Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tiananmen Best Year Courtyard Hotel

No.1 Denglongku Hutong, Nanchizi Street, Dongcheng, 100006 Beijing, China

Review score

Based on 74 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in our room was very small

    The location of the hotel is great- closed to the metro station and the room wad very quiet. The staff were very helpful with advice and booked train tickets for me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not particularly friendly or helpful. Not very clean (although linens, bathrooms were clean). Felt run down/disused. No windows.

    It is very close to the East Gate of the Forbidden City...an amazing location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are tired and could do with some maintenance.

    Hotel location is excellent being a short walk from the Tian Anmen East Metro Station. Food and shopping is close by at WanFuJing. A quiet stay in a Beijing Hutong. Helpful hosts.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very hard to find, I arrived Beijing at 1 AM and it was really hard to find the hotel because the taxi stops on the closest street and you have to walk and find it. The room is OK, do not expect much.

    The staff is very helpful, and the location is very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom needs attention/cleaning/fixing up. Photos are better than the real thing.

    Bed was large and comfortable - staff were friendly and helpful. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there was a terrible smell in the double bedroom and especially the bathroom but the staff moved me into a different room on the 3rd day.

    The staff were extra helpful, even offering to order me food on the first night even though I arrived close to 1am. And very helpful with tips for around the city. Also, location is fantastic! Tiananmen square less than 10 mins one way. Foridden city less than 10 mins the other way.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area under the bed was dusty and the room didn't feel very clean.

    Location was brilliant and easy to find. We arrived after midnight and the front desk manager was there to help check us in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was good.

    The staff was super-friendly, helpful, and spoke English. The location is excellent - next to the Forbidden city and close the metro station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    This hotel is sadly very past its prime and only a shadow of what is described. We arrived in the thunderstorm and the stairwell our room was off was a water feature with water cascading down the stairs from above. The bathroom was grotty and on the first night whilst I was showering three large tiles fell off the wall leaving me standing naked surrounded by shards of tiles. Another 4-5 tiles were dislodged and only just hanging on and the hotels answer was to simply strip away the remaining tiles! We hung in for five nights then bailed - by then we both had bad coughs brought on by the mould and humidity. The lighting in the room was virtually non-existent and there was no window. It was like living in a solitary confinement cell.The common area was dusty and grimy and on our penultimate morning we got up to find the table in the Common Room covered in ash trays and empty cigarette packets. Other being down a very difficult to find alley, with no sign on the main street to direct you the location was handy to the Forbidden City. The staff were friendly and did their best and didn't try and sting us for the three nights we bailed on.

    Other being down a very difficult to find alley, with no sign on the main street to direct you the location was handy to the Forbidden City, Waufungyan street Tiananmen Square and shopping.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the rooms they fit put us on had a lot of mold in the shower, but they swapped us another room the next day.

    Very charming rooms in a hutong. The staff spoke very good English and we're super helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception able to book trusted taxis, tours, train tickets, all ensundry that made the stay very productive and easy to access all tourist attractions. Nothing was too difficult to arrange.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom is very small and shower and toilet are in the same space and once you take a shower, it is hard not to get everything wet.

    Good location and walking distance to many sites. Good wifi reception. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 out of 5 Beds were not comfortable you could feel the springs, no shampoo or soap, old sanitair, no breakfast, no laundry, no working fridge in the hall so drinks are not cold, hotel is much to expensive

    personell speaks english and is helpfull, nearby forbidden city, quite location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of a few notices in English

    Old world and homely atmosphere, and above all convenience, short walking distance, for TS and FC. The willingness of the manager to fetch me from the taxi in the middle of the night and to support me with advice in English.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to find the place

    A nice tiny hutong hotel very near to the Forbidden City. Tiananmen West subway station only few hundred meters away. Quit neighbourhood in the evening - no traffic noise. Walking street Wangfujing Dajie also near. Visited the place second time and probably will return if I ever visit Beijing again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Missing deep cleaning (below bed, above lamps in bedroom and in the common place), common fridge is not cold and people are smoking in the common area, which is open directly on the bedroom. Could be noisy if the guests will not be respectful (no outside window, door is directly connected to this common area). No any suitable western restaurant close to the hotel, the closest shops are in APM Shopping Center, 15 minutes by foot. Difficult to find the hotel.

    The location is perfect, very close to Forbidden City. Staff helpful when you ask. Good quality of bed. Ancient style and very quiet street.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The accommodation isn't comfortable. One of the beds had not mattress, the principal door didn't close, there wasn't light enough in the room, the price was too expensive.

    The court is a typical old style Chinese accommodation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, staff speaks English fluently and they helped us a lot organize our trip. We also booked our visit to the great wall through the reception. I would happily recommend this hotel, and If I ever visit Beijing again I will stay there for sure :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room felt and smelled damp. toilet was dated and damp. staff overworked

    location was good, room was big

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and dirty room... rather do not look under your bed

    really great location 2-3 min. walk from metro station line 1

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding is not good, in the twin room anyway. The quilt was too small

    It’s a great location, so close to Tiananmen Square and the palace

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom. No food of any sort

    Location. Style

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Provide nearly finish toilet roll.

    Perfect location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    good hotel no meals provided pleasant atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit to small, bad smell from the bathroom.

    Superb location, staff were helpfull and friendly, nice courtyard, queit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 mins walk to Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City...friendly staff and able to speak fluent English

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff are friendly and able to speak fluent English. Location wise? 5 mins walk to Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cleanliness could be improved; they could also tidy up the courtyard

    location, location, location. access to kitchen and fridge; Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    Some odours were sometimes present which they try to combat via air con.

    It was centrally located by metro and so close to Forbidden City. Extremely clean, staff helpful. True Chinese environment.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Trip Advisor "Amenities" section for this hotel lists "Free Breakfast". Booking.com lists "Restaurant. Breakfast in room." There is no free breakfast and no restaurant that I saw. There is only a coffee machine - for money (US $ 2.50 per cup!) - in the common area. When I booked on TripAdvisor, the room was listed as having a "balcony". In reality, it didn't even have a window. The lighting was terrible - including no reading lamps in the bed. There was no safety deposit box (as listed under amenities). The idea of this being a "commerical business hotel" with business facilities is simply a joke. The place itself was dingy and kind of sad, but I would never write such a negative review if they didn't completely misrepresent themselves on the booking websites. As far as I am concerned, this is criminal misrepresentation and should be investigated by Booking.Com and Tripadvisor. I only saw one other guest at the hotel during my three day stay. Prior to this, I came from a 3-week holiday in Viewtnam where the most expensive hotel I stayed in was US $25. Tiananmen Best Year Courtyard was US $ 72 and far worse than anywhere I stayed in Vietnam. The wifi was so slow it was practically unusable.

    Free toilet paper included in room fee.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really hard to find Google maps location will of as GPS is by about 500m all over Beijing. For people looking for it it's a small side street around the corner from HANTING hotel on S Chizi street.

    Staff were really friendly. Didn't find people generally that nice in Beijing i'm but young guy and girl on desk were super nice.very good value for money and location fantastic to get to forbidden city.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Could use a new clean bathroom curtain. Address very hard to find, do not even try if you are not Chinese, just take a taxi and call the hotel when you are on the way.

    Perfect location and wonderful staff - picked me up by bicycle in different hotel when I got lost late in the night.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This hotel was in the centre of everything, the room was ok but the staff especially the lady was so kind and helpful which made up for everything else 😀

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom could have been upgraded, toiletries provided.

    The location, the quaintness and traditions of a courtyard hotel, the staff were exceptional.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rest of the staff were very unhelpful and not willing to help.

    The woman staff member Xiao Gu was really friendly and helpful. Hotel was average however the location was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Tiananmen Best Year Courtyard is a beautiful little hotel in an old courtyard, very silent though in the heart of town, only a few minutes walk from Tiananmen Square. Very friendly and helpful staff, speaking english very well.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower facilities were lacking. The shower head holder in our room was unable to hold the shower head in place, so we were unable to shower properly.

    Good location, friendly staff and a nice cool room with air conditioning.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Service was great. Very nice people. They helped us with booking a tour. Advised us about restaurants. Very helpful. Location on walking distance from all the main sights in Beijing. The hotel was very clean. Good Beds.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The accommodation while dose to main attractions was down a dirty smelly alleyway, and could do with a bit of maintenance.

    Staff were very friendly & helpful. Was very close to Forbidden city and Tiananmin Square.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no safety deposit box or telephone in room as per site- no refrigerator - dirty toilet paper was placed in open bin next to toilet

    closeness to forbidden palace

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Cramped rooms, approach to hotel is through narrow and quiet lanes, no big banner of the hotel in English. The kichen is unhygienic but they were still kind to offer us to use it as we were desperate.

    The location is strategic. Pretty close to the Tienanmen Square and the Forbidden city. Apart that, nothing great. It is in fact difficult to locate the spot. A lot of taxis don't even agree to take you there on Nanchizi Street. No one communicates in English we were however lucky to find Victor and Wey both of who could converse well and tried their best during our stay. The rooms are pretty cramped up if you're traveling with family choose better hotels like Novotel, Prime etc more spacious and not too far from places of interest. They may cost a little more but would definitely be a better! They don't serve breakfast here either, which again is a big negative, apart from cramped rooms. There are street shops for breakfast if one enjoys Chinese food else it can be tough.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They changed the courtyard to display expensive pottery, ruined the ambiance. The AC didn't work. Bathroom very small.

    Staff was very helpful and friendly, spoke English. Location good , lots of shopping nearby, the big outdoor food market was just a short walk away.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Considering the abundance of labor in China, I had high expectations of cleanliness. I realize a courtyard hutong cannot compete in "Western comfort" with other hotels but there is no excuse for the whole facility not being spotless. The shower also leaked forcing us to use the towels to mop up the bathroom floor.

    The location was very close to the Forbidden City, the shopping area, as well as the subway.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room Cleanness and the hotel is difficult to find.

    Their staff is helpful especially Gu jie. She is really keen to help in all aspects. They are lucky to have such an enthusiastic staff like her.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Cramped up room.

    The location - very close to tourist places. Staff - speaks English and very helpful

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    People could smoke in the enclosed courtyard and sometimes the smell leaked into the room.

    Soft bed. Super friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very kindly staff, especially the Lady at the front desk. She was very helpfull and spoke good english.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    In a weird location , hard to find

    Staff is amazing , nicest people in Beijing. Hotel authentic Chinese style which is cool

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Uncomfortable bed

    Very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    hot water supply unstable, sometime we need to take a cold bath in cold winter

    staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tricky to find, most taxi drivers have to call for directions.

    Very close to the Forbidden city. Helpful staff who spoke Englsh.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    GPS coordinatea are off on this site. Correct ones are 39.910713 116.397

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Family with older children

    The location and staff were great!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Dirty bathroom.

    Location and friendly staff

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse Tiananmen Best Year Courtyard Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: