Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sofitel Shanghai Hyland

505 Nanjing Road East, Huangpu, 200001 Shanghai, China

#55 of 802 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1792 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel Hyland. Clean and comfortable mid priced hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    English spoken by the staff could have been better. Choice of items on restaurant menu could have been more extensive.

    The property is situated in the middle of nanking rd. Fabulous to watch all the strollers night and day. little trams going up and down and plenty of places to eat and drink close to the hotel. Hotel is also close to hundreds of shops and a short stroll to the Bund.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    At best a 3-star Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost everything

    Almost nothing! Housekeeping is poor, and Front Desk refused to send a technician to our room to fix our telephone (around midnight) so we could have a wakeup call in the morning. The Front Desk person on duty at that time was not able to communicate with us in English.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice time in Shanghia
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Club Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The Shower Dripped .The cleaners didn't collect old milk that had gone bad from two to three nights prior ,was left in room ,until told to take away.

    The view was perfect. The room comfortable ,room service very quick .And especially liked the thought of gifting a bottle of champagne and cake for my wife's birthday (Excellent)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Superb location, great breakfast, clean facilities!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can't beat the location. Probably, one of the most conveniently located hotels to discover the city. A direct subway line that goes from/to PVG airport is just a block away. The pedestrian street is right at the doorstep. Small shops and street food are everywhere around. Great breakfast is completely in line with the Asian tradition of diverse foods and abundance. European choice is a bit strange (probably, Chinese food options in Europe are equally strange to the Chinese), but everything was fresh and tasty. Cozy rooms, good mattress, pillows, great shower. Free green tea at the reception was a nice touch. We requested to move the breakfast we had included from the check-out date to check-in date as we arrived early (9 am) and departed early as well (9 am). Having lounge access at PVG it was logical for us to eat at the airport. The hotel denied our request when we wrote through booking.com, but the receptionist and the manager ok'ed the request during check-in. We were offered either instant check-in with extra payment or we could wait till 11 am (the rooms were available) to check in with no extra charge - we opted to have a breakfast, which took us over an hour and then checked in without extra charges. We also asked the hotel for a top-floor room with a nice skyline view and we got a superb view from our window with the skyscrapers, the TV tower, and the old city right in front of us with no extra charge. Evening tea in the room with this view was a great part of the experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Best choice form aspect of overall quality AND location in the city center and public transportation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Club Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The upgrade room was quite ok, but sadly the light system is just stupid complicated.., Have an ergonomic improvement done... I will be happy next time with my "regular" room with lounge access. The larger space does not really increase the comfort, as long as neither the cloth cabinet is larger nor the desk for office work .. The WiFi speed could as well be a bit faster ... BUT CHINA... haha

    as usual everything was excellent. Friendliness of Personnel, Cleanliness, Breakfast .. I had now stayed many times and will continue to choose this Sofitel (Hyland). Of course I cherished an upgrade room after my 21st visit..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    4.2
    There was a Marriott behind it. I've been kicking myself for booking here.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff couldn't be ruder. We reserved 4 rooms at 4:30 pm in the afternoon. Front desk told us one room is not ready- at 4:30 in the afternoon. Period. No apologies. He said that they were full and had a bunch of late check outs. And it's not only him! His colleague further echoed the same idea. Who cares if you were full? We paid for a night's stay and deserve the rest after hours of travel. Sorry- it's not a Marriott. The lobby is not well-airconditioned! This is Sofitel! There are certain standards to keep. All in all, the place is rundown but thrives on awesome location.

    The location was awesome. Hence, the staff felt they could be as rude as they could be.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    They make living away as good or better than living at home.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Club Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst part of being at this hotel is having to go home. This Hotel is like Family. Gerald

    The Breakfast was incredible. It's the best that we have ever had available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.4
    Not what I expected from Sofitel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is pretty old and needs renovation, expected it on the same level with the hotel in Macau I visited 2 month ago, far from that. Need to be very careful outside the hotel, within a few minutes you will get lots of questionable offers. Had a full power failure caused by humidity. No reward points earned althoug the stay shows up in the system

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    It’s a fantastic hotel and we feel like we are part of the fabric with the staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Club Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My issues. Wifi is about non existent in the lobby bar and the food in the 30th floor for Club guests is the same week after week or month after month. I have been here over a months time frame. Same selections.

    It was a great place to stay, make it your home but they have some issues.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Over all we will go there again as we will be checking back into the Hotel again on the 25th of Aug
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Club Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was Just the wifi connectivity.

    While we were at this hotel this time and every other time, just about everything was excellent and a 10 out of 10. This time the only thing that needs improvements on is the wifi. We had a difficult time getting on and staying connected. Thats the only draw back that made my visit less than a 10 but it is very important to note this especially when you want to be connected with the world and your customers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    3.8
    Caused rash on legs !!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of facilities. Linens caused rash on legs. No loyalty points for stay as booking was done on third party site

    With Booking.com special pricing, it was indeed an attractive deal. Not necessarily a Sofitel standard, but I Guess they needed a Shanghai property.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    THIS HOTEL MADE MY OTHERWISE TERRIBLE WEEK WONDERFUL.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Club Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    THAT WE HAD TO WORK :-) WELL, IT WAS SUCH A NICE HOTEL IT WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE TO HAVE USED MORE OF THEIR IMPECCABLE FACILITIES

    EVERY ASPECT OF OUR STAY AT THIS FIRST CLASS HOTEL WAS DELIGHTFUL. I STAYED THERE FOR 4 DAYS A FEW WEEKS AGO AND I WILL BE RETURNING THERE FOR ANOTHER 10 DAYS STARTING ON THE 17TH OF THIS MONTH. GREAT LOCATION AND WONDERFUL PEOPLE WHO WORK THERE AS THEY ATTEND TO YOUR EVERY NEED.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.8
    So so
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From 10 pm to 8 am only one staff member at front desk and one person at conceirge Which is not enough. No one answers call at front desk and conceirge. I have to come down to find them and answer my quieries

    Location only

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tasty and extremely varied breakfast buffet (at extra cost). Decent gym. Fantastic view of the Bund from east-facing high floors. Great location on a main pedestrian thoroughfare.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    This property is at the best location for shopping and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is at the best location for shopping and accessible to some beautiful places to visit like the Bund, some towers etc. I liked the ambiance of the hotel and the staff was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Super convinience, on shopping street and very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super convinience, on shopping street and very close to subway and also the bund together with food around. Great staff, don't hesitate if you're looking for nice vocation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    This hotel is located in best part of Shanghai.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Club Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite long time to check in/out and not very well organized (some of the staff at check in was not really friendly). I recommend foreign staff to be employed for guests’ better experience.

    This hotel is located in best part of Shanghai. The best breakfast I have ever had in China. Clean enough room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location and great service for money!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked the very comfortable bed, the fact that you are right in the center of the city and everything is easily accessible. Despite being in a busy street, the hotel was really quiet at night. It is also surrounded by a lot of small nice restaurants and bars. It was great fun :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Room was excellent, bedding is very comfortable, bathroom is...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited english, but understandable. Breakfast: there were a slight rotten melon that my friend ate.

    Room was excellent, bedding is very comfortable, bathroom is clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Staff is very helpful and friendly and their service is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is bit hard to find

    Staff is very helpful and friendly and their service is above and beyond. I forgot to print my flight ticket so i asked the hotel staff to help me print and they did it. It was truly helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Security at 1st floor entrance could be better - anyone can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security at 1st floor entrance could be better - anyone can enter thru revolving doors without card access. Similarly, card access security in the lifts were not available. Perhaps a lift upgrade is needed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    The hotel location is perfect - along Nanking Road (which is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel location is perfect - along Nanking Road (which is a no car road with a long stretch of shops, malls and eateries). Metro is also within 5 minutes from hotel if I need to go sightseeing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.7
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast spread can be improved, had the same items for 2 days. Felt that the security can be better, room key was not required to access the guest room floor

    Nice hotel to stay in, special thanks to their Duty Manager, Nelson for helping me to retrieve my lost luggage. Service was pretty good, when I called for something, their housekeeping reacted pretty fast as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Good but not great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacked atmosphere and the decor, service and facilities weren't upto scratch for a Sofitel. There was an isssue on checkout with the wrong rate, but it was cleared up satisfactorily.

    Location is great for a city break, right on Nanjing E. Road, with the MRT just a few steps away. Shops, restaurants and a 10m walk to the Bund.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    I think the location is excellent, just in the Nanjing road...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    However the price is too high and they need you to pay room deposit about same as your room charge, so prepare your cash or credit card prior your visit. Some of the staff couldn't speak English very well, so it could be a little problem

    I think the location is excellent, just in the Nanjing road district. Ease to have shopping and food. The staff was very helpful. The room is average, not too special. They also provide WIFI in the room which may helpful during your stay in Shanghai

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money, comfortable and very friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a massive fan of the area - you get harassed a lot on the pedestrian street below. Beds are normally a highlight of Sofitel hotels but the pillows weren't great at this one. But feedback is overwhelmingly positive.

    Great for business travel if you work on that side of the river - strong wifi, good facilities. It was clean and felt just as you would expect a Sofitel branded hotel to feel, but probably better value for money than most. Staff couldn't be faulted - very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location and building but unhelpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the last night five women who were most likely prostitutes stayed in the room above ours, smoking and yelling all night until 5AM (we could smell the smoke through the vents). Despite repeatedly asking staff to do something about this, they did nothing.

    Great location for tourists, very close to two subway stations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, convenient hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is not conducive for 2 friends, it was too open for comfort. Twin beds are too close together (room is snug).

    The beds were very comfortable. Great toiletries, great location. And the fact that they have a currency changing ATM (yes!!) made it very convenient!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location to stay at Shanghai, but rooms have to be vacuumed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tons of dust under the bed and behind furniture like never been cleaned; 0,5l water at minibar costs you about 8 us dollars; Superior room was pretty small;

    Perfect location at the walking street, two minutes walk to subway

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    I have had good experiences at other Sofitel hotels but not this one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the reception desk are not particularly friendly. The air conditioning in the room did not work properly. The breakfast buffet kept running out of items, the coffee was awful, we were seated each morning at tables that were not reset properly and the some of the cutlery was dirty. Given the price of the breakfast buffet I found this all quite surprising.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    good location on nanjing road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    pillow too soft, almost flat when you sleep on it...even though the hotel did try to provide "harder" pillows..

    good location on nanjing road.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Smack bang in the middle of Nanjing Lu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet could have a bit more choice

    Smack bang in the middle of Nanjing Lu. 10 minutes walk to the Bund. Location is the best. Nice spacious and clean rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Our family had a pleasant stay. This is my second to choose this hotel. My husband and I were stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure the room is ready for people who check in late such as sleepers should be ready, rooms are unlocked if it’s connected rooms requested. Over all we are happy with the staff and facilities

    Excellent location! Friendly staff! Love the showers and tub!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Shanghai is wondeful, but the hotel quite deceiving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    But the service the service doesnt't meet the expectations of such a four stars hotel (except one or two individual such as the groom at the 1st floor ). The hotel manager must rethink the organization of the staff, theach them how to smile and welcome their clients, bring nice and effcient help in a city where most of the european clients can't read or speak chinese !!

    We stayed twice in this hotel First for 4 nights and then for 1 night. The first room we stayed in had a wondeful view but was really out of date for the equipement and the comfort (bad bed, old furniture, not very clean lampshades The breakfast is really great and the location too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff service (front office and restaurent) and standard of food.

    The service and food wasn’t up to the standard I had experienced in other Sofitels - Biarritz and Hanoi. However, once I complained to the GM, they apologised and refunded my food and beverage bill for my stay. This was nice gesture but I hope the standard of service and food will improve.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Sofitel Hyland Hotel - the best location for the short and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Club Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress was to hard for us.

    Sofitel Hyland Hotel - the best location for the short and overloaded business trip.It was especially good sipping prosecco after hard working day in Sofitel Club lounge.Short work to Bund and actually almost all touristic attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall, a good experience still.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff from the frontdesk could be more helpful instead of making remarks behind our backs and assuming that we do not understand Chinese.

    The location is pretty good and accessible. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    4.6
    good except difficult to communicate effectively with the staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the staff need to understand more English.. have difficulties to communicate with them.. half the time they do not understand what I want in English.

    the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, you get what you can expect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Touristic information is a bit basic and as in all the bigger hotel groups, you get what you can expect.

    Superb location right in the middle of Nanjing pedestrian street. Two metro stations are only 5 min walk and bund is 15 min walk. Rooms have a view on the Nanjing road, even in the bathroom which gives you a nice view when showering (or at least mine had).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Sofitel but with Chinese standard staff service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My minibar was stinking and when I opened it, the room smelled. I asked the staff to take care of it but nothing was done. Also I didn't like the staff members discussing me at the reception, a hotel with the standards of Sofitel should have staff more respect to their customers whoever they are !!!

    Breakfast was great. Meet Sofitel expectations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.6
    Very bad management on the top level such as Sofitel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Club Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink was blocked, the lamp is broken and when we check in the staff already told us about the lamp that they havent fix it, then I said is ok and let me check in first so later you can fix it but we stay there for 4 nights and they havent fix it. When we check out they charge us the minibar and they said the m&m chocolate have been eaten, we dont even touch the minibar. The room service is really bad as the facial tissues didnt refill, towel we leave on the floor and they dont even change the towel. Very low management.... The same food on the breakfast for 4 days, the chef also lack of service, quite often they are not there, how are the people gonna order the food such as egg and noodles.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.3
    Wd not choose to stay here again. Place is old. Nothing like a 5star. Sofitel should be ashamed o
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrival. Left to struggle with luggage. I have a long standing seriously painful shoulder problem. I waved to the security man, who saw me clearly, to indicate that I needed assistance but he did absolutely sweet “f” all to help me. Following day invited two guests to a Chinese lunch in the hotel much promoted Chinese restaurant on the 5 floor. Really awful food. We were the only guests for the whole of the lunchtime period, I realised why but too late for the occasion. The waiter was extremely nice but what could he do. Really dreadful food, embarrassing for a Sofitel.

    Bed was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location on Nanjing Road for shopping, walking to Bund, going on subway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mao Chinese restaurant upstairs much more formal, not great atmosphere- preferred Mosaic restaurant to it.

    Mosaic restaurant in lobby very good, great food selection, bright surroundings looking out over street, very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Ideal location for tourists/businessmen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed one night

    Ideal location for visiting The Bund. Staff were very helpful and cheerful. Can’t comment on the food as were not there long enough to try anything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast and happy hours in the executive room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Club Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To long to get breakfast fried eggs once order (more than 30 mins)

    Good breakfast and happy hours in the executive room. Nice view on the nanjing road and the the city itself.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Overall pleasant but could b better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Security- felt unsafe that lift has no control access, anyone can just slip in and know at your room door ... 2) Staff - not well trained to deal with customer special requests 3) powder creamer had a very unpleasant after taste, would much prefer liquid creamer or fresh milk as beverage condiments

    Location of the hotel, Quality of toiletries,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, clean, recommended place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, just wish people there master the English language better.

    Besides communication problem (staff English is quite limited, even those manning the reception/front desk) I find the hotel to be excellent, location wise, cleanliness, amenities, etc. But the staff are really courteous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    Very dissapointing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Club Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do we start? We booked the 3 x executive suits for 3 nights per room - the main air conditioning was turned off and just the circulation fans were running - after numerous requests this was still not resolved and staff said open windows which was not acceptable due to poor air quality and street noise - we booked out one night early as we all fell sick from what we feel due to the poor air quality in the air conditiomjmh - these matters discussed with management the end result was not satisfactory - as ontop of this the bar staff in the kiddy bar we feel are rude and non inviting - I have stayed this hotel 3-4 times now and all 3 us were dissapointing

    Location & breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.3
    ok for a one night stay, not a 4-star standard for sure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a superior queen room with a view, upon checking in they ran out of rooms and 'upgraded' me to a corner suite, with only skylights and no windows so the room smelled very stuffy and was pretty dim. Room condition was not what I have expected from the 4-star hotel, all interior finishes look quite tired and need some upgrading. I had to order room service around 5pm for dinner, ordered a mushroom pasta as it was the worse tasting pasta I've ever had, the bread rolls that came with it were super hard and steal. Again, not what I've expected from a Sofitel hotel.

    location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.4
    Good location but overall an uncomfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a supposed 4/5 star hotel it is unbelievable that you cannot control the air conditioning in your own room. It was incredibly stuffy and hot in the room when we arrived so I tried to turn the thermostat on and it didn't work. I called the reception to which the lady told me that 'As it is winter the air conditioning only blows out hot air.' I have never experienced this before in an international standard hotel such as the Sofitel. The noise of drilling was noticeable throughout the night and the bed was very hard also. There was also no iron in the room so my shirts were creased throughout my stay. All in all the experience didn't match the price or the supposed star rating I was expecting.

    The location was great as well as the breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.4
    Good location but won’t be back
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Club Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee was absolutely disgusting. All throughout the hotel. In The club lounge, every evening they had the exact same food, no variety. The club breakfast was average. The first morning I asked for the scrambled eggs which said came with sides. When it came out there were no sides so I asked where they were. She said I had to order them despite it saying they were served with every order. They did not wipe clean the tables in between customers which is unhygienic. The beds are very uncomfortable- we were expecting the Sofitel soft bed range we are used to from other countries but this disappoints. Some staff were fantastic, other staff were uncaring. Club lounge was really busy - seemed overbooked to me.

    Location was the only thing going for this hotel. The buffet lunch was also nice in mosaic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Great Business Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Club Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cars are not able to access the hotel from the opposite road and need to make a large u turn. Many taxis did not wish to drop us in the hotel.

    The service at the Executive Lounge

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.4
    I certainly wouldn't stay at this Sofitel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was sombre and disinterested most of the the time. The room was not cleaned very well. Room was small, over-all not a great stay at a well-known brand hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.9
    Good but needs some improvement
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Club Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are far too warm. A/C doesn't work. Shower door doesn't seal properly so floods bathroom.

    Executive lounge is brilliant. Rooms are reasonable size. Food and service are excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent short holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the cocktails in the bar could be a little better (the monitor needs sugar!)

    The location is great on nanjing road and the staff are perfectly professional and polite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It needs some refreshment. Being in the center of downtown, it's strange that the access to the guest floors/rooms is not more restricted. There is no system that for example elevator is functioning only when guest card is scanned. This should be improved.

    Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    My favourite shanghai stay . Been there many times and the service and quality is exceptional
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Club Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    I stay in the club floors . For not much extra than normal rooms there is breakfast , Al a cart and smorgassboard , afternoon tea and 6-8 pm happy hour ans 2 hrs use of meeting rooms Astounding value

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff needs customer service training. Met a kind and personable General Manager, Mr. Rippon., who went above and beyond hospitality. Thank you very much, sir.

    Very convenient location on Nanjing Rd. Great shopping.,and an action place. Gathering place, and short walk to Bund. Views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    I expect better considering the price,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Club Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do not like showers in the bath tub. Coffee was not hot. Shower head was leaking and it took too long for the hot water to reach the shower head

    Position is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    5.0
    For a Sofitel and the price extremely disappointed and would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small with two twin beds pushed together. The staff were not welcoming, never smiled and were disinterested most of the time. Also some not all were dressed rather unkept. The room was not cleaned very well. Only two bottles of complimentary water when they know you can't drink the water in China. They had a very hard time speaking English which I thought was unusual. They just did not seem well-trained. We had come from another well-known international hotel brand in Beijing and there was a stark difference in service and the quality of stay.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    I will always look up Sofitel in whatever city I go to after this stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Club Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    The location was perfect. Right on nanjing road and 10 mins walk to the bond, just 5 mins to the subway. We had the bund view from our room too. We had the club room and enjoyed the free drinks and snacks. The snacks were as good as actual food in our opinion. We could get full from them. We also ordered breakfast to our room, it was free. The presentation was great. Staff were always attentive to when we came and went. Whenever we left our room they made sure to come and clean it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Great hotel, but watch for dangerous scams in the neighbourhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seriously, was disappointed that the well-appointed bathrooms didn't have a bidet! 😌. Really!

    Great location and very clean and warm ambience. Very empathetic and helpful staff, including the receptionists. Thank you VERY much. You were sooooooooo very helpful. And the early check - in was a big boon. Should I return to Shanghai, I'll definitely look to be back here. As an FYI, for those interested - the Grand Central Hotel is literally only a minute away by foot, as is also, the Central Hotel. But none can beat the excellent location of the Sofitel. Super convenient. NOTE: A word of GRAVE and SERIOUS warning - Nanjing Lu and most of central Shanghai is full of dangerous scammers who will cause you to lose thousands of dollars, as their sweet and innocent agents titillate your senses in everything from shopping to massage parlours. Please, please do yourself a huge kind deed and politely /strongly ignore ALL offers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was in a terrific location , the bed comfortable and we were well looked after by staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Because the bathroom basin sink was blocking we were moved to the 13th floor where the layout was better with the wardrobe light not flickering in your face if you were in bed. The window view was looking over Nanjing Road. which was more interesting however when people were leaving to work on early shifts the closing of the doors were noisy. The shower base was cracked.

    The position of the hotel in East Nanjing Road was close for walking to tourist places as well as catching The Metro. There were lots of restaurants in nearby streets.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Perfect location - book Club Lounge
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Club Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect location and great service. Book a club lounge room where you can use the lounge during your stay and enjoy snacks and drinks in the evening. Breakfast in the lounge is quiet and nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    5.4
    I would not go
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very old; roomdoor couldn’t close; cleaning staff comes inside room twice despite don’t disturb sign; reception staff is very slow

    Free upgrade to clubroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, clean room, great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not use their private hire for airport shuttle as they are charging ¥250 for a one way trip and the driver told us they only received ¥100+ for it.

    Good service. We bought our own fruits and the staff was more than happy to wash and cut the fruits for us. Fast check-in and check-out though their english might not be perfect. Housekeeping was good as well. Strategic location right at Nanjing Pedestrian St.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.8
    Good for branded shopping & lot of activities.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel building was very old & room sizes were relatively small. Bath rooms were not in perfect condition although in working condition. Hotel was over priced only because of its location. Room lights were not good enough.

    Location of this property is perfect just on the Nanjing road, staff cooperative, very good breakfast with lot of variety to eat. I stayed at this property only few months ago & due to its perfect location decided to stay again. Will stay again at this property due to its good location. Very easy access to many type of restaurants, lot of shopping till late night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    The bed was really comfortable and the location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is technically very small and there is technically no living room area. Also, the hotel lobby is a story above the main road (not the walking street), the cab drivers always get confused by that.

    The bed was really comfortable and the location was great. Services were amazing too. Something you would expect from a world-class chain.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    We were happy with out stay because we are Accor members and were upgraded to a suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During turn down service, the housekeeping staff had gloves on... she picked up the trash bin by the desk and the one in the bathroom. Then, to our dismay, she proceeded to turning down the bedcover and straightened the pillows. Yikes! I had to make her stop and told her that her gloves were dirty and shouldn’t use them when touching the beddings. But it was useless, she didn’t understand English.

    The croissants were good! Our room on the club floor was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    4.6
    disappointing - will not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    harassment on the street from middle aged women asking if I wanted a lady... apparently these are scam artists: there are many tales of men being beaten up and their money stolen once they (stupidly) follow a woman.. The police must be in on the act because they were standing nearby when the scammers hassle (and I mean hassle!) you - all along E Nanjing St. Inside the hotel spa is also a rip off - I paid £170 for a 90 min massage only for the completely INCOMPETENT masseuses to use much of the time trying to get me to pay a further £100 for a sexual service... The breakfast consists of stale pastries scowling waiting staff and cold bacon eggs and sausages - £15! I mean - come on Sofitel, I've stayed with you in other cities and this place has completely lost its form.

    comfortable and quiet room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.7
    The staff are friendly and helpful. The facility maintenance needs to improve. Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toaster could be faster but I have found that this is the case in most hotels throughout the world.

    All the food is very acceptable. The coffee could be a little hotter but overall good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Quite a good spacious room we looking put to the square...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a good spacious room we looking put to the square which always had interesting activity going on. Great comfy bed, decent gym facilities. Location was fantastic we could walk almost everywhere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location, helpful and friendly staff, especially the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon check in, reception desperate to upsell some package or other even after firmly declined. 50 percent of breakfast staff quite confused about how to serve coffee. Small points but they do matter in the morning. Also have to wait 10 minutes for a poached egg...

    Great location, helpful and friendly staff, especially the foreign manager.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location on Nanjing Lu, close to subway, shops and restaurants, walking distance to the Bund ... Excellent connexion WIFI, kind staff, comfortable and quiet hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    Very welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool in the spa and the staff tough they r very friendly still not everyone understands English. Usually in a shift there is 1 person that is very good in English and the others are acceptable. All in all still one of d best hotels in china

    The place and cleanliness is amazingggg not only to China standards but to the best standards

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: