Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Howard Johnson Caida Plaza Shanghai

No. 188 Wudong Road., 200434 Shanghai, China

#261 of 802 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 120 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    2.5
    TERRIBLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed at the hotel two times within two weeks with one 5-day break when we went to Japan. Before leaving for the airport after our first stay, we told the lady from the front desk, that we booked our next stay starting from Wednesday, but we will arrive at the hotel around 2 am on Thursday morning, moreover, we left our luggage at the hotel and told the staff we will pick it up after we get back from Japan that night. We were reassured our room booking is confirmed, our luggage safe and there will be staff at the front desk when we arrive. On Thursday night we arrive at the hotel and are informed that our booking got cancelled automatically since we did not arrive before 6 pm! The lady who was in charge that night said she was not informed about our situation and there are no free rooms left, and suggested we go somewhere else and come back the next day. It turned out no rooms were free in the nearby hotels. We were forced to spend the night on the sofas in the hotel lobby with no food, no proper bathroom or bed. Especially my parents were exhausted after our trip, but the hotel staff had barely tried to fix the situation or apologize. One lady who came to start the morning shift made sure we get a room ASAP. We have not been offered anything to drink or eat, we did not get a discount NOTHING. This is utterly disrespectful, I have stayed in many very cheap places in China and was treated with respect and kindness. A lot of weird people appear at the hotel every day, as if nobody had control over what is going on in this particular HoJo location. DO NOT RECOMMEND.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Attractive room, helpful staff, all-in-all a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff was very friendly, with good English skills. The housekeeping was great about not disturbing me when I was in the room, then quickly tidying up after I left, with minimal disruption. The breakfast was very good, with a good variety, and tasty food. I didn't use many of the facilities, but everything seemed to be in good repair. Finally, I was very happy with the room, it was large and very attractive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.0
    Simple really 3-star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. The stuff practically doesn't speak English 2. Location: it's far from the metro station and from city center. 3. Avoid a hotel restaurant at the ground floor: strange menu and not tasty! ===== Be careful! There are two hotels with the same name in Shanghai. Look thoroughly!

    Quiet place, big clean rooms. Bathroom was huge and convenient. Quite good breakfest.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    There is a slight feeling of poor maintenance of the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There is a slight feeling of poor maintenance of the facility - although it probably was perfect right after it was built. It is small things - like peeling of wallpaper, screws on a bathroom mirror not quite working, broken light switch, toilet leaking unless manually stopped, etc. But it still was comfortable and the personnel very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel near University
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to have more English speaking staff. They should be able to exchange forex for travellers through debit payment as well. As of now, they only do cash changes.

    The breakfast menu was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    7.5
    great value for money .... shame about the wifi!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet service in the room did not work properly. I had to go to reception twice for couple of hours each time to get online. Crazy for a hotel with business guests!

    The room was very nice, the bed comfortable and the shower was a generous size with plenty of hot water (which is not always the case in some other Chinese hotels.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Everything else was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff did not speak English

    Everything else was perfect

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.4
    Good breakfast, clean room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Services of front desk staff

    Good breakfast, clean room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    Fair value for the money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did not communicate well in English.

    Location near meeting place

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed from the start.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff attitude.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    2.9
    Very bad filling.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad filling.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    It good, clean but it just to far from city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To far from city

    It is near fudan university

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.3
    Average quality .. not luxury.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a bit off centre - but good if you are visiting Fudan Uni.

    Staff were friendly. Large room. Clean but worn..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Breakfast. Bilding

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.5
    Not all staff spoke English well.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all staff spoke English well. The all day western restaurant wasn't an all day one.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.1
    Do speak English better.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody speak English at all. Communicating is so problematic

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.1
    great value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed was very firm. for non-Chinese visitors, please understand that the staff understand very little English.

    great value.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Check in was a mess. Was not able to find my reservation from booking.com and the staff didn't want to call booking.com to check. I called booking.com and finally resolved the problem. No apologies from the hotel at all. Room condition is also very poor. Toilet door could not be closed.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    7.9
    Location and staff
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Broken light and not fixed. Chines breakfast is miserable for me.

    Location and staff

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    7.5
    Quick response in case of any requirement
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Communication in English is poor but manageable

    Quick response in case of any requirement

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    7.1
    Thanks
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Thanks

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    7.5
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very little english No continental breakfast

    Location Generally good hotel

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    5.4
    Poor breakfast service.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Poor breakfast service.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No adaptor to lend.

    Friendly staff.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: