Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Guangdong Victory Hotel

No.53, Shamian North Street, Li Wan, 510130 Guangzhou, China

#42 of 555 hotels in Guangzhou

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1123 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No sign explaining on why the conservatory area closed but looked like rain damage. If the conservatory is open would be a nice place to get causal meals or a drink. No room service menu.

    The West building was a good choice. It is 300m away from the main hotel but we did use facilities at the main hotel. The conservatory area which is beautiful was taped off. Hotel staff were just terrific. The balcony was a great refuge from the rain. Shamian is a gem that is being restored. The hotel is a short walk to the Huangsha Metro Station and the very smart Metropolitan Plaza (great shopping and restaurants). We went to the Orient Express restaurant on Shamian - surprisingly fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - West Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets are desperate for replacement. Breakfast was adequate but boring. At least one staff member should speak reasonable English. We also had to as for coffee every day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was dismal. On one day a covered [ non-heated ] tray contained a mound off congealed over-cooked eggs. The orange slices were dry as was the bread.

    Very good, fast and friendly check-in and out. The room was good size and quite well equipped. The location is an easy walk from two MTR stations and also a ferry and the main pedestrian street

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was so so

    Location was good , beautiful view from the balcony. Perhaps you should only rent the room without the balcony , not because it is cheaper but because there is no mean to use a balcony when the weather is scorching hot and the it's west. Staff is polite and speaks good English. they are very willing to help. Room clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel getting abit tired poor english from the staff..breakfast was meant to be on untill 10:30 went diw2n at 10:15 everything cold and being packed up

    Great location away from the hustle and bustle of Guangzhou Shamian island was great..also balcony room is good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - West Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A minor point - the hallways are a bit dark.

    Great breakfast (Chinese and Western) served in a large airy atrium, including lots of fresh fruit, eggs cooked to order, and good coffee. I had a hand-written card and tasty cake delivered to my room without asking: the staff had worked out it was my birthday from my passport! A very nice touch. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - West Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed during the Canton Fair for four nights. Booked the West wing that is supposed to be better than the East wing. But it needs to be refurnished! Old and tired! No lamps next to the bed, the light switches are connected with no logic in strange places. The ceiling lights only. Overpriced.

    The breakfasts are very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows are old fashioned so plenty of noise gets into a room and passers by get noisier (intoxicated?) as the evening progresses. Early morning cars will wake you up. Inside courtyard may be a better choice for early sleepers but then you will be waken up by Staff banging wares in preparation for breakfast

    Decent breakfast, feel of the times gone by in the hotel and vicinity. Non smoking room didn’t smell with cigarettes (as the usual 3 star hotel in China). Plenty of good dining options around

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toaster did not work despite repeated daily requst 4 days Booked large taxi for 4 adults and ports to go to aid and did not get one..

    Good choice of food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room - East Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big room, lots of space to put my stuff as I hate living out of my suitcase. Not a lot of traffic on the roads, but had no problem geettign taxies. Nice resturants in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed curved in and our child got attacked by mosquitoes in the night. First mosquitoes we have seen in Guangzhou this year.3

    The location was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfasts awful. Food potentially good but not kept properly warm. Toaster in west building doesn't work properly and pastries stale in both east and west buildings.

    Shamian Island is wonderful base

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - West Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location in a historic area. 5 minutes walk to subway and large mall & eating places. Friendly, helpful staff. Spacious, clean, comfortable room. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located right on Shamian Island. There are two different locations, one for the east building, and one for the west building. Staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed in the West Building, with a balcony. The balcony was nice, but it was quite loud on the streets at night. Breakfast was mediocre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room - East Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    West building’s breakfast toaster simply doesn’t work!!! They should replace this as it is useless. West building’s pastries seemed stale - breakfast food was potentially good - but much didn’t seem ‘fresh’. Sorry!

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - West Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to the Shamian Island is difficult for those coming by public transport.

    We were lucky to get a very good deal with Booking.com, so stayed at this delux hotel at a very good rate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room - East Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms are a little bit old (even if it is in historical building). The view from our room is limited because the window is small and cannot be open (east building). The hotel is quite crowdy (lobby, restaurants) because is very touristic so if you look for quiet place is not the best. TV has international and chinese channels but the reception quality is not very good.

    The location is in a very nice place where we can walk and visit. The hotel is safe and has a good lobby service It has also swimming pool,gym and 2 restaurants (Chinese and Western). The room provides, scale, umbrella, safe bathrobe and quality bath products

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Business Double Room - East Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mix up at reception, they wanted to charge us for a meal at the hotel restaurant despite never setting foot on that floor. Someone probably mis-read or used our room no. to order a meal? The mix-up was solved but still shouldn't there be signed documentation requested by restaurant staff? Didn't like being accused & questioned as though we were lying.

    Great location, Shamian is lovely neighbourhood. Comfortable room & beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - West Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the room as I was overlooking the highway. The staff was kind enough to propose me another room when I called them at 10pm to ask ear plugs (they did not have) but as my daughter was already sleeping, I could not move.

    Great location on Shamian island. Rooms are very clean and have very everything you need for your stay. You should ask for a quiet room, not on the highway as they are very noisy. The hotel also have a kids room and offer a western breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast, both western food and asian food were very substandard. disappointing as we have never encountered poor breakfast food in hotels throughout asia.

    room and location was excellent. staff was fantastic and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the hotel restaurant there was some language problems and service delay.

    For a foreigner the Shamian island might be the best area to stay overnight in Guangzhou - a quiet, safe and clean place in a crowded city... I like Guangdong Victory Hotel in Shamian also. It’s a traditional old British style hotel. I have visited this hotel couple of times before. There is a difference in the quality of rooms in this hotel. This time my room did feel timeworn and uncomfortable. I couldn’t adjust the room temperature and there was cold in the nighttime. My room was clean anyway and the bed was good. Bathroom was nice and everything was working well there. All people in reception and business center I met did speak English well and had a good service attitude.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - West Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are two buildings. One is newer than the other. You can ask to be located in a specific building when booking.

    Luxurious hotel with amazing location in shamian (island that used to host western embassies and companies in the XIX and XXth century). Very nice architecture. Quiet neighborhood, you really feel like you are in a small city somewhere in the south of France. Friendly and helpful staff (English speaking). Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double or Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only few personal members were speaking English, but most were trying to help. Strange opening hours ( closing quite early in the evening) for their Chinese restaurant - at least until you realised these are the normal Chinese customs - but food is excellent

    Perfect location on the quiet Shamian Island, with easy access to subway.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - West Building
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    We stayed at Victory West. The room was nice and the breakfast was good. The staff was very polite and most spoke good English. We loved staying on Shamian Island. There are plenty of restaurants and shops within walking dictance. We ate at the cheap noodle shop just around the corner from Victory East several times. The ladies at Amy’s Place and Michele’s Place are very nice and speak great English. The plaza was a little crowded on the weekend but very beautiful. Late evening and night you can walk along the Pearl River and see the buildings across the river lit up and watch the tour boats cruse back and forth. The mall is just across the canal and street by taking the pedestrian bridge with more restaurants and stores. We would love to have been able to spend more time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a great hotel if it is what you are expecting but it needs refurbishing. Sometimes it is a little difficult to get a taxi to and from depending on the time of day.

    This hotel is in a very pleasant part of Guangzhou and the rooms with balcony’s in the west wing are very comfortable. Breakfast is ok. Easy to change money close by and not bad shipping within walking distance. Nice park and the river close by .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - West Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) There are two buildings with two separate entrances and checkins that are quite a distance from each other. Nothing in the hotel information on line on Booking.com or other sources warns you about this (they tell you that there are two buildings but not that they are not close to each other). I arrived late - 1130pm after a long flight. I got off at the main entrance (East Building) to be told I was in the other building and that there was no staff to help me get there. I had to schlep some 10 minutes down the road with my luggage to get there. No "Sorry sir", no "can we help sir". It was just "You have to take your luggage to the other entrance." 2) There is only the breakfast restaurant at the West Building. And on several days there was not even any coffee at breakfast and the buffet dishes were mostly cold. Also, the hotel info in the room says that the restaurant is open until 7pm but it is not. It closes before lunch. 3) Staff were helpful but generally a little surly. Not a whole lot of smiles to start off the day or at any time of the day. Not to mention (again) point #1 above.

    The room itself was very nice. Comfortable bed, clean, nice location. Overall, the location is fabulous. Shamian is probably the most interesting part of Guangzhou and easy to get to. The historic building is beautiful and the hotel does a nice job of working with the old architecture.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything about this hotel.

    The rooms were very neat, staff very friendly and helpful even when their English was alittle hard to understand.Theirbreakfast menu was rich in variety.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - West Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The subway was quite distant, 12-15mins walk? 2. The room was stuffy, I assume it's because of the old carpet that seems to have been there for a century now. 3. We were told we were in the east wing, but our room was on the west wing. We had to take our luggages from one building to another which was relatively distant, and coming from a long flight, that was unacceptable (neither was any help offered for the transfer). 4. The food served in the breakfast seem to have been a few days old. The bacon? Perhaps, a week. The tables and chairs were insufficient, and a lot of guests had their breakfast standing up.

    Arriving 20 minutes before the start of the new year, we were given a complimentary 'upgrade'. This was also simply because the room we booked was no longer available despite the reservation. The hotel is located in a posh area with Victorian buildings around, and a nice park just 2 minutes away. The bathroom was nice, and probably the only really good part about this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast became boring on the second day, always the same. No varities of Dim Sum. A variaty could be expected in Guangzhou, the city of Dim Sum! The other hot meals were mostly cold, no warming plates or stoves below. Bad artificial taste of the small cakes which were several days old and the cookies. The coffee cups too small.

    The location is absolutely fantastic on Shamian Island. I stayed in the old Westwing Building. The next Metro station is accross the bridge towards the town, but still in walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in the West Building -- charming old architecture, balcony, a quiet and restful neighborhood. Price included a good breakfast, taken in a comfortable interior court.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool "closed over winter" not mentioned. Weather hot so would have appreciated the opportunity.

    Great Bed, Purified drinkable water tap in bathroom, great restaurant next door.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deposit requested was outrageous for no mini bar stocked in room. Staff on door lobby rarely opened door - poor service. Traffic noise all night from nearby freeway

    Breakfast had a good variety of options. Balcony was ok but construction going on outside so not a relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double or Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Washroom can be improved. For example, not able to change the flow of water easily (from bathtub tap to shower head).

    Location. Connected rooms. Friendly staff. Clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double or Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could not arrange for a taxi for us to take to the nearest metro. As a result we had to tow our luggage by hand from the hotel to the huangsha metro pwhich was very exhausting but we did it anyway as we could’nt afford to miss our flight.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff need to improve their attitudes. The carpets are in desperate need of replacing or cleaning. No wifi in the Hotel as it will not connect. Breakfast is a health hazard as some foods reappear day after day without changing the bowls. The food gets re heated. The wallpaper in the dinning room is falling off the walls and this has been noted on our last visit.

    it is only the location that brings me back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - West Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were moved to the west building which I did not know when I booked..... and our room was located on the third floor on the side of a very busy road unfortunately not a good night sleep.

    Hotel is on a great location. Rooms are not big but clean and enough space. Coffee and tea making facilities! Very nice breakfast. Free shuttle bus at six o’clock in the evening to the quay where the boats leave for a trip on the river!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast finishes at 10am. A bit earlier than we thought.

    We have booked a Double Bedroom with balcony in the West Bldg (comparatively quieter than the East Bldg) for my family of three (incl. one toddler) with room rate around CNY920 (excl. tax) for 2 nights with free breakfast. The room size is spacious for us. The Staff are generally polite. The room services is quick. I found inconsistency in the stay policy in different websites (e.g. Agoda) that child below 12 also needs to pay extra, but Booking.com specifies that no charge is incurred if child below 12 and uses existing bedding. Perhaps the Mgr can check. We tried the Chinese Restaurant in the East Bldg. There are two queues: One for Dim Sum and Another One for Lunch Meal. When we arrived around 11.30am, there were only tables available for lunch. We ordered 3 dishes. The first two dishes arrives in 10 mins. The fish came in 30 mins later. perhaps it was freshly made. Quality and Taste are satisfactory and better than the street side restaurants. But the dim sum on next tables look nicer. Definitely will try next time. We had an unpleasant experience with fake notes which the Receptionist remind us how it happened in Guangzhou. We took a taxi at night and the taxi driver swap our 100 CNY notes with a fake note! The taxi driver simply asked us to change another one! This part could have ruin the whole trip. But thanks to the Receptionist's reminder. Perhaps, they could remind the customers when they check-in. Highly recommend to stay in this hotel. It's value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - West Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in corridor looks tired Expecting us to pay a deposit in case we used room service-unecessary as total value of soft drinks in fridge negligible in comparison to what we were asked to pay . We refused as 3000RMB was outrageous

    Good breakfast choices Helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have always found the internet to be less than reliable here, it could be quicker.

    I have stayed here many times over the years and find the hotel good value for money. It is handy to all the places I need to visit and there are many good quality restaurants near-by. The historical location on Shamain Island is ideal for walking around in the evenings.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - West Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I'd suggest the hotel could host a bar/lounge area for guests to relax, meet friends/colleagues and enjoy a glass of wine, plate of snacks, coffee or whatever. A little thing but one easy for the hotel to remedy - the toaster at breakfast was painfully slow. Another improvement would be to enhance the corridors leading to the rooms - with shabby carpeting, they are a bit gloomy. Otherwise I found the hotel to be a thoughtful and comfortable spot.

    The rooms were spotlessly clean with extremely comfortable beds, crisp, fresh linen and a thoughtful provision of good personal accessories. The breakfast was ample with a generous range of food to choose from. Most importantly, the staff were gently courteous, kind and helpful. The hotel has good wifi. Shamian Island is a delight. Guangzhou overall is an understated tourist destination - there is so much more to explore than I'd expected. It offers up some truly beautiful sights and experiences. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Note that there are two buildings which can cause confusion when arriving, but either location on the island is good. Avoid canton fair dates to keep room rates at normal prices

    Location in shamian Island, which is full of beautiful colonial buildings, easy walking to restaurants and shops

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast in the Western restaurant is good, but a bit overpriced. The Chinese restaurant, although quite good, should not offer shark fins.

    Nice, beautiful and comfortable hotel in a great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some people may describe the hallway carpets and some of the wallpaper as 'tierd', but we don't fuss too much - its part of the charm. The balcony rooms also amplify street sounds. Again, the sound of conversation and laughter is a bonus - and people go to bed reasonably early in China.

    I've stayed at this property many times now and keep returning, partcularly to the West 'wing' - which has rooms with outside balconies and is closer to the Shamian Street boulevard with gardens and pedestrian priorities (you can still use the facilities in the more business oriented East block including the rooftop pool). The room and breakfast package is extraordinary value, with a great variety of Chinese and western options buffet style and a cook to wrangle the eggs to your taste. The balcony rooms have comfortable beds, a large bathroom - which takes up half the room (with good vanity and separate bath, shower and toilet spaces), useful storage and practical work - with desk computer (XP)!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk staff could have been a little bit more helpful in regards to local activities and where to find things. It took a while to figure out where to catch the red double-decker sightseeing bus, for example.

    Shamian Island is gorgeous, and this hotel is the perfectly priced piece of luxury in the middle of all the action. I was able to check in early for free after a red-eye flight, and the soft bed was exactly what I needed to catch a few more hours of sleep in the morning. It's very close to the metro, though the metro from the airport is long (nearly an hour) and very crowded, even in the early morning on a Saturday. The hotel also graciously stored my bags for free for an entire afternoon and called me an airport taxi on the day I was supposed to leave.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plan of the room is so and so. I can not understand why so many hotels are opening up between bed and bathroom. When you go to toilet no privacy and when taking shower it gets humid in the room. Especially when both shower and toilet only has a curtain instead of door, we don’t like. Far from the canton fair.

    Hotel is nice and charming. Surrounding is nice. Beds are good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Best price for value if you want to stay on shamian island. Old colonial building with lots of charm, which is a nice change from your usual soul-less fancy chain hotel. As an old building, don't expect top notch or brand new facilities but there is way enough for a business traveler to be comfortable. Overall I recomment!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - West Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got a room in the Dependance a few hundered meters from the main building. This means that all nice Pictures from the booking site are not valid. Facilities in this buiding are pour. No bar, no Restaurant. Filling of Minibar consist of one can of beer and two cans Soda. Breakfast is sufficient but not overwelming. A deposit is requested wich is more than the price of the room, not verry customer friendly.

    The surroundings of the Hotel are nice for a walk during daytime. However at evening the area is quite desolate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View-West Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel, at least the West Wing, is a bit tired. It's a pity because the building is beautiful. It's a bit like the E & O at Penang and the BellaVista at Macau before they were resurrected. It needs love and money to become an attractive, atmospheric alternative to the glitzy modern competitor "White Swan" just down the road. Query however whether the volume of tourist trade would support two up-market hotels.

    Historic building in charming area of Guangzhou. Upper levels of staff were helpful given the obvious language barrier. To their credit they had some words of English, even if few. To our discredit we had not a word of Cantonese. We unintentionally created some confusion by checking out before our appointed time. Once he understood, the check-out clerk was helpful and sympathetic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in a room with balcony and it was magical. The balcony and chairs/table were very clean and made for a lovely relax spot. The room was spacious and clean, the bathtub was especially comfy. The whole building was quiet and clean,The staff very friendly and helpful. I was in a bit of an hurry so I took breakfast quickly but it was very varied. The Shamian area is gorgeous too, worth a visit!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This historical hostel is wonderful with great breakfast, the room has nice design n the bathroom made u feel rekax n the balcony is adorable! We must be back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double or Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Best area to stay within Guangzhou, metro station only hundreds meters from the hotel, lots of beautiful old buildings with breath taking history on the island, close to old market and shopping mall as well, very good restaurants in walking distance. Roof top pool was a pleasant bonus after a busy day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double or Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A beautiful view from the roof pool.

    The victory hotel was built over 100 years ago by the British. All around the hotel there are reminders of the colonial influence. Some may hate this, but in general, almost everybody loves it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double or Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window was not soundproof; you could hear a lot of noise from the street.

    We really like the location, it's lovely to stroll around the Shamian island in the evening. It's also more peaceful than in the city center. The room was basic, but comfortable. The staff were helpful. It's a good value for money for sure.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double or Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked the room for 1 adult and my two young children, there was only one other bed that they had to share. Also the breakfast was very expensive compared to every other hotel I stayed in in China.

    The area was nice and I slept well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got off to a poor start because the receptionists English was poor and she couldn't communicate what was required to check in and she would continually break off her conversation with me to deal with a loud drunken guest who frequently interrupted. In seemed she was asking for 1500 yuan as a deposit and the entire bill to be paid in advance. This is something that should be communicated by Booking.com or the hotel prior to our arrival! Because the receptionists English was below standard it was confusing, Eventually a manager had to be summoned from the other hotel to explain that what they actually needed was a credit card approval not fully paid, and they eventually downgraded the deposit to 600 yuan. I asked what this was for and they said to cover mini bar etc, which was laughable considering there was next to nothing in the mini bar. A coke, a lemonade and one small beer. There is no tourist information in the rooms or at reception, there isn't even a proper pamphlet to explain the hotels facilities, no maps or helpful local hints etc. There wasn't an iron provided until we rang and asked for one. There is also no bar or restaurant in the west wing which is very inconvenient for tired travellers who arrive in the evening, three stars at best

    Terrible American style bread which has the texture and taste of cake

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double or Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    The standard rooms are kind of small. No shuttle service to the city. Inconvenient working hours of the restaurants.

    The allure of the old turn- of -the- century(19/20)-Guangzhou and the better days one can suspect the Hotel has seen. The only green spot in the town adequate for the former colonialists having to live in the town. The solid furniture pieces, the spotless linen and the majestic Chinese chic of the Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double or Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - it ticked all our boxes.

    The hotel location on "the island" was a walk through old colonial times, the hotel(s) are situated perfectly amongst this nostalgia. The area is busy with pedestrian traffic and locals enjoying the parks and open spaces. The hotel itself was very accommodating, roomy with a good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was very humid, probably because there was quite a big gap between balcony door and doorstep. Poor shower.

    Balcony was nice, although the floor was dirty. Good location, 10 min walk to two metro stations. Staff not polite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double or Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was not very close to the subway which made it hard for us to travel to the airport. Also, because there are two locations very close to each other, our driver had a tough time finding it and ended up dropping us at the wrong one. It is also hard to get back to the hotel if you pass it because it is on a one way street.

    The hotel is beautiful, as were the rooms. The room was updated and decorated very nice. Everything was very clean and it was very convenient that they have a 24 hour front desk. The location is also great because the area around the hotel is very nice for walking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Avoid room 8201. Balcony looks to the neighbouring Starbucks's back wall. Dirty, noisy, totally useless. Mosquitos in the room, not easy to sleep, in the morning blood patches on te linen. Receptionist didn't understand the terms 'twin room' and 'double room'.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like that the pool was at the other property and their was a charge for a baby crib.

    I really liked the history and architecture of the hotel. The kids playroom was perfect for our 2 year old son. It is perfect for young children! The breakfast was perfect for our family, nothing fancy and very Chinese. The hotel is in a great location to explore and there is plenty to do around it. Lastly, I really enjoyed looking at all the old photographs of the city throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - West Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really. Very good value for the money

    Very good breakfast, close to Metro for airport. Large shopping complex across the road, park and river short distance from Hotel. Staff very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - West Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is ok and I will stay there again. There isn't a bar in the wing that I stayed in but there is one in thw other building. The pool is also in the other building.

    The hotel is in the old British concession from before the Revolution. It was originally the Hong Kong Shanghai Banking Corporation (HSBC) building. It has a nice breakfast and is relaxing place to be. It is more a place to relax and has nice walks around to building. Shop for souviniers and small antiques in Susan's atvthe end of the main walking park street. It is a nic pleace to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Business Double or Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel had a weird smell of old carpet or stale carpet smell at the lobby and hallways. Staff were uncooperative and distant. They are not trained about customer service or basic etiquette. Difficult to spontaneously grab a taxi at its location as not much traffic flows there. Do not ask the hotel staff for help or information. They seem to make things up and the information is inaccurate. Mosquitoes were flying around the lobby. I had read good reviews about Victory Hotel but realized that I had booked the wrong one- there are two in the same location (Victory East Wing and Victory West Wing). I had booked East Wing on Booking on a promotional rate and was not allowed to cancel after realizing my mistake (as I would be charged the full fare). Rather misleading that both are placed on one page in Booking.com when they're literally two very different hotels on two different streets- we visited the West Wing (located in a different building a short walk away from the East Wing) and it is more of a boutique hotel. Definitely will not recommend the East Wing to anyone nor come back to this hotel.

    Walking distance to Shamian. A very pretty part of Guangzhou that I've not seen before. It's a heritage area clustered with colonial architecture and lovely garden landscaping. The hotel room was clean, small (for China standards), well equipped, cosy and comfortable for a nights stay- far contrast from the hotel lobby decor (cold, uninviting, sparse). Around the corner of the hotel is a nice local noodle shop called ''natural healthy noodle' something or rather. Would recommend it if you're after authentic local food instead of the fancy western bar/ restaurant setup. There's also a promising vegetarian restaurant down the road- we didn't have time to try.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Double or Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damp smell. Not sure if it was from the river or not. No sugar for hot drinks

    Good location, decent staff and they speak fair English. There was a damp smell in the property though, not sure if it was from the smelly river running in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best place to stay in Guangzhou, very quite and relaxing atmosphere of the Shamian island. The hotel is excellent, my first and only choice when travel to Guangzhou.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are 2 sections to this hotel, and the walk between them is quite a long one.

    The rooms with spacious balconies are a real treat in China. Lovely ambiance. Lovely to sit and sip a morning coffee out doors. The location is spectacular for exploring and understanding the history of Guangzhou.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double or Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We weren't sure if our English was always understood...

    Great hotel, awesome location for us with our business dealings - we could walk and it was awesome Some nice eating places around the hotel too

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - West Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom should really be equipped with a tub.

    The location is really good, by the river, on a small island, close to a subway station, with all colonial archetecture around. The building itself is elegant and nicely cared for. Room is small, but cozy, with a good view from the window.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double or Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting was hard to figure out, my keys didn't work the first time, and the VAT taxes are not disclosed in the price, and it made the room about 50 RMB more expensive than I anticipated.

    The beds WERE extra comfy. View from the hotel overlooked a nice garden, and the location is great; quiet alleyways, European style architecture, cafes, parks - lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff can do better job cleaning the floor. Odd reflective non-mirror fixture in shower stall that was unsettling. Bathroom doesn't dry easily if you get it wet, so potentially dangerous.

    Location. Beautiful historical building with very heigh ceiling. Tub.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - West Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a bathtub, but the water wasn't hot enough to be comfortable. The shower water was fine though. Some rooms look into the atrium and not outside. But it's not that big of a deal.

    This hotel is great. In my opinion the best location in Guangzhou. It's on Shamian Island and Shamian is beautiful. Walking the tree-lined streets in the evening or early morning is a treat. I've stayed here three times even though I live in the city just to get away. Rooms are reasonably priced and the beds are very comfortable. I bring my daughter who is three years old and we walk around, visit the fish market just off Shamian, go swimming in the pool, watch Disney movies, etc... The room I booked had a few small carpet tacks that were dangerous and painful to step on, so they upgraded our room, which was nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - West Building
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if front desk staff could speak more English.

    I loved the architecture of the building. The food and staff were great. We loved the location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - West Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at the reception desks had very little English, which made communication difficult, and the attitude of some staff was less than helpful I thought. One honourable exception was Cherry, who had better English and really made an effort to help with my travel arrangements.

    The hotel is large, well positioned, with an air of slightly faded European grandeur that rather suits Shamian Do. The balcony room I had was large and well appointed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double or Twin Room - East Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very crowded.on weekend and public holidays,otherwise very quiet on weekdays, Restuarant very popular and have wait for seating

    Quiet location,5 minutes to Pearl River,.Good Restaurant famous for Quail and fresh seafood,opposite from hotel is the big Herb wholesale market,Liwan district famous for Dim Sum and big shopping Plaza, and beautiful river walk and river cruises.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Guangdong Victory Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: