Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Equatorial Shanghai

65 Yanan Road West, Jing'an, 200040 Shanghai, China

#70 of 802 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2172 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.0
    Best hotel in Jingan temple area.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Corner Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small.

    Location is unbeatable, breakfast is very good and coffee is excellent. Plenty of good restaurants within ten minutes walking. Near subway line 2 which will take you to the most significant places in Shanghai.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Our most enjoyable hotel experience whilst travelling in China
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to leave on our last day!

    Fluffy soft pillows, soft white slippers and a really comfortable bed. The room had electric blinds that kept the room cool during the hot days. The air conditioning was very efficient and quiet. The marble bathroom was large and they supplied all our needs including toothbrushes, combs, razor, shower gel, soap, shampoo, conditioner and so much more. It was a very comfortable room and the staff were all amazing; nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was amazing; so many choices and very attentive staff. Happy hour with 3 beers was another thing we enjoyed whilst staying at Hotel Equatorial in Shanghai. The location was excellent too; shops just over the road and an metro station close by. The swimming pool was enjoyable too and open late. Room service was great too; especially the pizza!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Great 8 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Been there for 9 days. To be hones it had a great value for the price I payed. There was a good breakfast there every morning. The staff was friendly and helped me whenever I needed them. Most of them with good English. Another good thing is the location. Located not too far from the Jing an temple and the metro station with the same name allows you to explore the city rather easily. Line 2 is the main line in the city. Crossing it from east to west. It allows you to go to Nanjing road, the bund and people square in absolutely no time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Very close the metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have nothing bad to say. Great hotel.

    Very close the metro station. Very helpful staff. Downstairs cafe had great food. Would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay against n when I’m back in Shanghai

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Overall, it was a nice stay at the hotel. Can do better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The personnel at the Spa and pool were not welcoming...that’s why I haven’t been at the Spa. When someone don’t understand English, instead of trying to understand what has been said, he just turned his back...like Get Off!

    The facilities at the pool are interesting, that is, locker, bathroom, dryer etc. Room quite clean; bed, pillow covers and bedsheets very clean and good quality Location quite good, just crossed the motorway and there’s a shopping mall

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    It was ok, but would stay somewhere else next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the club lounge as above

    The club room floor facility is not that good, the food is appalling, the staff cannot speak English, they stand around and stare the whole time you are in the lounge. They have no idea of maintaining the food preservation. They need someone to show them what the food and beverages should be served. The coffee and tea were always cold, they had no idea what the word HOT meant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Consistent
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Equatorial Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi in every hotel could be dramatically better and this one is no exception.

    This hotel suits me when on business, it is well priced, service is good and beds are comfy. The gym and spa are both good. The breakfast is good and I never leave hungry in the morning. It is not the best hotel in town but it is consistent and I have never had any issues.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A chef could have been around to prepare a fresh fried egg/omelette if rewuired. There seemed to be a few chefs but nobody on the station where these were to be prepared. Also if you go for breakfast at 6am you will find that the beans sausages and scrambled eggs are put out cold into hot plate to heat therefore still cold until around 6.45am and if you complain nobody understands English language I spoke to manager who said they forgot to put hotplate on yet this happened the next time too. I do not wish to each cold breakfast.

    This is a nice high standard hotel. Most staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms were spacious and cleaned to a high standard. The breakfast is plentiful. The location is perfect with the metro only a few minutes walk away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyable and would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were extremely happy with everything.

    The service was excellent from check in to check out. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. We asked many questions of the concierge, he was extremely helpful and helped us do a number of things we wanted. Also the door man was able to get us a taxi when we wanted to go out at night. Highly recommend this hotel. Very central and easy to use the Metro. Mall and supermarket close by as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Property is beautiful and i recommend it .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no safe in a room. In a restaurant , which had to work up to 11 pm already at 10 pm they did not want to prepare what I tried to order. And even though there were almost no customeres I had to wait too long to get the chech.

    I liked location, comfort inside the hotel, cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    TOP OF CLASS
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I intend to come back.... nothing could improve my experience at Hotel Equatorial

    From arrival until departure you know this is a top class hotel. The whole experience from people, facilities to food highest quality delivered with happiness.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    nice trip.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    some old facility.

    This hotel has good location, near the certer of Shanghai City. Good shopping mall and nice food around it. Also near my business customer's hotel. I think it's really a good choice. Better if change some old facility.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    Average.. have a feeling staff treats Asian worst off than caucasians.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corner Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly pillows n bedding suspected to be slept in by staff.. saw a staff in suit coming out of the room adjusting himself n he smells. Arriving from red eye flight n there’s room available, but advice to wait till 11. Drop off luggage to proceed to work without wash up. Back n found room smelly.

    Good pool. Can be cleaner. Small changing room. Very bad wifi. Phone service is good. Room service is good, they are the lower staff that might not given too much recognition for in a hospitality management. But usually they know the habits of visitors more than those smart uniform chaps n ladies..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Good location with friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was work going on in the pool area with some empty water bottles on the floor. The male changing facilities including shower area could do with a refurbishment.

    Staff are very professional and helpful especially at the front desk and coinceirge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Fast becoming my regular hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The older rooms are a little dated but you get what you paid for. Not much else to moan about!

    Lovely comfortable bed, in all types of rooms (I have stayed before). The bathroom is large and clean. The view of the temple is great for visitors too. It is easy to access from the Exit 1, Line 2 Subway and there is a lovely park over the road (with a lovely Thai restaurant). The staff are very helpful, though their English is a little low. This is one of the cheaper hotels with a pool and if it stays this low, it will become my regular hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.0
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi fi was terrible almost non existent The bar did not know how to make cocktails and they were expensive The Club lounge was very poor

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location to start exploring Shanghai
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We opted in for breakfast which I don't think is worth the money. The size of the buffet is great, but you will find much better and affordable breakfast options close-by at the lower levels of the surrounding malls or directly on the street. Coffee from the machine was quite good, but most of the buffet was standard. There is a very good small baozi place close-by (Babi Mantou) which has sweet dumplings (try the black sesame filling) for 1-2¥ a piece.

    Hotel location is just 5 minutes from Jing'An Temple metro station (line 2) and easy to find (take metro exits 1 or 5 to directly face the hotel when getting out). You have to take a crosswalk bridge between the lower road and the elevated highway to get there. Beds are comfortable, rooms facing the back of the hotel (away from the highway) are very quiet. I used the gym: it has a couple of treadmills and a basic section with weightlifting equipment, quite good to get over that jetlag.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    OK for a short business stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny and a bit shabby bathroom, no CNN as TV channel, no espresso maker in the room, restaurant sub-par for dinner.

    Decent size room, good food choices and even drinkable espresso for breakfast. Quite nice neighbourhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    The location!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location!! Walking distance to Jing An area. The bed was very comfortable, the room was spacious and clean. The staffs were very friendly. I think the room just got renovated. Very recommended hotel to stay, definitely will come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Good location and confortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No news paper for Equatorial Club member and when we requested for Pressing they said it will be delivered next day. Food quantity and variety need to be improved.

    very less choice of fruits and quantity. Need hotel in China to have some Halal food in the list of items. Most of the items contained Pork? Very less choice of food at Club Level lounge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel with excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be difficult if you want to go to the bund everyday and night Swimming pool changing rooms

    Service and facilities Excellent breakfast Very good swimming pool Good location nearby a metro station Very clean Amazing Happy hour at Equatorial club

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    Disapointing hotel, with potential but no management
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked a club room, and I don't think it is any longer acceptable to offer this rooms as executive rooms in the Jing'An area. They are in strong need of renovation. I stayed many times in this hotel which offers nice rooms, especially in the renovated floors, and it is just a pity that they did not complete the renovation to the executive floor; and a shame that they completely ruined my experience in this hotel by putting me in this outdated, sad and depressing room. Also I usuallly no longer experience internet connection problems in China, even when i travel in the province. I do not understand why each time I struggle with the internet connection at this hotel. I really do not like being harassed by the prostitutes or the pimps right at the entry of the hotel, and they are free to come and go inside the hotel, which I consider an unacceptale security risk. I don't know what the management is doing or even if there is a management in this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    Location was good, the room was clean and quite.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Equatorial Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was relatively small. TV had little to watch. Late check out due too very late flight was not approved beyond 2pm

    Location was good, the room was clean and quite. Breakfast was very decent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Too expensive to be a bargain, and too low quality to be luxury.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corner Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is simply not a 5 Star hotel. It markets itself almost as a 'budget 5 Star', but it misses the mark. From my perspective, if you want 5 Star luxury, pay a little more and go elsewhere, whereas if you want a good 'bargain' pay less and go elsewhere... this hotel aims in the middle... and misses. It is too expensive to be a bargain, and too low quality to be luxury. Either pay more, or pay less...

    The location is good for Jing An attractions, and there are a lot of restaurants near by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    We would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exterior of building does not match great interior renovations. Maybe freshening up the exterior is on the to do list already.

    Seems like the property has been recently renovated. Good job of the renovations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Great but missed out , for the price breakfast should e included. Its okay if you come from a countr
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOT HAVING INCLUDED REAKFAST

    Leave enough toiletries and complimentary coffee and tea. Also the breakfast is rather expensive , maybe introduce a budget , express breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Beware service charges, otherwise great location with average facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What took me most aback was the 15% service charge they slapped on top of the room price specified by Booking. They also made us wait an additional half an hour to prepare our room, even though we had already arrived passed our check-in time. The facilities are clean, but just so-so, nothing really special.

    This hotel's location is by far it's biggest advantage. It's super close to a nice bustling shopping, park and temple area. It's got convenient transport links nearby and nice food/fun options within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Great 2 night stay in the heart of Shanghai !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room ( that I had ) was a bit dated , the food in the lounge was just ok , sweets at high tea where great ! main issue - I was checking out in the lounge and asked for a parking ticket , they gave me one , I went downstairs to the garage but they would not accept it as I stayed 2 nights and the staff only gave me one night parking , so I had to ark again , this time I had to go to the main floor , lots of people , big line , had to wait until they gave me the second ticket for parking , the staff at the lounge could have seen that I stayed 2 nights and asked how long the parking ticket needs to be , I did not know that I would need 2 tickets , next time I know ....

    Location ! the location is perfect , lots to see in walking distance , from shopping to dining and sightseeing , Subway station nearby , or take a cab , perfect ! nice beds , I did have the Lounge included and was on the top floor , great , parking also for free at the hotel ! lounge had breakfast , High tea and evening meal with drinks , medium selection , but ok , not too much people in the lounge .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    The bed was very comfy, the room is clean, the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfy, the room is clean, the location is the best, very close to Jing An Temple. Metro just walking distance, about 10 minutes. Convenience store just next door, restaurants are everywhere around the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    The pool is very nice although the darker colour scheme...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is very nice although the darker colour scheme caused my children some concern initially. The foot wash bath seemed slightly off and I think needs better or more frequent sanitization. Still a pleasant swim overall!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Value for money, but average service.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Every morning at 10AM they will knock your door for laundry service and they will keep knocking for a good 5 min if you don't respond or forgot to hang the "do not disturb" sign... SUPER annoying!

    Excellent location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Very nice people are working in Equatorial, ready to help...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Corner Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I have met some troubles with free wi-fi, it often failed at the 13th floor, and worked better at the 21st floor, but still haven't been perfect.

    Very nice people are working in Equatorial, ready to help and nice to communicate. First of all the front desk manager and the housekeeper. The hotel is clean, fine location makes it easily accessible from everywhere in Shanghai. The Jing An park in front of the hotel is so lush and green!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant, enjoyable & comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Equatorial Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blanket is too hot; suggest have 2 layers of different textures for individual’s comfort

    Room is very neat & clean; quiet despite hotel is at traffic intersection; good location near subway & many eateries

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Location was great. Close to metro line 2 that takes you to the Bund area. Close to shopping area - Kerry Centre and Crystal Palace, Park Place etc. Clean and comfortable. Check in staff and concierge spoke English.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    Good accommodation for short holiday in Shanghai.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check out point is a bit troublesome- the hotel charged me the full holding deposit from my card and still hadn’t refunded back the difference.

    Location and bedding is very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfort and pleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was super lucky to get a free upgrade. In the beginning, based on the outside look I was a bit worried. But I was so glad how does the hotel maintain and take care of the inside. The design and facilities are very well taken care of by the hotel. Moreover, the location was really great. Would recommend this hotel :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.8
    Useless worn down hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Below average rooms, passable breakfast but nothing special. Afternoon tea absolutely dreadful - ie a couple of cupcakes on a tray. Will not be back and not recommend!

    Worn hotel - in need of upgrade. Ok for a quick overnight stay, but poor if you're looking for nice holiday accommodation

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    4.6
    It is not good choice for this money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corner Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, small and very unusable rooms. Lobby cafes price absolutely unreasonable. The concierge sent me by taxi to wrong airport, which is on the opposite side of the city, I lost a lot of time and money.

    Clean enough. Good place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.5
    Not a good experience this time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Equatorial Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The mattress was too soft. I had back pain in the following day. 2. On March 9, I wanted to call a taxi to the airport. Bell boy let me ride on a taxi which waited at the hotel for long haul ride passenger. Obviously the taxi driver knew the bell boy. Unfortunately, the taxi was really dirty and seat belt catch could not be found. Without seat belt, I was really scared during the whole trip to airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Pleasant welcoming hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet speed may be upgraded, concierge touring advice is not optimal

    comfortable room ,excellent facilities (gym, pool, SPA), friendly staff, central location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Absolutely enjoyed our stay in Equatorial, in fact it was my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely enjoyed our stay in Equatorial, in fact it was my second time again. Staff are helpful, location is perfect. They gave us late check out for my friend who was feeling unwell on our last day. So thanks!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    Comfy and elegant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had only a tub, there was no shower. The breakfast was quite good, but some things could be improved - for example coffee didn't taste very well. The location was good, but not easily accessible when going on foot with a suitcase because of pedestrian bridge without escalator.

    The staff was friendly, the room was clean, nice and very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable mattress and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Equatorial Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was clean and had excellent features. The bed was extra comfy and comfortable. Not your typical Chinese mattress. A great place to stay in Jing' an

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Great upscale location in the heart of Shanghai
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    I had a magnificent view on Jing'an Temple that I wasn't expecting to have! It was absolutely fantastic. Perfect location, comfortable room, and great amenities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Clean and accessible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corner Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only food I ate here was room service of a tomato soup when I got sick. This ¥90 “meal” was disappointing to say the least. I don’t think they had enough soup, so they added a lot of hot water. I’ve had better stale bread rolls on cheap airplanes.

    I chose this hotel because they had a smaller and inexpensive room option, perfect for a solo traveler like myself. I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is located in central Shanghai, close to the Jing’an Temple and the station (Line 2). This gives you almost a direct route from the Pudong Airport, which is simple and convenient. Although the drapes and one wall was dusty, it was very clean for a Chinese hotel. The lobby was very pretty and the gym looked great. I was told the 20 meter pool temperature was 29 degrees, although I didn’t have time to test it out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Will have gotten full scores if more effort was made.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Equatorial Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have handled guests more politely. Yes, my race is Chinese but I'm not from China. They spoke in a different tone when i see a caucasian asking the same question.

    5mins walk to Line 2 (literally able to go anywhere with this line, it runs from Hong Qiao Airport to Pudong Airport). Near shopping malls and the amenities are well equipped.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    Good size rooms at a very central location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Equatorial Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Good size rooms at a very central location. They have great indoor slippers and soft bathrobes (I'm a sucker for those). And the staff is helpful with getting taxi's. There are lots of food options & shopping malls in the Jing An area which are all walking distance from the hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic Hotel but need to pay more attention to hygiene.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was hair on the toilet they day I checked in and one day after again. Seems the cleaning staff has some hair problem. It's a shame that this almost ruined all the efforts the rest of the staff made.

    The staff is super welcoming, professional and helpful. It has everything I need for a business trip. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is perfect also for a longer stay in Shanghai...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Equatorial Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is perfect also for a longer stay in Shanghai center. Breakast was fine. The gym is also well equiped . We also got a free late check out which was very helpful for us. thank you very much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    It’s a good location, just 10 min walking from Jing’an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need better maintenance. You can see that the hotel is a bit old.

    It’s a good location, just 10 min walking from Jing’an temple. Our room was big and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    Although not a true 5-star hotel, I wouldn't mind staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Showers felt a bit cramped. Shower head is a bit low for anyone taller than 5'8" (172 centimeters). Bathroom, in general, is small compared to other 5-star hotels in Shanghai. - Connecting door in room. - Problematic in-room WiFi router (wouldn't stay plugged in; too heavy to adhere securely to outlet). Ethernet cables were non-functional (worn out, damaged). - Several items on the mini-bar list were missing.

    Staff - Courteous staff from check-in to check-out. Laundry Services - Unlike some other hotels in Shanghai, this one did not have a washing machine in the room. Location - 10- to 15-minute walk from nearest subway station (Jing'An), a bit far in my opinion. You need to cross a long overpass and then make your way down a long roadway. Afterward, you still have to cross an intersection twice to get to the subway station. Moreover, despite having a major highway adjacent from the hotel, the area is relatively quiet in that I couldn't hear any traffic noise from my window. There's not much to do within the vicinity of the hotel; however, if you are ever in the mood for McDonald's, rest assured that they deliver to this hotel. Room - Clean. Basic amenities are provided. AC unit is provided. Large windows. Scenic view of Shanghai and major highways, particularly nice at night. Taxi - Coincidentally available when I had to leave for the airport at around 4 or 5 o'clock in the morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    Location is really good, great value for the price you pay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed, or more precisely the bedding. I think for their standard, they should consider something of a little bit higher thread count. The matress is pretty comfy.

    Location is really good, great value for the price you pay. Staffs, in general, are nice, especially the security outside.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value for a reasonable price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi was not working well and signing in to the Wi-Fi in the public areas was ridiculously complicated. The sign-in page was only in Chinese and required e.g. entering a long telephone number that did not seem to be available anywhere else than the lobby Bar and was impossible to memorize

    Conveniently located hotel with adequate services and friendly staff. Excellent value for money-good service with a very reasonable rate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.7
    The quality of the food served with room service was abismal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of the food served with room service was abismal, especially considering they were expensive in comparison to western hotels. The pizza was closer to soggy cardboard with cold cheese on top. The bathroom is very small and needs some updates.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    The room was large and very comfortable, with many amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room was large and very comfortable, with many amenities. Power sources had built in adapters, made charging computer/phone very easy! Breakfast was great too!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Well located, nice new refurbished rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are other older rooms that are more spacious. But the design is older and room feels like being back 15+ years ago.

    Convenient location, nice and clean design for the newly refurbished rooms. Request for those ones.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    I would definitely stay here again and would recommend the hotel to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first two days there were several times I sought advice and help from a couple of the concierge staff. I didn't find them very helpful but later I found they couldn't be more helpful. Nice turn around

    Good room and bathroom, warm, clean and tidy with comfortable bed as per web description and photos. Good selection for breakfast. Hotel in a good location about 10 min walk to subway and good staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay. Good location, close to subway stations/shops/restaurant
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a truly smoke-free environment, one can still sense cigarette smoke in lift and floor corridors. Restaurant (cafe) staff service can be improved.

    Spacious room, responsive help desk, good selection of buffet breakfast, friendly front desk staff and responsive help desk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Excellent location and great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Equatorial Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is my 8th visit in this hotel within the past 8 months. It would be nice if the hotel staff actually remembers my room preference or provided me a free upgrade the next time I check in

    Excellent location . Walk over to Kerry Jingan Center for food and shopping

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    6.7
    Good location, value for money room rate, walking distance to several subway stations
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff’s, including the duty manager, in the Restaurant (cafe) working attitude were rather passive. They appeared reluctant to handle problem/solving not until persistent request.

    Reception counter staff was friendly and efficient

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Best value in a top area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    If have to pick one, might be the room size

    Almost everything is good for the price, especially the location, facility, comfortable bed, nice bathroom and services.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Accessible to a park, convenience store, metro and shopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Equatorial Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft for me.

    Accessible to a park, convenience store, metro and shopping area. Very clean and service staff were helpful and polite. Most of the attractions were on line 2 so I didn't need to keep changing train :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Hotel is neat and clean, rooms are
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Equatorial Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wide variety of Chinese cuisine but limited other variety of cuisine. Stagg struggle to speak and understand English

    Hotel is neat and clean, rooms are a good size and very clean. Nice bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Awesome stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Equatorial Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast timing changed on the second day from 10.30 am as per checkin card to 10.00am without notice. Went for breakfast at 9.45am only to be told we had 10 minutes. Please communicate to the guests in case of any changes

    Checkin checkout was swift and very courteous. Upgraded to the club room for a 79 Yuan per day and it was the coolest idea ever as it included breakfast. Location is great near the metro and the Jiangin Temple.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was amazing best I've ever seen and taste
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was amazing best I've ever seen and taste Bed: it was something superb Spa center even if it's on payment, it is very high quality Staff courtesy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    Good choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing I can think of

    Excellent service. All hotel staffs are friendly and professional. The hotel is right next to the Jing'an temple and it is very convenient to go around. I will definitely choose this hotel in the future.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.9
    Clean and comfortable and I would stay here again although I was not blown away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although a kettle with instant coffee and teabags was provided, there was no milk to go with English Breakfast tea. Coffee purchased downstairs was not permitted to be taken back to the room and the staff were oddly insistent about putting milk in my partner's coffee even though he didn't want any. Also, there was over 200 yuan in tax added to the price I was quoted on Booking.com which surprised me, as I'd assumed that was an all-inclusive price.

    Usually beds in China are hard and not terribly comfortable but this room had a very Western style mattress with extra padding -- it was incredibly comfortable ... and hard to get out of.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    6.7
    Overall good hotel is well located, but rooms were very small
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chef prepared runny omelette each day; room was too small for a hotel of this standard; although this is a non-smoking hotel we could smell cigarette smoke in the corridor and an extinguished cigarette lay on the carpet outside the lift for over one day; coffee was very disappointing

    Breakfast was mostly good; room was clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Cozy, lush getaway for pampering yourself at the spa, or enjoying Shanghai's sights
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My stay was fantastic; no complaints.

    This is a top-notch establishment, and my go-to for comfort and relaxation in Shanghai. Room service breakfast is very good, pool is beautiful, bed is plush. It's a short walk from the metro stop to the hotel, and nearby eateries abound. The spa at hotel is phenomenal. It is conveniently located on the green line (2) of the metro, which directly accesses Pudong Int'l Airport, as well as the Maglev high-speed magnetic rail trail, which significantly cuts down on both the price and length of trip from Airport to Jing'an area. While a taxi would cost roughly Y250, the Maglev runs Y50 (Y40 if you have a metro card), and the metro fare was around $1 USD.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One of the staff opened my door without knocking or waiting for me to open. Shouldn't happen.

    The room was amazing. Very comfortable and warm. Very clean washrooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In winter the room can get a bit dry with air conditioning.

    The service was great. All staff were really helpful. The hotel is close to the metro station and many restaurants are just a few minutes walk away. The room was comfy and clean. Overall, we had a great time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    4.2
    Very disappointed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Equatorial Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody help to carry luggage when arrive hotel. The service rendered is like 3 stars hotel. No smile , no greeting, no help to hail taxi automatically , must request. Rooms small and no control of non smoking floor. Occasionally there're cigarette smell that creep into my room in spite I alerted the front desk. Front desk service is not sensitive to guest request and never bother to alert guest that we can upgrade to executive floor, not until the day I check out and accidentally I saw a notice on the table to say that we can upgrade by paying a little more. I actually wanted to stay in Hilton hotel but was told by your staff that they are not taking bookings anymore. The only reason why I'm force to choose this hotel is because of location. I have a lot of my clients formerly was staying in this hotel but later all change to other hotels even though it's not near to public transport like subway. Bed are not comfortable, room cleanliness is bad. I was shocked to find hair and small cockroaches crawling around. The shower curtain stinks and was not changed or wash for many months. All in all there's nothing good about this hotel except location that near to subways whereby I don't have to waste too much time during peak hours traffic jam. I fly to shanghai and many other parts of China for business, therefore time is crucial for us. I'll be traveling again in six months time to shanghai and I may consider changing to other hotels.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    This hotel ticks all the boxes for me.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Equatorial Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi not great but this could be due to outside forces (Big Brother)

    This hotel ticks all the boxes for me. Always a good place to hang out either for pleasure or kicking back after a long day at work.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Beds were very comfortable and rooms were spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very comfortable and rooms were spacious. Excellent location with easy access to train station and restaurants in Reel Food Hall at nearby shopping mall.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    A quality place to stay even for an overnight layover near the heart of it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weather was warm for November and the hotel air conditioning appeared to be off, so the rooms were stuffy.

    Friendly, English-speaking staff. Very nice breakfast buffet with Asian and Western favorites. Convenient access from Jing An Temple subway station (door 5).

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: