Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai

No.1738 Zhongxing Road, Zhabei, 200070 Shanghai, China

#217 of 802 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1796 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    Ok hotel for location near the subway but not ok for being near the railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it is next to the Railway Station, We could hear all the trains until late in the evening/night. If you are a sensible sleeper, do not book this hotel. Carpet in the room looked old and dusty.

    The surroundings, many chinese restaurants, souvernir shops etc. Near subway station; good big room, breakfast decent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    Overall satisfy and the room environment is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wide range of breakfast choices but moderate food quality, there are room to improve given commis put more effort into their cooking; american breakfast was bad; 1 choice of condiment (honey) is fine but thick and hard pancake, egg roll with mix veg/ ingredient is very salty, french fries should replace with hash brown, the fried glutinous rice is a bad idea to imitate hash brown as it's hard outside that cause sore gum but inside soft pleasant texture. However good job for the scramble egg; egg texture is soft and fluffy. No comment on chinese buffet side as choices and taste are pretty standard as other hotel and nothing impressive. Stiff "you tiao" even dip into soy milk as comment from my partner, even a 3 star hotel or restaurant serve better "you tiao"

    clean room, pleasant and helpful staffs. Wide range of choices for breakfast. Nice croissant even you eat it on its own, crispy outside and soft bread texture inside, nice butter smell and taste. Anytime its better than some 5 star hotel's croissant. Just slightly burnt on top. Great choices of drink, coffee, tea, juice and milk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    The location is great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing I would criticize is the air-con in the workout room. The control panel on the wall can't turn it on which make the workout room very stuffy...

    The location is great. Easy access to MRT and Train station. The breakfast is decent compare with the breakfast of other budget hotels. The room is kind of old but very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    It was a great stay and a good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room I received this time was overall comfortable and clean. It had hardwood floors (or flooring made to look like hardwood floors), and unfortunately, this made it easy to see that the floor underneath the bed had not been swept/mopped. Everything else was clean.

    This was my second stay at the hotel. It is a good hotel, a good value, and the staff are nice. The railway station and metro station are conveniently close by. There's plenty of items to choose from at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    3.3
    I wish I had never paid in advance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located next to the railway station for convenience. But having the tag of IHG you didn't expect such a bad experience. Bad rooms full of smoke. At 12 at night when I checked in had to request for another room. At the porch what not were being sold by random men.. Horrible breakfast couldn't serve an omelette only fried eggs in 10tablespoons of oil and traditional Chinese breakfast.

    I wish I had never paid in advance...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    The room was spacious, and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    "The gym" was one treadmill, one bike and one elliptical, and lacking some basic equipment that would have made it a proper gym. The railway station makes the immediate area around the hotel confusing to figure out and it is hard to get to the other side and back through the subway tunnels. If you are not here to take the train, it is not a good location.

    The room was spacious, and clean. Location wise it was great if you are traveling by train, but the distance to the subway is misleading and it takes at least 15 minutes to walk to line 1. Breakfast was good, from a western perspective, there are some nice baguettes, eggs and croissants which goes a long way, even if the rest of the spread is Chinese food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Business trip in June
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not allow complimentary earlier check in for members (caught a red eye flight and ended up waiting 4hours for the check-in). Breaksfast selection was same and limited. Saw a staff killed a cockroach in the restaurant and swept away with his foot. No iron in rooms, have to travel out to L3 to use.

    The room is big and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.6
    LOCATION TO METRO
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    STAFF FRIENDLY FACILITY FOR SIMCARD HELP IN BOOKING AIRPORT SHUTTLE HELP IN BOOKING FAST TRAIN TO NEAR CITY, AS HONGQIAO TRAIN STATION IS VERY FAR TO GO AND BOOK PERSONALLY

    LOCATION TO METRO CLEANLINESS

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was convenient to subway, railway and shopping areas. The room could've been more cleaner. While I was on the bed, I saw dust and small web under thetable area. The floor needed to be swept.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Good Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet in room (9th Floor) had problem of drainage not flushing. This was repeated everyday in spite of being attended to. Metro access for Line 1 is involves walking a lot, not recommended with luggage (take exit 1). Most of tourist attractions are on line 2 for which change of line is needed. However line 3 and 4 are accessible conveniently (take exit 6 or 5)

    Breakfast was sumptuous. Staff was very cooperative Railway Station is close by making it possible for a easy short trip to nearby places like Suzhou (30 min by train)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    wifi is hard to be connected.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine at lobby was broken down for all 4 days I stayed. I found a lot foreigners disappointed from their face. Please fix up this because it could reduce their anxiety especially at a small lobby. Please consider keep a coke machine there like Mc that should cost you not much at all.

    Very good breakfast and employee are work very hard with excellent attitude. Near to Shanghai Main Station in 3 mins of walk no matter with train, bus or MRT. Excellent convinence I would like to recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Overall, the hotel was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area where the hotel was located was okay but not that interesting. The metro was conveniently nearby (a 10-minute walk), located at the Shanghai Railway Station, so there were always crowds of people to deal with there. At first, upon arriving via the metro, it was not clear which metro exit to use at the railway station in order to get to the hotel. Choose the north exit.

    Overall, everything was clean. I enjoyed the natural light from the big window in the room. The front desk staff were friendly, and so were the cleaning staff. The breakfast buffet had enough to choose from. The Wi-Fi was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel at nice location near Shanghai railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can be very busy at the breakfast area in the morning, but understandable as quite large hotel with many guests.

    Great location by Shanghai railway station, convenient for getting around with good public transport links, staff spoke reasonable English and were generally helpful, especially the staff member at reception on the day I arrived, he was very kind and helpful. Room was good, bed comfortable, shower and toilet fine, room size reasonable. Price is fairly reasonable value too for Shanghai. Overall enjoyed my stay a lot, would stay again when visiting Shanghai in future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Very good cost-benefit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located about 700m from the subway station from where you can reach anywhere in the city. However, the neighborhood does not contain many attractions or good places to eat (there is McDonalds and a KFC nearby...), but for the cost it is a good option in Shanghai.

    The room size is excellent. The breakfast is also very good, try the croissant! Staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    It is walkable from the Shanghai train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much to see in the vicinity unless we take a train to downtown. Metro statiln is nearby. .

    It is walkable from the Shanghai train station. The staff was very accomodating. He gave us a unit which was joined together for our family of 4 instead of the original 2 separate rooms. The free breakfast was of good spread.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    The room was comfortable and spacious.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one coffee machine in the breakfast buffet and it was very slow. I, along with many other guests, waited in line for about 20+ minutes to get coffee. Be prepared to get up early if you want coffee with breakfast and still be prepared for a long wait.

    The room was comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was OK but a good value and very easy and convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Overall it was a good stay, we were satisfied, especially with the great staff, thumbs up to them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have taste better. Room has got no fridge, a bit weird for an international hotel.

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, everyone of them. Breakfast has good variety. Location is good too, from shanghai railway mrt station, take exit 1 and take a left turn, overall just less than 10min walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast served was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being an international brand of hotel, I was expecting there will be international cable channels available. The streets nearby were a bit scary at night.

    The breakfast was excellent, just had to queue with other quests in a coffee machine for minutes. Three subway lines are walking distance to get you into the heart of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    It is a compromise for the sake of Budget ....
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Restaurant for Breakfast is too much crowded everyday. Most of the food bowls were empty and not filled on time. Coffee dispenser is just 1 for about 100 plus people. Breakfast is a regret. No Bell boys, we have to carry all baggages to the rooms Lobby is so so .... The Refrigerator in the room is Empty.. no snacks kept. Its a big disappointment. Mosquitos in the Lobby.

    Location was good as it is close to Metro and Railway station. Centrally placed so that travel to city centres like people square, Bund is easy. Room is nice, spacious and good bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    over all arrangement is good and satisfatory
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    fresh room not clean and no refresh toiletries is there so it is not good.

    food of the restaurant can be more international type, it is mostly Chinese food sometime difficult for other nation. it would be helpful if some English learner person in help desk and restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.0
    Overall, it is a good experiencing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Dear Executive, Myself Ashok devadiga, I was checked-in on 13th may - 2018 to Holiday In Express Shanghai Zhabei Hotel. Initially, I paid in advance for two weeks to hotel through American Express credit card. However, due to some reasons, I supposed to check out 10 days early (i.e. 17th May 2018). As per hotel receptionist, the balance amount to be transferred to my account within 10 days but it did not transfer yet. Actual Paid: 6489.09 (CNY) Actual Bill: 1996.04 (CNY) [4 days] Balance to be paid by Hotel: 4490.05 (CNY) I am attaching the Invoice details for the reference. Kindly do the needful at earliest. Please let me know if you need any details from me. Best Regards, Ashok

    Everything was good except refund of the balance amount to be credited is getting delayed more than 10 days..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    nice bed and spacious room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not close to public transportation thouhgt it looks like. in order to get access to subway 1,3,4. you have to walk about 10 min or more.

    nice bed and spacious room..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.6
    It was a sort of desaster. I would not recommend to non Chinese speaker.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None speaks fair English, I ended up booking tours with out English speaking guide, but it has its own charm.,I asked the hotel cleark the guide speaks English and told Yes, but it was not correct. Breakfast is catered to 90 % for local and not for non- Chinese speaker.,

    Nice shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Amazing Location is ideal. Adjacent to bus station, railway station and metro station.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property don't have concierge who can handle your luggage because a person was so tired when arrives hotel after a long journey and then he has to take all his luggage at his own to the room. It is a terrible thing at that time. So, this property must have concierge.

    Rooms cleanliness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    Not impressed
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Says near the metro station. But it takes 20 minutes to walk. There were no butler's. We were upgraded to a room without checking the cleaning, and then we had to re shift to another room. Was a chaos.

    The breakfast options were suitable for non Chinese population.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a tad too far a walk to Line 1 metro exit, more like a 10 minutes walk. Not enjoyable if you carry some shopping bags or a big luggage.

    Hotel is a decent choice, good value for money. Breakfast is included in room rate and it's not bad. Clean and well maintained room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.4
    The stay in Shanghai was great, although I do not recommend this period because the temperature has
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The cleanliness of the room, carpets, corridors ... Housekeeping doesnt do its job in fully

    Location of the hotel was perfect, just 5-10 minutes to Shanghai Railway Station and 3 metro lines. Facilities and equipment were nice and you also have a nice continental + Chinese breakfast. You have also a self service laundry room if needed it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    3.8
    No good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stay for 5 nights never change the bed sheet and one of the reception i ask where is grand hyatt htl in shanghai she said many grand hyatt and dont want to show me she said she dont know

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    It was a good stay for us.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a good stay for us. The only major complaint I would have is the location of this place. While it's situated closely by the railway station, it was very hard to find the metro station. It would be helpful if the hotel had maps for guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value hotel for stay in Shanghai.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No fridge in the room.

    Very clean, comfortable, quiet room. Bed was firm, but still comfortable. Location was good - near intercity bus station, train station and subway lines 3,4. Subway line 1 is a bit more of a walk but not too far. Breakfast buffet was good with Western and Asian offerings. Staff were friendly and helpful and could speak some English.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Great Hotel at very good Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I just recommend if they can keep some fruits to eat during breakfast otherwise rest other things was very much fine.

    I really like the Location of this Hotel as Metro Station is just 8 Mins walk from the Hotel. Room was also very cleaned. Staff was very helpful and Polite. I recommend others to visit and stay at this property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Weekend Trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slippers are good quality ones but tend to be quite slippery.

    It was at a very convenient location. Good breakfast as well as clean and spacious rooms!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Brakefaat was good and location is very good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brakefaat was good but same everyday is not OK. Service quality is zero. They don't even deliver water to your room and not even taking luggage to your room.

    Brakefaat was good and location is very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Rooms are clean and the location is good enough for business...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They hardly have any options in vegetarian breakfast. Had to survive on fruits, bread and butter. And did not see any changes in the menu all 4 days.

    Rooms are clean and the location is good enough for business travellers as it is 5min walk from the metro and the main railway station too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    Free coffee round the clock
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air-con was not operated even during night. More vegetarian option in breakfast required. Just few people in restaurant can speak English to answer your query re content in food & is it suitable for lacto vegan.

    Free coffee round the clock

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    It was comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too warm as we couldn’t adjust the thermostat. We stayed long (7 nights)n breakfast got boring.

    The room was spacious n good location , near to metro n long distance train n bus stations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.2
    Ok but not good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not so convenient, people don’t know where the hotel is when we said the address. The breakfast is not eatable... plates are in plastic, the hairdryer stopped every minute. The rooms smell, a really bad value for money as it was quite expensive.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.1
    The large room with enough facilities needed, the breakfast is good. Hard to get a taxi
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Vacuuming the carpet is not very clean. There are few taxi in this area. We was waiting one hour for a taxi but they did not come, at the final, we got one have to pay 100 RMB for a journey which we come back with 28 RMB. But if you can take metro is not problem because just 5 mins walk to the metro station.

    The large room with sofa, table with lamp, breafast is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    4.6
    Cheap and most definitely no frills hotel with reasonable accessibility to shanghai city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff weren’t welcoming and at times, frankly, rude. The first room we were given had flies swarming under the lid in the bathroom toilet and there was a loud resonant humming all night. We asked to move rooms and came across the only well mannered and helpful reception staff member we met, thankfully. He allowed me to view alternative rooms and upon moving, our stay was better. However, when my wife phoned down to reception to check on the bucket of ice and water we’d ordered for the room 20 minutes ago she was told by the lady on reception, “sorry you’ll have to come and get it yourself, I’ve got to go” and was hung up on!

    The room size was decent. It had a comfy bed and a good hot shower. Breakfast was reasonable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Modern, city center hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very strong smell in the bathroom

    Nice, comfy room. Hairdryer, tea, coffee etc in room. Spacious. Near to metro. Varied breakfast (though most was Chinese food..)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    This is a good, economical hotel close to the Shanghai Railway Station's north entrance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is convenient to the north entrance to the Shanghai Railway Station, but to get to the south entrance, which is the best exit for Line 1 into town, you have to walk a long way, or get a taxi. The staff would have to get you a taxi because no taxi drivers would take you such a short distance (from their point of view)

    I liked the large room, not luxurious but very adequate. I liked the number and location of electrical outlets and the surface space of furnishings. I liked that the hotel staff would call a taxi for me, because in that location, taxis are hard to get.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    The staff is very helpfull entertaining my friend who tried...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The staff is very helpfull entertaining my friend who tried to find missing item (which she missplaced). The airport transfer service also very convenient with good rate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    - nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - cold breakfasts - every day.... - a loud, crowded cold room where breakfast was served - that was really uncomfortable - dirty elevator

    - nice room - clean bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Good for short business trip, not for leisure.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This could of just been my room, but the heat didn’t work, even after a technician came to check it. The beds were a little short and I’m under 6 feet tall. There really isn’t much around this hotel. The restaurants are all fast food, but the hotel restaurant is a decent option for 1-2 meals. Nothing else interesting around.

    I liked that it was easy to get a taxi from this location. Right on a Main Street. The beds were comfortable. The water was hot and the on site restaurant was reasonably priced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    6.3
    Good room, rude personnel, lack of food in the morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get breakfast in the morning, everything was occupied, lack of food. Reception lady was rude, she forgot to copy our visas and on returning to 12th floor we found out that the door cannot be opened. It was very tyring day, we went down stairs and reception said give me your passport and i will unlock the door (though while registering we did give passports). As it turned out that passports were in the room she gave us cards but we should bring our passports immediately, tomorrow did not go for her.

    Nice big room and cosy beds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.1
    Very cold and rainy s
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No on site restaurants or room service Or even a store that sells snacks they need something

    Nice big clean rooms, very comfortable bed and nice bathroom. Good breakfast lots of choices including yummie waffles. Nearby train and cbik

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable, good value hotel, with easy transport connections.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind. At the time of our visit the Reception/Foyer area was being refurbished and this caused some minor confusion. No big deal.

    Nice rooms, comfortable beds and friendly, efficient staff. Good choice at breakfast. Hotel is q few steps from a mainline station and the metro network.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Warning for travellers: I have now been tricked twice now by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warning for travellers: I have now been tricked twice now by this guy. There is a taxi driver who hangs around the hotel, offering to take you to your destination. He is a middle aged man, with very long finger nails and black hair. Last time, I hopped into his cab, his meter was broken and I felt I got a riddiculous fee. Unfortunately, this time, I ended up with the same taxi driver when I wanted to get to Shanghai Hongqiao Station. I was about to say no, when I noticed that his meter was working, so I went with him, thinking I could see the meter price. This was a mistake! This taxi driver shows a meter, but it isn't the actual price (which is on a screen hidden behind his phone which has a riddiculous price (for me it was 125RMB). Taxis should not be that expensive (it worked out to NZ$25 for me in the end, which, isn't the end of the world), but this guy has rigged his meter. Keep an eye out for him and don't use him!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Very Good Experience. Very comfortable stay in this much money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from Line 1. My wife was pregnant that's why a bit difficult for me when taking line 1. But if going to line 3 / 4, then no problem. Sometimes we also took didi.

    Awesome Experience. Good breakfast. Very excellent facilities. Good staff. Although a bit distant from line 1 but near to line 3/4... Services were best. It's totally worth it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.3
    The room was roomy and comfortable with very soft beds for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    They do not have an airport shuttle, but as the hotel is right next to the train and bus station this is not a problem. They were also happy to help call a taxi for us. Rooms facing the train station can be loud (my parents had this room), but my room on the opposite side was great!

    The room was roomy and comfortable with very soft beds for China. Staff are friendly and speak good English. Good variety in breakfast (both Western and Chinese). Excellent Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Great location and nice staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After some days, the breakfast becomes boring.

    The location is great! Everything is very convenient, the staff is really polite, and the rooms are super clean!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    A good stay overall, with basic facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps they should renovate the bathroom a little as the design and wall is a little old. There was no mini fridge/bar.

    It was comfortable, clean and friendly. The room is considerably decent in size.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Very kind and helpful check in staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and clean rooms (booked two). Jerry Lu was the check in clerk, he was very helpful! As soon as we completed the check in process he offered us complimentary soft drinks! The hotel's WiFi is reliable and pretty fast. There is easy access to public transport, Shanghai Railway station and metro station (same name) are within walking distance. However, dues to poor signs within the station, it is fairly easy to have trouble finding the hotel, specially since the Holiday Inn downtown is also nearby. Make sure you take exit 6. If you happen to ask anyone at the station for directions, they are very likely to send you to the big downtown one in stead of the Holiday Inn express which is what you are looking for.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasantly and enjoyable stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is needed to be more cleaner.

    Like the location, it is in the heart of transportation hub, from trains, to subway station where like food court serving every delicacies and authentic Shanghai dishes. Just couple minutes walking distance, you can get on the trains or subway or bullet train to any where... it was the best hub where this located.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Front desk help calling taxi to airport effectively.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking with luggage from railway station is a bit far.

    Front desk help calling taxi to airport effectively. Provide accurate information. Breakfast is also good with variety of foods.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money, recommended if you don't care about walking a bit around the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since you can't go through Shanghai station on the western end (without a ticket), you need to detour a bit to get the hotel from the Metro station of No. 1 Red Line. No problem once you get hold of it.

    The room I had was quite spacious for the price with a nice view of Shanghai station below. There's a Ethernet router with four ports right on the desk. Wireless LAN also strong. Good office style chair and desk for doing work.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.1
    my second time staying in this hotel didn't meet my expectations. The price was also more.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1- There was some constructions on the next floor. It was too noisy. We got up with lots of noise every morning. 2- The TV had just one English language TV channel and it had no sound!!

    Friendly staff. The receptions can speak in English which I found it rare in China. The breakfast was pretty good. The room was clean. The bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.9
    The room was clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the gate, the door was kind of small. It was hard to pass through it with luggage. No staff was there to keep the door open and the door wasn't automatic.

    The room was clean. The bathroom was clean. Pretty good breakfast. The reception staffs can speak English which is rare in China, so helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.3
    Generally the hotel was nice & clean, the variety of...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Generally the hotel was nice & clean, the variety of food in the breakfast was very good I enjoyed staying in the hotel & I will stay again in my next visit to Shanghai

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    6.5
    In general it was OK!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    First room was smelling of cigarettes, serviss gave me new room, but still there was spots in room where was smell of smokes

    Breakfast was OK, but not natural juice. Wasn't cheese.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.5
    Near train station and bus depot, specious clean room, all the rest can be challenging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room condition was clean and comfortable, the public area was filthy. You can find stains on carpets and walls. The hotel is furnished with cheap material. Hotel guests include all walks of life. There is not much to do in surrounding area. If you do not mind a cup of watered down coffee and dense waffle, an Asian style breakfast can be enjoyable. Despite all negative elements, it is a good choice for one night in-transit stay.

    Near Sanghai train station. Great location for taking train travel. Room is spacious and clean. Bed is comfortable. Front desk receptionist was friendly, limit English language skill though.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.9
    Worth the money. Not a high end hotel, but a fine place to stay for a night.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing: the room had a hint of cigarette smell. I did not like that at all.

    The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The price was not expensive, but was reasonably priced and a good value for the money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.9
    It was an inexpensive hotel, and really didn't expect much more than I got. About the right value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a slight cigarette smell in the room. That was kind of gross. It might make me not rebook.

    I upgraded my room when I got there, and it was nice to have an extra room in addition to the bedroom. The staff was extremely helpful when I needed something.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    Location and breakfast are great. Bit noisy due to passing trains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air condition was not working or time for turned off. They provide us fan and open the window. Too much noise from frequently passing trains.

    Easy access to subway and nearby fast food restaurants

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.0
    Short visit in Shanghai.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The temperature in the room booked on booking.com was OK, but our friend's room was much too hot and humid. She had to open the window to cool it down. The front of the hotel is covered in scaffolding and you cannot see the name of the hotel from a distance. Make sure you have the hotel name and address in Chinese for the taxi driver.

    For the price, a good hotel. Basic but sufficient. Keep in mind that it takes about 15 minutes to walk to the metro from the hotel. Make sure you know which metro exit to take or you will end up on the wrong side of the train station. I did that and it took me a long time in the dark to find my way back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.5
    Excellent Hotel, Reasonable rates
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    AC controls need improving

    I have written a review already this was my second stay and was just as pleasant as the first one. Will definitely recommend this hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.5
    Excellent place with decent rates
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC or room temperature control needs improving as it is not possible to set them to your liking.

    Very decent hotel with good customer service and a good range of breakfast even though the breakfast is primarily and understandably aimed at Chinese clientele. For non Chinese people like myself there is still plenty, fruit, boiled and omelette eggs, sereals, bread with toasting conveyor, hot and cold milk, several juices and tea and coffee. There is also tea and coffee facility in the room but not milk. If you are travelling to and from the hotel via TRAIN (not underground) then it is 5 minutes walk away. However if you are travelling by underground dont be fooled by google maps (Shanghai and its stations are not small places) then do expect a good 15 minutes walk with several flights of steps, up and down, on the way which is quite a struggle if you have heavy luggage.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.3
    The price is reasonable, It would be better if there was no renovation during my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Subway line 2 from the airport goes to downtown, transferred at the People Square to line 1 to Shanghai Railway Station. The hotel is located north side of the Shanghai Railway Station, There is a very long walk through the underground shopping street from the south side of the station to the north side because the train station does not allow passage if you don't have a valid train ticket. Subway line 1 is on the south side. Subway line 3 & 4 is in the north side. You have to take a few rides before you know exactly how to use the subway lines more efficiently, otherwise, you would waste a lot of time of walking around. At the time of our stay, the hotel is being renovated. Some of the areas were not accessible. I could not find a gym in the hotel. There were two computers on the lobby for anyone to use but no security on who can use the computer. Once you sign on with your room number, name and stay duration, anyone come along can use the same computer without any security check.

    Breakfast is excellent, a lot of choices for both eastern and western styles. Staff are friendly and helpful. Location is good if you know "exactly" how to get around.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.5
    Holiday Inn Stay - Nov 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner didn't work. Talked with other guests and theirs didn't work either. Expensive price to use laundry. 50 yuan to wash and dry a load of clothes. Terrible. Only one plug worked on the other side of the room. Power outlet and USB plugs didn't work.

    Courtesy drinks at check-in. Laundry service on 3rd floor. Rooms were decent. Lots of ethernet connections and a small desk to sit by. Big windows. Decent Wi-Fi speed. Breakfast options were great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.5
    room ok, but not the breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    maybe it's just me but I am not too happy with the breakfast. The taste is quite bland or sometimes too overwhelming with some strong smell herbs , except for the egg, bread, or fruits. Stayed there 2 nights and it was still the same.

    There are a few shops around which you can take a look at, and within walking distance to Metro entrance. Room size is quite big and you can arrange the room temperature easily, shower water pressure is also okay. They let you borrow the umbrella but you have to give deposit of RMB 100 which you can refund later on. Wifi signal sometimes on and off, but I guess it happens everywhere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I inquired with the desk staff the cost of a taxi to Pudong airport, I was told it was 200 Yuan, and they would arrange it! The taxi actually cost 250 yuan!

    Our room was very clean and modern. Our bed was very comfortable. Breakfast had a fantastic variety of food and the coffee was heavenly! I would definitely stay again if in Shanghai.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable hotel with perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable hotel. The interieur is a little outdated but is functions very well. The beds where just so soft. Especially in comparison to all the other beds in China. The breakfast was great, a lot of choice. The hotel is located very close to Shanghai east railway station with has a subway connection. So easy traveling trough the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.4
    Average. Not good, but not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room, including furniture and decoration objects, is very old. Of course, it's clean, but very old. The carpet on the floor also look not very clean. Wardrobe smell a bit musty. The location is close to metro line 3 and 4, but very far from metro line 1, which is normally used for travelling to the city centre. It is not a good choice for those who have planned to travel in Shanghai by metro.

    Bed is very comfort. Bathroom is quite large compare to the room size. The view from the room can see the Shanghai main station and Huangpu skyscrapers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.4
    overall ok. But i would have preferred something more central like the last time we were in Shangha
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Cleanliness was an issue for my wife - as she and our daughter had lots of bug bites on their legs which she was convinced was due to the carpets not being clean.

    Hotel needs to invest in some vacume cleaners!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Great place for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Location is just next to Shanghai railway station. Station is huge so be prepared to have a long walk before reaching the hotel - The hotel was in need of renovation. Good thing that it was ongoing process, though I was in room that was not renovated yet.

    - Express hotel managed expectations well, fast checkin/checkout process. You could also start checkout process during breakfast. They also provided information when breakfast was expected to be crowded.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: