Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Beijing Zhong An Hotel

No. 6, Kuijiachang Hutong, Beijing Train Station East Avenue, Dongcheng, 100005 Beijing, China

#182 of 594 hotels in Beijing

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 541 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    2.9
    Horrible location down several alleyways and overdue for rennovations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The photos of the hotel look nothing like the actual hotel. The hotel is impossible to drive a car to because it is located down several alleyways. I was EXTREMELY dissappointmented with the quality of the hotel and the pillows were like ROCKS! Aweful experience!

    NOTHING!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    The staff could talk in english and was really helpful all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little difficult to find the accommodation and the neightbourhood not the best.

    The staff could talk in english and was really helpful all the time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Just the job - nothing special, but perfectly good enough as a Beijing base for a few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much - our room backed straight onto the railway line, but the double glazing was pretty effective and the trains seemed to stop overnight.

    Well priced, central Beijing accommodation. Easy striking distance to anywhere via the handy metro station. Clean, tidy, comfortable if rather small room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Good value basic budget hotel in a good location for public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee at breakfast was dreadful! (Only available with added sugar and milk.) However, Pacific Coffee just round the corner made a nice coffee, for a price. I stayed there twice - the first time, water from my hand basin found its way to the bathroom floor... (the second room was fine).

    There is a private courtyard where you can sit in the sun or shade, as you choose. The hotel is very close to Beijing Railway Station and the Airport Shuttle Bus. Breakfast and other meals in the attached restaurant were good value. They let you use the washing machine for 20 RMB (you need to buy a token at reception and the machine is out the back).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    It had everything we needed and was close to the metro and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area was not nice, the breakfast was average not catered for westerners, We couldn't find cheaper in Beijing for the price, as it is not cheap.

    It had everything we needed and was close to the metro and speed train.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Perfect Hotel for short stay in Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our pillows were really hard and not suitable to sleep in. Additionally, the bathroom could have been cleaner.

    The location is perfect if you're keen to travel around Beijing, almost a 5/10 minute walk to the station. We also received water bottles everyday which was great to cope with the summer heat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.4
    Staff was very nice and friendly
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    LOCATION. Don’t stay here unless you know how to order taxi by didi apps. The room and bathroom was very small, no resto around. The hotel is located in the middle of a small village. Far away from subway station. Not a good place to stay during summer.

    Staff was very nice and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Beijing attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super tiny room with stained walls and smell of the cigarettes...plus extra: one massive cockroach

    Location,close to metro, buses and trains. Rooms and the hallway was cleaned.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They were very helpful at the reception. They called a taxi. There was a theater ticket to the hotel. Room amenities were great: tea maker, mineral water, toothbrush, toothpaste, slippers, towel, air conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.0
    This is my third time staying and last.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are dishonest, I booked suite with two rooms and was pre-charged with credit card. When I checked in, they told me there's no suite available, gave us two small rooms instead.

    The beds are too hard, hot water is slow and not hot enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very helpful, the hotel was true to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is kind of in the back streets, not a real problem unless you dont like walking. You get to experience authentic Beijing. I would probably spend a little extra on accomodation next time i visit China.

    The staff were very helpful, the hotel was true to description. Overall the actual accomodation was fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    very relaxing and cosy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 19 nights

    The staff were very friendly, even though we have a language barrier, the try the utmost to help us. very quiet , very good sound isolation. very near to the train station. has some extra services that help you even if don't manage to get around. HAs a restaurant with very good food. Breakfast is mostly chinese, but with very good food (try chinese breakfast)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Everything was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good. Staff friendly and helpful. Arriving at 1am to the hotel The trip was scary down dark streets and alleys, Good to have the 24 hour desk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    It was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of hotel is near the Beijing Railway Station. But the way there (small streets) was under construction so it was dusty and noisy. Also, upon check-in we can smell smoke/cigarette though we booked a non-smoking room.

    Daily housekeeping. Comfortable beds. Daily refreshment avail (water)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Simple and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionists have limited English abilities though.

    Great location, close to the Beijing Zhan Train Station. Very convenient if you have an early morning train the next day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.1
    Reasonable compared to other places in Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old. You can tell by the old walls and interior. At first the smell in the room was really odd. Like an antique shop. It became better after using the air refresher in the room.

    Staff speaks English barely, but they are friendly enough to try and help you nevertheless. Beds get made everyday and new towels and mineral water are supplied. Price is high for what you get, but good compared to other places in Beijing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Quite good for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The narrow and untidy lanes called Hutong do not looked presentable but this is the old image of Beijing.

    Short walking distance from the train station Beijing Train Station.. Also thr airport shuttle bus terminal is just as near to the hotel. Convenient to catch subway trains and public buses.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant service and location!
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More selection at breakfast would be preferable but still good for the price.

    Excellent quality of customer service and clear attention to detail with cleaning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.2
    Bad. Everybody trying to cheating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room and bathroom were too small and always wet, and smells cigarettes, at no smoke area. The staff not helpful, and rude. The location is so so.Everybody trying to cheating.

    nothing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Good price value for a few days long stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was ok

    The hotel is conveniently located next to the main railway station and the subway - just few subway stations from the airport express. My room was like on the pictures - it was clean, quiet and spacious. Complementary bottled water and toiletries were given for every day. The breakfasts were on an acceptable level - Chinese style dishes. The staff was helpful and spoke English - they offered local trips for a resonable price. Wifi was ok. The hotel can be recommended for a stay up to a week for a person looking for good price vaule. Note this is not a 4 or 5 star hotel and do not expect 4 or 5 star level.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    Stay at Zhongan hotel beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    access to the hotel is inconvenient. Had to to walk about 200 m from the main road. Staff was helpful but can't understand english at all.

    Room was clean and well arranged.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.7
    No complaints for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and with trains passing all the time it was necessary to keep the window closed. But at least it did have a window!

    Miss Shen, the tour adviser, was the most friendly, helpful person we met in this capacity. She went out of the way to help us in anything she could.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Good quality for price, basic but convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location in a small alley would perhaps have felt uncomfortable had I not arrived in the day. After having walked from the station once, I felt okay walking also in the evening.

    The location was great, especially since I arrived to the train station which is just a few minutes away by foot. The room was basic but tidy and quiet. The courtyard was cute. Convenient with a restaurant in the same building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Very accommodating staff, despite the language barrier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities (laundry) were minimal, no elevators, and rooms were a tad small for the price (but very clean and well kept)

    Very accommodating staff, despite the language barrier. A modest inn, on a backstreet hutong, very centrally located, not far from a subway line, the central Beijing train station, a 10 minute walk from the Ming dynasty watchtower, and équidistant from Tiananmen and the Forbidden City to the west and the business district to the east

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Convenient and affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down. Dirty walls inside the room( just give it a paint job). The shower water was luke warm and there was a strange smell from the toilet ( perhaps a poor plumbing system). The room was clean though.

    Convenient venue. Less than 10 min walk to Beijing Railway Station. Many attractions are just a train ride away. The staff could speak English and were quite helpful and the tour Miss Chen offered was great and not too pricey.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    I was given a room on over-looking the small lane - very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was given a room on over-looking the small lane - very noisy! Should you decide to stay at this rather nice hotel I would advise not to take a room on the street/lane side of building 2. The inside rooms of that building would be fine as they face into the courtyard. If you like nose - go lane side!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    The location near the Beijing station makes the hotel a good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Afrer having booking.com confirmation,i have been informed that the hotel didnt confirm my reservation,due to something wrong with my visa card..i double checked and insisted that it was ok,and finally the hotel confirmed my reservation for 18-22 april , but not four the last couple of days (27-29 april)for which i have previous requested a reservation..As no answer was given,i had to book the last 2 days in beijing in to onother hotel. About the breakfast,i tried once and found it very poor and expensive for what they offer.

    Location near the Beijing railway station and underground station.There is a line of shuttle bus from the airport which ends at the railway station,very near to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Good budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facilities and general decor in the room were tired and dated. Unlike the courtyard which was bright and airy. Would not recommend the breakfast.

    Great location with friendly staff and a comfortable bed. Lovely central courtyard to socialise in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.4
    Good location, basic standards for those who don't ask for much, quite dirty, though...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel would not be bad if it wasn't for the cleanliness. Dirty walls, dirty bathrooms, and old dingy curtains influenced my decision to give the hotel low notes. Work on the basic things like clean walls, and fresh curtains and it will be better. Also the restaurant with breakfasts, visitors do not go there, for around 30 RMB you get crappy food, warm juice, coffee that looks like cocoa, and old toast, choose McDonald's nearby, at least you know what you are paying for.

    The backyard, where you can go out and have a smoke or a beer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    The place sufficed and it was cheap but I doubt I would stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smelled like an ashtray and I was worried there might be cockroaches. The bed was clean but the rest of the room was just older and kind of grimy. Thankfully there were slippers (kind of small for my small feet though) to wear and I definitely wore them. There was black mold in the caulking of the shower. Not too much selection for breakfast. Adequate.

    The staff were excellent and very friendly. They could speak enough English to help me get a cab, direct me to the train station and take care of my needs (needed toilet paper, etc.). The bed was comfortable. The free wifi was also very fast. Even with my VPN active, got great speeds. Could even watch ESPN on my phone later in the evening when traffic slowed down.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    we like it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the rooms near ours could be heard easily. Visitors were giving a call and chatting, voice could be heard easily.

    I like the clean room and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Just fine for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No escalator and lift. The sound proof is really bad, you can clearly hear what’s next room doing..

    The hotel is around 10 minutes walking distance from Beijing railway / subway station. Bus stops are just nearby too. Next to a police station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location. Good value for money. Service not that great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn't speak much English. Laundry facilities were not available and staff said no laundry nearby. It was a problem as we stayed in the hotel for 6 nights.

    They allowed us check in at 9am. Which was great after 24 hours flights. Location was excellent. Close to Beijing railway metro. Good on site restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.3
    Beijing in Spring
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t very clean and we could smell cigarette smoke from other rooms.

    The location, close to Tiananmen Square. Breakfast was good, variety of Chinese dishes. Staff were lovely, helpful with reasonable English.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.3
    Location OK because it’s close to metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds have very thin matresses or none at all, common in China but for westerners it can be uncomfortable. The trains pass close to the hotel so it’s very noisy when they pass.

    Location OK because it’s close to metro. Decent hotel for a fair price. Staff is good and helpful, and there is a tour agency on site.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.4
    Good average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room wasn't ready when i arrived and on top i had to pay extra or 3-4 hours for the room i booked to be ready.

    The location was good and close to subway

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel, clean and safe and close to the train station or metro.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very clean and quiet hotel, at a very affordable price. Also, it is situated in a beautiful building with historical significance. A nice accommodation option indeed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is not too far from the metro station, therefore...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is no elevator. Busy railway tracks behind the hotel.

    The hotel is not too far from the metro station, therefore it is easy to reach the tourist sights. The location is in a hutong, it is not always easy to access by a car. The restaurant in the hotel is good and cheap, and more similar restaurants nearby. The room was very well cleaned up every day, although it was not in a brand new condition.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.3
    Just a place to crash for one night after a long train ride
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No English news channels. Weak WiFi. And, I'm not exaggerating when I say the bed was just slightly softer than a wooden table -- making it absolutely the hardest bed I've ever slept on. Also, I felt this was slightly overpriced given the condition of the premises.

    This is one economy hotel that actually accepts credit cards. It's very close to the train station, and if you have access to Google Maps on your phone, it's quite easy to find. So, if you're exhausted after a long train ride, this is a good option for one night. (Then I would move to another hotel in the morning.) The breakfast was quite decent and reasonably priced. Since it's a Chinese breakfast, it's more like lunch. (However, I didn't see any cold drinks.) Although the train tracks were right outside my window, the room was sound-proofed well enough to sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Impressed with early check-in 8AM for free
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor soundproof A bit hard to locate at first but signage available along the alley

    Impressed with early check-in 8AM for free Free baggage drop after check-out Room was clean Affordable breakfast at CNY$28 per person Speedy check-in and check-out Free hot tea at the lobby Good security Quiet location near to the railway station Nice reception and housekeeper

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    5.8
    Near the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Although it's near the Beijing Railway Station, the area is a bit chaotic for us.

    Near the station. Central location, just a few stations away from almost everything we needed to go to.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.1
    Convenient for transiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No door to the toilet - a bit weird. You'd want to be close with the person you're sharing the room with.

    10 minute walk from the metro and train station. Good for transit. We had to leave early the next morning so they packed us a simple breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    5.8
    Centrally located and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Smoke smoke and more smoking - this was a total let down and would not recommend this hotel for the plane and simple reason that customers can smoke wherever and wherever they please without consideration of anyone. Hotel management and staff turn a blind eye to this.

    Good food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.7
    1. Staff at reception were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1Poor sound proof , very noisy from neighbors and Corridors. 2. The toilet has no door in the room.

    1. Staff at reception were nice. Cleaners were kind. The security guy were helpful and helped us with storing luggage . 2. Free store luggage. 3. Perfect location. Easy to access the bus to airport, buses and Beijing station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.5
    Ok for 1 or 2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs to be renovated : It’s clean, but looks not so good. The bed was at a corner of the room, and not in the “middle”.

    The location : 5 min away Beijing’s train station. The mattress was not too hard (chinese hotels are often featured with really hard beds).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    6.3
    breakfast was good, you can try a lot of local traditinal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small rooms, but for couple of days you can survive it.

    breakfast was good, you can try a lot of local traditinal dishes.... wifi signal was OK, friendly staf on recepction... You can get there easily from airport by bus 3 or via tube (but couple of transfers between trains needed, there is no direct line from airport close to hotel so bus is better)... when you reach Beijing Railway station, make sure you watch on Youtube first video of one Austrian dude who recorded on video how to get to hotel, its short walk (500m) but many turns in small confusing streets so u better watch it first :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    6.7
    OK for one night if you need an inexpensive place in central Beijing, but nothing to write home abt
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattresses are very hard, room smelled of smoke, and had a somewhat worn and slightly seedy feel to it.

    Location is great--close to the Central Railway Station metro. And a police station so you feel extra safe...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    Good clean place to stay, especially for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location, while close to a metro station, was not a very interesting part of town.

    The location was a 10-minute walk from a metro station. Now that there are share bikes everywhere, it is only a few-minute bike-ride to a metro station. The staff were very attentive, and kept the place clean. I also like that I could do my laundry for 20 RMB by asking at the front desk.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    On day 2 we considered going back to Shanghai.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs retile, lazy chalk job. Ventilation fan smelled like sewage. No elevator and they put us in a room on the 4th floor. Whole building smells like cigarettes. Sketchey looking alley that no taxis will take you down was safe but inconvenient.

    Patio area in photos was well done.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel with good relation quality/cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It is not easy to find it from the underground station and the area is inside a "hutong" and looks like not very clean. However, it is very secure with a police station next to the hotel and lightning in the streets. Even is a non-smoking hotel, there were some Chinese guests not respecting it in the common areas.

    The restaurant has the possibility to eat a western breakfast (cereals, toasts, fruit and juices) instead of the traditional Chinese one (noodles, vegetables, meat... ). I had dinner in the restaurant and the food is really good and with big portions. The staff was very helpful: the receptionists could speak English with me and helped me to buy a train ticket. The waitresses did not speak English, but used the translator of their mobile phones to communicate with me. The location is convenient, because if you like walking, the Tian`nanmen square and the Forbidden city are 30 minutes far away. If you prefer the public transport, you can take the underground (5 stops with one change). Also, you can walk till the Heaven's temple. If you are planning to take a train, the Beijing central train station is close to the hotel and can ask the staff to help you purchasing the ticket.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    Good central location at a nice price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For a fairly cheap hotel, this was really good. Only 5 min walk from Beijing Train Station, and quite easy to find. Room has light and airy, and I even had a view down to the train station platforms. Breakfast was adequate, for RMB 28. 95% Chinese food, with some bread as 'western' option. Always had hot water in shower too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Good location budget option near train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift

    Close to main railway station and metro. Swift early morning check in. Room was compact: bed; shower, basin & toilet. Window opened. There was a decent restaurant and a yard to sit and relax. Though the room decor was a little tired, the room was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay and value for money if you need to stay near railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you need to go through rundown houses condition to reach hotel.

    location very near Beijing Railway and MRT station. walking within 5-6 minutes. The hotel setting is nice and full of history, as it was former residence for some writer. Hotel staff are very friendly, smiling service render.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    4.6
    Can stay as last option
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room service. No lift and breakfast was not provided. very poor bathroom. not enough space in room. Room was not same as was in the picture during booking.

    location is good and close to railway station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    The Hotel staff are what makes this hotel, very little...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Hotel staff are what makes this hotel, very little English is spoken ,time and patience is required, try to get a room on the second floor as first floor rooms do not smell very nice ,I asked for my room to be changed ,and was able to do so, I will stay again , thank you

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    een aanrader - will certainly go back again and again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One of our two rooms was tiny - was the "family room" which only meant was that it had 1 bed medium sized for 2 people to sleep on, next to a bed for 1. No other room left in the room. Also do NOT take a room on 1st floor - mold on walls.

    The location is amazing. The "garden square" in the middle of the hotel, next to their restaurant, added so much to our experience! Was tops! Room was VERY clean, bed comfortable. Food very tasty and they made an excellent effort to accomodate my vegan diet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    The location is very good in the heart of a Hutong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very good in the heart of a Hutong. Although most of the staff as it happens all around China,cant speak English, they made an effort. One of the receptionists changed my room when I asked her to because of the noise from the trains.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Very nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was really having difficulties with speaking English and it was therefore difficult to communicate with them.

    The location was absolutely amazing: close to the subways, main streets and railway station. also, it was laying in a very nice hutong area with small streets and no tourists. the breakfast was lovely and lots of choice!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Value for money on budjet hotel near Central Station and subway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only some of the staff talked a little English. No english spoken channel on the TV.

    Very helpful staff. Helped us to change room because of noise from the trains. Rich breakfast, but only chinese meals. A lot of vegetabels. Ms Sheen, travel agent in the hotel, helped us with tickets to Acrobatic and taxi to the airport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location in authentic hutong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Chinese breakfast is a little bit acquired taste but you always find something. Rooms are very small a no space for clothes. In my parent's room, there was a cockroach. The hotel is something for people with smaller requirements, who just want to sleep there and are visiting the city the rest of the time. But for me it was totally sufficient. Do not go there if you are a "luxury-traveler".

    Location of the hotel is perfect (close to sights and public transport). Staff was very kind. Perfect to experience the life in hutongs, because you live in one. To find the way to the hotel, better have gps or watch the video "Zhongan Hotel" by Reisebuchautor Michael Moll on Youtube (that was really helpful!)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.5
    Good value. Would recommend for person wanting a non western living experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The local police station appeared to have seconded a no of rooms but was not really an issue.

    A nice hotel in a unique local non western environment but with a very strong historical significance. Very helpful staff despite any issues re language. Rooms comfortable. Also a nice internal courtyard.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    4.6
    The bed was awfully uncomfortable, the pillow was a beanbag!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was awfully uncomfortable, the pillow was a beanbag! We booked a room for 3 people and was given one for 2 people, it stated that the staff speak English however they don't so when we needed to ask for another pillow as there was 3 of us they didn't understand what we were saying. The general cleanliness of the room just wasn't at an acceptable standard

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.4
    The room smelt of smoke when we arrived at 1am.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt of smoke when we arrived at 1am..we had to have the window open because it was taking my breath..it got better the next day..i asked for an early morning call which didn't happen .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.6
    great location for train station and metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff to speak a little english. a bit hard to find.

    location is very close to the railway station and the metro. lovely hotel and warm. organised my trip to the great wall with ease. great breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.5
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff has difficulties in speaking English which I find inappropriate for a hotel.

    Nice location, close to city center, easy to get to from subway station, but difficult to find, because it is behind other hotels, not on the main street.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    8.8
    Atmosphere and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One room had a smell up the drain.

    Close to station. Hotel with a significant history. Courtyard Location in an old hutong, many cheap eating places used by train staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    9.2
    A Good Price to Stay in an Authentic Hutong
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Trips could be booked from the hotel, but cash only. Be sure to have enough cash on hand if you want to book something. For the Great Wall, it's cheaper and easy enough to get out there yourself, as there are buses that go there daily.

    Really delicious breakfast selection, including vegetarian dishes. Location was right near the train station and a lot of tourist sites. The hotel is in a hutong, not on the main street, so if you want precise directions, I recommend looking at the 'Midnight in Peking' audio tour posted online. The hotel is the site where journalists Edgar and Helen Foster Snow lived, and the street was formerly known as 'Armour Factory Alley'. If you arrive with directions, it's really easy to find.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    8.3
    Liked the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose this hotel thanks to its proximity to the Beijing Railway Station. Although it's near the railway, it's a bit hidden, so have a detailed map. The room was nice and clean. The buffet breakfast offers a wide variety of tasty food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.1
    - Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    - The wifi connection was rather poor

    - Good location - Cheap restaurant with genuine chinese meals - The room was well cleaned everyday - The staff was helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.5
    Great location, clean room, decent private bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no hot water in the shower. Toilet paper felt like sand paper. Even though we got a triple room, we were offered just 2 bicycles, so we couldn't use the service.

    Great location, bus/metro/airport shuttle 2 min away on foot. Rooms were clean, and towels changed daily. Staff was friendly, though they didn't speak much English. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    4.6
    Not recommend for family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too chaotic as near central train station of Beijing. Too far from subway (entrance way) around 800-900 m from hotel. Limit of food choices in breakfast, cannot eat. Provide less tissue roll.

    Good bed, Good air condition.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    7.1
    Good average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Picture is not like in the reality. I thought that the rooms was decorated in chinese style. It is a little bit difficult to find and do not go to the agency travel of the hotel they will charge you a lot instead of telling the good tip to get to your destination !! They helped us to get a driver to get us to the Great wall and we had to pay 600Yuan instead of telling us that there is a bus going to the great wall for 27 Yuan !!! Wi-Fi is not working good.

    There is cleaning every day, bathroom was clean and the staff very kind.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    6.7
    Nice but problem with blocked drain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had a problem with a blocked drain in our shower. The water just pooled then gradually flooded the bathroom. So at night you got wet feet if visiting the loo. We complained 3 times and the first time they sent cleaners in and even changed the beds, but no-one unblocked the drain. It got cleaned in the day but flooded again every time. We asked for a rebate but they refused. Obviously language was a problem but they saw it was blocked whenever they had to clean up, and they kept saying they would fix it but didn't. It made it an unpleasant place to stay.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Central location near subway and main train station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    7.1
    Ok for 3 nights stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is Asian style, also some European, ok to eat sth, but wouldn't call it good.

    Beds very comfortable and clean! Very good location to travel around, seems a little hidden at first, but it is in the old Hutton district of Beijing!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    3.8
    Very Dirty Room, Nice Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely Dirty. Like you cannot imagine. Shower leeks. Walls dirty. Towels dirty. Beds dirty. If you aren't afraid of dirty place, it's yours!

    Wifi was working fine. Staff gave a little toy to my kid, which was kind of them.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: