Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Beijing Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel

No. 37, Dongsisitiao, Dongcheng, 100010 Beijing, China

#15 of 586 hotels in Beijing

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 906 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic and authentic Chinese experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful setting and decoration in the traditional Chinese style. Great location to explore Beijing. Breakfast was an amazing combination of Chinese and Western choices. Super friendly and helpful staff. Our room was big, comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel shame about the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Wedding Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor. There was a huge selection (western and chinese) but it was all just lukewarm and so not very tasty and the pastries were dry. So glad i had brought my marmite! The egg tarts were good though and so were the dumplings that had been kept hot.

    I liked that when i was in the hotel i knew that i was in china - so much better than some non descript international hotel. The staff were friendly and v helpful. Location was good - 10 min walk to subway.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    I enjoyed very much my stay in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing.

    This traditional hotel is what i really wanted to stay in, to experience life in old Beijing Hutong. This hotel totally meet my expectation, it is comfortable, clean, beautifully decorated in traditional chinese way, which reminds me a bit of my childhood. The breakfast is wonderful, mixture of chinese and western styles. The talking bird at the front door is really lovely, we spent quite some time talking to it and teach it new phrases, so fun! the staff is super friendly, they arranged us a day trip to Great wall which turned out fantastic! All others requests are granted by staff, so helpful and kind! definitely a place to visit. oh, by the way, it is very near city centre, near DongSi Metro station (line 5), and very near famous night food street called "Gui Jie". The hotel is really near airport as well, with taxi (no traffic), it took around 30-40 minutes, pretty fast! what are you waiting for?

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.3
    Great location and ambience, but room not comfortable and food ordinary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was arranged so for tallish people you needed to sleep lengthwise, which means we couldn't easily share a bed and get up during the night without disturbing each other. We had dinner one night in restaurant - very very ordinary! And breakfast, though plentiful, was ordinary too.

    Lovely open courtyards to sit and drink delicious Chinese tea, that was made available free in the room. Also wonderful location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.0
    Really enjoyable and appreciate the contrast to big soulless hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really tiny-good to know there are larger ones available. It was a bit noisy at times when other people were arriving and leaving-especially early morning-the rooms are not at all soundproof, but it sort of added to the atmosphere!

    Loved the authenticity, the hutong experience and local surrounds, the helpful English speaking staff, the restaurant evening meals, the decor and the service...cleaning staff took the wet washing we’d left hanging around our tiny room and returned it dry and neatly folded!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    It was very traditional and situated in a hutong and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Wedding Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very traditional and situated in a hutong and the staff were friendly and welcoming. It felt like home with all the lovely courtyard gardens and the decorations in the rooms. I would sincerely recommend going there!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel. Highly recommended to anyone staying in Beijing who want something a little different from the rest. This was our 2nd stay and having travelled to over 30 countries worldwide this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    When we asked the Clerk to have a Taxi pick us up for a Ride...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we asked the Clerk to have a Taxi pick us up for a Ride to the Great Wall they Said we do Not have to pay Since they wanted to see the Location we were heading for. So they gave us a free ride!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Charming and delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Happy Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very comfortable, and the peace and quiet remarkable given the location. Probably one of the best sleeps of the trip. The staff were very attentive and helpful. A very varied breakfast buffet was included. The room was charming and just what I had hoped for.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    the staff is very kindly and help you to book your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Happy Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff is very kindly and help you to book your activities or taxis. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I recommend this place for a family looking for typical and authentic place!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Very beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room is too small. The grounfloor bedrooms are too humid

    Very beautiful! The hotel is an ancient traditional chinese house in a “hudong” characteristic street. My family was hosted in 2 bedrooms in the ground floor. One bedroom was too small.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    A really lovely place to stay in Beijing, wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A really lovely place to stay in Beijing, wonderful alternative to the usual soulless big city hotels. Staff that are incredibly competent and genuinely warm and friendly, good breakfast selection, cute rooms that although compact have every feature needed for a comfortable stay and everything works! Outdoor courtyards are comfortable and create a sense of community among the guests, it's nice to say hello to smiling people while in a hotel. Special mention must be made about the housekeeping staff, they are truly phenomenal, they work all day, not simply cleaning rooms but deadheading the flowers growing everywhere in containers, even taking hand washed guest laundry out of the rooms and hanging it up outdoors in a drying area then bringing it back beautifully folded. I plan to return there in winter, it must be magic with some snow about. And, the most amazing small restaurant just a short way up the same laneway the hotel is in, we went back twice in a row, it's excellent. Also it's really handy to a metro exit, 5 minute walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Love the staffs especially Rose and Jaclyn who are so...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Happy Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basically nothing.

    Love the staffs especially Rose and Jaclyn who are so helpful and friendly. Can't thanks them enough for the excellent service making the whole trip smooth and easy. Great location and nice traditional accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    A fantastic hotel. I'll definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a single problem.

    By far the best hotel I have stayed in during my month in China. Excellent service, smooth check-in and beautiful decor. The room was clean and well air conditioned. The staff were extremely friendly and informative. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant stay with staff always trying to help even though English is still a challenge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Happy Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast provided whilst having variety was never hot and you could not get eggs fried or boiled.They also took a long time to clear tables.

    The room was authentic, comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    I just love it! Always again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I choosed the hotel now the second time and that with good reason. Jaclyn from the reception called me a taxi to come from airpot transfer bus to the hotel in the heavy rain. The hotel even paied the taxi. And than she was amazing when I was in big trouble with a lost card. Thanks alot also to the hotel manager for the understanding and kindness. Love this place. It's almost like you come home, and family will help you if there is a problem. Beside this the hotel has a romantic flair and is very clean. Computer in the room is also a big plus! Don't know any better place to stay in Beijing!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Exquisite Gem in Downtown Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Happy Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is so much to love here! Set in a gritty hutong, this hotel is sn sbsolute gem. Ming style decor wirh all the modern conveniences. We especially love the courtyard that includes flowers, fish, and a swing for four. There is so much attention to beautiful details. Everywhere you look there is a picture worthy still life! The hotel features a cafe bar, open in the evenings. The breakfast buffet features aurhentic local pastries and dim sum, great coffee,as well as Western offerings. Charm abounds, from the embroidered silk duvets to the mynah birds in bamboo cages. Did I mention that the birds recite lines of an ancient poetry? The Dongcheng location is convenient for seeing the sights. The neighborhood has good shopping and restaurants within an easy walking distance. We found a great vegetarian cafe in the neighborhood. The staff speak English and are warm and helpful. This is really an experience meant to create a wonderful memory!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    A beautiful, relaxing hotel in the centre of Beijing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Wedding Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Beautiful room - very comfortable and clean. Friendly and efficient staff who helped arrange transport for a visit to the Great Wall and airport. Excellent buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Great service, ambience, location, and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great. Within minutes walk of a subway station and restaurants that are open 24 hours a day (important for jet lagged folk.) The breakfast was better than we expected.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    The traditional design of the hotel, the staff, especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Happy Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so hot at the first night even we turned the air con to 16C. I couldn't sleep n sweating all night. It turned better in the 2nd n 3rd nights when we reported the case. The air con was turned on long before we returned to room and got enough time to cool down the room before we sleep.

    The traditional design of the hotel, the staff, especially the lady at the reception is very helpful. Breakfast is good with some beijing style snacks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful courtyard hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing really but the hotel might like to think about extending their breakfast room since there were often queues for tables in the morning.

    I've stayed here several times now and I love this hotel. The hotel itself is in an old courtyard home and is beautifully decorated in the old Chinese style. Each room is different. There is also a very extensive breakfast buffet and a friendly little bar/restaurant. What sets this place apart is the staff. Without exception, they are all very professional and helpful. Jaclyn and Rose were very welcoming and helpful throughout my stay. I'd also like to thank the housekeeping department for finding and returning my iPad dongle that got caught up in sheets when the bedding was changed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Great Stay in Hutong!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Just make sure for the first time to ask the Hotel to arrange hotel pick up.

    It is within a small alley in Beijing Hutong. The hotel is clean, well location, friendly staff that speaks English. Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Love double happiness hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved that this was real Chinese experience hotel. They even have birds in lobby for good luck and turtles in lovely garden for long life. Staff the best. Hutong real interesting. Near great street for cafes and bars.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.7
    Overall, we had a great time and would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are pretty tiny. Beds are small and not too comfortable. But these are part of the Hutong courtyard hotel experience.

    Great breakfast buffet. Great staff. When I got to Xi’an after Beijing I realized I had left my iPad in my room. We called the hotel and they shipped it to our hotel in Chengdu.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    A haven of peace in the middle of Pekin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Wedding Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please change the tea at the breakfast. A chinese tea will be much better as the awfull Lipton tea. Don't put birds in cages. The birds are made to fly, not to be in jail!

    After having walking all the day in the city, it was always like returning at home when we entered the Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel. The greetings of the friendly staff, the nice chinese decoration of our bedroom, the glass of wine that we took in one of the two romantic courtyards, the dinners in the little cosy bar made our 8 days'stay unforgettable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and we will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a beautiful hotel full of charm and character. The room was very clean and comfortable and the attention to detail amazing. The staff were very friendly and spoke excellent English. The hotel is located in a traditional Hutong area down a narrow alleyway which makes it a little difficult to find first time. The nearest subway station is about 10 mins walk away and there are many restaurants and shops in this very local and central area of Beijing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Awesome.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More dining tables in the bar/restaurant.

    Warm reception, lovely Hutong hotel, great breakfast and surprisingly good restaurant/bar. I highly recommend this authentic Chinese hotel, the staff is extremely helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Cleanest hotel ever, excellent staff and 10min from subway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had nothing we didn't like.

    The room was super clean and the staff was very professional. The hotel garden was also very cozy, it was great to sit and read after long city walks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Wedding Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell from bathroom drain. Bathroom sliding door couldn’t be closed tightly.

    Staff at reception was friendly. Location is great, very convenient. We love the gardens and room decor the most.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautifully quaint Chinese style courtyard hotel in the heart of a Hutong Alley
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's very quiet at night but I do not see this as a negative, we were able to sleep soundly with no disturbances, a hotel perfect for older couples and/or small children.

    Loved the layout and beautiful Chinese decor of the Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel. The hotel is down a Hutong alley which we found suprisingly easy to find from Donsi Station! (We walked the driving route and found it quick and easy, there are lots of shops and restaurants along the way!). The staff spoke really good English and were very friendly and informative. We were able to book a tour to the Mutyiangu Great Wall at the reception desk. The room & bathroom were very nice with lots of lovely little touches. The breakfast buffet provided a variety of food with a western touch. The room looks onto a lovely courtyard with seating area, plants and foliage, a little peace of heaven to come back to and relax after exploring the vibrant city of Beijing. My mother and I would love to visit here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Immersion in China
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Wedding Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is a bit far by walk from Tian an men or touristic spots. By subway, it was OK.

    the cleanliness was more than chinese standards. Staff was helpful for home laundry, english assistance. Chinese art furniture in the room made the stay personalized

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Fab authentic Chinese hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really to dislike. Room a little on the small side if you like your space!

    Wonderful staff - helpful & friendly throughout stay. Organised trips, dealt with all our questions & demands with patience & charm. A delightful setting, quirky & unique.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    A very special and authentic experience in a great location of Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Wedding Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    can't think of anything

    I really liked the local authentic atmosphere of the hotel - it's a hidden gem in the bustling city centre, tranquil and very beautiful. I felt in a traditional Chinese home. The courtyard gives a peaceful ambience, you can hear birds singing at night and see the stars sitting in front of your room. the hotel is located in a very nice hutong and the main street is full if eateries, restaurants, shops - great to mingle with the locals and experience the flavour of local life. I can highly recommend the English speaking tour guide booked by the hotel - Yan. A very knowledgable, friendly lady who helped me get the most of Beijing in a day, skipping the crowds, sharing interesting info about the city and its landmarks...the day passed so pleasantly in her company! She also helped me with information on additional places I wanted to visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Close proximity to the city centre and the sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Wedding Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close proximity to the city centre and the sightseeing. The experience of staying inside a Huting was great. Ambience and the interior was traditional Chinese and this made the whole Beijing experience a step higher.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for a flavour of courtyard and Hutong life. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it would be unfair to find fault with anything.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The courtyard was idyllic and the lounge, bar area very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Super staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Wedding Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that it is hard to find and on a very narrow alley. Driver had to make several attempts at getting us there, as alleyways can be blocked for anything other than a tiny car.

    Super staff! Every corner of this property has something new to find. Eclectic Chinese?!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    Good but not enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very little, and for such a price the equipment and the comfort was not enough. There were some works on the building meaning a very early wake up. The room has no privacy (you hear yours neighbours).

    The inner gardens are nice and the restaurant is very good. The location is perfect and the staff is kind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfection and Royal Treatment <3
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Wedding Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't know that at this particular hotel that they wear their shoes inside of the room. Living in Korea for years, I just wasn't used to that. But everything was so clean that I don't think it really mattered.

    This place was perfect! The interior and exterior design was breathtaking and really made me feel like I was in China. I had the honeymoon suite. Something that was a bit "new" for me was the staff coming to make my bed for me when it was time for me to actually sleep. They truly went above and beyond! The food in the restaurant was relatively reasonable and the breakfast gave a nice wide range of food and fresh fruit! I was in love! Also, the staff tried their best to be kind and hospitable and even gave me a parting gift! (It was a container of fresh tea leaves). I definitely plan to return :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Awesome Traditional courtyard experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Happy Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We are a group of 3 and stayed 2 nights here for our Beijing trip. Hotel is beautiful. Staffs are friendly. Room is clean, air condition is powerful. A variety choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Delightful hotel for a stay in Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the dining room was expensive and not very good. Drinks way too expensive and they are mean with the gin

    This is a home away from home. Delightful staff, lovely comfortable beds, big fluffy towels and a chocolate on the bed every night. Lovely bathroom with big shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay. If I will be back in Beijing, I will return there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Wedding Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The furniture is "old style" and original. We really loved it. But maybe not everybody does. Not all plugs were "perfect". But I found at least 5 plugs in each room, so we always find a way.

    The staff. They helped us whenever we needed. When we came back at the hotel we always thought to be at home and welcomed. The position, the furniture and the uniqueness of the hotel are other good points.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    They became our favorite hotel on this trip and it was all because of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I usually like more counter space near the bathroom sink and it was limited in our bathroom (although the bathroom was on the small side, in general, so the counter space we had is the best they could do).

    Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. We needed advice/help from the trivial (restaurant suggestion) to the important (taxi to get us to the airport in time and the taxi driver was honest!) and they assisted us with a smile. We loved how quite our room was and the courtyard right in front of our room is like a set in a movie complete with rustling tree leaves.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Located in houtong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Happy Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in houtong. Can see locals. Very clean, the staff was very helpful and speak fluent English. Good restaurants around. Nearby train station, and if one likes to walk - reasonable distance from many attractions. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely Staff, 可爱的!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Happy Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have been a little better, with better selection of fresh breads and fruits. I wish the room was a little bigger, but I think it's just the style of accommodation.

    Staff was amazing, they went beyond our expectations and did everything to make sure our family had an amazing experience, everyone working there was awesome, and could communicate easily in English or Chinese. They were the best!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    I certainly enjoyed my stay and would recomend and use it again if going to Beijin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would prefer if the restaurantvmenu had more local food but guess it’s from my personal preferences.

    The athmosphere, located near subway, in hutong area. All staff very friendly and helpful. Clean and tidy, Many local restaurants closeby, most of the staff spoke english. A bit differently bur snyway. Good choices on their restaurant menu. The room eas taken care of each day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    We stayed in rooms 128, 138 & 158.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all

    The staff were absolutely excellent and shone above all else with their help and advice at all times. Also the hotel was beautiful and very traditional, loved the layout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel with modern facilities but an old chinese look and feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Happy Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff went above and beyond to make our stay the best it could possibly be. Excellent English speaking, help booking tours and taxis, food and drink in the bar also great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    Next time again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find. Better read the map before you walk there. But this is not the fault of the hotel. It was my fault.

    If somebody wants to have a traditional China experience, then this is the right hotel. I write this without sarcasm. The design and furnitures of the hotel are according to 100 years ago but of course comfortable. Really a surprising beautifull experience. The location of the hotel is a little hidden (silent) but convenient enough to walk to the Metro and explore the city. The reception was very helpfull and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is nicely located in one of the Hutong areas of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Happy Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not a big thing, but I was not too impressed with the breakfast. There is a big enough variety, but it is certainly easier to find something if you like Chinese style breakfast.

    The hotel is nicely located in one of the Hutong areas of Beijing. The MTR station is in walking distance. The staff is super nice and helpful. The decor is all we tourists might expect of a typical Chinese place ;-) I found the decor really cute, but maybe sometimes there was a little much of it. Still it is a really great place for some beautiful pictures and of course also for a stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much. 80 Yuan for a pot of tea is outrageous though.

    Firstly don't be put off by the roads leading up to the hotel. We thought the cab had made a mistake. An oasis of a place close to the Forbidden City (a couple of metro stops). It's a Tardis of a place (you need to be British to get that) and very decorative and interesting. Our room was small but very cosy with a curtained of bed. Dead cute. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    A great way to experience Old Beijing - if you want a Western-style hotel, this is not for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Wedding Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been more English language TV channels and more comfortable furniture

    Loved the hutong atmosphere, the friendliness of the staff and the breakfasts

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel with traditional feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff found it difficult to call a taxi but I had no trouble getting a taxi back. Because of a mobility problem I found it difficult to get restaurants within my walking ability. There isnt much around the hotel but you can have drinks from 4pm and dinner from 6pm at the hotel.

    Loved everything. Excellent, friendly, helpful staff. Given free upgrade to wedding suite which had 2 rooms, was very traditional and warm. Individually controlled cooling and heating in the room and a big bed, so had a great sleep. Excellent buffet breakfast with a lot of variety including Chinese dumplings and veggies. Very good to experience staying in a hutong.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.8
    Staff were VERY friendly/helpful, especially th esupport...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Wedding Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was somehow a nice chinese facility, but i didnt see it as a 4 star hotel - more like a "4 star" B&B

    Staff were VERY friendly/helpful, especially th esupport from the better english speaking staff was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Location in hutong was fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Happy Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was OK. Dinner that we paid for was much better!

    Location in hutong was fabulous! Decor and courtyard were authentic. Super comfy beds and comforters! Love the English channels on TV, especially the movies on repeat. I think my son watched Paddington Bear every day. Stuff for super helpful and accommodating. We dinner once at the hotel [and watched Paddington Bear in the bar] and dinner was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Staff very very nice and always extremely helpful!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Wedding Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff very very nice and always extremely helpful! good and very rich breakfast. Wonderful room! very clean and perfect position for moving around Beijing centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    A wonderful Chinese experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Wedding Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We visited for my wife’s birthday and we could not be happier. The staff were excellent (even gave my wife a birthday present), the room was beautiful and the location was very convenient. Will definitely return again when in Beijing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    The staff was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's difficult to get to, but not so much that a taxi or private driver couldn't pick you up with some careful maneuvers. It was still quickest for me to walk to the end of the street to catch a ride, but this added to the charm and helped reduce the outside noise.

    The staff was outstanding. Everyone was very helpful and spoke perfect English. The design of the place was very quaint. The asthetic definitely helps sell the more traditional Chinese look as opposed to the ultra modern hotels one may normally expect at this quality.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Magnificent! I can think of no better place to relax while in Beijing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    You guys rock, everything was perfect! Thank you!

    What can I say...We loved everything!! The hotel is simply priceless located in the a character filled Hutong. The Hotel is gorgeous, just oozing with character. The staff here are absolutely amazing, so helpful, answer any silly question we had. The room was fantastic, we even got upgraded during our last two days to the honeymoon suite, which blew us away. Breakfast was fabulous. I will stay in no other place when I come to Beijing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    We loved how traditional this hotel was, the Chinese decor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved how traditional this hotel was, the Chinese decor throughout is beautiful. We got a free upgrade upon check in and our room was stunning! Housekeeping was great and very thorough! The staff were really helpful and offer an excellent tour to the Great Wall (Mutainyu) which we really enjoyed and was good value for money. Good location with Dongsi metro station just a 10 minute walk away. Breakfast was good - lots of options. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    So glad to have stayed at Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a stale smell. It would be good to have it air out.

    Great experience staying in the Hutong area! The design and decor of the hotel took one back to ancient China. The staff are friendly and helpful, doing their best. Recommend it to anyone who wants a cultural experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    A delightful hotel to spend a few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were delighted with the staff and facilities. Like any old building, there are small details that need maintenance, but none that deserve a negative comment.

    The hotel is a traditional Chinese hutong style building in an area set aside for preservation. The room was a delight and very comfortable. The staff were very attentive and caring. The included breakfast was to a reasonable standard, with plenty of variety of food. Although the hotel couldn't be much closer to the city centre, our taxi driver had to borrow my phone with google maps for the final approach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful Little Area & Charming Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed to stay in a very traditional hotel in the Hutong area and away from the busy city centre. Subway just under 10 min walk away. Front desk organised my Great Wall tour which l was very happy with and have a nice bar to relax in after a busy day

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    A place to make you smile
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Wedding Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing that wd did not like at the hotel.

    The hotel is amazing. Pretty courtyards, beautiful rooms. The staff are the most helpfull we have ever encountered. All the staff speak english and nothing is too much trouble, from giving simple directions to booking taxis and day trips. We had an early checkout so they offerd to prepare a breakfast for us to take. The hotel is central to most sights with a subway just around the corner. We will be staying in this hotel again. We would recomend this hotel to anyone. We give this hotel a 10 out of 10

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    It's a very picturesque old Hutong style hotel, with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not a criticism really, but I think air purifiers for the room would be a good addition, especially on polluted days.

    It's a very picturesque old Hutong style hotel, with trinkets and nicknacks everywhere, a cool couple's swing and an open courtyard. Central heating in room keeps everything cosy. They also have mynah birds that say "ni hao". Staff are also very lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with a nice Chinese feel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much negative to report from our visit

    Lovely hotel with a great Chinese feel. Comfortable and warm during our visit when outside temperatures were down to -11. Staff had good English. Location is very central and it's easy to get to all the major sites. Some great eating places nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    A real Chinese experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ——

    Fantastic location (at the very beginning not super easy to find though) at few steps from the metro and well located to the main attractions in an area full of restaurants. The place is the typical Chinese house in the Hutong. Very clean, great breakfast. Warm staff, super helpful with suggestions, hints, tour to the Graat Wall, and very helpful in organising transfer to the airport with a truestworhy driver (with taxameter!!!) . Staff speak a perfect English, a very welcome rarity in China. Best place in my stay around China.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous stay. To repeat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Happy Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was great. Stay a pleasure

    The staff is wonderful and we especially want to thank Indi, our son took a wonderful memory of her. The breakfast buffet is perfect, East and West. Attention on the organization of the trips is super. The family room was very nice and big. Very comfortable and warm, rather thank taking into account the outside temperature. If we return to Beijing we will book again with them.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Only here for 2 nights, wished we could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel bar was extortionate. ¥30 for 1 beer (same as London prices) when it was ¥10 for the same bottled beer in the mini bar in the rooms

    The wide selection at breakfast The traditional decoration of the whole hotel Rooms were lovely and clean, shower was great and the water always hot Friendly reception staff Luggage storage Arranged trip of the Great Wall

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    Outstanding staff, modern amenities, classy “old China” context.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Happy Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some taxis didn’t want to drive us down the hutong streets, (but that would likely be true of any hutong hotel.)

    Loved stepping back in time with fresh, clean, modern amenities. The climate controls, shower and toilet, pillows, mattress and fluffy down comforters were totally modern, set in a context of classy antiques and an “old China” neighborhood. Best of both worlds. The staff - beyond outstanding! Excellent interpersonal and English skills and sensitive attention to anticipating and assisting every traveler need and pampering guests. Great variety in the breakfast buffet - taking into consideration every palate from traditional Chinese choices to Continental. Would love to go back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely courtyard hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Value - Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely courtyard hotel in an interesting area only 10 minute walk to Dongsi subway. Staff spoke great English and very helpful and friendly. The breakfast catered for all tastes Asian and European. The room was comfortable, good bathroom, we were there in winter and the heating was very efficient. Great place to stay, highly recommend it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    A little gem that offers a wonderful experience of the chinese way of life
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast was tasty and varied, but many hot dishes were served almost cold.

    This is a beautiful hotel inside a hutong in Beijing. Very clean, safe, and located in a very convenient neighborhood, with plenty of restaurants and a supermarket nearby.There is a metro station within walking distance, and you can book tours to the Great Wall and other attractions with the staff. The girls at the front desk and the bar are very kind and professional. I was traveling with my mother, who is a senior lady, and she was really delighted with the treatment we received. We stayed in room no.58. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay, and I would surely return some day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    An amazing atmospheric Hutong style hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Happy Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An amazing atmospheric Hutong style hotel. Beautiful large spacious rooms, hearty breakfasts, very friendly English speaking staff. Walking distance to restaurants and Beijing Metro Station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Overall, a really clean and pleasant stay. Service was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We traveled in mid December. The breakfast was really good, but I recommend they find a way to warm the plates so that food does not go cold so quickly. Small point, but would be nice touch.

    The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They assisted me with any request I had. We found access to subway easy. If, however, you cannot walk approximately a half mile to facilities, then this may not be good location for you. Worked great for us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    From the beginning, Xiao Niu and Louise gave us an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chinese-style Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the twin room, the bed next to the window was very cold. There also weren't any slippers to wear around the room.

    From the beginning, Xiao Niu and Louise gave us an incredibly warm welcome. It was well-done and beautiful. Every recommendation that they gave us for food was outstanding, along with their advice on what to see and what to do. They gave us the contact information for activities not typically associated with the hotel when we asked and were all-in-all hospitable, kind and welcoming. We will definitely come again. Also, the breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Lovely friendly traditional courtyard hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Happy Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good

    Amazing friendly staff. Great traditional courtyard hotel with Chinese furniture. Very comfortable. Pretty good buffet breakfast. Coffee average but that’s he same everywhere in Beijing. I loved this hotel and would stay again. Staff were eager to help with everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Beijing Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: