Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

No.1 Nanwanzi Alley, Dongcheng, 100006 Beijing, China

#211 of 594 hotels in Beijing

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 466 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    3.3
    Days inn staff are the worst
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff had try to cheat my money twice. They pretend they didn’t get my authorization and attempt to charge twice. After I checkout, I look at the bill and find out that they ty to overcharge me again! I stop them and make sure they print the updated billing to me. Also, my credit card was authorized without telling me. Jesus! Unacceptable!

    Not much to mention.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.4
    Room not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    TV, Carpet and Bed

    Receptionist service seem polite, cleanliness of room but TV is old model and dots appeared on screen. Carpet in the room torn without replacement makes the room looks old.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location for visiting main attractions in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi speed in our room was slow sometimes.

    Location is excellent. It is in city centre, close to the main attractions. Wangfujing street and subway station are also very close. Staff speaks very good english.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    3.3
    Looks nice from the outside but definitely not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything else. The staff at the reception can barely speak English so they are no help at all. The initial room that we were given reaked of cigarette smoke and was pretty dirty. The walls and the furniture was very worned out. On the second night we were moved to a second room because we complained of the smell but the second room was just as ugly. And of course neither room even had a window that we could open. In my view for the practilly $90 USD that I paid per night this hotel is a complete rip off.

    The only thing that I liked about this hotel was the location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    We had a basement room and wondered if would be OK, but it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a basement room and wondered if would be OK, but it did have a window it was high up, but was good to let light in. The hotel was close to shops etc,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Location just great ! - avoid basement rooms, they are the real disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the dreaded basement room. I had my expectation leveled even before reaching there but it was even worse than expected. Okay I am ready to accept that it has low light & small window at the top but what I will definitely will not accept : The Bathroom tile corners were broken & had a tint of Muck. The bathroom stinked & spread horrible odor every time you use the flush. Important Note: Beijing metro lines 1&2 are quite old. They do not have escalators :X, so if you plan to travel using the metro, with big suitcases, best wishes carrying them 50 steps up & down !!. I was frustrated & exhausted doing this activity multiple times. The hot & humid weather din't help either. It was just this fatigue that I did not fight with the staff, just crashed into the bed & not change my room.

    The Location !!! Tian'amen Square + Forbidden City right round the corner. Tian'amen East Metro Station is at walk-able Distance as well. The Breakfast at the attached Restaurant is well worth! found 2 vegan options nearby :) If you do not chose the basement room, the Hotel has a pleasant feel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.0
    Great location, but expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was quite high for what we got. Our room in the basement with absolutely no ventilation (towels didn't dry, even in 2 days). There was no elevator and we had a baby in a stroller. Staff was friendly until we had to check out and there was some miscommunication with our payment. It was a pity that they got quickly agitated.

    Location is great! The hotel is close to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City. Staff was overall friendly. Room was equipped with a fridge, tea and fresh water.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    4.2
    We did not enjoy our stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged a 200 yuan bond and it was not returned to us - the office staff said they do not take bond but they requested we pay 200 yuan cash at check in!!?? The wifi was also misleading for sign in! The carpets were very dirty. Staff were quite abrupt.

    The location was very central

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    A comfortable bed, efficient air-conditioning, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the facility was rather basic, especially the bathroom.

    A comfortable bed, efficient air-conditioning, good night's sleep in this quiet, garden facing room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Staff were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were amazing.. We were able to check in early and leave our bags there all day after checking out.. The tours they had were great we did the Great Wall Tour there were only 4 of us on the tour and the guide spoke great english! Location is fantastic for Forbidden City and very close to subway stop! Highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Pretty happy to be at Inn but could have felt betterb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I personally field the daily rate is rather high. As the name reflects, its not a hotel... it labels itself as an inn only ... probably the rate I would have been all right for the kind of room if it had been inclusive of breakfast and some basic facilities for exercises.

    Locational convenience: 1. Served by 2 subway stations; 2. close to major attractions, namely, Tienan Men Square, Forbidden City, and Mao Mausoleum; 3. walking distance to major shopping area, 4. Plenty of choiced meal around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Hotel gets by on its location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The helpfulness of staff was inconsistent. One staff member was great, however we mostly ran into sub-par service. The rooms themselves felt dirty and dungy. You are paying for the location.

    The location was superb. Walking distance to the forbidden city, Tienanmen square, pedestrian walk-way and a large park. Lots of options for food, and within a 10-min walk to a vegetarian/vegan restaurant. The hotel offers tours and the hotel has a western/Chinese restaurant attached if you're worried about food options. The staff spoke English and was courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    location was great, between tiananmen square and wangfujing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    even though smoking is forbidden within the hotel, some guests still do, so there might be a lingering cigarette smell from time to time

    location was great, between tiananmen square and wangfujing street (late afternoon rush hour makes it difficult to hail a cab from here) staff was extremely helpful in many occasions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    The position is very comfortable for Forbidden City, Houtong...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A member of the staff is not so kind with foreign visitors. Other members, the ladies, have been very kind and welcoming.

    The position is very comfortable for Forbidden City, Houtong and Lama Temple.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    3.3
    The staff in the restaurant were kind (though they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Here are the following reasons why you should not stay here... ~My room was dirty. ~The carpet was covered in stains ~The bottom of the shower was lined with black mold... which should clearly be a health-code violation but whatever. ~Everything seemed pretty outdated in the room. ~The staff doesn't speak a word of English which made things pretty difficult and frustrating ~I was told that breakfast was included in the price. When I got there, it wasn't and I couldn't show them proof because Google isn't allowed in China. Breakfast was only about 80 RMB, but I don't like paying for things twice. They made me feel like I was being cheated. ~The staff wasn't very welcoming. ~For a basic room, the total cost was about $115 (which is not what it says on booking.com) because they require you to pay a deposit of about 300RMB. They give it back to you when you check-out but it would have been nice to know about it before hand. The taxes were a bit expensive as well. But total, the room was about $80 USD. Sorry but this place really sucked and I highly recommend that you do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. It's not with your money or your time. They caused me a lot of unnecessary stress and had I not stayed at a better hotel after this one, it would have ruined my whole trip.

    The staff in the restaurant were kind (though they couldn't speak English). And the people in the neighborhood were nice and helpful when I got lost.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    4.6
    Great location but that’s all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is the most dirty hotel I’ve ever been too. Enormous stains on the carpet, curtains so dirty you are afraid to touch them and a fungus in the fridge

    Clean bed linen and towels

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location! A bit expensive but the location of makes up for it, mostly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff speak little to no English except the lady at the tourism desk. She is really helpful and nice. The cafe staff is slow and doesn’t seem to care about guests. The cafe manager however picked up the slack when I looked unhappy.

    Location is awesome. Just 20 walk to Tian An Men.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath plug didn't work and the shower in the bath was not full height. The decor in the passages was very tired which made the hotel look worse than it is. The front desk staff were efficient but quite abrupt. There is no bar

    Very close to the Forbidden City and just off the main street so quiet. There is a good local restaurant right outside the entrance and a couple more nearby. Good Chinese and Western breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    Average comfort hotel but excellent location near POI.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front desk service is just average, doesn't seem to be that friendly. They can't even 'try' to book us a cab (we have 2 large luggage case) to another hotel, reason being traffic heavy and not likely to get a cab.

    Ideally located to the Tiananmen, Forbidden city and Wangfujing pedestrian street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    What you would expect from standard Hotel. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had some issues with charges regarding check in and check out. It took 4 separated charges and reversals on my credit card to finally get things right.

    Location was great. Reasonable standard hotel room. Must say I like that fresh toothbrushes were supplied. :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.8
    Great location. OK bed. The rest sucks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    Filthy and stinky room in basement, some noise in the night, dark room. Nothing I'd be surprised of. Good that I didn't travel with my wife :o)

    I knew what I'm going to get for price paid so no big surprise. You can expect clean bed linen, hot water in shower and more or less safe environment. That's it! And that location !!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Well locted. Perfect room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location near wanfuging and the tianamen sq. exelent room and facility The staff speking english and happy to help Very comfy bed. Many facility in the room. Really enjoy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice and convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were as majority of all Chinese - very little English and no smiles.

    Nice and convenient location. Good value for money. Staff were as majority of all Chinese - very little English and no smiles.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Will return for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get the heating to work but the duvet was really warm so made up for that. Coordinates that is published was 700 metres away from the hotel but hve provided the manager with the correct ones to be updated.

    Location was perfect, very clean and double bed was so big. Automatic currency exchange machine in the receptio, first time ever used one and impressive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.8
    The Hotel has a good location if you are travelling to...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel has a good location if you are travelling to Beijing for few days. It allows you to easily connect anywhere in the city. The staff in the hotel were not very friendly neither explanatory about rates and deposit that you have to pay once you've checked in. As a foreigner you are always suspicious of any extra charge or possible scam.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.2
    It is VERY central, really can't beat it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is VERY central, really can't beat it. Literally around the corner of Tiananmen Square and the forbidden city. Very big rooms, clean, big shower, heating

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi doesn´t work very well and the staff is very slow at reception making some mistakes in our check in.

    Well located. Very clean. The staff speaks English.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Reasonable and recommened
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No telephone signal if you stay in the Basement rooms

    good and quiet location next to the forbidden city palace and walk 10 mins to wangfujing / staff is nice and lunch at hotel resturant get 30 off

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.3
    Its a cheap hotel near all the mayor landmarks and metro stations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is noisy and on top of that, my window faced the back and the were moving bottles around. The VOD system didn't work, 99% of the tv channels are in chinese and internet is terribly slow. Bring a good book with you.

    Its a cheap hotel near all the mayor landmarks and metro stations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.5
    Location perfect, quiet and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for what it offers but you are paying for the prime location.

    If you avoid the cheaper basement rooms the other rooms are comfortable, warm and light. Revamped restaurant is good for lunch and dinner didn't try their breakfast. English speaking staff who try to be helpful. Location is excellent easy walking distance to the Forbidden City , Tienamin square and night markets as well as plenty of restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.4
    Excellent location, clean, but decor and facilities in need of renewal and refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was tired and in need of a refresh. Entire hotel looked dated and in need of modernisation. Outside pictures accurate, inside pictures misleading.

    Very close to city centre and Forbidden City/T'man Square

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    We thoroughly enjoyed Beijing for 5 days through the courtesy and planning of a tour guide.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel restaurant was closed for renovations, so even though we had booked breakfast included, there was nothing. We were encouraged to visit an adjacent hotel, where there was almost nothing available of a western breakfast and the price was 80 yuan. MacDonalds, about 5 blocks further away, gave us an egg MacMuffin and coffee for 16 yuan.

    Conveniently located (but actually quite far from the Forbidden City). Reasonably fresh in appearance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.4
    Carpet was not very clean.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet was not very clean. Rooms were cramped. Staff was neutral. I had hoped it would be better for a familiar chain...it was pretty much what I expect from a Days Inn in the US

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    It Couldn't Be More Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I expected breakfast with our booking, and I thought more English would be spoken.

    We only had a short time and this place was very convenient to places that tourists visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.1
    Good not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls had noodle stains on them and mirrors just looks dirty and like someone just stayed there And ac was still very hot But staff very kind and tours offered were great

    Staff very kind

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel in a good location near to Tianenmen Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Friendly staff. Ten quid in a taxi from the airport. Near to a restaurant and bars. There was a restaurant right next door and a meal for 2 was 10 quid. Across the main road was a hotel with a rooftop bar. Couldn't ask for more from a hotel in Beijing really. Would use it again in the future.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.9
    nice hotel within walking distance of the major tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    lighting in the room very dim

    nice hotel within walking distance of the major tourist attractions, area a bit more upmarket tourist Beijing where we always felt safe. Restaurant was closed which meant we got out a lot more and had street food as well as eating at a pretty fair restaurant over the road.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.3
    The courteous and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathrooms are badly designed with little place for toiletries etc., carpets and furniture old and stained. The tolerance of smoking in the corridors and lighting up in the reception area as well. Non smoking should be enforced as smoke permeates through the doors and creates discomfort to guests. Very unpleasant.

    The courteous and helpful staff. They did the best they could with a hotel badly in need of renovation. The owners could renovate one or two rooms at a time and eventually the job would be done. We had an excellent tour of The Great Wall, organised by reception at a very good price. The hotel is in a very good location being within a comfortable walk to The Forbidden Palace and Tiananmen Square. We had our favourite restaurants not far from the hotel also the Night Markets, full of street food, restaurants and all sorts of commodities just ten to fifteen minutes walk. When you visit the Drum and Bell Towers, ( Metro Gulou) and you feel like a change of food, I can recommend a really good, well priced Korean Restaurant not far from the subway entrance, called 3 O'Clock. All I can give you is the phone 01064070335, hope your Mandarin is up to scratch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Pleasent and secure accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a breakfast area would have been helpful. Breakfast is not provided at this location.

    Being in China the desk personnel spoke very good English and was very pleasent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was excellent. So close to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Wangfujing Street. Very helpful staff at all times and very good value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.2
    The star attraction is the location: Tiananmen Square, The...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The star attraction is the location: Tiananmen Square, The Forbidden City, National Museum of China, etc., are all located at a convenient walking distance from the hotel. Both Tiananmen East and Wangfujing metro stations (Line 1) are located close to the hotel, which is another plus point. One can easily find plenty of restaurants/eateries in the surrounding area. The buffet breakfast provided at the hotel's restaurant is also impressive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.8
    The location very close to Tiananmen square and Wangfujiang...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms in need of renovation. Old worn carpet.

    The location very close to Tiananmen square and Wangfujiang street makes this a great hotel for tourists in Beijing. The price is therefore reasonable. Comfortable bed, cushions and comforter. Kettle in room and complementary mineral water. Some English spoken at reception desk, check-in and check-out fast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    our stay in Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lighting in the room seemed to be limited to the table lamps only making it quite dim in the evenings.

    The hotel is located very close to the Forbidden city and Wangfujing street. Our twin room was spacious with comfortable beds (softer than typically in China) and had good shower facilities. The staff spoke reasonable English but as this was my fourth time in Beijing we were quite self-reliant and did not require much assistance. So communication with the hotel's staff was limited to the check in/ check out. We did not go for the breakfast option so cannot comment on that.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    4.6
    Terribly dirty and unkempt hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was terrible. Cockroaches on the floor; mold in the bathroom shower; carpet dirty and stained; toilet would only flush once, the next time you went, it didn't flush so needed to keep having them come fix it. Overall, a very poor experience not worth the low price. I would rate this only a 1 or 2 at most - the 4.6 generated by the algorithm is quite a bit too high of a score for this hotel. I certainly would not recommend it to anyone.

    Great, convenient location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    Walking distance to local points of interest and to Metro station to get to other sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Basement
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Toilet was not working well. Helpful hint: Do not book a basement room.

    Good location. Short 15 minute walk to metro station, 20 minutes to Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City or to Wanfujing St. area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.4
    While I didn't expect a lot from this place -- I just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While I didn't expect a lot from this place -- I just wanted a small place from which to explore Beijing after a work trip -- I was disappointed by the cleanliness and upkeep. The room didn't smell so good and there were stains on the flooring, carpet, walls, and more. Tip: cross the street from the hotel driveway, and keep walking away from the hotel. Turn left onto the street behind the building opposite the hotel, turn right onto the next one, then turn left again. You'll find a famous area for street food in the alleys on the right. It's hard to find but super close. Open till 10pm.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    3.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desk staff could not get visa to work on check-in, I had to put cash deposit of $800 usd. I checked mid stay and visa worked, but during checkout visa didn't work once again. 45 minutes to checkout, using 3 different cards. Staff called us two taxi, they were not willing to take two person and two suitcases, per taxi. I told hotel staff I needed taxi 5 days before checkout. We were late to our train and had to re-book. We also got bug bites on our arms. This hotel does not deserve the Days Inn name.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.1
    Great location. Needs to improve cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to try 2 rooms before finding the one that we could stay at. The first one smelled a lot like pee, the second one like someone had been smoking in there for hours (note that smoking is not allowed in this hotel). Finally they gave us another room with no smells.

    The location is great. So close to Tiananmen Square and the subway

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    6.7
    The staff were courteous;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Insufficient lighting in the room. Apart from the overhead light at the door, there were only two small lamps - inadequate for reading or to see well in spaces not covered by those lamps.

    The staff were courteous; when asked for help (e.g., re: wi-fi, cab), they made the effort to provide what was needed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    6.7
    Amazing location. Please clean the carpet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets need steam cleaning - badly stained. This needs immediate attention as it makes the rooms look run down, when they are quite comfortable. Service varies depending on who is looking after you.

    Breakfast was good value. Freshly made omelettes and good choice. Comfortable king size bed. The hotel is in an amazing location near The Forbidden City and one block to Wangfujing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.5
    Great staff! The place could be cleaner, though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could be a little cleaner. Found a big pile of dust behind the TV, for example. I'm also not a big fan of the sliding doors they use for the bathroom, but it's bearable.

    Amazingly helpful staff! When we came to check in I didn't have my passport with me (which you need to check in). Even though I can barely form a sentence in Chinese they understood my problem and made the check-in go on without a hitch.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    8.3
    city hotel near Tiananmen/Forbidden
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Internet access of the ff: Facebook, Messenger & Google However, WeChat and Viber has excellent signal

    *Accessibility we discovered a short cut from forbidden city going back to the hotel. *safety *friendly and accommodating staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    7.1
    credit card reader had problems reading my credit card but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    credit card reader had problems reading my credit card but they insisted it was my card that had the problem. was required to make a cash deposit. Was able to use my credit card at Wangfujing with no problems at all.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    5.8
    Room smelled like cigarette smoke
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -room is old and smells bad, like if people used (?) to smoke in it. I did not like it at all -every time we showered, there would be a puddle of water coming out of somewhere -it was difficult to communicate properly with people at the reception because they did not speak English fluently -staff is not the friendliest I've experienced

    -good location if you know where you're going (we got lost, and people on the street could not help us because they did not speak English) -even though the room was not the cleanest, the beds were really comfortable and clean -good curtains that made the room really dark -good breakfast options, but pricey

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    3.8
    fair location, rude staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    rude staff and cigarette smell in the corridor. If you need the receipt for your company, it has a lot of time to communicate with staff (Chinese receipt only and no detail) 2 hours for correct receipt. and if you want good service I would suggest another hotel.

    location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    6.7
    good location but poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    weak wifi even can use after midnight i asked receptionist but they can't speak english fluently and can't explain why doesn't it work

    good location near wangfujing street

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.3
    Excellent location, right near Wangfujing Street and within...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, right near Wangfujing Street and within walking distance of Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City. Professional staff and comfortable room, if a little on the small side. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    6.7
    Next time staying most probably in other hotel.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dirty. Smell of smoking in room and corridors. Staff had messed with resevations and they weren't so active to clear it.

    Location is excellent! Staff was happy and smily.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    10
    Great place for English-speaking tourists!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget double room - basement level
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Since you must put in the key card for electricity, our room could get a little musty. It was only because we didn't spend much time in the room (it was a basement room). We only were there at night to sleep & headed out to the sights in the morning. So be sure to run the air while in the shower to cut down on the humidity.

    I liked everything about the place! The staff was super helpful (I had an issue, and they helped me resolve it with an outside company; they spoke with them in Chinese about my issue). I was easily able to speak with them (I speak English; no Chinese). Best part of this was that it was a 10 minute walk to Tienanmen Square & Forbidden City. 10 min walk in other direction to the mall and Wangfuxing shopping area, and metro. Subway was a great way to get around!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    You have to enter your passport number to logon to Wi-Fi. That's probably not their fault. It's probably a government requirement. It's true that the bathroom door consists of somewhat smokey glass so it's not all that private. Their laundry service was too spend for us.

    The beds were soft enough for me, and I hate hard beds. Not too noisy, considering its location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.5
    Perfect location in Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Apart from breakfast the restaurant food both asian and western was ordinary.

    Great location about 10 minutes walk to Tianamen Square or the Forbidden City. Lots of restaurants nearby and only about 3 blocks from food and market alleys. Included hotel breakfast was great (particularly the omelettes made to order). Room was a good size and was quite modern. I was in a 2nd floor room in the annex building.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    5.4
    Days in Days Inn Forbidden City
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very cheap looking rooms, which haven't seen a fresh paint in a long time. Cigarette smell in the hallway. Staff who didn't want to call the taxi, assuming that the taxi driver wouldn't have wanted to drive me where I wanted to go.

    The hotel is in a really good location - just a walk distance from the Forbidden City and the city centre. I had my towels changed daily :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.9
    Very good location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget double room - basement level
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff is very helpful and friendly. Hotel location is advantage; you can walk to subway (Tian'anmen East station and Wangfujing station), Tian'anmen Square and Forbidden City as well as Wangfujing street for Shopping malls and famous food street within 5-10 minutes.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    6.7
    Good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget double room - basement level
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was not very pleasant, and the facilities are quite dated. The wifi is also horrible. I was barely able to send a text message, it was so bad. There is a wired internet connection if you bring a laptop, though.

    The bed was very clean and comfortable. The comforter was so soft and pleasant after my long flight.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.2
    In the middle of downtown
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget double room - basement level
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Low floor is just a basement. One third of room is over ground...

    Few steps to Forbidden City, Tiananmen square, shopping malls. Surrounding are got many bars and shops.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    6.3
    Excellent location with good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was excellent. However the selling point for me was free internet. Google, Facebook and Yahoo not allowed in China! TV did not work. English almost non-existent. The room we had was next to laundry with no aspect at all. They did however try very hard to get me a fair taxi price.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.8
    Good location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Budget double room - basement level
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were 8 persons, so the following is for three doublerooms. Rooms clean, but worn. Rooms also quite smelly as if the had been used for smoking-rooms until it was forbidden by law. Carpets, curtains etc therefore in need of replacement (due to both smell and wearing). Bathrooms and airconditions could be cleaner. Breakfast okay. Hotel staff friendly. Next time in Beijing I will use more money on hotel and I will not be staying there again.

    Good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.2
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish they had bike rentals. And as it happens very often in China, The staff has very poor english. They can understand the normal questions/ situations but anything out of the ordinary goes to one person to another and the answer is either no or not reliable.

    Location, location, location. Near many attractions that we did by foot (15-20km per day); near a metro station too. Don't miss the food street market a few blocks away (whether you are brave to taste sth or not) The room was clean and very comfortable, with the windows to the quiet courtyard.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable room in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    We couldn't have asked for a better location! you can basically walk to many point of interests. Very close to subway too so you can explore further. We took express train from the airport, transferred to the subway and walked to the hotel from Wangfujing station (exit C2). We checked in around 10pm and the girl at the front desk was very helpful. We had a deluxe room on the 3rd floor, the bed was comfortable enough, the bathroom was clean and spacious. We had a big tub that we were thankful for after a long day of walking. During our 6 nights stay, the towels were changed daily and bedsheets was replaced often. The staff are polite, some of them speak english better than others but it was not an issue for us, we were in China after all! Tried to leave some tips for the housekeeper but it was never taken :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    6.3
    location, location nothing else!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    wifi totally unreliable and slow in need of upgrade, bedrooms and bathrooms shabby

    great location, helpful staff especially in the shop and business centre

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    3.8
    Poor in every way. Lacked even the basics
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room / bathroom was unclean and in a very poor state. It also smelt of stale cigarette smoke. Majority of staff were unhelpful. Wifi was only available in reception area. Only 1-2 choices on the restaurant menu were actually available. The drinks menu was the same. Reception staff had no maps of the local area as were disinterested.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.4
    The smell of my room is very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smell of my room is very bad.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    2.9
    Bad hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service. Staff was unfriendly and didn’t speak any other language. Not helpful at all. Room smelled humid.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.0
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was rundown and had internet sometime

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    The hotel near around Forbidden City and Wangfujing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staf need English as communcation language.

    The hotel near around Forbidden City and Wangfujing. And value money and recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: