Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan

199 Handan Road., Yangpu, 200433 Shanghai, China

#88 of 802 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 213 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

  • Paid WiFi

    5.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no individual service, for cleaning of 5 T-shirts 100 € charged and insisted on, one of the T-Shirts was burned and destroyed. Even management has not reacted in a customer-friendly manner with a discount or an apology. Staff is weak in English, and couldn't answer questions. Trying to be a 5 Star Hotel but without high level style.

    Facilities good, room is nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't eat in the bar - the burger was a disaster. If your main goal is to visit downtown, this is about 15 minutes walk from the metro and then 15 minutes ride to Nanjing Road - maybe a bit far. The wall to wall carpet is not a good idea for people with allergies.

    Very friendly and charming staff and beautiful interior. If your visiting Fudan University it is a perfect location. Breakfast is great - especially if you are a member of the IHG reward club. Nice bar with friendly staff that was open to learn how to mix drinks!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    AC is not powerful enough, dusty and stuffy hotel halls and corridors, breakfast options have very much cooking oils and fats.

    Good location, spacious rooms, good room service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like the receptionist very unwelcoming tone.

    I like the rooms! It was huge. The one that cleans the rooms are very nice. She's always smilling and very accomodating even though she can't understand english.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A good business hotel close to the Fudan university. If you don't have a conference or meeting at the university, the location is clearly not ideal.. Good service and correct restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The doorman does not regularly open the doors for guests. The breakfast food was the same everyday. The subway station was a quite a walk.

    The beds are comfy. The staffs are helpful and accommodating. rooms are cleaned everyday and the turn down service every night was excellent. The hotel is near a bus stop.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in the room did not respond to any changes. It appeared to be pre set regardless of adjustment. Therefore it was too warm and stuffy to sleep well.

    Location and value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some distance to proper restaurants and shops so a taxi is needed on heavily rainy days but taxi could be difficult to get and quite a long wait. Drinks and food at hotel are expensive.

    Service is smiling and prioritised. Swimming pool is 15 meters long but enough to do a bit of excercise and great for kids. Good breakfast with Western and Chinese combinations. Big bathroom with both shower and tub. Right beside Fudan University and located at a relatively quiet and peaceful school and residential area with many small shops and eateries. Less than ten minutes walk to metro. IHG member can get free wifi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely bas command of English language. 95% of staff even at concierge desk have bo chance to understand you. The choice and wuality of food other than breakfast is very poor. Ordered pizza margarita which was worse than frozen pizza. Also poor choice of indigenous food. Service staff in restaurants extrely slow and it takes up to 40 minutes to serve food. You receive a SPA voucher in your room but when you go there they use an excuse nit to accept it.

    Very lovely property

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of staff threw a receipt to us when check-out. This hotel is five-star hotel. Staff must behave deserving it.

    Good facilities and gorgeous. Staff are not very good, sometimes rude. should be trained. Good location only to Fudan Univ, inconvenient to city center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didny use pool as local laws require a swim cap to swim which we could have bought there but decided against as only wanted a short swim. Staff very helpful and English reasonable to very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Taxi service- but this is a problem of all that area.

    Very clean and quiet hotel. Reach and tasty breakfasts. Super clean and very nice staff. Pleasure to stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi not included in double superior and charged as extra. Deposit charged at check-in with no notice.

    Good accomodation if you need a hotel near Fudan University.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't think it is a good idea to charge the guests WiFi which is a very common offer for almost all high-end hotels now. Feeling is quite bad, not only money issue.

    I have been the gust for this hotel from the dates when it started operation many years ago. The convenient location and comfortable environments.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    you need a swimming cup if you want to use swimming pool, jacuzzi water was cold, sauna is dirty and temperature is low. I asked for baby bed when I made I booking, but they didn't bring one to room, so I had to ask again for it.

    Staff is friendly, service is good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seemed to block other options for wifi connections so customers seemed to have to all pay an extra $11 for internet

    Very nice facilities, lots of recreational options.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was way overpriced for poor quality in the restaurant. Bathroom had a dirty towel. Staff were friendly enough, but it's true, English not widely spoken as you would expect in a 5 star hotel. Temperature of room difficult to control, a bit too hot even with AC on, and window won't open without calling for help. WIFI costs 20 rmb per hour.

    The hotel is beautiful. Facilities good, didn't use pool but it looked nice. Good location for Fudan University, but that's all.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All the staff I encountered seemed like they hated their job. I did not experience a single smile from any staff. After my stay, I realized I had left my ring in the room and the operator (who barely knew English) said they would check and call me back, but did not, and I had to call back at the end of the day to ask and they had not found my ring. I was absolutely sure I left my ring there, so it seems someone is lying from the hotel. Also, coffee was burnt. Absolutely not worth 5 stars.

    Concierge was helpful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    English of the staff was no to good. Staff responsible for gym and the pool and check in zone was not polite.

    Good Bed, Gym, Pool and breakfastDumplings, variety of salads and others. Room service was good, and bar staff was very polite.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was not very clean - mirrors were smudged and dirty, not up to crowne plaza standard. staff was not very efficient at check in and checkout - card had to be run 3 or 4 times by different people. in addition to credit card name, number, secret code etc...to make a reservation for a meeting room staff asked for a photocopy of my credit card -front and back - never have had a request like that.but price was right

    the meeting room and lunch was good. price was good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Few points to be improved : 1) The staff at the concierge not very friendly and helpful when I asked them how to go to the Airport bus stop, which is only 10mins away from hotel. They seems to do not know or do not want to tell me. 2) There is no free wifi provided in the room. However, as my phone has signed up with Dataroam, the reception is very bad in the room. 3) Think the hotel is under some renovation, I can hear very loud wall drilling sound almost every morning from 10-11am onwards. 4) On one of the Saturday morning, the guest opposite my room made a lot of noises for almost 2-3 hours (from about 8-9am onwards) as they used the hotel room for marriage ceremony...I have no problem with this as this is a great ceremony but they left the door open and made lot of noises at the corridor which annoy me...one good point to note was the housekeeping lady apologized to me when I went out of my room to see what had happened...I would prefer to be informed before hand.

    The room is big and spacious. Facilities quite new and very clean. The housekeeping lady who helped to clean my room is very polite and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff closed the facilities in the changing room (Jacuzzi and steam room) 15mins earlier to the closing time.

    Excellent concierge service. Great food still available at midnight.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    When I complained about being charged about 800 RMB to wash some underwear and 200 RMB to use a PC for 10 minutes, staff told me that's what I should expect at a 5-star hotel. However services at a prohibitive cost are services that are useless to me. To get services I can actually use, I'll avoid 5-stars in future or try chains other than Crowne Plaza.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two of my colleagues were given smoking rooms when we had booked non-smoking - not ideal!

    The room and bathroom were very good and comfortable; breakfast was great. Near Fudan University where I had business so perfect location for me; not far not nearest metro station.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the coffee kept running out at breakfast; the doorman was unhelpful.

    Spacious, good bathroom and very big bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    away from Shanghai City.

    Buffet Breakfast top of the notch.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Staff with low level of English.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet Not Free

    Clean, kindly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Reception at arrival,

    Room, room service, cleanliness, pool,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was often very slow

    Great location near Fudan school. Hotel was very neat , staff was polite and overall stay was very nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, language barrier

    Clean,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near to Fudan university

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A receptionist's behavior and attitude was awful. When I check out he threw a receipt.

    The room is large and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from metro station.

    Spacious room, friendly staff, breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staffs.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    breakfast was good,

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    30 minutes from downtown

    Big rooms - Good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very large room with a huge bed. Tastefully decorated.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi wasn't on all the time. You had to ask reception to put it in which of course meant it was stone cold!

    The pool facilities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi sucks

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None...we are satisfied enough.

    Actually not for the breakfast..we like the room..its quite large for family..so its very comfort. Very nice room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nil

    Food menu available overnight for late arrival.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    -

    I recommend this hotel very much, delicious breakfast, nice large room, swimming pool and gym.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pool only open next month..I'm very desapoited for that! Needs to be opened every day.. may be on manday for maintenance.

    Conforto of the bed.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Only some of the front of house staff had more than a bit of English. And those that had good English were not easily identifiable e.g. by the lapel flag badges that other hotels/airlines use. Fortunately our daughter is studying Mandarin so it was not a problem as such but we suggest that the hotel adopts the usual lapel flag badge system.

    Spotlessly clean, very comfortable and spacious rooms, outstanding breakfast and friendly & helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pool closed during our stay and there was a fee for internet service. The hotel was ok for a 4 night stay but nothing extrordinary.

    The beds were comfortable and was ok for 4 nights.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Couple

    We booked for a double room and the receptionist confirmed with us on the king bed. But we still got the key to a twin room. Not sure why.

    Good shower Good breakfast / restaurant/ cafe Good bed Good price for a 5-star hotel Good location close to fudan university

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    staff very arrogant and trying to educate me what is the china standard 5 star hotel usual rules, horrible..allocated me the room next to the lift so so noisy at night can not sleep at all..talking in local shanghainese with colleagues in front of guest like laughing at customer

    good location, room quite spacious

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Group

    low internet speed

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Swimming pool was not open during my stay

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was very good

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice spacious room, very comfortable bed, swimming pool just around the corner.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    breakfast and internet are additional cost

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no free wifi in the room breakfast

    room space big fitness center is good

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: