Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel

No. 1 Feng Yang Road, Xuhui, 200031 Shanghai, China

#121 of 802 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 223 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location but poor room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not so clean as expected and the room has many problems like glass wall between toilet and room which is disturbing when one is trying to sleep and other is using the toilet....and bad shower and bad bath tub water stopper...

    Great Location and helpful staffs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.0
    Would never recommend to stay in this property though very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not at all supportive. Neither they were helpful. Being indianwe didn’t know Chinese and they were not helping us out with the language neither were helping us out with itinerary if we ask them anything. The air con was not working in the room properly and when complaining about the same the staff was non co operative and asked us to keep the window open and sleep. Would not appreciate the way the hospitality was. The staff named Edison always wanted money and was demanding money for booking taxi also.

    Liked the location of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.4
    Distinctly average...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy inside - they were having work done - and outside due to lots of construction. To be fair they did say there would be some noise in the day, however it was that loud I couldn't stay in my room to work.

    Staff behind reception weren't particularly helpful:

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.0
    A short layover trip to Shanghai
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    carpet in the room is dirty. Moulds on the ceramics in shower room. Shower door creaks when you open/close it. Overall room is outdated. Front desk took 20mins to process check out because housekeeping has to give them the greenlight to release the check out.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.3
    We would have liked to be informed about the construction work upfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were there for a weekend and intended to sleep longer.There was heavy construction going on outside from 6 am in the morning. It would have been good to tell this potential customers upfront.

    location is ok

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    The air conditioning is central so the temperature cant be...
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The air conditioning is central so the temperature cant be changed inside the rooms. My room was 29,4 degrees (Celsius) - or 85 F - I spent 5 days sweating and there was nothing they could do to help.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.9
    The location is exellent and you can walk to the south...
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is exellent and you can walk to the south shaanxi road metro in 5 minutes. The staff was polite, though some did not speak good English. Overall good basic hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Good value in Shanghai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free map available, at reception, has property listed under wrong name, so had some difficulty getting back.

    Wonderful local food stalls nearby, and breakfast was not included in hotel charge. Location is excellent, fast metro connection to both airports close by.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Comfy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception service could be more improved.

    Clean, bed is comfortable, good for those who stay in Shanghai for business, close to subway station, shopping mall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.4
    Bad breakfast; noisy construction site right beside the hotel. The only good thing is the location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Awful breakfast, not good value for money at all! You can have cheaper and nicer breakfast outside the hotel. Also, the staff refused to give back my laundry unless I paid for it in cash, even though they had a deposit from me already - as if they think I will leave the hotel without having paid. Such attitude gives you a disgust. The overall impression is that a good hotel (4 or 5 stars it is) is managed by people who only worked in old and cheap 3-star hotels... It's a shame indeed.

    Good choice of toiletries; good a/c, comfortable beds and good shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    All in all okay, staff should have notified us about the noise across the street during check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was a ongoing construcrion just across the street (24hours) which didn’t led to any sleep the first 2 nights. Staff didn’t notify us during check in. We informere the staff about the problem and were relocated to another room

    The location and the naerby restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    clean efficient business hotel for a one or 2 night stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the beds were hard . the wifi was poor and difficult to connect to with no service. we gave up

    the service to take us to the airport was excellent. the reception at the hotel for welcome and payment was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.5
    All in all a good stay and will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor English. I was expecting easier communication in a hotel.

    Hotel is 1 hour away from airport. This in "normal" traffic. Good position. Relative close to Bund about 20 minutes in a cab. Nice hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    A great basecamp when you want to explore Shanghai's French Concession...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Slow internet/VPN at certain hours. Some noise from construction work above the 12th floor from 9am - 5pm.

    A very smooth experience from check-in to check-out, helpful friendly staff and excellent location, nearby metro and bus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Low-key hotel, great location, cozy and safe feel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Current renovations start exactly at 9am. Hope the renovations are finished soon.

    Great attitude. Helpful front desk and concierge. Invisible housekeeping staff but were great in keeping my room clean and tidy. Property felt private, safe and secure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    Great location in a quiet neighborhood.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff tries hard but on each visit to this hotel seem unprofessional and easily flustered. They are always very young and I would guess lack proper training. There is never a smile or a genuine greeting and they seem to have a lack of confidence in what they are doing. Rooms are dated and carpet is worn.

    This hotel is located in one of my favorite neighborhoods in Shanghai. It's convenient to my favorite restaurants and is a short walk from the Metro. The bed was also comfortable for a Chinese hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Business-style hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Great location in the French Concession area and easy to reach via direct subway line from airport/train station. The rooms are very well appointed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location, comfortable facilities, average staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Issue at check-in, had to solve by myself with booking.com. Expected the staff to take the initiative to solve the issue before I had to call booking.com

    Location, comfort, convenience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    Decent Hotel in a Great Location in the Former French Concession
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I've stayed here twice now and it's a pretty good hotel with an excellent location in the Former French Concession. The rooms are comfortable, with a good number of outlets and plenty of space. The bathrooms are clean and well-appointed, with bottles of water replenished daily. The air-conditioning worked so-so the first time I stayed, but worked quite well the most recent time. Same with the Internet-worked so-so back in October of 2016, but in June of 2017, it was quite reliable. No VPN, so make sure you've got one if you need it. Front desk staff was efficient and helpful, and room staff were studious about making sure everything was taken care of. We used the laundry service, and it worked great. Location is fantastic-just a 5-minute walk to the South Shaanxi Station, which is in the basement of a really nice mall. You're also right near a lot of excellent restaurants, and within easy walking distance of nice areas of the Former French Concession.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    3.8
    Awful staff, awful staff, awful staff.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful staff, awful staff, awful staff. I don't see any reason to write about how bad the facilities and the products in the room. Checkin was a disaster. Check out was an insane joke. The worst experience in Shanghai. (So far I tried more than twenty 4 and 5 star hotels in Shanghai) Besides it's not cheap. I am sure they can give a proper training to their staff with what they charge as the room rate. I will never go back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    10
    Beautiful stay and feels at home.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good service and environment. Should come with complimentary breakfast, transport to and fro airport. Improve wifi facilities. Overall love this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    4.6
    Bit pricey for the quality of the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel wasn't very clean at all. The cups in the room had weird smells and felt unclean, so we had to buy paper cups from a convenient store nearby. The bathroom wasn't very clean either. The desk in the room was a bit dirty. And the carpet too.

    The staff were friendly but most couldn't speak much English.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.6
    Clean, location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Should be careful reading description of the room. We booked a bigger suite for three people, but needed only room two. King bed could not be changed to two twin beds.

    Clean, location, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.7
    Clean but certainly not soundproof!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are definitely not soundproof. There was construction outside and it could be heard from the room both at night and in the morning.

    Good location in Shanghai. Close to Line 10 Metro.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Very good staff services
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good staff services

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    Great value and Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The level of English speaking staff was poor, which just made it difficult at times.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.7
    Of you want a. ASIC hotel in an awesome location then this is the place for you
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be better. Property is basic

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    Location is perfect, above two metro lines and downtown.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is perfect, above two metro lines and downtown. Staff are friendly - bellboy is a legend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    5.0
    Probably won't stay there again. There are better choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loud noise came from hallway at 3:00-4:00am every night because the room door was too thin. Room was small. Carpet was old.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.7
    Great property in a great location...blocks from Construction work ruined it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction work going on outside...ALL DAY AND NIGHT was ABSOLUTELY loud, awful and constant! No Sleep!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    3.8
    No recommend, never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean, construction site just next-no sleep!stuff unprepared.

    Location is good.that's it!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was old and tired.

    Good service and good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.7
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cleanliness and rather dark room

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Location very good. Not as clean as expected.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.8
    Convenient position. Clean bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corner King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty carpets and sofa and armchair. Broken flex on bedside light. Peeling vinyl on wall

    The position. The daily cleaning

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    Nostalgic to be back in Shanghai
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is too expensive, so didn't buy breakfast

    Location is perfect

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    Very bad WiFi
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad WiFi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    sleepless
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    very noisy construction site next to the hotel. construction continues throughout the night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    6.3
    Reasonable stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Corner King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit old and tired.

    Clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, friendly staff, very pleasant stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    Like the location and eagerness of staff to make sure you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strong disinfectant smell in lobby areas.

    Like the location and eagerness of staff to make sure you have a great stay. Awesome

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location. Comfortable enough hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are a bit outdated.

    Perfect location. IAPM mall next door. Lots of restaurants. Easy transportation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Foreigner need specail VPN
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Foreigner need specail VPN

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    good staff, clean place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was noisy in the afternoon, apparently due to some restauration in the building.

    good staff, clean place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Location and rate as good compromise
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast can be improve

    Location and rate as good compromise

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    7.5
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    8.3
    A really good deal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility is a little tired, could use some new furniture

    Location, price

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    6.7
    GOOD BUT A LITTLE EXPENSIVE
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    A battle with remote to change channel. Carpet is not perfect but......

    the position is good for line 1 10 or 12. Team ok.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.2
    Overall it's value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed and pillow too soft

    location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    4.0
    Thanks for your hospitality
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall feeling is excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    8.3
    Ubication
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanless... they can be better

    Ubication

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.2
    Great location and great value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and great value.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    5.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon not cold

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    5.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathrooms dirty

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    7.9
    Good location with 2 subway stations nearby
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Price of room and food a bit too high

    Good location with 2 subway stations nearby

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    10
    Everything was outstanding , what I like about the most is no deposit required .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Service was outstanding , Place is very very clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    Brillant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent services and location!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    9.6
    This hotel is located in a convenient area of the French...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel's safe is no bigger than the room safes, so we were unable to secure a laptop. The front desk did keep it at their desk for the day, but this is not a tenable solution for a longer period of time.

    This hotel is located in a convenient area of the French Concession, close to the metro as well as a mix of western stores and Chinese stores & shops. The hotel is in wonderful condition with terrific amenities (the WiFi was very strong for me on my Android device, a little spotty on my friend's iPhone). The gym is a little basic but perfectly acceptable. The hotel feels secure & safe at all times.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    8.8
    The room was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff did their best but they could have used better English language speakers.

    The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is just off a main street and so it is quiet.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    3.8
    I booked with Booking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I booked with Booking.com. Upon my arrival, they could not find my reservation. The hotel was "full", but following my request (after the surprise about why they could not find my reservation) to find a solution,anyway, as of enchantment a different room was available at different price (almost double). I agreed, and immediately after having received confirmation that the room was available, I have declared that I will call the Customer Service of Booking.com for a purpose of explanation, another miracle occurred: they found my original reservation, to the agreed price. Unserious people. I will never come back.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    5.0
    Had some issues with communicating needs to staff who did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had some issues with communicating needs to staff who did not always have an English speaking member on duty. They also advertise different types of pillows that can be requested. As I have a severe feather allergy I requested 4 different pillows only to be told the hotel doesn't have any other pillows. That did not make for the best night's sleep. Other than that the halls smelled of smoke but were pretty clean. The air conditioning was also turned off which resulted in extremely hot rooms during the day. When asked to turn on the central aircon, we were just told "No, it is too cold", even though the temperature in our room read over 25C. The wifi was very sporadic and would only work every now and then and then I was unable to even open webpages.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    7.9
    The room and ensuite was very clean and comfortable to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The air conditioning didn't work so I couldn't sleep and when we complained they told us to open the window. The staff were not helpful.

    The room and ensuite was very clean and comfortable to a degree, it was a convenient 6 minute walk from the metro station.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    8.3
    Staff were helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi was poor so doing business via email from the hotel was stressful

    Staff were helpful. Room was quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was good which can be some times daunting for a westerner visiting China!

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    4.6
    The bedroom was quite silent and good for a long night of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff is very badly trained for a 5 Start Hotel. They hardly say a few words in English, and although their constant goodwill, they always faced many difficulties to understand and attend guest's requests. The Air Conditioned is central, which means that all rooms are placed at the same temperature (in this case 25ºC) not allowing you to turn it off. It took me 3 days and some discussions with the staff for them to find a solution and turn off the A/C on the electricity board. When you book the room, it is said to you that the restaurant has buffet at dinner time. Well, that might have happened before, but during the whole 8 days I stayed at the Hotel, they never served a dinner, and only when I was going down to have it, they told that on that day I could only order from the pre-selected menu on the room. There is no Spa, pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna or Turkish Bath. The only thing you can expect is a small gym, that holds a few machines for Cardio and Fitness. In my opinion, the Hotel is clearly over-rated for what it provides you.

    The bedroom was quite silent and good for a long night of sleep. Very good location, in a busy area with subway, shopping areas and European restaurants, on a walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    6.3
    The hotel is clean and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My overall experience was tarnished because the concierge called a fake taxi for me to the airport after my stay. I trusted the hotel to call me a reputable taxi but now wish I had organised it on my own. The fake taxi driver made me pay 350 rmb instead of the usual fare of 150-200 rmb. While it is not entirely the hotel's fault that the taxi driver was a scammer, when I later called the hotel seeking some help to identify the vehicle and the driver, they said they would not take any responsibility and could not help at all. As the hotel offered to arrange the taxi for me and then it turned out to be a scam, I would have hoped they would care more about the welfare of their guests. The taxi was waiting outside the hotel for more than an hour so it wouldn't be difficult for the hotel to get a number plate or car number from their security cameras. I will not be staying in this hotel in the future and will not recommend my friends, family, colleagues or anybody that I know to stay here because this experience made me feel as though the hotel does not truly care for its guests. I'm glad I only lost money that day and that it did not turn out worse.

    The hotel is clean and comfortable. Some staff were very good.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    6.5
    Hotel in a very good location, close to a large shopping...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Service at the reception could be improved. I requested for a non smoking room but was given a smoking room without any explanation. Stain on the bathroom floor which I cleaned after I checked in at midnight. Bathroom need a good cleaning, otherwise ok. Difficult to get taxi

    Hotel in a very good location, close to a large shopping mall.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    9.2
    Efficient hotel from check-in to check-out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nil

    Efficient hotel from check-in to check-out. Didn't use all facilities but encounter ladies from Housekeeping and she kept a smile and greeted us when she pass by us.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    8.3
    The staff was very friendly and speak English very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is good, but it is not 1 mile from Xintiandi like the map is suggesting. Carpets need to be changed.

    The staff was very friendly and speak English very well.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    7.5
    - excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - dirty bathroom floor that needed a simple scrub to get rid of the stains but it was never removed

    - excellent location - in room wifi - friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    8.8
    location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    i stayed there 12 nights...i expected some personal treatment....warm hospitality for 12 nights stay....

    location is very good.. 2 lines of metro and huaihai road

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    6.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Booked a suite room they give a normal, room at the same price, we had to show them the reservation on booking.com to convince them I guess they do not read papers

    Location

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    5.0
    Ok comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dry cleaned a suit - they clearly used too much liquid and/or heat - shrunk parts of suit and now looks terrible - is a relatively costly suit (>$1k U.S.) Internet absolutely sucks - upon discussion of this with front desk, got excuses. Towels / linens need replacing

    Ok comfort Relatively cheap - but Okura is about same cost

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    7.9
    The hotel is well placed off Huaihua road and main shopping...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The beds aren't ask comfortable but wifi and amenities are standard.

    The hotel is well placed off Huaihua road and main shopping area. It is however fairly out of the way from the bund and main tourist area along the river. Taxis are difficult to get but once you do, everything is about 15-20mins away. The room is quite clean and I stayed at a high floor so request that if you want a good night's sleep.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    8.3
    I really love the location of this hotel and the price is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sound proof is poor, a bit noisy at night but dies down around 10-ish.

    I really love the location of this hotel and the price is cheaper than most international branded hotels. Yet the room is clean and comfortable. Walking distance to key shopping areas and great restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    7.9
    good location, v clean, modern & spacious rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of ability for room-specific temperature adjustment is a big issue. Likely to affect my decision to book same hotel next time round.

    good location, v clean, modern & spacious rooms.

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: