Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Temple Of Heaven Beijing

No.1, Ding An Dong Li (300 Metres North from Zhao Gong Kou Bridge), South 3rd Ring Road, Fengtai, 100075 Beijing, China

#222 of 594 hotels in Beijing

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 119 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi in this Hotel does not allow Whatsapp. Poor English speaking staff. It took us a while and repeatedly speaking to restaurant & front desk to get a ala-cartte breakfast packed for travel. Ask for additional Deposit, while checking-in.

    Has ATM and Money Exchange Terminal. 10 mins walk from Subway. Good to stay overnight, if you want to catch the early morning trains from Beijing South Railway Station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is great. Make sure you bring a swim cap for the indoor pool, the hotel has them for 98 RMB, we found one for 6 RMB (1/13th the price) off site. I was not impressed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes the door didn't close all the way, needed to be pulled closed when leaving

    I had some small problems but the manager Mr. Michael was able to rectify the situation. I was very impressed with the breakfast and general professionalism of the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    When asked how much breakfast would be if we added on, it did not match the price in my email booking.

    Swimming pool was clean and it was a huge event to have alone time in a pool in such a big city!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not allowed to use the pool the second time I went to use it; this is why I booked this hotel! I was really disappointed and the staff wouldn’t explain to me why I couldn’t use it, I was just told I wasn’t allowed despite people being in the pool!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    little bit noise from the street.

    The hotel is good, beautiful lobby and installations. All staff is very kind. The room is a large room, with nice big bed and good pillows. the bathroom is good also. better than most hotels in China

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is outdated and not really up to date, especially compared to the newer holiday inns in Beijing. Like all old hotels in China, stains are all over and cannot be removed. Time for refurbishment...The name is a little misleading, since the Temple of Heaven is not really close.

    The staff is really friendly and well organised. I had some additional requests and they reacted perfectly. The location is good if you need to go to Nanyuan Airport and that's why I stayed there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No halal food available at the hotel restaurants. Quite far from Capital International Airport (minimum of 100 mins by car).

    Very couteous & helpful staff who speak English. A special mention to the 2 Michaels & Tony from the front desk. Buffet breakfast was one of the highlights of our stay. Good hotel for family & businessmen. Very near to subway stations and the Temple of Heaven, a must visit place in Beijing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stay 4 night will be charge 1,800 yuen , but when we come they ask another 700 yuen deposit, then they charge in my account 2,500 yuen, on the day check out , they say the effort machine no work,they ask me give them my card to charge another 1,831.00 yuen , but in there no wifi at all that why we cannot online to check any things,we very worry

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is really nothing in the area of the hotel to see other than the Temple of Heaven. However, the Temple of Heaven and surrounding park is very much worth a visit. The pool facilities and change rooms need an upgrade.

    The variety of Western food options for our children was excellent. The coffee at breakfast was good and the breakfast buffet was satisfying.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    South Beijing relatively poor area, not so attractive, but has special atmosphere.

    Fast check-in procedure for foreigner. Able to use Chinese debit card for deposit. Full room equipments including two bathrobes and iron. Amazing city view.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 18 nights

    The location of the hotel was on the noisy and busy road. You cant open the window when its warm. In the night time when the window were open, the noise just unbearable. The hotel has karaoke facilities and next to the lobby and the bar and its open for the public too. Disorderly drunk person from the karaoke was shouting and sicking on the sofa at the lobby. He wasnt the guest from the hotel too. The security and the hotel manager were just standing there doing nothing. I could see the some of the western guest sitting near by were just so annoyed by the whole situation. The member of staff who kept on coming back to clear out his sick for about 2.5 hours on and off! Poor house keeping staff. It was so disgusting to watch in the middle if the lobby.

    The staffs are very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We used the swimming pool showers on the last day after the Forbidden City and before going to airport. A little boy was in the ladies changing room and needed to pee. The toilet cubicle was just 10 steps away but the young and pretty mother just told him to squat on the floor and pee/ defecate. GROSS! On the whole, China is a great place to visit....PLEASE CHANGE TO SITTING TOILET BOWLS INSTEAD OF LEAVING EXCREMENT ON THE FLOOR! In Jesus name, i pray for good toilet hygiene and manners for China. Amen!

    Front desk staff especially manager Thomas, Linda Hou sincerely helpful. We arrived at 2am and staff was still efficient at helping us! 2 of the Concierge and Thomas and Linda gave useful pointers, maps n bookings so we could get to all the places we planned to visit at the lowest price. Eg. We wanted to try buffet breakfast and Thomas and Linda helped to book for next morning as hotel policy was to discount the buffet breakfast if booked the night before. Housekeeping for my room was by Liu Su Qin who diligently vacuums every corner and replaces all the shampoo in the way I prefer as we took the room for more than a week. Try the hotel Ramen shop and the Chinese restaurant char shao! We were there for the World Solo Dance Championship in Ballroom And Latin American Dancing 1-2 Aug 2016 and Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven Beijing was the official hotel. Using Uber ( U BU in China), we got to Sanlitun and Oriental Plaza etc easily and quickly at a few Singapore dollars. Near the Forbidden City. Easily accessible by mrt...Just take a 10 yuan trishaw.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    my friend arrived later than me and my welcome drink ,did not cover the later arrival. basic thing.!

    good selection of food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had dirty carpet under the end table...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no issues with anything

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug socker next to bed. Chinese firewall. Air con not cold enough

    Great breakfast, 3 restaurant's onsite, swimming pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food on the menu was not available, nor was the alcohol - no bar really, just like a coffee shop

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This facility is clean and quiet. The staff is friendly when check in and check out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room is old and smelly. It is very dark around the hotel. I don't feel safe

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The support of the hotel staff for special request was out standing good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast spread was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to beijing south railway station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you have to wear swim caps in the pool. Then they were very expensive to buy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Profound breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities need updating, looks worn.

    Breakfast was decent with international spread.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gym, swimming pool, steam and sauna...reception was very helpful though!!

    Very good location, but food is hard to find after 8 pm.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location

    breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets were smelling. Was not possible to stay without the windows open

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little far from the subway station. I know there is bus but it was hard to find at night.

    breakfast is good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming Pool small one And cant take sun

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are not helpful and not friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent buffet. Good price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not easy to find, the hotel is already quite old, just the lobby is ok. for this price can find something better!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Little more than I wanted to spend but after some horrible hostels it was nice to have a decent room and a bed.

    After multiple hostels touring round Beijing spending my last night here was such a pleasure. Staff speak English which was harder to find than I expected and the room, breakfast was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is pretty old. Their is a KTV at the 2nd floor of the hotel. As such, there were some dubious characters hanging around the hotel lobby at night. Don't feel safe especially for those with young kids.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room service food was poor, evening buffet was just so so, lobby lounge staff just did not want to serve you, did everything they could not to make eye contact

    Reakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The receptionist who attended to my checking in was not friendly or helpful, couldn't speak English well. Though it was mentioned no deposits were required, they charged me RMB 500.00 as a deposit. Complimentary sugar sachets were not sufficient and hence had to request room service daily.

    The bell boy was smarter than the receptionist.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Reception Staff was Horrible, no effeciency and doesnt know English, eventhough it is a International Group Hotel.

    Big Hotel and Good Rooms. Food was Good.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    everything here was at least 2 times as expensive as everything else during my trip to China.

    allowing me to leave instead of staying for the full week

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Ability of the staff to speak English Hotel did not accrue points in my Priority rewards

    Close to tourist attraction

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    15Min walk from subway

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location,far from metro .difficult to get a taxi back

    breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This hotel location not very suitable. Quite far from metro station & South Beijing station.

    Good huge hotel with good room size

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    location is a bit hidden

    Nice hotel, good breakfast, helpful personal

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    • Family with older children

    None.

    The helpful and friendly staff really make it a place of feeling home. Everythingn very clean.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: