Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai

1288 Lujiazui Ring Road, Pudong, 200120 Shanghai, China

#37 of 802 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1173 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They couldn't find our booking and it took a while to check in. But everything was fine after that.

    Excellent location. Very comfortable room hotel facilities are amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive City View
    • Stayed 19 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym is a little outdated and poor compared to the gym I use daily.

    The hotel and staff where excellent and the standard was excellent. The staff in the executive lounge could not do enough for you and their personal service was excellent. The facility to check out and settle your account in the executive lounge made life much easier.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    price of minibar i.e. small 250 ml clear water bottle 65 Yn! dinner buffet 3x price of excellent external restaurants just opposite of hotel

    communication with staff perfect serving staff very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks are expensive even for being in a major city...£10 for a pint of beer!

    Very clean and airy. The view from our room across the river and onto the Bund was spectacular! Would definitely use this hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is not as clean as you should expect. Several stains over the moquette on the floor , living room table glass get easily dirty. Decorations (such as flowers and candles) looks quite cheap while free amenities quantities are very limired. For instance the fruit display in the room didn’t look fresh and again look quite cheap. Time to proceed with a bit of renovation and increase the quality of the set up in the executive room. Price doesn’t match with what you see...

    Staff is friendly, smily and willing to help. A special mention to the kindness and customer care level of a German enplyeee (don’t know the name) who made my check in experience very nice and warm. Also location is very convenient both for Busienss and sightseen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is comfortable an big but might be a little bit to soft for some. Check in and out times are a little bit slow (on average compared to other Hotels in China) .

    Met all expectations, our room had a view on the river and the Bund. The fitness area and swimming pool on the 30th floor are very good with stunning views over the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast place was not very good and small kitchen where they make omelet was not clean

    problem is they dont have taxi facilities and many time to ask a taxi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely comfortable, modern room with a nice view of the city and a bit of the Bund. Huge bathroom and good working area too, and the in-room dining was high quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and drink prices. Possibly normal for the location.

    It’s an experience. Location fantastic, staff very helpful generally. Red Passion lounge is stunning - light, decor, music, service, view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very minor things, such as: - gym (We expected better equipment. In comparison to other 5 star hotels, this one is average.) - we had to pay extra for the swimming cap.

    Here are some of the details that made Grand Kempinsiki stand out for us from other 5 star hotels that we stayed at: - electric sheer and blackout curtains - bathroom layout - Breathtaking view from our room (Huangpu River) and Red Passion Lounge on the 30th floor (Pearl Tower and the River) - location (a few meters away from Pearl Tower and the skyscrapers of Shanghai) - staff - 24 hour access to the gym Also, we left a souvenir from Shanghai Ocean Aquarium at our room. The Guest Relations Department was very efficient. They had it sent back to us free of charge. The hotel restaurants are located at the lower levels (1st & 2nd floor) which means there's no view. However, the staff of Acqua Italian Restaurant coordinated with Red Passion Lounge. After having our main course, Acqua brought our dessert from 2nd to 30th floor so we could enjoy the view. It was perfect. :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ..noisy room 1) rain drops on window can be heard 2) noise from elevator 3) no sound proofing, i could hear people from the next room a single occupancy room. Last time I've checked in 2012 the building was managed by Gran Melia. It seems they just took over without any improvement they even kept the same odd wall paper, furniture, tiny gym with low sailing and so on. Shame in you!

    Decent breakfast spread, bad was comfy but could Not fall asleep because ...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were lovely but there was some language barriers and it seemed their English was quite limited so it was very difficult to communicate with them. Not enough restaurants available in the hotel also they were very pricey.

    Great location. Very modern.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool

    Reception service are super good because we arrived big early to check in , but the staff to help us for early check in . Thanks for July (reception staff)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was out of service in the room #2225. We asked to fix for 3x and still couldn't work. It worked for a while and couldn't get flushed again. The solution from the staff that fixed the toilet was, don't put toilet paper inside😒. Luckily we booked another room, 2235. The toilet never had any problem.

    The breakfast, The Suntime and the Acqua. Haven't tried the Albero. Will try it tonight 😀. The city view is fantastic however I prefer Huangpu River 😍.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Exexcutive floor with uprated afternoon tea and drinks/ light meals- executive floor staff are exceptional. Location is quiet and outstanding base from which to explore the nicest parts of Shanghai

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Servic lacking of 5 star hotels No one smiled, check out staff do not provide receipt until asked, entrance staff saw me waiting for taxi but does not bother to get one for me, just continue chatting among themselves.

    Location, room size, comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival, the staff informed that the reservation made via booking.com didn't exist. After a vague explanation, front desk offered a room which, according to staff, was luckily available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too old and dirty. The shower door didn't even close all the way. The carpet was extremely dirty. The bed looked as if it was just used and I found a used pair of slippers right beside the bed. The room was cold and turnning on the heater didn't make any difference.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a terrible experience with Kempinski. The worst ever service among many 5 star hotels I have been to. They couldnt find my reservation that I made through the booking.com and let me wait about 4-50 minutes, and still didnt find it. So I gave 2600 RMB deposit per night and get a room. The next day, I found my reservation number and confirmed it. Staffs dont speak English at all, they keep pass over the phone when you call the front desk to ask for some service. There is no pro concierge service at all. When you require for a taxi, you have to wait outside and line up. Just one staff deals with all waiting customers. He uses his cell phone to call a taxi(like Chinese Uber APP) one by one. It means you have to wait untill all the customers in front of you leave with a taxi. Then they will call yours.

    housekeeping. They had the room neat and cleaned even in the late afternoon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Their 'Bank of Shanghai 'ATM sucks and doesn't allow cash withdrawals even from my Chinese Construction Bank account... Very weird. That's it though, everything else is excellent!

    Everything was excellent, this was my second time in the hotel and they never fail to make me happy. There was a bit of a mix-up with booking because I changed my room about a week before coming but they took care of it right away without any issues at all! The staff are friendly and their English is superb. The breakfast is some of the best I've had in China, the room is clean and the beds are very comfortable. Housekeeping is on point as well. Location is excellent, right on the bund with great views and very convenient located near all kinds of things you will want to see and centered in the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know it was Chinese New Year, but the number of children (and their behavior at times) in the executive lounge seemed unnecessary. Perhaps this could be a restricted area for adults?

    We chose to upgrade to the executive club room which was excellent value for money. We were also assisted by the manager on multiple occasions for suggestions on where to eat and how to spend our days - this was particularly appreciated during the middle of Chinese New Year where there were people everywhere and felt a little overwhelming at times.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Bund View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Executive lounge facilities were not always available. Staff always seemed to be setting up for the next service or event and it was not possible to get a proper table to work at. Location is also not great. It's near IFC etc but if you go out to Puxi for a meal taxis won't take you back without a big upcharge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to extend my stay so needed to go through online portal (booking.com) to extend rather than just do it with the desk. was a pain.

    I enjoyed the exec lounge; made to feel very welcome by Judith and crew.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was very bad!!!I wanted to get out of this bad place as soon as possible. I travel a lot and this was my first time when staying in 5* hotel was so unpleasant. Staff was not polite, it was difficult for them to say thank you, halo about other service it is just hard for me to talk...Unfortunately this hotel charges good money for such a bad service. The hotel is big but there is nor place to sit wait for the car, o if you sit in the empty Coffey for 5 minutes in the lobby, you must by a drink!!!!Or you have to stand at the door I guess.......Horrible!!!!second night I just couldn't sleep because you don't feel the customer at all and you are paying a really big money for that!!!a few words about concierge - in other hotels simple room made can do more...!!!!!!what can I say!!!Shame on Kempinski!!!!

    Just location was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Flight Hotel Package - Superior City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I requested king size bed as I was traveling along, staff at check in recommended room with double beds as the room was bigger. He told me that the beds were queen size but they were closer to a full size.

    In terms of beds and pillows, they were extra comfy and the size of the room was really nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Bund View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to complain

    Excellent service of the whole staff. In case of questions or assistances needed it was immediately solved and available. Rooms are perfect and equiped all necessary appliances. Great view from the room over the city. Super breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location, the view on the Bund, the Subway 2 min walk from the hotel The swimming pool on the last floor is great too - the view is amazing It is a really good value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed three times and this time, ha fair to poor experiece. Bathroom smells bad. Chinese resturant do not have a river view while in room brochure clealy states” stunning revier view”...

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of the food in the Chinese Restaurant was very disappointing. For such a high quality hotel located in Shanghai prime district, it was surprising how the food quality could belike that!

    The design of the room was superb, especially how thoughtful and clever the design of the bathroom is! The bedding is very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in was disaster! We arrived quite late (about 10 pm), my 5 year old son felt in sleep in the extremely crowded and noisy lobby. It took almost one hour! Some other guests were so frustrated and screaming to the reception staffs. Totally amazing situation. The upper hole in the washbowl was really dirty.

    location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Bund View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had to departure earlier than expected due to other business and even I booked for 4 nights the hotel could propose to charge only half daily rate, because I left around 9 pm on previous night and the employee did not charge the 4th night. This was charged in my credit card directly and the hotel did not send me the invoice/receipt. I had to request it. But overall is was good.

    The location and comfort. The room was perfect and clean too. The swimming pool its very good to keep you up and healthy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff were pleasant and tried earnestly to help. The rooms were very well appointed, clean and spacious. The breakfast (ordered in the room to save time in the morning) was great, croissant warm and flaky.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant say it was a nice stay here. No one helped me to take suitcases, I am 45 kg woman and took 2 suitcases in total 50kg alone myself. Waitress in lobby caffe are rude, yes, rude! I just cant believe it is 5 stars! Room and facilities are old.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The views from the Executive Suites overlooking the river at night were exquisite. The beds were really comfortable and the breakfast was outstandingly delicious. Staff were all so helpful, polite and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was terrible. Free wifi didn't work at all. Paid wifi (100MRMB per night) was terribly slow as well. So no internet on your room.

    Rooms are great. Very spacious and an excellent bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If you get the chance. Go up to the Red Velvet lounge on the top level. It was easily the best service of any other lounge I went to in Shanghai during my trip. My only regret of the trip was that I didn't go more than twice!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Concierge desk could have been a bit more helpful and the staff at reception not the most welcoming.

    Room is extremely well laid out and the facilities are excellent. Perfect location-wise if you want to be around the more modern financial district.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was titled as "bund view room", but however I could see only a glimpse of the bund, due to perhaps the location of the hotel itself.

    Everything, including kind and helpful staffs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is great but the food there is not good.. I am so sorry. Well to be 100% honest, the buffet there is not good, but the italian and chinese restaurants are fine. I would love to stay at the Kempinski again but... yes the food is an issu for me.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staffs were not efficient and many of them cannot speak English. Seems like it's a hotel for the locals. Some vendors sent me parcels by mail and arrived at the hotel on time, but staffs never contacted me that there were parcels at the hotel concierge. Every time I will always have to check and call them. Very poor service quality compared to other 5 stars hotels, even in China.

    The location is great with stunning view of the river and the bund. Beautiful view from the gym looking toward the Pearl tower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Their breakfast buffet was the most expensive breakfast I ever had in my life. Don't bother. Everyone at the service desk was always busy on phones/computers and interactions with them came off as distant and unwelcoming.

    Pool is on top the floor with great views. Hotel room had great views and was very comfortable. Lobby ATM was convenient. It was very close to the center of Shanghai.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Minimalistic gym, pool is ok for a few laps but you will get bored if you expect proper swimming. Not much to complain about appart that it gets really busy at the breakfast and they will wipe your plate as soon as you leave your chair. Staff in China still not able to understand few words of english even in that kind of high end hotels...

    Nice hotel, very spacious room, comfortable large bed, view on the bund, large choice at the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Bund View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wearing swimming caps at the pool.

    The service from Steffan when we arrived and the fantastic executive lounge. We have travelled a lot and been in many executive lounges, this has to be one of the best lounges with fantastic staff. The views from the lounge and bund bedrooms are fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff doesn't speak a good English ..the bed is not very comfortable.. the swimming cups are too expensive! (60 yuan something that in a normal store you get for 20 yuan max) ; not variety of food for room service

    The breakfast is very good; the view is nice; the room is spacious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i don't really like the room design as it is not so modern. too many glass door in the toilet makes it overkill. internet was not working very well. The staff is not really very friendly and helpful. i booked the bund view room but turn out the bund view is not facing the wusong river but faced the huang pu river.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    funny enough they say you can buy their bath robe but, the guest service indicated as the office to call told me to ask to the front desk , the front desk asked to the laundry , the laundry asked to the reception , etc. , a result I left the robe there as nobody was able to tell me the price!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Executive City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV channels are very very limited. 2-3 channels in English and they don't even have a DVD player in room. Way too many children in the property. Strange to be honest.

    Bed was amazing Shower is fantastic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    egg and noodle stations are battle grounds. One chef with a small pan cooking omelets with a cue of 15 hungry people. In the buffet one day you get the option of scramble eggs and another poached eggs... but not enough supply for the morning rush

    Good location, friendly staff and good cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The taxi from the hotel .... who ripped me off and took me on a joy ride! I almost missed my check in because he did a detour to the airport for more than an hour and a half. It isn't the hotels fault, but they knew him well. Was unfortunate but he got my message loud and clear.

    Had a suite .... what a treat. Absolutely fabulous with a view and everything you could possibly want. Room service was excellent. All round a 10 out of 10 Stayed here on a number of occasions and will never stay anywhere else when in Shanghai

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    24 hour menu too short! Could do better. Wish they have more dishes to pick from. C

    It's my second time there. It's an efficient hotel. All the restaurants are good! 👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities and service not as good as other 5 star hotels in the Lujiazui area. For example, don't have international power sockets. The Kempinski name could be of better in terms of service.

    Location was really good. Good value compared to other 5 star hotels in the Lujiazui area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Great location. It took only 5 min walk to metro station line number 2. Good enough to communicate to every staffs with English. Breakfast was also wonderful. I will visit again for my next trip to Shanghai.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Over all the purpose of my business trip was down the drains . This is the 3rd time i am explaining this over the mail every time there is some excuse given by booking .com as a result i will await for a positive reply post i will have my experience shared on social media . On my booking of the hotel i was given an option of if any special request have to be accommodated to there was 2 request put in by me and as per the confirmation my other meeting plans were fixed . 1) Room at a higher floor which was given post i asked for at the reception 2) Transporting form Airport to Hotel & Back to which on my arrival there was no one to receive upon waiting for 2 hours at the airport and called the hotel the first impression was that there was no booking seen in the system post pressuring the staff they were able to identify the same but they were not informed by Booking .com for the transfer also i was told there were no transfers available at this point of time because of which my schedule meeting with my client was delayed and my entire trip purpose was ruined . I had to pay 300 chines money for accommodating my transport upon departure i was a gained not offered transportation but upfront was told if i would like a transfer to the airport i will have to pay 900 chines money for the same . I really don't appreciate such services as my meeting was based for my personal Travel company called Ace Travels which is looking at promoting china to its client . Hoping to hear from your side a fair compensation for the inconvenience cause . Kerrsi Rusi Mistry

    Hotel Staff including the manager in charge was very accommodative

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Despite that my rate obviously included breakfast, it took me a while to prove that when checking-in. Same thing happened with my colleague who arrived later. Only a few staff members speak English, it was hardly possible for us to arrange a taxi... The internet constantly dropped off. Everything is really overpriced comparing to the value you get out of that.

    The view out of the room window was pretty nice. Cleanliness is at a rather good level. Good selection of breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the elevator system is quite annoying for almost everytime going down to the lobby it has to stop at least 4 to 5 times from my floor even it is full already

    rooftop swimming pool was wonderful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Executive City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With two babies, the location is fantastic - easy access to subway line 2, lots of restaurants nearby and walking distance to the malls. We will choose to stay here for our next trip

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have a complimentary (lower speed) wifi and a higher speed which is pay for. As I only spent a short time in the room, other than asleep, I went for the complimentary and trying to use the internet was very slow - speaking to my wife on-line wasn't successful. I'm based in the UK and given that free higher-speed wifi is everywhere we come to expect it these days, so slower access takes me back in time.

    This was my first visit to the hotel and I stayed there it at the start and end of my trip. The staff were excellent as is the food, the room wonderful, and the views from the room spectacular. I didn't use the Business Centre so can't comment but I suspect it would be as amazing as the rest of the hotel. If you are travelling from Pudong airport try to get the MagLev train (and taxi the rest of the way) it's unique and the fastest thing on the planet!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i arrived there was a problem with my reservation. The system showed no breakfast included but i booked breakfast. The problem was solved but no immediately. There was a misunderstanding on their part and after a while they recognized it and apologized. Also, the breakfast could be better in my opinion. I know this is a chinese based hotel but the Continental food is much less choice then Asian one. This should be improved.

    The confort and warm welcome is excellent! The rooms are awesome with suberb condition and the views are breathtaking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are quite robotic and not overly professional or friendly. Location is not ideal for tourists, in the financial district. No western plugs in the room and you have to ask for an adapter, this is not something I would expect from a 5* hotel. My main light wouldn't turn off when I first arrived and had to wait for an engineer to come and fix it - this was at 2am. Food is overpriced and not particularly outstanding. Rooms are outdated, though bathroom is nice and view is gorgeous. Required to wear swim cap for pool but wanted 60 yuan to buy one, could not rent or borrow one so I didn't bother using the pool. Probably would not return.

    Lobby is beautiful and beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some staffs needed to be to more professional in explaining. I cant understand why my Debit Card couldnt swipe and cant withdraw via ATM but shopping malls.

    The location, the view and the room is generally very nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very busy hotel, perhaps overcrowded and noisy everywhere; swimming pool closed for maintenance, but when making the booking this wasn't shown on the website

    nice location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just crazy mini bar prices 70 Rmb for local beer if your not a tourist like me and know the real value it's a just too stupid, plus all Shanghai hotels your laundry charges have got ridiculous

    Amazing view over the river from my room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Good location in bund area, the best price for 5 stars hotel in bund area, facility is good, breakfast needs to improve. Staff especially concierge department are the best in solving your last minute problem, highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The Grand Kempinski Shanghai location is not at the best point at the bund area, but price wise I would say this is the best hotel in bund area, the staff especially in concierge is incredibly helpful, they even help my last minute train ticket to beijing. The breakfast is normal for five star hotel, not the best but it's ok. I would recommend this hotel if your ever want to stay at bund area judging from their price and facility

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got the secound time a room x01, which is next to the elevators. I cannot recommend this room, if you want to sleep.

    After a short feedback about the room x01 and the second time we had it we got a better room this time. Good and fast service. Kind cleaning personal.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • New Year Campaign - Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not enough info about the room appliances and schedules of available activities. Wifi. 100 kuai per day for "clean" internet is a kind of a robbery. And if your are are foreigner you just can't get a chinese internet there, so if you want to use baidu and other chinese things prepare to struggle

    Room with view on the bund, room size, ice cream at breakfast on the ground floor, extremely nice personal even if they confident in English

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • New Year Campaign - Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lobby receptionists dont like to smile except Amily Zhi (if i remembered her name correctly). My card keys not able to open the room, so i tried to contact operator from the phone near the hallway, and they try to forward my phone to receptionists , but nobody answering ( i wait for around 5 minutes), i tried to call back operator, and she just give me the answer maybe they are busy and nobody can help me, so i need to go down to lobby by myself to reset the card. i walked to lobby and seeing a girl (grey jacket) in the receptionists standing and looks like doing nothing, i tried to ask about the card key, she just pointing me to queue and her face is su*k, is she mute? cant she ask me nicely about what i am going to ask. Only the girl named Amily Zhi (red jacket) that treat us nicely with humour and smile to me and guests before me (i try to notice which receptionists give more smile before i decide where to queue, lol, i am looking for nice welcoming service since its 5 star hotel). The bund view is not as nice as i expected. Food in Chinese Restaurant are expensive and not delicious. Breakfast is okay.

    love the speaker in the bathroom, ipod dock.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • New Year Campaign - Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception experience is less that what I would expect for a hotel of this standard. There was a young German chap that did everything to help me however, when I came down and requested a change in room I was served by another receptionist who was not interested in assisting me, made no eye contact and basically said the hotel was full so I couldn't move rooms to a higher floor. Reception was very busy however this guy just said anything so he didn't have to help. The German guy came over an assisted me and changed my room to a higher floor. Concierge was also not very helpful. Also i you are on a leisure trip I would not recommend this area. It is the financial district area and not convenient.

    The bed was very comfortable. The room is very luxurious. The staff in the cocktail bar on the 30 floor were very helpful and courteous. They went out of their way to help us.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free internet is limited to a few MB's. Unlimited one is too expensive. Almost all hotels in China offer free internet.

    The room is very clean. The bathroom is well equipped & the bed is very very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are Super helpful and friendly even if it did take several staff members to help answer simple questions! Loved the room and the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deposit was hefty. And I'm still waiting for it to come back.

    Everything was clean and neat. Bathroom was amazing especially the shower, and the view was incredible. Very close to aquarium and oriental pearl tower.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    n/a

    Location, space of room, service, strong wifi, price!!!!!, breakfast and dinner buffet, amazing view from the rooms, cigar lounge, lounge with lovely cakes, German management influence all over, christmas decoration

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The room seems clean at the first glance, but then you see lots of stains on the carpet, crumbs into the armchair's corner etc. The soundproofing should be more soundproofing as Chinese guests are really loud and noisy (we always had that as a background noise during our stay, even awakening us few times).

    Excellent location, comfortable bed, clean bathroom

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't bother with the 'club' up sell. Afternoon tea wasn't that great and the so called happy hour with complementary drinks was non-existent.

    Early check in, nice spa, awesome views of the city from the bar

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bund View
    • Stayed 1 night

    carpet is not clean at all. breakfast is so so and expensive

    Good location. nice window view. bathroom is very good. lobby area is beautiful. staffs are nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: