Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

No. 505 Jiujiang Road, Huangpu, 200001 Shanghai, China

#32 of 791 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1340 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything in the hotel is a bit worn. Wifi isn't free.

    Room was spacious and service is fast. Free water daily. Bed super comfy and the location is prime. Lots of food options inside and around the hotel. Walking distance to the bund and other attractions and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent Location, Spacious Room but Not Enough Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some staff are not kind enough. When I checked in, a woman receptionist asked me to come but she started to talk more than two minutes in a phone without proceeding my check-in. Later, a different man in the check-in counter finished it instead. She did not express any 'sorry' to me, neither 'during' nor 'after.'

    Excellent location. Spacious room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    10
    Location nice stuff good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a Vip visit in the hotel for 3 days so each enterance I had to pass security check like before taking a flight. onetime the staff even kept me outside for about 30 min. I think the hotel should inform the guests while booking on any change such as this one.

    Location nice stuff good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    6.7
    They put me in a room I had not registered.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They put me in a room I had not registered. They said they were full, but room was same price. It was a bit like a broom closet. Changed after 2 nights, but charged same price for smaller room, without features that were on booking.com booking.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    6.3
    Bad moment in Shanghai.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we stay 4 nights and the hotel have an international meeting which need to examine all guest and every items in hotel by a huge of policeman.The hotel did not inform us before what will happen so all guest were scared .One night there were 5 men knock my door and want to be in my room for security check .It was my bad experience i never met in China hotel .

    so so

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    6.3
    Did not meet expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facilities are fairly dated and the lobby is poorly designed so that you are hit by food smell when you arrive. The staff were not particularly friendly. There are fair better hotels in Shanghai.

    The location is great and the hotel is clean and tidy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    10
    Surprisingly hotel so big and clean from the lobby to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing i did not like

    Surprisingly hotel so big and clean from the lobby to the room.. top notch Location is very excellent though there are other hotel right in the kiddle of the crowds.. but Grand Central is better as it is slightly away from the noise

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in tried to tell us they were on a time zone one hour behind Shanghai time so we couldn't check on on time

    Beautiful bathroom. Nice swimming pool. Very close to main Nanjing road and metro. Close to Bund

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel in great location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great hotel in great location. Near to , big famous people square, E. Nanjing Rd, & Large shopping and dining facilities. room was very spacious, clean room was very big and the bed was comfortable. It was also an easy walking distance from hotels, bars and the train station. Lobby is Great. Staff was excellent and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    10
    Nanjing east rd just around the corner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nanjing east rd just around the corner. But its quiet. You have a menu for your favourite pillow and the bed is comfortable. You get more for your money. We stayed in 4 diferent hotels in Shanghai and Grand Central is the best.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    8.3
    Busy hotel in a perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The receptionist at check in. No greetings, no explanation, no seating area, nothing than credit cards and money blocking. They request even a picture of the guests, may be imposed by the police. The most bizarre check in ever.

    Great room and location. High level of cleanless. Room furniture and amenities.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    7.9
    Cancelled my 3 future bookings !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At check in I was offered a deluxe upgrade of my booking for 300rmb which I took up. At check out this turned out to be 300rmb a NIGHT !!! and for what ? an average breakfast in the VIP lounge. When questioned suddenly no one spoke English anymore and had other things to do. No offer of a discount or refund. 300rmb a night for nothing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    9.5
    Affordable luxury,great location and most staff friendly and obliging with a great head chef .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some staff very slow to bring COLD beer and top up food which was put out at 4:30 for a 5 pm start. Some tour desk staff unable to communicate in English effectively but overall thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance and location.

    Wi Fi only works if you have a local phone. Executive package good value but the service in this area was average from some of the staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is in the middle of Shanghai close to the East...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel does provide only Wifi with a China mobile phone number to register. This was a surprise for us, even so the hotel claimed that this is a goverment requirement. We found however other places in Shanghai like Starbucks, where a registration to Wifi with an international mobile number was possible.

    The hotel is in the middle of Shanghai close to the East Nanjing road metro station. The ideal place for visiting Shanghai as tourist. It is still quite and very pleasant. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    4.2
    disappointment during my third stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Problem in my toilette room. No attention to the customer by staff even manager when a problem occurs. No policy of keeping fidelity of customers. Disappointment for this my third stay in this hotel. I may look around next time

    Position

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    7.5
    very nice hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wifi was terrible in the rooms. the gym is below standard for a hotel like this - the gym equipment is dated and rusting in areas.

    very nice hotel in a good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    6.3
    Not good...this time....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This trip I was given a room at executive floor, which didn't have a outside view...the windows were opening on the inner side and I had to keep the curtains closed on permanent basis. Secondly what was the fun of upgrading to executive floor, when I was told that I can't use any facility on that floor such as hi tea/coffee & snacks....

    I have stayed at this hotel earlier as well and the best thing about it, is its location....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    10
    Superb hotel, well worth splashing out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One small thing is that the hotel didn’t seem to enforce its no-smoking policy very thoroughly. This didn’t bother us but might be a problem for others.

    Amazing facilities and service, great location, staff extremely attentive and very helpful. Loved the pool and gym (swimming caps compulsory but they lent us some). We chose to upgrade to the executive floor which was well worth it for the inclusive breakfast, wifi and afternoon drinks buffet (which would have been quite expensive otherwise). In all, staying here made our trip!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    7.9
    Good option to stay on the business trip
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is impossible to include the breakfast payment to the hotel final bill - it is not good for the company accounting if you travel for the business (in this case the company doesn't pay for your meal - you should pay by your own).

    Very nice hotel in the centre of Shanghai. Very good location (3 metro lines 2 minutes walk), central street and all the main shopping malls (2-5 minutes walk). Cash exchange machine at the lobby. Bathroom with the bathtub and a shower. Quite high price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, good facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent location, good facilities. Business centre, gym, swimming pool were superb. Clean rooms. Good amenities, bathroom had L'occitane supplies. Breakfast is in the the central lobby in the ground floor, not the best place but still quite comfortable, good variety and freshness.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    9.2
    everything was nice, the chief of the restaurant Mr.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I lost my pass key plastic card, they charged me for that RMB 60

    everything was nice, the chief of the restaurant Mr. Manoel was nice and cooperative. he prepared special food for me when he realized that I'm Muslim.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    10
    Excellent in every aspect, great value for money, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi speed not always optimal, but that's not uncommon in mainland China.

    I am a seasoned Shanghai traveller, having visited countless times since the 2000s for business and leisure, and stayed in various 4*/5* hotels (international and national chains) near the Bund, in the Former French Concession and in Pudong. The Grand Central was a huge and pleasant surprise. Its professional and excellent service impressed. Staff not only well trained but also polite and personable: a rare find in the city even to this day. Upgraded to a quiet Executive Room on 16/F for RMB 299 per night with lovely views of the Nanjing Pedestrian Street, and was able to avail of a full breakfast and supper-like meal (5:30–7pm) at the Executive Lounge on 6/F. The hotel's excellent location and amenities are simply hard to beat. Overall, great value for money. Will definitely book again and recommend to others.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    They had some problems to find back our reservation, it took...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    They had some problems to find back our reservation, it took some time, but as a compensation, we got an upgrade to the executive floor and rooms. very well appreciated. Superb location: 500 m from The Bund, 500 m from People's Square.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    9.6
    It's enjoyable and the staff was just brilliant and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is just average. It could have been better. The noodles and rice were slightly dry and tough. Shanghai has great food and it's a let down if they don't improve the first dish of the day.

    Everything except for the breakfast. The concierge was helpful with our luggage and even provided us umbrella for the raining outdoor. Appreciate that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    7.1
    Hotel has a very good location close metro station on main...
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No privacy at all. Security will bothering you each time. They control all your steps via cameras. I think cameras located in room as well.

    Hotel has a very good location close metro station on main walking street. A large rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    8.8
    High scale hotel close to every tourist attraction and the metro
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wired wifi did not work. Wireless connection was better. The noise of Shanghai enters through the not so tight window even in floor 15. Just a background noise similar to a quiet air condition fixture.

    Big room with all commodities. The bathroom is very large with an excellent shower. Night service and very clean. Lots of facilities and restaurant but did not have the time to enjoy during my business trip. The Bundt, the Yuan temple and French concession are all withing walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location.
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location. Easy access to Nanjing East Road. Swimming pool, hot bath, huge lobby and very nice restaurant everything you would expect from a five star property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had a great stay! Perfect location. Loved my spacious room on the 13th floor with lovely view, slept like a baby in the large comfy bed. And I have really enjoyed the pool and spa area. Special thank you to Tommy for the amazing foot massage and to lovely bell boy Francis. I will be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    9.6
    Great location and magnificent rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Expensive breakfast. Went across the road for a really good breakfast for a fraction of the price of Grand Central.

    Extremely clean and large room. This is the second time I've stayed here in the past year and the standard has not diminished. Great location next to Nanjing Rd East mall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.6
    Nice place , nice location , nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sometimes there is a food smell in the lobby because the restaurant is there, they should do a better air conditioning.

    the staff is very cooperative and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    8.8
    room was excellent and the location very convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i went to check in early but this was not possible which i understand. but the staff member at the reception had a poor attitude. if i had not already paid i would have gone to another hotel. when I checked in I avoided him and went to someone else.

    room was excellent and the location very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When you need to use a business center you have to pay a fee. This is different from the rest of the business center policy.

    Most things were comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    10
    Great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great view, accommodate staff, clean and good facility. The most important part is location. Just a minute away from the subway station, very close to important sightseeing spot which can walkaway. It was great experience. I will definitely stay again if i go to SH again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect room and location, not the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even though the food quality was good, the taste was so bad. Please don't pre-paid for the food in hotel. Hotel location is in the center of city. Go out and try a lot of Chinese famous disc.

    Room and hotel was very good and clean. Location was perfect. Price was reasonable, not over price at all. The food quality was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel, fantastic staff, fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the best hotels I’ve stayed in. Very comfortable and superb location. With incredible views of Nanjing road. The facilities are great, the rooms exceptionally comfortable and I look forward to staying there again. Staff (especially the concierge) were incredibly helpful, kind and spent a lot of time advising me and assisting me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    7.5
    Impressive hotel in a good location with classy, comfortable...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were a little difficult - sorted a late check-out on check-in but then was called just after the usual check-out time asking when I’m leaving and had to do the process again. Then cleaner was desperate to clean room while I was working despite me saying no thanks, almost had to push her back out of the door! Small annoyances but still.

    Impressive hotel in a good location with classy, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location and very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast too expensive

    Perfect location to visit the city, 5 minutes from the underground and very close to the main street. Very nice hotel and room (but not so big...).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    5.4
    Would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff rude and aggressive, marred my trip to China. Much of fitness equipment did not work. I was also charged £10 for a bottle of mineral water in room, which appeared to be complimentary . Staff were very rude about it and not understanding

    Lovely big rooms, but nightmare trying to find out which light switches turned lights on

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    Wonderful place to stay in an enchanting city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The room and the location were fabulous. It was 1 block from the main pedestrian shopping street and about 5 blocks from the Bund. The bathroom was the nicest we’ve ever had and we travel a lot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rates including breakfast are a little steep.

    Hotel is in a great location and the rooms, facilities etc are excellent. Staff are so helpful and do hospitality very well. Have stayed here a number of times with visitors and will continue to do so. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel . But shutting down your central air conditioning is big minus.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel switch off the central air conditioning when the temp outside is ard 20c. The room become stuffy. I called to complain and they told me to open the windows. I had a bad night sleep in the 1st night. After complaining the next morning , they brought me an air blower which helps abit. Thanks alot but its so ridiculous to shut down your air conditioning system .

    Nice room . Most of the things in the room are gold. The room looks expensive. Hotel lobby is nice. Opposite the hotel is Nanjing Road.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    6.7
    Some serious issues
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Despite asking .. It seems the temperature In rooms can’t be controlled. Temp in my room was 28 degrees and I needed to leave the window open. Even though the temperature outside was 20 degrees I was told it was not possible to set aircon in my room to cold. Told that aircon is set to warm only in winter/sprint months. Best they could offer was a fan 🙁 to blow the warm air around It’s also near impossible to get a taxi from the this property. Most of the concierge staff are rude and lazy. I waited 90 minutes for a taxi one morning.

    good value for money. Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    9.6
    Great 5* hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much! Breakfast is a little costly!

    Very nice hotel indeed and very good value for 5*. It is a great location just off Jiujiang street and for Shanghai it is rather brilliant! Travelled with 5 kids and 3 adults so two rooms. Pool is great too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    8.8
    All in the name - grand and central
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of organization getting taxi in the morning- not queuing or staff proactively looking for taxi in the road. Queue merges with smokers

    Location and facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay and I would definitely go back next time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi however was very poor, I can only access to wechat and nothing else.

    It was a nice surprise when they upgraded my room free of charge due to the room type I booked was sold out when I chcked in late. The hotel staff was very friendly. The toiletries they prepared was great qualities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    10
    We felt very special and looked after. We were helped to feel relaxed and recharged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing I can think of.

    We were offered a special deal on the executive floor which included breakfast which could be taken on the executive floor or downstairs and included cocktails and afternoon tea which was such a treat! The service was fantastic. I'd like to make a special mention to our maid Rebecca who was beyond lovely. She needs a promotion!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    8.8
    Heart of he city
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing..

    clean , central , smiling faces , always warm welcoming , center of the city. all possible requirements are available if you not asking too much.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    10
    Very comfortable for business travelers.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We stayed on the Executive floor which had a lounge for breakfast & dinner that was very enjoyable, quiet and convenient. As an American traveling to Shanghai all of the hotel staff went above and beyond to add comfort to my stay. I really enjoyed the atmosphere at the Grand Central. My room was VERY comfortable and I was able to accommodate a vegan diet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is perfectly located just off Nanjing Rd and close to the metro. I would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a room with two queen beds. The beds were full size and a bit tight for two people sharing a bed. The room was too hot and the A/C didn't work even on the coolest setting in mid January. For these reasons the hotel did not meet expectations or receive the highest score for comfort.

    The location was perfect. The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom was also spacious and had extra large bath towels. We tested the water for bacteria and PH levels for our daughters school science project. The results of the test were that the water was clean and good to drink.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    6.3
    Nice place, poor service, rude staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    concierge and housekeeping staff are aggressive, speak almost no English, offer poor service (lazy) and are very rude

    affordable, comfortable, good value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    9.2
    Location and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Been charged for the room to my credit card as well even thou I paid fir the rooms in Cash.. Not good fir people if they have limited amount of money in their account ! Asked the counter desk staff they said the funds will be credited to your account in 10–14 days.. That can leave lot of travellers out of budget ! No other hotel charges this through booking.com.. I have booked several hotels but never experience this situation any any other hotel in the world.. Hope I will get my money back ..

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    8.8
    A fantastic stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The one restaurant was closed and the service was slow in the coffee shop. Very inattentive waitress, had to ask for everything from cutlery, to serviettes. This was an isolated evening dinner experience. The lasagne did not seem fresh, like a pre-heated frozen one.

    Everything, it was a fabulous hotel in every way. The location was incredible.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    6.7
    Make sure you've checked all items before leaving, take pics and video or get robbed by NICK !
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    BAD staff. NICK Gao - DUTY manager. But bad cleaning staff, toilets were not cleaned even after complains. To my surprise, they got me a bill of 200 for broken TV remote which i never used. BAD experience. NICK Gao was threatening to charge my CC for this and told me clearly nothing is going to work and made me pay for this. Hence, Big NO NO to this hotel !! Only because of NICK Gao and the attitude of staff of this hotel. People like NICK Gao make such a nice Hotel BAD ! NICK Pic attached.

    Good spacious room, comfortable bed. Good location. Good Food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    9.2
    Well placed for business or pleasure
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You can't lie down and have a good wallow in the bath-tub. BTW, this isn't the hotel's fault, but the taxi ride back to the airport was terrifying. I don't think the driver had slept for 72 hours.

    Excellent room with very comfy bed and bags of space. It's location close to the Bund and the Huangpu river and the shopping areas of Nanjing Road means it is only a short hop from anywhere in Shanghai. Even the airport is on the same Metro line about 45 minutes and £0.70 away

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    7.5
    Very convenient location which very close to shopping street...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress quality was below my expectations. I can’t sleep well during my stay.

    Very convenient location which very close to shopping street and plenty restaurants

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    6.7
    I come some time in this hôtel in SHG for the position in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a real 5 star hôtel ! Service is not enough The lobby is not nice at the level off reception. Wine is véry véry BAD !! with a price véry véry up !!! The prices are too hights, i prefer others hôtel iff i want to choose a real 5 stars !

    I come some time in this hôtel in SHG for the position in the town for my business. Good hôtel for business. There is 2 hôtels CENTRAL HOTEL i prefer this one, nice view on the Nanjing Lu and the lights off Shanghai !!! Véry secure hotel now. Good idea about the smoke area outdoor off the hotel !!! The concierge is TOP !!! Swimming pool is good !! no payment iff you stay in this hôtel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good location, East nanjing street just across the street. Many restaurant around hotel. Big room and comfortable bed. The staff are helpful and speak enough english to understand. Will stay here again next i come to shanghai.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2017

    10
    Hot location, great rooms and facilities, value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complimentary breakfast.

    Amazing location right by the subway exit and the famed pedestrian shopping street. Room was huge and really cosy, and like everyone else mentioned, the bathroom was wonderful. During our stay we noticed that they cleaned the rooms twice a day (once in the morning and another time in the afternoon) - I was really impressed with this. Wifi was all right we didn't find any problems with it, and the gym deserves a shoutout - well-equipped, clean, and modern - much to our surprise (probably one of the best hotel gyms we've ever used). We loved our stay here and would definitely come back, and thank you for the sweet Christmas gift we found in our room!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    BIG room. BIG shower. 2 bottles of free drinking water everyday. Free gym center. 5 min walk to East NanJing Road Metro station with escalator (UP). East Nanjing Road just across the street. Convenience Store at the back of hotel. Helpful & polite staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    7.5
    Was very nice and clean with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price was a little high and the breakfast wasn't that great for the price.

    Was very nice and clean with helpful staff. Great location close to all the shopping and great views.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    10
    It is one of the best 5 star hotel in Shanghai with the cozy...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is one of the best 5 star hotel in Shanghai with the cozy restauran in the lobby. The location is closer to the bund as well - walking distance for about 10mins. The staff is very helpful providing information and also taxi i early morning. I did not take breakfast yet due to early check out but i think it will be gorgeous.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    4.6
    Location is okay .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff can’t communicate properly also not friendly at all . They just look for opportunity to charge you double . I did check in 7.30am and they charged me for full extra day .

    Location is okay .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    10
    Every thing was great, staffs english were good and hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Every thing was great, staffs english were good and hotel location was awesome. It is near Nanjing pedestrian street and you have access to all shopping malls. Also the Pearl Tower is just 3 km away and I really enjoyed during my stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    10
    recommend this the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No

    The room it very good , large and clean, the best location in Nanjing Road and closed to Metro line No.2 at East-Nanjing lu exit 4 or 2 it can walk to the hotel, In the morning you can running to the bund for exercise it very good view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    Very clean and well appointed rooms are very quiet which is a must when your traveling cross continent and need to sleep and relax! Very well located near everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect operation base for Shanghai HuangPu
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The taxi that was organised by the hotel was a flop: The driver was drunk and fell asleep twice on the way to the airport. I had to get my friend on the phone to shout at him in Chinese, as English didnt work. Don't let them get the taxi. I knew before, I confirmed one more time now.

    The place is a solid base for business operations in Huangpu district. No funny business like in other hotels in the region. Plain, good, straigt services. Thanks to the team, well done.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    7.5
    Very nice hotel in downtown Shanghai.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff friendlyness was lower than average, concierge a nightmare of customer care. Breakfast was overpriced with low qualiity.

    Very nice hotel in downtown Shanghai. Access to metro veru close, ideal for sightseeing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    7.9
    Good, clean room, all necessary things available in room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food... Too expensive and not tasty. Breakcfast I didn't like at all. Some staff is not so freandly.

    Good, clean room, all necessary things available in room. Very good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    9.6
    great option for shanghai
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    english proficiency could have been a bit better breakfast was very "chinese", very little western varietes

    very good location, right next to east nanjing road, and close by many restaurants in the bund concierge was helpful, rooms as spacious and very clean great spa and pool will definitely stay there next time i go to shanghai

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    9.6
    Outstanding
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Amazing, place. The staff are really smiley. Room was huge and the pool and gym are great. Classic elegance, Kind of old school but great place. Seriously

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    5.8
    Nice place but I totally don't recommend it for the staff on the whole especially front office.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The attitude of the staff very rude arrogant and are not equipped to handle guests of any stature at all. They act like we are all thieves and the attitude in general was so poor.

    The property was well furnished and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    8.8
    Treat yourself at the Grand Central Shanghai.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room(Genius)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Internet slow. China does not allow Google via hotel Wi-Fi. Outrageous prices for mini bar items.

    Location. Very spacious room - almost a suite. Good buffet breakfast and dinner. Superb foyer. Professional helpful staff. We stayed in 2014 and returned in 2017.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location. Very close to metro. 10 minutes walk to Bund. Room very well furnished. Excellent gym and pool. Great central lobby. Breakfast a bit pricey but huge choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    9.2
    Nice place
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet wasn't working in the room, only in the lobby Time spent at the reception desk could be a bit shorter (check in, check out, other business)

    Location is great, metro station Nanjing East is within few meters of the hotel. thus, pedestrian Nanjing street is also very close (as well as Peoples' square, the Bund) Rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable (though maybe a bit short for Westerners), everything is clean and well-maintained. Air-condition is working properly, it's not noisy inside, even though it's located in the center of the city. Breakfast is very good, with enough Western options, and of course plenty of Chinese food. Unfortunately i didn't have the time to visit spa

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    8.8
    Great bang for your buck!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love hotels that offer hot and cold tubs with saunas but I felt the hot and cold tubs did not seem clean -- at least, there was a unpleasant smell in the water that reminded me of sulfur -- if that's what it was then maybe I'd change my tune but I'm assuming it wasn't. This problem didn't extend to the lap pool itself.

    I liked the value for what you get. Right in the heart of Shanghai. The rooms are excellent and the amenities are befitting what one should expect in a 5-star property. The pool, and the health club amenities are always what I look for when I travel, this place has them (lap pool, sauna, steam room, hot tub, cold tub).

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Central Hotel Shanghai Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: