quiet and transportation easily accessible. I could not ask for more!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    BAD WIFI, BREAKFAST TOO CHINESE AND PERSONAL DON'T SPEAK ENGLISH

    NEAR RAILWAY. NEAR RESTAURANTS AND IS NOT BAD TO REST.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wardrobe does not have any shelves to store clothes.

    Friendly housekeeping staff. Room was very spacious and clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi doesn't work. Staff don't speak very good English.

    Location is super convenient. Two accessible metro stations. It's a modest hotel, very clean and very fair price/value

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel is looking tired now and needs a good refurbishment program. Nothing had changed or been redecorated since I was there 6 years ago!

    Comfortable and quite well located. Rooms have everything you need.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    In general the hotel needs some TLC.

    The location was good for us. There were plenty of restaurants nearby and we could walk to many of the places we wanted to visit. The subway was also very close.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi doesn't work in the rooms; the staff was not friendly at all; it is hard to find 'cause its between buildings at 3 sides

    The room was spacious and very clean; it had a lot of conveniet things like the electric ketle

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi in rooms didn't work, rooms didn't feel completely cleaned and windows were not soundproof at all - I could hear every single sound outside which included constant traffic and construction work early in the morning. Cleaning staff had a tendency to stand in the hallway and yell at each other.

    The bed was really comfortable and the rooms were a great size considering the price. Lobby was clean and had helpful staff who spoke English.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    With the phone you can only connect to wifi lobby because their login page is setup so you can't press the button with the phone ^_^

    The lobby is nice, rooms are okay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    shanghai is expensive for China, this is no exception for what it is. some staff speak little or no English, which is suppose is to be expected

    comfy bed, reasonable location, in between 3 metro stations, clean

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Front desk staff. Very poor. Tried a silly and very obvious 'extra charges' trick. Giving a good hotel a bad review.

    Reasonable, value for money hotel in heart of Shanghai. Rooms good, decor OK.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed is a bid hard & it would be better if the hotel can provide soft pillow, instead of existing now.

    Quite comfortable room & staff are friendly. The hotel staff also help me to dispatch my package to my relative to Macau city.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast is basic, no tomatoes to go with your scrambled eggs

    The staff were very helpful although they did not speak much English! Location is not central but easy access to the metro station.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff told us to give him money under the desk to give us a better room. The air con was broken, the room was super dirty and very crowded

    good location

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I asked reception girl to call a taxi to the airport for next morning, but she refused and offered me an overly expensive shuttle car service. After talking to her superior she finally agreed, but next morning I found she hadn't do it. I would have lost the flight if I hadn't woken up with enough time.

    Cozy

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This hotel is not easily accessible for tourists with bulky luggage as it is quite a distance away from the metro station and the hotel isn't easily spotted on street level. The breakfast does not have a variety of spread and the amount of money you pay for breakfast is totally not worth it. The room's phone has no dial tone at all and there is no way you can contact the service staff if you stay in room 205.

    The room was very comfortable and cosy.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff should learn more english. The menu was same everyday which should be changed everyday and may be repeated after a week atleast. the name and ingredient of the dishes should be mentioned.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    not close to the metro/subway.booking flgt tickets sounded to be costly. wifi in the room didnt work .had to rely on the wired net. slow though.

    calm and quite zone. a book store. good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Depressive room outlook. Breakfast sets are the same.

    Very responsive and helpful hotel staff. Good location - close to the center but quiet. Great value for this price.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    i have a big and heavey suitcase. not easy to go up and down on a few small stairs to the elevator and walk to my room.

    room is very clean and quiet. street food in morning on the way to subway 4train is so good.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Although the room size was decent, it was very basic and furnishings are old

    The staff were helpful and polite when I needed an umbrella. (Note: I disagree with a deposit of 100yuan for a 20 yuan umbrella!)

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    cleaning should be improved,the hotel lies in a housing estate,but one side of the building is close to streets,rooms on that side are not good…kind of noisy at nights…

    staff are nice

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    my room was right near the reception area on the same floor so was fairly noisy even through the night........................

    location and quite easy to find...................

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi is so slow and most of the times you cannot connect. I was on a bussines trip there and i needed the wifi but it was very bad. I am not satisfied with it.

    Good location. Nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff is helpful but a bit slow in doing their tasks. Wifi in the bedroom works only with one device, and free wifi in the cafe area is too slow even to send emails.

    the price is reasonable and the position is good, equally close to Shanghai stadium metro station and Dongan Road metro station.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You can access wifi with only one device, and that could be a problem, especially if you work.

    the price is fair enough for the service and cleanliness offered.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Premises looking much more tired than 2 years ago...needs paint and new carpets as rooms bit smelly. English basic. Didn't let 1 friend into her room when plane got in late, despite our best attempts to inform reception. Wifi poor.

    Clean and convenient to railway stations, good breakfast and brewed coffee available during day. Reasonable tarrif for area. Staff try to help but language a barrier at times

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: