Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Broadway Mansions Hotel - Bund

No. 20 Bei Suzhou Road, Hongkou, 200080 Shanghai, China

#325 of 808 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 132 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.5
    Our stay was fine but the booking system lousy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The booking through Booking.com was lousy. When I called a couple of days before checking in to ask for an early check in the staff could not find my reservation. I had to call booking.com customers service from China. They did not find it either and said they will contact me later which they never did. Neither the hotel staff nor the booking.com staff was cooperative. they were distant, non compassionate and unhelpful.

    Very large, comfortable view with a river view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    A bit expensive for what you get
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The good things: The hotel is very near from Shanghai's city centre, also very near from Nanjing Lou. I would really say the location is great. The bad things: The staff in front desk is everything but helpful, no English word was spoken the day I arrived. There was a very weird smell in the lobby and the gym, as well as the spa, were small and quite expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.6
    Certainly no cappucino at this place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First of all upon entering the (upgraded) room it immediatly becomes clear this is an old-style hotel dressed up in new clothes. Nothing wrong with that, however; stains in the chairs, couch, left over napkins from previous guests and vile carpet reveal that the hygene and cleaning is still stuck in the past. However not a real issue.... I thought. Wrong; after waking up my ankles felt itchy, I did not yet connect this to the state of the bed but when I entred the shower cubicle I discovered I was sharing this room with another living creature, a giant cockroach. This was the limit, went down to ask for the manager however 'he is in a meeting' and staff started laughing in the embarrassed fashion, in a way I had not experienced anymore in China over the last 10 years in a supposedly 5* hotel. A reminder of the not so service oriented times now mostly gone. (yes we can discuss the charm of that). I decided to check out and book something new. The right choice. This is NOT a business hotel and caters predominantly to chinese tourists (lots of queue jumping at the check in desk). I made the mistake to base my choice on the pictures which was wrong. Breakfast is very limited and of dubious quality, service is limited and hygene is awful. The 'executive lounge' is a joke. Never will stay here again. Can imagine that (without the living animals) it can be an acceptable 3* tourist hotel due to the superb location, but really dont go here if you are on a business trip, much better options available in the same price category.

    The initial appearance on the booking.com pictures.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was comfortable except expecting the staff to provide better customer service.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were friendly but some were not, expected hotel to provide better customer services. booked both rooms for a queen bed but ended up only one room with queen bed provided and there was no room for negotiation- didn’t start of well.

    The location of the hotel as well as the completeness of toiletries provided in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    3.8
    The location is very handy to the Bund
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was probably fabulous in the 50’s but little has changed since then. The room I stayed in was dreadful! Carpet was disgusting, the bed a slab of stone and the overall feel of the room was dark and damp. I’ve honestly stayed in better budget motels. Apart from the location there is nothing good about this hotel. Staff were average and would not recommend this place to others. Look elsewhere.

    The location is very handy to the Bund

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    This historical hotel is very well located at the north end...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area has been reduced compared to what it was: there is very little room to sit there unles you go to the lounge. The hotel is in need of an uplift

    This historical hotel is very well located at the north end of the Bund. Make sure to book a room with a view of the Bund: it is worth the extra expense as the view is magical. The breakfast buffet is good. This is our favorite hotel in Shanghai

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing this time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have stayed here twice previously and although the service is always slow the rooms are great. This time we had no internet in the rooms and even after asking and them saying someone would come no one fixed it. The worse aspect was no air-conditioning and the weather was very warm. In fact we had to lave the rooms one evening and then at 5am the next morning due to the heat.

    The rooms overlooking the river are great and the location fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Would return and recommend to others!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet seemed dirty. Bed was hard (typical of China).

    Breakfast buffet was fantastic! Shower had great water pressure. Overall clean room--especially bathroom. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.3
    NEVER COMEBACK HERE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WE RUN AWAY FROM THE HOTEL! VERY VERY OLD! CARPET IS SOOOO DIRTY AND SMELL! THE ROOM WAS VERY SMAL.... VE BOOKED FOR 4 NIGHT BUT CANSEL AFTER 1 NIGHT THERE! BREAKFAST NOT INCLUDED, MUST PAY EXTRA

    VERY GOOD AREA !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location limited western food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel more Chinese oriented than our last stay some years ago, not recommended any longer for Europeans

    Location on the Bund is very good and our room view fantastic, staff members very helpfull especially Dillon who even helped us secure a taxi when we were stuck the far side of town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Outstanding location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I checked in, they initially put me in a lovely room on the 16th floor. However, after just a few minutes, the manager knocked on the door and apologized that they had put me in the wrong room. My next room was larger but not nearly as nice. The furnishings, and especially the carpet, were shabby and in need of replacement. I've stayed at Broadway Mansions several times over the last 4 years, and the quality of their rooms is variable. I always book the same class of room but the quality of the rooms I'm given ranges from "in serious need of refurbishing" to very nice. The breakfast is excellent but pricey.

    Broadway Mansions is right across the bridge from the beautiful Bund area. Plenty of restaurants within an easy walk. WiFi signal is strong and fast. English-speaking staff at check-in. The concierge was extremely helpful in arranging a group taxi to the airport for the following day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    2.5
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero star personel in a five star hotel. We booked 80meters appartment with River view. And we get 35meters without any view! They don't care about our complaiments Even we show them confirmation of our booking we made on 'booking.com' with all information confirmed! They just tell us they haven't free room like we booked and they didnt even want to change the price for 35meters room they give to us. They ask same same rate like for 80meters & River view->1600¥ per night. A big, big! Mistake from them. Customer service is zero! Even when we talk to manager of hotel we feel like we are pushing away. We never expiriance such a poor service ever! In 5 star hotel... Owners should think about changing their manage staff. View, size and the service is not end o complaimnet on this place. Also when we get to the room, we feld that someone before us was smoking cigarettes inside again no reaction from manager...! It was very hard to belive for us how that's possible in a five star hotel. NEVER GO THERE AGAIN!

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.7
    Great location on the Bund
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Language barrier with staff sometimes challenging. Person in the room opposite ours appeared to be running a clothing business from the room. Took up the hallway sometimes.

    Great location on the Bund. Good shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    5.0
    Great position,needs a bit of upgrading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel needs updating, there was rotten wood in our bathroom, the beds were hard,and we requested a double bed and they only had twin beds and when we complained they said they didn't have any other rooms available.

    The position is great just at the end of the Bund

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    6.3
    Great location let down by expensive sundries
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Prices of breakfast and drinks in the hotel were ridiculously expensive. Carpet in room was stained - could do with a deep clean. Why (in every hotel) is the mini bar so expensive?

    Great location for The Bund and other attraction like E Nanjing Road, Old Town and Peoples Square. Also close to Taintong Road subway station

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    5.0
    Location, but bear in mind difficult to flag down...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of sewerage on ground floor, toilet door wedged open with length of timber creating trip hazard. Service in Buffet unhelpful, expensive drinks. Staff unable to pre book taxi ahead of leaving for airport, this caused some concern and stress as we thought it had been booked as requested the evening before.

    Location, but bear in mind difficult to flag down taxi"s when needed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.3
    Nice spot in a pumping city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The mini bar crew never replenished after day ONE. I didn't mind as I usually shop in the back streets anyway, so much cheaper! The room was looking a bit tired. Skype connection was dropping out quite a bit.

    I was at level 10, the lady looking after my room did a pretty good job of keeping my room/ bathroom tidy and clean for the whole week. All staff was friendly, however, apart from some front office staff, they don't speak english. A smile will often get you ( a bit) further. Position is awesome for walking along the Bund and access to Tiantong Rd metro station. Nanjing Rd isn't too far either. Breakfast caters for all tastes and has lovely view. At home, my closest neighbour is 400m away, so I really enjoyed the vibe of a city with more people than the whole of Australia :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Hotel staffs helping to get the taxi 🤣
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting a taxi is difficult

    Hotel staffs helping to get the taxi 🤣

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    2.5
    Next not book any more
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1,Poor Welcome. 2, too much bad attitude of Staff. 3,Too much Smell in Rooms lobby and Rooms.

    Nothing like.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    River-view room gives you a fantastic view of Pudong and The Bund!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    4.2
    The toilet's flush is not working.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet's flush is not working. And The fridge's more loud.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.4
    5 star hotel with no aircon!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 star hotel with no aircon!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    awesome stay in Shanghai
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it is little bit far from center of 外灘

    good stuffs,good facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    No Staff could speak good English.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Staff could speak good English. Need at least a few who can. TV wasnt working

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    6.3
    the breakfast is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff's attentiveness

    the breakfast is great. I have stayed with hotels with similar ratings and in comparison, the breakfast here is better.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    5.0
    Average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard, non smoking room had very strong smoky residue. Shower was leaking. We requested a double bed but got a twin share room

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    6.3
    Very poor food, apart from breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor food, apart from breakfast. Uncomfortable beds

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    8.3
    The place is an institution--been there over 80 years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was completely satisfactory.

    The place is an institution--been there over 80 years. Excellent rooms, great view of the river [Bund] [if you have river facing room]. Possibly best hotel location in Shanghai.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    6.7
    Great location, beautiful building and spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Could be cleaner. Not the best sleeping experience, mosquitoes in a room and construction works outside. With such price I would expect much higher standard (especially having comparision with other places in Shanghai)

    Great location, beautiful building and spacious rooms. Helpful staff!

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    9.2
    Excellent size, dual aspect twin bedroom with two queen size...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wish hotels could offer a continental breakfast for those who don't want to eat/pay for a large buffet

    Excellent size, dual aspect twin bedroom with two queen size beds. Requested river view was perfect looking down the Bund. Location ideal for tourists. Excellent and reasonable mini bus transfer to Pudong airport for 68 yen per person.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    5.8
    Location is good, but there is nothing special to make me...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    the rooms in the lower floors can't five you chance to enjoy any views outside. And air blower was not provided...(weird... It should be the cleaning staff's mistake. how can such a five-star hotle won't provde such basic living appliances)

    Location is good, but there is nothing special to make me satisfied...

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    7.1
    Typical Chinese bed hard as a rock this must be a Chinese...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Typical Chinese bed hard as a rock this must be a Chinese past time Very small bathroom with shower in the bath Why I do not know as room was 60 square metres plenty of room for every thing else Breakfeast was just OK

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    7.5
    Location is fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Gym is very basic...little more than a few aerobic machines. Hotel is generally quite dated.

    Location is fantastic. Building has some old-world charm. Breakfast was good. Decent value considering location.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    5.8
    The location is awesome .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room looks different from the photos .. There are less facilities than when it's advertised. Our executive double room doesn't even have bath tub. The window in the photo is one large glass window but in reality, it's just normal windows with frames which can't be opened more than two inches. While checking in, the staffs from the reception checked my passport more than the immigration at the airport.

    The location is awesome .. 1 minutes walk to the bund .. From our room we got the view of the bund and half of Shanghai skyline. The breakfast is great.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    10
    The hotel is historic and very elegant.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The hotel is historic and very elegant. The room had a unique view of the Bund, river and bridge. The entire experience harkened back to opulent Colonial days. Gorgeous old property beautifully maintained with fabulous location at the Bund.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    6.3
    Location only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The first night was horrible due to bad A/C.The Manger moved us to another room and it was the same condition si we end up opening the windows to co the room that needs renovation.

    Location only

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a great location for the bar, dinning room was a little dirty along with the bedroom carpet. So had drinks and dinner out after 1st night.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    10
    The views from bedroom window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Though we had asked for a non-smoking room,the floor we were allocated to for room with view was a smoking floor.

    The views from bedroom window. We opted to pay extra for a room with view.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Dirty room, no Wifi in your room, shower doesn't work properly and the staff is really a joke. Five Star rating ? I think 1 star is too much for this hotel. It's a Chinese 5* hotel and that means in Europe 1*.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    4.2
    Good position
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Old, dirty and bad service. Far from the subway

    Good position

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    5.0
    Location convenient
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Room carpet not cleaned at all.

    Location convenient

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.6
    Great view of the Bund
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Originally booked room was very small, did not view the Bund.

    Great view of the Bund

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    5.4
    Locatioin, view, history
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff, food,

    Locatioin, view, history

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    4.2
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hard bed, room cleaning not adequate for a 5 star!

    The view

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    3.8
    Nothing except location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No value for money.

    Nothing except location

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    6.7
    Rooms are dark, small windows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are dark, small windows

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    8.3
    A beautiful 'period' hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff a little unhelpful (rude) on checkout!

    A beautiful 'period' hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    7.5
    Near the bund
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No view...

    Near the bund

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    5.0
    The location of the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Do not provide free coffee the next day and afterwards

    Location

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    7.5
    Historic building
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Historic building

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    7.5
    Nice breakfast,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice breakfast, Very kind staffs good at english.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: