Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Mercure Beijing Central

6 Xuanwumen Nei Avenue., Xicheng, 100031 Beijing, China

#138 of 594 hotels in Beijing

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 485 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    Overall an OK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little dingy and worn, although the linens were very clean. Service was OK. I’ve enjoyed stays in Mercury hotels in other countries in the past and this one did not seem up to their standards.

    The pool and gym were a plus. The breakfast and room service was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Happy to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some better English speaking. Staff confused they had a hotel car to airport service, even though we used it from airport! But it got sorted.

    Good sized room, comfortable bed. There is executive room lounge with breakfast and early evening snacks.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom and bathroom were clean but starting to look a bit tired. Probably time to refreshing the rooms.

    Great location. George the bellboy captain was fantastic, as were all of the staff. Hotel restaurants offer good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Proximity to trains, and tourist spots.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception had poor English skills so it was difficult at times to communicate. However, Catherine was very helpful.

    Proximity to trains, and tourist spots.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted an explanation on their deposit policy. Upfront payment was fine but charging a more than expected deposit was a blow, especially on arrival all tired...

    Great location. Walking distance to Xidan where almost all items come in handy. Taking subway to popular tourist sights is also convenient. Bed linen was so clean that I felt comfortable!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price I get to sign off is different from the one on Booking.com. Didn’t get to follow up for the reason.

    The room was spacious and clean. Hotel location was absolutely fabulous -1 minute walk to getting buses and train station. Food service at 24 hours at a higher price but loved it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Great city stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was in an excellent location, about a 15 minute walk from the Forbidden City, with an excellent breakfast and very comfortable, clean and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    The best journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the service staff was very good, especially the gentleman named George. Because of him, this trip was perfect. This hotel was my first choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.4
    Personal was not professional, not friendly, speak very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal was not professional, not friendly, speak very little English. I checked in very late in the night(2am) and they called me the next morning to tell me that I didn’t pay something(which could have been paid at the check out..)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    They original gave me a room that was below what I booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They original gave me a room that was below what I booked. A double bed just a shower!! I immediately said to the bellhop no this isn’t ok and within minutes we had the room we originally asked for. From that point on it was a great stay !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Great! I love this hotel. Thanks Grand Mercure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only issue - several times I had to wait for over fifteen minutes in the ground-floor shop

    The staff members who checked me in and out were friendly, efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t very good. Better to walk to nearby shopping centre for Starbucks or a restaurant

    Superior suite is comfy. Staff are great. Location is pretty good. Not 10 minutes walk to Tiananmen, more like 30-45, but trains and shopping malls are convenient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.1
    Good value hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was a bit tatty and cigarette smells throughout hotel. Corridors could be noisy with doors slamming at times.

    Good location for travelling to main attractions. Hotel clean, excellent breakfast and friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    Good location, dedicated and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Again: Heavy fine in Beijing dust during my stay. PM 2.5 was up to a level of 280! I bought a Fine-Dusk-Mask in the hotel shop. New: There are new and more complicated regulations regarding use of Chinese SIM-cards for foreigners now. My recommendation: Get a SIM after arrival at the airport, everything else will be complicated and time consuming.

    I have been several times to this place because of the good location on Xidan-Street, which enables me quick and easy moves through the whole city via 1st and 4th subway line. The staff has been very helpful again, teaching me how to order taxi (try it over WeChat or Didiche) and how to get my Chinese smartphone running. (It had to be set back to business status after coming back from abroad.) When I ask for late Check-out they gave me a permission to stay until 5 pm without extra charging.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Their most important value is their staff, principally their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their most important value is their staff, principally their concierge, that made everything to make our stay in the hotel the most comfortable as posible, bringing us information and everything on our stay, the rooms are comfortable, the location is good, is like 150mts away from the metro, and it is just 2 stops from the forbidden city, I recommend it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    I would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 7 nights

    breakfast had lots of choice, but lack of cleanliness eg. dirty juice dispensers also, nothing was kept hot eg. Cold Bacon,eggs etc.. when asked they said the heaters were broken, a week later and still not fixed :-[

    great location and close to Subway lines 1 and 4 clean good size rooms on floor 9

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.1
    It was ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good expect air conditioning. It was always cold . No airport pickup facility was the worst part. Staff at front desks always disturbing .

    bed very comfortable with clean room . Nice breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    Good value hotel for central Beijing with clean rooms and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During the stay the season changed to winter but the room heating system did not. So even thermostate on heat and maximium the room was not hot.

    Good value hotel for central Beijing with clean rooms and all the facilities you need if you are planning on spending the days and nights enjoying the city. The staff where friendly and the breakfast had a good selection that meant I never started the day hungry.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Value For Money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was good, but staff had trouble understanding English

    It was a nice hotel for the price paid, maybe better English from the staff would have been.nicer

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.2
    would not stay here or recommend this hotel to anyone
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything - having to carry our own bags from the hotel pick up car to our room - having to change rooms as ours was so smelly and bathroom dirty and stained - being told breakfast was not included in our booking each morning we went to breakfast and then being hassled by the staff at our table until they finally resolved it the 3rd day - having the swimming pool and spa closed for maintenance during 3 of the 4 days we stayed - total lack of communication prior to booking

    nothing - some of the staff were friendly and helpful though

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    It was splendid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The idea of sleeping in a room with in an inter leading door that is not a good noise breaker, having to hear the noise of very sexually active neighbours.

    I enjoyed the very delicious and tasty food particularly during dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel to international standards.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seemed impossible to pre-book transport to the airport. Although in the end it only took ten minutes for a taxi to arrive I was not comfortable knowing I was leaving at 0500 and reliant on calling a taxi at that time of day.

    Staff always tried to help in any way they could. The facilities were comprehensive and of a high quality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.1
    Great location, yet needs improvements on customer services
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with King Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer services need to be taken to a new level. The staffs seem are not properly trained. The room clean time is about 9 am each day (we stayed 4 nights), which is quite inconvenient. The cleaning lady kept on cleaning while we are IN the room. Also, we turned on the "Do Not Disturb" sign outside of our room, and it got turned off by the end of the day. My hubby said they entered the room regardless of the sign. Another disturbing thing is although the grand lobby is big, customers are only allowed to stay in a small set of sofa at one corner of the hotel. In the center of the lobby, there are seats for people who are willing to spend money on coffee and tea, others are not allow to sit on those sofa unless you are going to buy their food. I was not happy about it, a hotel that charges so much each night should really be more considerate for their customers, at least don't let us sit by the little corner.

    The location is super convenient. The Xidan subway station is about 5 mins walk. The breakfast buffet has good varieties although pricey. The overall experience is not bad.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    The opening times of the leisure facilities were limited so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with King Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The opening times of the leisure facilities were limited so it meant that we were not able to use them during our stay and that was one of the deciding factors of picking this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice Location with nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not weakness

    Nice location very close to 2 metro stations, nice staff they are very helpful, they know english easy to communicate with them, breakfast excllent many options. Rooms clean and very good space, internet little slow not up to expectations.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    The easy access to the underground system.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked the staff to help with a transfer from Xian airport to the Mercure in Xian. I was told the mini cab was a private hire but found out too late that i had been charged over the odds. Would suggest sort it out at the airport as no one else we spoke to was overcharged by cab drivers at the airport. Thought sorting it at our hotel would be safer.

    The easy access to the underground system. This gives a very quick, cheap and efficient way to get to the sights. `if using the underground beware the parts we used had no escalators or lifts only stairs. The hotel restaurant had excellent food and a good selection buffet with freshly cooked food on the menu.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    3.3
    Not the expected accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was taking a shower and suddenly the electricity is cut off. That happened twice. Engineer always came to fix the problem. Overall, there was no comfort

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    6.7
    Dull hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with King Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel is a bit expensive for the value you get. The staff doesn't look very happy working there, no smiles, no greetings, just plain Chinese-style handling of things.

    good location and decent facilities. Nothing special

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and good swimming pool
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need more staff on reception when people are checking out in the morning.

    Good swimming pool. Excellent location - very near the big Xinhua bookshop which has a good selection of English language books, a pleasant stroll to Tian'anmen Square and a short drive to Beijing South railway station. Good buffet breakfast including fresh fruit and good coffee. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    Small business stay in Beijing
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location in the bank/financial district - very central. Close to 2 lines of metro, very good to get around. In walking distance to Tianmen Square, Forbidden City, Beijing Concert Hall and NCPA.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Location and service couldn't have been better!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with King Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything about this hotel. No complaints.

    Pool and Gym were great. Sauna and steam too. Breakfast quite good. Room was large. Bed very comfortable. Staff excellent and many spoke some English. Fabulous tai chi performer in evening in hotel lobby. Xidan metro less than 5 min. walk away. Central location and close to Imperial Palace and Tiananmen. Short taxi ride from Beijing Nan train station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel for a trip to Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with King Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a large hotel with a lot of rooms so I can imagine they are busy and cannot keep all up to date.

    The hotel itself is a good hotel. The rooms are comfy not the most up to date decor but comfy. Location I thought was good there were plenty of shopping centres near by in walking distance.. To get around you'll either walk or try to get a cab.. Taking the metro its like rush hour all day long so don't :) I also would suggest to use a local cab company from the airport to the hotel the cost is around 13 GBP / 15 euros etc..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Good stay in a conveniently located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is old so it appears run down

    Good value. The location of the property is very good. It's walking distance to Xian subway, Xidan shopping malls and to Tiananmen square. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.6
    Great location, great staff, very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    The location is great - at the heart of the city and close to Subway lines #1, #2, and #4. The room is spacious and the bed is comfortable. A/C and Wi-Fi were good. The staff was very friendly and helpful in every interaction we had. My boyfriend had a medical emergency while we were out and was sent back to the hotel in an ambulance. The front desk manager accompanied us back to the room to make sure everything was okay. On our day of departure, they extended our check out to 2pm for free. Both of us didn't feel well so the extra resting time was appreciated more than we could say.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.8
    Great intro to Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with King Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fantastic, friendly, helpful staff. especially Shaun Shen. The pool staff were great too. Easy access to subway, Tiananmen square and near shopping area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Good choice for a relaxing visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with King Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well run first class hotel to which we would return.Great pool & jacuzzi. It helps to know the subway goes from the airport to xidan a short walk from the station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    Good place to stay in Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was good, no problems.

    The hotel was quite good, probably not quite the 9.6 my scoring added up to but very satisfactory, The location, facilities & staff lacked nothing & I would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    5.8
    Hotel is a little bit old, not very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgrade the rooms and bathrooms, wallpapers are peeling off. The smell of room is not inviting at all:)

    Hotel is a little bit old, not very clean! Staff friendly looking but no spoken English at all. Breakfast was delicious!! Hotel is placed in central area, close to tourist attractions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.8
    NOT non-smoking, old carpets - no charme
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad air, a lot og dust from the aircondition. The room was clean enough. Old carpets make a bad impression. Nonsmoking hotel - but the smell of smoke evrywhere. Breakfast ok. Conclusion; choose either a five-Star hotel or a hostel in the hutongs....a lot more honest and charming.

    Perfect location!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.3
    Good location with very friendly and professional staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with King Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Heavy fine dust during my stay in Beijing, I was able to buy a particulate-removing respirator mask in a drugstore at Dawn Male Hospital Beijing, at Xirong Xian Street, only 400 m from the hotel.

    I really appreciated the service culture at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, I suddenly had some unusual matters, like, for instance, sending a parcel of books from China back to Germany, the staff organized everything without any extra charge. They have been very friendly and helpful indeed. I liked the location, because it is well connected with subway lines to all directions of Beijing. I used the subway very often, because of the heavy traffic jam. Just 500 m north of the hotel there is XIDAN - a big shopping street, where you can find big shopping malls as well as cosy little restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    6.3
    Right smack in the middle of Xidan metro (line 1) and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with King Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no safe in the room. The safe was brought to the room upon request. Is the safe "safe"? Would I want to keep my valuables in the safe?

    Right smack in the middle of Xidan metro (line 1) and Xuanwumen metro (line 2). About 5-7 min stroll to either metro station. About 7-12 min stroll to the Xidan shopping area, past Xidan metro station.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with King Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a windy day and somehow the window kept making squeaky sound and it was a bit annoying. The range of TV channels is a bit limited.

    Nice room. Good breakfast. Very close to Xidan metro station. Will stay here again!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    6.7
    Close to Subway, which is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot. Air-conditioning controls did not work, other than on/off.

    Close to Subway, which is great. It would be good for all hotels to say which Subway exit to come out of, and directions to hotel from that point.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel in a first class location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food and beverage offering needs urgent review and was unsatisfactory on our visit. Meal offerings were cold at the buffet breakfast and a la carte dinner menu options were slow in coming and again, cold. A female, multi lingual duty manager assisted us with the dinner problems however the second floor restaurant's operation needs work. I'd suggest the GM and F & B Manager eat a little more regularly at their own hotel's outlets.

    Within walking distance to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City plus great shopping nearby. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning/ heating were easily adjustable. The staff were generally helpful however there were often hesitancies in English. Overall, a quality hotel offering excellent value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    8.8
    Good comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enjoying breakfast. I was always rushed to finish my meal. Paidore than I booked.

    Reception desk staff speak English and helpfull. Room is comfortable for good rest after long walk in Beijing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    Central location, great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with King Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about.

    Luxurious room, comfortable bed, great swimming pool, and very good breakfast. The first room I got had a window looking at a huge black building right next to the hotel. I kindly asked the concierge if I could get a city view room, and he arranged it! Thank you!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Great location and excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath tub

    Great location. Close to two subway lines. The front desk was very helpful. She arranged a Uber 7-sweaters for us because we had too many luggage to fit into a regular taxi. I forgot to ask for her name. The buffet breakfast was excellent. Lot of choices. Very spacious restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    4.2
    friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1.ammount actualy paid for the accomodation and daily rate is two times more expencive than booking.com calculation 2. the hotel staff cleaned in toilet after 3d reminder

    friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    9.6
    Overall, great value for short business stay or transit through Beijing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with King Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea cups were not completely cleaned for two days. Assist Mgr provided wrong information on bus shuttle to Airport. Fortunately I double checked with staff at driveway.

    Efficient and courteous service at reception. Mgr came to check with me on whether my stay was good. Lounge at Business floor was good, but can improve with more self service snacks and tea. Lounge staff tried to make me comfortable working at the meeting room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    5.8
    Nice pool, good central location, spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled of cigarette smoke, staff was mostly unable to communicate in English, they charge a massive deposit

    Nice pool, good central location, spacious room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.5
    Beware of security deposit charge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon our arrival the front desk charged my US credit card an extra 1,000 rmb as a "security deposit". It is now 4 days later and I am still waiting for the charge to be removed from my credit card. The total charge for our stay was just over 600 rmb which I paid on my Bank of China debit card the next morning at check out. This kind of trickery on the hotel's part is not appreciated - they make a small percentage of interest by charging my credit card and a hassle for me to make sure their extra charge is removed. Definitely will not stay there again.

    comfortable bed, spacious room, lovely bath

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.6
    Great location Beijing central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed 1 breakfast buffet and they would not do anything. That's $64+tax canadian

    Staff was very friendly and accommodating good was great . great location for all sites and malls and transportation

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    5.8
    Not as good as it should be
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is OLD. The room and corridors have seen better days. This hotel maybe was a 4* hotel at some point but not now. The staff were not unfriendly but often had poor English (we had confusion of the nature of the deposit) and not overly helpful (had to chase for my taxi, didn't tell us it was a holiday). The hotel is on a big road in a not very atmospheric area.

    This hotel is amazingly central. Big twin room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    A decent choice especially when its location is what you are looking for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is great. The price is reasonable compare with similar hotels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Close to shops, bank.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had noisy neighbors for a couple of nights

    Close to shops, bank. Breakfast was great, helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool appeared dirty. Booked twin rooms and first night one was a double.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.8
    Room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of rooms. Even we asked for non smoking area, room was full of smoking odor. Poor english of personnel working there..

    Lobby decoration

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel needs updating.

    location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    It is an average hotel for businessmen.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brwakfast is very limited and simple. Coffee is awful.

    Staff are great and always ready to help.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Really decent place with very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful staff, regardless of limited English speaking capabilities they tried to help beyond their responsibilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    English communication was very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    English communication was very bad carpets stinked

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed our stay, staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Supply of coffee, tea & milk in our room.

    Breakfast was good, plenty to choose from.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.4
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bed....no breakfast included

    Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 1052: broken shower door that leaked water all over the floor, broken toilet, stained carpet, worn fabric on chair

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    Good sized room & well appointed hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with King Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to communicate with staff

    Gym & steam room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Its an older hotel. Facilities are dated and it shows. Staff brilliant though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedding - really needed comfy bed and struggled to get good sleep.

    Staff - people were kind, patient, helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    large room area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is very poor.

    large room area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    3.8
    Avoid it if you can.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally outdated. Various things simply broken. Wrong side of town.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    the room rates included breakfast but Booking.com instructed the hotel room only.Pl refund
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 9 nights

    king size bed

    bed a bit small for 2

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Food was terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was terrible

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Good hotel to another visiting
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hospitality and excellent helpful crew

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Good and excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with One Free Welcome Drink
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good and excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing more

    Breakfast spread was nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.5
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not value for money

    Staff are friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful pool and sauna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An English TV or movie channel would be the cherry sundae.

    Wonderful pool and sauna. Fabulous breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Mercure Beijing Central traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: