Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Mercure Xian On Renmin Square

319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng, 710004 Xi'an, China

#29 of 149 hotels in Xi'an

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 480 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress topper on our bed was so old and lumpy we had to remove it. At reception we were told that the best way to get to the terracotta warriors was to pay 500RMB for a taxi and that the bus is very difficult. This is incorrect- we easily got a didi both ways and paid no more than 250RMB in total. Alternatively a quick and cheap taxi to the railway station will take you to the bus which seemed to run very frequently. In general the hotel was pleasant but definitely dated.

    The hotel is in a great location! Nice and quiet but also within walking/cycling distance to the bell tower area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Over priced. This hotel boasts 5 stars but the rooms are so dated. Toilet overflowed, broken light above the bed, filthy carpets and has no restaurant for dinner in the hotel.

    The location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room full of mosquitoes. Very dark room, not enough lights.

    Value for money, pretty gardens, central with other hotels, could charge back. Trees out side windows nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One member of our party had a special dietary requirement - Coeliac Disease, and needed Gluten Free alternatives. We contacted the Hotel Food and Beverage Manager, Margaret, prior to our visit and were impressed by her response to our dietary needs. She provided a sample menu of foods which were available. The Azur Restaurant Manager was also very attentive to ensure all our needs were met. Individual staff indicated which foods on the buffet were Gluten Free. At breakfast we were provided with freshly made Gluten free bread and cereals- brought specifically to the table. The quality of dishes and the Gluten Free packed lunch were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All facilities are very old and low quality! It doesn’t worth the money at all. It feels like a fake 5 star hotel, nothing meets 5 star hotel ‘s standards! It should be 3 star hotel!!

    Location is great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we wanted to check out they would charge us extra for the minibar we didnt use! and they said the room wasnt paid by credidcard so they wanted to keep our deposit. Later on when they checked it again, everything was oke and we got our deposit back.

    The room was big and clean, could use the pool from sofitel hotel in the next building.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Local 2-star hotel, not international 4-star. No facilities in the hotel except restaurant (only open for breakfast buffet). All facilities such as bar, restaurant, gym,swimming pool 50m away at Sofitel. Big hotel that caters mainly to conference guests. Room not ready for checkin at 3.30pm (supposed to be 2pm) because convention guest wanted 2pm check out. Classic queen room overlooked music, sports stadium, main train line, so noisy. Moved to twin room on quiet side but had to sleep in single bed. That was day 1 of five nights. Day 2 -arrived back to hotel about 7.30pm after sightseeing to be told water would be off for next 2 days so please move to another room (that night). Back on noisy side again so refused to move. Next day, changed my booking to transfer to Sofitel which was much better, but given room on smoking floor for first night and had to change again. Grand Mercure ordered a taxi that did not put the meter on and demanded 15 yuan ("3 for the hotel") for a 9 yuan trip. Told that taxis "dont like coming to this hotel". Taxis I hailed in street to go back to hotel were honest and it wasn't difficult to find one. Staff at Grand Mercure in reception and concierge have no international service concept and everything always seems to be negative and difficult, staff at Sofitel make everything simple and pleasant so stay there. Avoid italian restaurant at Sofitel Legend. Had to send caesar salad back for more bacon and dressing. Tiramisu mostly cream and about 1 level dessert spoon of dry cake or biscuit. The Cyclist, a small nearby Italian restaurant, is much better. Also Kaiyuan shopping mall and the mall opposite as well as most other shopping plazas are best for comfortable, clean, non-smoking, well-priced restaurants with food courts and heaps of variety, such as Chinese, Japanese, Australian steaks. No aircon in roomms in spring and autumn.

    Good breakfast buffet with good service from restaurant staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot but that was because it was winter

    Bed was really comfy and the breakfast offered a wide variety of choice for both Chinese and western visitors. Pool and gym at the Sofitel was good and nics fo be able to use. The garden area was lovely to sit in a play cards and the room service food was delicious. Staff were friendly and spoke good English. Always happy to help

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to control heating unless we opened the window. Water everywhere when you shower. Storage space inadequate.

    A wonderful staff who helped solve problems and provide information quickly and efficiently. Although small, the room had a very comfortable bed and the bathroom was a decent size Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A minor grumble , they had a sign saying snooker room but we couldn't find it anywhere, I told you it was minor!!

    Great location close to the subway, a few minutes walk, inside a gated area, it has an old worldly feel in a good way, the room was clean and the bed comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful, the ladies at reception spoke good English and checked us in without a problem, I would stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked the comfy bed and bath tub. The location was convenient for the Muslim street where there was plenty to see, buy and eat. It was about a 20 minute walk to the wall.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The very long corridor walk to the breakfast area was unexpected & I was most surprised that there was no bar within our building.

    Breakfast was good with some much appreciated Western options. The omelettes were very tasty, the range of breads excellent & the cereals & yogurts great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were especially hard and not comfortable. Was disappointed that the hotel didn’t have its own swimming pool but did use the one at Sofitel (this was lovely) but had to walk back across the compound in the cold afterwards.

    The hotel was very lovely and staff welcoming. It was fun trying to communicate with some staff in sign language. The breakast was exceptional and offered so much choice. The facilities in the hotel room were lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is just old. Its a bit out of the way so not extremely convenient to travel unless you don't mind walking.

    Staff were very helpful when we had to book an early morning taxi to airport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was pretty bad - even with all the lights on and the curtains open in the daytime it was difficult to see clearly enough to pack. The room was also way too hot and there were no power points near the bed for charging phones, etc.

    The staff at the hotel were almist always excellent, the room service and cleaning staff in particular. The food at Azur was excellent (though technically part of Sofitel). The breakfast (within the Grand Mercure) was good value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were overly hard, rom was quite small and there was no one at the front desk who spoke English. It was hard to communicate.

    Overall excellent breakfast. Breads were fresh and there was a good variety of food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was too hot and couldn't be made cooler. Even though we stayed here in autumn, we had to sleep with the windows open as it got too hot otherwise. This also wasn't particularly good with the amount of air pollution there was.

    Staff were very helpful and provided assistance wherever they could. The bed was soft for a nice change. There is a fantastic buffet restaurant at the Sofitel next door to this hotel. The selection was great and caters to western cuisine. They even cooked beef steaks to your liking on request. Taxis were always available at the entrance to the Hotel complex. Breakfast was pretty good. There was a good selection of english TV stations.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con in room much too hot. We closed it down and had to open the windows.

    The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities located in other building, no cappuccino for breakfast, rooms are outdated

    It feels to me like a 4 star hotel, small room but the bed was huge. Room service is amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy with other guests talking loudly in front of our room and kids shouting in the early morning. Hotel staff also didn't try to stop guests from smoking which was bad

    The location and the building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that we didn't have more time there

    Staff were the friendliest we've seen during our 3 week China trip! Our only regret is we only had 1 night in this hotel since only stopping over to see the terracotta warriors. Located in a wonderful hotel complex combined with the sofitell and all the facilities and restaurants. Chinois restaurant was lovely and the waitress was very friendly and kind.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We should have been informed about the breakfast buffet not being available at the hotel before we arrived and not after. The one we were sent to at Sofitel was one of the worst I have ever been to - but the one at Sofitel - Azur was great. We did have he buffet at the Mecure on our last day and I did not enjoy it very much. Not a great selection and very bland. Needs improving big time!

    This hotel is in a complex of hotels in Xi'an - but there isn't anything really around it except a big mall and lots of street shops. It's extremely safe and quiet and there is security all over the place. When we arrived we were informed that we would have to have our breakfasts in the nearby Sofitel (Churascos or Chorizos) as the restaurant was closed down for a wedding. We were able to arrange a driver to take us to the Terracotta Warriors right on the front steps of the hotel for 400 RMB for the entire day. The room service was very good though they did not mention that there was meat in some of the dishes that we assumed very vegetarian. We were not pleased with the breakfast buffet at Churascos and the manager upgraded us to the one at the Sofite; - Azur which was much better. Staff tries very hard but more of them need to know better English if they plan on having tourists stay there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service, uncomfortable bed, room not ready at 7:30pm, given smoking room when non smoking requested, misleading photos - not in main building

    Breakfast though expensive nice selection

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pictures of the room/bathroom is not representative of what it actually looks like. The bathroom is a small, dark room. I would not have booked the hotel if I knew that it did not look the same way as the pictures.

    The bed was more comfortable than most in China. The complex that the hotel is in was nice. The staff speaks English (as they do at most of the major hotels), which helps with the booking process. It is in a good location, right by major bus routes and metro stops.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room was facing a stadium so there was no nice view. The closet is rather small and unusually flat so clothes are hanged sideways. The gym, pool and sauna are nice but housed in another building but it is a small inconvenience. The location is rather far from anything else and there are no shops or restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel so it is not convenient.

    Overall cleanliness of the room, the quiet environment is very restful, the classic architecture of the building is beautiful. The bed was soft but comfortable and the sheets are clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit pricey seen as the standard mecure had the same access to the same pool and the room was really similar in standard and half the price! The staff at the grand quoted us a price for the terracotta warriors via taxi and the standard mecure quoted us the same trip 100yuan cheaper. Although it's lovely and a luxury stay I would rather stay on the same complex but at the standard mecure as the staff were better and friendlier and it was much better value for money.

    The hotel is luxury and really nice inside, compared to the standard mecure on the same site (we had too book both as the standard was fully booked on our first night) it was quite expensive. The staff were helpful and the atmosphere and facilities were great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are very dark even when all the lights are on

    The setting is clam, the greenery makes for a relaxing welcome, the rooms was spacious. Its very well situated within a comforbale walking distance to the main roads. Being a gated community with other hotels it lends itself to a feeling of safety

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was constantly full of children making it impossible to swim

    I loved the gadget at the side of the bed which controlled all electrics in the room inc. housekeeping! The concierge, Andy, went above and beyond in helping me with a letter I was expecting and when a taxi couldn't be found he took me to the bus stop and ensured I was on the right bus. Thank you Andy 😁

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In city center but long walk even to find a noodle shop or convenience store. Had to switch rooms 3 times to get one with good aircon. Uses those incredibly annoying Star trek type control panels to control aircon, lights etc. Why not just plain old light switches next to bed? And low medium and high for aircon? Good place but like many 5 star hotels still not as good as my illegaly subdivided tiny room in Hong Kong which has AC so good I have to wear thick wool socks in bed even in summer, great wifi and nespresso machine right next to my bed. That's my gold standard and few 5 stars live up to it.

    Set back from street in so zero noise. Good pool/spa facility in complex. In a compound so feels like and exclusive 5 star facility for diplomats and VIPS.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) The walk from this hotel to the city attraction is quite far. 2) The room was really, really dark. There was no ceiling lights. 3) Shower head was broken (we informed front desk). 4) It was not clearly stated that the pool is in another hotel (at the Sofitel). 5) Not a good experience with swimming at Sofitel (after check out, before going to airport) despite assurance from Mercure that this is OK: -One day before we left, we told front desk that we would like to swim before we go to the airport the next day; they said this is OK. -On the day that we leave, in the morning during check out, we mentioned again, that after our personal tour with the hotel in the morning, we want to come back after noon, get our bags, swim, and then go to the airport in the evening. The (presumably) person in charge there (was wearing a suit) said it is absolutely OK, and they will phone the Sofitel and inform them about us. -After the half day tour, we came back, took our bags from reception, mentioned again that we will go swimming at Sofitel. Reception said its OK. -HOWEVER, when we were at Sofitel, the pool reception desk refused to give us a locker key, so no slippers, no towel and no fitting room, because we already checked out. It was quite embarrassing. Going back and forth, between the pool and the reception, finally someone gave us towels from the gym, and pointed us to the changing room. But we only had our walking shoes, no slippers, and no locker, so our bags were outside, and we were barefoot. In case anyone from the hotel(s) care enough to look into this matter, this happened on Sunday, July 30th, around 1700. You can easily trace who was at the desk at that time. Honestly, this experience make us not like both the Mercure and Sofitel. Especially that the location is not really that convenient for walking.

    Hotel staff was really nice, helpful, and speaks English. Renmin Square (where the hotel is) is really clean, and beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Opening the side gate to make easier access to the road leading to the bus station and city wall. It was a long walk out of the complex and then down the side road past the locked gate.

    The location was very good for the bus station and attractions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like any other more expensive hotel, seems fairly similar in design to those in western countries, so not really 'Chinese' in character. But this is an observation rather than a complaint...

    Beautiful building and surroundings for the price. Attentive staff - great value for money for two friends sharing a twin room and a lovely breakfast included.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    We were travelling with our 21 year old and booked 2 rooms. We were upgraded to a suite which was ideal. Buffet breakfast was perfect. Use of the facilities and dining in Sofitel was a bonus. Location, very quiet away from the hustle but we walked to most sights including the historical sights, beet street and Muslim street. We walked to the walls and rode bikes around the 14km perimeter. You need to be fit to walk and bike everywhere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints. I'm from Southern California and it likely would have cost me 5 times what we paid to stay in a similar hotel in say Palm Springs.

    The bed was comfortable and the pool was great. The property was nice and quiet in a small compound away from street traffic. We walked to local restaurants, it was very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's located at the back of the property and not real close to a store or restaurants.

    Very nice hotel with excellent English speaking staff. Most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in and Big rooms. Big breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our safe didn't work, there was a leak in the bathroom, and the down mattress pad was lumpy.

    This hotel is old school opulence, but is a little tired.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little dated but you get far more than you pay for to be honest as the rates are very low. The only real complaints I have are the the room door double lock did not work (reported to staff) although the single lock does and it also has a security chain. Where the AC system exhausts ( room 2320), there appears to be dark coloured dust on the ceiling which means the AC system filters need cleaing or they are not coping with the external pollution? I must emphasis that this was the only item of clealiness I could complain about and otherwise the hotel is spotless.

    The staff were super friendly and all spoke English. The star member of staff for me was the bell hop who was able to point us in the direction of the bus stance at Xi'an rail station and suggested we use an air conditioned state tourist bus service from there to the Terracotta Warriors. The price of the bus.was 16 RMB return as against a private car tour which would have cost over 600 RMB.. The hotel had limited facilities but it shared the facilities ( restaurants, bar, swimming pool, gents barbers, spa & gymnasium etc amongst other facilities) with the Sofitel which is only about 100 yards away and its facilities were second to none. We had a buffet meal ( Chinese, Japanese, western styles) in the Sofitel Azure Restaurant and it was the meal of our holiday.. There was an incredible areay of 5 star prepared food. . What facilities the Grand Mercure had of its own within the building ( breakfast restaurant) were excellent ( I estimate the buffet had over 50 items to select from) and provided a choice of Chinese, continental and weatern type food. The hotel is excellent value for money. The hotel is set inext to a group 4 hotels within a beautiful, tranqui,l secure and gated compound.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has a great location inside the old city of Xi'an. It is great that you can use the swimming pool and the wide range of restaurants of Sofitel. Breakfast is good. Room is clean and the WiFi is good. The staff is helpfull and adequately solves issues if they may occur, which we appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping staff were responsive to simple requests. But I called them twice everyday to complain about the broken showerhead and the leak near the toilet. Thry said someone would come but no one ever came. Very frustrating.

    Hotel was centrally located. Easy to get to a lot of places via taxi, metro, or bus. Also, since the hotel was sitting next to sister hotels it was easy to get almost all services done in one location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a good hotel but not to the standard it should be considering sister properties both positioned higher (Sofitel) and lower (Ibis). The breakfast was average to poor and we really felt like we were putting some of the staff out in requesting anything. (In fairness to some I think this was a facility they were not familiar with themselves) There was one young girl who was outstanding (I think shift supervisor) Further, we and along with other guests did not get easy instructions to find the breakfast venue. It is a shame due to a conference we became secondary guests and this should not be the case. In future when a conference is on please consider another venue for breakfast either Sofitel or another banquet room in the actual hotel. For fellow travelers, it is possibly a good idea to spend the few dollars extra to stay at sister property, Sofitel (located opposite) and in the same square.

    The bed was comfortable, the size of the room good and the location was great and the reception staff and concierge outstanding.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish we could have stayed longer! Absolute luxury for economical price!!! the concierge was superb! met us at the door late evening and arranged van for 5 people to Terracotta warriors and then to airport for the next day in minutes! the Accor properties in this square are superb!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small and the decor tired with quite a dirty carpet

    Very good breakfast, comfortable if rather small bed. Grand reception area and good location 15 minutes walk to Muslim quarter, bell and Drum towers

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool in a different hotel in the complex

    Excellent hotel complex right in the Center of the beautiful city of Xian great for exploring or just taking it easy very friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff exceeded all our expectations! The room and the hotel were beautiful! There is a whole complex with various restaurants. The breakfast room was so incredible with glass chandeliers that chimed with the air flow from the air conditioning. So many food choices! We went to the Chinese restaurant which is amazing. We felt so well taken care of. Please treat yourself by staying here!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    15-minute-walk to Muslim quarter, taxi to and back is very difficult to find.

    Room decoration, garden, building and breakfast!. We were impressed to see snow-ball flowers beautifully blooming during our stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices of the meals were high We had to have breakfast in another hotel one day just because some local dignatory was staying in our hotel The lighting in our room was very poor

    Good base from which to see the Terracotta Army

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning wasn't turned on in April so room was a bit warm. We were able to open windows which helped.

    The front desk staff were very helpful. The breakfast buffet was FANTASTIC, there were so many choices. We loved the omelet, waffle and Chinese noodle soup station, there were plenty of western and Asian food options, at least 15 chaffers full of food. You could have cappuccino, espresso or full bodied coffee or tea with your breakfast. This was the best breakfast out of 21 days in China. Regarding the room it was very comfortable and the bathtub was super long and wonderful to soak in after a day of sightseeing. We are always shower people however this tub was hard to resist.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed our stay and suppers at The Sofitel - 2 min walk. Very good breakfast! Thank you all very much.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were mosquitos in my room on the 2nd night, but I was able to request for mosquito repellent to plug in for the remainder of the night.

    The bed was comfortable - turn down service is great. It was also very convenient to be able to charge all food expenses to the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived by sleeper train from Beijing and the hotel is a couple of kms walk from the central railway station (be careful the high speed trains use the Xian Bei North station which is about 60 mins away by taxi!). The hotel is colocated with a few other hotels in a beautiful garden square. We found the hotel very comfortable. Great breakfast, friendly staff with good English .. Within a short walk of the street markets and with shops, cafes and metro stop close by.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost of food in the restaurants was very high and I didn't feel that I was getting value for my money. The rooms were quite dated too and we were given 2 twins beds when I had asked for a king-sized bed.

    The old-world charm of the place was quite dramatic and the grounds were magnificent. The front desk clerk Lola was extremely helpful with all matters which came up and her English was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room - it did not look like the photographs provided. It was small and the lighting was sparce, I expected a bit more for the price and the deposit I had to pay was not mentioned on booking.com. A free breakfast was included on the site but it turns out it was an error which was one of the reasons I chose to stay there. The breakfast buffet was okay, they need more variety for the price. Another reason I chose to stay there was the fact that it had such great facilities only to be told it is in the Sofitel at the end of Remnin sqaure. I was a little disappointed but other than that it was a nice place to stay and I would likely stay again or at least in Remnin Square.

    The staff was extremely friendly and accomadating, the bed was comfortable, the bath was a nice size and the water was hot. The scenery outside was spectacular and the inside of the hotel was great if not a bit dated.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The duvet wasn't thick enough - I had to sleep with the towelling dressing gowns and spare towels on top of the duvet as well. The hotel was also enormous, the corridors were very very long - the building was a former Chinese communist party office block, very sympathetically renovated and very comfortable but it meant long corridors!

    The location was superb and you could have used facilities in the nearby Sofitel if it hadn't been too cold to go out at night! But the Mercure and Sofitel are the only Western hotels inside the City Walls so their location was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not cheap at 115 yuan -- I didn't use it...

    Location was good. Big, 4 star hotel, very clean, in older grand style. Not too many hotels of this standard within old city. Very pretty gardens, walking distance to Muslim Street. Part of Sofitel complex, good security. Staff were efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing really

    location was excellent. quiet as it is located off the street. staff was very helpful. we booked a tour to the terracotta warriors through the hotel which was very well organized.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!!

    Beautiful hotel located within old city wall. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were beautiful and buffet breakfast was beyond expectations. Very easy to get to and close to many of the locations we wanted to visit.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is serious: there was no WIFI in my room and WIFI throughout the property was unstable. Therefore, my business contacts could not get a hold of me. Really BIG problem. Staff tried to solve the problem. Wifi was TERRIBLE.

    The 50s era Soviet hotel!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have benefited from friendlier staff. But that is common in China

    Part of a complex of very grand Communist Office style buildings located about 5 minutes walk away from main street. And about 40 minutes from the most amazing spectacle - the Terracotta Warriors. Somewhat old school, but still pleasant. The only hotel room I have ever stayed in that provided gas masks as standard in the wardrobe ! on the day we were thtere, their restaurant was closed, so we ate at the adjacent Sofitel - an amazing breakfast !

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was poor and the air-conditioning didn't adjust.

    The staff where excellent and it was in a good location. Approximately 10-15 min walk in each direction of the inner city.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tour bus arrived at 6am outside our window and ran its engine for an hour, waking us up and making it impossible to sleep. Hotel staff should prevent buses from running engine early in the morning. Bed was a bit small for tall people, my feet were on the edge.

    Excellent breakfast, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel hasn't been renovated for a long time. The room was small.

    The breakfast was very various and good quality. Free bicycle renting. Good massage/ wellness facilities.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, rooms are relatively old but comfortable. Also like the location and nice garden. Overall a good experience in hotel although the pollution is really bad

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dated and white bathroom fixtures and fittings had gone yellow Beds were hard A/C did not work

    Breakfast buffet was good Location was good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is form the soviet era built back in 1957. It's pretty old, in decay and dirty. Almost all the pictures belongs to the most recent Sofitel across the road and so are the facilities. Absolutely do not come here!!! SCAM

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing as such

    Beautiful property courteous staff and great amenities. Walking distance from some tourists' attractions like Drum Tower and Bell Tower.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows r quite soft and not much hot items for breakfast selection. A bit away from metro station.

    Breakfast is good with varieties. Good hot water supply and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Aircon a little bit warm in the room. We didn't complain/notify staff until checking out and the staff said we should have told them earlier, they would have sent someone to fix it.

    Staff very friendly. Breakfast great. Comfy large rooms.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room temperature was bit hot and stuffy (but ok as could open a window and turn down heat). Lighting, even when all turned on, still very dark in the room even over the bed for reading.

    Location good. Staff very helpful with directions and general enquiries.. Spacious, clean room and nice bonus having a bath!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is slightly small.

    The hotel is away from the bustling streets and is serene. The breakfast has a good spread as compared to other hotels in this region.The front counter staff are excellent especially their manager, Mr Daniel Sun.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quality of the breakfast was average, as was the food at the Italian restaurant (which was a little expensive too).

    Room was very comfortable, staff were very accomodating. They even offered to move us to a larger room if the one given wasn't big enough, but it certainly was suffice to our needs!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    About 10 mins walk to the closest Metro station and 20 mins walk to Xian Rail way station. There are shopping centre and restaurants nearby. You can watch NHK here.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was not comfortable. It was hard. While I was there the pool and spa was under renovation and that was unfortunate.

    Loved the location and restaurants close by. Breakfast was awesome and staff were able to communicate in English and that was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had mosquitoes in our room somehow? Don't realise until the first morning when my partner had been feasted on like a Buffett by the little beasts! Couldn't sleep well after that as we were woken by buzzing 🐝around our heads and multiple mosquito bits on our face and neck! How did they get in with closed windows l do not know? Also the hotel is kinda chilly but they brought us a mobile radiator which was better ! Great hotel but minus the mosquitos please!

    Beautiful building and very smart rooms, great location once you had managed to find it on foot so a better map should be available for us pedestrians please! We loved staying here and the breakfast was great! Lovely location for hotel complex 😉

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Got turned away from one of the restaurants in the complex after hiking. Returned after a shower and got seats in an almost empty restaurant.

    Majority of staff were amazing and rooms and facilities were good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the hotel complex. It is grand but we were staying in a building that has not updated the rooms in quite some time. Perhaps that was okay since we could afford the room. This is an incredible hotel if you are staying in the six star portion.If you aren't staying in the six star building it is still okay but room is a bit dingy and the bathroom tiny. Staff is wonderful, the breakfast was wonderful too.

    The hotel complex is grand and inviting. There are expensive rooms and modest rooms. We were in the modest rooms but it worked out because we got to go to the best part of the hotel and had drinks in the most beautiful bar ever. Service was impeccable in both the bar and dinning in the Italian restaurant located in the same hotel building. Incredible service and food in the most beautiful atmosphere. The other restaurants in the complex are very good too, but the Chinese restaurant ironically was a big disappointment.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Mercure Xian On Renmin Square traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: