Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Putuo

843 Guang Fu Xi Road., Putuo, 200063 Shanghai, China

#374 of 811 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 182 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    6.7
    Average, at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The English-speaking ability of the front desk staff has to improve in order for one to completely enjoy their experience. The breakfasts could use more variety.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.3
    Ok for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor choice Of continental breakfast Poor communication - even in The reception no one spoke English It smelled of cigarets in the corridors and in the rooms

    Clean And access to The internet Staff tried to be helpful despite the lack of speaking English Close to the tube and shoes close by

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.4
    so bad ..so sad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with River View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast is very poor and air condition in the room was not working the first night after that I make problem with them. the staff dose not speak English . the subway very far from hotel we need a taxi every time to comeback .

    Room is ok ,clean , comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    Wifi is good in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is not good. Not all staffs can speak English well, so it is quite a bit not so easy for communications. There is no taxi coming in this route , passing the hotel, so you will have to ask the staffs to call taxi for you every time. Metro station is not so near, about 10-15 mins walk.

    Wifi is good in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.3
    Overall satisfactory except for the front office staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff do not know English. International hotels need to have some staff with English knowledge. The breakfast menu was same for the three days i stayed!!. Even the fruit choice did not change.

    The ambience was nice with good surroundings. Calm and quiet place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.7
    Amazing city to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Language barrier between my self and staff became a problem when I needed to query anything. Also didn't know about 16% charges on top of all prices for hotels in China. Should be added on to price stated to make things clear. Hotels also ask for a deposit on top of your hotel price which I wasn't aware of until I arrived.

    Hotel was nice and in a good location. Great price and within walking distance to train station on Wuning Road. Transport by train is brilliant and so easy to use. Trains arrive at a rate of every 5 minutes

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Room was clean and big enough, breakfast very good and quite...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi was very poor, staff couldnt speak english almost at all but they were nice.

    Room was clean and big enough, breakfast very good and quite rich. Connection to the airport and city center by subway was very perfect. You dont have to use taxi at all as the subway is very clean, safe and convenient and not as crowded as we expected. Hotel is in a quiet location by the river. Close to a shopping center. But there are not any bars or restaurants near. But you can always use subway and in 20-30 minutes you can be in the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    6.7
    The price was reasonable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The horrible smell of air-conditioning in the rooms, not for people who are allergic. They took the deposit and later told me that it takes ten days to return it, which I think is not ok. The staff hardly speaks English.

    The price was reasonable. The staff did their best to solve problems.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    5.0
    The location was convenient for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the desk ignored me for 3 minutes when I came to ask them to call a taxi for me. The coffee machine broke down one morning, there was nothing being done to it later on that day, but the staff was trying to fix it again the next morning.

    The location was convenient for me.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    3.3
    The most horrible Holiday Inn I've ever been to
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    COCKROACHES. Most of the staff including reception does not speak english. Those who do have a horrible attitude. No fridge. Air conditioner sometimes stop working for no reason.

    Affordable, location is convinient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.9
    Oasis of green in a high rise city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to wake up staff sleeping in hotel restaurant in order to get a cup of coffee at lunchtime...!

    Great location near East China Normal University, where I had meetings. Surrounded by a green, wooded enclave, with birdsong, right next to the river. So, an oasis of green in a high rise city

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    5.4
    Book room without breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are smelling cigarette even for non smoking rooms. Very poor breakfast almost nothing offered for western people

    Location is good. Close to metro station and quite place

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    6.7
    Okay for the price, but not enough staff and breakfast not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There weren't many staff on hand to help except for one or two people at reception whose English was okay, but not great. The breakfast wasn't good as the hot food was barely warm.

    The room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    6.7
    For the price it is very good and location isn't bad, staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was surprised by the quality of the room, mirror was messy and the walls could use some cleaning.

    Excellent breakfast, and the staff was very friendly. It has a good location in regards to subway.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.9
    Room is clean and the size is also
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good but it is too remote

    Room is clean and the size is also

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.1
    I liked staying in the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some of the staff couldn't speak english.

    I liked that it was a quiet place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel but poor international breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ordinaly coffee, cheese or ham at breakfast

    River environment was nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast and location viz a viz to price of property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    4.4
    Just okay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good

    Not a great place to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could improve - to include western travelers.

    Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    The hotel is clean and very good collocate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard to find people who speek English

    The hotel is clean and very good collocate

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.2
    Not worth the price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard, check in was sloppy, breakfast is not so edible. Basically just a glorified hanting but triple the price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    4.0
    Ac wasnt working
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was so small Very bad smell Non coopertaive staff Only chinies speakers

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.4
    Decent.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff is not helpful but smily.

    Poor service level maybe because of the measurement of service is very different.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.3
    Coffee is lousy , food is not nice at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee is lousy , food is not nice at all. Room card not working for most of client .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    The steam food is cold.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The steam food is cold. The coffee is very light.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Quite and clean
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite and clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    6.7
    Price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner carpets needed

    Price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    All
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.3
    Will come again
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. All was OK

    Close to a good shopping centre & not very far from Hongqiao station & airport

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    5.0
    Hotel very far location from city area and airport
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    in central city area

    Hotel very far location from city area and airport

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    6.7
    Horrible breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.4
    near the mtr, longde is the nearest for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast ive been eating sausage for my entire stay.

    near the mtr, longde is the nearest for me.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Will stay here on next visit to shanghaialways
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's cleanliness the staff being so helpful getting me cabs at the right time stay was lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.8
    Close to public transport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovation near my room

    Close to public transport

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    break fast was good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    break fast was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice location at 5 block of the metro station, there is a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    English language is very poor

    Nice location at 5 block of the metro station, there is a Carrefour supermarket at 2 blocks.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.0
    good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hotel is no-smoke hotel,but room stinks cicarette like hell.

    good location.near metro

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    3.3
    Air conditioner were not working so had to cancel the stay...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner were not working so had to cancel the stay after 2nd day and moved to another hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable but in the middle of Hongqiao and Shanghai Centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast could be better - continental

    Generally very good service

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.1
    Relatively satisfied with the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Employee attitude

    Clean room, fully equipped hotel, free breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    2.5
    This Holiday In express doesn't seem to be it. I chose by hotel chain and I am so disapointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    7.1
    The hand soap dispenser in the bathroom was broken.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hand soap dispenser in the bathroom was broken. Room 538

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.1
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are not nice at all.

    Location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    7.1
    clean rooms, good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    far from the subway station, nothing really around of the hotel, staff are not so helpful (asked to call a taxi, they didn't want to call for us)

    clean rooms, good service

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    7.9
    It's near to Subway but no shops or anything near to...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast option to add vegetarian option. The hotel has no shops or restaurant near by..

    It's near to Subway but no shops or anything near to hotel. Breakfast Menu is vast but little vegetarian should have been added value as we both were vegetarian. Staff speaks english so it's nice.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    7.1
    - Good location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - bedclothes wasn't changed over 8 days our staying; - towels were dirty.

    - Good location; - Good breakfast; - Helpful staff; - There is a big supermarket near the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    2.5
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything.The staff does not speak English.The breakfast was terrible.The room was cracked with plaster mold on the walls. This hotel from chain Holiday Inn is it? Who gives this categorization and what criteriais are?

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.2
    Its proximity to The Metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I thought that although the breakfast times were excellent, that there could have been a little more variety in the Chinese Breakfast! (However, I am NOT complaining about what I ate there on the two occasions I had breakfast there!)

    Its proximity to The Metro. Also proximity to supermarkets (including Carrefour), restaurants, liquor outlets etc. I liked the quiet location and the river nearby. I took many photos of the entire area as (even for a city) I thought it was 'picturesque'! The young ladies at reception were friendly, welcoming, efficient and attended to a few of my particular requests by having the issues sorted very quickly and without the hint of a fuss!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    7.9
    The room was clean, smelled clean, and was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location while close to a metro station is not the greatest. It makes it hard to get taxi service in the mornings. If you asked them to help call a taxi in the mornings they wouldn't even try, they would just say "it is impossible" which is frustrating. They do not have a car service at this location. We have stayed at other Holiday Inn Express hotels in Shanghai and they had car service available for hire for their guests but this one does not.

    The room was clean, smelled clean, and was comfortable. Even though the bed was a bit small for a double bed in China, it was comfortable and clean as well. There was free breakfast with the room which was good but could have been better. There was always someone at the desk who spoke enough English to be able to help you and most of the desk staff were friendly.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    7.1
    Overall good impression.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not quite as 'plush' as the photos might suggest, but still a pleasant hotel.

    Overall good impression. I choose this only because there was a chance of something near a Western breakfast.[Not that I dislike Eastern food] cnn available on tv. Pick-up available to Metro If you're walking from hotel. From Longde road Metro take line 2 exit [Don't walk over the bridge] follow the road round to the left by the river -a ten min. Walk or so to the hotel.Watch out for the silent bikes!

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    6.7
    I specifically required one queen size bed for my family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I specifically required one queen size bed for my family. After they checked in to the hotel, I left. And I went to meet up with them the next day and they seemed really tired, I couldn't help but wonder what's wrong. My mom told me that they didn't sleep well last night because the bed was weird. The hotel put two single bed together, which was very uncomfortable. Where is my family's big bed. I don't think I'll ever book it again.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.3
    -comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    -no minibar, fridge in the room

    -comfy bed -location, close to metro, restaurants -simple but very good rooms - aircon worked good and quiet -free wifi and breakfast (it is basic, but good) -quick check in/check out

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    6.7
    The Price and the quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Breakfast is not convenient for Europeans. Only Toast, salted(!) butter, orange marmelade and simple cornflakes is at choice. Maybe for Chinese is better, but for my opinion there was also a small range. And after 9:30 am they don´t fill up the buffet. In the Rooms you can hear everything though that walls.

    The Price and the quiet location. But if you want more action (bars, restaurants and so on) then this is the wrong location. In the proximity is nothing recommendable to eat or drink.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    8.3
    -Clean rooms, good WLAN
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    -Clean rooms, good WLAN -Competent reception with good english knowledge -Close to Metro Station -Good chin. breakfast but also suited for western people (Toast, Jam, Scrambled Eggs) -Excellent price-performance ratio Thumbs up!

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    6.3
    Room booked through your site was better than the room given...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Night shift front desk staff were not courteous....hotel has no standards when giving rooms amenities...breakfast not up to par with Holiday Inn Express standards elsewhere

    Room booked through your site was better than the room given to us booked through a tour operator...subway near the hotel easy to get around...clean and comfortable rooms....housekeeping very helpful

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    5.0
    Dear sir ,
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Dear sir , This is not at holiday inn stander. It's ( AC ) good working.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    8.0
    The staff was very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There are no stores within walking distance. Had to take a taxi everywhere.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    6.7
    Very helpful staff with decent English.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room wasn't always cleaned properly. Towels weren't changed.

    Very helpful staff with decent English.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    9.6
    good location great price for downtown shanghai
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    good location great price for downtown shanghai

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    9.2
    Short walking distance to Subway Station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not many shops nearby

    Short walking distance to Subway Station. Good price

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    7.5
    Quiet and pleasant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room a bit damp.

    Quiet and pleasant location. Underground station nearby.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    7.5
    room too hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    room too hot

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    7.5
    Room big ,comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Distance to Metro No Taxi available Water pressure very bad Breakfast lousy

    Room big ,comfortable

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.9
    The receptionist were very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The receptionist were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Wi-Fi signal was not so good, little instability

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    8.3
    -location
    • Business trip
    • Group

    -no fridge for drinks

    -location -comfy bed -complimentary breakfast -wifi in room

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    5.8
    Very basic room - nothing really fancy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast can be better Though it was on budget

    Very basic room - nothing really fancy

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    4.6
    old room,
    • Solo traveller

    old room, in general a bit neglected from Holiday Inn you should expect more poor breakfast and already could at 9:00am

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    7.5
    all staffs very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    all staffs very friendly

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    6.7
    Quiet location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not convenient for tourists; maintenance of furniture were not good.

    Quiet location.

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: