Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou

No. 188 Di Shi Fu Road, Li Wan, 510140 Guangzhou, China

#34 of 555 hotels in Guangzhou

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1086 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refurbished since my last visit. Very pleasantly surprised. Staff were very helpful and the standard of English is very good as compared with previous visits.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    Bed is very comfort, good location, right in the middle of Shangxiajiu Pedestrian Shopping Street, a lot of restaurants and local foods....all GOOD! definitely will come back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell smoke in the bathroom... like there is somebody smoking in the toilet but none of us smokes Hard to use the phone in the room to contact front desk or anybody for assistance

    Convenient! Downstairs is Shangxiajiu street... walking distance to wholesale market

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a little damp smell in the rooms. The hotel is looking at a very noisy street on one side, so be careful about to choose your room. Finding a taxi can be difficult sometimes.

    Very large room, huge! Next to fancy shopping street and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Shower needed better cleaning, mold in several places. The exercise area on 14th floor was fairly well equipped for a hotel, but dead bugs might be on the floor for 2-3 days. Not unusual in Asia, but this is a higher end hotel. These comments reflect a need for House Keeping management to up their game a little. The actual workers are really nice.

    Location is great. The food court is diagonally opposite, and the food quality is really good and low cost. Hotel restaurant is excellent, but expensive compared to outside. Hey what else is new. Many restaurants and coffee houses are within walking distance. The staff are excellent and very attentive. The lobby makes a statement to potential business associates. In other words, a good place for business meetings, along with attentive staff make for a great impression.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    NA

    there were options of pillows to choose from for our night's sleep. counter and bellboys were friendly and helpful. Towels were changed daily and toiletries were replaced as used.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant and lobby lounge need to be able to speak more English had to literally cone downstairs to place order for room service. Rooms have been the same for the past few years not much renovations. Would be great to get them sorted..

    It was very comfortable and clean Frendly staff at front desk and great breakfast choices . Nearby shopping and restaurants also

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too far from subway.

    Within walking distance to pedestrian street, local/ famous restaurants. Explore & experience in local markets for herbal, clothes, souvenirs, pets goods and etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The staff at the Chinese restaurant did not understand English and it was very difficult to communicate with them.

    The hotel cleanliness, proximity to the shops, courteous staff and answered all our questions and requests

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Inn Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel arranged taxis from outside the hotel who were not licenced taxi drivers. They would cost over double the amount of a normal taxi fair. I feel the hotel should deal with licenced Taxi drivers only.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked 2 rooms for 4 pax and upon arrival at hotel at 230am in the morning, we were only given one room for the 4 of us. This had caused utmost inconvenience to us. We had to wait for another hour for the extra beds to be delivered to our room. 4 of us had to take turns to use the toilet in the middle of the night. This is totally unacceptable coming from a reputable hotel chain.....Holiday Inn.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is strategically located and cannot complain too much. it would have been nice if proper direction on how to reach the hotel from airport be forwarded to the guests at time of booking instead of having to ask and waste time searching. Road maps in English would help tremendously.

    Shopping, restautants and all other tourist attractions are just next to the hotel. Very convenient. We can come back to our room to relax a little bit before heading out again or when we have too many things in our hands after shopping. Excellent buffet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Public transportation like MRT, is about 10 mins walk.

    The location was excellent with local shopping right in front. There is wholesale selling Chinese herbs behind the hotel too. Though we arrived at the hotel almost 2pm, the room was not ready and need to wait till 4pm, however, we were given an upgraded room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Inn Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Price is reasonable only for two guest in one room Extra bed is so poor 190x80 with bed mattress

    Good WiFi have VPN,. All Google services and many another applications work (gmail, youtube, dropbox, viber but without photos, etc) Possibilety for bufet supper for 13 EUR/person

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The people in the taxi area should speak English. Takes time to get a taxi!

    I liked the 99 rmb food and wine all included dinner. Excellent value! The location is good for tourism or to get a feel for the old china. If it is too far away if you are here for a trade fair.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would like to have more soft pillows and more light duvet. The toilet and bathrooms were not clean enough. If you close toiletcover you see that the hinge are deep yellowish dirty. The bathroom and bath tube need better cleaning, there is mold or black spots and dirt. The sink and waterfaucet was not quite good. Water spatters everywhere.

    I liked the size of the room, the swimming pool area, the facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The big spacious room, always kept clean, polite and very helpful staff. Very comfortable beds. Situated in old town. Location Not suitable for the squeamish, the outside streetwalks and shops are noisy, the street food needs getting used to as tends to be greasy. Sad and heartbreaking to see so many baby cats and dogs in cages for sale, but this is old China!!! Hotel breakfast was expensive for the limited stuff offered. Didn’t try the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, really. Didn’t try the restaurants in the hotel as they are many restaurants and stalls nearby the hotel.

    The spaciousness of the room and the convenient location of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its old. Everything looks and smells old, especially the curtains. Plus, service is not good. I booked in advance and they didnt have my room and put me in a room smoking was allowed and didnt even tell me. Dishonest.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is not that comfortable that caused me not sleeping well. We hope this area can be improved.

    Very convenient to Shanhxiajiu walking street, just few steps away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Inn Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room carpets are filthy.

    Wifi was on a VPN so everything was accessible without using your own vpn. Was located on the busy walking street so food was everywhere. The breakfast buffet was ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why there is no taxi at 3:00 in the afternoon to bring me to the railway station? Except unfriendly people who wanted to charge me yuan 60 ! No flag down or I could use a grey car....I got the impression to be in an underdevelopped country 20 yers ago. But not in China in 2018 around à reputable hotel! Then I decided to take the metro, longer but cheaper . Please thank your staff at the door !!!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If we do not need to take 2 lift to travel up to our rooms.

    Beds were comfy, rooms were clean and staff were friendly. Would come back again if travelling there again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't drink at the hotel bar, it's very expensive!

    Great location, stepping out of the hotel you're only a few steps to food, shopping and night life.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the area was spectacular. easy walking distance to lots of sights, and literally right above the pedestrian street which has great shopping and food. staff were great, room was great. cultural park a few blocks were you can see tai chi, gardens, etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    2 things. For some reasons the staff at the reception were particularly slow. We were a total of three couples and it took ages to check-in and pay. However, the worse thing was the following. The hotel lobby (and the rest of the hotel) were at the 4th floor and the floors above it. There was a particular set of elevators which took us from the street level to the lobby (4th floor). On our way out of the hotel, the moment you got into the elevator, the smell from the street food would engulf you completely and you would not smell anything else.

    Breakfast was great, hotel facilities also. The rooms were huge and very comfortable. The hotel in itself was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My friend book a room and paid 100RMB lesser than mine. She booked it last minute just a day before the stay, and her room is bigger. It has a separate bath tub and shower although i was given on an executive level floor but my bath tub and shower is together. The bathroom at 1219 has a bad sewage smell. I stayed for 2 nights since it is short, i don't bother to request for a change. The service was lousy as well. it was my 2nd stay and i won't come back anymore. I asked for extra firms pillows and the housekeeper just threw it on my bed. Requested to put my frozen crabs in the freezer, the operator informed me that there are 2 person which will come to take but in the end, i had to go down myself to pass it to the restaurant. I put there for 2 days, and apparently, they didn't put in freezer because the ice pack is soft.

    Just big room, comfortable bed and able to request for extra pillows.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Of the facilities I used, there wasn't anything I didn't like

    Desk staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful. Good size room, comfortable beds. Location was great for shopping and food. It would have been perfect if there was a closer MTR station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too warm for comfort. The staff said it is winter time and they do not on the aircon. We were given a portable fan but it didn’t help. Asked to change room, at least it is much better than the 1st room but the room smells of cigarette even though it is a non smoking room.

    Location is good. Eateries and shopping within the vicinity

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs to redecorate to keep fresh looking.

    It is very convenient for shopping and eating as it is within Up & Down 9. Also the coach to HK is in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    not much other den the price.. which is on the higher side.

    2 queen beds for family is just nice. and the room size, sufficient for luggages to be spread out when packing. highly recommended, extra comfortable and friendly staff. shopping street is just outside the hotel, with a 7min walk to big shopping centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taxis all want fix price and do not want to turn on meter even though we call the taxi infront of the hotel.

    The location was good with restaurants and shopping all around. The hotel staff were all very polite and friendly. Even the cleaning aunty was so helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is a smell that every time i go inside the lift ... the lift is so smelly...u need to use mask. Staff not knowledgeable if you visit for the first time. U need to know little bit of mandarin to survive here. We took 4 rooms for 4 nights and the breakfast buffet is same everyday.. you will not enjoy your breakfast from 3rd days onwards. Chef not friendly and not helpful to let you know on the ingredients of certain food. Only location of the hotel is very strategic for shopping.

    Near to shopping street

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I looked for three people in non-smoking with an extra bed and ended up in a room with just 2 beds and on a smoking floor, then had to get another bed brought up. When we had exceeded our pre-authorised amount for our room (due to adding the extra bed), rather than leave us a message or ring us, they simply locked us out of the room. It was rude and annoying as we returned to the Hotel late one evening all very tired and one of us was limping, only to reach our room and find we could not get in. I sent my son down to ask them to reset the card, however they refused to do it and made him come back up and get me to go back down and pay the small amount over our pre-auth amount, before resetting our card. Seems a bit stupid since we were checking out early the next morning anyway so I don't see why we couldn't have paid on check out. Also I was already at reception organising airport transfer prior to going up to the room, and there was no mention of this issue. This made an otherwise good stay rather unpleasant at the end.

    Great Location. Handy to Metro, and Pedestrian Street at your doorstep.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During my stay i would like to have dinner in the hotel on the 1st night. But all restaurants in the hotel were fully booked for wedding and we have to go out from dinner. Hotel should also think for their hotel in house guest.

    The bed was too soft on one side. this need to be improve. The water tap and basin in the washroom also need to be improve.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The non-smoking room has smells full of cigarette smell everyday throughout our stay.

    Location is very convenient. All staffs are very helpful. Rooms are very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lobby is at the 4th floor. Need to change lift in order to go back to the room

    The hotel is located just next to the shopping street, which is full of food and shops.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Always jammed traffics getting to the hotel. Very messy outside of the main entrance on street level. Noisy and poor hygiene once you step out of the hotel.

    Very nice team, polite and friendly. Rooms are spacious and well maintained. Excellent cleanliness and quite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Inn Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad impression since we arrived. We arrived at 4PM but the (MAN) front desk told us to wait at the business center room(where is just next to the Front Desk) but he point us to the lounge. I was so exhausted on my business trip for a whole day , I expected we could check in at that time. We had been waiting for a while , thereafter I walked and complained the other staff. The first man who told me to wait at the business center, handed me the passport with some giggle and told me that we couldn't find you. I told him that "You were the one told me to wait over there". Then what he replied me back is " I asked you to play game at the lounge." That's really make me angry, if my room wasn't ready or it's still cleaning, he should have told me , not playing with me like that. He didn't say any "Sorry" and just hide at the back after that. Honestly, I am the IHG Member and all hotels and staff are impressive . This Staff at the front desk should have been well trained and to be more professional as same as the Hotel under IHG Group.

    Good Breakfast and Perfect Location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    crooked taxi operator from airport----wifi- is marginal?? no tourist information available at hotel

    the breaffast was fantastic-best ever...very comfortable bed.. staff try very hard to offer excellent service

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Holiday Inn is an international chain hotel so I'm glad to report that their standard of its facilities and services are being maintained in this branch. A thank you shout out to the front desk staffs and concierge for being very helpful and friendly. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. Needless to say, this is a perfect location for shopping.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the hotel was not near the metro stations. Probably can have Signages to let us navigate well. It will be good to have tighter security ie tap card before lift access to rooms. Housekeeping could be better; noticed that not much effort was put in, certain things were not clear off.

    Firstly, I will like to special mention Ben from concierge. He was the friendlier than the front office staff and very patient when answering to our queries. Secondly, thanks to the extra firm pillow, we slept really well. Thirdly, room was huge and clean. Aircon is adjustable thankfully and everything is working fine. Everyday we look forward to a good night stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    I found this to be the perfect place for a solo female traveller during the Trade Fair. The hotel provided a shuttle to the fair, but the best part was that right downstairs was a very busy, and safe feeling, pedestrain shopping street that was always busy till well after 10pm. I always felt safe and the staff were super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning effectively isolates the heat from outside but it also significantly lowers the humidity inside the room

    Large window and spacious room overlooking the city view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It seemed to me as if the English communication skills of some of the staff have deteriorated - which is strange since there are so many foreign tourists visiting the hotel. However, there were a few staff members who could converse a bit better and they were very helpful.

    This was my fifth stay at the hotel and the standards have been the same over the past 5 years. What I like most about the hotel is the convenient location near the pedestrian street and Liwan Plaza. Just walk downstairs, turn left and you will find yourself in an amazing, vibrant and safe shopping area. The hotel is also within walking distance of two Metro stations, and quite close to the river if you wish to go on a boat cruise. If you don't want to use the Metro, be sure that most taxi drivers will recognise the hotel address so you never have to worry about finding your way back. The rooms are super comfortable (fantastic beds...a luxury in China) with very spacious bathrooms, good tv reception and Wi-Fi. There is a bar fridge and with a 7-11 next door, you can stock up on your own refreshments.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access to the business center is under supervision--very Chinese. It's also only open during business hours, which is a problem when you're trying to communicate with North America and get documents printed, etc. While the accommodations are spacious, modern and have a Western look, they are also aging. The carpets had some bad stains that didn't jive with the feel of the room. I stayed here two years ago and it looks like there hasn't been a true effort to renew parts of the hotel since my last visit.

    The Shifu branch goes out of their way to make the hotel a Western hotel. You can tell that even if the staff doesn't totally understand the Western culture they've been schooled to make the effort. It shows and that is why I keep coming back. Compared to a Holiday Inn in North America, the service is definitely higher. You have your typical hotel gym that gets you through. Although the location is far from the Fair, it is on a pretty cool walking street that is bustling. If you've never been to China and are still excited by it, this could provide you with some local, modern culture. If you're strictly business there are closer hotels to the fair. That said, the shuttle bus runs every half-hour and is adequate for sure. The rooms are large and the executive lounge does what it should. I'm not afraid to spend half as much as at a Marriott to ride a shuttle and get the same service when I arrive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was very slow.

    Excellent rooms, very big and roomy. Also modern and easy to relax in for two people. The dinner buffet was excellent as well, they had a two for one offer all week while we were there and we didn’t get sick of it. Mainly seafood. Great hotel for the price and right in busy Pedestrian Street with lots going on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only complaint I have is even though they provided an ADA ramp wheel chair use. It was practically not that far from the main entrance door. However they have a automatic gate for cars in their parking space you have to wheel the chair around than pass the gate go through the little walkway where the parking attendant is located and than go back across the gate on the opposite side to get to the ramp and than wrap around the main entrance. I guess for china to have the ramp was pretty decent?

    The breakfast was great there was a great variety of foods from Western food to some good Chinese style foods. I loved their coffee / espresso machine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Room clean n spacious, well maintained! Location is at 上下九街, very convenient to go back to use the hotel Tiolet or your room to put down all shopping stuff and shop again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Inn Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the pillows as they were too soft. The business centre staff didnt know how to help me make an overseas call from my room.

    The beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it is located right above the shopping district, don't expect to have a quiet night in or early night of sleep. The district is an old city, so the cleaniless outside of the hotel is a far cry from the inside.

    The room was large and comfortable, located right above a shopping district, like bugis village in Singapore.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast could have been better, we stayed for 5 nights and the breakfasts were the same throughout and not much options offered. Paid the same price for 2 separate rooms, one is bigger than the other and has a shower place and a bathtub rather just a bathtub alone.

    It's situated within Shifu walking street. Shops and restaurants are all within walking distance. The nearest underground is 10 mins walk away. Staffs are friendly and helpful. The front desk staffs do speak English. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, with types of pillow to choose about. Wifi accessible throughout the property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Time wasted while waiting for taxi at hotel as they can choose not to go to 天字码头and IT mall (gang li). 2. The toilet rolls are not replenished automatically. 3. The seats at the lobby floor is very limited.

    The convenient as the street walk for shopping is just downstair.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little old in its furnishings. As a result there is a slight old smoke smell. There's a smell from the street food downstairs which you might need to get used to.

    It's right next to the Shangxiajiu Road which had some of the best local restaurants and local street food. The rooftop pool had a nice view too and the staff helpful with towels. Room amenities was complete.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have a room facing the street and the noisy sometimes get in.

    Location. Location. Location. All the nice restaurants and some of the attractions are within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking Facilities always full. They do not check if parking is for hotel. Thus always full.

    Staff does not speak English except for one at the front desk. Similar or better to other hotels in China. More American style than other local hotels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow. First look was indeed dissapointed. Where are you. The taxi driver showed me it is here...I didnt believe, I have tried to find main gate by self...finaly some good guy told me please, use this small one...I have used the elevator to 4th floor...Wow...surprise again...good surprise)....I want to pay in RMB, the card showed the payment was in USD... I dont like it. Why?

    From 4th floor everything is Ok. I guess at the moment it is nice idea to introduce this hotel in this historical street. Inside this hotel is really nice. Standard rooms are huge and comfortable. The breakfast was included and indeed complete and various. Stuff is really freandly and speak understandable Global English...displacement....suuuper.. .directly at nice shoping street....everybody can find everything...if you want to find something cheaper...please, turn little bit right ot left...Foriners, do NOT affraid to buy street food here. It is not dangerous. I confirm! It is tasty. Indeed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff cannot speak English well The tap in the bathroom make noise at night twice We need to call staff to fix it at night And there is no offer of changing the room

    big room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It will be better if hotel can provide shuttle to airport through out the year. Or at least can help guest to call MPV car instead of normal taxi which can barely accommodate 2 people with 2big luggages, we came with 3people with 3luggages, the taxi driver keep asking us to take 2taxi and refused to try to fit all of us in one taxi. This is very annoying! Or at least provide your guest more choices of type of taxi to the airport.

    Prefect location for shoppers, and there is a food court just next to the hotel which is just 2mins walk! Food at there was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Inn Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Again, my only minor issue is with the location. This is a relatively older part of the city, so it may not be to your liking if you are looking for tall modern buildings, shopping malls, international food options et al. The streets around the hotel are narrow and a bit dirty. Also, the smell from food stalls downstairs (quite a few of them below) can get a bit annoying over time. I am non vegetarian, so it wasn't that big a deal but still a point to keep in mind especially if you are going to be staying for long.

    I am the most impressed with the staff here - extremely helpful and courteous, most of them spoke good english and went out of the way to help me. Apart from that the room was really nice and good size, and the daily buffet breakfast pretty good. I have mixed feelings about the location - it is next to the famous Shangxiajiu lu, which means most of your shopping and restaurant requirements will be taken care off easily. But it also means a lot of noise in your room (i was on the 7th floor) from morning till late evening. Apart from that its relatively easy to go out and about from the hotel. The airport about 45 mins drive, the Canton fair complex under 30mins and so on.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    People smokes too often in public spaces. However, that is expected when one visits China in general.

    The hotel is situated in a location where you get to try traditional Cantonese Dim Sum in a quaint restaurant setting within the old town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get taxi. Smelly lift to level 1

    The room is huge , bed is big , staffs is helpful and friendly, especially a staff called Ben . Location is good. Hotel is kind upgraded us into bigger room. We will come bk

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was run down and dirty.

    Breakfast buffet was great and good value for the cost. Bed was comfy and western style mattress. Location was easy to walk to places to shop and eat.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Inn Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool bar being closed, the lack of a bottle opener in the room and the lack of consistency in the composition of the cocktails. Oh - and the lack of cooked bacon at breakfast. I don't eat carbs, so rely on bacon/eggs quite heavily. First morning I found salami and cheese, the second there was no salami so only had coffee - we didn't bother after that.

    This hotel overall is good for business. The shuttle bus to Canton Fair is convenient, the registration downstairs is good to have. The staff were friendly, beds are comfortable and the location is okay for the price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell of the air-freshener in the elevator was suffocating. The rooms were not ready when we checked in. If you requested for an extra-bed and got the confirmed message, make sure to confirm that again upon check-in. There were some misunderstanding but the staff helped to resolve well enough. Watch out for overpriced taxi to take you to airport - insist to pay by meter.

    Good location in the middle of Shangxiajiu pedestrian street. About 800 m. from 3 metro stations - easy to go anywhere but need some walking through local streets. The hotel provides free shuttle bus to & from the Canton Fair. We like the 2 spacious rooms with a connecting door. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location in lively old part of Guangzhou nearby Shamian Island, Qingping market and shopping streets. Few hundred meters from Metro station. Lobby at 4th floor. Rooftop pool. Bar with garden.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusion wheñ ordering an early room service breakfast, caused by lack of English.

    Location; right in the pedestrian street. Nice big beds, large pleasant bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing with real need for improvement!

    Really nice business hotel in the middle of Oldtown. Great for night-shopping and Chinese Food. Consider this a really valid alternative to all the downtown hotels in the modern district.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not sound proof, people chatting pass your room is very clearly heard. Knocking on your opposite or Neighbouring doors sounded like on yours. Room service never use the door bell they knock and repeatedly say "Room Service" in Chinese till the door is open. This is very disturbing.

    Good location for shopping, plenty of eateries, restaurant n Subway stations within walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Inn Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I did not see any sri lankan type of a food. Smell in which comes through cooking shoping which close to hotel in elevator is not nice

    Room cleaniness, English knowlege of the staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Inn Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The front desk customer service staffs were rude and unfriendly. Always show their irritated face when approaching them for queries.

    The housekeeping staff was very attentive and polite. She had gone beyond her duties simply by helping guests to carry luggage in the lift. She always greet the guests with her beautiful smile.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much here.

    The bed setup is extremely down to details & this catches my attention since a good night rest while traveling is pretty much important.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool is not heated. No fruits basket. Bit expensive. Could add a little bit more to be value for money.

    The best part of the hotel is the location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a little far from underground n difficult to get a taxi

    I got an upgrade as my original booking was sold out so it was even better value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Inn Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sound proof door... can hear room service guy n neighbour next door talking n baby crying...

    Location is great! It is at the heart of shopping area. Room is very spacious and clean! Bath room is big too!

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: