Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. China hotel reviews
  3. Guangdong hotel reviews
  4. Guangzhou hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Garden Hotel Guangzhou

Reviews of The Garden Hotel Guangzhou

No.368 Huan Shi Dong Rd, Yue Xiu, 510064 Guangzhou, China

#38 of 571 hotels in Guangzhou

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2046 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2019

    10
    excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Suite with King Bed Non - smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    if breakfast finishes by 10:30 them the hotel should keep food until then, because if you come by 10:15 then nothing is left to eat

    the hotel is just nice comfortable and luxurious

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2019

    7.1
    tasty, very large selection from the breakfast buffet!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Room - Free Your Feet Promotion
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed in this hotel several times and was usually happy. This time nothing worked as it should!. Not prepared room(I arrived at the hotel after 4 pm), then I received a smaller room than I booked! In addition, in the vicinity of the elevator, where all the sounds of the elevator were coming up in the room. In compensation, the hotel offered me a free foot massage... which I did not use. Such a class of a hotel should not allow such incidents.

    tasty, very large selection from the breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2019

    3.8
    Bad experience this time, totally different from before.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room - Free Your Feet Promotion
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad experience this time, totally different from before. I been in this hotel from several years but now it drop the quality too much. On arrival the receptionist take more than 10 min to give me the room than give me very small bad smoking room even my booking was No smoking room. After taking with manager she changed the room with correct one and no smoking, but the room was dirty and dusty, also bathroom was dirty. Finally the breakfast is very poor, they lower the quality of food, no fresh orange juice available, I was not able to get scrambled eggs because the chef don't speak english. This hotel now is far away from other five stars.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2019

    8.8
    Lost customer
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room (with one breakfast)
    • Stayed 1 night

    took over 1 hour to check in , with a person whos English was very poor and even the supervisor who spoke very good English it still took her 30 min to check us in to a low floor small room, worst in 20 years. we had a 30 min business meeting in the bar the drinks took 45 min to come one at a time???? breakfast I was really looking forward to it was always expensive but always very good, not now its become a Muslim restaurant no pork?????? I left in disgust and went for a coffee, I ordered with there waiter and 20 min later I went to the counter asking where is my coffee I was told you must pat first, I said it would help if you tell me first??? I will not stay here again 20 years of amazing experiences lost

    loved this hotel stayed for 20 years but this will be my last time

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    6.7
    will not return.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Room (with one breakfast)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in a disaster , very slow and confused could not find our rooms on system? Rooms not available at 10.00 pm at night after booking ages ago. My colleague only got a room key at 11.30 pm?

    Comfortable Room

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2019

    5.8
    Not a 5 star , don’t waste your money, try other hotels for that price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Room - Free Your Feet Promotion
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Their rooms need updating, the breakfast pastries were not freshly. They are slow in attending to complaints, we had a blocked toilet that took them an hour to fix . I asked for none smoking and they gave me a smoking room , called them and told me no other room was available. Had to go down to speak to the manager. I ordered a car for the airport and bell boy for 7 pm , had to go down and follow up at 7:43 cause no one had come . The entrance is grand but they really need to upgrade the rest of the hotel

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2019

    9.6
    Great Location nearby many good resturants, taxis available...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Twin Room Non - smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet was a little bit small and there is no bidette

    Great Location nearby many good resturants, taxis available always in the hotel front yard, the hotel gardens was wonderful, the team was friendly and helpful, breakfast has a good variety of international food beside the Chinese food

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2019

    8.3
    Breakfast quality has gone down
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    BREAKFAST. I have been staying at this hotel for about 6 years now, but the breakfast quality this time seems to have gone down. 1. The quality has gone down 2. The selection has reduced somewhat 3. Most of the waiters did not seem capable or wanting to help. They did not understand a single word of English, which is very odd considering 90% of the guests only knew English. 4. Almost every single day I got assigned a table, I went to get my food and when I came back the staff had given my table away. Even though there was an occupied sign on the table and I had left my personal belongings on the table. This was just ridiculous.

    Kate from the front desk was very helpful and accommodating. There was a problem with my room so she upgraded me to a suite for the entirety of my stay and even gave me a complimentary checkout. I don't remember the persons name but there was a Nepalese guy at the entrance. Very helpful and friendly guy, I really liked his attitude and would like to acknowledge him specially.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    7.5
    nice
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room (with one breakfast)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    th carpet in th room . n the window as to b partly openable american style... so nobody can jump out but u get fresh air

    execellent location....breakfast needs lots more vegetarian options n to b placed vtogthr at 1 side as u hv to search fr food....

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2019

    4.2
    with such a price point you can get much more than this Hotel, i don't recommend
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room - Free Your Feet Promotion
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room was very small, bathroom open to the room, the staff at the chick in was very rude, we made a booking through booking.com for 2 adults with breakfast, reached the hotel breakfast only for one, i tried more than one hour talking to them and i was very tired after 14 hour flight. the lobby is a disaster as no seating, so when we need to sit and discuss anything with our business partners we are forced to go to one of their restaurants or cafes, the breakfast area is jammed with people like a high school cafeteria, everyone pushing everyone, you have to wait for a table, a lot of time we didn't get to have breakfast as we couldn't waste time. I chose this hotel as it was so hyped about, NO not a all.

    the amenities in the room , the comfort of the bed and pillows.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2019

    7.9
    It’s where my family likes to stay when we visit Guangzhou.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Suite - Free Your Feet Promotion
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Checking out takes far too long

    It’s where my family likes to stay when we visit Guangzhou. We can all fit in a premier suite: Great breakfast and good restaurants. We love the Peach Blossom.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    10
    Excellent customer service and efficiency with timely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Premier Room (with one breakfast)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No express checkout lanes. Otherwise it’s impeccable! Highly recommended!

    Excellent customer service and efficiency with timely delivery and very pleasant and professional team members. Beautifully designed and thoughtfully appointed. Well maintained, very clean and spacious throughout. Generous and genuine customer relations with the extra touches.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    9.2
    Location was central especially for Arabs & Muslim...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Waiting time to get served at reception.

    Location was central especially for Arabs & Muslim people; where they can find nearby halal shops & restaurants. Staff was helpful in general with few exceptions. Very clean room & excellent housekeeping. 2 ATMs available. Highly recommended hotel.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    10
    Home away from home :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room (with one breakfast)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing at all.

    I've been going to Guanghzou for the past 11 years and tried most of the 5 stars hotels there, and this hotel by far is the best ! the staff is amazingly proactive and extremely helpful with always a big smile. And every time I stay here they manage to impress me more and more than previous time. The breakfast is superb with choices you can't even imagine from all over the world with a beautiful view of water falls : great start of the day :) Hotel is perfectly situated. Super comfy bed and great amenities in the room. The front desk staff always looking eager to serve,Stephanie was a great host with extremely professional highest standards and service levels with a very warm smile. Really deserve a 7 stars hotel.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    9.6
    The stuff was amazing and really elegant spicily
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier Room (with one breakfast)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stuff was amazing and really elegant spicily Chiara!!!! From lobby lounge she was very amazing with a pretty smile in her face all time welcoming in a warm way every day thank you so much for the great hospitality !!!!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    10
    I really like the restaurant location by the waterfall
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room (with one breakfast)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 515 ..didn't like thus noisy room

    I really like the restaurant location by the waterfall And fish bound. ..and the room *suite )..STAFF THE PUBLIC RELATIONS MANEGAR. MR JIMMY KIM MADE ME CHANGE MY MIND ABOUT THE GARDEN HOTEL .. REALLY HE IS US A NICE HELPFULL MANEGAR. .THANKS A MILLION TO HIM AND THE ALL THE STAFF

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    10
    The staff very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Chinese New Year Package - Premier Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff very friendly Special thanks to the manegar. Jimmy kim very friendly helpful. ..he made me feel like home and to be a permanent customer. ..he deserves to be in higher position. ..thanks again to jimmy kim and all staff...

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    6.7
    Ideal location & Comfortable stay but very poor wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Chinese New Year Package - Premier Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi is poor & miserable. All the 4 days I depend on my roaming 4G data. I complained about wifi quality but no proper response received. Very disappointed.

    Location is very ideal & metro connection is nearby. Very good breakfast & varieties.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    10
    Garden Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Room (with one breakfast)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn’t anything not to like. Everything was done with taste.

    My family was very well accommodated by the staff. Entire staff was very efficient and courteous. The concierge staff was exceptional. The hotel was immaculate. Definitely recommend this hotel for business and vacation stay. Location was prime for shopping. This hotel has definitely earned the 5 stars.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    9.6
    Simply the best....
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing other than the price

    Stayed here many time love the hotel, would stay here all the time when I come to GZ but it is exspensive but a really great hotel

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    8.3
    Very clean and people could understand a bit of English at...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Waiters couldn't understand when asking for things like milk and so forth.

    Very clean and people could understand a bit of English at the reception .

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    5.8
    ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chinese New Year Package - Premier Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The cost of the restaurants was ridiculous. 5 star hotels in New York are not this expensive. The quality of the food was ordinary

    The bed was extra comfy and the room was clean. The room rate was fair.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    7.5
    Breakfast and location was excellent
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s very crowded at the reception even though there were several of them. They take long time to check in or answer an inquiry. There was no ablution hose inside the bathroom for washing. No prayer mat (sajadah) was provided.

    Breakfast and location was excellent

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    7.1
    It's generally a lovely stay, however the property and the decorations are a bit dated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Chinese New Year Package - Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself has been pretty old, some of the amenities are out of date, now the new hotels tend to use environmental friendly amenities while in Garden hotel they are still using the cheap low quality amenities, which is a down side.

    The bed was comfy, everything is well organized. somehow if the room can change to a bigger display with TV box, that certainly helps the enhance the experience of stay. But overall it was a lovely stay.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    8.3
    It was a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Chinese New Year Package - Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Before I point out the things I didn't like let me mention that the overall stay was very comfortable and enjoyable . The hotel ambience was very welcoming . I Had to wait in line for a while before we could be seated for breakfast. Our room bathroom and toilet shared a single sliding door which made it impossible to use them while the other was occupied. The bath tub was also inconvenient to get in and out of , a simpler shower would have made cubicle would be much more sensible instead.

    It was a pleasant stay. Very nice ambienc , Very neat and clean and The hotels staff is very helpful . The food is also very good . Definitely recommend this hotel to others .

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    10
    Just enough for the money you pay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Room (with one breakfast)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no waiting or seating arrangement at all in lobby. People coming to meet guest have no place to sit for short discussion. Lobby could have been better organized.

    Location is good. two breakfast restaurants

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast was amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room (with one breakfast)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.

    The breakfast was amazing. A lot of western food, fresh juices, different types of cheeses. The room is very comfortable, and the staff very kind.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    9.2
    Location, stuff, cleaning, are perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are no advantages of people who are always residences in this hotel, even no membership!!

    Location, stuff, cleaning, are perfect. Would like to thanks Miss Semmy from Executive lunge for her smile and help .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.1
    Allright not recommendable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Suite - Chinese New Year Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast for 5 star poorly coffeemachines not working a lot of choices of ill prepared food All quality minimum grades best were the fruitjuices

    Familiar with the place convenient parking

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    7.9
    Worth it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier Room (with one breakfast)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food was ok, need to have more options. Breakfast very limited options as well.

    Very good location, great interior design, comfortable room and very good amenities.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful Breakfast and Room Service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Canton Fair Package - Premier Room with Dinning & Laundry Credit
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel's lobby is less welcoming. Reception and Concierge service could improve. Without a hotel trolley anywhere in sight at the main lobby - it is difficult for a guest to get to their room without assistance. It feels quite cold when the receptionist gives the room key, mention the floor and move on to attend to next in line. But, thereafter a guest may appreciate the beautiful community. Definitely, first impressions count.

    Beautiful Breakfast and Room Service. Free Wi-Fi Internet Access.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I arrived at the hotel at 6.30 pm, only to be told that my room would not be ready until 9.30 pm!! I obviously was not happy about this. I could understand this if i tried to check in early, but at 6.30 pm ? i asked to see the manager, and they offered me free of charge upgrade to a suite, but i still had to wait another hour before i could access my room. The reason given was that the hotel was full as it was the Canton Fair week.. The suite badly needs updating. in fact the whole hotel needs updating as it now lacks the expections of a 5 start hotel. I have stayed at the |Garden hotel over 7 times in the last 10 years, but unfortunately I will be moving to another hotel on my next canton Fair visit.

    Staff were friendly but unfortunately they were understaffed during this visit.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    7.5
    breakfast buffet great, garden is great
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier Room (with one breakfast)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - hotel is airconditioned too cold - smoking is allowed in the hotel - there were people smoking on the table next to me while I was eating breakfast

    breakfast buffet great, garden is great

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    6.3
    Location was good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked room for two person including breakfast but when i reach there they gave me breakfast for one only and their reason was because one room one breakfast how ever after I contacted customer service in Booking.com they updated the booking and after i went again to reception a couple times then they released me the extra person breakfast , the guy was friendly with me too and he solved the issue

    Location was good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    7.5
    Great location great italian Resturant down the road need to clean there act about the working pros
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    less working girls in the bar area and around the hotel grounds

    Great Area to be when you are travelling in Guangzhou only issue is this hotel is full of working girls ($2000RMB per night) wanting to give you a going over when this is what they was asking never used there services and never will but if you are there with your misses doesn’t leave a very good taste in her mouth or mind when you are travelling alone

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    4.6
    Definitely not a five stars hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not clean. The rooms are so small and the toilet door has no lock. Took a very long time to check in. No sitting area in the lobby.

    Verity of the breakfast that suits all tastes. All amenities are provided in the room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay in Guangzhou
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Canton Fair Package - Premier Room with Dinning & Laundry Credit
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The price is just a bit high. Some employees can have a better English level.

    This is the best hotel to stay in while in Guangzhou: location, customer service and overall excellent experience. They even have a great band performing next to the lobby every night!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    6.7
    More choice needed.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cut foot on bedroom floor, broken piece of glass. Wifi poor on last day had to go to reception gor code? Buffet expensive and lacking choice, kept running out and took a long time to replenish.

    Modern room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel great comfort very nice breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Usb socket in room not worked till the end of my stay and no body repaired it and I gave up calling them to get the usb socket fixed instead I used other means to charge my phone very unprofessional for a hotel like this!

    Excellent hotel great comfort very nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    9.2
    Garden hotel a perfect stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food. Must have Halal catering for breakfast. Many middle east customers as well Muslim customers throughout the world come to Canton fair. This is not the first request. We pay a fortune for breakfast.

    Everything was great. pleasure to stay at garden hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier King Room Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing

    From the moment you walk in it screams class, The staff are all well presented the lobby is amazing I was upgraded when I arrived the room was massive, had everything you could need. Breakfast covered everything you could want.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    10
    The property is a seven star hotel with a lot of amenities...
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Room (with one breakfast)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are a bit small and the bathroom/bathtub are exposed inside the room giving no privacy and the restaurants and coffee shops are very expensive, too expensive.

    The property is a seven star hotel with a lot of amenities and spacious. The reception staff were friendly and super helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    7.9
    The bed is comfortatbel and bathtub is clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room (with one breakfast)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No commend for Chinese, their line receptionist cannot get your point. Maybe they graduated from Cantonese school.

    The bed is comfortatbel and bathtub is clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Autumn Reunion Package - Premier Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet and the tiles inside the shower room of the Suite we stayed in need to be polished and upgraded.

    The staff were helpful and location was great. Crisis management was handled nicely & professionally by the Room Reservation Director, Credits should definitely be granted.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    6.3
    Not even a sentence just one word (Distressed)
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Spa package - Premier Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Checking was a bit of a mission I stayed in this hotel in 2016 then the hotel was paying attention to every detail this time around not at all...I also noticed that the long counter that was used before it is now replaced with small round tables and this makes these tables to be clustered, I booked a room that came with a spa voucher but when I got to the spa they could not pick up my name nor the voucher, was so disappointed... In 2016 checking was easy flowing there were no long queues, we were tired from a long flight and had to endure pain of checking in, the restaurant where breakfast is held it is unbelievably full all the time especially in the morning and food runs out and replenishing takes a long time...

    I liked the location easy to access I also liked the restaurant at 30th floor...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    6.7
    The place was clean and tidy, room was spacious, modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with 1 Breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were a few too many things that annoyed me. The bathroom extractor fan did not work. There was a knock on the door one afternoon (while we were napping) from room service asking if we were ok with how the room was made up that morning (even though we had the do not disturb sign on) At breakfast when we asked if we could switch to a vacant table, the waiting staff said it was occupied and guarded it like crazy, which was surprising because after going to the buffet, we returned to our allocated table only to find it had been taken by someone else. So the staff made a big deal about protecting everyone else's seats but not us??!! The breakfast itself was just very average The room key card stopped working at one point and we had to get it re-activated. The room came with 2 medium sets of slippers which was great for my wife but not for me. I contacted the hotel twice to see if they could arrange a little something for the wife as it was our first anniversary. They didn't sort anything out I expected a lot more for the price we paid and a supposedly 5 star hotel

    The place was clean and tidy, room was spacious, modern. Location was good, very close to the tube station. Room had a large bath tub that both me and my wife could fit in, which was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    9.6
    breakfast is superb.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Room with 1 Breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Every year Garden hotel provides us transportation facilities to & fro to the Pazhou Fair ground for Guangzhou Lighting fair. This year they cancelled the transportation service which was very bad.

    breakfast is superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    4.6
    They charge more than is quoted on booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room (with one breakfast)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They charge more than is quoted on booking.com claiming tax and service charges which hasn’t happened with our other bookings for other hotel on booking.com

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is very nice, clean and tidy. The only problem is that the toilet and shower share a sliding door so if you're using the toilet the shower is open and you can't use and vice versa. Air-conditioning and wifi were great. The hotel staff were extra friendly throughout the stay and they helped us to communicate with taxi drivers everytime we go out. They also took an extra mile to help us with a bag that we bought from the markwr. We bought the bag in the last day and we found out that it's broken when we came back to the hotel even though our flight was next morning. We contacted the staff manager and he helped us to call the shop owner to convince her to bring a replacement to the hotel the same night which was amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    5.4
    very uncomfortable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath rooms are not good rooms are too small

    rooms are too small and bathrooms are not comfortable specially bath tub and shower open paln bath you may call it studio bath not recommended to stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    10
    Our experience with The Garden was exceptional from pick-up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our experience with The Garden was exceptional from pick-up to check-out! The hotel representative came to meet us at the door of the plane! He accompanied us through the passport check, luggage collect, money change and SIM card purchase. La cerise sur le gateau was the luxurious limousine that awaited to take us to the hotel! We booked a premier room with breakfast. As we are Muslim and fasting, we asked to exchange the breakfast with a dinner, and the request was approved with kindness immediately. Dinner was very good. We did not try lots of options with meat (because not halal) but there was enough vegetarian and seafood options to eat well and enjoy your dinner. The hotel design seems to be insignificant and neglected from the outside, but gives the surprise once you are inside. We were pleased to discover the different mural paintings, hidden gardens, waterfalls and fountains. After checking out, we had the sad experience to miss our train. We booked a train for the next day and went back to the hotel without hesitation. It was actually a pleasure to enjoy the hotel facilities for one more night! Again, we were gratified by our wonderful receptionist Kitty, by being upgraded to a suite in the higher floors! Thank you Kitty and all the garden staff for making our stay enjoyable and memorable!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel choice either you visit for business or pleasure.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast area is quite small in order to satisfy this amount of people.. Get up early and take your breakfast or else you have to wait sometimes even 15 mins.

    The breakfast was really good, bed and room were comfy and absolutely clean!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    8.3
    It’s a lovely hotel. I will return back again for sure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel cost per night is a bit up.

    I was overwhelmed with WiFi which is powered by a smooth vpn platform that allowed me to do my normal business communication with the outside world.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    7.1
    very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast and room condition

    Room was upgraded which was fabulous - the rooms definitely could use a slap of paint and a freshen up though. The breakfast was very average. Facilities terrific - staff mostly very polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    5.0
    Cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Arriving at GuangZhou airport from Shanghai, we realised that there was a typhoon and had flooded roads to go to the city centre where the hotel is. Staff wasn’t helpful when we rang them to inform that we might not be able to go to their hotel due to the seriousness of the flood. Neither do they make it more convenient nor they understand that the roads were all cut off. They still charging us for the night that we were unable to get from airport to their hotel. Breakfast at 9AM was a painful experience, we were queuing up for a long queue for something that definitely not worth it for the wait time. Staff wasn’t helpful beside giving all the hotel policies that just doesn’t take account on any circumstances beside they want to charge you money Room rather small Upon check in we were told to choose the two beds room although we were traveling as a couple The floor that we were at is a Non-smoking floor but from the first step we step out of the elevator we could smell a strong cigarette smoke at the hall way throughout the room.

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.6
    We had great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing I can think of

    Delicious Guilin rice noodle as breakfast. The room is super clean and the bed is very comfortable. The staff speaks good English

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    7.5
    Lovely choices for breakfast buffet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Room with 1 Breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room a bit to tight for us .... but very clean Alot of the staff couldn't speak English, which was a downside as its a 5 star with a lot of international customers

    Lovely choices for breakfast buffet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    6.7
    OK.NOT EXCELLENT YOU EXCEPT
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    STAFF LAKE OF ENGLISH LANGUAGE HAVE COPY OF BOOKING RESERVATION,THEY SAy do not have it. KEEP US OVER HOUR AT RECEPȚION.

    Very convenient for all amenities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    4.2
    Old platinum 5 star hotel which not meet our expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Suite with Twin Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel really old. the coffee cup was dirty the first day I arrival. breakfast choice very little, I only eat the first day. Mattress and Pillow not comfort at all! It's terrible experience when you wake up everyday with back and neck pain. Hotel parking also terrible. it's not link to the hotel lobby. car park lift under maintenance during my four-days stay ! I have 2 luggage and young children need to carry up & down the narrow old stairs till B3!

    hotel location is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in was confusing- was allocated a room different to what was reserved. Problem solved promptly once staff advised.

    Great location and excellent staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    8.3
    Great Hotel to stay at.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast is very poor for a hotel of this standard. The Taxi drivers waiting out the front are very rude and difficult to deal with.

    Check in was very fast and room was ready for me for early check in. The rooms are very comfortable and the beds are great, the staff are very helpful and nice and friendly. Location is pretty good and some good places to eat nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.2
    Very clean comfortable and nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with 1 Breakfast
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast could be significantly improved. There is always a problem with space at breakfast and even if you get there, the staff is not keeping up changing empty food trials. Staying it for 7 days the variety of food during breakfast was also a bit disappointing.

    Very clean comfortable and nice rooms. Convenient location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is very good, location amazing, but the management and staff should be definitely improved
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suite with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff should be more trained in English.Also the organisation of usual things during the busy time of Canton Fair is very poor.The main restaurant is always full during breakfast, so you have either to sit at the cue to find a table, while you loose bus after bus, or you can choose to eat in the lobby bar, on special small bar tables, with a very few food assortment to choose.Very unpleasant thing - outside , near the bus departure point you can buy water / sandwich for 2 RMB provided by the hotel.This is cheap I guess - when you pay like 200 USD per room during the Fair, I guess the Management can decide to add 2 RMB ( 0,30 USD) per person to the room cost instead of asking money for this ! When I left the hotel I was asking a bigger taxi because we travel with 2 very large suitcase.First the lady at the concierge have told me there is no bigger taxi.So I have to insist and explain I have used this service in a hotel near by, so she can search for it.Eventually she managed to find me a bigger car though!

    The location is very good.A lot of international restaurants near by.The hotel have a very nice garden with a waterfall , which create a very nice and quiet space in the crowded city. The wi-fi is very good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.5
    Customers request must be attended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have been placed in un quite room which is behind elevators yet I have requested a quite room earlier, I noticed carpet not vacuumed most of the 10 nights I stayed.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.0
    why housekeeping always does not clean my room when I back...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier King Room Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    why housekeeping always does not clean my room when I back at night time need to ask her to come ? Even the hotel is full but the room must keep clean and the guest back, also my cup does not wash...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    9.6
    Great except the breakfast experience which only happened once.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier Room with 1 Breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I arrived at 10:50 for breakfast and I was turned back. I was to,d that breakfast was finished yet at reception I was told it finishes at 11:00. I was really disappointed. I expected to be served no matter how minimal the offering would have been but been turned back was just rude. I had paid for bed and breakfast so I really felt like I was being ripped off.

    I enjoyed being in this hotel. It is beautiful and the service was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    8.3
    lively hotel in a very good location, but rather expensive
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms are quite small price/quality ratio very expensive bar blowing noise of the elevator because my room was behind the main elevators

    best location lively ambiance & bar huge breakfast in nice setting overlooking the garden en pond friendly staff clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay.. Highly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor English speaking staff. I was charged on the bill of consuming Alcohol from the mini bar although I requested the hotel to take it away before my check in. They took it away prior my checkin and charged me by mistake the number of bottles taken away which I think happened by mistake :) whereas I do not even drink.

    I didn't used much of the facilities but location was very good near Arabic restaurants and shopping areas and metro station, also bed mattress and pillows were very comfortable. Luckily I found an arabic speaking receptionist on my checkout. The fregnance used in the lobby area is great, I asked the hotel concierge and others for the fregnance name used in the lobby.. None of them had a clue unfortunately. Generally.. My stay was pleasant and I recommend staying in the hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely, wonderful hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food, service, professionalism of the hotel staff.

    Lovely stay - pity it was so far from the Canton Fair. So we needed to get up extra early every day to visit the Canton Fair. In future we would prefer to use another hotel which is closer to the Canton Fair

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    9.6
    Overall great hotel, and value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier King Room Nonsmoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast variety of western foods was not sufficient. Room for improvement. In house restaurants tend to be expensive. Overall great hotel, and value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good

    Well decorated and well equiped room. Very confortable bed. Great breakfast. Perfect location. The shuttle bus to canton fair makes it perfect for the fair visitors.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    9.6
    Location, cleanliness, polite staff, breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No place for guests to wait in the lobby. Either they must stand, or sit in the coffee shop and order something. Strange for a hotel of this level

    Location, cleanliness, polite staff, breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    9.6
    consider my words.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    before arrival booking.com deduct our payment through Credit card, and still we not received the payment back in our account yet. there was no Muslim commode seats(no washing shower) in any room, because of that we face problem during stay.

    very secure place for living, designed very beautifully, rooms was good, we good atmosphere, garden was amazing, breakfast service also great, best place to travel and stay in china, on best location because shopping centers are we close,staff was very cooperative. best in every thing, i had wonderful time there. thanks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.1
    Location near starbucks +most staff speak english
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the quality of the food+the shortage of staff+not secure enough (the ATM machines are outside and not safe)

    Location near starbucks +most staff speak english

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facilities were not the best. I needed the gift shop but no one was there to open it although it had a sign on the front door that said it's always opened just ask someone at the front desk. The garden was a bit boring, I expected it to be a lot more interesting but as I said before it sets a nice view for the breakfast. The TV's in the rooms had no international channels, specifically English channels, I think there was just 1. TV might not be so important to some people, but when you're on a business trip and you had a long day sometimes all you want to do is sit back and relax and it was a little disappointing not to find anything on TV. Also, the WIFI was great the first 2 days of my stay then basically stopped working.

    I went on a business trip, the hotel was wonderful! The best part is having breakfast by the window overlooking the beautiful garden and it's waterfall! One of the best features of the hotel. As for the rooms they were very elegant and very spacious! For the same price it's hard to find somewhere else in the world where they have this much space in a room!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse The Garden Hotel Guangzhou Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: