Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Beijing Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House

No.8, An Ping Alley, Zhao Deng Yu Road, Xicheng District., Xicheng, 100043 Beijing, China

#6 of 51 B&Bs and Inns in Beijing

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 172 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared bunk room . Doors didn’t shut, woke up in the night the door was wide open .

    It’s was close to metro and being in a hutlong was great . Nice and safe .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall is an average level to me. Not really feel hospitality within the property since checkin and every single time we got back to hostel.(compare to others hostel I stayed before) Further, It makes me feel uncomfortable when Male staff stared at us during we walked by.

    close to historic attractions. Nice rooftop balcony. Staff(female )is willing to give a hand after we ask. It’s good value for limited budget traveler.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6 Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't have a good service... 1- Lockers needed to be fixed. 2- When washing clothes, the receptionist put very little washing powder, in the end the clothes were still dirty yet paid 20 yuan. 3- When asked about places to go, I was given the wrong directions which is not good at all.

    Inside bathrooms are good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in the hutong, so you can feel the real essence of the traditional chinese life. Rooms are confortable so as the bathroom. Everything is clean and the staff is helpfull (thank you Simon!!!). I would recommend this hotel very much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no towel was provided, room was a little bit like an additional storage room with linens and big fridge in there. A little bit away from subway, without speaking chinese, busses are no option, so you need to walk some time.

    Very nice people at the reception, they provide green tea for free and you can always ask them about Beijing and get really good tipps. The shower was nice and hot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had the family room with own bathroom. unfortunately the toilet is broken so we had sewage smell and had to use outside toilet

    Staff was extremely helpful and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating system in my room(single bedroom)is not really well. They open the heating system during specific time.

    The staffs are really nice. if you want you experience the really Hutong lifestyle, you should book this hostel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6 Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner of the hostel was really kind, he changed my room to the smaller one and without people at no additional price, so the whole room with a private bathroom was only for me:) There is also a kettle in case you want to have a cup of tea or coffee. The staff was really friendly and helpful. I would stay here one more time for sure:)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful, but very simple guest house with very friendly staff. Really interesting location that allows you to be immersed in the 'real Beijing'. The staff and guests did a lot to help manage my travel despite my lack of Mandarin language skills.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure you have the address written down in Chinese if you plan to return by taxi. And be prepared to negotiate with more than one taxi driver in Beijing!

    In a great location, we loved the local cheap eats down the street. Staff friendly and helpful. Beds clean and comfortable. Well priced budget accommodation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower curtains, are old and dirty but I am sure that this will be sorted out soon

    The staff at this guest house are what make this property of the best places to stay in Beijing. They are professional, very helpful and they speak perfect English. The location is also great and the rooms are clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was okay in overall, but I'd appreciate if it had a cover so I wouldn't make the whole room wet when I was taking a shower.

    The hostel is amazingly colourful and it constantly reminds you that you're in China. The room was quite big, then bed nice and clean, and the air condition worked without problems.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hostel itself is nice, but our 4 beds room was a little bit small. We didn't do the guided tours because they were expensive.

    The staff was really great, helpful and friendly. The hostel location is fantastic, in the middle of hutongs, were you can eat cheap food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelt musty. I think this was because the shower curtain was very moldy and needed replacing. The Guest House was further from the Forbidden Palace that I had thought when I booked.

    Room was comfortable and very suitable for family with two children. We enjoyed the rooftop seating area. The guest house was quaint and quiet at night and the area safe to walk around. The staff were lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very convenient with public transport. The staffs don't really know about the price of tour package and drink they have. First day they charge me 10 for a bottle of water, second day they want to charge me 13 for the same bottle of water. And charge me 20 just for a coffee powder, and I need to make coffee by my own.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's lovely to stay in one of these Yuan dynasty built houses or 四和院. The hutongs are also lovely to stay in if you prefer living in more traditional, less high-rise hotel type accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is in the Hutong but a long walk from the subway, over 15 min. It's quite local and not the "tourist" experience many have in mind. Room was very small, typical uncomfortable Chinese beds.

    Staff was very friendly, helpful - booked a driver to the airport. Spoke decent English. Good value for the money, but wouldn't stay here again due to the location. Room was clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    all seemed to be ok...honestly

    what makes a perfect stay? is it the bed, clean room, great sunroof views, nice dog and funny cat? kind of, but getting rating of 10 here takes more than that - and that's people like those folks in Templeside - people who give great information, help your stay, make you feel comfortable! the manager of the place really takes care of the guests, the girl who is his assistant is extremely helpful and creates great homey atmosphere and the rest of the team is helpful as well. I've been to other sites there, but never felt as good! besides here you can find the feel of the last historical hutong surroundings with typical cuisine and food stalls, while in some other parts of Beijing they're alredy redecorated with churros, subways and western junk...so my advice - do not hesitate, pick this place, grab a "7" craft beer from their fridge and enjoy your stay! two subway stations are 10 mins away and getting here from the airport is easy peasy - a cheap taxi (remember to grab one in the official stand!) or the subway.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It advertised that breakfast was included, which is wasn't. It's a decent walk to the subway (10-15 minutes), and it's not the easiest to find the first time. The day staff were quite unfriendly.

    The night staff lady was FABULOUS. If you head further down the alley in the morning there's lots of little breakfast stands. My husband felt the room was nice and cozy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -having a hard time to find this guesthouse 'cause name is different on what it's posted online (it's Templeside Youth Hostel) -far from everything - surrounding's not clean, mosquitoes a lot, dusts everywhere.

    the staff will understand English. just to try what 'hutong' look a like, one night is enough

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a walk from the subway. Needs a bit of maintenance all round.

    Nice all round. Nothing exceptional, but pretty decent and an ok location in hutong. Local food places nearby.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 23 nights

    There is no kitchen, but eating in beijin is really cheap so it's ok

    - "small" rooms (4 pers) with our own bathroom, it's awesome especially if you stay for a long time (2 weeks for me) - the location: leaving in the hutong (old streets),was a great experience - the place is lovely, staff is nice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12 bed Mix Dormitory
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Washroom facilities could be better and more spacious.

    It's a right place for backpackers who want to experience vibes of Beijing's old hutong districts. The staff was friendly and willing to help in all situations.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12 bed Mix Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really small bathroom, hard bed

    Sleeping in an hutong house was nice, noce backyard and being togeather with students who actually live there, Relatively close to west railway station

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12 bed Mix Dormitory
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is difficult to find guesthouse..

    Staff is so kind!! I like that family. When it is strong rainning, she borrow rain coat.. I had good trip thanks to her. And guesthouse is tranditional and so beautiful! I want to go this geusthouse when will visit in beiging.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nice Hutong house, quiet, a lot of international backpackers and a super friendly staff! They helped us a lot with informations and wrote important things in chinese letters on a paper. Area is really authentic, small hutong streets with a lot of street food. Real China feeling! Beijing was overwhelming, but at Templeside we felt like home

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 12 bed Mix Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were awesome. We returned to the hotel 6 hours after our scheduled check-out (we'd been camping at the Wall the night before and booked another night just in case it all went pear-shaped) and asked if we could a) leave our bags there for the rest of the day and b) take a shower. Not only did they happily agree to both, they brought us some free watermelon! Don't be put off by the slightly scruffy Hutong leading up to the hostel itself. It's all part of the authentic Beijing experience, and the hostel itself is pretty clean. Cool place to chill on the roof too.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very loud. and this purely from the staff and guests.

    the courtyard is nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The address on booking is not detailed enough. So I had probs trying to find it.

    interior with taste, perfect location and nice stuff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great!

    Staff were so welcoming and had such great English skills. Location was easy to navigate to and from

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good value for money may be i booked at last minute.

    Staff was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good value for mine

    Staff was good and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to go outside in the cold to go to the bathroom.

    The location and hospitality of the staff make this place what it is!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dry air in rooms, very uncomfortable sleep because of that, lock in restroom didn't work.

    Helpful staff, quite cheap.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff support,Less expensive and helped to plan for the trips within Beijing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very cosy place in a cosy neighborhood。And very friendly staff!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6 Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was very good, very good and smart staff who speaks perfect in English. I feel very comfortable during my stay in Beijing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6 Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful and friendly staff. Clean hostel. Comfortable dorm bed, not far from Tiananmen Sq. Affordable for Beijing prices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing was bad about it.

    Everything was wonderful. The sunny courtyard, nice places to sit, rooftop balcony, rooms were good, people nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    was a bit noisy

    hospitality and service were great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People are very friendly & helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A bit far from subway, but there`s a bus stop nearby.

    Very nice and helpful staff, interesting building, good wi-fi, clean and comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location near to Ping An'li subway station. Very nice Hutong environment.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dust under bed

    The beds were very clean and comfy Shower was hot and strong A very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is nice but gave us some misleading information (so so english). Metro is a bit far.

    Typical house in hutong neighborhood

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We can recommend it! Personal, place, ... everything is fine :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes noisy but if you use earplugs its not much of a concern

    Great location in the hutongs! Nice atmosphere and nice room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12 bed Mix Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Authentic building to live the hutong experience with some correlated but negligible discomfort , nice quiet area, excellent English level of the friendly helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Even the family room with 3 beds one being a double was very small and it got very frustrating to move around when three of us had suitcases. Definitely not a room for people who need their own space. The alley way leading to the hostel is quite confusing and the subway stations are at least a good 10-15 minute walk which is not convenient if you need to move suitcases around.

    The beds were quite comfy and the en-suite was satisfactory. Security while looked lacking was good and definitely seems a good place to meet other travelers if you're the social type. The staff also seemed very friendly and interacted with guests well. Definitely good value as well. Has a 24 hour corner shop only 5 minutes away so if you need a few snacks it's definitely well situated

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Little bit smelly waste. Breakfest is relatively simple (fruit., sandwich with Bacon and egg and tea)., but at very nice courtyard, only basic english on reception. But all negatives are small And we were Very satisfied

    It is clean hostel with pleasant atmosphere and suprisingly good bathroom Near metro station (linie 2 fuchengen) which is important for an airport transport and Great Wall trip. In a hutong area.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bunk rooms/dormitories looked very cramped and basic. Glad I chose a private room!

    I had a private room with lovely modern bathroom, location is quiet and 10 minutes walk to the metro station at Xisi, so not totally central but overall quite good. Get to know the local buses - there's some useful routes on the main road. The Hutong is quiet and some local shops as well as 7/11s and it was easy to find since the main road outside is quite distinctive on the map. There's s cool little rooftop with a small glass walled common room. Wifi OK but slow for western sites - I guess this is a country wide problem and not specific to this hostel. When I booked I asked by email if I could use the address to deliver a railway ticket - instant reply in good English and whe I checked in the ticket was delivered to my room within 5 minutes - that's good service!

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is rather hard to get there especially for people who go to the China for the first time. If you can speak a little bit of Chinese, it is ok to tell the taxi driver to get there.But if you don't , try to catch the train. Be aware there is no train in the midnight! I think surroundings are secure. Coz the district is ordinary residential area.

    All the stuffs are very kind!! In the HuTong, old houses we enjoyed a lot for nostalgic atmosphere. It was cozy and there are two cats, black and white.They are so cute too.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    spacious room and bathroom in traditional building Friendly staff and good atmosphere Local market nearby where you can get everything you need Great place to stay n explore Beijing Well connected by public transport

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lack of information from stafs concerning local tips Some information from them were wrong

    Very located, close to city center. Hostel clean Roof with sofa confortable

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was wary about was not having a key to the room and with no lockers wasn't sure if it'd be okay to leave valuables behind (I didn't). Also, a CNY 100 returnable deposit is required but not mentioned prior to arrival. The Check-in time is specified as 9 in the morning - I got to the hostel a few minutes before noon but the bed wasn't ready yet (though not a big deal for me, thought I'd mention it to be thorough). There was some issues with the heater / air con when I arrived, likewise with the outlet, but they were fixed within a few hours.

    The location is very good - Line 2 of the Metro (and the one that gets you to most tourist attractions) is a 10-15 minute walk from the hostel. Everyone was very nice and the communication beforehand was great as well (I had questions about payment). Loved the friendly atmosphere at the hostel and the courtyard. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean (cleaned every day too). As a pet lover, I also really liked the few cats and dogs that were roaming around the courtyard. Great place!

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No lockers to put your belongings. Mattresses were hard and bunk bed corners very sharp (wood 'unfinished'). Staff speaks basic level English (one girl exception to this). No key was given to the room, every time the door opening had to be asked from the reception. Room (dorm) did not have good light, and no reading lights in the beds. Room was too tight, no space for four persons belongings.

    Good enough location. Staff helpful despite the language barriers. Good bathroom in the room and a/c was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very quiete place but a bit remote from all main attractions and a good 15' walk to closest subway. Younger summer staff if not always accuate in info they provide so make sure to talk to the most efficient person

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked everything

    Staff, especially the owner Ryan, was very cool, helped us a lot.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and kind staff,

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    i really like the dumpling party!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location was great! An awesome place to stay in the middle of Beijing!!

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    bathroom has bad smell, but it was in Hutong so I understand that.

    Nice area, calm place, spacious bed, clean room

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Really friendly and helpful staff Great free dumpling lessons Can use fridge Comfy beds with duvets Kettle in room

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Picturesque hutong. 5 min walk to metro which fuchengmen :)

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No extra bed is available however the website stated that service.

    There are bikes for rent

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    very low possebility to sit outside

    nice hostel in heart of city

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For young punky travellers who do not mind all kind of colours and crazy ´street art´ but comfi design.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: