Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Beijing HWA - Apartment Hotel

No 130 Xidan North Avenue, Xicheng, 100032 Beijing, China

Review score

Based on 41 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no gym, pool or health area. There was a kitchen with nothing in it, not even knifes and forks. Hotel was very old and out dated. As foreigners we felt very much like the staff were laughing at us and our lack of communication.

    We booked two rooms and had lots of space. Very close to the tourist attractions and food nearby. The floors 6-7 of the hotel were part of a plaza that had restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    To Improve: Train personnel in English

    Did not take break fast at the hotel but huge variety available in surrounding. Dinner was excellent. Personnel very attentive. Hotel excellent location (Shopping, Subway, Restaurants) Very Clean. All was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel concierge/reception does not provide any tour booking services, even though its page on Booking.com says so. So, for example, if you are planning to book a day tour to the Great Wall of china via the hotel concierge, you will be utterly disappointed that they do not provide such services. You will have to either source for such tours on your own or take public transport. I am not sure if this is the practice for all hotels in China but I was definitely very disappointed with the hotel in this aspect. The service level of staff was acceptable, but definitely can use a little more improvement. Not that this caused me a problem - but thought it is also good to share that there were no utensils and cleaning detergent in the kitchen, only a few cups and plates and a microwave. The hotel can also use some renovation as most of the furniture looked a bit worn.

    The hotel was very spacious - it has a living room, kitchen, two bedrooms and two bathrooms. I find the bed extremely comfortable though I believe some people might find it harder than usual. Two pillows were given and the comforter was very good in keeping me warm. Our room also had a good view of the main street of Xidan, one of the major shopping districts in Beijing. The hotel’s location is extremely good, surrounded by shopping malls and lots of food. Worthy to mention that just next to the hotel’s lobby is a chinese fast food restaurant chain (named Hehegu) that provides a good variety of breakfast, lunch and dinner. Note that if you are travelling to the hotel by subway, you should come out from Exit B of the Xidan station so that you can drag your luggage along a straight road for about a 5mins walk (instead of carrying your luggage up and down two pedestrian overhead bridges from the other exit). Do also note that, upon check-in, the hotel will request that you pay a deposit sum too, but this is refundable upon check-out as long as you didn’t damage any of the things in your hotel room (the refund process for me was very smooth).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Business Double-Bed Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are large, however, the whole place needs to be decorated and updated. As others have mentioned, there are kitchen cupboards, but these are empty.

    The location was very Central and near the Metro. Walking distance from Hutongs and a variety of food options nearby. Located by the side of a large shopping complex

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is quite expensive and lack of kitchen facilities. There is no toilet at the lobby. It is difficult for guests who had check out and still need to go the toilets.

    I like the beds and towels. They are clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a small quibble, but the kitchen was not stocked with minimal utensils and glasses. But there was not much need for cooking with a huge and cheap food court right next door and many, many restaurants within a few minutes walk.

    We loved this apartment. It had a very nice living room with a comfy lounge and big TV. Two great sized bedrooms, one with king bed and the other with a large single. There were two big bathrooms, large balcony, and being on the 9th floor meant it was also very quiet. Apartment was serviced daily, with free bottled water provided.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Business Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor staff communication staff unwilling to help ENGLISH speaking travelers. Manager on duty was incompetent.Beware check all charges . Kitchen facilities in room have no utensils.

    Close to transportation.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Business Double-Bed Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire hotel feels like it's in the 90s with archaic facilities (I mean it) and terrible service attitude. Avoid at all cost

    Next to shopping malls and the financial district

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen with no utensils.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Business Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff. Very gd location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Business Double-Bed Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to reach places

    Close to all requirements.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Family Twin-Bed Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of kitchen supplies and washing up products.

    Towelling and bedding were very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    If only the staff could speak better English, but the staff more than compensates with their bright attitude.

    Beautiful location right in the centre of the mail shopping street in Beijing. Yet very quiet once you are inside the premises

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Front desk staff have difficulties understanding simple English. Takes very long for check-in. 2 staff at counter but both doing check-ins for the same guest. Staff are not helpful & border on rude when asked about recommendations for local day tours, they simply reply "Don't have, don't know".

    Location & cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    On the facilities you list down table tennis, snooker, etc this is false advertisement. despite paying all our money you have to pay extra for these facilities. The swimming pool and so called gymnasium is free but its dirty and you wouldn't want to go in anyway. When we checked in they asked us to pay another 800yuan to put down for the deposit despite it saying no deposit was required. I refused to pay this and they had to use my card as a deposit. I also wasn't comfortable with the staff at this hotel having my bank details and wouldn't recommend booking this hotel to anyone. There is smoke everywhere in the hotel because people smoke with their doors open. The hotel staff weren't the most approachable or helpful.

    The room size was very good and comfortable. Close to forbidden temple.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotel and rooms are dated and definitely not 4 star. Its heavily perfumed to cover for former smoking in rooms. To be honest, staying in this charmless hotel will make you loose your appetite for Beijing and I really recommend you to find another place.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We didn't really like the cleanliness of the hotel, we checked into our rooms and found out one of the bed sheets actually has mold grown on it, but overall it didn't cause us too much of a hassle.

    Really love the location of the apartment/hotel. Shopping and food can be found just below the apartment. Super convenient!

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel breakfast only so-so; lots of breakfast alternatives within five minutes' walk of the hotel however.

    We were traveling with an adult son, so I booked a suite with two bedrooms. Each had a bathroom; in between was a living room with a TV, couch, chairs and work table. The room also had a kitchen with sink, microwave, washing machine and refrigerator. Excellent location; walking distance to Tiananmen Square & Forbidden City. Proximate to two subway stations (Lingjing Hutong and Xidan. The hotel has a basement swimming pool (uncrowded) and exercise room.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff did not speak English well. There was a little confusion on the price which they made us pay more than what it suppose to be as a deposit. Wifi was very slow. Kitchen was not equipped

    We had a two bedroom apartment and it had two toilets which was good. The apartment was specious & clean. Location was great close to food, subways & malls.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Kitchen could do with updating but still a comfortable place to stay.

    The hotels location. It's close to the subway, food and shops. We had a two bedroom apartment and it had two toilets making it perfect for our stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Smell of the restaurant is all over the hallway. Bed is too hard and not comfortable to sleep on

    Location and spacious room

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pool was not open

    Location and roof top garden

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    1.Staff 2.odor filled the room 3.old fashioned.

    1.Location 2.Location 3.Location

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    not desire to give an invoice!

    arrangement !

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff English language is very poor Breakfast is not variant

    The room is very big

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing and not your booking site also. You are big cheats

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Smoking can be done everywhere. Room smell of cigarette smoke

    Location is good and surrounded by shops

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location for shops food and Tianamen Square and close to Metro. Kids enjoyed the pool.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: